RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Super8s
by Alessio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2014 17:41:39
Mmh, I've read the rules and initially I've found them interesting but, proceeding into the rules, I was disappointed for two important features (very important considering that Super8s is a superheroic rpg):
1) Very few powers: ok, we don't want the huge and detailed list of Marvel Superheroes rpg or the details of Champions, but one or two more powers would have been appreciated.
2) The most important mistake of Super8s: the total lack of superhoeroic benchmarks! In most every superheroic rules systems there are lists with benchmarks related to the intensity of characteristics like Strenght ("How much Superman or Hulk can lift?"), Speed (rocket, bullet, sound speed, light speed, and so on, compared with superheroes like Flash, Superman, etc.), Intelligence ("[...] like Mister Fantastic or Doctor Strange or whatever else), etc. etc. In Super8s I don't see any list of power intensities' example: with what Skill I can lift 1 tons, for example? And 1 mega-tons? Has Hulk +8 on (what?) Athletics to lift a skyscraper? Or has Wolverine Athletics +2 to lift something else? And what is the Toughness of Superman or the Thing of F4? Are the KnickKnacks power related to the bat belt of Batman, for example?
All these examples lack in the book and this is my big complaint because I'm not able to do any comparison or adapt supers from other systems to play them with Super8s in an easy way.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Super8s
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Contagion Second Edition
by Corey D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2014 12:23:36
I have been looking for a setting like this for as long as I've been playing RPGs (20+ years). The writing is excellent (save for some things that got cleared up in the errata), and the artwork is tremendous. The flexibility and depth of character creation is some of the best I've ever seen.

I came across this only by chance just before Halloween. I read the free sample chapter and bought the book before I even finished reading it. Since then I've bought almost everything that's on the site related to it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Contagion Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
A truly heartwarming review! Thank you! Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Dwellers In Nightmare
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/03/2014 10:37:54
This is a collection of pre-generated characters mostly suitable for use as NPCs in a Glimpse the Beyond game. One or two could be used as player-characters if you need one in a hurry, but most are more suitable to NPC/monster use.

The introductory notes, as well as harbouring a small rant about respect and consent, suggests that these are just a framework, a basis which can be messed around with as much as individual players or the Talespinner (GM) might want before using them.

A standard layout is used. There's a page giving the character's backstory including how their life has been changed by the magical chaos that struck the world, showing both what they did before and what they are doing now. Brief notes about how each character might fit in and what you might want to change (generally mechanics rather than story) are included, and then there's a full-page character sheet ready filled out. There is also a sketch of the character.

It's a useful resource, particularly if you don't enjoy character creation, but the characters themselves - or at least their backstories - are quite limited. Of course, those are open to being changed!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dwellers In Nightmare
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy8s
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 14:11:13
Of the 17 pages, 13 are the content.
No table of contents.
Typo (P12): Under Myths of Many Lands, Hopi shaman (Harpy shaman?). Who knows?

A few pages of CGI cheesecake.
The currency seems to be Srip? Makes a change from gold I suppose.

No magical Items. No healing potions.
A list of appropriate skills is given on page 1.
Some interesting playable races: Skeletons! Orcs, Yumboes (faerie folk), Draco, Felines, Constructs, etc.

I would say the Fantasy8 PDF is open to your house rules. Adaptable even.

As said before; at 60 pence ($1), you can't argue.
Worth a look.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy8s
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Stephen, Thanks much for the detailed review. For clarification, the Hopi is a tribe of Native Americans located in the Southwestern U.S. More information on them can be found at http://www.hopi-nsn.gov/ \"Scrip\" is a term used historically to represent a substitute for actual legal currency which you can learn more about at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scrip Glad to hear you liked the race choices. We are planning to add more in future supplements! Thanks, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Magic8s
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 13:47:00
A 9 page PDF (5 pages are the content).
Those 5 pages aren't too bad.
The magic system has 2 domains (Prime & Principle).
So, to cast a fireball, if I had 2 levels in Create (Prime), and 3 in Fire (Principle); that gives me +5 for the Casting roll result, which you then gives you the magnitude of effect (P4 table).

I tried the aegisstudios.com site to see what they had on Crazy 8's, but they have a problem with their webhost, so not much there unfortunately.

One thing I've noticed about the Crazy 8's PDFs: no table of contents.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Magic8s
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Stephen, Thanks for the in-depth review of Magic8s! Glad to see you\'re enjoying the systems. Allow me to apologize for the difficulty in navigating our homepage If you utilize the link at the end of the \"While we get our hosting concerns sorted out, you can look at our movies, comics, games & reels here.\" sentence, or visit the \"Games\" link under the \"Useful Links\" sidebar, you should be able to find the section of our site that covers our RPG products. In regards to the table of contents, I decided not to include them in the Crazy 8s product line given the small page counts of the Crazy 8s products and the fact that we are already sacrificing pages for the Open Gaming License. As you note in your review, the 9 page PDF includes 5 pages of content. I felt that adding a table of contents or index would simply not be prudent. If/when we collect the Crazy 8s line into print, I will certainly add a functional Table of Contents and index. Thank you very much for your thoughts! Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Crazy 8s Editable Character Record Sheet
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 12:08:59
An editable character sheet for free: pretty good.
Yes, it's editable.
I gave it 3 instead of 4, because of the thick black/dark grey border.
Ink intensive (just a bit).
A light frame (if needed), of a light pattern, might be less on the ink.
But; it's free and editable (good).

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Crazy 8s Editable Character Record Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks much for the feedback! We will look to adding a printer-friendly option to the next file update! Also, for those wishing to conserve ink, the font should be of sufficient thickness and size to be well legible on most printer\'s draft setting with the current version, though your mileage may vary. Thank you, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 12:00:29
At 8 pages, the system is 3 3/4 pages.
Each page is double column.
I found 2 typos on P1 (right column): woll 2d8 instead of roll 2d8; and under Health: appropriate nmber instead of appropriate number.

At 0.60p ($1), it certainly is a rules lite system (and that's not a bad thing).
I've seen other rules lite systems for £5-£6 here (and not worth it).

It certainly needs more definition on what's written on the 3 3/4 pages.
Am I right in thinking that (on P3), that a massive firearm (shotgun/assault rifle) will give me a +6 on my ranged combat?
Talking of P3; the 'cheesecake' (CGI) that was mentioned throughout the PDF; how the hell does she wear that outfit comfortably?
I've purchased the other Crazy 8's PDFs, to see if the add more definition, clarity, etc to the rules.

At 60 pence/$1, it's worth a look; but it looks like you'll need the other supplements to 'fill it out' so to speak.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Stephen, Thank you very much for your detailed and thoughtful review. I appreciate the notification regarding typos and we will correct those in the next file update. You are correct that a shotgun/assault rifle does add a +6 to a Ranged Combat roll. This translates to a higher chance to hit with a higher possibility of massive damage. The outfits certainly do look uncomfortable, especially on page 3.... The core rules are intended to be very basic, with expansions to those rules being covered in supplements. The idea is that you can pick up and go with this system almost immediately, but if you wish to add additional elements, the supplements will create more detail and broader options. Thank you very much! Travis Legge Aegis Studios
War Is Hell
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/01/2014 11:10:54
The world of Contagion is not a pleasant one... and this supplement contains tools to help you make it even less so. All is not as that last sentence seems, however. Here are additional spells, rituals and other material that you might wish to add into your game - and some vicious combat moves that any sane individual would shy away from employing - how about yanking on the ears of those with the large pointy ones that adorn the heads of many of the more fantastical denizens, for example?

We start off with a collection of feats. An interesting one allows the use of a familiar by spellcasters, another lets you enthrall an NPC by flashing a bit of leg or in some other way flirting with them (the effect being a bit like a charm person spell), and yet another covers the inscription of ritual circles.

Then come the vicious combat moves, of which the less said the better, and some new rituals to research and perform. There are some new creatures as well, most of whom you don't want to meet down a dark alley on a moonless night.

A collection of various additions to the system that are worth a look, you may wish to add some or all of them to your game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
War Is Hell
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Megan, Thank you so much for the thoughtful review! Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Glimpse the Beyond
by Franklin G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2014 13:00:39
I want to make this clear, I am reviewing based almost solely on the rules contents of the book. I love trying out new RPG's, and I purchase a number of them just to give them a spin without intending to ever run a full multi-session campaign. This book was purchased on a whim because I had previously purchased both editions of Contagion, another game-line from Aegis, and liked it.

I was, overall, less pleased with Glimpse the Beyond. The crunch of the book was mostly well written, the rules are clear and concise, character creation isn't too unwieldy, and overall, the flow of a game session should work well with the rules. A few questions came up during our trial run, but overall, it works well.

The fluff of the book is a little sparse. I feel that the author is trying to give a basic setting that can be incorporated into style urban fantasy story. What we're given works well for that, and further books in the line, which I have not yet purchased, seem to give more concrete setting information to help make the setting your own. On that particular issue, I actually found myself reminiscing about AD&D 2nd edition core rule books, which had no defined setting, which many of my gaming friends loved because it let us make the game our own without restricting us to the author's worldview.

The artwork in the book is where I truly felt the endeavor crashed and burned. I am painfully aware of how hard getting quality art can be, but the 3d rendered images were, quite frankly, awful, and I'm not sure how any of them were supposed to fit into the setting. I also was slightly embarrassed because my gaming group has a female gaming with us, and virtually all, if not actually, of the art was of very scantily clad women in unrealistic outfits. The overall feeling with the book was very "teen-boy fan-service" in this department, which is a shame considering that the rules support a very intelligent and mature game setting.

I would say that over all, I'd break down the rating like this: Rules - 5, Setting - 4, Artwork - 1, with more weight given to rules.

I look forward to downloading the next installment in this game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Glimpse the Beyond
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review! I look forward to seeing your thoughts on Dreams of the Old Ones, Forbidden Relics and the remainder of the Glimpse the Beyond line! Thanks, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Found Footage
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/16/2014 09:06:55
Innovative material to drive an investigation, following on the basic premise of a young couple going on a camping trip and disappearing. The scene is set and a variety of possible outcomes provided, leaving you to pick whichever one suits your ongoing campaign the best.

Several suggestions are made as to how the party gets involved in the disappearance. Once they begin investigating there is plenty of material for them to find, background for those who have vanished and in the woods where they were camping. The real gem, though, is a collection of photos and video clips ostensibly from their phones which are provided for you to show to your players.

Various NPCs, including the disappeared couple and some that could appear depending on which outcome you choose are provided, with background notes and full character sheets.

Naturally, there's some work to do before you actually run this as an adventure: it's designed as an adventure seed not a full-blown scenario. However, a straitforward basic premise is well-presented with lots of hints and ideas to get you going, as well as the delightful additional media to use as props. Well worth a look.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Found Footage
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Megan, So glad to see that you enjoyed Found Footage! We are looking into more enhanced transmedia supplements which will contain additional artwork & handouts, video elements, audio elements and other resources to enhance gameplay. Thanks so much for your review! Thanks, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Seventy and Sevenfold
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/08/2014 08:25:04
Exploring the underbelly of the city in the shape of a district called Westmore, against a backdrop of a sudden plague of house burglaries and rising gang activity, this scenario can serve as an introduction to Contagion 2e or further an existing campaign.

Westmore is the sort of neighbourhood that even police officers drive through in numbers and without stopping, but fortunately up until now the spate of burglaries, although unpleasant, has not resulted in any deaths. But now the demise of one elderly homeowner unleashes an unprecidented terror that neither gangs nor police can contain... perhaps this is something more suited to the specialist skills of the party?

Several hooks are provided to get the party involved. Maybe they knew the deceased, or have some involvement with the gang that controls Westmore, the South West Crew. Or they may just be in the area and get caught in the crossfire... it's up to you to decide what will work the best.

The adventure itself is left open-ended: it can develop in a number of ways from the initial premise. What's provided is the initial set-up, details of the area and notes on the major players in the area. Just mix in your characters and stand well back. If you enjoy this kind of loose structure to your games, and are able to take these details and run with it, you should be in for a good game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Seventy and Sevenfold
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much for your excellent review! Glad you enjoyed Seventy and Sevenfold!
Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
by Lewis P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2014 13:21:08
This is advertised as a Rules-Lite Engine and certainly lives up to that billing. That isn't necessarily a bad thing but it gives me a sense that it's more suited to an evening of "I'm bored, what shall we do" than running a long-term game, or perhaps to running a game at a con or similar where you don't want to explain complex rules and characters to a wide variety of players. That doesn't mean there aren't rules for character advancement - there are - but there's a feeling of such lightness that you think a serious campaign would stretch the rules and require far too many house rules to be genuinely playable as provided.

If you want to run a system with just about any supernatural element you're going to require the Magic-8's additional rules as well.

All of that said... the rules are cogent, coherent and you can pick them up in 5 minutes, from nothing to playing. All you need is some paper (or an iPad or similar) and 2d8. If that's what you need, this is probably the ideal system for you. It's so light, you can add it to any setting and it really ought to fit OK.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Lewis, Thanks so much for the excellent review and the mention of Magic8s! I\'m glad you found the system cogent & coherent! I\'d also recommend the Fantasy8s supplement to any who seek to incorporate supernatural elements as you mention in your review and the Cyber8s supplement for those who like a little sci-fi in their games! I\'d love to hear your thoughts on those as well and thank you again for taking the time to review! Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Falling Stars
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2014 18:20:07
Really solid game system. I enjoy the whole "fantastical situations" in the modern day, and I'm intimately interested in gaming in general. Highly recommend to anyone who wants a new alternative to the Big Box RPG's (I'm looking at you, Dungeons & Dragons . . . )!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Falling Stars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Glad you enjoyed it! Thank you! Travis Legge, Aegis Studios
A Little Adventure
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/26/2014 12:19:35
This presents a useful NPC for any GM to have to hand: a sassy pixie information broker (and treasure hunter./thief) called Devlin Chaplain. In it, you get her full character sheet and background details (along with a charming portrait by Sade), and some delightful extras.

Well, she is a treasure hunter, after all. So here are four magical items that she has, or had at some time. Or might have sometime in the future. Each has not just its full details, stats and an illustration, there is also an adventure seed associated with each one. The items are a Mobile Hide-Site Rifle, a really neat bit of kit if you are a sniper; Nancy's Necklace of Not-so-smallness (which for most people makes them grow to giant size, if you start off pixie-sized you reach medium!); the Ring of Assassin's Advantage and the Vision Pipe. Most of the adventure seeds involve the theft of the item in question, either by Devlin or from her.

There's also a couple of size-related spells: Enlarge and Shrink.

Just a neat little collection that brings something quite fantastical into your campaign world.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed A Little Adventure!
Glimpse the Beyond
by Brent N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2014 10:47:02
Setting info was thin, rules seem alright. The 3d-rendered cheesecake photos didn't seem to fit the attempted tone & frankly made me embarrassed to be reading it.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Glimpse the Beyond
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Brent, Sorry to hear you didn\'t enjoy the art. Hopefully you\'ll find the images included within the supplements to be more to your liking and more in tune with the types of games you would like to run in this world. In terms of the sparse setting material, I kept things as concise as I felt I could manage in Glimpse the Beyond to offer an affordable, easy to learn and navigate core setting book. The setting material is expanded upon heavily in the free Glimpse the Beyond Guidebook as well as the robust (and expanding) catalog of supplements, which I intend provide at the lowest price I can manage. As gamer myself, I know that sometimes coming up with the money to try out a new game or to pick up an expansion can be challenging, so I tried to put together something fun, but reasonable that a new group could get into with little trouble. I hope you check out the Glimpse the Beyond supplements and let us know what you think! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the book. Travis Legge
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG