RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Strange Magic Old School Roleplaying
by Josephe V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2015 07:12:15
I was wondering why there is no PDF for teh Pocket mode. The PNG looks a bit blurry on my print and I somehow liked the layout of Weird West a bit more with the slanted fonts. The wider font makes Strange Magic a bit crowded. But overall I am very pleased, and these details are just my neatpicking.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Magic Old School Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Strange Magic Old School Roleplaying
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2015 21:43:49
This is really slick, and I like it a lot. It's perfect to fold up and stick in your pocket with a d20 and a d6 just in case a game breaks out somewhere, or while you're backpacking or something. One flaw is I think the wizard needs more spells, but that should be easy to wing it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MechaForce Tactical Combat Game
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2013 13:40:24
Introduce your kids to giant robot smackdown. Lots of fun in a little package

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MechaForce Tactical Combat Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2013 15:24:11
Price is exatly right for amount you get. This minimalist roleplaying game gives you everything you really need to start building your own weird west adventures. Propably the best thing I have bought for a single dollar.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon From A Distant Star
by Lawrence B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2013 23:03:50
Another simple single page adventure. I really like the idea of putting a fantasy setting crawl inside of a advanced crashed spacecraft. Leaves a lot to fill in, but, still offers enough to get the imagination flowing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon From A Distant Star
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Ancient Academy
by Lawrence B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2013 22:41:30
A simple single page dungeon which brings you back to the days when rpgs were about the crawl. For the price of free I fail to see why anyone shouldn't give it a try.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ancient Academy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MechaForce Tactical Combat Game
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2012 12:21:23
I'm a big fan of the Battletech system, but these days it just seems impossible to find the time to play. MechForce boils dowm the core of mecha construction and combat to a very manageble level were I can now fight a quick battle and still not miss dinner.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MechaForce Tactical Combat Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Citadel of Evil
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2012 17:31:40
A varied, logical and enjoyable series of encounters centred on the dungeons of a (smallish) Citadel. This is what handcrafted game design looks like. It's provided in a lower resolution though fully readable.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Citadel of Evil
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Citadel of Evil
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2012 06:09:18
This fantastic pocket mod adventure has a lot of great elements. Some areas are finished construction, some are not. There are imaginative foes, and a well-developed overall reason to go into the citadel. Not only are there multiple levels, there's a sketchy suggestion of how to handle the area around the citadel as well.

This is a well-developed example of how to do an adventure on a piece of paper, to be portable and charming and engaging. Good work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/03/2011 23:06:48
(originally posted at TenkarsTavern.com)

So, what can I tell you about Weird West? It's amazingly complete for 8 pages - tho if you take off the cover and the fighting chart at the back it's 6 pages. 6 amazingly complete pages. Pages that include character generation, stats, skills, professions, spells, combat mods, a weapon list, task resolution... phew!

Stuart squeezes so much into so little. Heck, if I go into much more detail I'll be giving the thing away for free. Get your own copy. It's just a buck.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Old School Hatching
by Joseph B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2011 02:04:45
This beautiful, seamless tile is exactly as advertised. You get an EPS file (Photoshop) which I was able to open in Photoshop Elements and easily export as a PNG file for use with my Campaign Cartographer 3/Dungeon Designer 3 software by setting up a bitmap fill style. I have been very happy with the results I am getting in my maps.

My only suggestions would be to a) include a PNG copy of the tile as well for people who may not have access to Photoshop (I couldn't get the file to open in the free GIMP or Fireworks) and b) include a formal license (the product description implies you can use it for both personal and commercial use).

This is a very useful piece of artwork at a very reasonable price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old School Hatching
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by PAMPA P. A. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2011 05:38:30
Good value for the money, but if you like to tinker with systems you could probably do the same in one afternoon...

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by Dave K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2011 21:57:55
The ”Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook” typifies truth in advertising. This delightfully-compact, rules-light system provides players and storytellers with enough basic standardization to play a hearty and imaginative game. The dice required are also readily available by most hobbyists and kids. The possible characters created leaves much to player drive and story-lines. Nobody needs to fill classic roles like a spell-caster, or fight, or lock-pick. Similarly, the adventure can be free-flowing to match zany or serious play. For the price of a dollar, and a regular blog posted by the game designer, this game should be on everyone’s shelf or iPad.

For play-testing purposes, my friends and I made characters for an adventure. In short summary, we had a minotaur sheriff who had a nasty penchant for cattle rustlers, an android from the future sent to the wild west time line to uncover human migration patterns and gold veins, a shovel-wielding monk who used his tool as a prop while fighting, and a barmaid/prostitute who had enigmatic magical persuasion powers. The group successfully uncovered a charlatan’s invisibility tonic than made cattle shrink rather than disappear. While touted as safe insurance against thieves, the chemist quietly made off with cattle which he later restored to normal size. Combats went quickly, and actions were made using the known modifiers. The songbird needed few magical spells, and learned more on her enchantment abilities than spell-casting, per se. Overall, the sober group had an enjoyable time with the rules, their characters, and would be willing to advance characters in the future. Again, this product is well worth the $1.00 investment as advertised!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2011 18:03:25
The rules are incredibly stripped down. Weird West gives you the barest system imaginable, and that's a great thing--for experienced gamers. People new to RPGs might need some guidance to run these rules, the book assumes you understand enough about game systems to fill in the blanks that have been left out. That being said, this is brilliant. This system will run like a bat out of hell during play, and that is ultimately the most desirable quality of any system of rules. Granted, that's just my opinion, but this game is not going to be slowed by a lot of debate over an obscure rule or a long search through a heavy tome to settle a question. If the bare rules don't give you an answer, make it up.
I like it a lot. I had the old Boot Hill system back in the 1980s, and this is better. You could very easily run a straight Western game just by omitting the fantastic elements and substituting what you want.

It's worth a dollar, go ahead and spend it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by Joseph P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2011 14:52:45
One of the better simple systems I have encountered. Quick characters and quick play. I would have preferred slightly more on skills and a few example non-player characters, but for $1, who is complaining? I am waiting for the Weird West expansion sets! Bravo!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG