RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Post-Apocalypse^20
by Brian T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2014 11:57:39
Character Generation with this system seems to go much faster as long as you know what you want.
Also, supplements seem to be accessible rather easily for a few bucks.
The only gripe I have with this particular set of PDFs is that the bookmarks are inaccurate.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Post-Apocalypse^20
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cities of Fantasy 2: Racial Neighborhoods
by JK R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2013 09:27:54
This 37-page book provides a description of five racial neighbourhoods for fantasy cities - one for each of the major races of dwarves, elves, gnomes, halflings, and half-orcs. Each community comes with a description of the local architecture, it's social atmosphere, descriptions of characters and businesses likely to be encountered there, what magic is likely to be in use, and a selection of plot hooks.

The dwarven and halfling communities are both fairly typical, the sort of thing that might be found in any generic, multi-ethnic fantasy city. Either could be taken out of the city, and used as the basis for a town inhabited by that race, and general guidelines for how they live. Thought has been given as to how underground communities will be structured, and there are some rules guidelines for moving around in halfling-sized buildings.

The half-orc community is also generic - at least assuming that half-orcs aren't a social elite in your campaign world, which seems unlikely - but is more tied to the rest of the city. Much of the description here would work just as well for any slum area that's more frequented by beggars than it is by the Thieves' Guild.

The other two, however, are more specific. The elven neighbourhood is a scholarly retirement community, and the gnomish one a Vegas/Blackpool-style gambling district. Both make perfect sense, but, in most game worlds, they're likely not the typical elven or gnomish quarter, merely one example of a specialised variant. That doesn't make them less useful, and the material on how, for example, high-class casinos might work in a fantasy world, could well be handy whether or not gnomes are involved. But it's worth bearing in mind.

The book is well written, and passably illustrated, and includes a lot of useful ideas and rules that could apply further afield than the dwarven equivalent of Chinatown or Little Italy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cities of Fantasy 2: Racial Neighborhoods
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Modern d20 Core Kit
by james e. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/03/2013 13:35:14
It is hard to argue with free. Not only does this have a very playable version of d20 modern here, but i feel like they went a bit above and beyond by including some fairly good art and the layout is favorable.

however, the lack of an equipment section is a major drawback, and others have pointed out, their is no combat section either. I remember how to play d20 games fairly well, but others may not be so lucky.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Modern d20 Core Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
by matthew c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2013 14:25:03
great system. Have gm'd it once in the vanilla setting and enjoyed running it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Skeleton Base (revised)
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2013 13:53:20
Definitely not what I thought it would be. It's a base alright but a mock up of jpg's I could probably have done in paint myself with about 30 mins of effort on most of the slides. If you need to use something for a "Reference" for a campaign that would probably be good but it is by far any kind of useful map. The PDF is a mini-adventure which includes the "maps" within its pages as part of the adventure and looks to be a nice little adventure for some sort of sci-fi or apocalyptic setting, I've never played or heard of the Darwin's World rpg this is used for. I reviewed this on the basis of what I searched for on DtRPG which was maps with which this came up as.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Skeleton Base (revised)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Modern d20 Core Kit
by CARLOS F. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2012 18:35:12
It is very interesting, and as a substitute of the D20 Modern game is quite good. It has only one important problem. There is no section s of equipment and combat. That makes almost impossible to play with only this book. And there is no other book of this collection that touch these matters.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Modern d20 Core Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BONUS Post-Apocalyptic Figure Flat
by Pat M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2012 12:25:12
Great for use in wasteland miniature battles!

For ease of transport, filling out large skirmishes, and keeping costs down, you REALLY can't beat these! Check out other products from these guys.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BONUS Post-Apocalyptic Figure Flat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darwin's World Savage Worlds: Campaign Guide
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/28/2012 18:08:44
WHAT WORKS: Despite being the Darwin's World Campaign Guide, much of this book can serve any needs you may have for a Post-Apocalyptic Savage Worlds game. The art is very well-placed and well-targeted, providing examples of the various monsters and factions without overwhelming the book.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The setting still doesn't really "pop" compared to other PostApoc settings, and the Terminal Abortions may be a bridge too far for some folks.

CONCLUSION: Darwin's World seems like it can handle the basic assumptions of most Post Apocalyptic games for Savage Worlds, and this book only has one chapter that seems geared specifically for Twisted Earth (even then, you can still reskin the stat blocks easily enough). I have no idea if there are any more Darwin's World releases planned for Savage Worlds, but the two books released do a great job of serving as a Post Apocalyptic toolkit.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2012/07/tommys-take-o-
n-darwins-world-campaign.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World Savage Worlds: Campaign Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2012 14:23:45
These rules do NOT work well for the serious super-speedster. That’s the first thing I noticed when I started to crunch the numbers, and my primary reason for the low ranking. A 1st Level Fast Hero with the Increased Speed Talent and 4 ranks of Super Running (3 Level, the maximum allowed) only runs about 26 MPH. (35+80)*2*10*60/5280. This same character could run 65 MPH if the had the Run Feat and ran in a straight line. A 5th Level Fast Hero/10th Level Speed Demon with Increased Running 1-3, the Outside the Envelope Talent, and 18 ranks of Super Running could run 114 MPH, but would have to spend an action point. If they had the Run Feat and moved in a straight line, they could move 286 MPH. Impressive by human standards, but many comic book speedsters are much faster. For a character to move at Supersonic Speeds, they would have to be at least 43rd level if moving in a straight line, 108th level otherwise. Short-range teleportation works OK, but forget about anything long range. It would take hundreds of ranks in Teleportation just to teleport a mile. I didn’t like the fact that rest is necessary for Regeneration. Again, this doesn’t fit the way it works for some comic book characters. I also couldn’t find certain traditional powers: Plant Control, Dimension Travel, Time Travel, Body Transformation (Energy), and a power that would allow a hero to create duplicates of himself. The lack of Time Travel and Dimension Travel I can understand; these are best left as plot devices in a D20 game. There was very little information on gadgeters. I understand that this will be covered in another supplement, but I prefer having all my “supers” material in one place. This book copies other games (which copy a certain comic book publisher) in the way it treats mutants—making them the objects of fear and prejudice. I find this irritating. As one game designer wrote: “Mutants are good; anti-mutant paranoia is bad.” Why are mutants good? Because they save players and the GM from having to invent an origin story. (And how many GOOD, ORIGINAL origin stories can gamers really come up with.) As a matter of style, I would have listed the Ganger and Mastermind classes last, since PCs are unlikely to have levels on these classes. On the positive side, I liked many features of the Acrobat class (especially the Cat’s Feet, Nine Lives, and Evasive Dodge talents). I also liked the fact that heroes were rewarded for rescues, protecting property, and other good actions, and that they gain experience whenever a personal disadvantage makes their lives difficult. I like the fact that the new combat rules covered knockback and collateral damage. This book works well if you want to spice up your D20 adventures with short-range teleporters or other low-grade powers. For full-fledged super hero gaming—especially for super speedsters—try DC Adventures or TRI-Stat Silver Aged Sentinels.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Blood and Fists: Master Edition
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2012 14:19:41
A very solid work. Mr. Rice has certainly done his homework. The various styles listed here allow every martial artist character to be unique. A virtual Must Have if you want to run a tournament-style adventure (Blood Sport, The Quest). My biggest issue is an editing error: the mastery list for Professional Wrestling isn’t listed with the other styles. I also have some concerns that the Bad-Assed Barroom Brawler class and the School of Hard Knocks fighting style might be too powerful. The other issues I have with this book are matters of style; I’m not saying that the book is “wrong,” just that I would have done things differently. I would have included Hard Kick 1-3, Jump Kick, and Flying Kick in at least one of the Karate styles. Maybe this was deliberately not done in an effort to “balance” the styles. Many feats offer a competence bonus to defense based on various abilities. I’ll briefly comment on those. Analytical Combat (bonus based on Intelligence): I get this. If you can figure out what your opponent will do, you’ll be ready for it. Banter (bonus based on Charisma): Basically, constantly talking in order to annoy and distract your opponent. Fits the way some action movie heroes fight. I’d allow it, but make players role play the banter to get the bonus. Brute (bonus based on Strength): You’re big and muscle-bound, so a lot of blows bounce off you. I understand the logic, but wonder if some sort of Damage Reduction (perhaps limited to unarmed attacks and attacks with blunt weapons) would have been a better way to portray this ability. High Pain Threshold (bonus based on Constitution): basically a character is hit (a lot) during training and learns to ignore the pain. Some real-world martial artists train this way, so I understand the logic behind this feat, but (as with Brute) wonder if Damage Reduction might not have been better than a competence bonus. Poise (bonus based on Wisdom): This just seems too far fetched for me. In addition, many styles have their attack rolls modified by abilities other than strength. I’m OK with modifying rolls by Dexterity, but feel that modifying rolls by Wisdom (Aikido) or Charisma (Lucha Libre) is a bit far fetched. Maybe this was done to make non-physical abilities more useful in combat. If so, do we really need to? After all, big muscles won’t help a character pass a Chemistry test, and agility won’t help a character doing research on the net. I liked the Beam Sword Fencing styles, but noticed that in order to emulate the fighting styles of some Jedi Knights; a character would need feats from all three styles. Still, this can be easily fixed by creating a combination style. I would have called the Wuxia ability “Wire Fu”. Other KI Feats I would have liked to have seen included: 1) Boomerang Blade: Throw your weapon at an opponent, and hit or miss, it returns to you at the end of the round. 2) A Wire Fu ability that allows a character to run part way up a wall, do a flip, and land behind an opponent. 3) Iron-Arm Block: allows characters to block melee weapons without taking minimum damage on a successful block. 4) An ability that allows characters to deflect or catch arrows and thrown missile (like “Grasshopper” of Kung Fu Fame. 5) An ability that allows a character armed with a sword (or other melee weapon) to deflect bullets. Maybe a supplement focusing on Ki abilities would be a good idea. All in all, this book is still a solid work, and I highly recommend it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Master Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darwin's World Savage Worlds: Survivor's Handbook
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/21/2012 04:20:28
WHAT WORKS: It's a very well done Savage Worlds presentation, especially with the combination of re-skinned powers combined with the selection of new Powers. The Mutations and Defects are very cool and well done without adding a ton of extra crunch to the rules. Many of the new Edges are similarly impressive.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The Mutants don't seem to be particularly balanced. That is, from a game balance perspective I'm not sure why anyone would pick a Gen 1 over a Gen 2 or a Gen 2 over a Gen 3. The setting isn't anything that just pops out in comparison to other post apocalyptic settings. Very minor complaint, but two of the Edges do require access to the Campaign Guide in order to use (the Artifact Cache Edges).

CONCLUSION: The setting feels fairly standard for the genre, but that could have a lot to do with this just being the Player's book. My tune may completely change with the GM's book. That said, most of the material here seems incredibly easy to strip for any post-apocalyptic Savage Worlds game with sci-fi elements, and the setting does also seem to lack a metaplot which can be a very good thing in many eyes (including my own). Recommended for Savages to at least strip mine the rules material even if they don't want to play around in the Twisted Earth.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2012/07/tommys-take-o-
n-darwins-world-survivors.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World Savage Worlds: Survivor's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
M&M: Pearl Harbor December
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/02/2012 21:28:01
Six Japanese supervillians, and a race of Banmin ("savage men") for ICONS (or could be used for any other WWII-themed superhero RPG, with a bit of conversion. The illustrations are very good, and each villain appears on their own page, which is always convenient for anyone wishing to print them out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
M&M: Pearl Harbor December
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darwin's World: Cave of Life
by william w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2012 17:39:36
This is a fun little adventure! The price can't be beat. I've used it with not only Darwin's World but Gamma World and Mutant Future.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World: Cave of Life
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/30/2011 11:36:41
d20 Modern's quick take on martial arts left many wanting more, and RPG Objects is there with this excellent supplement. Anyone who has been a fan of the Blood and * series as long as I have won't be surprised, or disappointed, at its high quality.

Blood & Fists opens with several martial-arts related advanced classes like the burly Barroom Brawler. They would fit right into most action-oriented d20 Modern games. Of particular note is the Martial Arts Master, whose special "masteries" are similar to talents, but focused entirely on martial arts. They get their own section near the end of the book.

The way that martial arts are integrated into d20 Modern is through the feat system. By selecting a martial arts style feat, moves and even some new skills are unlocked for a character. These style feats are therefore more powerful than many d20 Modern feats - and the game explains this, a welcome addition to those who are concerned with game balance when looking at third party supplements.

The styles themselves are presented each in a paragraph, each categorized and the categories explained, so that GMs who wish to create their own fictionalized style can make them similar to existing styles. Advanced uses of martial arts styles are called maneuvers or signature maneuvers and cost an additional feat.

Finally, "ki feats" introduce a new form of FX to D20 Modern, similar to what one might see in a modern martial arts film or TV show.

Perhaps the strongest section of the supplement is the description of several martial arts-focused campaigns, from wandering students searching for a legendary master to a rival-school fighting tournament setup, which is fleshed out in its own chapter.

These kinds of examples are key when you're trying to decide if you want a third-party supplement to a highly detailed game. It tells you how you can incorporate the material into your own game and what kinds of games you can expect to have.

The ZIP file comes with a print version, a screen version with landscape orientation (!) and a character sheet, all of which are welcome additions that garner this supplement my highest marks. I even sought it out in print because it was so useful to me in my d20 Modern games. If you want to incorporate martial arts material without completely replacing the system (as other games like Spycraft do), this is an outstanding choice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darwin's World Savage Worlds: Campaign Guide
by Tyler C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2011 12:09:45
I'm very new to table top gaming, but am finding it very captivating! I've grown up with either a controller or a mouse and keyboard in my hands. Video games, espeically RPG's have always captivated me. From FF1 to Mass Effect, these "roleplaying" games are amazing.

Discovering table top gaming with some friends about a year ago added a new element to my "game" time:) Now, i'm ready to introduce other friends to the table top realm, as a GM.

This book is simply fantastic. I'm a complete novice GM, but the guide has plentiful ideas on Episodes to run for your friends.

As others have said, there is borderline too much info! Just skim through it at first, letting certain topics or elements capture your attention. Note these, and come back to them when you are about to unleash an adventure for your friends!

Great product!

Also, cuz i'm a noob, i thought this was an actual book...was slightly sad it was only a PDF, but that's my bad:)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World Savage Worlds: Campaign Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 535 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG