RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Stars Without Number: Original Core Edition
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 00:33:28

Stars Without Number is a great accomplishment. Not just for an OSR, but for any RPG.

3 classes (Warrior, Psychic, Expert) supplemented by training and background packages (1 of each) to produce varied characters.

A strong selection of scifi gear and ships. With solid subsystems for customizing your own starship.

The mechanics are a bit clunky by modern standards but smooth by OSR standards. Very playable.

The setting is intriguing but minimal. A galaxy emerging from a dark age. A second chance to create a human Imperium among the stars.

Sector, Planet, Faction, Adventure, and Alien creation subsystems. A wonderful toolbox to build almost anything a GM might need.

A small bestiary and example sector.

A really excellent 'How to GM' section focusing on Sandbox Style play.

Black and white art throughout, very high quality. The PDF is bookmarked.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Leo R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2018 04:29:09

5 Stars without a doubt. The amount of content you can find within the pages of this book is simply amazing. GM tools for creating your space sandbox (and running it), elegant but simple rules for important scifi tropes/scenarios (mechs, AI, starships, tech equipment, cyberware, drugs, hacking, etc.) and finally a simple method of character creation with lots of options and opportunities for diversification. This is the working mans' space RPG, with a system simple enough not requiring you to spend hours on preparation yet with enough customizability that not every character/situation at the table feels the same after a few gaming sessions. SWN is not a product without its problems though, don't get me wrong. While the authors creativity is unparalleled (at least from my point of view) and they clearly know how to write functional and elegant rules for their game, the presentation of those rules ist somewhat unoptimized. Often one sentence clearly states a rule, while the following paragraph seeks to explain this rule (hint: not needed!) and instead brings up new questions or contradicts the statements made one paragraph earlier. This is but a minor issue, since most rpg books are plagued by these problems, and thus doesn't modify the 5 star rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Brief Study of TSR Book Design
by Ben F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2018 18:44:28

Succinct and useful. Excellent both as a design study and as inspiration for the design-challenged among us.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Brief Study of TSR Book Design
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2018 09:26:00

A fantastic science fiction RPG built upon classic RPG mechanics, Stars Without Number is title that will appeal to gamers whether "Old School" or "New School." This revised edtion greatly improves up the orginal by streamlining skills, broadens character creation, making space combat more generic, and adding rules for "Space Magic" for those who don't mind some fantasy in their sci-fi. The rules for Factions and system creation allow GMs to stake out their own slice of the galaxy and play out the conflicts between interstellar powers great and small, shaping the very universe that PCs will interact with. Buy it now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 21:38:39

The book re-uses many of the familiar tropes in tabletop RPGs. I think that Stars Without Number does an excellent job of not only remaining faithful to those tropes, but to add its own flavor into the mix. The storylines involving the use of psychics to effect interstellar space, with a unique twist, was my favorite bit.

"Magic" is kinda Vancian. Ability scores are based on D&D (Strength, Charisma, etc). The encounter generation table is quite useful, even outside of this setting.

I'd recommend this book. You should download it. And why not? It's free. Even if you don't run an encounter using this setting, there's enough material here that it can be inserted into almost any Sci-Fi based rules system, like Serenity, RIFTS, or Starfinder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 12:24:52

Not much to say. It is a simple but well made system for enjoying a more roleplay oriented game as opposed to heavy combat and hack/slash gameplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
by Matthias R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 12:23:49

Absolutley great! Great setting, great rules. Crawford really made sci- fi rpg great again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
by Will H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2018 15:51:38

i cant comment on the edition differences but SWN is a fanastic product, perfect for space sandbox adventures. i love just rolling up planets and societies using the tables.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
by Nathan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2018 23:33:51
Kevin Crawford has once more shown his shear genius and understanding of OSR rule systems. The original Stars without Number was an excellent rule system with some clunky features and a few overly complex ones. This new edition streamlines character creation and has made starship combat one of the strongest points of the game where it was one of the worst parts of the game. The new foci system has allowed players to put true mechanical depth into their characters well the new adventurer class has preserved the customizability of the adventurer background and training packages of the original edition. This new edition has brought a breath of fresh air to one of the most creative uses of the OSR system since its conception. The rule system is also incredibly elastic with its focus on interesting but not overly complex sci-fi this system can be applied to many an idea or concept not outlined in the book. The faction system also unique equips every GM from greenhorn to grognard to run a sandbox system without the prospect of twenty hours of prep work between every session. With all of these positives along with the fact that Crawford continues to offer most of his work to people for free there is no reason not to check this out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2018 18:33:00

Bottom Line Up Front (BLUF): This is not a complete product, but just about. The only thing missing is minor...spell lists for Space Magic (and setting changes for said Space Magic) Kevin Crawford is obviously a one man band and what he has produced is phenomenal given those constraints. There are some things missing such as the spell lists mentioned, and character sheets usable for magic using characters.

This is a good set of tools for GMs to create a scifi universe. I love "Scarlet Heroes" and "The Red Tide Campaign" the original version of Stars Without Numbers is an excellent starting point. This is a worthy successor. The rules streamline the game. Changing the way AC is used actually decreases the math over the previous system. I liked using the 2d6 for saves instead of a d20, but it is not a game breaker. (I prefer having skill checks with a known average roll, same with saves). Psionics is completely revamped for the better. It runs much more smoothly and seems more internally consistent than before.

In the interest of honesty a few months ago I bought a hard copy of the original SWN. I was not pleased to find out that a new version was coming out and that I had "wasted" 30 USD (and there was no disclaimer on RPGNow or affliates). This review doesn't reflect any enmity, just a cold appraisal of what you get with this product. (I have spent about 100 dollars on Sine Nomine products! I like what Kevin Crawford is doing even if I at first don't understand it)

I will call Original SWN OSWN for the rest of this review. With OSWN you got rules for making a sector. You get that with SWN:RE. What you don't get that you got with OWSN is the Hydra Sector (an example sector along with factions), along with 15 pages of information on the Hydra Sector. RE doesn't have the blank maps for sectors, or planets that OWSN has. It doesn't have blank forms for factions, alien record sheet, adventure sheet, starship record sheet that are present in the original. (There is space for Starship info on the character sheet, but it is just a empty text box). In the OWSN we get examples of Xenobeasts, not in RE. In OWSN we get examples of Alien races if you guessed you don't get examples in RE you would have guessed correctly. What you do get is Cyberware, Transhuman, Robot/AI campaign and character possiblities. I mentioned Space Magic before it just doesn't offer the tool kit available with those first three systems mentioned.

There is a section that discusses how to retrofit any of the previous products in this line. It is succinct and misses no major change between products.

There was a list of quick name tables and tables for creating new religions, heresies, corporations...not present in RE. In RE you do still get rules/tables for making factions. You also get rules/tables for making up societies. The latter give a lot more room for imagination. There are more tags for planets. This is nice but see my comment on gravity below.

You know that extra 20 USD you spent to get the extra goodies...? Well how about Space Magic? The character sheet has no place to reflect a character as Arcanist or Magister (or Adept). Psychics have several boxes dedicated to them (which is useless space for other classes). When you make up your spell lists you'll have to make up a character sheet as well. But I would have to say this is overshadowed by the completeness of the other additional sections. Definitely worth the 20 dollars.

As I go through the book, now for the second time, I see that many of the sections here are sparse in detail but long on verbiage. Not my cup of tea. Mr. Crawford is letting us as GMs and players make some decisions on our own. He even has a section of House rules that I greatly appreciated. I think he could have tightened up on word usage and found the room he needed to add some of the other areas he felt he had to drop.

One area where both OWSN and RE lack...rules for gravity. Gravity is mentioned repeatedly thoughout the rules, but it isn't discussed as a system anywhere. How does micro/zero gee change how you use a gun or melee, or movement? (Why would I care if I had a laser weapon or Void Carbine? Why do I care if I have thrusters on my suit?) I don't know. It isn't in either book. How does high gee impact encumbrance? Don't know. We are told that this is a hard sci fi setting, but without rules on gravity it seems that the author is playing at hand wavium not hard science. When rolling up a planet there aren't tags/rules for variable gravity worlds. I also miss Conditions. I understand the OSR ethos of house ruling everything, but just a few conditions would free GMs from having to rule on each individual situation.

This game is worth the 20 dollars. I just wish that the Space Magic section were complete...or not in there at all.

Note: I apologize for my first review. I wrote it after having done only a cursory read through. I missed sections that would have answered questions that I had and I would have avoided having panned this book in the first place.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 16:08:44

Played the original game for several years. Really like the direction the revised rules have moved in. Simple.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Streams: Solo Heroes
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2018 15:24:05

Works great, used it alongside Mythic Game Master Emulator to test drive a couple short moduels in Dungeon Crawl Classics. After taking an hour or so to read over the book I was playing solitaire in no time. Very intuitive system that once you play through a fight or two becomes second nature and does not add much in the way of complexity on top of your current rules system.

I am trying to figure out a way to run GURPS with it though as I am developing some smaller one shot adventures and I want to run thrugh them first with a solo character, but have not devised a system for it yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Streams: Solo Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound Art Pack
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2018 10:21:18

Extremely high quality files, very high resolutions and really really really nice artwork. All with an exceptionally permissive license, this is a great pack to grab.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starvation Cheap Art Pack
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2018 10:17:24

Got it because I didn't examine the preview closely, and thought it was a fantasy art pack. While surprised, I'm happy with the art pack as is, given that the artwork is high quality and very high resolution.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starvation Cheap Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Silent Legions Art Pack
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2018 08:38:23

Silent Legions is one of a few art packs put out that are free, contain a plethora of wonderful images and are more generally usable (nothing is too specific). Thank you for this awesome art pack!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Silent Legions Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 248 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG