RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Stinky Jack's Goblin Emporium PWYW PREVIEW
by Bret B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2017 16:25:25

I really like the product. I thought the cards were well done. I can't wait for the full set!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stinky Jack's Goblin Emporium PWYW PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Objectivist
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2017 10:53:30

I feel a trifle guilty giving a low rating to this because, well, it's free, but it's also not terribly good either. It's a clear tribute to characters such as Mr. A, the Question, or Rorschach (primarily Mr. A), but it lacks punch. The formatting is bare bones, the character is labeled and pointed at PL 9 but only reaches that level in skills and his Fort/Will save, being PL 6 on offense with his punch, PL 2 on his "blast" (I'm assuming it's Ranged Damage 2, since the only descriptor is "Blast" and a "2" in the equipment listing), and PL 3.5 on defense. The sheet doesn't have obvious faults outside of no elaboration on his equipment, but he's decidedly underwhelming.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Objectivist
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Contagion Savage Edition
by Franz A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2017 13:41:45

I bought Contagion Savage Edition because I am a fanboy of the Savage Worlds system and I just love the World of Darkness setting and, at a first glance at the preview, Contagion looked like an interesting mashup of the two - by the way: why there have been so few attempts to "savage" the WoD (read: monsters as player charatcers) while we have about 200+ zombie apocalypse settings is beyond me.

First thing I read is the character creation chapter and Contagion almost exclusively relies on stock SW rules with some suggested additions taken from both Horror and Fantasy companions, which to me is a good thing: no need to reinvent the wheel. The only relevant exception is the introduction of Contagion Points, which are a new Derived Stat that the characters can spend to do some fancy things like alter rolls, use racial powers/edges, temporary ignore shaken/damage, and so on. Didn't try the mechanic on the field yet but sounds cool.

The character "races" available to the player are many and diverse given the modern urban setting: from the usual humans to monsters like werewolves, ghosts, and vampires (tadaaa) but also demons, angels, drows (?), elves, orcs, and goblins (WTF!?) among MANY others. Now, I can't imagine myself playing a goblin in the middle of a modern metropolis at present day but hey, I guess it's good to know that there's that chance just in case..

The other thing I am interested in when I look for a new game is the setting: Contagion's pitch is about our modern world being the theater of a secret and shadowy "good vs. evil" war between supernatural beings - demons, angels, gods, monsters, mages, and the such while our human society lies ignorant in this soon-to-be armageddon. I don't want to risk spoilers here, so what I would say is that is intriguing enough for me to want to run games in it even though it's probably not the most original idea I've ever heard - btw I keep wondering where do those goblins stand in all this..

Said that I evaluate this product as a win considering me not being familiar with the original d20 setting and my initial idea of it being a sort of toolbox to run "Savage Worlds of Darkness" games successfully with no overhead from my part, which was exactly what caught my attention in the beginning and hoping for. I'll definitely take what I like of it - for sure some character races and the cool looking Contagion points mechanic - and ditch what I don't, simple as that.

I'll definitely keep an eye on this Savage setting, I hope some cool modules or companions will come out in the future to further explore some of the monster races and the setting, if not a full plot-point campaign.

All considered I give 4 stars to Contagion, I take 1 star out because presentation and layout are not top level, even though some of the illustrations are really good, flavour text enjoyable, and the reading experience is just fine.

Keep it up and rock on those goblins.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Contagion Savage Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Choe Pho: A New World of Fantasy
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2016 08:47:31

Great description of the Races, Classes and world of Choe Pho, which seems inspired by the orient. I can't wait for more books to come out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Choe Pho: A New World of Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Contagion Savage Edition
by Sarah M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2016 07:10:09

This product is well written and definately something I'll be using.

My one and only gripe (and reason for 4 stars and not 5) is that there's no table of contents, and no chapter distinctions, and no bookmarks. For example, uner the step 1 of character creation, it says to go to Chapter 7: Races for a history of each race, and Chapter 13: Advanced Races to see what other races someone can play. That leaves me a little confused if page 83 (or is it 81?) is supposed to be chapter 7 or 13. Fix the navigation and this is definatly a 5 star product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Contagion Savage Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Sarah, Thank you very much for your review! You can currently find the Table of Contents on p. 172 of the .pdf. Once I have approved the POD proofs and ensured continuity between the POD and pdf versions, I will look into creating bookmarks for the .pdf. Thank you very much for the valuable feedback! Travis Legge
Sarah, Wanted to give you a quick heads up to let you know that the bookmarked version of this product is now online. If you have not yet done so, you can get the updated PDF in your DriveThruRPG library. Thanks, Travis.
Mystery in the Mindshatter - A Hero Kids Compatible Adventure
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2016 11:01:00

I ran this adventure with my 7 and 9 yo. We had a blast. Love the mix of expected and unexpected monsters. This adventure gives enough variation to make it playable multiple times. My 9 yo plans to DM the next run through. We hope to see more HK compatible adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mystery in the Mindshatter - A Hero Kids Compatible Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much for this excellent review! I certainly intend to make more Hero Kids adventures and supplements and I am very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed Mystery in the Mindshatter!! Thanks, Travis Legge
Contagion Savage Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2016 09:33:15

CONTAGION Savage edition is a new cool setting to SW, allthough there are a ton of stuff for another ruleset.

It brings you into a secret war where you do actually matter to shape the world around you that is unheard of in many settings.

it also seem to utilize Savage Worlds ruleset very good all the while also maintaining the uniqueness of its world (that is originally for another ruleset), im happy to seethat the author really doesn't try to create a whole bunch of new rules to cater its setting but insteadt convert the feeling of the game to SW ruleset.

the art in the book are nice while some stands out as outstanding.

the setting is a horrorsetting with conspiracies as well quite action oriented, thats nice in my opinion. It do utilize the horrorcompanion as well as a few things from fantasy companion.

The only thing I would like to have seen more of is an in-depht description of a few locations to start of in.

All in all, I do recommend people to try this setting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Contagion Savage Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much for your EXCELLENT review! I do intend to put out an affordable conversion guide for the existing trove of adventure seeds and setting enhancements available for Contagion Second Edition, to allow those books to be used with Contagion Savage Edition. Thanks, Travis Legge
Choe Pho: A New World of Fantasy PREVIEW
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2016 18:43:40

A interesting introduction and overview of an upcoming fantasy game setting. Definitely worth grabbing for free to see if you'd like to get the final product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Choe Pho: A New World of Fantasy PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Mystery in the Mindshatter - A Hero Kids Compatible Adventure
by Leonard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2016 21:15:04

I ran this for the wife and kids yesterday and we all had a great time playing it. It made for a nice change from some of our recent adventures, as my daughter (who's been a bit put off by some of the previous antagonists - werewolves, ghost pirates) loved visiting the fairy realm.

The adventure was at a good level for the characters, and having the NPC Chimera along allowed me to help drive the narrative and help keep the combat on an even keel as necessary. I hate deus ex machina NPCs, but in this instance the character could allow the GM to adjust the difficulty appropriately for new players or more experienced characters.

My family also had a great time thinking of innovative ways to deal with the Sadnesses; a great addition to the story which made for a novel change from just hitting things with a sword or magic bolt.

Best of all, there were only a limited number of combat encounters, which allowed us to play it through in a comparatively short period of time on a Sunday afternoon. Combat always takes a long time to run through, so having encounters that were roleplaying and/or problem solving allowed me to keep the story ticking forward.

On the downside, I agree with some others here that the printed sizes for the character/monster (and equipment from the Armory1 supplement, which I must admit I felt impelled to buy from its inclusion in the story) card elements don't match those of the original Hero Kids game, which is more annoying than a problem.

I didn't appreciate the layout - I run these from my laptop rather than print out the adventure, and the portrait orientation made it difficult to see everything from the same page on screen at the same time. The main font was too ragged to read easily, and the page layout felt cluttered.

I would have liked to see combat location grid pages - I understand it's difficult when the game highlights the chaos of the Mindshatter, but the combat is based around character position and movement, which makes grids essential. In the end, I used locations I'd printed out from other Hero Kids adventures and they worked well so it wasn't a huge issue.

Finally, given the story requires two Sadnesses (I increased it to 3 for my players), it would have been good if there were two of these character cards or stand ups on the one page, so I didn't have to print out the Chimera card multiple times. I tried putting the PDF into Photoshop to create my own single page printout, but it's (understandably) password protected, so that didn't work.

Overall though, these are small things compared to the fun we had playing this game. It's opened up an interesting part of the world of Hero Kids that we hadn't previously considered, and has already started to trip the kids's imaginations for future stories. I'll be looking for more of Travis' work, because it's high quality, a very inexpensive price, and just all round fun for the kids to play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mystery in the Mindshatter - A Hero Kids Compatible Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much for the excellent and honest review! I am glad that you and your family enjoyed the Mystery in the Mindshatter, and am particularly pleased to hear that the Sadnesses worked out well in your game. I am sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced with layout and fonts. I will look into an alternate layout for a future update of the product with these notes in mind. Same thing for the cards. Thank you very much for this feedback as it will help me improve this, as well as future products. Thanks, Travis Legge
Into the Necrobyss Fight Pit Freebie
by Hernan R. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 10:11:47

A nice map with great details. The artist clearly has talent. My only quibble is that the two halves (JPGs) don't come together well (they are slightly misaligned and the center gridline is missing). But it's a free product, so one can't really complain.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Necrobyss Fight Pit Freebie
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Jack Badashski's Awesome Adventures: Halls of the Black Chasm
by Denys C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 08:19:07

The art is nice, detailed, and of high quality.

The maps are modular, and can be inserted in any campaign setting, offering the game master flexibility.

One could simply stock up on such maps, and when the situation calls for it, use one when needed when managing a campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Jack Badashski's Awesome Adventures: Halls of the Black Chasm
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Denys, Thank you so much for your review! There will certainly be more maps to come (and are currently several available) from Jack Badashski! Thanks, Travis Legge
Into the Necrobyss Fight Pit Freebie
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2016 04:46:54

A beautiful piece of work. And it's completely free! Grab it!

Note: While the tile size is a perfect inch (2.54 cm) in the digital file, the maps are provided as borderless pdf pages. Standard printers will add small whitespace around them, slightly reducing the final tile size.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Necrobyss Fight Pit Freebie
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Female Tiefling Variant Stock Art
by Tony M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 15:29:10

Nice piece of art for free. Would like to see more from this artist.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Female Tiefling Variant Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Thanks so very much! Glad you enjoy! Please check out our other products featuring the art of Jack Badashski by clicking on his name in the product description, and help spread the word! Thank you, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Into the Necrobyss Fight Pit Freebie
by Robin D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2016 13:16:58

simple map very usable.

to make it more durable and reistant against drop/drip/wear and tear damages use a plastic window sheet an inch larger to protect it. usable for many adventures

does fit with the official D&D tile sets, so is adaptable



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Necrobyss Fight Pit Freebie
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Female Tiefling Variant Stock Art
by Creighton B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2016 04:57:27

Very nice piece of artwork in an excellent, Old School style. Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Female Tiefling Variant Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Thanks so very much! Glad you enjoy! Please check out our other products featuring the art of Jack Badashski by clicking on his name in the product description, and help spread the word! Thank you, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 56 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG