RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Two Worlds Tabletop RPG
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2009 05:25:29

I was excited until I realized this is not quite the Two Worlds RPG, it is a d20 conversion. Oh yes, everything's there, except that it is not the same system as found in Two Worlds.


I would have liked the system found in the Two Worlds CRPG to be left intact. A distinguishing feature the d20 version lacks is the ability to be anything, at any time. The first time out in the computer game I had a warrior, who learned Lockpicking when he found it was absolutely necessary, and later picked up Alchemy. My second time around, I had a mage, who learned some Warrior skills for when his spells ran dry.


In this game, you choose your skills and that's that. :(


On the plus side, it would probably help the many bright 12-year-olds be able to understand how to make a character in the d20 system (too many of my gamer friends' kids found the original core books too difficult and dry) . This product is well-written and easy to comprehend.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Two Worlds Tabletop RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles Mapper
by Delbert J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2009 18:57:57
I am very pleased with the quality of the tiles available. Though there is a very large selection, you still always want one slightly different if you have an idea of a place ahead of time. If you just map out a location and then imagine a story for it, it is excellent. A nice improvement would be if the Mapper was downloadable and you could add self edited tiles to the collection. Being able to add the mirror images or slightly modified ones would be very handy.
As it is, many ideas can be spawned from the maps you can make. Well worth the money if you like to have maps for your games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles Mapper
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blood and Brains: The Zombie Hunter's Guide
by Terry D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2009 10:51:46

If your looking for a cheezie and cliché zombie style game to play this has the rules and setting for you. The layout is wonderful and easy to flow as is the writing of the entries. In reading it seems that the writers are a little miffed about their place in their high school but other then that the game seems to work together blending the cliché with d20 game play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Brains: The Zombie Hunter's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Post-Apocalyptic Dispatch (10 Issue Subscription)
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/24/2009 22:45:27

I was subscribed to the PA dispatch for many issues, and it never let me down. Although of course in a subscription like this you can't possibly use everything that comes down the pike in your game, the ideas were flexible enough, quick enough, and well-presented enough to make it one of the best buys on the website. In addition, if you ever lost or misplaced one of the PDFs, RPGObjects will replace it. I really can't say enough - the RPGObjects subscription is the gold standard for subscription-based small-package gaming material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Post-Apocalyptic Dispatch (10 Issue Subscription)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Darwin's World: Beastmen
by Ron A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2009 16:32:40

As a one shot pick-up game this module fits the bill perfectly, however as part of or an introduction to a campaign save your money. When I read the description I was immediately reminded of a Morrow Project Snake Eater type campaign and initialy intended to modify the information for just that. Unfortunately it just seemed more trouble than it was worth.
The only map provided is a rough (and I mean rough) sketch of the adventure area. No maps of the service tunnels are provided and one of the hero's first missions is to clear them of ghouls. There is no listing of starting equipment for the heros unles you use the pregenerated characters provided, and one of the missions calls for salvaging a vehicle from a junkyard. Again no maps and rather than include stats for the three possible vehicles the authers directs the reader to the core books.
I understand that for the price I shouldn't expect a full blown module however I had hoped to use something from this product.
If you're a part time gamer and want a good one shot this will work. Otherwise save your money.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World: Beastmen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Darwin's World: Wasteland Settlement Generator
by Ron A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2009 14:41:00

This is an excellent resource for GMs developing their own campaign world. A must when your group is exploring the wasteland. The image quality is outstanding. The rules for use are logical and easy to follow, not to mention unlimited access to an online generator. A good value all around.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World: Wasteland Settlement Generator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Darwin's World: Vault Dwellers
by Ron A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2009 14:33:15

Vault swellers is an excellent resource for Darwin's Word GMs wishing to run a "Fallout" style campaign. I intend to use it and highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World: Vault Dwellers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles Mapper
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2009 09:23:02

I've been using the crap out of this web app and have to say that its so fast, easy to use and helpful that I wish I'd have know about it a long time ago.


There are some issues I have with it though... the big one is the purchasing model. Pretty much if they decide to stop the program or decide to not update it anymore then I'm out my money. That scary.
Second, I wish I had a little more control over some of the tiles, it would be great to flip or do a mirror image on some becuase some of the shapes make it hard to line up to.
Third, I really wish I could design the map in a seperate window, or expand the size of the view in some way. I feel constrained when making bigger maps.
Finally, when exporting you can choose to export as PDF or HTML and I've found that with the HTML option you cannot clear the grid tiles as you can with PDF. Its not a huge problem but it would be very handy to be able to do so.


Now the good! TONS AND TONS AND TONS of Tiles! All sorts of climates and genres as well and since my games are all over the map as far as settings and time-frames go this is a great boon.
Again, I cannot stress the benefit of speed. I've only recently started gaming via VTT and the ability to make a map in a few minutes and get it uploaded is a powerful thing indeed. I tend to be on the unorganized side so its really important to me to be able to do something at a moments notice!


Over all I am pleased with the mapper, I have Dundjinni and a few other odds and ends mapping programs but nothing really beats the speed and wealth of options I've just accquired with this software.


--- an aside, there is an upgrade to this program available but the detiails are scarce on WHAT the upgrade is. As far as I can tell the mapper alone has all the tiles currently released so what does the upgrade do? I have no clue.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles Mapper
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blood and Brains: NCRPC: Most Likely Scenarios for Reanimation
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/24/2009 13:09:45

This free supplement for Blood and Brains is both funny and a cool brainstorm for a zombie game. It portrays a government health organization which is trying to cope with the zombie menace on various levels, and which is trying to develop countermeasures for the living dead. Of course it could be fun for player characters to be part of this group, or to come across them responding to a zombie crisis. Fun and short, it's exactly what free material should be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Brains: NCRPC: Most Likely Scenarios for Reanimation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/24/2009 13:01:41

Probably the weakest of the normally top-flight Blood & * series, Blood and Vigilance gives solid superhero mechanics but short shrift to the creation and running of superhero games. Nevertheless, the general quality of the supplement is good and if you are an experienced D20 and superhero GM, you can definitely get a lot of benefit from its formulation of powers and conflict.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Burning Lands: A Darwin's World Novel
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2009 16:07:19

This novel is slow to start, and when it starts get interesting, the author seems to rush to the end. After all the character build-up, they have a dissatisfying end. Overall, the end left me a bit empty and depressed, instead of encouraged for the good guys. This is not another Hiero's Journey.


Burning Lands has grit to it (and in some cases a bit too much). So much more could have been done with this good story idea.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Lands: A Darwin's World Novel
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cities of Fantasy 2: Racial Neighborhoods
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/23/2009 11:52:51

In designing our fantasy cities, we generally think about merchant districts, where the rich live, a docks, maybe a slum or two, where the temples are and where whoever is in charge lives. This book suggests that, just as real world cities might have a Chinatown or a Little Italy, people of the various fantasy races might well choose to live in districts of their own; and presents five ready-made racial neighbourhoods for you to use or at least mine for inspiration.


The first is the Dwarf Burrow. These dwarves prefer, even in a city, to live underground. Their homes are accessed down a flight of steps situated in the middle of what looks like an empty field (why, I wonder, hasn't someone else appropriated this real estate?). But it's not just homes down there, dwarves also practice their trades - especially smithing and ceramics - and it's the best place to go to purchase weapons, armour, jewellry and other such items. They also maintain warehouses, train their militia and hold worship in temples to their gods. Some dwarves never bother to visit the surface at all! One nice touch is that the history of the typical dwarf burrow is recorded as carvings on the corridor walls. It tends to be dark in all but the places frequented by other races - odd, just because dwarves have darkvision, they do not have to use it all the time! - and can be prone to flooding, although dwarf miners are generally good at avoiding the sewers built by surface-dwellers.


Next comes the Mithril Heights, home to elves, providing an eclectic mix reminiscent of student quarters and retirement homes to the casual observer. It tends to be older - and wealthier - elves who live there, younger ones are more inclined to mix with other races. Many of these older elves are scholars, and any younger ones you encounter are likely to be their students. They often accept students from other races as well, many making a living as educators of the young. Art and music are well-regarded, and it's a good place if you enjoy the arts, or want your work to go on display or to perform. Narrow streets and tall buildings make it a complex place to navigate, and there's plenty of magic about.


This is followed by Halflingtown, quaint and picturesque home to local halflings. They value peace and quiet, a nice place to relax... and public bathhouses are popular. Other attractions include good restaurants, facilities for dogs and ponies, bandstands and at least one festival a week. Larger folks need to remember, though, that most buildings are halfling-size!


The next area to explore is Gnomelight, a sort of fantasy Las Vegas. Characters wishing to gamble, to seek that really special item, to take in a spectacular show or attend a flamboyant party will head here. There's loads of magic, mostly illusions or otherwise part of a show. Crime is low, especially where the gnomes themselves live (but outsiders are rarely welcome there). There's even a few rules for popular gambling games if your characters wish to try their luck.


Finally, you can drop by the Orc Trough. It's a slum neighbourhood, inhabited by the poor of all races, not just orcs. Still, there's a good animal market and other items may be cheaper than elsewhere in town. It's also home to slaughterhouses and other smelly crafts, a good place to find a fight and somewhere to hide. The city authorities rarely come round, so you will be on your own in terms of personal safety and protection from theft, though. If your city has any particular race - or other grouping - that's officially downtrodden and disenfranchised, this is where they live along with anyone else who is down on their luck. People who do have work are generally animal handlers, slaughtermen and butchers.


These five districts hang together well, with some interesting ideas. There are minimal plot hooks for each one, and some sidebar suggestions including ways of making your character a native of that district and how this could influence a city-based game. It's a good way of ensuring that the humanoid races are properly represented in your city, whether you use these districts as-is or mine them for ideas to inspire your own designs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cities of Fantasy 2: Racial Neighborhoods
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Two Worlds Tabletop RPG
by Lana H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2009 19:08:18

This is the best FREE product I have encountered on rpgnow. Since this product is FREE, it is a 4.5/5 star. Only thing I would question is.. Why are there a few blank monster image pages, when they likely have images for them. Enjoyed this! Jay from DragonWizards



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Two Worlds Tabletop RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Two Worlds Tabletop RPG
by William H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2009 00:13:03

Very pretty, easy to read, D20-light system. The magic system is not stock D20, and is the primary flavor difference, tho' the races could easily be ported.

Pros:
[+] Short, to the point D20 core book.
[+] Minimum rules clutter
[+] Beautiful renders.
[+] 3 unique races, plus humans, dwarves, and orcs
[+] most of the weirder of the 20 monsters have a beautiful render.
[+] Price: $0.00!!!

Cons:
[–] White text on black bakground; ink hog.
[–] only three classes: Warrior, Mage, Thief
[–] No setting information



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
by Mathew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2009 15:27:29

Great game. I really enjoyed it. The book was well written.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 541 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG