RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Black Streams: Solo Heroes
by Benjamin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2015 14:21:29
This book and quest are supreme If you're looking for a way to run a solo quest. A little difficult to understand the Frey dice at first but after reading through the directions a couple times it was easy to understand. The mission that came with it was fun to run as a drop in quest for a campaign I am currently running for a solo person who is ring to catch up with the group. All in all a great book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Streams: Solo Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sandbox #1
by Eric M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2015 11:26:46
I can't comment on the systems, but I will comment on two of the items: The Kickstarter perspective and the "one-roll" generators.
It's wonderful for those who have done successful Kickstarters to share with the rest of us their experiences. I continue to toy with jumping in, and each time I read more about Kickstarter, I end up finding something else I need to focus on. When (if) I finally get the time to get my ideas in order, I believe I'll have enough shared advice to be successful. Thanks!
The "one-roll" generators are a great idea. I've waded through table after table to generate scenes, and I end up re-rolling (or just changing) items that don't fit. The two included generators should serve as a model for others to create "one-roll" generators for their worlds or game systems. The items that don't need much variety get the smaller die, the parts that need more variety (or are the "hook" for the scene) get the bigger die.
Thanks!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sandbox #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2015 22:43:41
A whole lot of awesome here. And it is a wonderful service to the community that this edition is FREE. Wow. Definitely worth having.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2015 16:47:17
While there are a lot of interesting facets to this game, this big book left me with the feeling that the battle system was lacking and that I would have difficulty recruiting players for an old school style game like this.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Exemplars & Eidolons
by Jacob P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2015 01:15:54
I picked this up more on a whim than anything else. It was free so I thought, "what the heck, why not?" I got it, and I read it all in one go.

I was blown away.

As I read it, I began to love it. By the time I was done, this game had become one of my favorite games. Seriously. For reals. It covers epic play rather well and has a beautiful system. I know that it is basically just old school D&D, but the implementation is wonderful. You play larger than life heroes in a world of your own design. The unique parts are really spiffy. The weapon damage rules are very nice, if a little wonky. The wealth rules are brilliant. I think my favorite bit is the nested problems. It instantly sets you up with a major goal and series of smaller goals required to complete this goal. It is just a bit of reorientation of your perception, but hoo boy, does it ever work like a dream. The influence system is also pretty darn inspired. I would go into details, but the game is free, just pick it up and read it. Its 48 pages. You can do it. Check it out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exemplars & Eidolons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Silent Legions
by Russell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2015 19:13:38
No fan of horror gaming should be without this book! Kevin Crawford made Sine Nomine a stand-out publisher with the release of Stars Without Number (SWN)...simple sic-fi rules with old-school charm. Other Dust (OD) continued the evolution of the system with all the gritty and weird post-apocalyptic rules built into the system. Silent Legions continues to build on this great rules system. If you have enjoyed SWN or OD, you will almost certainly like this system as well…and they are all truly compatible, just plug or pull what you want in your game.

Silent Legions has four investigative character classes with built-in backgrounds and character creation is a simple 15 minute exercise, which is good because characters are as expendable in this horror environment as you might imagine. The skill system, identical in operation with SWN and OD, is simple and elegant, and balances character ability with character level. Combat uses the familiar d20 mechanic that has been successfully modified for SWN and OD. The addition of a "Slaughter" dice thrown with your standard damage roll makes combat unpredictable and terrifying. Finally, the magic system is great, with psychic talents, Grey Magic, and a truly wicked version of the Black Arts. Everybody better beware. I ain't Kiddin!

However, the real value of Sine Nomine's products comes from the fantastic sandbox resources they provide to gamers. Silent Legions is no exception. For any fan of horror gaming, the Mythos, Alien, and Cult generators are worth a great deal more than the coast of the product. The sandbox is where Sine Nomine always rewards its gamers. These resources make a Gm's life easier, and keeps the setting fresh for the PCs. And the "tags" are so portable from system to system. The tags that make a location scary or a cult freaky in Silent Legions will do the same in SWN, CoC, or Pathfinder.

If i had a single complaint, it would be with respect to the fear and sanity system. As I interpret the rules, every character has 90 or 100 sanity points, with no respect to wisdom, intelligence, or the lack thereof. And sanity points are lost quickly, only to be regained in dribbles with level increases or taking 'deliriums'...phobias that can make a character pretty quirky, AKA fun to play. Fear and shock don't seem to have short-term effects. If you consider these shortcomings, they are easily fixed with simple house rules that can be imported from plenty of other systems. Regardless, the dark and brooding setting is likely to accomplish anything the rules don't.

Don't pass on this title, it is well written, well organized, and valuable far beyond the the CoC genre.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Silent Legions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Silent Legions
by andrew b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2015 18:30:20
I cannot believe no one has written a review on this book yet.

First off some background. Sine Nomine Publishing has released some very high quality works. They generally favor an old school D&D mechanic to thier books, which makes them easy to understand. No complicated and totally new lists of rules or anything like that. If you remember the basics of first edition D&D then you know the basics of this companies releases. Instead of giving you a system and just a setting, which almost any starting level rpg game book does, the Sine Nomine Publishing way is to lighten up on the established setting and simply pave the way before you with lists of everything you could need to sustain a long term 'sandbox' campaign. This is how Stars Without Numbers and other core books have been laid out.

Now what are the advantages of such a strategy. Instead of a complicated, detailed, or unique system taking up half the text which you have to puzzle through you can, with the right background, just pick this up and play. This means this system easily translates to M&M or even something more abstract, like ICONS, pretty easily. Then instead of having to read tons of material to glean whatever gems you might use for your own story, you can use the bulk of the material to roll up or chose practically on the fly from a viritual tool kit of Lovecroftian tropes. Isn't that brilliant?

This book has the general premesis, the very simple rules with some specific mechanics like Madness, Deleria, and Sorcery, everything you need to build your own Lovecroft-style Mythos, general setting Tags, Cult assets, a nice little Bestiary. How many times has someone in game described a tongued puff-ball headed monstrocity or made that buzzing sound and someone in the group shouts matter-of-factly "Mi-Go". With this book you never have to worry about that happening. Your games can still carry the gravity of dark cosmic themes but make them your own with plenty of support to help you get started and keep the momentum of the story running. You could not find a better resource for this kind of genre game than this one.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Silent Legions Art Pack
by Al S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2015 19:17:02
Thank you for making high quality artwork available for use for other small press companies.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Silent Legions Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by Zsolt S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2015 12:42:10
While I do not have that much experience with the mechanics of the game itself, the book itself is something definately worth having. The thing I found the most interesting is the faction mechanics that it has. It may be sci-fi themed, but it can be adapted to any setting with a bit of a work, providing an actual living game world.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by Paolo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2015 07:12:36
Such a well thought out and well balanced game.
Mechanically simple enough to pick straight up and play.
With enough flexibility to make combat and performing feats interesting and enjoyable.

A must have, not on your bookshelf, but carried with you at all times.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by Ruben R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:47:05
Very good. It's set out in such a way that even beginners would understand it and that veyerans to the genre find it as a usefull tool to build unique role play universes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by Jordan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:31:26
If you are looking for good tips on how to create a space sandbox, you should read this book. Even if the ruleset is not your cup of tea, the procedures and advice is great and mostly system-agnostic. Worth infinitely more than the "free" price tag!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by aaron t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 12:26:03
This seems like a fairly simple level-based system. I think it is fine for those who want a simpler system, but I didn't find that it had the flexibility and customization that I wanted.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Smoking Pillar of Lan Yu
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2015 16:32:47
Good module with interesting alternate magic (specifically the undead variant Hollow Children). I will definitely use them in my other campaigns.
I highly recommend reading this just for the thoughtful and complete "sub-world" the temple and island include.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Smoking Pillar of Lan Yu
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Other Dust
by Patrick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2015 05:06:02
Another excellent book from Kevin Crawford.

I've been looking for a good post apocalyptic system for a while and this one pretty much ticks all the boxes for me. It is a lot less gonzo that Gamma World or Mutant Future, but because the core system is pretty much OD&D, you can very easily bring stuff across from systems like that. The negative mutations can perhaps be a little excessive (it is possible to create a character with no head), but that sort of thing is so easily house ruled away it really isn't an issue.

As with Stars Without Number, the GM's section on sandbox world creation are fabulous - and as with SwoN system agnostic.

Strongly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Other Dust
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 148 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG