RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
100 numbers between 1 and 100, Inclusive
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2012 13:42:33
Wow... at first I thought this was a rip off, because 2 numbers were missing, but... no they are all there. Printed this thing 5 times for my whole group.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 numbers between 1 and 100, Inclusive
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 numbers between 1 and 100, Inclusive
by Franck M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2012 13:28:41
I wanted to like this product. But the author insulted my intelligence. A table of random integer numbers is completely useless to me. It is obvious that floating numbers is what the hobby needs at the moment. Floating numbers are real numbers. And realism is what is important in Role Playing Games.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
100 numbers between 1 and 100, Inclusive
by Rafael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2012 11:24:31
A must-have. From the mouth-watering image of fresh-baked bread, sliced and ready on a rustic cutting board, to the "nearly as incomprehensible as a north European death metal band's logo" font used throughout the document, this PDF screams quality.

The rules on the third page are a tad baroque -- the author might have spent a bit more time explaining the use of the ten-sided dice (besides, what does one do if one only has a single die?) -- but the layout is clean, with plenty of white space.

Not to toot my own horn, here, but I know a thing or two about integers, and from a cursory examination, it appears that every single item in this list is in the right place, which is pretty rare for a game supplement of this kind; clearly the author took his research seriously, providing the kind of due-diligence that one expects in a professional-grade product. Quite a pleasant surprise to see it in a small-press publication (hope that didn't sound too condescending, as it was intended as a compliment).

All told, worth every penny.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 numbers between 1 and 100, Inclusive
by Brian V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2012 11:23:49
I thought that I was pretty familiar with all of my die. The d4, the d6, d8, d10, d20.

Heck, even the d12 which was only used for greataxe damage every now and then.

But a d100? I for one do not want to invest my money in one of those foolish looking ball in bubble contraptions that dares to charade as a real die.

Someone told me there was a way to avoid that mess using two d10s, but I was very skeptical. Because 10 + 10 is 20. It just didn't make sense to me how that could possibly work.

Thanks to Ben Gerber's guide, I have been able to dodge an extremely expensive purchase simply by unlocking the arcane code that was hinted to me in a previously unhelpful way.

100 numbers between 1 and 100 has been a godsend. Thank you Ben.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 numbers between 1 and 100, Inclusive
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2012 11:12:00
Worthless. Not compatible with D20 system as promised, instead it wants me to use some bizarre d100 homebrew rules.

Cover art is OK; I might be able to stat it up as a magic item and salvage something from this waste of money.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 numbers between 1 and 100, Inclusive
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2012 11:01:08
Wow. I really don't know how I managed to GM before I bought this. Of all the "100" products out there (100 Whittled Wooden Toys, 100 Embroidery Patterns, 100 Esoteric Ways To Sneeze), this is easily my favourite! Kudos to the writers for coming up with this innovative list to (hopefully) end all lists ;)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Something Went Wrong - Gold Edition
by Dan W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/04/2012 20:34:58
This game combines a couple of rare properties.

First, it's a competitive fantasy RPG......awesome.

Second, the barrier for entry regarding both cost and and the system learning curve are quite low.
The system is simple, fun, and easily expanded upon, should that be needed. The game is fast-paced, and doesn't take long to play, making it a fantastic pick-up game.
Also, you can't beat the price! There is a free version, however, this game is well worth the $3!

I, personally, will keep a copy with me if I go anywhere near a convention.
Great job!
Troll in the Corner is definitely establishing itself as an indie game publisher that I'll be keeping my eye on.

-Dan@CarpeGM.net

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Something Went Wrong - Gold Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Something Went Wrong - Gold Edition
by Ryan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2012 20:50:00
Awesome damn game! My girlfriend and I tried it out the other night and had a blast. The idea of a competitive table-top game with a familiar RP setup works wonderfully well. Cannot recommend enough!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Something Went Wrong - Free Version
by Nathaniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2012 19:21:10
An outstanding game, the simple system makes it easy to expand upon and I have a soft spot in my heart for GM less games. It has many extra options in the gold edition so I recommend it not only for the extras but to support the author!
My only grip is the limited amount of encounters listed but it is easy to make more.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Something Went Wrong - Free Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much for your review! There will be more encounters coming - probably with the next update!
Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2012 11:35:10
Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places is the kind of fast toolkit you can actually use when you're short on inspiration and time, or when your players take a turn you didn't expect and you suddenly have to come up with a new NPC or encounter. Unlike products of this kind that sometimes feature hundreds of generic and barely-useful "seeds" or encounters, Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places actually has some thought and craft behind the material, and it shows.

The first thing I noticed about this product was the quality. There are three versions of the file: normal, print-friendly, and tablet-optimized. There's also a tidy and organized PDF index / table of contents. I can't tell you how much I wish more indie developers would pay attention to these details. A good index makes all the difference.

Since Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places is system-neutral, each entry is focused on the story details, not on statistics. Each NPC, for example, has the following attributes: name, motivation, strength, weakness, and a relative "power rating" for incorporating the material into your own game world. So be advised that if you're going to drop this stuff in, you're going to have to come up with your own game stats.

Each entry is concise and easily digestible. Each of the NPCs, places, and items come with at least one or two "plot hooks" for incorporating them into your game. Personally, I love that there were multiple hooks for each -- I love having a choice. The NPCs and encounters range from the rather typical to the truly bizarre.

The interior artwork by Hisham is also great -- none of it looks like stock art or random illustrations that bear no resemblance to what's on the page.

Finally, the book has a sentient sword called ULTRAMIND. You heard me.

Although I received a free copy in return for a review, I would gladly have shelled out the six bucks for this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2012 11:21:29
Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places focuses on the quality of the material as opposed to quantity. That said this product is still filled with dozens of interesting NPCs, curious creatures, intriguing items and plot-worthy locales. Game masters will find no lack of inspiration in this product and will get a lot of mileage out of it no matter what game system they are using. The material in this book is written independent of game system which means it can be used with any fantasy roleplaying game with very little work.

Not only is each entry well written Benjamin Gerber took the time to develop adventure hooks for each as well. Then on top of that he included a section at the back of the book with additional adventure hooks to add even more tools to a game master's toolbox.

For the most part the layout of the book and the art were superb although there are some questionable art choices. Visually the book is not as cohesive as I would have liked it to be which disappointed me because the written portions of the book are top notch. The book also have some problems with editing and/or formatting; there were a lot of broken paragraphs, missing periods and things like that.

Full Disclosure: I received a free PDF copy of this product for review purposes. Regardless I would happily pay $6 for this book. I believe it is worth every penny and I think you will too.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi Michael, I thought I had stomped out all of those formatting bugs! The broken paragraphs/missing periods and whatnot should all be addressed in a maintenance release coming out later today. Thanks for the review!
Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places
by Brent N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2012 18:06:36
(Full disclosure: I was provided with an advance copy of this book for copyediting purposes. I was not involved creatively.)

Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places serves one function: providing a GM with evocative characters, locations, items, and story hooks.

The key word is "evocative." There are plenty of books that offer dry lists of characters and items, almost as though they were computer-generated. Ben Gerber describes each character, location, or item in enough detail to pique the reader's interest and clearly explain its uses. While the book is system-neutral, each element includes a standard block of basic stats: size, motivation, strengths, weaknesses, and a "power level" ranking from 1 to 10.

Better, each character, location, and item includes a set of adventure hooks, so they're easy to work into an ongoing campaign.

This is not a huge list of characters; EPP has "only" a few dozen NPCs, encounters, items, and places total. This is about quality over quantity. That is exactly its strength: each element is vivid and charged with potential for conflict.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The 2nd Annual Wayne Foundation Charity Pack
by George D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2012 11:47:41
A wonderful assortment of items, many of which I had been considering purchasing for awhile. I am allways a big fan of the charity packs at Drive Thru RPG. While there is some duplication of items that have been included in earlier charity packs like the one offered for Doctors without Borders. There is suficient variety to offset this. Overall this This bundle does not dissapoint, and since the proceeds go toward a great cause I feel like a double winner.

George D'Amato

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The 2nd Annual Wayne Foundation Charity Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Argyle & Crew - Adventure in the Land of Skcos
by Andre K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2012 10:40:21
Argyle and Crew is a fun structured romp through the wonderful world of role-playing for children. The system is simple, well conceived, and looks like fun! This should prove to be a great way to introduce children to role-playing and provide structured play time. Gamers with little ones will find this well worth it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Argyle & Crew - Adventure in the Land of Skcos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Darn the Torpedoes! A Guide to Naval Combat with Paper Ships
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2012 15:02:11
It's a little strange to be reviewing a freebie, but I wanted to advise people that the title is somewhat misleading: it is NOT a guide to naval combat with paper ships; it is the barest bones of an outline for playing an extremely simple game using ships. It is suitable for children from 5 or 6 to about 10, even though the rules say it is suitable for age 12 on up. I was disappointed, as I had hoped it would help me design a naval wargame for kids in the 11-14 age range, but it really isn't.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Darn the Torpedoes! A Guide to Naval Combat with Paper Ships
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG