RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Shrine of St. Aleena
by Trevor h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2015 22:04:13
I am currently running this for my players. They really enjoy it! This is a great little adventure! It has some great encounters in it that you can use before the party even gets to the meat of the actual adventure in the shrine, with plenty of npc characters. There is danger aplenty, but not to difficult for my group of second level characters. It is simple and easy to run..... which is perfect as I am just getting back into playing
again. Experienced DM' s should have no problem making this short adventure really shine!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shrine of St. Aleena
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Stealer of Children
by Charlotte A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 22:26:10
A good module for beginner roleplayers. I DM'd with a party of 5 people who had never played before, using Labyrinth Lord. It's quite easy for the players as well as the DM which is ideal if you're just starting out. The whole story took about 3 hours. It is a very easy campaign but I would recommend it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Stealer of Children
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TROPES: Zombie Edition (PDF)
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2015 10:53:10
Awesome Zombie game! Quick, fun, easy! I have many zombie games AFMBE, Dead Reign, Rotworld, etc. These are great rules for a quick fun Zombie game. Not complicated, easy to learn. You can probably hand out the nice Player Sheets, pick a few characters, and start playing in about 15-30 minutes, even with someone new to RPG.
Includes different types of zombies from movies and video games.

Throw a few bucks to a fellow gamer and support TZE!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TROPES: Zombie Edition (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #5 (PDF)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2015 14:45:07
'Brave The Labyrinth' is one of those OSR zines with so many varied uses its not even funny. I admit I haven't kept up with the zine as much as I should. In point of fact I haven't kept up as much as I should with as many of Goblinoid Games as I'd like to. This is one hell of a nice little resource zine and of exceptional quality with some great and varied content for the Labyrinth Lord game and 90% of the retroclones out on the market. This is a really packed piece of OSR gaming zine right here.
But what's in this issue of awesomeness? According to the blurb from Drivethrurpg :
Brave the Labyrinth is a quarterly fanzine published by Small Niche Games for the Labyrinth Lord™ roleplaying game community. It consists of fan-created material designed to cover all types of Labyrinth Lord™ and Advanced Edition Companion™ gaming.
In this Issue you get:
-a new demon lord - This is a really nice variation on the lords of the Abyss and a good contribution to a region where you can really vary the enemies.
-new elf variations - Yet more of these pointed eared PC favorites, these are always welcome and very nicely balanced.
-an amazing map of Andrel Castle - Sold map of a very cool adventure location
-sainted icons of the Church of Law and Order -Finally! Some very nice minions of the powers of Law! Very useful for my games.
-tools, keys, and magic items for thieves - Thief themed items that tie directly into the class. Very nicely done.
-three (3) new monsters - Monsters are always welcome and these are nicely balanced.
-a green wizard who sought to cheat death - Very cool.
-a review of the Caves of Ortok - A really nice overview of an adventure module that needs more spotlights on it. Hoping my players don't get a chance to read this overview because I so want to run it.
-artwork contributions by by JV West and Jim Wampler- Really nice pieces of artwork and old school inspiration.

All in all this to me is a really nice issue of Brave The Labyrinth and a pretty solid old school resource. There are several articles and entries here that tie directly into some of the campaigns I'm running. I think that this is well worth your time and energy to take a look into if your a DM with any interest in old school gaming. Small Niche games has consistently put out some quality products in the past and this is certainly among those in my opinion. Throw these folks a few gold pieces and get to using some great old school material.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #5 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (Special Edition)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2015 10:21:25
This is about the Hard cover book, but the review I did for the PDF still applies.
Dolmvay is not only a highly detailed city complete with maps, npcs, new monsters and pretty much everything you need, it is also a shared city.

You get 260 pages worth of material; the original Dolmvay guide and the adventure "Oak Grove Whispers". There are the maps I mentioned, but there is also a fairly detailed history. You could easily drop this into any game, and let's be honest, any system. If you are familiar with other products from SNG then takes place in the World of Amherth setting. But this book (and most of the Amherth books) are easily adapted to any setting.

There is a chapter on adventuring in the city. How the local churches react to magic and what can be expected of travelling adventurers.
Makes it perfect for a way point between adventures, but you would be missing all the fun.
The book also details an number houses, factions and NPCs and their own desires for the city. If you like games of political intrigue and courtly drama then this is a good place to start.

The bulk of the book details the layout of the city. In this respect it reads like a guide book. NPCs, hooks and other information is given. There is plenty here for new GM to use it as is and plenty more for an experienced GM to add their own information.
It strikes a nice balance between detail and flexibility. Among my favorite items are the random rumor table and the common greetings and gestures. Things like this give a setting life of it's own.

Common businesses are covered as well as a sampling of Taverns and Inns. City encounters and even some new monsters.
Venture into the sewers or the Island of Heroes.

There is a section on random NPC generation as well.

Dolmvay the concept is the idea that this is a shared City. If developers want to create their own encounters, adventures or anything else really and set it in Dolmvay then there is an easy to use and free license to do so.
It is such a great idea I am surprised that no one else has done it before.

At $19.99 this book is steal. Really. I am not sure how they are making money on this. It's a think, full hardcover book priced like it was 1983.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (Special Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2015 15:15:20
Awesome zine for fans of old school play! The layout is clear and consistent and each issue brings you cool, useful things to use at your table. Right off the bat in issue #1 you get new spells and a new magic item all linked together thematically by way of a powerful and evil wizard. The description of the wizard is short and to the point. This is good stuff you can easily drop into any campaign with virtually no fuss. The issue also contains more magic items, a group of NPCs fully detailed, animal retainers, an awesome character sheet, cool map, full adventure by Dyson Logos (with awesome map), rules for eating candles (!), review, and the kitchen sink.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
by Ralph G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2014 12:39:16
Reminds me of some of the old Judge's Guild stuff, only better. (Remember the old newsprint JG used?) Can't wait to see what SNG comes out with next.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Time Of The Dying Stars: Book One (PDF)
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2014 22:31:00
Pete Spahn's Time of the Dying Stars is a brisk, pulpy read with noir overtones set in the Small Niche Games setting of Amherth - more specifically, the City of Dolmvay. While this work of fiction stands on its own as an enjoyable, light read it also serves as a vehicle for enterprising game masters looking to infuse a bit of urban adventure into their Labyrinth Lord games. Spahn's stories are a kind of "lead by example," and the fiction presented here is ripe with story seeds, NPCs and plot hooks ripe for the picking. It's offered as a pay what you want product, but certainly worth a few bucks. When combined with his Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay, a campaign almost builds itself. Well worth a look.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Time Of The Dying Stars: Book One (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/23/2014 22:07:56
WHAT WORKS: The bulk of the information is stat-free, so it is totally usable in just about any fantasy game, not just Labyrinth Lord, with virtually no problem. A great balance of detail and GM interpretation is presented as well. The fact that SNG not only allows, but encourages, other publishers to use the city is cool as well. And oh, dear God...I love random tables. Plus, it's Pay What You Want. Literally no reason not to check it out.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: I am a big fan of the slightly Ravenloft-ish gothic horror vibe to the Small Niche Games adventures, and that vibe is almost completely absent from the Guidebook, which is a little disappointing.

CONCLUSION: As my eyes drift back more and more towards D&D and D&Desque games, The Chronicles of Amherth and the surrounding adventures all look very appealing to me, and The City of Dolmvay would be a pretty great jumping off point for that, as I have no issue going low magic. The random tables are great, and the history has a lot of callbacks to the earlier adventures in the series. It's pretty much recommended for any GM who is running a retroclone or any fantasy RPG on the lower end of the magic/power spectrum, especially since you can set the price (and for those who don't get how that works, you can "buy" it for nothing, then rebuy it for what you think is a fair price). Another great outing from Small Niche Games.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/05/tommys-take-o-
n-guidebook-to-city-of.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
by Jim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2014 02:17:08
The nuts and bolts of the Guidebook have been adequately covered by other reviews so I'll just cover what I like and dislike and why you should get it.

The book itself is similar to other SNG products in that it sits in the middle ground between amateurishly produced content and the overly slick output of the big boys. It has a very personal feel yet also has good production and presentation. The final product is easy to read and use in any form.

Every section has something of interest whether you plan to use it whole as part of the Amherth setting, plan to drop it into another world or even just use some of the parts.

The guidebook is large and contains a ton of material. The sewers alone could occupy a party for years! One of the best aspect of the books is the sheer number of NPCs to be found in the city. There are dozens and dozens of them and If you need more quickly the NPC generator will come in handy. Sometimes it seems people forget that RPG is ROLE PLAYING game and one meets too many cardboard cutouts. Not so in Dolmvay. Another unique feature is The Church. In my world there are lots of religions most of which are pretty informal and usually don't bather each other. Dolmvay, on the other hand, has a dominant religion that is not very tolerant of other faiths. This makes for a definite feel that is a distinguishing feature of the city. Think Medieval Catholic Church.

My only complaint is that I would have liked more maps. O.K. I admit that I'm a map nut, but I would have liked to see a map of the immediate area around the city and maybe a regional map. Those may be coming in a future SNG product.

So why should you get it? Because it's a ridiculously good deal. Where else can you get a 200+ page sourcebook for pay what you want? Through a strange twist of events I have the PDF, Softcover and Hardcover and can recommend any of the three. Just pick your price point.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi Jim! Yes, a regional map will be detailed in the upcoming Guidebook to the Duchy of Valnwall (which will also be funded through Kickstarter, hopefully!). I\'ll keep you posted. Thanks for taking the time to comment!
Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
by Shannon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2014 14:17:35
This supplement is fantastic. So much good information for DMs and Labyrinth Lords. A bargain.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks!
Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2014 19:06:55
Small Niche Games has really hit another one out of the park with Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay. Set in the SNG original world Chronicles of Amherth. But there are several things about this supplement that make it special.

First and foremost is the level of detail and love shown by the folks at SNG. This city is detailed enough to feel very real and very lived in. Rich would be the world I'd use. It feels rich. Yet, clear effort has been shown not to fill in all the corners - SNG leaves plenty of room for enterprising DMs to tailor the material to their own campaigns. The structure, government, geography, social classes, religious structure, are all given a beautiful description while leaving more than enough wiggle room for any old school gamer.

My favorite part of this book is Appendix II: The Adventurer's Guide. The framework here is perfect and facilitates introducing your players to any number of pre-made adventures they may be itching to run or draw them into the politics of the city if the local nobles or church turns to the guild for assistance. But the players don't get drawn in without reward and the perks for guild membership and paying your dues make it well worth it to join the guild.

To boot, SNG includes rules for starting characters at 0th level play that show a surprisingly level of depth. That was a real welcome surprise.

As detailed and wonderful as this book is, what makes it truly magnificent is the fact that while Dolmvay is defaulted to Amherth, it can easily be slotted into near any old school campaign. In addition to this, Peter C. Spahn has information in the back encouraging other OSR publishers to make use of the material presented within these pages as long as they acknowledge and respect the spirit of the material and those who wrote it.

As far as presentation, the book is your standard no frills, clean-reading SNG product with a great cover that evokes that old-school feel. The maps are magnificent and the black and white art is also evocative of classic image from the fantasy RPGs of the 1970s and 80s.

I will definitely be purchasing a copy of this book when it goes physical. My only regret regarding the Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay is the fact that I didn't throw a few bucks into the kickstarter because it's sure as heck worth it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks James! I\'m glad you liked it. I hope people get a lot of use out of it!
Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/03/2014 11:26:38
Wow.

I have been waiting for this book for a while and I have to say it was worth the wait.
Dolmvay is not only a highly detailed city complete with maps, npcs, new monsters and pretty much everything you need, it is also a shared city.

Let's talk about the product first. It's Pay What You Want, but it is certainly worth at least $19.95 or more (so pay at least 5 buck or more!). You get 223 pages worth of material. There are the maps I mentioned, but there is also a fairly detailed history. You could easily drop this into any game, and let's be honest, any system. If you are familiar with other products from SNG then takes place in the World of Amherth setting. But this book (and most of the Amherth books) are easily adapted to any setting.

There is a chapter on adventuring in the city. How the local churches react to magic and what can be expected of travelling adventurers.
Makes it perfect for a way point between adventures, but you would be missing all the fun.
The book also details an number houses, factions and NPCs and their own desires for the city. If you like games of political intrigue and courtly drama then this is a good place to start.

The bulk of the book details the layout of the city. In this respect it reads like a guide book. NPCs, hooks and other information is given. There is plenty here for new GM to use it as is and plenty more for an experienced GM to add their own information.
It strikes a nice balance between detail and flexibility. Among my favorite items are the random rumor table and the common greetings and gestures. Things like this give a setting life of it's own.

Common businesses are covered as well as a sampling of Taverns and Inns. City encounters and even some new monsters.
Venture into the sewers or the Island of Heroes.

There is a section on random NPC generation as well.

Dolmvay the concept is the idea that this is a shared City. If developers want to create their own encounters, adventures or anything else really and set it in Dolmvay then there is an easy to use and free license to do so.
It is such a great idea I am surprised that no one else has done it before.

This book is steal at any price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you Timothy! I\'m glad you like the idea of a shared city. I still think a witch\'s coven would fit in nicely!
The Shrine of St. Aleena
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00
WHAT WORKS: Top notch writing again, with Small Niche once more providing an exciting adventure with a strong backstory for low level parties. It manages to be a Dungeon Crawl that kinda slaps the "murder hobo" mindset in the face.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: It's a little more "paint by numbers" than what you usually get from Small Niche, but that still means it's several steps ahead of a bog standard dungeon crawl.

CONCLUSION: There is one riddle in the adventure that is VERY D&D/Labyrinth Lord specific, which would make conversion to, say, Savage Worlds or DungeonWorld or something like that a bit more problematic. For my money, Inn of Lost Heroes is still the standard bearer for Small Niche adventures, but if you're in a dungeon crawl mood and you have a low level (heroic) party, The Shrine of St. Aleena will fit your needs nicely.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2013/11/tommys-take-o-
n-shrine-of-st-aleena.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Shrine of St. Aleena
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Shrine of St. Aleena
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/29/2013 12:58:55
Originally posted here: http://timbrannan.blogspot.com/2013/10/review-shrine-of-st-a-
leena.html

Once upon a time there was a boy and a girl.

The boy was just getting started out in his new life as an "adventurer". He didn't know much, and the girl even asked him if knew about clerics at all. But theirs was not a story to fill long epics or sagas. Her story ended then when she was murdered.

The Shrine of St. Aleena is an adventure in the lands where that boy who never forgot that girl, would later become a man, settle down, raise some kids and erect a 20 ft tall statue in honor of the saint she became and the girl she was.

The adventure "The Shrine of St. Aleena" is another act of devotion. Maybe by a similar boy, now 30 years later a man. Sorry, I don't know Peter C. Spahn personally. The adventure is designed for beginning level characters, levels 1-3, around the the eponymous shrine. Just like the old days there is a dungeon crawl and the surrounding environs where monsters can be fought and sometimes even NPCs can be befriended.

The central plot is that the minions of "The Infamous One", the wizard that killed that poor girl, are attempting to defile this most holy of places. It is up to this generation of heroes to once again stop his plans.

This could have come off as a ham fist attempt at nostalgia, but there is an earnestness about it and honesty that instead it comes off as loving tribute. The art, descriptions and some situations all have thinly-veiled references to things going on in the 80s in gaming that if you are the right age then you will find them very amusing. But if not, no worries, they still work in the adventure.

The plot is thin at best, but it's still more plot than most of the old-school adventures from the time when the Saint herself was still alive. So really, that is feature not a bug.

There is a great table of rumors (d12 though not a d20), plenty of random wilderness encounters (yeah a d20 table!) and of course that awesome site of the 20 ft statue of the saint (see cover). In true old-school fashion there are a lot of save or die encounters here, so you are warned.

The objective is easily defined, but there is a lot here to keep the party busy. A dedicated party could complete in one (longish) session. Most parties though will take more.

The only thing I think missing in this is some information on what the shrine is like after the defeat of the Spawn. Personally I think drinking from the pool grants a Cure Light Wounds once in a character's life time or maybe even a Bless enchantment. Another random table! d6 for random benefit!

In the end I really enjoyed this and plan on inserting it into my regular game as a "Side trek". That's pretty serious for me. I was limiting all my adventures to modules made in the 80s only.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG