RPGNow.com
Umschauen
 Verlagsinfos











Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
The Crying Mother
von Olivier S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/01/2017 09:41:04

"The Crying Mother" is a 36 pages long adventure (+ stats) by Umberto Pignatelli for "Beasts & Barbarians". It entirely takes place at Jalizar; of course, having "Jalizar : City of Thieves" is highly recommended, but it is not completely indispensable since - as is often the case in B&B - this adventure uses no map at all. If you have no other choice, you can tweak this scenario for another setting.

Our players are ruffians, and have to ambush and kill (for plunder !) a heartless pawnbroker of the neighbourhood. However, they get entangled into a wider plot where nightmares become even more dangerous than real (low-)life. They must act (and investigate) quickly if they want to break free from this impending doom.

Though limited to one city, this adventure shall provide enough stuff for several gaming sessions. It is perfect for heroes having urban skills and eager to accomplish thuggish exploits (well... not a quest for pure-hearted knights !)



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
The Crying Mother
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

The Amulet of Dogskull
von Olivier S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/30/2017 13:55:43

"The Amulet of Dogskull" is an adventure of about 60 pages written by Umberto Pignatelli (+ stats, + a long description of Northeim) for "Beasts & Barbarians". At Fort Miscenium, on the border to Northeim, the players are hired to steal a precious jewel belonging to... the wife of the fort's commander. A chase through the wildlands of Northeim will follow. One again, Umberto spins a tale where the adventurers are carried away into various situations, from dire dungeon crawls (in sewers or in a cairn) to survival in the wild among strange creatures. There is a glimpse of humour in the burglary scene that made me laugh. And, as in "The Citadel of the Winged Gods", emotion is present; needless to say then that this is an adventure worth trying (and giving you enough stuff for several evenings for less than 6 $ !), even if you are not fond of Sword & Sorcery.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
The Amulet of Dogskull
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Beasts of the Dominions
von Derrick S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/07/2017 13:07:28

Great product. well written and illistrated. A couple of the adventures are very creepy, and this is a encellent addition to the B&B line.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Beasts of the Dominions
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Dark Camelot
von Dillard R. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/28/2017 18:10:59

Off the charts imaginative setting. Just waiting to be updated to 2nd edition. Made for classical mid to late middle ages mythology present in such movies as First Knight or Excalibur. I am presently running a solo campaign geared more towards dark ages Britain in the 400s AD. Don't have to change much more than add Sub-Roman Britons.



Wertung:
[3 von 5 Sternen!]
Dark Camelot
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Death of the Tyrant
von Scott B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/26/2017 13:12:07

One of the best adventures I have ever ran. Each segment plays well by itself and is unique, and the whole story just works. At all points my players were motivated.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Death of the Tyrant
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Green World
von Customer Name Withheld [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/26/2017 13:10:11

A great, kinetic storyline. There's a mystery to motive players, good action, good monsters. At the end, dire sorcery.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Green World
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
von Dillard R. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/21/2017 16:58:13

Free and complete version of the revised Adventurers! rules. These rules use 2d6 plus stat modified by Skills (skills generally don't add + this or that they give "Advantage" roll 3d6 drop lowest).

With just three stats Strength, Agility, and Mind this is dead simple to choose your stats starting with just 6 points.

You have derived stats Attack, Defense, Endurance (Hit points), and Heroism

The first three are easy to understand. Heroism gives points per session that the players use for agency to affect his rolls either a +1 to his roll or she can re-roll (in the case of Learning Skill they can use Heroism points to declare facts about a setting). Or use Heroism points to change something about the scene, "Theres a fireplace? Then there must be fuel I can set fire to!"

There is a short list of powers available for players. Small Gear list. Etc. Each table and each set of rules is complete enough. Meaning that a GM or player can extrapolate anything easily. Yes there is even Scale and Mass Battle rules!

This is a great tool for quick play created by GMs and PCs alike. If you add the various settings you have hours and hours of fun!



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Adventurers! Revised Kickstarter Edition
von Dillard R. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/21/2017 15:16:46

Why are they charging for this? There is a free version (available from the KS) on this site that is more complete and compact. Notice I said free. I love the system. It is compact, neat, and easy to understand.

Having said all that I understand that this is a part of the book that KS supporters got. I hope that it was proofread more diligently than this version. There are more errors in this version than in the above mentioned free version.

If you want to use this game and its settings then get the free verision.



Wertung:
[1 von 5 Sternen!]
Adventurers! Revised Kickstarter Edition
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Beasts & Barbarians Golden Edition
von Derrick S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/11/2017 19:34:38

Great setting. The game captures the feel of the movies of the early 80s. It was fun reading and I cant wait to run some players through.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Beasts & Barbarians Golden Edition
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
von David R. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 05/26/2017 14:58:31

Perfect for convention gaming and a mini campaign with the gang. The system will let you play lots of genres and tell solid stories.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Citadel of the Winged Gods
von Tim K. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 03/03/2017 09:01:29

A fairly solid adventure, Citadel does have the potential for coming off the rails and having a lot of continuity problems early in the adventure. It is tightly paced, so a grevious injury that a player might want to use rest to heal can present problems that wreck the timeline. The party can also make some role play decisions that might knock the plot off course.

I was especially careful to make the forced companions almost invisible or helpful so they didn't feel as though they were hindered or burdened. I also worked hard to keep the pace of the adventure very high, so that the party is more worried about the environment and immediate threats than to stop and consider the downsides of traveling with NPCs.

I would suggest that a GM be prepared to provide unexpected sources of healing. I've done this once and it keeps the adventure moving at points where it really should not bog down.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Citadel of the Winged Gods
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Pirates of the Dominions
von Olivier S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/28/2017 13:52:04

Just like "Tattered Banners" was the indispensable supplement for characters playing soldiers, mercenaries or brigands in the Dominions, such is "Pirates of the Dominions" for the scum of the seas (both oceans and inner seas) of that Sword & Sorcery setting. There were already guidebooks for all things pertaining to seareavers and navigation : the excellent Pirate Isles for the Conan Mongoose Rpg and Pirates of the Spanish Main, a Savage Worlds system in an "alternative" real world Caribbean, yet PoD still deserves your attention.

The first part of that book is dedicated to the history and description of the different pirate cultures of the Dominions, with a special focus on the Finger Islands which harbour the "Cove", i.e. the secret base of the Dread Sea Pirates. In general, I'm not a fan of lengthy geographic informations whose contents will remain unused for their biggest part but, given that no recent Rpg has detailed the layout of this trope location of fantasy sea adventure, I admit that's a rather useful background.

As usual, the book goes on with edges, hindrances and gear specific to seafaring and I have appreciated the system provided for the description of different kinds of vessels : well-chosen templates are first presented and, in the "Monsters' Section", these ones can be flavoured into local variations, what leads to a playable set of rules. Likewise, stats for war machines are given; if I am not mistaken, I notice that cannons in "Pirates of the Spanish Main" inflict less damage than ballistae and catapults in PoD (however, cannons have a longer range).

In Pirate Isles, there were special rules for seafaring and - among others - a system to reckon the risk of mutiny, what gave any captain the feeling to be sitting on a time-bomb. On the contrary, PoD sends back to the troop management of "Tattered Banners", with some minor additions specific to nautical life. There can be pros and cons for this : Gamemasters without "TB" may feel disadvantaged, while others may like this overall system for all kinds of adventuring teams.

The setting rules and the GM section bear the hallmark of Umberto Pignatelli, who always knows how to transcribe into playable rules the many details that will "spice up" your Sword & Sorcery saga. Let me just point out that the generator provided this time is about treasure maps : draw one or two cards and unleash your imagination for hoard hunting !

All in all, the naval combat aspects in PoD look well-treated and even adaptable to other systems, while Gamemasters more interested by voyages of exploration or trading might prefer rules found in the two books I have mentionned hereupon.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Pirates of the Dominions
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Tropicana: Gorillaconda
von Joshua O. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/13/2016 05:59:54

This adventure strikes a great tone, is very clearly laid out. It should be easy to run and a blast to play.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Tropicana: Gorillaconda
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Imago Mortis Preview
von Mattias G. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/12/2016 23:25:17

After a short prologue, page 10 through the final page 32 of this preview consists of a lecture held by a fictional detective introducing the PC:s as new recruits to the Paranormal world of Imago Mortis'. IMHO, this part is written in a very unfortunate style that would have benefitted from a native speaking editor. I really hope the rest of the RPG is written less awkwardly. The detective (Ghites, as per the protagonist in Marolla's novel) here comes across as some kind of insufferable blend of David Brent and Fonzie, dropping cheesy references all over the place in order to appear occult-savvy:

"We can make a nice ghost hunting handbook, like the Junior Woodchucks", "I've been in this crap before GhostWeb", "Nice shot, Ghites, now go get your medal", "put on some nice boots with reinforced cold iron toecaps and kick them in the backside all the way back to the Valley of the Shadow of Death", "ready to play this game to the end, the terrible price of having a dull light in your eyes...", "before jumping the train to Horrorwarts", "Yippee Ki Yay!" etc (incl writing 'sickles' where 'scythes' are obviously intended). Indeed, this lecture is nothing short of unintentional parody, a barrage of empty clichées made out to sound cool, like a sales pitch from a sugar-crazed, hyped-up marketing executive on a Friday afternoon (i.e. Yeah, benchmark the sunk costs, highlight the synergies, implement the strategy and go get them, tigers!).

Secondly, as for creative criticism, I think "Vallum" really ought to rightly have been an acronym. Just picking a latin name is something a secret society might do, but it doesn't seem like a typical Brussels way to register a new bureaucracy. My best suggestion would be to set up a "VISA Acquis Legality Liaison of Union Migrations" under the Schengen Communautaire. This "Vallum" task force would officially be called upon to investigate and deal with potential cross-border conflicts arising in the Common Travel Area, incl the coordination of any temporary National controls imposed in the wake of the current migration crisis. And, obviously, these vaguely defined border problems would unofficially refer to the Curtains between our world and the Netherworld, and the migrants in question would mainly include infiltrating "Spookies". Only you can't very well be too transparent to the public about its mandate, so... Vallum it is. Along the same line of reasoning, I believe the chosen logo (three spirals) seems rather too obscure for a proper Agency of the EU; look at Frontex (the EU outer borders' control) for instance; they use three stripes to symbolize regulatory power over foreign arrivals by air, ground and water. Paraphrasing this one and restricting paranormal access between the Schengen area and the Netherworld, Vallum might well have a stylized symbol of a broken bridge.

Verdict: Is this modern horror RPG a game for me, and if so why/ why not? I'm going to say no. It's not that I necessarily prefer the old haunted mansions, stone altars and dusty tomes of classic horror to urban sprawls, pharmaceutical companies and online fanatics. My big peeve is that this Netherworld mythology (quite reminiscent of "Kult: Divinity Lost", I believe) more or less rules out a more culturally diverse occult background and a more complex approach to monsters. There'd really be no reason to investigate Mayan or Egyptian theology here, as Imago Mortis already pertains to know the origin of all paranormal entities (they're either dead human souls or the disciplined demons of the Legion). And without further arcane possibilities lost in the murky past and pre-indoeuropean belief systems, the paranormal horror looses some of its mysterious appeal; it becomes too explained and familiar. That's at least my impression from this preview, and so I will stick to "Chill", "Noctum", "EPOCH" and, would I want insanity to play a bigger part, either "Fear itself" or "Trail of Cthulhu".

Question: wasn't this RPG supposed to be full colour? Apart from the front cover, this pdf is all B&W, with lots of grey background. The art is quite beautifully drawn, but it would have been interesting to appreciate it in full colour.



Wertung:
[2 von 5 Sternen!]
Imago Mortis Preview
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Kommentar des Verlages:
Dear Mattias, Thank you for your review. I`m sorry you didn`t like it. I will just answer two things. About editor: GRAmel`s editor is Andy Slack, native speaker. A former editor of White Dwarf magazine and one of the organisers of the early Games Day events, Andy is best known for his writing on Traveller and 2300AD, and was co-author of two GURPS Traveller supplements (GURPS Traveller Alien Races 2 and Alien Races 3) . Now, he helps edit GRAmel’s Savage Worlds and Adventurers! product lines. About color - it is set as color book, because B&W settings in PoD means a bit worse paper. Paper that on layout heavy pdf may cause problems. That`s why we use color paper to print on both color or B&W books.
TimeZero Preview
von Ben S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/09/2016 16:49:50

This is a Preview for a very interesting time travel setting. It definitely gives you enough information to decide whether you want to get more. Worth picking up just to see if it's something that might interest you.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
TimeZero Preview
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 175 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG