RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
COA04: Guidebook to the Duchy of Valnwall (PRINT)
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2016 05:01:12

This is a very detailed guidebook that makes me interested in purchasing more products based in the same world. Definitely worth getting for ideas even if you're not interested in running games in this world. Includes a nice set of maps as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COA04: Guidebook to the Duchy of Valnwall (PRINT)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

COA04: Guidebook to the Duchy of Valnwall (PDF)
by Nathan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2016 19:11:32

I don't know anything about Labyrinth Lord as a game, but I'm very impressed with the story ideas and setting created. I plan on swiping this for the 5th Edition game I'm doing for my wife. Thank you very much, well worth paying for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COA04: Guidebook to the Duchy of Valnwall (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

COA04: Guidebook to the Duchy of Valnwall (PDF)
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 22:48:22

Like the Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay and the Chronicles of Amherth, Spahn delivers a solid and well developed old school setting as he continues to expand SNG's flagship world. Like Chronicles of Amherth, this book paints in broad strokes to make it easily adapted to an existing campaign. The book is chock full of plot hooks, adventure seeds, and just plain old fashioned fun. Highly recommended.


It's implicity designed for Labyrinth Lord, but is easily adapted to any OSR or fantasy RPG due to the minimally invasive nature of Labyrinth Lord's B/X gaming roots.


Highly, highly, highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LLA002: The Inn of Lost Heroes
by Dennis B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2016 15:24:09

Overall this is a decently structured story and sufficiently succinct for a competent group of players to execute in one to two sessions. Keeping the story contained to a single location/structure is a wonderful concept that more writers should do. This allows DM's to incorporate a story such as this into their campaigns with little to no effort.


Overall the story flows well enough, though I believe the ending is in dire need of a rewrite, and would not recommend executing this story without changing the ending. In short, one of possible outcomes results in the players having an all-out battle to the death between one another until a final victor is found, only to have the party all magically aliveat the end with the "it was just a dream" ending.


In fact, one of the NPCs says this almost verbatim. Literally, the most hated cliché in all of literature is, "...and it was all just a dream". And here it is, in all its horrid glory.


Overall, I feel the book would have been better served if it had been structured more akin to a traditional play, starting with the dramatis personae, then moving to the setting description, then dividing the story into 3 separate acts. As I read through it, I found myself flipping back and forth trying to find out who the characters were initially, then trying to keep moving with the story, then trying to follow the progression.


The random encounter tables are good, and throwing a few fights into the mix is enough of a challenge to keep the players on their toes. A musical transition between the "phases" of the inn is a nice note, ala Silent Hill.


The chambers feel a bit punitive in nature, as each are effectively designed to cater to a specific class (cleric, fighter, wizard, thief), leaving, for the most part, the rest of the party to sit around and twiddle their thumbs. And, of course, if that the party does not have such a member, then the DM needs to partially or completely redesign the entire encounter, which is another headache. Additionally, if the party member dies in that encounter, there will be no one else to complete the task, effectively resulting in a TPK, unless the DM fudges the encounter on the next go-around.


In conclusion, I'd say this is a decent buy for the money, but not something most people could/would/should play as-is. Any DM that picks this up should plan on rewriting the ending, adjusting the challenge chambers to match the party compositions, and probably tailor the NPC cast (it's probably bigger than what is necessary).



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
LLA002: The Inn of Lost Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review. Customer feedback always helps make the next product better!
WBO03: Tower of Boon Companions
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2015 06:31:16

Small Niche Games is known for fantastic old school adventures. Inn of Lost Heroes, Pyramid of the Dragon, and Shrine of St. Aleena are some of my personal favorites. Tower of the Boon Companions continues SNG's trend of taking classic fantasy gaming tropes and turning them on their ear. Nominally set in SNG's world of Amherth, Tower of Boon Companions is still very much a "drop in and play" module. In addition to providing a unique adventure to keep your players on their toes, it also gives a small bestiary of new monsters for your Swords and Wizardry WhiteBox campaign, a handful of new magic items and the thief class - the latter of which was originally found in the White Box Omnibus by Barrel Rider Games.


For three bucks, you get several nights of great adventure, a corral of new monsters, a new class, and brand new magic items (one of which could kick off an entire campaign). Well worth the price of admission.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WBO03: Tower of Boon Companions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WSS002: Gray Nebula: Crewmen, Con-Men, and Lawmen
by Jeff R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2015 15:27:32

REVIEW
At 21 pages and a price $1.99 it is a good deal for three new classes. It is a must buy for the GM who the problem of Real Life getting in the way of gaming, which is most of us. To have classes that can be used for the campaign and fully statted NPCs with adventure hooks not only for the GM on a time budget but a good buy for the last minute game session ideas.


5/5 for saving the busy gamer some time and for helping out the GM fleshing out his or her game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WSS002: Gray Nebula: Crewmen, Con-Men, and Lawmen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WSS001: Star Gods Help Us
by Jeff R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2015 12:52:29

Every gaming group has the player who's never satisfied with the core classes. You know the player that has to be different. This book is for them, and to save the GM from trying to shoehorn that player into playing something that they don’t want to play.
Star Gods Help Us is a POP cultured filled collection of new classes for that one player who just has to be different. It contains twelve (12) quirky race/class combinations including giant cockroach junkers, spiritual mammoths, living oozes, malfunctioning lawbots, zombie crewmen, and other bizarre creatures that will leave you shaking your head.
Here is a list of what mattered to me as a player and a GM, especially if you are new to White Star.
• Clocking in at $2.99 it’s a steal. Price 5/5
• Each of the 12 race/classes has art work that gives you an idea of the race’s looks 5/5
• Format for the class entries includes roleplaying tips and a typical Quote of the race. 5/5
• No Glaring typos or format errors 5/5 (please note I’m not a grammar specialist).
• Reference to pop culture that will make you laugh 5/5


This is a good humorous add on for your White Star rpg. The only thing that I thought was missing was the race/class combos for Dogs, Cats, Monkeys and Toads.
I did get a free copy for review, however it was on my buy list anyways because I am one of those players and GMs that like the chance to be silly and goofy.


At a 5/5 and $2.99 price go buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WSS001: Star Gods Help Us
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WSS001: Star Gods Help Us
by Joe J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2015 12:25:11

Observers of pop culture from the 60s, 70s and 80s should recognize the inspiration for the twelve new classes contained within. Some of these go together thematically very well, like the zombie-like Zeddines and the butler like Gurches. For those players less concerned with achieving missions and more interested in silliness, a party of Radiobuddies, Gloops and Giltors will have trouble just getting organized to leave their own ship.


This collection strongly evokes a lot of the sci-fi silliness found in abundance within the pages of Dragon magazine and TSR's early catalog. The content and illustrations within this supplement are pitch-perfect. At $2.99, the PDF is a non-brainer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LLA006: The Shrine of St. Aleena
by Trevor h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2015 22:04:13

I am currently running this for my players. They really enjoy it! This is a great little adventure! It has some great encounters in it that you can use before the party even gets to the meat of the actual adventure in the shrine, with plenty of npc characters. There is danger aplenty, but not to difficult for my group of second level characters. It is simple and easy to run..... which is perfect as I am just getting back into playing
again. Experienced DM' s should have no problem making this short adventure really shine!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LLA006: The Shrine of St. Aleena
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

LLA005: The Stealer of Children
by Charlotte A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 22:26:10

A good module for beginner roleplayers. I DM'd with a party of 5 people who had never played before, using Labyrinth Lord. It's quite easy for the players as well as the DM which is ideal if you're just starting out. The whole story took about 3 hours. It is a very easy campaign but I would recommend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
LLA005: The Stealer of Children
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TZE001: TROPES: Zombie Edition (PDF)
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2015 10:53:10

Awesome Zombie game! Quick, fun, easy! I have many zombie games AFMBE, Dead Reign, Rotworld, etc. These are great rules for a quick fun Zombie game. Not complicated, easy to learn. You can probably hand out the nice Player Sheets, pick a few characters, and start playing in about 15-30 minutes, even with someone new to RPG.
Includes different types of zombies from movies and video games.


Throw a few bucks to a fellow gamer and support TZE!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TZE001: TROPES: Zombie Edition (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BTL005: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #5 (PDF)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2015 14:45:07

'Brave The Labyrinth' is one of those OSR zines with so many varied uses its not even funny. I admit I haven't kept up with the zine as much as I should. In point of fact I haven't kept up as much as I should with as many of Goblinoid Games as I'd like to. This is one hell of a nice little resource zine and of exceptional quality with some great and varied content for the Labyrinth Lord game and 90% of the retroclones out on the market. This is a really packed piece of OSR gaming zine right here.
But what's in this issue of awesomeness? According to the blurb from Drivethrurpg :
Brave the Labyrinth is a quarterly fanzine published by Small Niche Games for the Labyrinth Lord™ roleplaying game community. It consists of fan-created material designed to cover all types of Labyrinth Lord™ and Advanced Edition Companion™ gaming.
In this Issue you get:
-a new demon lord - This is a really nice variation on the lords of the Abyss and a good contribution to a region where you can really vary the enemies.
-new elf variations - Yet more of these pointed eared PC favorites, these are always welcome and very nicely balanced.
-an amazing map of Andrel Castle - Sold map of a very cool adventure location
-sainted icons of the Church of Law and Order -Finally! Some very nice minions of the powers of Law! Very useful for my games.
-tools, keys, and magic items for thieves - Thief themed items that tie directly into the class. Very nicely done.
-three (3) new monsters - Monsters are always welcome and these are nicely balanced.
-a green wizard who sought to cheat death - Very cool.
-a review of the Caves of Ortok - A really nice overview of an adventure module that needs more spotlights on it. Hoping my players don't get a chance to read this overview because I so want to run it.
-artwork contributions by by JV West and Jim Wampler- Really nice pieces of artwork and old school inspiration.


All in all this to me is a really nice issue of Brave The Labyrinth and a pretty solid old school resource. There are several articles and entries here that tie directly into some of the campaigns I'm running. I think that this is well worth your time and energy to take a look into if your a DM with any interest in old school gaming. Small Niche games has consistently put out some quality products in the past and this is certainly among those in my opinion. Throw these folks a few gold pieces and get to using some great old school material.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BTL005: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #5 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (Special Edition)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2015 10:21:25

This is about the Hard cover book, but the review I did for the PDF still applies.
Dolmvay is not only a highly detailed city complete with maps, npcs, new monsters and pretty much everything you need, it is also a shared city.


You get 260 pages worth of material; the original Dolmvay guide and the adventure "Oak Grove Whispers". There are the maps I mentioned, but there is also a fairly detailed history. You could easily drop this into any game, and let's be honest, any system. If you are familiar with other products from SNG then takes place in the World of Amherth setting. But this book (and most of the Amherth books) are easily adapted to any setting.


There is a chapter on adventuring in the city. How the local churches react to magic and what can be expected of travelling adventurers.
Makes it perfect for a way point between adventures, but you would be missing all the fun.
The book also details an number houses, factions and NPCs and their own desires for the city. If you like games of political intrigue and courtly drama then this is a good place to start.


The bulk of the book details the layout of the city. In this respect it reads like a guide book. NPCs, hooks and other information is given. There is plenty here for new GM to use it as is and plenty more for an experienced GM to add their own information.
It strikes a nice balance between detail and flexibility. Among my favorite items are the random rumor table and the common greetings and gestures. Things like this give a setting life of it's own.


Common businesses are covered as well as a sampling of Taverns and Inns. City encounters and even some new monsters.
Venture into the sewers or the Island of Heroes.


There is a section on random NPC generation as well.


Dolmvay the concept is the idea that this is a shared City. If developers want to create their own encounters, adventures or anything else really and set it in Dolmvay then there is an easy to use and free license to do so.
It is such a great idea I am surprised that no one else has done it before.


At $19.99 this book is steal. Really. I am not sure how they are making money on this. It's a think, full hardcover book priced like it was 1983.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (Special Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BTL001: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2015 15:15:20

Awesome zine for fans of old school play! The layout is clear and consistent and each issue brings you cool, useful things to use at your table. Right off the bat in issue #1 you get new spells and a new magic item all linked together thematically by way of a powerful and evil wizard. The description of the wizard is short and to the point. This is good stuff you can easily drop into any campaign with virtually no fuss. The issue also contains more magic items, a group of NPCs fully detailed, animal retainers, an awesome character sheet, cool map, full adventure by Dyson Logos (with awesome map), rules for eating candles (!), review, and the kitchen sink.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL001: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
by Ralph G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2014 12:39:16

Reminds me of some of the old Judge's Guild stuff, only better. (Remember the old newsprint JG used?) Can't wait to see what SNG comes out with next.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COA03: Guidebook to the City of Dolmvay (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 46 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG