RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Scarlet Heroes Quickstart
by James A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2016 11:03:33

I'm quite happy with this quickstart guide, and I will most likely end up purchasing the full rulebook to continue playing.


As a system, I feel that Scarlet Heroes is great for what it's advertised: a 1v1, PC vs. GM adventure. It's simple enough to play quickly and easily (even if you don't have much experience with a D&D style system), and I can see how it would be easy to convert other D20-based content to Scarlet Heroes. It really mitigates the hazards of party-of-one combat, which can make the game easier for an inexperienced (or lazy) GM. I'm not super-excited about the built-in theme and world building, but that's personal taste, and it's easy to swap out for a different setting.


As a quickstart guide, it's very polished. Creating a character took just 20 minutes, and the included dungeon crawl, while very basic, should give you a chance to try out all the included mechanics. All the mechanics introduced in the quickstart are intuitive (to me, at least) and none are awkward or clunky. Additionally, it includes a few tables to assist in dungeon building, which is a nice extra.


All in all, I would reccommend this free quickstart to anyone looking to create or convert a single-player-campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sandbox #2
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2016 13:33:10

Excellent! I grabbed this specifically for the LifePath rules and tables for SWN, and they're exactly what I hoped for! Just enough detail to make things work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sandbox #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2016 20:31:55

This is a descent system to help test the waters and see if your a fan of this RPG and more importantly... if you and your group can manage a sandbox RPG. There is enough meat on this package to run a couple of sessions and the full version will certianly help... but I'll just warn some people that this system is different.


You are powerful and there is more focus on the world than the combat. The Book is more of a guide than a manual. I would recemind it to others, but I would tell them that a couple of things are abstract because that's how they are soppused to be. If your a fan of wide brush strokes and building your own legacy, nation, or army then you'll have fun. If you prefer clear cut lines, and clearly defined rules then... maybe the main book might help, but I honestly don't know.


Still it's a descent system and you might enjoy it enough to buy the main book. If not... well it might give you an idea or two.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scarlet Heroes Quickstart
by Daniel N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2016 10:40:23

I'm running this rule set over AD&D when I play one on one with a friend. Really simple to impliment and very fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound Art Pack
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 14:18:07

This pack of high quality fantasy art is astounding. It will take some time to download the compressed file, given the high resolution images in it, but it is very worth it - and it is wonderful to know this has been released so that the community can use it. There are many full color pieces, as well as some black and white works and some great maps just waiting to be personalized. They can fit nicely in any number of products for gaming and permission has been given to do so, even for commercial products. This is the kind of spirit that we need to see more of in an era in which small gaming companies and individuals can publish via DriveThru, the DM's Guild, and so on, but can't always afford the art that makes a strong first impression. Everything about this offering is commedable. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scarlet Heroes Art Pack
by Marc S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 12:32:49

This is better than most of the 20$ art collections out there! But this one is for free. It's crazy really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2016 16:19:07

Episkt lir med enkel mekanik. Applåder och beröm!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2016 19:44:06

My buddies and I are playing GURP Game of Thrones right now but we plan on playing this next. This is really nice we also plan on running a Pathfinder crossover with this in the world of Birthright having this as the blood powers. I liked it so much I bought the book and the PDF in full.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Jim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2016 22:00:08

I am very impressed with production quality and writing of this, clear a master, system designer.


My children (14 and 8) are able to grasp the concepts in this book (with only very little RPG experience) and had an absolute ball playing Godbound characters.


The simple mechanics and storytelling descriptions of the characters actions make for a great story, and there is a lot of hidden depth in the extras (I backed the deluxe edition).


Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Black Streams: Solo Heroes
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2016 14:52:38

This lays out modifications for playing an adventure with only one party member. It details the five inherent issues with solo adventures then sets out to address them. Highly recommended. Also includes a sample adventure for a single first level character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Streams: Solo Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Drew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 12:30:20

Ever platy dnd to the end and realize that after 20th level, there isn't much to do? Then get Godbound. Its about charscters who have made the jump from adventurers to LITERAL GODS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Jeremy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 12:29:37

This game has potential but still somewhat lacking full development. Mixing religious views to create a back drop or storyline, while interesting, might simply upset most people into not wanting to purchase your end product. That is if what you are attempting to accomplish, if not then you have helped other people with developing a back ground for their own home grown games. Good Luck and Keep it up!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
by Matías C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2016 22:31:26

Top-notch artwork from a top-notch game. Making it available for free is Kevin's way to give back to the roleplaying community.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Matthew L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2016 12:13:56

I'm hard-pressed to think of an independant (and solo) game designer who puts as much love and hard work into this craft as Kevin Crawford.
Godbound is a sterling example of what happens when an old-school rule set is combined with a modern-day approach to play; the result-magic!
Player's are the demi-gods in a broken land, mortals imbued with words of creation who set about forging their own paths in a setting rich with conflict and plenty of room for growth. The rule-set also supports less mythic heroes, right down to average mortals and turnip farming adventurers seeking to better their lot in the world.


Godbound provides a rich setting, ripe for plunder, havoc, rule, destruction, conquer; whatever the pc's desire!
True to Sine Nomine form, this book is packed to the gills with options to help a GM get a sandbox campaign off the ground and running. This is especially useful given the power level of pc's; anybody who is unfamiliar running games for super-beings or demi-gods have nothing to fear as Mr Crawford provides excellent advice and guidelines for constructing a setting and challenges which will make for entertaining and lasting campaigns.
The setting has enough information without becoming bogged down in senselss detail, and the book has plenty of suggestions for alternate campaigns and ideas which break from the standard game. It is clear that the book's strong focus does not diminish it's utility as a toolbook for demi-god's in a fantasy world, no matter which system you use. It is a book designed to be used and played, not just read.


For fans of a certain rpg which will remain nameless, Godbound also supports themed demi-gods including elemental scions, shapeshifters and god-walkers; huge war engines capable of massive devastation. I will say no more!


I could say much more about this game; it's excellent and tasteful artwork, clear layout and font and the author's excellent narrative voice and prose.
However, I'd much rather you go and pick up a copy and see for yourself.


Sine Nomine is a class act in a market flooded by mediocre and expensive titles. I only hope that this game and future releases receive the recognition amongst gamers that they deserve.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2016 10:11:29

(Reposted from Free Edition)


Absolutely fantastic. It's hard to think that Kevin Crawford would do a game like this coming off of Silent Legions but here it is. Godbound is a game where the players are normal people in a fantasy setting who gain powers of fallen "Made Gods" who almost destroyed the world years prior. The key concept is that mortals entered heaven and found god gone and fight and took control of heaven and the great machines that run their world from the angels guarding them. Then ideological differences drove them to create their own fashioned artificial gods which then began to war amongst themselves, rival factions, and the remnants of heaven's angels. They broke the world, themselves, and almost drove all of the world into darkness. Now years later mortals are gaining these stolen slivers of divine power and becoming demigods of great power who hold the potential to become full fledged gods in this broken world.


The setting has a mix of technology levels, from urban citiscapes that are barely holding on to their technology, steampunk autocratic nationstates living in fear of their robotic masters, to basted wastes where the fabric of reality lays torn and bleeding monsters and other reality horrors into the landscape. Also scattered around the world are shards of heaven itself that the players can enter, conquer, and hopefully convert into eventual paradises or bases of operation.


The system is an OSR hybrid that uses d20's for most rolls, standard combat actions, but lacks predefined classes. Instead characters are based around facts that detail their backstory which grants them access to powers and skills appropriate to that background. The real power of characters comes from the 3 beginning WORDS which define their purview of divine power, allows them to buy GIFTS which are more discreet powers, and defines how they can spend EFFORT or DOMINION on miracles and larger more lasting changes to the world. I haven't seen such a friendly free form power system since the early MAGE days. If anything I'd say unlike White Wolfs bookkeeping nightmare of a power system Godbounds miracles are quick and easy to rule on.


The game assumes the players will be facing powerful foes and reshaping the world from level 1. To illustrate this it uses a modified damage system where lesser foes do hit points of damage while the players can do full hit dice to anyone not considered on their tier of power. That is not to say there is a lack of powerful foes to face. The game present guidelines to build a wide range of horrible monsters, powerful casters, and still living Made Gods that will challenge the players growing dominion.


Not since I read the original work of Sine Nomine's Stars Without Number have I seen such a well written and developed product. It directly rivals Exalted, Cypher System's Gods of the Fall, and other similar work while still being it's own unique setting and rules. Play is fast, and exciting. Game tables will be filled with stories of armies falling, nations warping to players wills, and eventually massive universe/nay-multiverse spanning wars of conquest and heroic deeds.


It's well worth the price at free for the core game, and the Deluxe Edition includes loads of fun optional rules like magical martial arts, alternative Godbound types, and expanded artifact rules.


Please, enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 191 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG