RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Breachworld RPG
by Jesus B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2015 09:38:02
One of the best books that I have found in a very long time. It has an amazing world, unique player races and uses the Mini Six mechanics, which makes it fast and flexible. And as an added bonus, the artwork is beautiful. I highly recommend Breachworld!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breachworld RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Breachworld RPG
by Jose F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2014 18:05:38
I really like this book. The layout is clean and the artwork is well done without being overdone. The game-world reminds me of Stargate meets Rifts, and the possibilities are endless. You can play a human, near-human or non-human warrior with awesome melee abilities, be an armored marine, wield powers that seem magical, ride a motorcycle, a hover car, a tank, or a giant bluebird, you name it. The mechanics lend themselves very well to the world concept, and I especially like the scaling rules for facing foes larger, smaller, or tougher than yourself. As GM you can run a campaign for fortune seekers, or you can have your party working to cleanse earth of the breaches, or to wipe out all non-humans, or maybe wipe out humanity - you have many options. There is a bestiary section that gives a good sampling of critters that you may face, from vampiric squirrels to fifty foot tall plasma blasting monstrosities. There is also a very useful reference section in the back with charts and of course a character sheet.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breachworld RPG
by Justin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2014 21:55:47
While idea of a post-apocalyptic kitchen sink isn't a new one, rarely has it been executed successfully. In my opinion, Breachworld is an example of "do anything" PA done right. I've been following Breachworld since its genesis on Jason Richards' blog. Having been a long time writer for Palladium Books' Rifts and Chaos Earth settings, Jason comes to the table with a wealth of experience writing in the PA RPG genre, so when I saw that he was planning a Kickstarter campaign to make his idea a reality, I knew that I would be contributing. I can honestly say that, having read the book in depth a couple of time so far, I am very pleased with the product and my decision to back.

Breachworld is set on Earth at an undisclosed point far in the future. Nearly a century from now, humanity has created technology know as "Gates" that allow people and objects to enter at one point and exit at another which could be down the block or across the globe. The technology fosters a Golden Age where national and cultural borders break down thanks to the ability to travel anywhere instantaneously. Unfortunately the technology prove to be unstable and gates begin opening to other worlds and dimensions, flooding Earth with an assortment of aliens friendly and unfriendly. These permanent open dimensional portals are called "Breaches". These open breaches lead to the complete breakdown of civilization as we know it. Fast-forward X-years into the future to an Earth where humanity's numbers are decreased and much of the technology of the Golden Age has been lost. Humans have had to re-learn lost skills like animal husbandry, hunting, tailoring, and the like. Currency no longer exists, so a blanket or a box of ammo might allow you to purchase your next meal. Some humans live among aliens, while other live exclusively with other humans. While much of the technology that powered the Golden Age has been lost to time, some communities thrive with access to an ancient fusion reactor or an automated factory. Some communities defend themselves with bow and arrow, while other have access to Golden Age exoskeletons and alien laser weaponry. In addition, a substance known as Aether, which was the unknown power source for the Gates of the Golden Age, has been harnessed by some individuals and allowed them psychic or magical powers. Currently there are two factions described that can affect the meta-game. A group of scientists and scholars known as The Collective, who hope to reclaim humanity's lost heritage, and The Resistance, a group of human supremacists who wish to rid the Earth of all non-humans. Important to both of these groups' goal is a new technology that allows the closure of breaches once and for all.

The base setting for the game is in an area called "The Civilized Lands" located in Texas, but you could base your game wherever you wanted.

Pretty interesting, huh?

The book itself is 214 pages of full color. It breaks down as follows:

1- Introduction
2 - Character Creation: This includes the 13 playable races, human and alien, and all of the skills, perks, complications, and gear available for PC and NPCs alike. Character gen is a breeze. I created my first, fully-fleshed out, playable character in less than 20 minutes.
3 - Game Rules: Breachworld uses a modified version of Anti-Paladin Games' Mini Six rules which are an adaptation of the Open D6 system. The system is incredibly easy to use. You spend less time doing math and consulting the book and more time role-playing. The basic rule of the game is the Rules of Fun - Do what makes the game fun for you and your players!
4 - World Information: This is the fluff of the game, much of which was described above. It doesn't flesh out much, giving general information and leaving the fleshing-out of the setting to the GM. It does however offer three fully mapped out locations as seed for building a game. It also includes a mini-bestiary of creatures that can be found in the game's base setting.
5 - Resources: This section contains a series of quick reference charts for running the game and a character sheet.

The pdf is of great quality. I've viewed it on a 22" monitor, a 5.5" phablet, a 10" tablet, a 9" tablet and a 7" tablet and it looks and navigates great on all.

I am currently a player in a campaign and planning to run my own game eventually. The system makes Breachworld easily accessible to both players and GMs of any experience level.

This is an overall amazing product both as a reading experience and as a playable game. There are already supplemental material planned to expand on the base game with new area, races, and character classes. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in Post-Apocalyptic and Kitchen Sink tabletop games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breachworld RPG Kickstarter Preview
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2014 07:47:59
77 pages, of which 71 (approximately) are the main PDF.
Page 39-43 give you the 'story/theme' of the RPG, which seem rather good.

I've not fully read the Mini Six rules (Xena & Hercules, Star Wars, Azamar, Westward, etc) are the D6 RPGs I've mostly got into.

The Breachworld theme, mostly reminds me of 'Stargate' in reverse (instead of travelling out, species are travelling in & out so to speak).
I may be wrong, but just my observation.
Mysterious gate technology being planted all over the world; then everything goes haywire, making gateways to other worlds.

Artwork: some of it is good.
As a 'rough draught', it's not bad.
Well worth a look at.

Any D6 fans out there, I'd recommend it.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Breachworld RPG Kickstarter Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[d20] Complete Characters #3 - Brandy
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/18/2012 13:46:31
She's such a fine girl.

A complete, and densely packed description of a character/NPC to use in your games. Covers her stats, background and plenty of hooks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[d20] Complete Characters #3 - Brandy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[d20] Complete Characters #9 - Action Jack Allen
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/11/2012 07:55:27
I'm a big fan of this series. The characters are unique and well detailed, and there is an incredible amount of story-rich material packed in just a few pages, with a high-quality piece of character art to top all of it off. Action Jack is your average Joe who turns into a two-fisted pulp hero whenever someone utters a special phrase. He is designed for pre-WWII-era pulp settings, but could easily appear in other pulp hero style settings as well.

This product is systemless, so that you can use it with the RPG system of your choosing.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[d20] Complete Characters #9 - Action Jack Allen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[d20] Complete Characters #4 - Corporal Jake Avery
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/06/2012 16:33:35
I'm a big fan of this series. The characters are unique and well detailed, and there is an incredible amount of story-rich material packed in just a few pages, with a high-quality piece of character art to top all of it off. Jack Avery is a police officer with a dark secret - he is haunted by a supernatural beast that only he can see.

Jack is a modern-day character best suited for a horror setting, but could be modified to fit in other genres. This product is systemless, so that you can use it with the RPG system of your choosing.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[d20] Complete Characters #4 - Corporal Jake Avery
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[d20] Complete Characters #8 - Seldr the Starseer
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/02/2012 08:27:58
I'm a big fan of this series. The characters are unique and well detailed, and there is an incredible amount of story-rich material packed in just a few pages, with a high-quality piece of character art to top all of it off. The "Tweaks" section gives the GM several options to customize the character to his liking.

Seldr is a stargazer and soothsayer, and could possibly have come to your world from another far away. To help Seldr find messages among the stars, this document contains a simple set of soothsaying rules, in case your system lacks them. Beyond that, this product is systemless, so that you can use it with the RPG system of your choosing.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[d20] Complete Characters #8 - Seldr the Starseer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[d20] Complete Characters #7 - Sir Aric Devilkin
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/02/2012 08:23:08
I'm a big fan of this series. The characters are unique and well detailed, and there is an incredible amount of story-rich material packed in just a few pages, with a high-quality piece of character art to top all of it off. The "Tweaks" section gives the GM several options to customize the character to his liking.

Sir Aric is a ruthless and ill-tempered man with strange appetites and a dark reputation. Is he really the child of evil forces, as rumors suggest - or could he be just the opposite?

This product is systemless, so that you can use it with the RPG system of your choosing.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[d20] Complete Characters #7 - Sir Aric Devilkin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[d20] Complete Characters #5 - Lisonnel Arma
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/22/2012 16:01:43
I'm a big fan of this series. The characters are unique and well detailed, and there is an incredible amount of story-rich material packed in just a few pages, with a high-quality piece of character art to top all of it off. Lisonnel is a beautiful elven temptress with a lot of secrets to discover. Obviously she's designed for fantasy campaigns, but her personality and history could be used for a character in any kind of setting.

This product is systemless, so that you can use it with the RPG system of your choosing.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[d20] Complete Characters #5 - Lisonnel Arma
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG