RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Stars Without Number Starter [BUNDLE]
by Raymond W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2017 01:46:00

I'm a big fan of Kevin's stuff, and this is no exception. I already owned everything in it except for Sixteen Stars, so I feel qualified to talk about the bundle as a whole. What I really like about it is that it very much lives up to its name; which is to say that iit provides a great starting point for a SWoN campaign. Sons of Gold is a good style of play to start with (i.e. the PCs as interstellar merchants). Sixteen Stars , introduced in this bundle, gives a prospective GM a ready-made inspiration engine for science-fiction role-playing, using a series of tables to quickly assemble plot seeds for tropey SWoN locations (like asteroid habitats, alien jungles and the like). Hard Light gives the GM a solid adventure to start with, and a good blueprint for writing one's own. I could go on, but you get the picture.

If you have any interest in SWoN, this is a good bundle to start with. It's very reasonably priced (usually $52 but currently on-sale for $25) for the quantity and quality of content. What is SWoN, you ask? Basically, it's a traditional tabletop RPG set in a wide-open interstellar science fiction setting. Humanity is recovering after a mysterious apocalypse struck its psychics, who are necessary for navigating the hyperdimensional journeys between stars. This basically establishes a universe that can accomodate almost any possibility, but the various supplements do a great job of sketching out how to run different styles of campaigns. Suns of Gold caters, as I've said, to adventurers-as-merchants, while Darkness Visible provides rules and content for running a science fiction intelligence agency.

To those familiar with certain corners of the hobby, this is an OSR update of Traveller as rendered by Sine Nomine aka Kevin Crawford. As usual with anything put out by Mr. Crawford, it's very sandboxy, its supplements crammed with tables for generating content. Remember all the Traveller books, like High Guard and Far Trader? That spirit is preserved here, and if truth be told, improved upon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number Starter [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mandate Archive: Transhuman Tech
by Pantelis A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2016 13:13:53

It gives you some new and interesting stuff if you want to put some new twists in your campaign.After playing too much stars without number the players tend to learn everything about the system.Its fun getting new rules for free because they can refresh the game experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mandate Archive: Transhuman Tech
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ancalia: The Broken Towers
by Nathan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2016 17:57:51

It's amaazing how Mr. Crawford has brought the broken land of Ancalia alive, with under 100 pages. The knight orders, the Uncreated lords, random table for ease of usage, I just love it. I have an Ancalian knight with my wife's Godbound, and this is really what I need to flesh him out even further. With the information, we will definitely be making trips to Ancalia.

The cover art is gorgeous. The interior black and white is a little more hit and miss, but the Chained Lady was brilliant.

I also appreciated that we get diversity in the setting.

I really hope that we get more country gazeteers for Godbound.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancalia: The Broken Towers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ancalia: The Broken Towers
by Dominik W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2016 03:02:24

I really love the Godbound setting! This supplement flashes out one region of Arcem and while reading it, I have several inspirational flashes for new adventurs. Hopefully Kevin Crawford will write further regional guides like this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancalia: The Broken Towers
by Matías C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2016 18:04:02

Great supplement, like always Kevin Crawford's work is top notch. The book has everything you need to run a campaign on the Ancalia region, from places, NPCs to several random generators to inspire GMs.

10/10, if you like Godbound, this is a must buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by Alex F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2016 15:53:52

Nice flavour, but overall a sloppy and unfinished looking product. It had good ideas but combined them with an iniability to artciulate them well and make them flow.

Plus it had agod-awful system that was trying to be 'retro' and instead felt cruede and unfinished. The Psionics system was particualrily clunky and felt poorly implmented, like it was bolted on at a later stage.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by jimi r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2016 22:33:59

It had some readability issues and could have used another pass or two by an editor but once I got the hang of it the system itself is very good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Names: Lost Races and Forgotten Ruins
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2016 12:38:25

An excellent resource for constructing alien races, creatures, artifacts, and - most importantly - ruined facilities to explore!

As with all of Crawford's SWN products, this one has tons of tables for either inspiring your own creation or randomly generating one to use for a session.

Love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Names: Lost Races and Forgotten Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by Hugh A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2016 07:34:34

An "old school" space opera game with an intriguing mechanism for generating a campaign background. Stars without number is an ideal light to medium weight RPG not least as the price is right so that every player can have a copy of the rules to refer to which can also spark story ideas from other players. On the downside there is no real explanation of how much experience points to reward characters with in a given situation, leaving it to the referees discretion. A good solution could be to encourage PCs to define their goals and reward them for meeting these.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by mark b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2016 08:15:20

Amazingly well done. Written well enough to start quickly but with the required depth of material to maintain your interest. Even better there is a significant amount of additional material that adds depth to the game in key areas. Of interest this game has been noted to be one of the best solo/solitary RPG's and is played extensively in that community (myself included!). I believe SWN is both so well designed and such an open sandbox universe that any play style is facilitated. Oh, and if your still not sure, give it a read through, its free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sixteen Sorrows: A Handbook of Calamities
by Alex F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2016 07:05:22

Immensely useful and intuitive. I have rarely been more satisfied with any RPG book. Along with the rules in the Godbound corebook for creating courts, factions and so on, this is easily one of the best systems that I have come across for creating interesting and engaing adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sixteen Sorrows: A Handbook of Calamities
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Patrick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2016 17:50:23

Kevin Crawford hits it for 6 again. A really interesting take on demigod/immortal game play - the Words system is really flexible and should let your players build any demigod they can conceive. This is Mutants and Masterminds for immortals.

As ever with Kevin Crawford's systems though, the really joy is in the GMs tools, many of which could be easily applied to any system. I love a good random table and if you flick through this book armed with a d6 and a 12 and campaign ideas will launch themselves into your mind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound Art Pack
by Vesa P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2016 09:21:04

This is just awesome. Pictures are really great. Thank you so much!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scarlet Heroes Quickstart
by James A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2016 11:03:33

I'm quite happy with this quickstart guide, and I will most likely end up purchasing the full rulebook to continue playing.

As a system, I feel that Scarlet Heroes is great for what it's advertised: a 1v1, PC vs. GM adventure. It's simple enough to play quickly and easily (even if you don't have much experience with a D&D style system), and I can see how it would be easy to convert other D20-based content to Scarlet Heroes. It really mitigates the hazards of party-of-one combat, which can make the game easier for an inexperienced (or lazy) GM. I'm not super-excited about the built-in theme and world building, but that's personal taste, and it's easy to swap out for a different setting.

As a quickstart guide, it's very polished. Creating a character took just 20 minutes, and the included dungeon crawl, while very basic, should give you a chance to try out all the included mechanics. All the mechanics introduced in the quickstart are intuitive (to me, at least) and none are awkward or clunky. Additionally, it includes a few tables to assist in dungeon building, which is a nice extra.

All in all, I would reccommend this free quickstart to anyone looking to create or convert a single-player-campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sandbox #2
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2016 13:33:10

Excellent! I grabbed this specifically for the LifePath rules and tables for SWN, and they're exactly what I hoped for! Just enough detail to make things work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sandbox #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 219 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG