RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2014 21:49:27
Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!

Product- BareBones Fantasy

Producer- DwD Studios

Price- $10 Here as PDF

TL;DR- Rules lite, press your luck fun. 93%



Mechanics- BareBones Fantasy is a d100 extremely rules light RPG. Let's give this system a full run down.



Character Creation- Each player has four stats: strength, dexterity, wisdom, and logic that range from 35 to 100. Players also choose a primary and a secondary class that ranges from clerics, fighters, scouts, wizards, thief or others. Each class has an associated stat that is equal to the base stat divided by two. You add extra to your primary class and a little less to your secondary classes as this represents some additional training of your character. In addition, each player adds extra to one class that is chosen as their first rank or level. Even if a player doesn't choose fighter, scout, or thief, you calculate the scores for those classes as they serve as the default for several skills like attacking, perception, or stealth, respectively. Spell casters also get to choose spells. The system also has some built in role-playing mechanics with descriptors that provide opportunities for role-playing with experience benefits and moral code to help a player consider how their character would react in each different situation.



Dice Mechanics and Skills- This games dice mechanics is a mixture of push your luck and running a race by yourself. Each turn a player gets two free actions: a move and an action. The action ranges from looking for traps to attacking. To do any action, a player tries to roll under either the class skill or ability stat with a d100. While a character may get some penalties from attacking some enemies, the roll is largely dependent on the characters stats hence running a race against yourself. To move further than their normal movement, the character tried to roll under their dexterity score. To attack with a sword, a player rolls under their warrior-melee score. To defend against this attack, a character or monster would roll under their strength or dexterity score. The push your luck aspect comes from how many actions you want to perform each turn. After the first free action each turn, a character may perform as many actions as they want, but each action adds a -20% modifier to the characters score. Thus if a character had a warrior score of 70%, for first attack in the round, the player would need under a 70% to hit, the second, 50%, third, 30%, and fourth, 10%. This presents and interesting press your luck aspect of this RPG. Also, a factor to keep in mind, dodging is an action you talk off turn, so, if you want to dodge after that third attack from above, you would have a -60% to your skill since it would be your fourth action that turn! Does your character think they can kill that dragon this turn with that fourth attack, or, should that character just save up some actions to dodge? I love how this makes players think and choose! Additional, some other aspects cause penalties like cover or disadvantage conditions that halves the score you must roll under.



Damage and Armor- The system only uses D10's. Weapon damage is all d10 based. Short bow? 2d10 +1. Longbow? 2d10 +3. The interesting aspect of this game is all weapons are useable by all classes, but if your strength is too low, you lose one of the d10's with that weapon. For a longbow, if your strength is less than a 65, the longbow only does d10+3. On the other side of damage, armor doesn't add to your defense value, it subtracts from damage. Also, since the system is largely classless, every character can wear all the armor types. An elf wizard can wear full plate armor, however, if a character does not have a high enough strength score, then that character can't move as far and can't cast spells. Man do I love more choice and freedom!



Spells-It wouldn't be fantasy without spells. Clerics, wizards, and enchanters all get access to spells. A character gets to cast as many spells as they choose following the rules for attacks with increasing penalties for each spell cast after the first. Each rank in the spell casting class provides gives increasing penalties to defend against the spell.



My thoughts- I really like this system. It reminds me of old school DnD and Numenera. It's more rules heavy then Numenera but extremely rules light. It takes 10 minutes to build a character even for four completely new players who have never even heard of the system before. The push your luck aspect of the game is something new in an RPG. I really enjoy the breath of fresh air that brings even at low levels. It's not perfect as the class that does negotiations isn't a base classes so technically no one can do diplomacy until they have at least one rank in that class. But the system is easy to play and easy to DM, perfect for a rules light RPG. 4.5/5



Theme- Its fantasy. The base book is pretty easy to read, and has a bit of story and world. I wouldn't call it an epic setup for a world as its less than 10 pages, but I would put it above the Pathfinder base book. It gives you ideas how to play and set up your worlds. It does describe its own world, but that is a few pages. It's an interesting world that gets fully fleshed out in the setting book for the system. 4.5/5



Execution-Let's be honest, I bought this RPG for one reason-Its shaped like a comic book graphic novel. There, I said it. If you picked up the Rat Queens graphic novel and this book, you would be hard pressed to tell the difference. This system was designed to be rules light and weight light. Each book for this system is a quick, easy read that fits in standard comic book bag. I LOVE this. The outside of the book give this system an attraction that your standard Paizo/WotC books don't have any more. Paizo/DnD hardcovers are not bad, but, they are something that every system copies. DwD Studios went a completely different direction and that really drew me in. Inside the book is well written, easy to skim, and well designed. If you get the PDF's you get AWESOME character generation pages. You honestly DON'T need the book to make a standard character with the quick rules summaries you get. For a group starting out with one copy of the book, that's wonderful and will encourage the group to play a lot and get more books. 5/5



Summary-If you want a really simple, rules light RPG that comes out of left field, you can't go wrong with this one. As a GM, I loved running this. This system has few if any fiddly bits for an old school RPG. My players loved the quick nature of this game as well as pushing their luck to the very limit. In one game, I had a wizard try to cast a spell when she could only succeed on 9 or less. That is pure fun. The whole system's cheap, and I met with the people who created the game. They are great, local guys who are making an excellent product. If you are looking for a quick game this weekend and want a new product to fill a void, give this a whirl. I've liked what I've seen and I can't wait to see what's next. 93%

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Decahedron Magazine #1
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2014 12:32:56
For a free zine, and even for a zine in general, this is so good. It is obviously a labor of love. I plan to follow the series and keep on downloading as long as they let me.
The concentration is on the BareBones Fantasy game, but I hope future issues will have material for all of the D 00 Lite games. What is in there is pretty awesome, and there is plenty. A new power, a new PC race, and an adventure complete with the monster stats as far as you can need them.

Thanks for a good game and terrific support.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Decahedron Magazine #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BareBones Fantasy Spell Reference Cards
by Marcus B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2014 04:47:58
This week finally saw a new release from the DWD Studio Folks. A small accessory for all the BareBones Spellcasters out there. I can´t comment on the physical properties of the cards as I only have the PDF.

I am fond of cards for spells and abilities since the first sets of spellcards appeared on Drivethrough back when the DnD OGL was new. I always found these a great aid at the table and this is no different. It has each spell from BBF on a separate card with the full text from the book. It is really easy to create your own Spellbook out of the PDF if you do not have the physical cards like me.
The set also contains one card for each of the spellcasting skills. Not as useful as the spellcards in my view but a good addition nonetheless and a practical handout to give to a player if they do not have the rulebook.

But this is not only a rehash of already available material, the deck also contains two totally new spells and one spell that was previously only published in Decahedron, the D00lite Fanzine, plus one entirely new spellcaster skill, the Elementalist.

The two new spells fill a gap in the already available powers that I did miss from the original BBF release. The first is the mind control spell “Dominion” and the second one is “Conjure”, a spell to call forth mundane items. And finally, “Commune”, as the name suggests a spell to communicate. Not only with the living but also with the dead. While the last one was available from the magazine already, it is nice to have all official spells in one place.

The new skill “Elementalist” is again a strongly themed skill with interesting abilities that make it a worthwhile addition to the available skills and not a mere extra skill for an extra skill sake.
While the price for the card deck plus PDF of 6,99 USD is very reasonable, I feel 5,99 USD for the PDF only is a bit steep. But if shipping is no issue for you, simply go for the great valued 6,99 USD Card and PDF Bundle. I now regret I did not go for that immediately, even though I would have had to pay extra shipping. Live and learn.

No matter if you are a BBF DM or player, this set of cards will be useful for you, as it allows for quick reference during play without the need to crack open the Rulebook. Recommended.

*Originally posted on http://www.chaotic-gm.com*

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Spell Reference Cards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Of Towns and Heroes
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2014 20:51:27
I bought this a few weeks ago (I've made a commitment to buying all the Barebones Fantasy stuff I can afford) but didn't get around to reading it until this weekend. It an amazing resource for GMs looking for easy to use inspirations for town encounters. What I love is the art work showing villiage plans scattered throughout. Even those alone give me ideas for adventures. More supplements please!!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Of Towns and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Decahedron Magazine #2
by Jim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2014 00:53:38
I don't play Barebones RPG but was curious nonetheless. I was pleasantly surprised by what I found.

The cover is first rate and really drew me into the interior. I have a couple of blank pages so I don't know exactly what I missed but most of the articles offer something even for an old-schooler like myself. The most useful bits for me are the village map and the Hamlet of Gnawbone. I can always use a new village and don't always have time to create one. Keep up the good work.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Decahedron Magazine #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Of Towns and Heroes
by Marcus B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2014 16:23:34
How useful this book is depends on what your games focus is. As the title suggests this is only useful if your fantasy campaign features cities or towns. I have not read all of it yet, I believe it would be counterproductive to do so. There are 100 entries which color a city or town. They range from NPC encounters to catastrophic events. Some are roleplaying encounters, other very much a war in the making, others funny. There are a ton of great ideas in there. There was nothing on my first skim through that stood out as bad. I think they under market it a bit. Because essentially these are 100 quests that can happen in a town. There are no stats of course but just enough information to get the ball rolling quickly and they are generic enough to not interfere with the established world order of your campaign. I highly recommend it! But if you are a person that is very well prepped and does not need random interference in the story line this will be pretty useless to you except may be the 10 city maps. Others charge this kind of money for the maps alone, so it could be bargain for you if you need some neat maps for small towns.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Of Towns and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2014 23:27:05
If you have read the other reviews, you have a pretty good picture of what this game is. It is a simple, easily understandable system. The rules are basically percentage based, so you know exactly what your odds going into any task. The game states one of the best things ever said to a novice role playing gamer: Go to a local shop, find a group, and learn there how to play rpgs, then come back and play BareBones Fantasy. With an awesome beginners' game right here on my desk, And every other game I have ever downloaded or bought, clear back to the red and blue boxes of yore have all the chapters about what a role playing game is and how you play, so the choice to omit these obligatory chapters is a bold, but sensible one.

Rules light, with an old school feel in the right places, tis is a really great game.

The touches about the setting are light enough that you could use them or drop them as you see fit. The races are limited to the basic four of every fantasy game, but like the setting, have an expansion to cover much more information. There are also new rules and new ideas in the free Decahedron magazine which is slated as a quarterly release support. Play by the core book or expand it with the Flesh and Blood and Kerenak Kingdoms books, either or both or neither one, and you will be fine.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Covert Ops - GMs Screen Print & Play
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2014 23:09:15
Very nicely laid out, the tables grouped sensibly, and in the landscape format. What more could you ask for.

A great accessory to a great looking game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Covert Ops - GMs Screen Print & Play
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Of Towns and Heroes
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2014 10:40:23
Of Towns and Heroes is a collection of 100 different in-town plot hooks to help Game Masters throw together adventures on the fly. Each entry has a lot of detail, and new hooks and ideas can easily be extracted from the summaries provided. Of particular usefulness are the town maps interspersed throughout the document. Not only do they look nice, but they are also not labeled so they can be dropped into nearly any fantasy campaign. And while this is originally intended for the BareBones Fantasy RPG rules, it can be applied to nearly any fantasy game system without trouble.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Of Towns and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Of Towns and Heroes
by Bruce P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2014 16:33:14
"Of Towns and Heroes" has a plethora of great ideas to get your player characters invested. As a "book of ideas" it excels. However, the downside is that the editing is quite poor. There are grammatical errors unchecked on almost every page, and the syntax is scrambled and unclear in many of the excerpts. I really encourage the author/s of this book to go back and get someone with editorial expertise to do another pass. It's worth it, because the ideas are so good!

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Decahedron Magazine #2
by Thane S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2014 16:37:29
It looks cool, but every time I tried to download it, the file was only like 9Kb and wouldn't open.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Decahedron Magazine #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Of Towns and Heroes
by Brian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2014 09:00:31
Has your normal GM suddenly cancelled out for the night's game? Are you a GM that has a few of your players missing for the night and
want to do a side trek for this weeks game? Perhaps you were extra busy this week and didn't get much prep time and need an quick idea for tonight's game? How about an introductory adventure to get the campaign going?

How many of you GM's out there have asked "Another town, how can I make this one exciting?" or "I need something to bring all the PC's together, to start my new campaign"

DwD's "Of Towns and Heroes" is your answer!

In this handy little supplement for BareBones Fantasy or any fantasy game is 100 ideas and plot hooks for a nights adventure or could be the start of
something bigger. You can roll a d100 or simply choose something you like. There are 10 detailed maps to go along these adventure hooks that you can plop anywhere in your campaign world.

Here is just a partial example to give you an idea of the goodies in this book. "As the heroes walk through town, a silhouette blots out the
sun. Everyone looks up to see a wyvern carrying a maiden in its claws fly by, heading towards a nearby mountain. A large key drops from the maiden and lands imbedded in the cobblestones by a hero. Dare they head into the mountains to face a wyvern and its foul master to save the maiden?......."

The book is designed to help out a GM with their adventures. You might get a one night sidetrek, a mini campaign, a new home town for your PC's or a full blown campaign out of this book. You certainly will get a fun adventure!

I highly recommend this gaming aid to all GM's out there!

Now if you will excuse me, I have a wyvern to kill and a beautiful maiden to rescue.....

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Of Towns and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Of Towns and Heroes
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/18/2014 07:28:44
Are you running out of ideas for how to make the townships the party visits in the course of their adventures interesting?

This may provide the answer, being an hundred little ideas for events and side-adventures that can happen within whatever settlement the characters are in at the time. Each situation is applicable to any fantasy game, not just BareBones Fantasy - the upside of this is you can make use of this supplement whatever game you run, the downside is that you will have to develop any necessary NPC/monster stats or other game mechanics required (indeed, you will even if you are playing BareBones Fantasy....).

Some of the adventures suggested will occupy mere moments, others have the potential to develop into full-blown adventures in their own right, if not into whole campaigns... or at least, events whose ramifications haunt the party for years to come, at least whenever they visit that particular settlement again.

Interspersed with the adventure ideas are some charming 'hand-drawn' sketches of town layouts. You could make use of these for the various settlements visited, if you like.

Overall, if urban adventuring is not the main thrust of your game, this could prove very useful in ensuring that visits to towns are never boring. On the other hand, if you want to develop city-based adventuring more, this should kick-start your ideas and help you develop this aspect of your plotting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Star Frontiersman #24
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2014 18:52:45
A really neat magazine for a really neat blast from the past.
There is a lot to love in this issue. The crazy awesome architecture on the cover is a taste, but the stuff inside is great!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Frontiersman #24
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Operation: Burning Presidents
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/10/2014 10:23:46
This is a classic adventure for federal agents operating within the continental US: a missing agent, a drug facilitiy and a bunch of militia who have uses other than fertilising their land for ammonium nitrate. Yet it is filled with twists, little nuggets and extra options that take it out of a one-liner in your plot notebook to be a full-blown scenario in its own right.

There are nice clear maps of important locations, with GM and player versions; stat blocks for everyone they will encounter, and assorted suggestions and different options to enable you to cope with whatever the party decides to do.

It is straightforward enough to play in a single session with minimal GM preparation required - just reading it through would suffice - and yet ends up with, should the characters be successful, with that warm feeling that results from having saved the world, again.

Neat, complete, just the thing to keep to hand for when you need a game and don't have time to prepare it, or use as a side-adventure within a more plot-driven campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Operation: Burning Presidents
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 89 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG