RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Scarlet Heroes Quickstart
by Daniel N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2016 10:40:23

I'm running this rule set over AD&D when I play one on one with a friend. Really simple to impliment and very fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound Art Pack
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 14:18:07

This pack of high quality fantasy art is astounding. It will take some time to download the compressed file, given the high resolution images in it, but it is very worth it - and it is wonderful to know this has been released so that the community can use it. There are many full color pieces, as well as some black and white works and some great maps just waiting to be personalized. They can fit nicely in any number of products for gaming and permission has been given to do so, even for commercial products. This is the kind of spirit that we need to see more of in an era in which small gaming companies and individuals can publish via DriveThru, the DM's Guild, and so on, but can't always afford the art that makes a strong first impression. Everything about this offering is commedable. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scarlet Heroes Art Pack
by Marc S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 12:32:49

This is better than most of the 20$ art collections out there! But this one is for free. It's crazy really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2016 16:19:07

Episkt lir med enkel mekanik. Applåder och beröm!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2016 19:44:06

My buddies and I are playing GURP Game of Thrones right now but we plan on playing this next. This is really nice we also plan on running a Pathfinder crossover with this in the world of Birthright having this as the blood powers. I liked it so much I bought the book and the PDF in full.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Jim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2016 22:00:08

I am very impressed with production quality and writing of this, clear a master, system designer.


My children (14 and 8) are able to grasp the concepts in this book (with only very little RPG experience) and had an absolute ball playing Godbound characters.


The simple mechanics and storytelling descriptions of the characters actions make for a great story, and there is a lot of hidden depth in the extras (I backed the deluxe edition).


Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Black Streams: Solo Heroes
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2016 14:52:38

This lays out modifications for playing an adventure with only one party member. It details the five inherent issues with solo adventures then sets out to address them. Highly recommended. Also includes a sample adventure for a single first level character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Streams: Solo Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Drew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 12:30:20

Ever platy dnd to the end and realize that after 20th level, there isn't much to do? Then get Godbound. Its about charscters who have made the jump from adventurers to LITERAL GODS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Jeremy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 12:29:37

This game has potential but still somewhat lacking full development. Mixing religious views to create a back drop or storyline, while interesting, might simply upset most people into not wanting to purchase your end product. That is if what you are attempting to accomplish, if not then you have helped other people with developing a back ground for their own home grown games. Good Luck and Keep it up!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
by Matías C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2016 22:31:26

Top-notch artwork from a top-notch game. Making it available for free is Kevin's way to give back to the roleplaying community.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Matthew L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2016 12:13:56

I'm hard-pressed to think of an independant (and solo) game designer who puts as much love and hard work into this craft as Kevin Crawford.
Godbound is a sterling example of what happens when an old-school rule set is combined with a modern-day approach to play; the result-magic!
Player's are the demi-gods in a broken land, mortals imbued with words of creation who set about forging their own paths in a setting rich with conflict and plenty of room for growth. The rule-set also supports less mythic heroes, right down to average mortals and turnip farming adventurers seeking to better their lot in the world.


Godbound provides a rich setting, ripe for plunder, havoc, rule, destruction, conquer; whatever the pc's desire!
True to Sine Nomine form, this book is packed to the gills with options to help a GM get a sandbox campaign off the ground and running. This is especially useful given the power level of pc's; anybody who is unfamiliar running games for super-beings or demi-gods have nothing to fear as Mr Crawford provides excellent advice and guidelines for constructing a setting and challenges which will make for entertaining and lasting campaigns.
The setting has enough information without becoming bogged down in senselss detail, and the book has plenty of suggestions for alternate campaigns and ideas which break from the standard game. It is clear that the book's strong focus does not diminish it's utility as a toolbook for demi-god's in a fantasy world, no matter which system you use. It is a book designed to be used and played, not just read.


For fans of a certain rpg which will remain nameless, Godbound also supports themed demi-gods including elemental scions, shapeshifters and god-walkers; huge war engines capable of massive devastation. I will say no more!


I could say much more about this game; it's excellent and tasteful artwork, clear layout and font and the author's excellent narrative voice and prose.
However, I'd much rather you go and pick up a copy and see for yourself.


Sine Nomine is a class act in a market flooded by mediocre and expensive titles. I only hope that this game and future releases receive the recognition amongst gamers that they deserve.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2016 10:11:29

(Reposted from Free Edition)


Absolutely fantastic. It's hard to think that Kevin Crawford would do a game like this coming off of Silent Legions but here it is. Godbound is a game where the players are normal people in a fantasy setting who gain powers of fallen "Made Gods" who almost destroyed the world years prior. The key concept is that mortals entered heaven and found god gone and fight and took control of heaven and the great machines that run their world from the angels guarding them. Then ideological differences drove them to create their own fashioned artificial gods which then began to war amongst themselves, rival factions, and the remnants of heaven's angels. They broke the world, themselves, and almost drove all of the world into darkness. Now years later mortals are gaining these stolen slivers of divine power and becoming demigods of great power who hold the potential to become full fledged gods in this broken world.


The setting has a mix of technology levels, from urban citiscapes that are barely holding on to their technology, steampunk autocratic nationstates living in fear of their robotic masters, to basted wastes where the fabric of reality lays torn and bleeding monsters and other reality horrors into the landscape. Also scattered around the world are shards of heaven itself that the players can enter, conquer, and hopefully convert into eventual paradises or bases of operation.


The system is an OSR hybrid that uses d20's for most rolls, standard combat actions, but lacks predefined classes. Instead characters are based around facts that detail their backstory which grants them access to powers and skills appropriate to that background. The real power of characters comes from the 3 beginning WORDS which define their purview of divine power, allows them to buy GIFTS which are more discreet powers, and defines how they can spend EFFORT or DOMINION on miracles and larger more lasting changes to the world. I haven't seen such a friendly free form power system since the early MAGE days. If anything I'd say unlike White Wolfs bookkeeping nightmare of a power system Godbounds miracles are quick and easy to rule on.


The game assumes the players will be facing powerful foes and reshaping the world from level 1. To illustrate this it uses a modified damage system where lesser foes do hit points of damage while the players can do full hit dice to anyone not considered on their tier of power. That is not to say there is a lack of powerful foes to face. The game present guidelines to build a wide range of horrible monsters, powerful casters, and still living Made Gods that will challenge the players growing dominion.


Not since I read the original work of Sine Nomine's Stars Without Number have I seen such a well written and developed product. It directly rivals Exalted, Cypher System's Gods of the Fall, and other similar work while still being it's own unique setting and rules. Play is fast, and exciting. Game tables will be filled with stories of armies falling, nations warping to players wills, and eventually massive universe/nay-multiverse spanning wars of conquest and heroic deeds.


It's well worth the price at free for the core game, and the Deluxe Edition includes loads of fun optional rules like magical martial arts, alternative Godbound types, and expanded artifact rules.


Please, enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An Echo, Resounding: A Sourcebook for Lordship and War
by Colm O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2016 15:24:54

I was lucky enough to pick this up at half-price, and would have been blown away by the value I got from my money, had I not been expecting the usual brilliance of Kevin Crawford's works.


For anyone planning an OSR game with domain management elements, strongholds, mercenaries or mass battles, this book is pretty much mandatory. Most OSR games and retro-clones tend to fall towards extremes when it comes to these aspects, providing too little detail, or far too much to be fun for most groups (looking at you, ACKS!). An Echo, Resounding hits the nail exactly on the head, letting your group have a meaningful domain management system and mass battle system without bogging the game down in, say, the finer points of tax collection and environmental adjustment to demand, or hiring armourers, tailors and horsefeed to keep your armies functional.


To give a brief (but by no means exhaustive) overview of the chapters:



  1. Creating a domain: The domain creation system is quite simple but provides plenty of scope to make a unique and interesting setting, painting in broad strokes the major population centers, ruins, quirks and resources that characterise it. Random tables provide a wealth of options to instantly flesh out cities and wilderness areas.

  2. Domain Management: This chapter outlines a domain turn system in which the characters' domain may take actions, followed by any NPC domains. Think Civ or any 4X game and you're not a hundred miles away. You can also create, destroy and upgrade locations on a smaller scale, example creating a city barracks to eliminate some of the upkeep for your standing troops.

  3. Mass Combat: Mercenary/Soldier profiles (including many monstrous/non-human troops), an elegant combat system for battles of any magnitude, and rules for support troops, heroes, sieges, naval battles etc. You've probably seen something like it before but I say this honestly, this is easily the best implementation of any of these things I've seen in an OSR game (and I have seen MANY).

  4. Westmark: An example domain that integrates all of the above, with plot hooks for good measure. I haven't looked through it in great detail but judging by the standard of the rest of the book, it's probably worth a read even if you don't plan on using it within your setting.


So in case you haven't already guessed, I'm very impressed with this product! I heartily recommend it to anyone who has even a passing interest in growing their campaign past fighting things and taking their stuff (or even just those who want to fight an army of things for a great deal of stuff).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An Echo, Resounding: A Sourcebook for Lordship and War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2016 14:34:05

I've been playing D&D since the old Red and Blue boxed sets in the 80's. While I had fun with those systems, things have changed since then and some much better mechanics have come out. So I was reluctant to check this out, since it mentioned OSR (Old School Revolution) and I haven't exactly liked some of the games I've tried. They were a little too old school for me.


But fear not, this system is really a new system, and uses ideas from many of the lighter, quicker systems that have come out, like Dungeon World and Fate to speed up play and make it easy to play a very powerful character, that actually feels powerful.


If you played Birthright, back in the day, and want to play that, this is the game I'd suggest using. If you like the setting of Exalted, but don't like how incrediably crunchy that system is (especially charm system, which I have a love-hate relationship with myself), then check this game out. Especially some of the "Themed" Godbound in the Deluxe version. Many of the types are obviously influenced by the different kinds of Exalted.


Even at first level as a Godbound, your character will be capable of taking on hordes of human soldiers, and yet find fallen Angels an overwhelming threat, so you can't just run roughshod over everything. You'll need to use your many powers and ingenuity to change the world and increase your power.


The free version of the rules will let you see everything you need to see to get a good grasp of how the system works (especially damage, which might through you at first), but it is worth paying for the Deluxe version to get the extra rules and details, IMHO.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2016 05:11:42

Read the Free version, so good I had to get the Deluxe. I'm a fan of high power settings but so many of them quickly bog down in rules bloat and endless complicated power sets.


This doesn't and I can see how the system could pretty easily be ported into any exisitng setting I want without much work at all. I may finally run a game where everyone plays Dragons.


Why not 5 stars? Well nothing is perfect and to me D20 always has a bit too much swing in the range of outputs compared to what you get for abilities / stats.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 188 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG