RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Devious NPCs and Curious Creatures [PFRPG]
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2012 13:45:06
Interesting and well written. A useful tool for any GM to have handy when you need to put some flesh onto an NPC but might not really have the time to do it right then.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Devious NPCs and Curious Creatures [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Soppets Save Halloween - an Argyle & Crew scenario for kids
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/01/2012 15:07:39
It says "an adventure for 1 to 25 kids" and I can see that. I can see a parent running this for their own child, or someone running this at a school, a convention, or a game store demo for a larger crowd of kids. It could easily be adapted to any other holiday but changing some names, which gives it a nice replayability.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Soppets Save Halloween - an Argyle & Crew scenario for kids
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Scared Soppet - an Argyle & Crew Scenario
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/01/2012 14:55:15
The educational aspects of these Argyle and Crew adventures is amazing. The scenario is simple, and the players have a lot of input in figuring out how to resolve the issue. Roleplaying advocates always say that RPGs promote problem solving, and a copy of this ought to be sent to anyone who still thinks RPGs promote negative behavior.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Scared Soppet - an Argyle & Crew Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Knock Your Socks Off - the Argyle & Crew Soundtrack
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/01/2012 14:52:17
The creators of Argyle and Crew did an excellent job of picking out some Creative Commons-licenced music that helps capture the feel of the land of Skcos! Wonderfully fun, age appropriate, and very inspirational.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knock Your Socks Off - the Argyle & Crew Soundtrack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Differences - a Soppet's guide to anti-bullying
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/01/2012 14:50:01
How simple can an adventure be? Think of a moral and build a story around it! The great thing about the Argyle and Crew game is that just about any basic story can be turned into an adventure, and it's a great, interactive way to teach these lessons to kids!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Differences - a Soppet's guide to anti-bullying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Argyle & Crew - Adventure in the Land of Skcos
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/01/2012 14:48:10
This is incredibly fun for kids or for adults who just want to act like kids. I grew up watching Mister Rogers, Kukla. Fran & Ollie, and local kids shows like Captain Noah & His Magical Ark, so puppets were a huge influence on my imagination. It's great to come full circle and have a puppet-based roleplaying game! A great way to bring young people into the hobby.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Argyle & Crew - Adventure in the Land of Skcos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Very Best of Troll in the Corner Vol. 2
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/29/2012 11:50:09
An excellent collection of articles on various RPG-related subjects. I particularly enjoyed "Zen and the Art of the Fireball," and the articles on the social contract and bringing the party together. Great content for a price you can't beat!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Very Best of Troll in the Corner Vol. 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Argyle & Crew - Adventure in the Land of Skcos
by Jason L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2012 11:51:49
As an educator, parent and designer I would have to say that Argyle and Crew: Adventure in the Land of Skcos is one of those games that's a MUST have for many different reasons. The first big thing that popped out for me was the compassion in the writing itself. The game promotes real world interaction for children that reminds me of shows like Mister Roger's Neighborhood. It understands that each child will respond differently, but that it's ok to feel the way you do as long as you understand why and are having fun.

The basic concept of Argyle and Crew is that players create sock-puppets called Soppets. Players break out a sock and craft box to built their character. That part of the game is great for family time. Having kids myself I can tell you that this part of the game is just the beginning of the excitement. From there the adult becomes a 'Guide' who keeps the players focused on the quest at hand. Daycare workers should really look at this game. I'd recommend it to anyone who works in childcare. The quests are pretty simple. Kids go on searches for a specific item throughout the home and each clue leads to the next until someone accomplishes the requirements. Argyle and Crew also makes it a point to address any type of conflict that might arise from competition. Again, this is a MUST have for childcare workers.

But the game isn't just for kids. Adults can have fun with it too. Just reading the PDF made me think that my family all needed to create Soppets and every time someone loses something or needs help finding something then we could break out the Soppets!

And the price is well worth it. I'm surprised that I haven't seen this on TV. HIGHLY recommended!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Argyle & Crew - Adventure in the Land of Skcos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Troll in the Corner's Magical Emporium: Mirkmoot's Wondrous Waterater [PFRPG]
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/22/2012 07:47:24
A handy magic item with an unfortunate drawback. I'm a big fan of giving quirks and glitches to magic items and artifacts, and this is one of the more clever examples of that sort of thing.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Troll in the Corner's Magical Emporium: Mirkmoot's Wondrous Waterater [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The World of Aruneus - Contagion Infected Zombies 2.0 [PFRPG]
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2012 19:36:10
A great monster template for infectious zombies, for any GM who wants to bring a bit of George Romero to his or her Pathfinder game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The World of Aruneus - Contagion Infected Zombies 2.0 [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Argyle & Crew - Adventure in the Land of Skcos
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/01/2012 12:02:39
Argyle & Crew is a very basic set of guidelines for running storytelling games. Since there are no limits to what the Extras can accomplish, it can be very easy for the players to achieve the Goal very easily. It's up to the Guide to make sure that the story remains interesting for the other players, and this can be a real challenge. The rules suggest a "There is only yes" guideline, in which the Guide attempts to answer all questions and requests with "Yes" as often as possible, except when it would involve short circuiting the story (such as letting the players jump directly to the Goal), hurting or being mean to others, or passing any boundaries or limitations that were previously agreed upon.

Personally, I would suggest using the "Yes, but..." method, which gives the gamemaster the option to put a restriction on the request. ("Yes, you can use your pogo stick to jump to the other side of the island to get to the Goal, but once you land there, you find that someone has moved it!")

Some advanced rules near the end of the book turn the game into something a bit more like traditional RPGs, with numbered stats and d6 rolls to determine results - these may make the game a bit more appealing to older players and Guides who would like to work with something a little more concrete.
The published scenarios for the game have a general theme of coping with social situations - bullying, for example - and it would be great to see more of these released.

Argyle & Crew is a great introductory storytelling game that will work well with younger players, and could have a lot of potential in teaching environments. The physical element of the puppets will draw lots of players in, no matter their age - who doesn't like playing with puppets, after all?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Argyle & Crew - Adventure in the Land of Skcos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Scared Soppet - an Argyle & Crew Scenario
by Jodi B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2011 13:26:56
I have not looked at Argyle and Crew yet but this looks like it stands alone just fine. I like the simplicity of it, and the fact that it can be used in educational settings, or as a fun little game for the younger set. To be honest, I shared the link with my kid's elementary school guidance counselor--and you should too!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Scared Soppet - an Argyle & Crew Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places Preview
by Ghost W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2011 13:39:19
Not terribly great.. I would hope it was a preview of a preview, because the con-man detailed seemed to only have half what a fully fleshed out NPC would have. There's a few odd details about his past, some hints of his tactics, but no play-by-play sample, or example stats. Feels half done, but hey, it is a preview.

I just hope the finished product is better.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Knock Your Socks Off - the Argyle & Crew Soundtrack
by Chuck C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2011 13:22:11
This is a very impressive collection of music. Each of these pieces would work fine as the "theme song" for the right kind of campaign. Most of them are on the modern/spacey/techno side but could be used for any genre with the right spin. I'm surprised this is free. I'd happily pay $5 or more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knock Your Socks Off - the Argyle & Crew Soundtrack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places Preview
by Kyle W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2011 18:21:32
thought the free copy had little content, the application and idea are sound and the one NPC was in depth and could be very useful. If the pattern was consistant throught out the book it would be a handy tool for any GM-DM...whatever.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters ~ Plots ~ Places Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG