RPGNow.com
Browse













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Stars Without Number: Core Edition
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2017 13:59:40

Perplexed by the System. Why do I need to roll 2d6 for skills and 1d20 for combat? System is full of inconsistencies, but don't worry the author is preparing a new Kickstarter for summer 2017. He has made lots of changes just visit his Google + page to see all the changes he is planning, including a total revamp of the system. Don't buy this. Download the free version and wait for the new updated version to come out.

The setting is a blast. The generators for worlds, factions, and adventures are great. Just get the stuff for free.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Honestly, you vote down this game because it adheres to old-school mechanisms? You do realize this is an OSR game and that both D&D and Traveller were chief influences and that this game sort of pays homage to them, right? Sure, you are perfectly allowed to dislike it, no problem. But weighing this so highly against hundreds of pages of sci-fi goodness (which you seem to enjoy) is beyond me.
Stars Without Number: Core Edition
by mark b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2017 18:13:16
A fantastic system, with all the detail you would expect but creating a new cut above the rest feel. However, the author is currently revising these rules as of this review (July 2017) and the Beta Core rules are out there for you to download (quick google search to locate). It has, IMHO, polished any edges and is now looking to redefine who sits at the top of Sci-Fi RPG. Take a look, you won’t be disappointed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Polychrome: Cyberpunk Adventure for Stars Without Number
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2017 01:28:48

First off, this is a world book. I went in expecting something akin to skyward steel or relics of the lost but that's not what this is, but that's a fault of my lack of research rather than the book itself. It adds some new features to hacking but these are quite shallow compaired to the 2E beta and mostly ammount to examples of hacking activities and only really add the basic idea of a false sin from shadow run and while personally the idea of making a fake identity seems pretty basic to me, the examples/rules might help other people. The book also gives some expanded examples on criminal activity but again I personally find this stuff pretty obvious and you could probably find a larger amount of more indepth examples in a reddit thread. On a second point the cyberware was Seriously disappointing for a "cyberpunk" adventure. It has 17 implants/augments 5 of which of which are included in the 2E Beta and while this made them first it doesn't change the fact that they are now available for free. The most interesting one not in the beta isn't even in the cybernetic's section nor a general implant but rather an piece of equipment that constitutes the book's contribution to psionics.

All in all, I don't feel this is a worth while purchase now that 2e beta is out and mostly finished. I also feel you could probably get a larger quantity of equal or greater quality cyberpunk themed rules and equipment from free forums such as reddit, RPGGeek, or even /tg/



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Polychrome: Cyberpunk Adventure for Stars Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2017 17:37:06

Just a fantastic game. Perfect combination of OSR simplicity and well-described abstraction in the demigod powers. The mechanics that allow the characters to change the world around them with ease fit perfectly into the design of the game and are easy to work with and against as a GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Ancalia: The Broken Towers
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2017 17:34:32

Fantastic supplement. I had already started a game in Ancalia when I picked this up so I'm not going strictly by-the-book, but there's still plenty of material I can pull out and use where I need it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancalia: The Broken Towers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Stars Without Number: Core Edition
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2017 17:05:13

I love this system! Yes, there is a new version in progress, but this one is definitely worth it in the meantime.

The system is highly customizable. Character creation in the core book is very simple. The game itself moves pretty fast and leaves plenty of room for improvisation on the fly, including a bunch of tables in the back of the book for randomly rolling NPCs, names, corporations, religions, etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2017 23:27:57

In short, an ode to regular D&D rules without the all the races to deal with.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by David J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2017 23:30:59

A delightful combination of D&D, THe Primal Order and Exalted that avoids the clunky elements of each of those systems. Unlike a lot of freebies quite adequately playable as is. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Storms of Yizhao: An Adventure for Godbound
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2017 03:14:08

Honestly, while there are a few bits of entertaining writing in this adventure, this really isn't something I could ever feel comfortable with running for ANY group. For those who might be interested in spite of this, I don't want to simply give away the plot, but I will say that the book devotes several pages to describing a serial rape which is central to the adventure.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Storms of Yizhao: An Adventure for Godbound
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
The element in question is a rework of Feng Menglon's 17th-century story "Prince Wang Burns Down Precious Lotus Monastery", from his Xingshi Hengyan. While some groups may not be comfortable with historical fiction and the outcomes those works celebrated, that's... kind of the point. The PCs are Godbound. Something terrible has happened, something also terrible is going to happen, and they have the power to change things to a better and more humane outcome. Some groups may prefer not to play an adventure where rape has been a prior ingredient to the situation, and those groups are indeed probably best off not playing this. Other groups get a great deal of enjoyment out of introducing a serial rapist and the social mores they manipulate to their own personal pantheon of divine vengeance.
An Echo, Resounding: A Sourcebook for Lordship and War
by Brian K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2017 13:20:37

This is an amazing resource. A really great way to set up a sandbox campaign in general and even more amazing when combined with the Domain and Faction rules presented.

It really strikes a stark contrast with the way domain management is handled in ACKS and other similar systems that inherit their rules from the BECMI. These rules are much more freeform and adaptable, and can implemented to handle different levels of DM preperation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An Echo, Resounding: A Sourcebook for Lordship and War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by Ian N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2017 20:24:30

A big and detailed book explaining all the rules for playing Stars Without Number, a great sci-fi game with elements of old-school D&D. The book includes tons of help for new GMs as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Silent Legions Art Pack
by Jesse B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2017 09:23:38

Great art and thanks for adding to the community NSA!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Silent Legions Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
A Brief Study of TSR Book Design
by George C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2017 04:41:29

This is amazing! I've really enjoyed reading through this and getting a real blast from the past!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Brief Study of TSR Book Design
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Ten Buried Blades: An Adventure for Godbound
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2017 22:15:24

Even though I've only just started playing Godbound, and haven't really tried Ten Buried Blades yet, I did buy and read through the adventure. I have to say: this is a really impressive, detailed, and fun read. I mean, technically, it's not so much a linear adventure than "here's the different people and events. Do them at your leisure", but I guess that's a part of Sandbox-style gaming-just going around, doing the things you want and skipping over what you don't want (if that be anything).

The main story behind Ten Buried Blades is that the characters are going to a village in Dulimbai- a heavily East Asian (mainly Chinese)-themed land for those who haven't bought the main game yet-and dealing with problems like a corrupt, but also bankrupt and desparate, government official, an exiled monk who wants to achieve immortality through forbidden magic, a bandit leader who is attacking the townsfolk, and a spirit of a dead warrior who has rised to (basically) minor godhood and wants to spread his old tribes beliefs. One of the best parts of the story is the "Yin and Yang" concept; basically, for almost each character, you have a choice to do two different versions of their goals, be it more aligned with internal or external struggles. It was a fascinating concept and, while I couldn't completely wrap my head around it the first time, I'd love to try and do it for a different game.

However, as good as this was, there was a few problems I had that took away from the experience-some subjective, others objective. For one, there was the "Ten Buried Blades"-altogether, despite their name being the title, they took a very low role in the present adventure. They were these special artifacts made by one of the characters, apparently, but we don't really hear about what they can do and they seem to kind of come out of nowhere. It just seems a little strange, for me at least, that the adventure would be named after the blades and yet they'd have such a small role-but that's just me and it could be that the GM or players are supposed to come up with those details themselves. The other was the Yin-Yang concept once again: the two didn't really have different themes in terms of goals. They just more appeared to be different things the characters wanted to achieve (such as one character either wanting to live no matter the cost versus trying to have his tribe's beliefs continued). It's a small one, but it didn't take away from the story as whole.

The others, however, were the terms and concepts brought up. Since Godbound is a fairly recent game, with only the nation of Ancalia being given a sourcebook (and even then, that was more as an experiment and the creator might not do other sourcebooks), then there is a lot of information in this book that is put out like you can understand exactly what they are. You can probably put the pieces together for some things-like an "ideotribe" being a tribe that follows a certain ideology-other things are left in the open like they're common knowledge. Therefore, if you're like, it can make you get a bit lost, since we don't really know-beyond the short description in the core rulebook-about what Dulimbai is like and what its culture is. Therefore, things like the Tao and its beliefs are a bit confusing. Are the followers of the Tao like our world's version of Taoism or something else? Another would be the Golden Lord: they mention his ideotribe, so what are some Dulimbaian beliefs? I'm sure some of this is for the GM, but suggestions would have been nice.

Finally, this story doesn't really have an ending: just different things that happen. While I can see this as being part of the sandbox-style gaming, where you are allowed and supposed to come up with your own conclusion, I felt some ideas for an appropriate ending would be nice-especially since I'm not sure if an adventure could end with solving all of the problems or you can only focus on one or two.

Due to some of the more confusing aspects, I'd say that I would rate this as a 4.5-but I'm rounding it up since a) a lot of this is my own opinion, b) I've been more exposed to linear adventures and c) there isn't a 4.5 rating. So, altogehter, this is a really nice way to introduce the players to Godbound-while it probably isn't good for a story about where and when the characters were when they become Godbound (unless they're from Gongfang), it still has a really great idea, memorable characters, nice expansion to the rules set in the core rulebook, and can give some really good ideas as to what Godbound adventures are like. A definite recommendation from a happy customer!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ten Buried Blades: An Adventure for Godbound
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Hard Light
by Jordan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2017 14:45:34

A very solid "adventure hub", perfect to start a campain, but that can also be easily integrated into an ongoing one (especially if the PCs don't have a spaceship). The 3 "sky tombs" are very different (a pirate base, a relatively lightly guarded sunken tomb, and a big one where two groups fight one another). The layout is simple yet highly functionnal : the backstory and key to a 37-rooms sky tomb fits on 4 pages, plus another one for the map; all NPCs are described on a single page (another one gets you all the combat stats) with their important motivations and ties stated (useful in play to help you recall the more in-depth descriptions given before); lots of plot hooks and complications to throw at players while they are on Brightside station; etc. The background provided, both for the tombs and the station, is just long enough to be useful to a DM : the information provided is meaty enough to help playing the NPCs and improvise when needed, but not so much that you lose yourself in details and minutiae.

The only downside is that the art is very scarce : not counting the maps nor the cover, there are only three pieces, one being useful (showing an alien race), the other two, not so much. But it's a minor quibble.

The adventure provides opportunities for exploration/xenoarcheology/plunder, social interactions and combat. Better yet, altought there are plenty of hooks and nudges to implicate PCs, nothing ever really forces their hands : they could basically just stay put, pay for their stay, and watch things unfold; they could never leave Brightside and play a political/social game, or a sabotage one; and they could go explore/pillage sky tombs, letting the situation on Brightside sorts itself out. The PCs actions can have important repercussions on the station, but also the campain universe (possibly impacting the fate of two ancient and unknown alien species). While not limitless, the possibilities are many, and that's great.

I'd say that you would get at the very least 2-3 sessions out of it (beelining the tombs, not exploring nor discussing), probably more if the players take time to discuss with NPCs and explore the tombs, and even more if you make your own sky tombs using the geomorphs and background provided.

Alll in all, it's a fantastic product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Light
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 219 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG