RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
MechaForce Tactical Combat Game
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2013 13:40:24
Introduce your kids to giant robot smackdown. Lots of fun in a little package

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MechaForce Tactical Combat Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2013 15:24:11
Price is exatly right for amount you get. This minimalist roleplaying game gives you everything you really need to start building your own weird west adventures. Propably the best thing I have bought for a single dollar.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dungeon From A Distant Star
by Lawrence B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2013 23:03:50
Another simple single page adventure. I really like the idea of putting a fantasy setting crawl inside of a advanced crashed spacecraft. Leaves a lot to fill in, but, still offers enough to get the imagination flowing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon From A Distant Star
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Ancient Academy
by Lawrence B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2013 22:41:30
A simple single page dungeon which brings you back to the days when rpgs were about the crawl. For the price of free I fail to see why anyone shouldn't give it a try.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ancient Academy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MechaForce Tactical Combat Game
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2012 12:21:23
I'm a big fan of the Battletech system, but these days it just seems impossible to find the time to play. MechForce boils dowm the core of mecha construction and combat to a very manageble level were I can now fight a quick battle and still not miss dinner.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MechaForce Tactical Combat Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Citadel of Evil
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2012 17:31:40
A varied, logical and enjoyable series of encounters centred on the dungeons of a (smallish) Citadel. This is what handcrafted game design looks like. It's provided in a lower resolution though fully readable.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Citadel of Evil
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Citadel of Evil
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2012 06:09:18
This fantastic pocket mod adventure has a lot of great elements. Some areas are finished construction, some are not. There are imaginative foes, and a well-developed overall reason to go into the citadel. Not only are there multiple levels, there's a sketchy suggestion of how to handle the area around the citadel as well.

This is a well-developed example of how to do an adventure on a piece of paper, to be portable and charming and engaging. Good work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/03/2011 23:06:48
(originally posted at TenkarsTavern.com)

So, what can I tell you about Weird West? It's amazingly complete for 8 pages - tho if you take off the cover and the fighting chart at the back it's 6 pages. 6 amazingly complete pages. Pages that include character generation, stats, skills, professions, spells, combat mods, a weapon list, task resolution... phew!

Stuart squeezes so much into so little. Heck, if I go into much more detail I'll be giving the thing away for free. Get your own copy. It's just a buck.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Old School Hatching
by Joseph B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2011 02:04:45
This beautiful, seamless tile is exactly as advertised. You get an EPS file (Photoshop) which I was able to open in Photoshop Elements and easily export as a PNG file for use with my Campaign Cartographer 3/Dungeon Designer 3 software by setting up a bitmap fill style. I have been very happy with the results I am getting in my maps.

My only suggestions would be to a) include a PNG copy of the tile as well for people who may not have access to Photoshop (I couldn't get the file to open in the free GIMP or Fireworks) and b) include a formal license (the product description implies you can use it for both personal and commercial use).

This is a very useful piece of artwork at a very reasonable price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old School Hatching
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by PAMPA P. A. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2011 05:38:30
Good value for the money, but if you like to tinker with systems you could probably do the same in one afternoon...

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by Dave K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2011 21:57:55
The ”Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook” typifies truth in advertising. This delightfully-compact, rules-light system provides players and storytellers with enough basic standardization to play a hearty and imaginative game. The dice required are also readily available by most hobbyists and kids. The possible characters created leaves much to player drive and story-lines. Nobody needs to fill classic roles like a spell-caster, or fight, or lock-pick. Similarly, the adventure can be free-flowing to match zany or serious play. For the price of a dollar, and a regular blog posted by the game designer, this game should be on everyone’s shelf or iPad.

For play-testing purposes, my friends and I made characters for an adventure. In short summary, we had a minotaur sheriff who had a nasty penchant for cattle rustlers, an android from the future sent to the wild west time line to uncover human migration patterns and gold veins, a shovel-wielding monk who used his tool as a prop while fighting, and a barmaid/prostitute who had enigmatic magical persuasion powers. The group successfully uncovered a charlatan’s invisibility tonic than made cattle shrink rather than disappear. While touted as safe insurance against thieves, the chemist quietly made off with cattle which he later restored to normal size. Combats went quickly, and actions were made using the known modifiers. The songbird needed few magical spells, and learned more on her enchantment abilities than spell-casting, per se. Overall, the sober group had an enjoyable time with the rules, their characters, and would be willing to advance characters in the future. Again, this product is well worth the $1.00 investment as advertised!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2011 18:03:25
The rules are incredibly stripped down. Weird West gives you the barest system imaginable, and that's a great thing--for experienced gamers. People new to RPGs might need some guidance to run these rules, the book assumes you understand enough about game systems to fill in the blanks that have been left out. That being said, this is brilliant. This system will run like a bat out of hell during play, and that is ultimately the most desirable quality of any system of rules. Granted, that's just my opinion, but this game is not going to be slowed by a lot of debate over an obscure rule or a long search through a heavy tome to settle a question. If the bare rules don't give you an answer, make it up.
I like it a lot. I had the old Boot Hill system back in the 1980s, and this is better. You could very easily run a straight Western game just by omitting the fantastic elements and substituting what you want.

It's worth a dollar, go ahead and spend it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by Joseph P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2011 14:52:45
One of the better simple systems I have encountered. Quick characters and quick play. I would have preferred slightly more on skills and a few example non-player characters, but for $1, who is complaining? I am waiting for the Weird West expansion sets! Bravo!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2011 17:32:59
It's very stripped down, just presents an idea (with inconsistent spelling) of a very simple, easy to learn system (like I've seen board games with more complex rules than this). It also seems sort of rushed, as there aren't many rules at all for different situations, and the "armor" section discusses heavy plate mail and chainmail--not often something you see in wild west or weird west games--and that is a little confusing, since there is not enough substance in the book to really justify why you'd want heavy plate mail in a western setting.

There are four classes: Adventurer, Fighter, Gifted, and Magician, except it does not explain at any point what any of those imply. Of course Fighter and Magician are obvious enough, but besides that you just have to sort of glean what they might entail by how they level. Adventurers are ok at fighting and skills, Gifted people are ok with just about everything; Fighters and Magicians are great at fighting, and magic, respectively. It introduces how to roll up Stamina points, but doesn't say what Stamina points are for, except that when you lose all your Stamina points, you are knocked unconscious. Spells and Gifts, it says, can also affect regaining Stamina points, but does not have any indication of what Spells and Gifts are. Obviously there is a lot of additional work a Game Master needs to do in order to make this a serviceable game, and the rules as written are more or less just a suggestion of an idea, rather than a fully-fleshed-out idea themselves.

But for a dollar? Why not. The rules may be just enough to get the creative juices flowing, and there's just enough written in there to whip up an instant party game without too much additional work. However, there's even more lacking, and I'd very much like to see a "version 2" with just a couple more pages of explanation.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
by Cody C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2011 08:46:59
One of my favorite subgenres of roleplaying games is the "Weird West" subgenre. Something about the idea of having a game set in the Wild West, but having magic-users and monsters running around really appeals to me. so, I shouldn't have to explain my reasoning for picking up the Weird West Roleplaying Game from Robertson Games.

The first thing you will notice is that the PDF for Weird West is very slim, presenting only the system and is strait to the point. You won't be getting a premade setting with this book, just the rules. While some would see this a problem, I really don't. I actually kind of like it because it allows for the GM to drop in whatever setting they want and allows both the GM and the players to better grasp the rules.

Characters in Weird West have 4 attributes that define their natural abilities. The four attributes are Fighting, Grit, Magic, and Skill. The players allocate 4 points between their attributes to create their character, with at least one point in Grit. I rather like this because I like some simplicity in some of my roleplaying games.

After that, a player than chooses a "path", which is somewhat like a class. the paths are Adventurer, Gifted, Fighter, and Magician. Each path allows a player to advance one or two of their attributes (like the Adventurer advancing Fighting and Skill every 2 levels). Again, I rather like the simplicity presented in the paths with more of a focus on roleplaying over mechanics.

Characters also have a number of magic spells and weird abilities. Examples of some of them are Electromancy, Fastest Gun in the West, and Shaolin Monk. There aren't a lot of weird abilities presented, but it should be rather easy for a GM to create some more to fit his specific campaign setting.

The game uses two different mechanics for combat and task resolution. In combat, you roll a d20 and consult a chart to see if you hit or miss. For task resolution, you use a d6 and try to beat a challenge rating set by the GM. While the mechanics aren't that complicated, I wonder why combat and task resolution couldn't have a similar mechanic instead of two different ones. This seems to add a bit of unnecessary complexity to an otherwise rules-light game.

While I'm not a fan of the two different mechanics for combat and task resolution, I like the the rest of the game. Would this rival a game like Deadlands? Not really, but it's still a nice little game. Also, since it is only costs $1 at Drive Thru RPG. Because of how cheap it is, I would recommend it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG