RPGNow.com
Umschauen
 Verlagsinfos











Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
Anime Action: Diceless Anime-Style Roleplaying
von Katelyn S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/26/2017 19:00:34

Anime Action! is a rules-light system that focuses on the narrative as the GM and players create their own anime series, episode by episode.

The mechanics leave it wide open for a variety of genres, from swords & sorcery, to space operas, to rom-coms. While the book gives you ideas and a basic structure for character creation, the exact way your stats, traits, and specials interact with the story is extremely malleable.

You largely make up your own trait's fluff and application, but the bonus it gives it static. For instance, my character had "You Gotta Have Faith +2" as a Trait. As long as I could justify it within a story ("I have faith that my goddess will help me aim when I chuck this apple at that bandit's head!"), it could be done.

This could have issues with players/GMs who are adversarial, but anyone interested in telling a cooperative story with anime flavor will love this system.

I own the paperback copy. Glossy cover, perfect bound, matte pages.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Anime Action: Diceless Anime-Style Roleplaying
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Anime Action: Diceless Anime-Style Roleplaying
von Michael J. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 02/17/2017 17:04:29

Oddly I felt that this was very similar (except for all the dfferences) to the PDQ system. Making the character was a lot like it. The Fiat (attributes) and traits were set up a Lot like PDQ, but spending energy et al to push it higher, and then if you lost, consequences (sort of like FATE) instead of losing ranks. So sort of an expanded PDQ, but nothing Left to chance. I also like Tia (the demon girl on the cover) giving examples and explanations through the book.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
ReArm Yourself!
von Gerwazy B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/31/2015 11:56:59

This product has some good features that make up for the mediocre rest.

Pros:

  • interesting list of armor types that include some ideas about not so common armor types (e.g. spider silk).
  • two tables for weapon and armor traits are very good. I would definitely use them if I were to GM some OSR.
  • the whole layout is nice

Cons:

  • I have a feeling, that some weapons presented in this product were added just to fill up the weapon table. Quite many of those weapons have additional micro-rules, such as +1 to hit when X or if critical hit occurs then Y. Those rules are not really intuitive and to be honest, I don't really think that some of them would even be some kind of competition against boring one handed 1d8 damage sword.
  • magical gems... let's just skip this one

Overall this a very good product. I would recommend buying this one if just for those armor and weapon trait tables.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
ReArm Yourself!
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

In the Name of...
von Gerwazy B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/31/2015 11:24:55

Few weak points of this PDF:

  • classes are just plain out of place and silly, they are not really fitting into an OSR in my oppinion.
  • taboo class is a nice idea, but those presented here are somewhat shallow as I see it.
  • generator for deities is just another set of tables for generating deities. You can find better here and there.

In my opinion this product is not worth the buck. Ideas lack playtesting, and the whole lacks depth.

It is better to take a look at the other PDF from this author, available for the moment - Rearm yourself!, which is actually quite good.



Wertung:
[2 von 5 Sternen!]
In the Name of...
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Gods of Wor - Swords and Wizardry Edition
von Dan O. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/20/2015 13:19:15

An excellent book: it is very well-written, has lots of interesting & original deities, as well as excellent artwork & presentation, and even divinely inspired magic items!

A must-have for old school gamers and judges alike!



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Gods of Wor - Swords and Wizardry Edition
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Gods of Wor - Swords and Wizardry Edition
von Chad N. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/13/2015 04:17:19

Finally, a pantheon that is worth building into your campaign. While the mythos offered in Dungeons and Dragons 5e and or Pathfinder are great, Gods of Wor by Three Sages Games takes everything one step further.

The brilliance here is in the framework. Building the stories of the gods into your campaign is easy, but in many campaigns, is it worth it? The penalty and or benefit for worshiping a god or goddess has heretofore been intangible at best many times. Gods of Wor changes this.

Ranging from priests to the non-devout, players can take on a number of roles and associated benefits and or penalties. You can immerse your players fully or little by little. The gods can be active or disinterested, caring or callous. The gods can conspire against the players or cheer them on from the sidelines. The structure in the Gods of Wor allows for great versatility.

In my personal campaign, my players like to bury their heads in the sand but using Gods of Wor I have been able to keep them acutely aware of the need to take the will of the gods into account. Actions have consequences, and sometimes, inaction has even worse consequences. The Gods of Wor helps you put it all in perspective and helps you drive the direction of your campaign without feeling contrived.

All in all, a great buy, and I’m looking forward to a lot more from Three Sages.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
The Beast That Waits - Swords and Wizardry Edition
von derek j. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/10/2015 09:30:48

Really great sandbox. The Beast That Waits gives you a nice small area to start with, A rumor table and notable NPC's.

-- The NPC's are written in a nice short summary

-- The wilderness is broken down into several areas. Each area has a marked goal that can be completed, but doesn't railroad the group.

-- Plenty of hooks that can be used to expand the adventure as much as you want

--- Nothing is set in stone. You can customize parts or all of the module as you see fit for your group or game setting.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
The Beast That Waits - Swords and Wizardry Edition
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

ReArm Yourself!
von Peter J. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 05/17/2015 11:44:11

From the visual aspect, this 17 page long supplement about weapons and armor looks pretty nifty. Although the illustrations were taken from various historical books and from the internet, they are NOT placed randomly without thought.

I must congratulate Noobirus (the author) for the content. In my opinion, he managed to faithfully translate the specifications of medieval arms into the quite simple S&W engine. He has also written how various weapons work against specific enemies. Sure, this isn't some kind of Hunting Weapon Manual, but you can clearly see features that are characteristic for fantasy worlds, where humans are not the only enemy you will face.

One of the best features of this supplement is the weapon trait tables, which enhances any weapon-related treasure you will find, not only magically. When it comes to defense, the supplement offers us some additional armor types and a very rich list of ornaments.

The last chapter is about magical gems, which can be inserted not only into weapons and armor, but also into everyday items.

To sum up, ReArm Yourself! is a small, but a very interesting supplement, which will surely make many games more enjoyable. The book combines historical correctness and gameplay quite nicely. The illustrations and layout are also nice to look at.

Personally, I think the supplement is worth it's price, but only if you really want to use it in your games. It doesn't contain any rules which are essential to the system, it's just a well-made piece of RPG craftsmanship.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
ReArm Yourself!
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

The Beast That Waits - Swords and Wizardry Edition
von Thomas B. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 03/31/2015 07:13:23

SIX POINT SUMMARY

  • I love random tables. Random encounter tables, weather tables, name tables, gossip tables? Awesome.

  • A very interesting structure, with conditions on "clearing" each section of the map, with the PCs often being better off finding the root source of the trouble in each area, rather than hunting down the different minions.

  • Some great layers are present in the area. Sure, you can "just" deal with the ghost on the road...or you can find out why she's there...and STILL not know everything (relevant to the game) that there is to know about her.

  • This is very much a sandbox, and one that the author tried to pepper with enough material and hooks to help your players bite on.

  • If you don't know anything about the world of Alia-Wor, it's not a big deal. I could easily see how one could fit this into the Forgotten Realms, for instance, and if my 5e group hadn't already hit level 9, I probably would. There's always the next campaign...

  • The art is good, but perhaps a bit cartoonish. Your mileage may vary on how well it fits the tone of the area and adventure.

A very good product that reminds me of the output from Small Niche Games, which I am a huge fan of. It would take very little effort to turn this into a multisession campaign (or at least mini campaign), with the sandbox feel and the various plot layers that can be peeled away for sessions.

I won't sit here and pretend to know what is, or is not, good "old school"...but I know what I like, and I liked this..a bit more than I expected, even. Worth getting if you want a low level sandbox campaign with a slightly horror feel...and don't worry, most of you can convert it to your favorite D&D version (maybe even your favorite system) pretty easily.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2015/03/tommys-take-on-beast-that-waits.html



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
The Beast That Waits - Swords and Wizardry Edition
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

The Beast That Waits - Swords and Wizardry Edition
von Jeremy Z. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 03/13/2015 03:31:48

This is a really remarkable product, similar to the sort that Necromancer Games would put out during the 3e area. Basically it's a mini-sandbox setting. Lots of places and NPCs very well described, with the PCs able to wander about doing whatever they wanted. Really a good amount of detail (the 50 pages are all double column), including a 30 room dungeon.

Perfect standing module for an OSR game, especially one like Beyond the Wall. Really one of the best OSR adventures I've seen, and as good as anything Necromancer put out back in the day.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Baronica: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
von Jeremy S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/20/2014 16:03:14

This is what a Dungeon World Campaign Front ought to be. It has just enough to get the game going and leaves lots of room for the players to fill in the details. I highly recommend it.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Baronica: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Baronica: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
von Craig D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/02/2014 21:43:38

This is new territory. Few Dungeon World Campaign Fronts exist at the published stage, and it's a relief to see publishers such as Three Sages fill this void.

I've played with this product long enough to know that it is a perfect environment in to which a group can be dropped for a very entertaining Dungeon World campaign. In other words, I've lost several characters in it as a player and killed off several as a narrator. We were all delighted at the quality of their demise!

The key is that this product turns what works best as a one-off narrative game engine into an environment where players can experience old-school gaming tropes with new-school mechanics.

Only those who have tried a thing have earned the right to judge a thing. Earn that right with this product, right now!



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Baronica: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
von Micah B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 04/30/2014 07:17:52

Not incredibly creative or worth 4 bucks. I would not utilize this when better cheaper products exist.



Wertung:
[1 von 5 Sternen!]
Baronica: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
von Thomas B. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 02/03/2014 01:00:30

WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: Released by Three Sages Games, Baronica is a campaign front for Dungeon World, which I reviewed recently. Baronica is based on the author's old fantasy campaign, with some details left out. In keeping with the Dungeon World mindset, Baronica is left pretty open for the GMs and players to fill in, maps included. It's a fairly typical fantasy setting, in which the High King has fallen and the people are trying to determine who can take the crown. In the meanwhile, goblins are getting violent, and a dark force is rising to consume everyone (because that's what dark forces DO). A number of important NPCs are provided, as well as questions relevant to the campaign for the players to answer, and Special Moves for certain parts of the setting (my favorite being the move that details what happens when the PCs encounter The Azure Unicorn). Of course, Dangers are present, and a few Fronts are provided to help you guide the escalation of the threat level (such as the Rise of the Dark Lord).

WHAT WORKS: If you read the advice on creating Campaign Fronts and Dangers in the Dungeon World book, and it didn't quite click, then this might well be worth reading. I liked that the maps are left open enough for you to add your own elements and features that appear in gameplay, and I particularly enjoyed the encounter with the Azure Unicorn.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: If you already have a sense of what you are doing with Dungeon World, world-building-wise, then there's not enough new and unique stuff here to make it worthwhile. The author admits that it's going to feel a little familiar to some people, so if you're already on that path, you are probably better served to keep going in that direction.

CONCLUSION: Recommended for people who are pretty sure they have the mechanics of Dungeon World down, but are not sure just how they are actually going to get the game going (the front suggests that the PCs begin in media res), but folks who have already started to work on their own Dungeon World setting aren't going to find a lot here to compel them to scrap their work and introduce Baronica in its stead.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
A-1 The Perils of Ophelia
von William W. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 02/13/2012 08:16:20

The plot for this adventure is a solid one, but what really struck me was how well organized this product was. It contains three different hook ideas to help the DM bring the characters into the story, a plot flowchart that includes plot points and encounters, and a list of dangling plot threads, which can be picked up in future adventures.

This product does suffer from a couple of typographical errors and two illustrations that are somewhat anachronistic (a picture of a modern-day female chemist next to a cook NPC stat block, for example). I'm also not much of a fan of the CGI-style art featured on the cover of this and many other RPG products, but I suspect I may be a minority there.

Minor flaws aside, this is a well-organized product. RPG adventure authors would do well to have a look and get some inspiration.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
A-1 The Perils of Ophelia
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 18 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG