RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Bio-Horrors
by Giorgio G. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2014 03:11:40
I haven't purchased before this producer's first paper minis set ( "Horrors from Beyond" ) because it seems to me a previous/old set by another manufacturer. But this new product is fantastic imho.

Eight outstanding survival/modern-horror paper minis ( drawing, color, complete with front and back art ... ) and their variants ( seventeen minis in total ). Perfectly compatible, imho, with products by other producers ( eg Darkmook Miniatures ).

There is a very excellent overall layout, with clear and complete instructions, minis bases, many 3D props ( at least fifteen ), crates, laboratory machineries ... There are alternative bases with different textures ...

And so this would be a complete and great product. Like many other paper minis sets should be.

But "Project Zero Games" he added also, as a bonus gift, a customizable game tile ( a 6x6 square encounters room, I suppose it is a secret medical lab ). It has at least a dozen of objects and props that you can add or remove using pdf layers ( machine, generator, ladder, well, grates, tables, panels, cables ... ), A dream for every player who has to prepare a room ( a med-lab in this case) for his game. Too bad that there isn't a sixth evaluation star, imho.

I apologize for my eventual emphasis. But I'm not a reviewer. So I'm really happy when I spend my money well. ;-)

Thank you "Project Zero Games".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bio-Horrors
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you Giorgio! I hope you enjoy this set.
Horrors From Beyond
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/20/2014 08:28:46
Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/02/20/tabletop-review-horrors-
-from-beyond-call-of-cthulhu/

Call of Cthulhu isn’t a game you usually have miniatures for, but the concept seems to be getting a bit of a surge as of late. Reaper Miniatures has released a few for its Bones line, RAFM just had a very successful Kickstarter based around Call of Cthulhu miniatures and now Project Zero Games has put out a collection of print and play paper miniatures entitled Horrors From Beyond. While not an officially licensed Call of Cthulhu product, there are some obvious pieces of Lovecraftia in this set such as a Shoggoth, a Dark Young and a monolith with an Elder Sign on it.

For $3.99 you get the following pieces: A Dark Young, a Shoggoth, two creepy monsters I can’t place, a living green glob, a tree, a living green ectoplasm thingy, a stone pillar and an interdimensional gateway. Everything aside for the gateway is a single piece you just print and cut out. The gateway though takes a bit of assembly. This collection comes with some very easy to follow instructions for cutting out the pieces and also how to put each figure on a base. A full page of the PDF is devoted to instructions on assembling the gateway. The art on each miniature is fantastic and I especially love both the Shoggoth and Dark Young designs. All miniatures are on scale with regular miniatures, so you can use these from pre-painted D&D or Pathfinder figures on down to the aforementioned RAFM metal figures. In fact, I actually like the look of this paper Dark Young better than the “real” metal version. It’s also a lot cheaper. So you get a nice set of fantastic looking figures, for about the cost of a single resin or metal figure. That’s a pretty good deal –especially when you consider how nice these things look.

Now speaking of cost, remember that the $3.99 price tag merely gives you the rights to print these figures off. Actually making the figures will cost you a bit more, as you’ll have to have a high quality printer, card stock paper, enough color ink to print these off and a good pair of scissors to cut out the figures once printed. If you don’t have all these items already, this little set of print and play figures will end up costing you more than most metal or resin figures. Paper figures are a cheaper buy only in the long run, so if this is your first set, expect to see that simple $3.99 investment skyrocket before you are done. As well, make sure you are really good with scissors before you start on paper miniatures, because one bad cut and you have to reprint everything. This is especially true with the Horrors From Beyond set we are talking about today due to all the wacky angles and strange shapes that come with Lovecraft creatures. Finally, you’ll also see Adobe Acrobat 6 or higher to view and print this product. As always, print and play sets are for a very specific type of gamer rather than for the general public, but if you’re a fan of paper minis, this is one of the best sets I’ve seen in some time.

I absolutely love the design of these figures and if you’re a big Call of Cthulhu fan and/or miniatures type of gamer, Horrors From Beyond , this set is easily worth the $3.99 price tag – but only if you know what you need to actual make a set of print and play miniatures useable. I’m pretty happy with it, especially the scenery pieces and the art for each figure is top notch. I really hope Project Zero continues this line of Call of Cthulhu themed print and play miniatures as it appears the market for CoC figures is growing faster than it ever has.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Horrors From Beyond
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Horrors From Beyond
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/19/2014 09:16:50
An excellent set that takes advantage of Acrobat's layer function the way that more of these products should. The artwork is excellent, instructions are clear, and there is very good attention to detail. The columns, for example, have score guides on the edges but not on the pieces, to add to their realism. Three base surfaces are available for each figure. The grass tile can be customized with 18 different features and with or without gridlines, allowing for a wide variety of tiles from one page (alone worth the price of this product, in my opinion). All pages have minimal notes/logos/etc. to conserve ink. My only suggestion would be to use a layer to enable removing these before printing, to conserve ink even further. Overall an excellent product, and well worth the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Maps: Super Dungeon I
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/18/2013 18:49:44
This pack features fifty-three pages of 8x8 maps with numerous version of rooms and halls. There are quite a few special features including pits and rooms with iconography. You're supposed to print this out for use in a dungeon but I'm a virtual tabletop person so I stripped the images out for use in MapTool.

To do this I loaded the PDF into GIMP export one image per layer as a jpg. The resulting images have a grid size of fifty. It seems the printed grid is just a bit off but not enough to affect game play.

Overall this is a good product for both face-to-face and online gaming but you'll need to put in a little work to get it ready for online play.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Maps: Super Dungeon I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tile Maker 2.0
by Paul N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2013 23:45:55
Fun and easy to work with,and very simple to use,and can be easily adapted for just about anything really.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tile Maker 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tile Maker 2.0
by David F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2013 11:25:42
Excellent idea but all the features only works on a PC, not on any of my Macs.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Sorry David. What type of Mac are you using it on? Also, try the online version - as long as you can view Flash files you can use the one projectzerogames.com
Tile Maker 2.0
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2013 20:08:38
I think this is a great product to create custom tiles for those who don't have the exact one they need or don't have a vast collection.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tile Maker 2.0
by Evan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2013 14:05:33
needs a way to rotate graphics like chests, stairs and so on. i would really like to see a way to change the standard tiles into other terrains like grass or dirt for outdoor locations that arent dungeons. also needs a way to import in a graphic but otherwise a handy and quick tool for making dungeons.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi Evan, thanks for the review. You can rotate objects by holding the cursor over the object and pressing the space bar. Also, we're currently working on other tile makers that incorporate some of the elements you mentioned. As far as importing other graphics - you can always save the tile you print as a pdf and open it in photoshop or gimp to edit it further.
Tile Maker 2.0
by Thomas J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2013 17:34:02
I didn't realize that a PDF file could work like it was a program. I was pleasantly surprised. It's fairly easy to use and worth the money.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tile Maker 2.0
by David N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2013 13:45:34
Easy to use, but not offering a very wide variety of tiles. Still, with a bit of igenuity this program will help make a breeze of any dungeon design. Just have your patience with the program.

GRADE: 3/5 stars

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review, David. Did you try using the wall sections to altar the type of tiles available? With a little creativity you can get quite a number of variations. Also, since this was a free product I didn't pack it with as many options. However, keep an eye out for the upcoming City Builder. It has tons options to enable you to anything from a small village to an entire city!
Tile Maker 2.0
by Ernesto G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2013 12:28:15
It is a good product, very useful and with great design.
Could have more itens, or more tiles.
I recomend to any DM who want his Dungeons to be more complete.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi Ernesto. Thanks for the review. Since it's a free product it doesn't have the amount of options you might expect in something you paid for. However, we will be releasing a paid program, City Builder, that lets you create anything from a small village to a large walled city.
Tile Maker 2.0
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2013 12:26:59
This product is very useful. It is quick and easy to use.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tile Maker 2.0
by Justin F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2013 12:16:12
The pdf isn't worth it in my opinion, its locked and can't be worked with. However by going to the makers website you can use the file as intended. 2/5 stars only because of the website.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Justin, could you describe the specific problem you were having? I tested the pdf on a number of setups and it always worked, and I'd like a chance to troubleshoot the issue you're having so that other customers don't have similar issues. However, I'm glad the online version worked for you!
Tile Maker 2.0
by John H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2013 23:44:26
Clever little aid. With what looks like only a few options, really does allow you to make a plethora of tiles. The ability to rotate the included sundries would expand the possibilities immensely. All of that and given the price, this is a must have gem.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Objects I
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2012 17:54:41
A very mixed bag. The art styles represented in this product are highly inconsistent, ranging from cartoonish to almost photorealistic. You can see several varieties just on the first page. Some of the pieces don’t make sense. What, for example, is a European-style knight in platemail doing inside a sarcophagus with a Hindu elephant god carved on the lid? You do get a bunch of useful dungeon dressing counters for a reasonable price, but other publishers have done this better.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Objects I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG