RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Prestige Archetype: The Eldritch Hunter
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/23/2014 17:30:02
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Prestige Archetype-series clocks in at 8 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, ~1/2 a page of editorial, leaving us with 5 1/2 pages of content, so let's take a look!



First question - what are prestige archetypes? Well, they are essentially a breakdown of a regular PrC into a full-blown 20-level spanning class - so no, these classes don't necessarily mean that you'll have a universal archetype (wouldn't have worked in this context, I think), instead providing a retooled playing experience so you don't have to work your way up to the PrC via classes you don't want to play. So that's definitely a pro-side. On the con-side, *personally*, I treat PrCs as very much tied to organizations etc., emphasizing the "prestige"-component as opposed to archetypes, which are more traditions in my game. I'm not the target audience of these books, but I will take a stab at them anyways.



The eldritch hunter base class receives d8, 2+Int skills per level, 3/4 BAB-progression, good fort- and will-saves, proficiency with light and medium armors, shields and simple and martial weapons, but still incurs spell failure. They receive 3/4 BAB-progression, good fort- and will-saves and spontaneous cha-based spellcasting of up to 9th level. However, unlike a full spellcaster, their daily allotment of spells is diminished when compared to the sorceror to pay for the increased martial prowess. They also receive access to a sorceror's bloodline at 1st level - here, the ACG's release makes clarification necessary imho - bloodrager bloodlines may make the overall deal of this class a tad bit too good. That being said, I can't fault the pdf for that, seeing it's been released before the ACG. Bloodline spells are granted at a modified rate, though - the first being granted at 4th level, with every even level thereafter providing a bloodline spell of +1 level. Bloodline power progression is maintained at the usual levels, as is arcana.



Additionally, the eldritch hunter also chooses a combat style at second level and pursues this style via bonus feats every 3 levels thereafter. At 13th level, the class receives spell critical, which, alas, needs a caveat - as written, following up a crit with a swift action-cast may be nice, but there ought to be a maximum casting time restriction here to prevent the use of long casting duration spells in the conjunction with the ability. Finally, at 19th level, the class has ranger spells added.



The class also receives FCO's - these are generally okay, though the dwarven one is extremely specific, only applying to acid/earth spells that deal attribute damage. Good luck getting something out of this one.



The pdf also provides sample NPC builds for 1st, 5th, 10th and 15th level.



Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no truly significant glitches. Layout adheres to Purple Duck Games printer-friendly two-column standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



The eldritch Hunter is an interesting case - once again, the base PrC is obsolete by all means of the word and not particularly...let's say...well-crafted. The restriction regarding armor and spell failure is a massive detriment for the class and somewhat counteracts the immense benefits it reaps with full spellcasting. Now the progression itself is pretty linear and much of my gripes about the Eldritch knight also hold true here - however, unlike the eldritch knight, the eldritch hunter has by now been changed in its baseline by the very concept of bloodrager-specific bloodlines - which should imho be addressed. Other than that, the general class idea can be considered pretty well-designed - Carl Cramér's decision to delay massive spellcasting and hand slowly hand out the slots should make sure that the class steals neither the ranger's, nor the sorc's thunder. Spell Critical, as provided, is broken.

That being said, the bloodline issue somewhat makes this one imho a tad bit problematic; And yes, I'm aware of the specific "sorceror bloodline caveat here"; -still, that would have been a potential option to make this class more unique - my final verdict will clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Prestige Archetype: The Eldritch Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Prestige Archetype: The Eldritch Knight
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/19/2014 05:09:17
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Prestige Archetype-series clocks in at 8 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, ~1/2 a page of editorial, leaving us with 5 1/2 pages of content, so let's take a look!



First question - what are prestige archetypes? Well, they are essentially a breakdown of a regular PrC into a full-blown 20-level spanning class - so no, these classes don't necessarily mean that you'll have a universal archetype (wouldn't have worked in this context, I think), instead providing a retooled playing experience so you don't have to work your way up to the PrC via classes you don't want to play. So that's definitely a pro-side. On the con-side, *personally*, I treat PrCs as very much tied to organizations etc., emphasizing the "prestige"-component as opposed to archetypes, which are more traditions in my game. I'm not the target audience of these books, but I will take a stab at them anyways.



The Eldritch knight base class as provided herein received d8, 3/4 BAB-progression, good fort- and will-saves, 2 +Int skills per level, proficiency with simple and martial weapons and all armor and shields, though they retain arcane spell failure chances. They also may cast prepared arcane spells of up to 9th spell level via int from the sorc/wiz list. The class counts as both fighter and wizard-levels for the purpose of level requirements. At 1st level, the eldritch knight also has to choose either an arcane school or an arcane bond. At 3rd level and every 3 levels thereafter, the eldritch knight also receives a bonus feat that can be selected from item creation, metamagic, combat etc. -and arcane discoveries. The latter option makes me swallow somewhat, due to an increased frequency of bonus feats when compared to that of the wizard and thus also an increased array of arcane discoveries.



Spellcasting-wise, the class starts with1 cantrip and 1st level spell, but increases the amount of slots per day slower than the wizard, losing about 2 levels of spells gained over the 20 levels of the class on the non-martial brethren. The signature capstone spell critical of the base PrC is gained at 15th level - alas, without fixing it. The ability still allows you to cast multiple round spells, full-round action spells etc. as one swift action when criting - which is broken in my book, even at this level..



The pdf also provides favored class options for the core-races, all of which are solid -and as courtesy to us DMs, we receive NPC-builds of an eldritch knight for levels 1, 5, 10 and 15 - kudos!



Now beyond that, the pdf also provides advice for players - extensive advice, to be precise, to deal with armored spellcasting and ways to make it work - pretty cool and nice, especially for less experienced/rules-savvy players!



Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no truly significant glitches. Layout adheres to Purple Duck Games printer-friendly two-column standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.

Carl Cramér has done mercifully a job beyond what was required; The base Eldritch Knight PrC is utterly bland, sans identity and some would argue, bad - qualifying for it sucks and it does not provide any cool, unique tricks to pull off beyond somewhat solid melee capacities and 9/10 spellcasting progression. The translation into a full base class thus can't be faulted for being not particularly awe-inspiring. It does manage to adequately make the class both melee and caster at first level, though, and that without utterly outclassing the wizard colleagues - which is a good thing. The general take is more streamlined than the PrC and the option to take arcane discoveries helps bring the class somewhat closer to current Pathfinder's rule-aesthetics as opposed to the beginnings of the system.



Now as you may have noticed, I do not like the base PrC. In fact, I loathe it as an example of boring PrC-design that should have died a fiery death in the inferno that consumed 3.X. BUT, this is not about my personal preference; after all, I'm pretty sure that some of you like the class, perhaps prefer it over the magus. And as a reviewer, I have to respect that and at least try to provide an objective stance on this one - and it's better than the base PrC. In spite of the meager base materials provided by the PrC, this one should be considered the superior take and perhaps even a class that has a reason to exist in current PFRPG, with the thankfully streamlined saves and refreshment making the concept seem less like a systemic anachronism. And for that, in spite of my utter disdain of the class mechanics this is based on, in spite of the still flawed spell critical, I'll have to rate this 4 stars. Congratulations, Mr Cramér - I don't often get to rate a product this strongly against my own personal inclinations.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Prestige Archetype: The Eldritch Knight
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Prestige Archetype: The Assassin
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/16/2014 04:18:52
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Prestige Archetype-series clocks in at 8 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, ~1/2 a page of editorial, leaving us with 5 1/2 pages of content, so let's take a look!



First question - what are prestige archetypes? Well, they are essentially a breakdown of a regular PrC into a full-blown 20-level spanning class - so no, these classes don't necessarily mean that you'll have a universal archetype (wouldn't have worked in this context, I think), instead providing a retooled playing experience so you don't have to work your way up to the PrC via classes you don't want to play. So that's definitely a pro-side. On the con-side, *personally*, I treat PrCs as very much tied to organizations etc., emphasizing the "prestige"-component as opposed to archetypes, which are more traditions in my game. I'm not the target audience of these books, but I will take a stab at them anyways.



The Assassin as crafted here must be non-good, receives a good ref-save and 3/4 BAB-progression, d8, proficiency with crossbows, blowguns, daggers, darts, rapiers, short bows, saps, short swords and shields and receive a massive 8+ Int skills per level. They also receive sneak attack, progressing up to +10d6. The assassin also receives the option to forgo 1d6 sneak damage to demoralize targets, more d6 increasing the chances the demoralize works on a 1d6 for +5-ratio. 4th level death attack is two levels below what the PrC receives, seeing it can only be taken after receiving 5 ranks in stealth. Not a fan of this decision.



Better options for hiding weapons, evasion and uncanny dodge - all solid. An awareness of slain targets returning to life is downright brilliant. True Death is unlocked at 8th level and quiet/swift death fit at 10th and 18th level. AQ new dual capstone of master strikes and soul bind manages what the PrC fails at - making resurrection HARD.



The class also provides advice on the option to trade in sneak attack for rogue talents to bring some flexibility back. The favored class options of the core-races are solid.



We also receive NPC-builds of level 1, 5, 10 and 15.



Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no truly significant glitches. Layout adheres to Purple Duck Games printer-friendly two-column standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Carl Cramér's take on the assassin can be summed up as a rogue on speed - and it honestly works rather well. Why? Well, for one, the rogue is, even with talented/glory-updates not a powerful class. The death attack, while extremely powerful, still requires a lot of set-up. The resurrection-sense is downright brilliant. the new capstones are actually worth the name. The massive skill-increase to 8 (in contrast to 4 of the PrC) may seem like too much, but for me, it works. From poison use to angel of death etc., all iconic tricks are here - and paid for by a decreased flexibility. Which I would complain about - but the note on alternatively allowing for rogue talent access constitutes this variety: If you think rogues are fine, maintain the linear nature of the assassin as a balance tool. If you think it needs an upgrade, go for the flexible version that can learn talents - glorious.



I love this Prestige Archetype and fans of assassins and rogues may very much want to check this out - it triumphs where the PrC fails, prevents low-level death attack-spamming abuse and provides a damn cool take on the assassin. Two thumbs up - 5 stars +seal of approval!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prestige Archetype: The Assassin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Prestige Archetype: The Dragon Disciple
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/12/2014 06:31:41
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Prestige Archetype-series clocks in at 9 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, ~1/2 a page of editorial, leaving us with 6 1/2 pages of content, so let's take a look!



First question - what are prestige archetypes? Well, they are essentially a breakdown of a regular PrC into a full-blown 20-level spanning class - so no, these classes don't necessarily mean that you'll have a universal archetype (wouldn't have worked in this context, I think), instead providing a retooled playing experience so you don't have to work your way up to the PrC via classes you don't want to play. So that's definitely a pro-side. On the con-side, *personally*, I treat PrCs as very much tied to organizations etc., emphasizing the "prestige"-component as opposed to archetypes, which are more traditions in my game. I'm not the target audience of these books, but I will take a stab at them anyways.



All right, the Dragon Disciple receives 3/$ BAB-progression, good fort- and will-saves ,d10, 2+Int skills per level, proficiency with simple and martial weapons and light armors (no arcane failure in light armor and spontaneous spellcasting governed by Cha of up to 6th level, with the spells drawn from the magus-list.



At 1st level, the dragon discipline receives 1d4-damage dealing primary natural claws (1d3 if small). These claws increase in potency over the levels, later counting as magic etc. and increasing base damage-dice size and even add elemental damage to the output, depending on the energy of the breath weapon. More on that later.



At 2nd level, the draconic disciple also receives a bite attack, again a primary natural weapon, but one with a unique option - on a full attack, a draconic disciple can forego a bite attack in favor of casting a spell with a casting time of 1 standard action or less. Interestingly, the dragon discipline may opt to choose to take a penalty to all attack rolls and receive the same amount as a bonus to concentration checks to cast said spell defensively. The class can either first cast the spell or attack, but cast the spell mid-attack. He still needs a free hand and when mixing attacks with manufactured weapons. Alas, a minor glitch has crept in here - the option to improve defensive casting while attacking requires a caveat to specifically mention that the penalty applies even if the attacks are executed before the casting of the spell.



At 3rd level and every 3 levels thereafter, the dragon disciple also receives a bonus spell from a fixed list - a tad bit more versatility to choose from would have been nice. At 3rd level and every 3 levels thereafter, the disciple also receives an increasing natural armor bonus. Boosts to attributes (fixed) are gained at 5th, 8th, 14th and 20th level. Resistance to the breath weapon's energy type is gained at third level and scales up to 15 at 15th level in two steps. At 4th level, aforementioned breath weapon is gained; Its uses per day scaling up to 6/day at 19th level, thankfully coming with a cooldown that prevents going nova with the class level x 6 damage dealing breath, the shape of which btw. is determined by the type. At 6th level, a specialized spellstrike that only works with the bite attack is gained - here special kudos for preventing dual casting confusion via the bite's regular potential substitution! At 10th level blindsense is also pretty appropriate. High level draconic disciples can assume Form of the Dragon I at 13th level, increasing the potency of the form every 3 levels thereafter, analogue to the improved versions of the spell. Wings are gained at 15th level and the 20th level immunities gained are solid.



We also receive FCOs for the core races and a sample NPC in progressive builds of levels 1, 5, 10 and 15.



Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no truly significant glitches. Layout adheres to Purple Duck Games printer-friendly two-column standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Carl Cramér's Dragon Disciple is a surprisingly nice take on a PrC by now utterly outdated, rendering the transformation into a humanoid dragon-like figure into a concise, well-crafted whole. The spontaneous casting + magus-like tricks in the arsenal of this class render it an interesting evolution. The potential for blasting disciples is massive, though not as pronounced as if it had access to the wiz/sorc-list - essentially, this is a dragon-themed alternate magus and one that admirably well captures what the class is supposed to do: If a dragon disciple elects to let loose its arcane fury, you won't be wanting to stand on the receiving end. That being said, the restrictions imposed by the design maintain it as a kind of glass cannon and the significant loss of overall flexibility (no spell recall due to spontaneous casting, no knowledge pool, no arcanas) when compared to the magus makes for a valid trade-off for the draconic abilities gained. Over all, a well-crafted take on the concept with one minor wording that could have used some more refinement - still, a cool little pdf, well worth 4.5 stars - now one thing is slightly nasty: The increased spells per day and better on the spot versatility make the class a tad bit better at blasting, which may prove to be a bit much for low-powered gaming...hence I'll round down to 4 for this one, though remain with an explicit recommendation.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Prestige Archetype: The Dragon Disciple
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HT 1 - The Perils of Cinder Claws (DCC)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/10/2014 03:44:37
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement clocks in at 32 pages of content, 1 page front cover, 1/2 page editorial, 1.5 pafes of SRD, leaving us with 29 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This is officially my most delayed review EVER. It came out last year in December and I didn't get it done in time for holidays and after that...it just felt odd. So, with about one year delay, here's finally the review!



This being said, this being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.



All right, still here?

In medias res - the characters find themselves in a feast hall of Christmas-themed decorations...and things immediately become ODD - silvery tinsel spiders, intelligent fruitcakes that never leave your system, dreaming of strange aeons - yeah, we're in for some nasty, far-out creative awesomeness here. Deadly snowmen and tiny reindeer that each have unique abilities (like Rudolph's red pustule nose that may blind you or Comet's fiery burst...), aggressive ginger-bread men and sugar plum faeries. Of course, they may find something interesting in their stockings - though whether naughty or nice depends on the alignment and luck of the character... Oh, and there are elves...the unpleasant type. And then, all warmth subsides, things become cold and the PCs will have to brave the dread ice-cold claws of cinder claws before hopefully escaping the desolate ice-cold clime.



That's the first module - the second herein, intended for 3rd level characters, also has the PCs drawn into the domain of cinder claws, here, the nexus of Yule - disturbing nutcrackers and rat-humanoids warring set the tone immediately, even before the unpleasant, swirling golden angels flittering among the branches of a massive tree. 6-armed, candy-cane wielding carnivores, deadly puddings, the bulwarg and skagaart (and friggin' GRENDEL!) - unpleasant! And if the PCs think that regular animals are nice...wrong. Even domestic animals like cows and sheep are deadly and carnivorous here, so they better beware! Finally, they may come to stand before the Cinder Claws, who offers to act as a patron for PCS...or have them face his wrath - whether by diplomacy or force (the latter being a rather lethal prospect), the module concludes with a memorable scene indeed.



We also receive a full-blown patron-taint/spellburn/spell-list. It should be noted that the module comes with nice, player-friendly maps and full color cartography.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to PDG's 2-column standard and is rather printer-friendly. Cartography is nice and the artworks provided are neat as well.



Daniel J. Bishop delivers by the buckets - this constitutes at the same time the most disturbing Christmas modules I've read before, all while managing to avoid delving into a gore-fest - instead, this collection of modules allows one to delve into a sense of utter weirdness, of oddness and some primal, twisted take on Christmas tropes without losing the very intent and spirit of the holidays - these modules are frightening, unsettling, yes, but they never turn unpleasant, managing to maintain a sense of wonder and high-spirited fun. I love these modules and if I can get a group together this Christmas, I'll run these. The modules are awesome enough to warrant you converting them to other systems, should you prefer a non-DCC-system - THAT good! Final verdict? 5 stars + seal of approval!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HT 1 - The Perils of Cinder Claws (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Prestige Archetype: The Arcane Archer
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/10/2014 03:40:53
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Prestige Archetype-series clocks in at 10 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, ~1/2 a page of editorial, leaving us with 7 1/2 pages of content, so let's take a look!



First question - what are prestige archetypes? Well, they are essentially a breakdown of a regular PrC into a full-blown 20-level spanning class - so no, these classes don't necessarily mean that you'll have a universal archetype (wouldn't have worked in this context, I think), instead providing a retooled playing experience so you don't have to work your way up to the PrC via classes you don't want to play. So that's definitely a pro-side. On the con-side, *personally*, I treat PrCs as very much tied to organizations etc., emphasizing the "prestige"-component as opposed to archetypes, which are more traditions in my game. I'm not the target audience of these books, but I will take a stab at them anyways.



Each of the classes has classes listed as "build classes", i.e. ones that influenced the design of the prestige archetype. As written, they do not act as alternate classes and do not lock you out of multiclassing, something to bear in mind regarding balance.



Now let's take a look at the arcane archer! The class receives 3/4 BAB-progression, d8, good fort- and ref-saves, 4+Int skills, proficiency with simple and martial weapons and light armor (and suffers no spell failure chance in light armor and still suffers spell failure in light armor when casting arcane spells from other classes - nice catch!) and they learn to cast spells from the sorc/wiz-list, of up to 6th level. Arcane Archers cast prepared spells, governed by Int and thus need to maintain a spellbook.



At first level, they also receive an archery pool of 1/2 class level +Int-mod. This pool can be utilized, analogue to the magus, to provide temporary enchantments to the archer's bow as swift actions. The bonus (and conversely, the weapon qualities that can alternatively be applied to the ranged weapon) increases by +1 every 4 levels, up to a maximum of +5, with alignment imposing potential restrictions - no unholy enchantment for good archers, for example. What's odd here - since the class has a restriction that the thing needs at least +1 enhancement, meaning that the +2 equivalent enhancements can only be applied to already enchanted bows - kind of clunky.



At 2nd level and every 4 levels thereafter, the archer may select a bonus feat from the archery style provided, with 6th and 10th level increasing the breadth of feats to choose from. Spell Archery is interesting - granted at first level, the arcane archer may, as a full round action, imposes a -2 penalty to all attacks and cast a spell with a casting duration of 1 standard action or less. Multiple attacks are covered here as well - either you attack first or cast the spell first - no attack/spell/attack-tricks. On the extremely nitpicky side, only failure of concentration regarding defensive casting is covered, though the ability should probably specify the potential for spells being wasted by any type of failed concentration-check. If one were to be nitpicky beyond even my standards, explicit note that the spells still provoke AoOs would have been nice, but that is a) inferred by conjecture of the defensive casting caveat and b) evident from the rules of spellcasting.



At 3rd level, the arcane archer receives ranged spellstrikes - and here, I expected an utter clusterf*** - and was positively surprised - the ability allows the arcane archer to deliver ranged touch attack spells alternatively via her bow as a ranged attack at her highest BAB - the interaction between spell and weapon damage are covered quite professionally. Now, again, on a nitpicky side, I would have liked the ability to specify that the -2 penalty when used in conjunction with spell archery still applies - or does it? If it doesn't this allows the class to get rid of it for ranged touch-based spells.



At 4th level, the class receives spell recall via the archery pool and at 7th level, the class may expend points from the pool to prepare up to int-mod spells as if they were in the archer's spellbook - here a scaling mechanism would have been appropriate - one point per spell level, for example. Otherwise, high level spells cost as much as low level spells.



Imbue Arrow allows the 8th level arcane archer to use bow-range for spells and thankfully cannot be combined with seeker or phase arrows. At 9th level and every 5 levels thereafter, an arcane archer may also reroll an atk or force a foe to reroll an attack that has hit the archer. At 11th level, seeker arrows ignore cover and concealment and cost a swift action and 1 point from the archery pool.



Improved spellr ecall is gained at 12th level and the armor-ignoring phase arrows make an appearance at 13th level, once again costing points from the archery pool in addition to being standard actions. The iconic hail of arrows is gained at 15th level and a countershot (with a limited range) makes for another nice high-level ability. Finally, at the highest level, the class receives slaying arrows and as a capstone, no longer needs to make concentration checks when threatened while using spell archery.



The class also receives favored class options for the core-races, with especially the gnome gaining more available enchantments for the pool being nice.



We also receive level 1, 5, 10 and 15 builds of a sample character including sample spellbooks (nice!) and also new feats: Counter-missile allows you to forgo an attack in the following round (and expend ammunition) to negate a ranged attack that would have hit you. While I like the caveat versus large missiles, the feat has a massive issue - it does not specify the attack lost - can one choose e.g. the third shot at -10? What if one uses Spell Archery with Ranged Spellstrikes? Manyshot? Regular Rapid Shot? I'm not 100% sure how precisely this one is supposed to work, though I love the imagery.



Deadly Calm negates the penalty associated with deadly aim when using composite bows for the first attack (ouch!) and extra archery pool increases the pool-size by +2.



Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no truly significant glitches. Layout adheres to Purple Duck Games printer-friendly two-column standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Author Carl Cramér has a tough sell for me personally here and I honestly expected this one to SUCK. Good news first - it doesn't! The author has managed to provide a take on the ranged caster/bowman based more on the magus and still providing the various iconic tricks of the arcane archer. The way enhance arrows has been changed is more in line with the magus' tricks, but there we have the one issue with this class - it's scaling of ability-gain is a bit off. Fifth-level alignment-based damage feels like a bit much when compared to the PrC. That being said, at least the enchantments cost a solid resource and the streamlining of abilities to use one resource can be considered a massive improvement over the base class. Now, the class does have some balance-issues: The arcane archer receives almost all of the magus' exceedingly powerful tools for versatility - spell recall, knowledge pool, etc. -which may seem appropriate, considering the similarity between the classes. HOWEVER, the ability to imbue arrows, exceedingly powerful, still has an issue carried over from the original ability of the PrC- the option to shoot AoE-spells on squares instead of foes for a ridiculously easy shot exploit the original class did not cover.



Another issue, quite frankly, is that the very powerful ability to imbue arrows, combined with a magus' flexibility, just makes for an exceedingly strong array of tricks, stronger even than the PrC. Is this a bad class? No, and it demonstrates the author's capacity to make more than solid crunch, but it also adds more flexibility to the concept than is necessarily balanced. Why? Take a look at regular damage-output of good archers. Then take a look at what magi can dish out. Combine that. Result? PAIN. Especially since wiz/sorc ranged touch attacks can come off as rather nasty - while spell level of up to 6th don't look that bad, the class can be made into a true monster. Is it broken? Not necessarily, but if your players are adept at optimizing, this class becomes too powerful and can blast its brethren out of the water.



It is mainly due to this fact that I can only rate this 3 stars, but consider me excited about the rest of the series!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Prestige Archetype: The Arcane Archer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stock Art: Troglodyte??
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2014 11:58:01
I used this as a lizardfolk cleric. The necklace around its neck makes for a perfect holy symbol. Great image. Excellent size. And the License is quality. Couldn't ask for more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Troglodyte??
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stock Art: Water Dragon
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2014 11:56:19
Yea, this one is a favorite of mine. The tiny human in the foreground really sells it. Great image. Excellent size. And the License is quality. Couldn't ask for more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Water Dragon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stock Art: Slime Dragon
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2014 11:55:21
I enjoyed using this image in Book of Beasts: Legendary Foes. Great image. Excellent size. And the License is quality. Couldn't ask for more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Slime Dragon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stock Art: Savage Lizardfolk
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2014 11:54:15
I used this as a half-dragon lizardfolk. Great image. Excellent size. And the License is quality. Couldn't ask for more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Savage Lizardfolk
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stock Art: Flaming Skulls
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2014 11:52:59
Great image. Excellent size. And the License is quality. Couldn't ask for more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Flaming Skulls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AL 6 - Playing the Game (DCC)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/02/2014 05:25:59
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This funnel for 0-level DCC-characters clocks in at 13 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 11 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.



All right, still here? So, how does this adventure begin? Well, each character has met an interesting, strange traveler from a far away land who challenges the PC for a game of Arbakampsi, an easy, tactical board-game first introduced in a Purple Duck Storeroom-installment. Upon agreeing, the unsuspecting heroes to be find themselves trapped upon the board - separated ad forced t play a variant of the very game from within. In order to triumph, they have to understand their own predicament. Now the interesting component here would be that each character voices his/her intended action and then, after all have spoken, the judge tells the results.



The respective rings of the colored board (which is btw. provided in this supplement) feature challenges - beyond combat with serpents of water and windpigs, each ring also sports a puzzle - and these are interesting - like showing a player a circular message for ONE second - the only way out; requiring the PCs to work together.



In the central ring, a series of questions tests the mind of the PCs further - success at these questions may net the PCs elemental lords as patrons and corresponding benefits, whereas failure has them confront deadly, weapon-destroying duplicates.



The elemental princes/princesses Grom, Splaasha and Krakaal are provided alongside rules for spell-burn for them and advice on scaling/adapting the module and properly playing the game can be found herein as well - quite a feat at this brevity!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed n significant glitches. Layout adheres to a printer-friendly two-column b/w-standard with nice b/w-artworks and a colored arbakampsi-board. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Perry Fehr is best when creating odd societies and believable environments or when going utterly bonkers - this module is a fine example of the latter - this uncommon take on the classic trope is dauntingly different: With a focus on player-smarts above PC-luck, this is a surprisingly challenging, thinking man's module and an uncommon, cool introduction to a given campaign, its potential for scaling further making this easily adapted to other systems and levels - since the scenario and the puzzles are the bulk of the module, this is an extremely versatile little gem. Uncommon, creative and fun, this pdf deserves a final rating of 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AL 6 - Playing the Game (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Flaws II
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/28/2014 04:05:29
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 9 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 7 pages of content, so what do we get?



Well, if the title wasn't clue enough - more flaws. What are they? They can be summed up as anti-feats. They can be taken at 1st level and every character can only have two flaws Each flaw grants 3 skill points or one bonus feat, but if a character takes 2 flaws, he may choose each benefit only once. Flaws can only be taken at first level as written, though DMs may elect to grant them later - at their own peril.



Now each flaw has a specific type of penalty associated with it and a cost to buy it off. Unless I've miscounted, a total number of 30 new flaws are contained within these pages. So what do flaws do? well, take the one that makes you an orthodox druid who may not use metal, tools as well as a -3 penalty to all cha-based interactions with civilized folk, with violations potentially increasing this penalty even up to -5. At 5th level (and no sooner), Skill Focus (Diplomacy) as a feat accompanied by atonement may buy off the flaw.



Now if you've read the original pdf on flaws, you'll notice something - the minimum level requirements to pay them off. This is perhaps my favorite piece to be added to the concept herein - in the original pdf, some flaws could immediately be paid off. This, while easily handled in a mature group, somewhat opened the system towards being gamed, while the new flaws do not have that...flaw. Yeah, sorry, I'll put a buck in the bad pun jar.



Now back to the concepts - being in debt, cursed, addicted (with scaling benefits/penalties!), being too flirtatious or frail or being a monk with an inner turmoil - the flaws herein are generally not only superior to the first book, they are better balanced among themselves and the selection of class-specific flaws is glorious! Being lovelorn, an honor-bound paladin - several of the flaws herein just ooze style and enhance a character's personality. Phobias, kleptomania, suffering from tribal taboos - the respective array of options is diverse, unique and fun.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to a printer-friendly two-column b/w-standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked in spite of its brevity - nice!



Robert W. Thomson's Flaws are damn cool - I've been playing with the original ones for some time and my only gripe with them was that they could be gamed sans gentlemen's agreements. The new flaws do not suffer from this drawback...at least to this extent, which brings me to the *one* thing I do not like about this pdf - Paizo has since introduced minor and major drawbacks in Ultimate Campaign and a short note for each flaw on whether this would be more in line with either for a tighter synergy of systems would be awesome to have. That being said, I am of the firm conviction that the flaws herein can make for more interesting characters and concepts, with plenty of hooks enhancing them, while providing tangible benefits for the players to take them. My final verdict will hence clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 due to the low price.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flaws II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Witch Options (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/25/2014 04:25:04
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 10 pages, 1 page front cover, 2.5 pages editorial/SRD, leaving us with 6.5 pages of content, so let's take a look!



So, if you're like me and remember the beginning of 3pp Pathfinder, you'll remember the witch-class by 4WFG, long before the APG. This pdf essentially codifies the 4WFG-witch and makes her tools available for the APG-witch. Got that? All right!



We kick off with 5 hexes - the first, battle rite, temporarily enhances a witch's dex and con by +4. On its own, not bad; The level 3-minimum caveat prevents dipping-abuse and the daily limit works as well in the favor of this hex. Still, it does have me disconcerted somewhat, especially since the bonus increases to +8 at 10th level. I'm quite sure I can find a way to break this, though one has to exert some trickery to do so - hence, I'll let it rest.



The ability to use a hex to duplicate spell-like abilities via a broom and turn that broom into a broom of flying at higher levels is neat indeed. Creating zombies (that crumble to dust after 24 hours), making protective circles and a pearl of power style spell recall via her grimoire also make for compelling hex options. Via advanced hexes, a witch can use sympathetic magic via blood to impose massive penalties on targets, ask for the guidance of ancestors etc. The option to gain a smite via a hex feels a bit too much, though - while witches are not a particularly melee-centric class, to say the least, smite has traditionally been a very powerful option. The scrying options fit better thematically.



A total of 4 grand hexes are also part of the deal - a superb heal, a long-lasting shield-style buff (including attribute bonus), DR and immunity to mind-affecting effects or alternatively, a true telepathy/sight-based one make for compelling capstones.



We also receive 6 Patron themes - Black Magic, Demons, Protection, Summoning, Sun and Weather - the spell-selection here is solid, but nothing to write home about - thematically okay, but nothing that wowed me.



A total of 10 new feats are provided herein as well - they range from increased DC for elemental spells to a second patron (and a choice which spell to get), to an AoE-healing hex to a better warding option. Furthermore, circle hexes with the right feat can now inflict half damage on the attacker with the right feat and another one nets you low-light vision or maximizes healing potion efficiency. Faster hexes would also be an option. The feats per se are high concept and generally, on their own, not bad, if powerful options. Alas, unfortunately the respective rules do not exist in a vacuum - from more patrons to faster hexes, the options herein strike me as too strong. Not on their own or when used as intended, but the problem of such feats being available for all witch-builds makes them potential issue-sources. Faster hexes, for example, just beg to be abused, as does the one that rebounds half damage is a true caster/dragon-slayer and needs further nerfing.



A total of 10 spells are also part of the deal - one allows for a gaze-based fright-effect - sans properly using the gaze attack wording/mechanic., one nets you armor + intimidate bonus; There are 6 hag-summoning spells and another allows you to deal damage to foes via witchfire and penalize them. Finally, a level 9 spell allows for a ceremony to sacrifice a target for a paltry array of temporary hit points, somewhat wonky mechanics (why not go coup-de-grace?) and a minor buff, which lasts for a month - still, imho too weak for 9th level and the long, complicated casting.



4 pieces of mundane equipment, from athame to boline are also part of the deal alongside the new CR+1 hagborn template and a sample CR 7 hagborn salamander.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to PDG's printer-friendly two-column b/w-standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Robert W. Thomson is a capable designer and it shows herein - his original witch was a nice class and this one opens some of her cool signature tricks for the Paizo-witch-class, which is nice indeed! However, as a certain guy from Gilead would have said, "The world has turned..." - the components per se are not broken; What is problematic, though, would be that the power-boost they net the witch-class with combinations of published material is simply not required. The witch is one of the most powerful classes in Pathfinder and the option to swift/free action cast hexes needs to die. In fact, quite a few of the options herein show that they were not necessarily intended for the power-curve of the witch-class as it exists - they range from solid to "too good," feeling partially as if they had been made for a player who did not know how to make this class powerful as all hell.

While the hexes generally are solid, especially the feats provided herein simply do too much for too small a cost -which is a pity, for their expansion of hex-based tricks is something I indeed do enjoy. The other supplemental material is solid, I guess...and, one caveat: Yes, I've complained about balance in this review for the content herein can be rather overpowered for your campaign. The reasoning goes both ways, though - the pieces of crunch herein *can* work just as intended and wording per se is rather rock-solid. As long as you take heed and care with the content herein, you'll find some gems. Since I have a policy of in dubio pro reo, I will hence settle on a final verdict of 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Options (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godmetals of Porphyra [PFRPG]
by Harrison S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2014 12:30:05
The seven Godmetals are a reskin of the seven skymetals first published in Pathfinder Adventure Path #61, and reprinted in the Technology Guide. As a result, all the rules for them are now available for free on the PRD.

Yes, this was published in 2013, before this was the case. And the PDF is still pay-what-you-want. So it seems unfair to rate this too low. Still, it would be nice if PDG updated the product description so buyers/downloaders knew what they were getting.

So is it worth getting for the fluff? Each metal (including adamantine) has 2 or 3 sentences explaining its presence in the world of Porphyra, what virtues & schools of magic it tends to be associated with, which god brought it to the world, etc. If you dislike the "super-science" flavour of the Technology Guide, but want to port some of its rules back to a more traditional setting, reading through this may spark some ideas.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Godmetals of Porphyra [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 358 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG