RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Stock Art: Female Blue Goblin Hunter
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2016 14:47:56

Very nice piece of goblin artwork. The illustration is 1275 x 1649 pixels, or 862 x 1616 if you trim the empty space.
There are actually four images: line art on a white background, gray scale on a transparent background, colour on a white background, and colour on a transparent background.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Female Blue Goblin Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Kineticists of Porphyra
by Joshua B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2016 09:50:32

I'm a big fan of Kineticists (i've got some problems, but i can overlook them for the most part). However, one of my key issues with the class was that I wanted more elements. Occult Origins helped out a bit, but I still wanted more to work with. Additionally, there wasn't a huge selection of feats to pick from either. There were maybe 2-3 feats in the Occult book about this.


That's where Kineticistis of Porphyra steps in. It introduces 3 new elements (time, sound, light), while also increasing the abilities of the ones from the Paizo. There's plenty of support for mixing both too! For example within composite blasts, you have Crystal Blast, which mixes earth and light. Or you can pick something like Alteration Amplification which would turn any regular blast from a bunch of d6's to d8's.


There's plenty of new infusions to support the blasts as well. Beacon Infusion works for almost all light focused blasts, and lights your enemy up like a beacon, granting allies a bonus to hit, and if you accept another point of burn, bonus to damage as well. Or the leech infusion for void blasts where you gain life back from enemies you hit. A lot of stuff to work with. There's a lot here and they seem well-balanced compared to the core offerings. There's a lot of new wild talents as well, but I have not look too deeply into them. Nothing immediately stuck out as problematic though.


As for the feats, this book offers plenty of pickings that are genuinely useful. Burn Resistance allows you to take less damage from piling on burn, Kinetic Sniper allows your blasts to extend even further, or Precision Blast so you don't have to blast your friends if you use an AoE ability.


All in all, there's a huge amount of stuff in here, so anyone interested in kineticists should check out this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kineticists of Porphyra
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CE 2 - The Black Goat
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2016 15:35:50

This is a fantastic piece of drop-in gaming content. The location sits in the middle of a trail in the mountains and can be added with no change or adaptation whatsoever to many adventures. The creatures introduced can serve as interesting and highly imaginitive one-offs, or become recurring parts of a campaigh. The CE series by Daniel Bishop excels at this sort of thing, but the Black Goat is probably the greatest one yet. This is an incredible steal at the price, and I have read it several times purely for the enjoyment of this novel mini-setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CE 2 - The Black Goat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CE 1 - The Falcate Idol
by Terry O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2016 13:55:50

Daniel Bishop's The Falcate Idol, published by Purple Duck Games, is the first installment of the "Campaign Elements" series for DCC RPG. While written specifically for DCC, it is easily adaptable to the OSR game of your choice. As of the time of this review, there are five other Campaign Elements adventures (even a bundled version of 1-5), but here we'll focus on the one that started them all.


This adventure (as well as others in the "CE" line) helps the judge provide a short, 4-8 hour quest to respond to some new element in the campaign. Perhaps the wizard is hunting for a spell, perhaps the cleric is suffering extreme disfavor with her deity, perhaps the warrior is looking for a some clue of the fabled sword whereabouts, etc. The Falcate Idol is a fantastic drop-in quest for those situations, and many more. It is also an ideal one-shot for a con game.


Along these lines of versatility, the adventure suggests using 2-8 level 2 PCs, 1-2 level 3 PCs, or a solo level 4 thief. This is not "hot air" from the author; the adventure, as written, is that robust. Essentially, the adventure consists of a small temple with a secret underground portion. Ten encounters in all. In addition to planting your own hooks, you can use the ones suggested: a thief must steal the Eyes of the Harrower; an arcane caster must retrieve the Egg of Creation.


Thematically, The Falcate Idol, is quite tight in the way it presents a temple devoted to the Harrower, a neutral god of both the moon and death. Every encounter reminds the PCs of where they are, and what they are up against. Some "dungeon crawls" have generic rooms that could be in any crawl; this is not one of them. Every room says "Harrower" in one way or another. To enforce the feel, there are simple guidelines, as well as an "additional effect" table, to alter the way magic works within the temple; there is also a treasure table for looting corpses.


Like any well-written adventure, The Falcate Idol provides many areas of expansion into the present campaign. There is a curse, a "Walking God", a few supernatural/magical items (my favorite is the moon die!), and a creature's "transformative" special attack that could spawn a new adventure, just to find a way to undo the transformation.


In my own game, I've used it as a shared dream sequence for the party whose cleric was disowned by his god. This quest provided a means to regain some favor.


I highly recommend The Falcate Idol. Buy it and try it out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CE 1 - The Falcate Idol
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Kineticist Codex
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2016 13:52:20

So I was excited to get this product. I love the OA classes and the psychic stuff. So to dive into this was a joy. Unfortunately several things came to my attentions immediately:


1) it uses rule/races/feats that aren't standard. While i can understand that , especially when trying to advance thier own products, it makes it hard to transfer to a different campaign without executive descesions and educated guesswork.
2) uses rules from Ultimate Psionics
3) the stat blocks do not include all the possibilities for a given character. For example, a character that has kinetic blast doesn't have that ability in its stat block
4) the characters aren't very different from one another. For example, almost every single character have Weapon Focus (kinectic blast)
5) the color/info text doesn't match the stat block at times (electric instead of force)
6) each character has nearly the same feat/skill selection (see #4)
7) some characters have feats they do not qualify for
8) and some character have missing feats (ie. they should have x feats but only have x-1 feats in their stat block)


Now I do like the product. I love reading backstory and imaging what i can do with a given character. But i think this Kineticist Codex could have used a better editor and some more creative writer.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Kineticist Codex
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

FT 0 - Prince Charming, Reanimator (PWYW)
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2016 12:36:01

After reading about how good this funnel adventure was I finally bought it, and found it to be as good as I was told. A solid adventure, good monsters, some great encounters that can be spun out into further adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FT 0 - Prince Charming, Reanimator (PWYW)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Kineticists of Porphyra
by Audrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2016 08:31:48

With Paizo’s release of the occult classes came the kineticist, an elemental magic user who draws upon their own body’s reserves of energy to perform incredible feats. Purple Duck games released a slew of new options for the kineticist by N. Jolly.


Flavor: Without being familiar with the Porphyra setting, the opening flavor of the supplement still drew me in. A well-written and intriguing piece on what kineticists are and where the various types of kineticists are found in Porphyra.


Archetypes: Jolly’s supplement offers several new archetypes (some so obvious, you have to wonder why Paizo didn’t create them initially). The Cerebral Kineticist uses her Intelligence score instead of her Constitution score to take burn and has an overall flavor twist toward mental prowess versus physical hardiness. The Elemental Avatar is exactly what it sounds like--master of all four elements right from the start. Fans of Avatar: the Last Airbender will love this archetype, as it gives you true versatility of the four common elements (earth, air, fire, water) that can’t be gotten with a standard kineticist. Elemental Scion might be the archetype that excited me the most, because it alleviates the issues that any caster faces when focusing on a single element. The abilities of the Scion are such that even when facing foes with elemental immunities or resistances, you aren’t out of the game. Lastly you have the Kinetic Duelist, a martial fighter who wields the power of the elements in their free hand. All four of these archetypes have their own strengths and I found them to be balanced well.


New Elements: The additional elements presented in this book are exciting options: light, sound, and time. All a little more intangible, but all so fun to use, and of course they come with new blasts and abilities. Most of these abilities are on par with what you’d get using one of Paizo’s elements, though a few of the blasts feel slightly underpowered. This is countered by more powerful composite blasts, but again, without playing all of the elements at a table, I can’t say for certain that the elements are imbalanced. My favorite of the new blasts is Discordant Augmentation, a power which increases the damage die of a simple blast. The new Wild Defenses and Infusions are delightfully flavored and appropriately powerful. There are a plethora of intriguing infusions, ranging from Pure Negative Infusion (void) to Lagging Infusion (time) to Stitching Infusion (aether). Both the infusions for new elements and old are well-balanced and good enough options that I’d choose many of them over the ones initially released by Paizo. I could talk forever about all the great Wild Talents and other abilities, but that would eat up the rest of this review. Jolly has outdone himself with the variety of options he presents.


New Feats: The book offers a variety of new feats specifically geared toward the kineticist. Whether you want to increase the amount of burn you can take, make your blasts more accurate, or just be a force to be reckoned with, Jolly has the feats for you. They fill some much needed blanks in the feats available to kineticists.


Cons: Very little to complain about. There were a few grammatical issues, a few abilities that could have been clarified a little more, but most players and GMs will be able to come to a ruling without much trouble. Aside from that, my only hesitation with this material is that a few of the abilities (looking at you, Elemental Embodiment) seem like they might be a tiny bit overpowered. However, without playtesting, I can’t say for certain that it’s an issue. Really, it’s just nitpicking, as most of the options presented are very solid and balanced.


Overall, this book is an excellent supplement to the kineticist class and a must-have for anyone who can’t wait for Paizo to put out more options (and even then, I’d say that the archetypes alone are a good reason to buy the book). The book is a steal at $3.99. You can buy it here or here.


5 out of 5 stars



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kineticists of Porphyra
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Kingpin
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/15/2016 06:28:00

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This class-supplement clocks in at 16 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page of SRD, leaving us with 13 pages of content, so let's take a look!


The kingpin base-class comes with d8, 8+Int skills per level, 3/4 BAB-progression, good Ref- and Will-saves and proficiency with simple and martial weapons as well as light and medium armor and shields, obviously excluding tower shields. 1st level kingpins receive kingpin's cunning, a pool equal to his Intelligence modifier (minimum 1) and counting as grit/panache for the purpose of feat-prereqs and the like. The interesting and darn cool component here would lie in the regaining of cunning - not dependent on luck, at least exclusively - the kingpin receives two points back whenever he and his party avoid combat situations via smarts - be it via Diplomacy, Stealth or the like. He also receives 1 point back for stunts and good roleplaiyng, emphasizing brains over brawn - which is awesome. On the downside, rolling natural 20s, even on mundane skill-checks, also restores cunning, which begs for abuse and would ensure me going on a 2-paragraph-rant regarding the regaining of cunning thusly, but the pdf is smart enough to mitigate this abuse by including a GM-control-clause. Personally, I'd limit this to potentially lethal situations, but that's just my playtesting experience - so far, no true complaints.


Where there's a mechanic like grit or cunning, there obviously is a need to invest such an ability's points for benefits and thus, it should come as no surprise that the class receives deeds, the most defining of them probably being gang, an extraordinary ability. For as long as the kingpin has at least 1 point of cunning in his pool, all allies within 20 ft. (scaling up to 70 over the 20 levels) receive a scaling morale bonus to skill checks. Allies must be aware of the kingpin, but do not need to see him and all terrain that does not block line of effect, corners and the like, talking etc. all are featured in this ability's write-up - resulting in an ability that surprisingly, despite its complexity, works. Interesting here: Quite a few of abilities thus passively extend to the gang - basically, we get a bunch of always on buffs that scale, including being able to act in the surprise round, using skills untrained if the kingpin knows them and nasty flanking/teamwork tricks - and yes, collective Stealth and actually useful teamwork-feat dispersal is part of the deal.


Okay, where things become "ALERT LEVEL 11" is with the 7th level deed, coax self - the kingpin can take a standard action as an immediate action...which is pretty damn brutal. While the high minimum level means that dipping access doesn't work and while the sidebar talks about spellcasting restriction and while the ability's costs cannot be mitigated by any means - action economy-tricks tend to end up very strong. At 11th level, the kingpin can coax an ally as a standard action for 2 points of cunning, allowing said ally to take a standard action as an immediate action - the swift/immediate duality may prevent in cases like this that the ally can spam quickened spells, but the power of these abilities is still significant and warranted playtesting...more on that later. EDIT: Here either I misread something in my original review or read an old file; not sure. Thankfully, the problem was only a nitpick that did not influence the final verdict. Still, in the spirit of full disclosure of my botches, these lines acknowledging my oversight will remain.


Sharing skills, free charging through occupied squares and a true mastery of skills complete the array of deeds alongside double rolls on skills and the like. 1st, 5th and 13th level provide teamwork feats, 2nd, 9th and 17th bonus feats...and here, I should mention something: The kingpin also gets skill tricks at second level and every 2 levels thereafter, covering a diverse array, usually up to 2 per skill. When the bonus feats are used to take teamwork feats, the kingpin gets a bonus skill trick - nice way to reward the player for playing the character in the intent of its chassis.


The class comes with favored class options of a varied and diverse (and balanced) spectrum for the core races and a significant array of the cool races of Porphyra. The pdf also provides multiple archetypes for the kingpin, the first of which would be the Innovator, the magic item/crafter kingpin - who is, alas, very problematic: The archetype can utilize cunning to prevent the expenditure of charges or one-use-items like scrolls. While the archetype has a caveat for items beyond his power (which require a difficult skill check), the problem is that the easily recharged cunning cna be used to power basically a nigh-infinite source of healing and similar limited items, rendering the ability problematic in the long run regarding WBL-assumptions. Granted, this is not something that will break all campaigns and it can be handled...but it can result in some awkwardness. Other than that, I enjoyed this one.


The second archetype would be the Mascot, who utilizes Charisma for his cunning pool and receives the option to use comedy for distraction, generating a fascination-effect. The mascot also gets better defenses when unencumbered and not wearing armor and may, at higher levels, have allies reroll botched saves - pretty neat! The final archetype would be the Weisenheimer, who can similarly smart-aleck gullible fools with endless discussions of circular logic - though said ability should probably be language-based. At 7th level, these guys can utter dire mutterings that result in targets being "Scared" - which is not a proper condition. Panicked? Cowering? Frightened? What is it? Similarly, the fluff-wise cool rumor of doom, which sabotages efficient work requires a properly codified rules-repercussion to supplement its cool fluff and narrative potential. A cool archetype, but one that work only on a story-basis, which is a pity.


The pdf also provides a new magic item to grant a skill trick and 3 good feat-choices for kingpins as well as Gretta Schwartzhund (CR 10), Billy Kitbasher (CR 6), Kaptin Big-Snout Chrika (CR 4) and Qofyr Eirnan (CR 8) - sample NPC-builds with races ranging from Urisk to kobold and half-elf, covering the archetypes.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, both on a formal and a rules-level - though, among the archetypes, there is somewhat of a dip to be noticed from a previously top-notch presentation of the base class. The pdf adheres to Purple Duck Games' printer-friendly two-column full-color standard and sports unobtrusive hyperlinks and comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


The Kingpin was an honest surprise for me - I did not expect too much from a pdf from author Angel R. Miranda, never having had to review one before....though developer Carl Cramér certainly has had quite a lot of his works covered. Suffice to say, I am positively surprised - the kingpin can basically be summed up as a class that does exactly what its name implies - coordinate others, being smart. The rewards for cunning and the emphasis on rewarding smart roleplay over direct combat optimization are truly interesting and a design-paradigm I very much enjoy. Furthermore, the ease in which teamwork-feats etc. can be granted to allies and the always on buffs mean that this class works pretty well for new players or those who don't want to read hundreds of books to make an efficient character. Finally, the significant array of last-second-save abilities for allies and the coaxing of options can make some frightening combos in the hands of smart players.


I said, I'd come back to that. Basically, coaxing actions set off ALL my alarm-bells in overdrive mode; Testing the class, their unmitigated costs (the second coax lack the no-reduction-caveat) actually render the class drumroll balanced in just about every context...as long as you bear one crucial thing in mind: Control those cunning points. If you do dish them out for natural 20s on skill-checks in every situation, these ones will be abused to hell; if you heed my advice and only sparingly use them...well, then, let's make that clear, then the kingpin is pretty much an awesome, rewarding class.


So much so, that, were it not for the hiccups in the archetypes and aforementioned no-restriction-clause missing...I'd quite frankly slap 5 stars + seal of approval on this book, mainly because it captures pretty well the playing experience of a kingpin mastermind and does so with a bit of rules-innovation to boot...sans breaking the balance. In spite of its minor flaws, I will hence settle on a final verdict of 4 stars and a recommendation to check this out at the low asking price - good job, everyone!


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Kingpin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] Phantasia Zoologica Volume I: Cats, Dogs & Horses
by Bennett S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2016 14:25:59

5/5 - This product is as-advertised. If you need that niche filled, look no further.


Why did I buy this? What did I actually get?
I’ve always enjoyed the 152-crayon box approach to monsters, and I was excited to see the same variety applied to those animals tied closer to human society. And we get exactly what’s advertised on the front, plus equipment!


Have I used this, or will I use this?
I haven’t busted this out yet, but I’m currently running a Paizo AP - once I start a new one, I would hope to incorporate some of this into whatever the campaign turns out to be. I may mine this for ideas to convert to my recently started Dungeon World campaign as well.


How is the fluff?
Enjoyable: each breed gets a little info about personality, and its interactions with nature and societies, without implying a setting - and I consider that a plus with this type of resource. Though illustrations are nice, it’s still a little disappointing that the statblocks are without the descriptive sentence or two at the top.


How are the mechanics?
Each statblock comes with it’s own unique ability or spin that presents a lot of variety, while keeping it in a low CR range. Sometimes, it’s the Khyang Wild Ass, who’s sure of foot and thick furred, or the Coon Cat, who’s Intelligence (not the score, but an ability) makes it easy to train. Some are less distinct, but still serve their purpose. Chapter 4 offers equipment, both mundane and magical - one of the neater non-magical items is a scrollcase harness, fitted for a dog with two bone scrollcases attached. Animal prices, as well as rules for familiars and animal companions bring the book to completion.


How’s the artwork?
The book is well-illustrated, and has distinct artwork for each breed. Though I prefer color illustrations because I do most of my gaming through VTT, I really enjoy what’s presented here, and the style would make it easy to color quickly myself.


How’s readability?
The layout is simple, printer-friendly B&W. No complaints here.


Was the price fair?
I paid $5.59 for this, which for 65 pages of content (72 total) is a great price in my book.


Favorite part?
The elven dog, and it’s terrifying bark! On top of combat mechanics, the bark can be heard up to 5 miles away.


Least favorite part?
From a personal perspective, I’m not big on horses. Nothing to detract from the book itself, but that chapter doesn’t grab me in the same way the cats and dogs do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Phantasia Zoologica Volume I: Cats, Dogs & Horses
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stock Art: Rabbit Archer
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2016 01:09:49

Nicely done and well worth it. I like how it came in several formats.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Rabbit Archer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Kineticists of Porphyra
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2016 14:11:07

A great expansion upon the Kineticist occult class, this title provides three new archetypes, each rather well balanced, as well as three new elements and a plethora or new wild talents for the new and pre-existing elements. That said it is, in some ways, odd. Those familiar with the Kineticist class will know that each element gains a movement-type utility wild talent at spell level third (level 6), but the three presented here do not gain their movement utilities until later. In addition, the Sound element does not seem to have one at all. That said, Light and Time, the other two elements, do have an exceptionally powerful movement ability, so perhaps this choice was implemented to balance the new options.


But that's just nitpicking. There are some balance issues present to be sure (the three new elements, while interesting, are also very weak in a lot of respects, especially Time) and they lack the "Saturation" features most of the original Kineticist elements have, which can make them an odd choice.


Still, despite that, Kineticists of Porphyra does open a lot of new potential for those interested in the class, and is very well written and organized for easy reading and navigation. I highly recommend anyone interested in the class to pick up this title; you'll be missing out on some great fun without it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kineticists of Porphyra
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CE 6 - The Crimson Void
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2015 09:31:27

The Crimson Void is one of the most interesting RPG materials I've seen. The Crimson Void is not exactly an adventure; the Campaign Elements (CE...hehe) series is designed as drop-in content to any campaign world. TCV is something that can be weaved into a long-running campaign. It contains a few surprises that only insightful, or persistent, players will be able to dig up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CE 6 - The Crimson Void
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lands of Porphyra Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2015 23:43:23

Disclaimer of compensation: I received a complimentary copy of this product in exchange for my review. I received no other compensation, nor do I have any ties to Purple Duck Games.
Disclaimer of Tentativity: At the time I posted this review, this product is less than one year old. Thus, all opinions expressed in this review, and especially the long term rating, must be considered tentative.
This supplement clocks in a whopping 214 pages, including 209 page of content. After a brief introduction, we get 110 pages presenting overview of each of the 52 major region in the world of Porphyra. Yes, [i]52[/i] major regions. While each is given only a few pages, they are incredibly diverse and well written. Some of the regions are given more detail in separate, dedicated supplements.
Purple Duck Games has taken a unique route with Porphyra. Most RPG companies, even those who regularly use the Open Gaming Licesnse, have been very protective in keeping their fluff closed-content. Purple Duck Games has gone the opposite route and made the entirety of Porphyra open gaming content, including the gods, nations, and the extensive fictional history. The declaration of Open Gaming Content in this book says simply “All Text”. Much of the information in this book can be viewed for free on PDG’s Porphyra wiki.
Following the extensive descriptions of regions, we get a 15 page chapter briefly describing the places of different fantasy races in the world of Porphyra. Each of 87 races gets about a paragraph of description, and a list of regions in which they can be found. No stat-blocks are provided: most of the given races have been statted in one of Paizo’s bestiaries, whilst the others have been statted in other PDG products. All in all, this section is nice and convenient but rather skimpy on details.
Next we get details on the gods of Porphyra, separated into four major pantheons: the New Gods, the Risen Gods, the Elemental Lords and the Protean Lords. These pantheons are all described in more detail in their own, separate supplements. Great care has been taken to make the gods of Porphyra distinct from the generic clones many other campaign settings use. Better yet, all information in this chapter can be viewed for free on the Porphyra wiki.

After a few short miscellaneous sections, we get a long chunk of crunch. The section starts with various magic options, including tie-ins to other PDG supplements, and altered versions of several domains. Next comes a trio of prestige classes. The first, the Impervious, is a full BAB partial divine spellcasting class. The second is a 3/4 BAB partial spellcasting class which requires gunslinger’s grit. The third prestige is an anti-divine-magic 3/4 BAB class associated with the Sandmen organization described earlier in the book. Overall, the quality of the prestige classes is decent, but a step down from the earlier portions of the book, with a lot of bog-standard abilities. Following the prestige classes we get a bunch of regional traits tied to different regions of Porphyra, and campaign traits tied to other aspects of the world. The traits are the biggest disappointment of the book, with lots of bland number boosts and very little ingenuity.

Finally, we get the Ruins of Greencastle, a short adventure for first level PCs which is meant to introduce the setting. The adventure itself is a simple dungeon crawl. It is well constructed and comes with fully detailed maps and statblocks, but is on the whole unmemorable and mainly functions as a way to introduce pieces of the setting.
Short Term Use: The editing and presentation is top notch. The rules that are present are easy enough to understand that they can be dropped into a campaign quickly, but the crunch is overall subpar for Purple Duck Games. The campaign world’s elaborate fictional history and enormous scope makes getting in to it somewhat daunting, even with the introductory adventure. Hence, this supplement earns a short term rating of 2/5.
Long Term Rating: As you have probably deduced from my review thus far, the world of Porphyra is really big. The strong writing and diverse lands make it an excellent place to run a long-running campaign. The fact that many of the regions are sparse on details allows you plenty of room to fill things in during your campaign over many years of playing. Thus, this book gets a well-deserved long term rating of 5/5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lands of Porphyra Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Kineticists of Porphyra
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2015 19:09:42

As a huge fan of the Kineticist, I'm excited to see additional content being released for the class like this. Kineticists function so much differently than other classes that many of the traditional feats and options you would turn to first don't quite work, which on the one hand gave kineticists a lot of room to do what they wanted, but at the expense of anything that really amped up their abilities in the vein of Rapid Shot, Power Attack, or metamagic feats. Likewise, as a new class, they still lack a lot of support with regards to different options for utility talents and infusions, leading to a slight degree of sameness across builds. This book fixes all of that and then some, with some interesting new archetypes, some fantastic new elements, a ton of new infusions and wild talents, and some useful new feats.


I'm going to address the cons first, because there aren't many and I like ending on a positive note. There are some minor grammatical errors sprinkled throughout the book--nothing that fundamentally changes the meaning of anything, but if you're a stickler for subject-verb agreement, they'll stand out. Also, there are a few talents and features that could use some clarification, but again, nothing major. Most tables should be able to come to reasonable rulings on the few examples I can think of, and N. Jolly is active on the boards if you absolutely have to get the word of god.


Now on to the goodies:
1) There are four new archetypes, of varying quality: The Cerebral Kineticist, an Int-based kineticist who suffers mental debilitation in place of nonlethal damage for burn; the Elemental Avatar, because everyone wants to be Aang and/or Korra; the Elemental Scion, which really rewards you for sticking with a single element; and the Kinetic Duelist, which is a melee-based kineticist which doesn't lose all the interesting stuff the way the Elemental Annihilator does. My quick review is that the Avatar and Scion actually seem to be good archetypes if you're interested in either greater versatility or only a single element, respectively, while the Kinetic Duelist changes the play style too much for me to really speak to it yet, and the Cerebral Kineticist, like the Overwhelming Soul, feels like it gives up too much for too little by trying to dance around burn.


2) There are three new elements, and they're all great: Light, Sound, and Time. Light kineticists have a lot of illusions (that they can make explode!) in addition to the light and blinding effects you'd expect, and seem like they'd make great tricksters. They also pair well with the Sound element, which involves a lot of audible illusions, but also has a wide grab-bag of really useful blast infusions and utility talents, letting them deafen foes, charm people, push around or confuse their foes, buff their friends like pseudo-bards, and gain echolocation. I personally feel like their elemental defense is on the weak side mechanically, but since it basically involves having your own personal soundtrack playing at all times it's also possibly my favorite defense for roleplaying purposes. And finally, the Time element is for people who like to mess with people, since so many of their abilities are based on debuffing their foes, messing with their actions, slowing or stopping time, and even stealing time from other people (oh hey, I'll just take all of your move actions for the rest of the combat, thanks!).


3) There are more new infusions and utility talents in this book than you can shake a halfling at, and they do a good job of providing interesting abilities for the new elements as well as bolstering the existing elements. Just a quick sample: phytokineticists can now turn their foes into trees, hydrokineticists and geokineticists can encase their foes in ice or rock, and chaokineticists can raise their fallen foes as zombies, steal their life as temporary hit points, or just summon some black tentacles from the weird things that live past the stars to grapple their foes to death. I don't see anything that seems unbalanced at first glance, and in fact like the core kineticist, many of the new talents seem to be rather conservative in their power for my taste. On the other hand, everything also seems useful, unlike some of the core kineticist's talents, so I feel like they've hit a sweet spot here.


4) And finally, there are a handful of genuinely useful feats. There are a few feats that alter your ability to gather power or handle burn, reducing the nonlethal damage you take, improving your internal buffer, or letting you gather power faster or more quietly. Adaptive Utility might be the best feat in the book for certain elements, as it improves the DCs for all of your utility talents, but Kinetic Prodigy lets you qualify for infusions at an improved rate, which makes it a fantastic pick early on. And finally, there's a feat that lets you sculpt your AoE blasts so you don't accidentally clobber your friends, which is a great addition.


In conclusion, this is a great book for fans of the kineticist, and the price is a steal. Get it, love it, and if you happen to roll up a chronokineticist, I'd maybe recommend bringing your DM some pizza to apologize in advance for how much fun you're about to have messing up his action economy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kineticists of Porphyra
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Advancement: Enhanced Aberrations
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/16/2015 03:49:39

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The third installment of Julian Neale's highly modular toolkit-templates to enhance your critters clocks in at 19 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 2.5 pages of SRD, leaving us with 14.5 pages of content, so let's take a look!


The base template's CR modification ranges from CR +1 to CR+2 depending on the amount of abilities gained and a handy sidebar that explains the DR-enhancing options is provided within these pages. Beyond that, you'll immediately note something truly awesome - a scaling aura of otherworldly corruption scaling with size and CR of the creature in question, representing more than well the utter wrongness the more powerful aberrations sport.


However, even more so than previous iterations in the series, this time around, we receive utterly unique and yes, downright inspired unique abilities galore: What about crystalline growths that allow the aberration to emit deadly rays of light? What about aberrations having full compatibility with Radiance House's superb Pact Magic rules? Yes, this is awesome.


Even better, the pdf manages to maintain the mathematical diversity I loved in the previous installments - for example, you don't get one type of breath weapon that scales with levels; no, you actually get a pretty consistent entry in a table, a steady, fixed average damage-dealing breath weapon (handy for 13th Age-aesthetics fans) and even an exceedingly swingy one - it is this level of flexibility, this "above and beyond", that sets this humble pdf apart.


Want aberrations that emit destructive harmonics or ones that lock down dimensional travel? The material is in here and feeding upon the dead as well as mastery of oozes and vermins can be found amid these pages alongside elemental-based SPs, devastating killer-mindblasts, stunning blasts, illithid-style save-or-be-reduced to -1 hp options for high end-CR creatures - this pdf covers the bases from the highly customizable, scaling SPs granted to boss abilities that grant additional actions and even provides poisonous spores that detonate those succumbing to their deadly effects.


Beyond even that, a handy guideline provides advice for applying the template and, for the time-starved GM, we get sample creatures spanning the CRs from 3 to 18, running the gamut from paladin flumphs to naga sorcerors.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Purple Duck Games' printer-friendly two-column b/w-standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The pdf has no art apart from the cover, but honestly, I'm all for substance over style in such a case.


Julian Neale is a subtle designer whose books so far, if they had any flaw, then that would be that the books required some thought before the "This is great!"-reaction sets in; they are not flashy. His monsters, builds and options tend to sport some thoroughly unique and inspiring ideas, with this installment of the awesome Monster Advancement-series even surpassing the already excellent first two. Why?


Because this time around, we actually have those flashy tidbits that provoke an immediate "This is awesome!"-reaction, combined with the obvious skill regarding number-fu and creature design in general. This is, all in all, a thoroughly inspired, glorious aberration toolbox that will see ample use in my games - well worth a final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval and a definite recommendation that you get this right now!


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Advancement: Enhanced Aberrations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 462 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG