RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Spears of the Dawn
by Christian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2014 06:31:22
I ordered the Soft Cover + PDF bundle and have not been disappointed by either. A solid game setting, simple but fun rules system made for tweaking for your own needs and a large number of ideas for NPCs, conflicts and adventures presented as random tables. The book puts a lot of thought into playing a sandbox style game and provides good tips on how to do this. I would have liked to see some more stuff on the author's thoughts on integrating SoD play with a more linear approach - although this is hardly a problem in itself. The book is well laid out and edited, and the handy afterword (complete with bibliography) is a nice addition. My only comlaints: some of the setting information seem spread out a little where it could have been centered in fewer sections. Also the fonts used for Character Sheet headlines is a little busy with intricate symbols that are hard to print out properly.

All in all I can't see these minor errors prevent a solid 5/5 rating from my part.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spears of the Dawn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Scarlet Heroes
by sebastian c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2014 11:42:30
its an excellent product, i would use with my setting rsther thr red tide, still i love it

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Scarlet Heroes Art Pack
by Chris F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2014 15:08:21
Sine Nomine puts out incredibly fun, OSR games and the fact they release the majority of their art into the public domain is an incredible gift to the gaming community, especially other small press publishers.

Scarlet Heroes includes dozens of high quality black and white images, as well as a color cover image and color map. Most of the included images have a pan-Asian flavor; the collection also includes images of some genuinely disgusting monsters and very creepy undead, especially useful for horror games.

I already can see lots of use for these image in my own future releases, and I'm sure the Scarlet Heroes Art Pack will be as useful to other small press publishers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by D. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2014 22:14:49
I ordered a hard copy of the star field cover, and it does indeed include all of the content of the alien cover, with the same number of pages as the alien cover. So, order the star field cover hard copy if you like it better than the alien cover, since it does indeed have the same content.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The House of Bone and Amber Art Pack
by Jim W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2014 16:32:56
This little pack introduces a theme that's hard to find. The artwork is excellent and the product is free, consisting of several African themed pictures and a bonus fantasy themed one (which is brilliant). The African artwork would suit any number of pulp style archaeologal adventures (looking at you, Indy!) or something looking to explore the bosom of humanity.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The House of Bone and Amber Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by andras f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2014 19:02:31
I've owned this game in a hardback form (and it's sister product, the Post Apocalyptic game Other dust) for a couple of years now and I'm still running it.

I won't bother going into a detailed review of the mechanics etc, as there are many others in this review list that does an admirable job of that already.

I'll instead talk about the Longevity of the product.
As this is a Sandbox RPG, it provides lots of GM material to generate random content.
but in addition to that, Kevin has provided LOTs of free and cheap additional content as well.
I have found this REALLY useful in the games I run.

If you get Other Dust, the post Apocalyptic RPG as well, it REALLY opens up the possibilities for even more variety.

I can't recommend this RPG enough if you're into Scifi RPGs and want something that moves really fast and easy to customise.

I run this game in a play by forum post setting, which I feel this is ideal for due to the simplicity of the rules.
I also run it at home for my kids, who love it and it really encourages using imagination as I don't feel restricted by the rules.

On top of that, if you're not sure just download the free rules. which only have missing Mech and AI content. Everything else is there.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Black Streams: Solo Heroes
by John Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 08:52:34
Pros:
Improves solo PC longevity but doesn't increase the class abilities as a side-effect - you still have the fun of leveling up and gaining power but your risk of dying before you ever see any kind of growth is mitigated.
Simple to implement
Allows you to play published adventures with a single PC with little or no modification of encounters
Works with your existing character generation rules
Works with existing game mechanics


Cons:
If you are wed to the idea that the game is one of nobodies struggling and dying on their way to fame, fortune and hero status, this changes the very nature of the game: they are a hero of sorts at the outset, in the sense that they are able to withstand blows that would kill them in party-of-PCs game quite easily.

More thoughts on Solo Heroes here: http://tabletopdiversions.blogspot.com/2014/02/black-streams-
-solo-heroes-review.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Streams: Solo Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Skyward Steel: Naval Campaigns for Stars Without Number
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2014 07:39:37
This book should be your #2 buy after you get your hands on Stars Without Number. The sourcebook covers a wider range of ship building options, naval careers, and genreally plays up the space side of being in space.

this is a must if you wanted to play anything from a deep explorer with the latest upgrades in their craft, to inner-system freebooters loaded with contraband gear.

A tight and always useful book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skyward Steel: Naval Campaigns for Stars Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hard Light
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2014 12:58:05
This is a great intro adventure for Stars Without Number. It loot, the random star tomb generation rules, the fleshed out 'city' colony. It's perfect to get the player's feet wet. Just drop it into any existing SWN game and let the PC's go wild. Mind you, it's designed to restrict the PC movement early on (cost, lack of ship, etc.) So an existing group might find it confining if they are use to flying around unfettered.

Just keep that in mind!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Light
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Polychrome: Cyberpunk Adventure for Stars Without Number
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2014 12:53:51
This was the book I was waiting for. It gives me the cyber rules I wanted to SWN and it's got a great dark setting included. I honestly think Sine Nomine could spin this out into it's own full seting book with larger random run generation, city creation tables, etc.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Polychrome: Cyberpunk Adventure for Stars Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2014 21:26:58
This is a good role playing game with an interesting background. It seems to have elements that are a blend of a number of experience points/level gaming systems and 'space opera' science fiction storysettings such as ones penned by Larry Niven or 'Star Wars' settings. The character generation system and starship creation systems both seem to be farly straight forward proving that it is possible to create a system that can be operated without a PHD in physics and astro-enineering.

Well done!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Other Dust
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2014 09:44:14
This book is great! As a stand alone is a wondeful sandbox generation system for post apoc settings. I love the SWN variant of the OSR rules and characers while chrunchy early one do feel skillful. The rules are tight and allow for a range of characer options.

If you are a Stars Without Number fan consider this book the ultimate ruined world plug in! It gives you options for mutations, new psi powers, and survial options in destoryed/decaying worlds. The 4 new classes are servicable but might need some skill updates of space travel becomes an option.

Finally the book itself is up to Sine Nomine standards. Easy to read, nicely written, and expertly layed out.

Well worth the pdf at least.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Other Dust
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Relics of the Lost
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2014 09:32:42
"Where does he get all these wonderful toys?" Well now you know. Short, punchy, loads of goodies to use. Works with Starts Without Number and Other Dust. Great buy for either game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Relics of the Lost
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Relics of the Lost
by Simon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2013 21:03:01
I usually pick up Sine Nomine products as soon as they come out, they are just that good, and this one is no exception. Inside are a wealth of items each with enough detail to warrant their own subplot in a game. I'm not sure how this guy comes up with his ideas, but there are some truly weird tech devices here that nevertheless retain an aura of scientific plausibility. Even if you don't play Stars Without Number or Other Dust this is worth picking up to mine for ideas for your far future sci fi game of choice. Interior layout is clean and easily understandable and of the same format as other Sine Nomine products. Interior art is B&W only (not a problem for me as I am a fan of line art) and retains consistency of style with other pieces in SWN products. I picked up the PDF version only because with international postage (to Australia) the value for money erodes slightly at 32 pages, but for locals I think this would be worth going all in and getting the print version, its a keeper. I hope Stars Without Number can get some wider exposure as it is a great setting that truly deserves to be sitting up there with better known products like Traveller and Star Frontiers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mandate Archive: Scavenger Fleets
by Graham D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2013 05:17:02
I am of two minds about this particular suppliment. While any GM wanting to use Scavenger Fleets as protagonists/antagonists for the PCs to encounter will find no problems with the information given.

A GM wishing to use the Fleets as the basis of a roleplaying campaign (And it was the first thing I thought of when I read the information about the 'Far Scouts'.) will have a much harder time of it as information, such as how to modify the stock character types (As appears in the Red Sangha Mercenary Corps suppliment.) in Stars Without Number is lacking.

While the merchant campaign sourcebook Suns of Gold does provide some of the information needed, much work on the GMs part would be still be needed to create a viable player campaign based on this suppliment.

This is one suppliment that I would be happy to see re-issued in an expanded form, even if I had to pay for it. What is here is excellent, but more is needed.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mandate Archive: Scavenger Fleets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 108 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG