RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Operation: Burning Presidents
by Terry A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2015 13:39:46
This is a fairly straight forward adventure, though with plenty of opportunity to expand it beyond the actual mission. I found it to be an excellent introduction to the Covert Ops system, both for myself as gamemaster and for the players. It was complete enough that I didn't need to do any real prep work, but not so overly detailed as to get in the way when players wanted to do something unexpected.

It's an action oriented mission, and gives a good introduction to combat, sneaking, and other action-ish activities.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Operation: Burning Presidents
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 03 - Aliens
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2015 07:39:12
This is simply one of the best alien generators out there. It's reminiscent of the ACKS player guide with its standard, balance class-creation system, and you can really use it to make a class for any game or style that you want. Plus it's only a buck. This is a fantastic resource that you have to purchase if you're a fan of the OSR rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 03 - Aliens
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 04 - Skills
by William W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2015 18:21:41
Great product, adds a nice, simple and yet versatile skill system to the White Star RPG. I'm happy to have this product and can't wait to use it in my games. It really allows for a nice bit of versatility between characters. White Star is a rules lite game, but it is still nice to have a bit of differentiation between characters. Hyperspace Messenger 04 - Skills allows that while still keeping to the rules lite feel of the game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 04 - Skills
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 03 - Aliens
by William W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2015 11:36:26
I'm always on the lookout for more aliens for my Sci Fi games. If you are a fan of the newly released White Star RPG, then I'd say Hyperspace Messenger 03- Aliens is an Essential part of the game. It allows you to quickly and easily make up a plethora of aliens to use in your White Star games!
For a mere $1.00 you can greatly expand your White Star Campaigns!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 03 - Aliens
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 05 - Vehicles
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2015 08:16:14
...another solid offering from Bill Logan, this PDF delivers a vehicle stat system with a number of examples that can be customized. This PDF begs for a sequel detailing a vehicle-mech-starship unified construction system with even more extras.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 05 - Vehicles
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 03 - Aliens
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2015 12:16:55
http://dieheart.net/hyperspace-messenger-1-3/
-----------

This is a totally fun supplement: it allows you to create random alien races! I really love the idea because randomness is a large part of old school gaming, at least for me.
While the result may not a totally balanced new race, it’s definitely an amusing way to roll up a new alien race. Mr. Logan took some balancing issues into consideration, but it’s mostly a rough estimate. Nonetheless, if you have lots of special abilities, the XP requirements for leveling up are much higher and your max level is capped earlier.
Tables to roll on include things like native conditions, mode of transport (i.e. slither or crawl), senses, reproduction (i.e. cellular division or self-fertilizing egg), special abilities (battle rage, depth sense etc.) and many more.
There are examples of complete races included, so that’s a nice addon.
Like the previous supplements, this is a visually clear looking product with pretty illustrations.
It’s a great steal for USD $1.00 and a lot of fun. If you want some more diversity in your game, Issue 3 adds a nice template for new races. Additionally, you could use this framework as a base to create your own classes, too.

Regarding all supplements: While none of these products are really necessary to enjoy a White Star game, they add some fine value. The production quality is pretty high with a straight-forward layout, interesting ideas, and great illustrations.
I’m pretty impressed with Hyperspace Messenger. Bill Logan clearly has a passion for this game. While writing this review, Issue 4 – Skills was released and I’m positive that it is also a good supplement.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 03 - Aliens
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 02 - Robots
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2015 12:12:15
http://dieheart.net/hyperspace-messenger-1-3/
----

Here you’ll get more bang for your buck, the page count goes up to 16 with 12 pages of actual content, so double the size of issue 1.
This issue looks at robots at detail and is mostly useful for the GM to create NPCs. White Star provides some guidelines for PC robots, but this supplement gives you a lot more information about other types of robots. The author explains a list of standard immunities like dehydration or mind control (robots don’t need to drink and can’t be mind-controlled with Gifts or Meditations). Then there is a list of equipment and advanced equipment.
The meat of the show is the 9 different robot types: from Astro-tech Bots to War Bots. These cover a wide range and provide great utility.
For example, I can instantly see use for Security Bots which come in three variants: Civilian-Grade, Security-Grade or Military-Grade. Protocol and Astro-tech Bots are the standard staple for Star-Wars-themed games. But also Seeker Bots or Medical Bots might be interesting for your campaign.
Visually, the supplement is also nicely put together: every new Bot has an illustration.
Overall, this is a very good supplement and totally recommended if you’re interested in robots.

Regarding all supplements: While none of these products are really necessary to enjoy a White Star game, they add some fine value. The production quality is pretty high with a straight-forward layout, interesting ideas, and great illustrations.
I’m pretty impressed with Hyperspace Messenger. Bill Logan clearly has a passion for this game. While writing this review, Issue 4 – Skills was released and I’m positive that it is also a good supplement.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 02 - Robots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 01 - Stunners
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2015 12:11:04
http://dieheart.net/hyperspace-messenger-1-3/
-----------

The PDF is 10 pages with 6 pages of actual content (the rest is cover, OGL etc.).
The premier issue deals with stun damage, new weapons and new defenses. I like what I see in here. Stun doesn’t cause hit point damage, instead you need to make a Saving Throw. If the victim fails, he’ll be unconscious. I like how easy and neat this mechanic is, it’s painless to implement into your White Star game. There are some ideas about ST modifiers and different stun types (electrical stun and sonic stun).
The short supplement includes six new weapons, for example, the Electro-Stunner or the Stunnades (stun grenades). Furthermore, there are two new defenses, the Harmonic Armor, and an Electro-Shunt Implant.
The writing is clear and precise, the layout and font are no-frills and easy to read. There are really great black and white illustrations of the new items.
All in all, a very nice add-on for your game. The price of USD $ 1.00 is ok although I wish for a tad more content than six pages.

Regarding all supplements: While none of these products are really necessary to enjoy a White Star game, they add some fine value. The production quality is pretty high with a straight-forward layout, interesting ideas, and great illustrations.
I’m pretty impressed with Hyperspace Messenger. Bill Logan clearly has a passion for this game. While writing this review, Issue 4 – Skills was released and I’m positive that it is also a good supplement.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 01 - Stunners
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 04 - Skills
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2015 09:33:10
I've been a huge fan of Bill Logan's contributions to the RPG hobby since he remastered Star Froniers about a decade ago. This PDF is an example of why. The title is deceptive, or rather modest. These twelve pages offer far more than a skills system for White Star. What we have is: a skills system [34 skills; 2 per character, with a +1 on a roll over d20 roll], a martial arts system [new randomly rolled moves per level] and an expert class. Bill has been pumping these Hyperspace Messengers out about once a week. So far, I have not been disappointed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 04 - Skills
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 03 - Aliens
by Russell D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2015 08:23:03
Aliens is all about creating new “race as class” Alien types tailored for your campaign (or completely made at random.) The first chunk of the supplement is an easy step-by-step guide to cherry pick or randomly roll up features and characteristics of the new alien race. When it’s all wrapped up, you tally up XP value based on the results. This is what it takes to reach level 2 for the character, and each level after doubles that value. Easy peasy.

But he doesn’t stop there — He then presents 5 sample alien classes, each one with a full page write up and full colored artwork by the incredibly awesome Khairul Hisham.

Pros: A really fun, random, old-school style method of generating new and unique alien races to populate your game. Once again, good layout and the artwork rocks.

Quibbles: The overwhelming sense of guilt I have for only paying a buck for this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 03 - Aliens
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Covert Ops - Shadow Directorate
by William V. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 11:54:31
A very sold add-on for the Covert Ops system, and especially useful for GMs who may not want to create their own agency. It also makes a great template for those who want to branch out and give Covert Ops their own specific setting flavor.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Covert Ops - Shadow Directorate
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Covert Ops Role Playing Game
by William V. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 11:50:24
This is a great system IF you're wanting to run wide-open espionage games in the style of James Bond or Matt Bourne. If you're looking for more gritty stuff, Covert Ops doesn't really fit the bill. That's fine, of course, but players and GMs need to be aware of the differences.

I found these rules to be especially suited for a Mission: Impossible or Bourne style of game; something where there's a lot of very fluid action and a character's cover identity isn't intended to last more than a few seconds. If you're aiming for a game in the style of the movie Ronin or the like, you may have trouble making these rules work in a satisfactory way. I'm also not a fan of character archetypes of the sort used here, although they do make for fairly quick character creation and fit in well with a Mission: Impossible type of game. The "Bones" system for altering rolls and some game outcomes is quite useful...something that I think is needed in any modern system without magic.

In short - good game if you're looking for something fast-paced and fluid. Not so good if you're looking for something in the vein of the original Top Secret rules. It's also not as elegant as the James Bond RPG system, but a big step above Top Secret/SI.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Covert Ops Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 02 - Robots
by Russell D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2015 10:33:42
This product is definitely beefier than Issue 1. This isn't a supplement geared towards PC Robots -- it's given those are a cut above the rest of the machines kicking around the universe. Instead, we're given a solid collection of generic robots for you to grab at a moment's notice. The artwork is charming but not distracting; the layout is clean and sharp. We're presented with 10 new scanner options for robots, and 9 robot archetypes with full NPC blocks ready for use. Each write up also lists protocols for robot behavior. In a sense, this pretty much a miniature "monster manual" specifically for robots.

Definitely $1 worthy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 02 - Robots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 01 - Stunners
by Russell D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2015 10:24:17
Short, sweet, to the point. It's a handy rules add-on -- honestly I may even adopt it in my other OSR games. I've always juggled "subdued" hit point damage (how much of that was bashing? How much of that was lethal?) so this is a nice streamlined option. This easily could have been a blog-posted homebrew somewhere -- but the buck you spend delivers it in a nicely edited, laid-out PDF with some pleasing graphics that'll look sharp either printed out or on a mobile device.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 01 - Stunners
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Jeff C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2015 04:12:41
I'm very happy with the pdf version of this game and am also anxiously awaiting my printed copy. There have been many other reviews of this game that cover the basics, so I won't repeat it all again here. This is my first real "Lite" fantasy rpg. I've played hundreds of the other kind. I was introduced to DwD by my interest in Covert Ops. I noticed it was basically the same system and said, "Wow. It's like old RoleMaster without all the serious complications." It also reminds me of the old Warhammer FRP that my friends and I played for months on end back in high school.

I admire what DwD is doing with this game. Compared to most, it is extremely open to new ideas and very expandable. Right now, I think the one thing this game needs more than anything is a monster manual, beastiary, creature compendium, or whatever you want to call it. More monsters, darnit! I would also like to see some different spinoff settings and campaigns. A Barebones rendition of Oriental Adventures would be outstanding.

The other thing I love about this game is the incredible amount of support this game has from the company in one form or another. The authors regularly contribute to the forums. The gaming license for this is very open and inviting and I think it is unbelievably cool that the authors are asking for such a high level of contributions.

Keep up the good work!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 109 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG