RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Verlagsinfos









Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
Beasts and Barbarians: Tricarnia Map
von Michael J. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/24/2015 12:57:50
the map is more of a chart really. It shows no distances, but does show drawings of what is in each area, if not how long to travel from one to another.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Beasts and Barbarians: Tricarnia Map
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Nemezis - Optional Wealth rules.
von Michael T. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/10/2015 11:35:27
WHY REVIEW A FREE PRODUCT?
It will still cost you some time to read and some ink to print if you choose. I'd like to know if it's worth it and I thought someone else might as well. I will not hesitate to spoil the adventure (SPOILER ALERT).

PHYSICAL PRODUCT
This is a 7 page PDF with a blue background on every page. It is not very printer friendly. It has three good character illustrations and a very readable font, but the background required good lighting to read on my phone.

INTRODUCTION
I've never understood the complaint that money was hard to keep track of in RPGs, but since I'm currently using a game that doesn't have money (Barbarians of Lemuria) I thought I'd look into rules for managing wealth without counting coins.

This appears to be a single chapter from a larger Savage Worlds product. It's definitely complete, but it assumes a science fiction space faring setting. This doesn't detract from its usefulness in any way, but couldn’t be used for a fantasy setting without some serial number filing.

DESCRIPTION
It starts by redefining wealth and poverty advantages and disadvantages, from homeless to Bruce Wayne and modifying the existing (presumably) Edges as well. Then it shows a system for making Purchase Rolls emphasizing that they are only used for 'important' (i.e., game affecting) purchases. It gives rules for multiple purchases ("I'll take battle suits for everyone!") and haggling.

It also talks about going into debt, the effect of savings and gives a nice set of rules for Purchase Modifiers depending on the object, including its availability,

The only things it doesn’t cover are the two common problems with wealth in a campaign - loans and what to do when PCs have too much money. These are easy to fix myself (you can only loan from Savings and...I'm GM I can steal from PCs whenever I want). But that's about all I can think of that isn't covered.

As an added bonus it also gives a system for Employment, in a way that assumes you are adventurers who will occasionally take a break from working to go adventuring. It then deals with a random employment events that can improve or hurt your career. This was a totally unexpected bonus and really well done.

Unfortunately it uses playing cards, so it will have to house ruled if you're not using Savage Worlds, but that's my problem - not the authors.

OVERALL
This is quite simply the best treatment I've ever seen for wealth without accounting! This is in fact my new rule set. Not only is it excellently written it accounts for almost everything I thought I'd be 'giving up' by losing the coins.

SHOULD I CHECK OUT THEIR OTHER PRODUCTS?
I don't really have any need myself - I have space games and I'm not a fan of Savage Worlds.

But if this is an indication of the quality of their writing and the smartness of their game design I'd definitely check out there other stuff.

I'm often disappointed with 'free stuff' but this one is exactly what I needed, only what I wanted and had clever additions I've never thought of. Rules don't get better than that at any price.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Nemezis - Optional Wealth rules.
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Voodoo Pirates
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 05/22/2015 14:44:30
I'm a sucker for swashbucklers. I finally decided to purchase this PDF with the release of the next in the series No Happy Endings. I really like the trajectory of the Adventures! releases. For Voodoo Pirates, my big question was: could I use this to run a Zorro game? To my surprise, one of the pregen characters is named Alejandro de la Vega.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Voodoo Pirates
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

No Happy Endings
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 05/22/2015 14:37:53
Adventure! really is a game in two pages, and each addition adds useful and imaginative stuff, including this one. I bought it for the prospect of anthropomorphic characters. I would like to see GRAMel continue the release schedule for Adventure! set with the last two quality products: about one a month. I'd like to see both Old West and "Wagon Train to the Stars" settings, as well as Kaiju and mecha-anime settings. The price is right for this series of PDFs, and printing is ink-friendly.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
No Happy Endings
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Beasts & Barbarians Heroic Tale #1: The Cliffs Queen�s Court
von Michael T. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 05/21/2015 12:51:57
WHY REVIEW A FREE PRODUCT?
It will still cost you some time to read and some ink to print if you choose. I'd like to know if it's worth it and I thought someone else might as well. I will not hesitate to spoil the adventure (SPOILER ALERT).

PHYSICAL PRODUCT
This is an 8 page PDF. It is heavily illustrated and all the pages have a thick black border and a light grey background that makes it very ink-thirsty and makes it slow to load and paginate as a PDF.

INTRODUCTION
This is a product for the Beasts & Barbarians RPG. Since I'm currently interested in scenarios for Barbarians of Lemuria I thought there might be enough similarity to be worth checking out. Since it's "Heroic Tale #1" I thought I'd start here. For some reason it says its for "Savage Worlds". I don't know if that means that "Beasts & Barbarians" is really a "Savage Worlds" game or if this is just a 'crossover' product. Apparently B&B is a Savage World setting. I did not know that. Glad I didn't buy it!

DESCRIPTION
Well the introduction starts out with spelling mistakes and GM's fiat by saying that your party has already lost a fight with a gang of marauders while travelling in a caravan. Plus they've automatically killed the marauding chief's son! Our heroes then decide to escape by riding away towards a cliff. Then there is a fight that the PCs better win! When they hear a larger group coming after them they decide to climb down the cliff.

Well if you thought the beginning of the adventure was railroady, wait till you see the rest! The players wind up in a cave surrounded by beautiful women who only want to feed them, love them and given the rest. What could possibly go wrong? While it's certainly a setup that many fictional characters would fall for, it's a little tough sell for player characters. You're generally just going to have to convince players to 'play along' for the purposes of the story on this one.

After being drugged, the PCs are magically compelled to join a dance - which will kill them if they don't break out of it and start attacking the girls. Of course, killing the leader triggers and earthquake that will bring the entire dungeon down on their heads so they need to have a chase through the dungeon. Which is a little irritating considering that there is no map.

Luckily the chase passes through a Treasure Room.

Once they escape the dungeon collapses, thus ending the threat to the area. The threat that is only discoverable by people who climb down a treacherous cliff and fall for a bevy of hotties.

Stats are given for a Marauder, the Witch/Demon and a Courtesan.

The last page is picture of two other adventure's covers and the Player's Guide cover.

OVERALL
Well. This adventure is pretty ridiculous. It does fit the genre, making no sense but having enough action to just keep it moving. I have a hard time believing real players will go along with it. It is after all, throw them into an obvious trap, hope they win a bunch of fights and then have them try to run out of the trap before it falls on them. Of course, it seems presumed in the adventure that they can take as much time getting out of the dungeon before it collapses as they want. What happens if players call that bluff? What happens if players call all the bluffs in this adventure? If they are beaten in the fight at the cliff?

All in all this doesn't have much to recommend it besides being free. Without a map the logistics of this adventure are going to be tricky and the text itself doesn't help much. That said I'll probably try to do the work needed to make it work - mostly because I like one of the key set pieces being that the players have to try to seduce the Witch.

I like the idea of watching the players squirm as they act this delicate bit of roleplaying out.

Hopefully the players will get the message that all beautiful women are evil.

Of course, if they just start hacking at them all the minute they walk in that will work too.

SHOULD I CHECK OUT THEIR OTHER PRODUCTS?
I'm going to say no, but the truth is I WILL check out the other products. It's a goofy premise that will take a lot of work to make even playable, but for a free product, one goofy idea is enough for me. It could REALLY use at least a map though.

Wertung:
[1 von 5 Sternen!]
Beasts & Barbarians Heroic Tale #1:  The Cliffs  Queen�s Court
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Beasts & Barbarians Golden Edition
von Paxton K. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 02/11/2015 12:06:03
I really wanted a Savage Worlds barbarian setting. This covers it; but except for some new Edges and hindrances, falls flat.

Wertung:
[3 von 5 Sternen!]
Beasts & Barbarians Golden Edition
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Adventurers! The Dungeon
von Luca C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 02/03/2015 03:07:21
With this expansion Adventurers! becomes even more exciting and complete; I think
this is one of the best (not to say just the best) mini-rpg you can get.
Two pages for GM and 2 pages for Players may seem little but the Author was able
to create something that can give you a full wonderful rpg experience in very little time.
I think this is perfect expecially when you like to go fast to the "action" and not spending
whole game-evenings just to learn rules and go through gargantuan amounts of tables, rules
exceptions usw...

Adventurers! gives you a full but fast and easy to grasp gaming happiness and it is also fully
customizable to perfectly meet every gamers needs.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Adventurers! The Dungeon
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

The Dawn of Tomorrow
von Matt N. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 11/06/2014 15:46:18
I'm really enjoying the Adventurers! Easy and fast. It suits me as a very basic rule set in a game that I want to be more about role playing. It exceeds my expectations for a $2, 2 page rpg. The Dawn of Tomorrow is another good genre for Adventurers! Well worth another $2 if you are into PA. I'm playing with my 9 year old son. We've combined The Dungeon and The Dawn of Tomorrow for our own sort of Adventure Time rpg. Mostly dungeons and wizards with a little future tech and post apocalypse.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
The Dawn of Tomorrow
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Jalizar, City of Thieves
von Gonzalo D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 11/05/2014 10:58:05
Jalizar, the City of the Thieves is an interesting micro-setting where heroes can live exciting and dangerous adventures. Fast, fun and furious… Oh yes!

Factions, inhabitants, city neighbourhoods and a lot of adventure seeds ready to explore and/or expand. This book gives you setting rules in order to run an urban style campaign, and specific mechanics to manage some kind of situations, as roof chases for instance…

The info is very consistent and you can add, remove or change info easily in order to set the mood or style you need. As GM, I am very satisfied with this book because I can run a game or a campaign without spending a lot of time preparing it or I can add more and more details if I want to spend some time on it.

My players are mercenary adventurers spending some time in Jalizar, and the merchant houses, guilds and another factions give me a lot of play. And Jalizar is… Misterious, dangerous and so cruel…

I love the ambushes in foggy alleys but maybe my players don’t feel the same LOL

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Jalizar, City of Thieves
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Moonless Night Over Grimdell
von Gonzalo D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/28/2014 04:24:40
Dim light ambients, twisted guards, silent kills (or not too silent maybe LOL), evil Lotus Master and a shocking intro for the heroes… Moonless over Grimdell is an one-session adventure for Beasts and Barbarians setting but you can set it on almost any setting.

MNoG gives to your heroes an infiltration situation with very simple directions but offering several ways to accomplish the mission, two entry routes first, and full freedom once in the castle. The plot is very very simple, but you will enjoy a good game session running this adventure.

The plot counts with an interesting twist but I can’t tell about it. It is a little surprise.

MNoG uses some Savage Worlds good points getting interesting and fast situations. Detection tokens, Dramatic Tasks, Social Conflict, Fatigue...

You get 9 pages for the adventure and 3 for stat blocks and no maps. Author claims that it is not necessary because of the little size of the castle. That is true, and MNoG gives you descriptions for all connections between locations but if you want to play using miniatures you could miss some battle maps.

I tweaked some little aspects of MNoG because I’m running B&B on my own setting and I made some battle maps. The experience was very exciting and my players an me enjoyed MNoG a lot.

If you are looking for a classic but yet interesting plot, you can consider Moonless Night Over Grimdell.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Moonless Night Over Grimdell
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Adventurers! The Dungeon
von Mark H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/04/2014 04:05:47
Excellent addition to the Adventurers! line. I really like the campaign building tools for strongholds and character companies. The company rules greatly enhance the teamwork aspect of the group.

Rules lite, but enough to maintain consistency and make for good gaming. Loving it, and cannot wait to see their next release. I'm hoping for something with rules for ships and naval combat ...

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Adventurers! The Dungeon
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Adventurers! The Dungeon
von Krzysztof B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/01/2014 14:48:21
Once more Umberto proofs himself a worthy worldcrafter and, in this case even more, a mechanics builder. I'm truly astonished and amazed by The Dungeon - this rules for traps, treasures, new skills or advanced mechanics of weapons and armours are simple, easy to learn yet coherent and fun to use. Author also teaches about the sole idea of dungeon crawling - with clear, simple words I feel richer in knowledge. The oldschool ways in modern form at it's finest. The Dungeon completes me as a Adventurers! Gamemaster and Player.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Nemezis - Web of Intrigue
von Eric L. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/28/2014 23:04:31
For several reasons I will not explain here I've almost completely converted to the digital format for my rpg needs. I can't thank you enough for the layout of this pdf. Most monitors are widescreen nowadays and having a pdf that is in the landscape format makes a lot of sense. Every page fits perfectly on my screen. The layout is clean and easy on the eye.

The pricing is great. I see some adventures on here with a similar number of pages priced four times higher. And don't be fooled by how short it is. Some parts have a sandbox approach and could provide hours of play. There's even room to include sub-plots during travel using the adventure generator.

The story itself is dark and investigation oriented with some deadly combat. It definitely gives you an idea of what a Nemezis is about.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Nemezis - Web of Intrigue
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

The Dawn of Tomorrow
von armando r. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/26/2014 05:02:14
Probably the best setting for Adventures! so far, a lot of hints and suggestions to handle the post-holocaust environment and all its canons.
It also includes a ready-to-play adventure so you have no excuses to immediately start playing!

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
The Dawn of Tomorrow
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Adventurers! The Dungeon
von armando r. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/26/2014 04:40:30
Another two-page setting in which you can find all the classic dungeon-crawling elements. A taste of tradition of rpg gaming with a streamlined and contemporary touch in mechanics (such as the company gifts, a reward for the whole adventuring party). Simple and immediate as all the Adventurers! settings.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Adventurers! The Dungeon
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 119 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG