RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Synanthropes Lite
Synanthropes Lite
Pay What You Want









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
WorldWorksGames / FirstLight
by Colin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2011 13:52:07
This is another excellent, modular product from WorldWorksGames. The worst feature of it is that you build a design and you're stuck with that design. However, there are many great designs available in Firstlight, especially if you add the Retrofit to it.

As usual, the instructions are clear and comprehensive and the product is well made and beautifully illustrated. Highly recommended.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / FirstLight
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorksGames / Hinterland Forests / TerrainlinX Edition!
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2011 11:53:56
The ultimate Forest! I just finished a 12" by 39" section using just the terrain linx forest walls to create an intricate Forest maze for my pcs. Because the posts are able to move to any anchors on the tiles and the different types of Forest walls( 2 different 3" , 6", 6" with openings, 6" with open ends) give a numerous variety, I can make a never ending maze of designs to send the players through. Needless to say I am very pleased with this set. Next up I am working on the terrainlinx cliff set in order to build an underground maze to add to the forest.. 5 stars or another terrain linx set that also seems very reasonbly priced. And before I forget the artwork is absolutely excellant and up to worldworks usual standards.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / Hinterland Forests / TerrainlinX Edition!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorksGames / VillageWorks
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/30/2011 12:56:52
In my never-ending quest to perfectly reproduce tabletop combat conditions in a role-playing game, I faced a daunting challenge: how to reproduce a thrilling combat scene with Lovecraftian crustacean monstrosities on a bridge. This scene, straight out of Ripples from Carcosa, required a bridge, and by the gods I was going to make one!

The question was which bridge? The answer is VillageWorks. That's right, I bought all of VillageWorks just for this bridge. But it's a beautiful bridge, complete with creepy totems and railings. With a little Photoshop work I switched out the red totem for the Yellow Sign and voila! I had a bridge that was suitably creepy and a perfect ambush point.

And oh yeah, it will help you build a village too: floors, buildings, and roofs of all varieties popular with medieval-style villages, hovels, huts, ponds, bogs, stalls, mills, fences, and wells. It also addresses a pet peeve of mine. Few adventurers actually battle it out in front of a building; most of the combat takes places inside, which renders three-dimensional cardboard models little more than window dressing. Fortunately, WorldWorks provides stackable second floor designs of various materials to fit inside the buildings. For the smaller buildings, maneuvering characters within the terrain is still a challenge, but this feature at least makes it feasible for combat to take place.

This is a superb set that's perfect for a dungeon master who needs to whip up a village…or creepy bridge ambush.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / VillageWorks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorksGames / CaveWorks
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/27/2011 19:58:53
I've always wondered how paper models could possibly take on natural formations. After all, the basics of paper models relies on angles and folds, and trees, boulders, and gently rolling hills don't lend themselves to this angular forms. Since many Dungeons & Dragons campaign lead to a dungeon crawl, this set should be useful.

This set is filled with interesting details, like disgusting straw beds, rusty mine carts laden with treasure, crystals, a waterfall, and even lava. It has a variety of walls and a means of raising each level to allow for different elevations. This is a lot of work, and while there's definitely value in a set of terrain you can throw away when you're done, if you're ever going to use the dungeon more than once you might want to consider saving for Dwarven Forge.

The challenge in using the set is that it works best as a backdrop. If the typical setup for a tabletop role-playing game is three players and a Dungeon Master sitting around a table in a rectangular formation, someone isn't going to be able to see a part of the dungeon. To play in a three-dimensional dungeon crawl you effectively have to be standing over the dungeon, which doesn't quite have the same three-dimensional effect. Alternately, you can remove one set of walls and seat the players all on that side. This is harder than it sounds, since dungeons in particular are twisty things and the odds are high that a figure will move behind a wall. The narrow tunnels, in particular, are just two squares wide, which makes them simply not feasible for play. A two dimensional set is more suited for dungeon crawling.

In the end I split the difference and used a combination of both – the WorldWorksGames set for larger caverns and eTiles for the passageways. This is an excellent set, but it's useful more for its accessories.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / CaveWorks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorksGames / InteriorWorks: Pubs & Inns
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2011 19:55:04
You've got to love a set that comes with a toilet.

WorldWorks simply can't be beat for three-dimensional paper models, and this set is no exception. It features everything you could need in an inn, from the bar to the barstools, from the bed to the nightstand. There's a fireplace, liquor cabinets, a stage complete with curtain, the requisite tables and chairs, and yes, a toilet. A very detailed toilet. Very. Very detailed.

I used this set for an attack in a pub, which is pretty much the only value of a set like this. Most miniatures are not in a seated position, nor do they take up a five-foot space. There's also a food tray that, if it's to scale, would be five-feet wide. This set is more for ambiance than anything else.

The tables are weighted in the center, which makes it difficult for the next likely action in a pub…the one that does not involve a toilet. Jumping up on a table isn't feasible with a weighted miniature on these tables.

Still, if you want to ambush your players while they're at a pub, start a bar brawl, or have them attacked while they use the toilet, this set can't be beat.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / InteriorWorks: Pubs & Inns
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorksGames / InteriorWorks: Pubs & Inns
by Christopher K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/25/2011 18:20:59
A solid product. This is the one that got me involved in 3d paper modeling to begin with. Great textures, very easy construction. If you've ever wanted to expand your tabletop gaming experience, this is the kit to start with!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorksGames / TerrainlinX / Mayhem DESTROYED!
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2011 15:38:00
Although they designed this set for modern times, the pieces that can be made can be used for any SciFi set as well. I plan on using this for and destroyed structure in either a wasteland type setting or in a futuristic planetary combat setting( I'm thinking Hammer's Slammers here.) A lot more vesatile set than Worldworks is describing because it is more than just Super Heroes or Car Wars or even WWII. And of course the terrainlinx system is great for storage and transport to game conventions too. Just don't try to build too much at a time or you may miss a few gaming sessions. Just build more between your gaming sessions.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / TerrainlinX / Mayhem DESTROYED!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorks Games / TITAN Control
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2011 15:19:09
Absolutely must have set for any Scifi Gamemaster. The parts assemble and unassemble so you can store them easily. Although time consuming to build, the atmosphere(no pun intended) for any SciFi game is absolutely astounding. Although you can build enough to create your own Imperial Star Cruiser (you may have to cut some 3"x3" squares in half to create triangular pieces), I recommend starting small or your players may leave you for another gm until you complete your pieces. You an always add more between games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorks Games / TITAN Control
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorksGames / Battle Packs / Battle Basics
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2011 15:10:22
These are great ideas to help your game along visually. The hit point markers has got to be one of the greatest ideas to stop bogging me down with checking off hit points on npcs and the blast zones really help stop player characthers from slowing the game by eliminating arguments of whether they received collaterl damage or not. Of course you may prefer to still do things th old fashioned way and save your $4.50 towards one of Worldworkds terrainlinks sets. I highly reccommend both though if you can afford it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / Battle Packs / Battle Basics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorksGames / Battle Packs / Battle Basics
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/12/2011 19:17:15
Very useful set of counters, for both roleplayers and wargamers. I particularly like the "blast templates" that can be postioned over figures - so easy I am surprised no one has done this before! The explosion and elemental templates will also come in quite handy. There is also a good selection of wound, experience and psychology counters. Probably the only thing I would have liked was more counters for common non-psychology states such as "bloodied" and "slowed". Overall, very good.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorksGames / Scenic Encounters / Literary Error
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/11/2011 16:04:37
If you're looking for 15 detailed 25mm standees of animated books (five colors of three designs) and a red imp familiar with a scalable 3rd level encounter, yes, this is it. The artwork is professional-grade quality. The tricky part is that the standees aren't as simple to cut out as, say, the Steve Jackson Games cardboard heroes. You'll have to cut along the exact edges of the drawing, rather than some quick-and-dirty cuts that leave in visible white areas. I hope the author revises this product to include a version of standees that are easier to assemble. The encounter is pretty standard (sorry, no spoilers!) though fun for an evil wizard's tower, and I appreciate the monster stat blocks and level scaling suggestions. However, greater variety of D&D monster stats that could be used with these cutouts and more encounters using them would have made this more attractive, as would an adventure for the D&D Boardgame. The standees are meant to be used with WorldWorks Games' Thoumont Rare Tomes and Books modelset. A suggested layout is included, and you could scale it 200% in size so you can use it as a 2D tile for the encounter.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / Scenic Encounters / Literary Error
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorksGames / SeaWorks: SkullCove
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/24/2010 13:52:36
Some dads have egos about fixing or buildings things, be it electrical, plumbing, or structural. Me? I get offended when I see a play set I think I can build with my bare hands, a color printer, and a little help from the Internet.

So when I came across a dinosaur play set retailing for over sixty bucks, I decided I could create something just as good. I searched for typical dinosaur settings: volcanoes, jungles, etc…and came up with nothing.

It turns out I had already purchased exactly what I needed in the form of WorldWorks Games' SeaWorks: The Legend of Skull Cove.

The Legend of Skull Cove is a modular tropical island construction set with over 197 unique items. At its heart is the innovative and unique system of cliffs, offering a variety of stairs, paths and levels. The cliffs can be used to model natural terrain, many feature built-in steps and platforms at the two and six-inch levels. They can be used to outline a bay, make a raging river canyon or volcanic crater. Designed for easy build-up and ruggedness, there are fourteen basic cliff modules, some offered in mirrored versions for flexibility. There's also a cliff-style arched portal as well as a volcano cliff with add-on cone and dress panels. Three backs are provided for maximum flexibility.

But there's much more to Skull Cove. The cliff steps alone are a feat of engineering, but they are just one fourth of what you get with the set. The original reason I bought it was because it came with a ship that I needed for a game over three years ago. Everything you'd need in a treasure island is here, complete with island and treasure. In addition to fun props like tentacles and shark fins, it has an entire series of docks, cranes, barrels, native idols and huts, a fort, several kinds of ships, and a variety of one-inch tiles for land, water, and even lava.

If you want a three-dimensional volcano, jungle cliffs, or pirate docks, there's really no competition here. This is the only set you'll ever need, and I've gotten so much use out of it that my three-year-old is reaping the benefits from my purchase years ago. Now his dinosaurs have an entire volcano to scale!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / SeaWorks: SkullCove
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Himmelveil Streets / WorldWorksGames / TerrainlinX
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2010 15:44:32
I haven't constructed any of this set yet, but the detail is just astounding.
(bought as part of the Pakistan Flood Appeal - nice one guys)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Himmelveil Streets / WorldWorksGames / TerrainlinX
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Himmelveil Canals / WorldWorksGames / TerrainlinX
by Maurice S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2010 01:33:53
This one was a real disappointment. It features the Terrainlinx system of WorldWorkGames, but once you've bought it you'll discover it is incomplete. It lacks the anchors to put your structures on the tiles. According to the designer this is because this set is essentially an expansion, something which is not mentioned in the description of this product.

Now, if you already have their sewer set, you have the anchors and this is not an issue. But if this will be your first set to check out TerrainlinX, think again.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Himmelveil Canals / WorldWorksGames / TerrainlinX
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WorldWorks Games / TerrainlinX / MAYHEM: Armoury #3 - Mayhem Under Construction TLX
by Brett R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2010 19:27:00
Purchased this product a few weeks back because of all the props i seen in it.

I was not disappointed, there are a ton of props in this kit that really add to the whole set.

The only thing that i would have like to have seen would have been a couple ground tiles that you would see at a construction site and a chain link or wooden fence that you could use to make the whole construction site not just a building under construction.


Over all I am quite happy, because I know eventually I will get the above items in a future addition.

Be it for Zombies horror, or heroes battling it out on a half finished sky scraper this is a really sharp kit that will bring it all to life for you.

I recommend this kit for your city builds.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorks Games / TerrainlinX / MAYHEM: Armoury #3 - Mayhem Under Construction TLX
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 507 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG