RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mercy
by Mikael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2014 09:58:09
To be honest, I never made by the first chapter of this book. I may pick it up a day when I have no other book in the pile of unread stuff, and the weather is lousy. The chapter I read was quite blandly written and mostly sounded as a excuse for American war atrocities in Vietnam. So until I have nothing better to do I dropped this...

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mercy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Whispers of the Fallen
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/30/2013 09:40:51
Opening with a bang, this skillfully told tale piles horror and uncertanty as some youngsters in some indeterminate age and place seek to come to terms with what is going on around them. To pick it up is to continue turning the pages wondering what will come next.

Legends of Lucifer and his attendant demons seem to have come to life and whirl around the protagonists in terrifying numbers. Will they find a way out...?

For the role-player: This could have the makings of an epic horror adventure if you have the skills to run one effectively. Best wait for the whole series, though, as a lot of the fun is foreshadowing things to come in the information that you reveal to your players through the legends they discover.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Whispers of the Fallen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Reflections
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/09/2013 10:34:31
A nicely-written if somewhat predictable tale of a bunch of young people out on a road trip who run into a genuine curse at the inn they stop at!

Characters are well-described, the whole tale reads well... and manages to get over moments of passion without descending into porn, tastefully done.

For the role-player: If you like contemporary horror, this could make the basis of an adventure - or even a bit more if you want to pick up on the strange graveyard and other things encountered on the way.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Reflections
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Journey to the Heart of Luna (Space: 1889 & Beyond, #1)
by Erik Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2013 03:58:59
If I had a single paragraph of advice for the reader, then it would be: Get your expectations right up front. Don't expect high literature. Don't expect sentences that take your breath away for their sheer beauty. Don't expect personal drama, big emotions and deeply-painted characters that will haunt your dreams. And don't expect a plot that sucks you into the pages, let's you stay up all night and leaves you desperate for more.

On the other hand, this need not be a problem. This is not Mary Shelley writing. It is not even Dan Brown. Nobody claimed that it would. This is a book that tells a (rather routine) story in the Space: 1889 setting. It can help you to learn more about a roleplaying world, and it does so nicely. The language is elegant, the story is well-told, the mood of the (pulp) Victorian era is being captured. It's an enjoyable read if you don't expect too much. I'm a person who easily puts away a book that bores me, and this one didn't. I read it in the course of a few evenings, I liked it, and I will order other books of the series to learn more about a setting I find interesting. All in all, it's what I expect from a roleplaying novel. Thus, I give it three out of five stars.

P.S.: If there is one point I really would criticise, then it's the open ends. The book concludes its main story, but it nonetheless leaves quite a few open ends. Why did the peaceful Selenites attack the exploration crew on the "Annabella", and how did they win the fight against the well-armed English even though they did not carry weapons? What is the reason for the eerie feelings and halluzinations the crew experienced on Luna? Where did Stevenson disappear, and why? I guess that answers will be given in future books from the series, but it's still somewhat annoying (especially since it is not before #6 that we return to Luna, where the mysteries will hopefully be unravelled).

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Journey to the Heart of Luna (Space: 1889 & Beyond, #1)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Scarecrow
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/22/2013 10:14:38
They say it is not so much a matter of how well the bear dances, but that the bear actually dances at all is a wonder. So thus we are swept up in the musings of a self-aware, genius even, straw man as he tells of his strange situation and as best he can, what it is like to be him.

Told in the first person, it grabs you up and sweeps you along wondering whatever revelation will be next. By exploring the human condition from outside, yet able to think as men do, this straw man illuminates corners that often lie unconsidered. As you read on, though, you discover that you know him. Or at least, thought that you did. As the tale unfolds it brings a whole new slant to things you thought were familiar.

Role-players in games that investigate the strange and unexplained may find him somewhere - he does not shy away from communicating with flesh and bones men, so may well pause to talk with such explorers of the unusual and the bizarre.

An enjoyable read.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scarecrow
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mr. Elkins and the Zombies of Elbert County
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/16/2013 10:51:50
OK. What would YOU do if you found zombies in your back garden?

This well-written tale tells the story of one normal God-fearing farmer, busy doing his best by his family and how he dealt with a zombie problem... or at least, how he struggled with it and all the trauma that occurred once the rest of the world heard what was cavorting amongst his beans of an evening.

If you're a role-player, this will provide plenty of ideas for a zombie game, or a contemporary horror game in the 'early X-Files' or 'Supernatural' style, when there's an oddness to investigate and the rest of the world to keep relatively safe if not in the dark ('cos they'd panic, is the usual rationale).

It's a nicely-told tale that keeps you reading along. Recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mr. Elkins and the Zombies of Elbert County
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/16/2013 10:34:23
What do cartoon characters do when they're not on screen?

Apparently much the same as they do whilst the show is running: yell, act mean or generous on a whim, rush around, do odd things and yell some more.

As for what they do when the show gets cancelled... well, pity the poor TV executive who did it as all the yelling and acting mean will be focussed in his direction.

An entertaining glimpse of the secret life of everyday cartoons, told in an engaging style that almost makes you care what happens to them. So, will they get back on air? Read on and find out...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Clearing of Travis Coble
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/09/2013 13:11:39
Quite an interesting short story that begins innocuously as a psychology professor travels out into the mountains to visit a man aquitted some 20 years ago of the murder of his brothers but widely believed to have done it, nonetheless. His angle: what is life like for someone thought guilty even when found innocent in a court of law?

Descriptions are vivid, sometimes erring on the side of profuse, like a student in a creative writing class finding something to say about absolutely everything as he practices his craft, but it settles down once the scene is set.

Verbal sparring twixt prof and hillbilly is realistically portrayed as is the internal feelings of inadequacy felt by the professor...

... then things turn darker, hauntingly so.

For the role-player: If you are playing a contemporary investigative or horror game this could well provide something for the characters to investigate. At times it reads like an early X-Files or Supernatural script, or something that the FBI's behavioural analysis unit might investigate.

It's an atmospheric scary read, with good scenario potential.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Clearing of Travis Coble
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Creeper
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2012 18:35:23
A fun, light read with a better-than-expected conclusion. Recommended!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Creeper
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Creative Accountancy for Beginners
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/19/2011 09:52:15
Do you think that the far future is all exciting space battles and exotic aliens?

Even intrepid space explorers need to be paid. Here is a brief account of one harried accountant's attempts to ensure that his crew gets their just reward. Read, chuckle and remember... some things never change!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creative Accountancy for Beginners
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG