RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Accursed: A Quiet Life
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2016 04:50:21

Set in the Outlands, this adventure has a distinctly Wild West feel to it, a feeling that is further accentuated by the ophidian illustration on the final page. The scenario presents the heroes with an interesting moral dilemma, and encourages thinking and diplomacy over mindless confrontation, although the adventure provides suggestions for handling either solution.


Overall it's an excellent addition to the setting, and would also make a great Savage Tale for anyone running an Accursed Plot Point Campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed: A Quiet Life
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Accursed: Frost and Fang
by JERRY M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2016 08:05:35

Another good sourcebook from Melior Via.


Frost and Fang adds describes two more nations of the world of Morden.


In a nutshell, this gives you more background, more character hooks, and more flavor for your Accursed games, along with some fun Hinderences and Banes.


The price point is excellent for what you get, and as Accursed is a game where the mood and tone of the world is an important part of the game, Frost and Fang makes that part much easier and fun for the GM.


Well worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed: Frost and Fang
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Accursed: Bone and Barrow
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2016 04:47:35

I received this supplement as a stretch goal for the Accursed: World of Morden kickstarter. Bone and Barrow is the final world book, covering Cairn Kainen and the Outlands, and it paints a pretty bleak picture that I think really sums up the darker elements (and locations) of the setting.


As usual there's a selection of new monsters, Edges and Hindrances, but this supplement also contains a rather novel game mechanic that's worth a special mention - a FFF card based system for generating new Outland states, using the Accursed double poker deck (with a dice-based fallback for those who don't have the deck). I'm a big fan of random tables, and I think the extra "crunch" in this case really helped balance out the descriptive "fluff", resulting in a book that feels well-rounded.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed: Bone and Barrow
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Accursed: Science and Sea
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2016 04:35:19

I received this supplement as a stretch goal for the Accursed: World of Morden kickstarter. Science and Sea provides extensive information about the Discordian Sea, which is separated into the inshore waters and the deep ocean, but the book also covers locations such as Nordheim, Sakuran Shogunate, and the colonies. The supplement contains stats and information about various types of ship, along with sea monsters, and of course some appropriately themed Edges and Hindrances.


This is obviously a must-buy for any Accursed campaign with a strong nautical focus, but as with the other books it also provides useful information that can be incorporated into any Accursed campaign.


My only minor complaint is the size of the PDF - I'm not sure why it's so large, but I have pretty limited storage space on my tablet. If I had to guess, I'd say the background and/or some of the artwork has a very high DPI, and has been kept at full resolution.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed: Science and Sea
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Accursed: Frost and Fang
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2016 04:12:08

I received this supplement as part of the Accursed: World of Morden kickstarter. Frost and Fang covers the nations of Steppengrad and Valkenholm, providing a lot of valuable geographical and historical detail, along with a handful of new monsters, Edges and Hindrances. If you're planning to run a campaign set in these regions, you will find the book extremely useful - but even if not, there are still plenty of little nuggets you can incorporate into your games.


As with all Accursed books, the layout and artwork are superb, as is the organization of the information.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed: Frost and Fang
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Lairs - Fantasy Forests
by Stephane G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2015 07:04:43

A excellent resource when you need some ideas when PCs turn your well planned session on it's head.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Lairs - Fantasy Forests
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Thin Blue Line - A Detroit Police Story
by Kirk L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2015 10:44:43

One of the best, if not the best, Savage Worlds urban fantasy settings I've encountered.


I was initially nervous about how this setting would work for someone not from or familiar with Detroit, but after reading through the book I have no concerns. The first chapter, about Detroit's history, was excellent, and I usually don't like that kind of reading. This history is, I'm sure, one of the reasons that the city is such a great setting for a game like this. Sidebars in this chapter, and throughout the book, give possible adventure hooks for games.


The second chapter talks about the history of the Corktown precinct, and meshes well with the history of Detroit. The third details new characters, and talks about some of the setting specific rules, like reason and delerium, which I like very much as a method of dealing with the shock of the revelation that the supernatural is more natural than super.


Chapter 4 talks about the different "magical" systems in the setting, including Psychic powers, Nullifiers, and parapsychologists. There are also some paranormal groups listed for the players to encounter.


Lastly there is a gear locker, which is, well, some gear descriptions.


The layout of the book is excellent; I found it easy to read. Occasionally the font in some of the sidebars can be a little much, but that is a very minor quibble.


This would be a fantastic setting for a police procedural game, with almost an unlimited source of possible adventures springing from Detroit's history, current state, and everything in between. The map is great and would be awesome pinned to the wall of the game room, adding atmosphere and functionality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Thin Blue Line - A Detroit Police Story
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Thin Blue Line - A Detroit Police Story
by Michel V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2015 06:09:11

An excellent urban fantasy/modern horror setting about psychic police officers in Detroit. The player's guide already detailed character creation, five different types of psychics (including empaths, telepaths, intuitives, vitruvians and nullifiers), information about the Corktown Precinct, different gear and a very detailed look at Detroit and all it's districts and neighbourhoods. This book features the same first five chapters, but adds two additional chapters. Chapter six provides several human NPC's from different corporations and the Corktown HQ itself as well as several supernatural NPC's. Chapter seven provides gamemaster's advice, a random adventure generator and several sample adventures. A crused item generator is included as well. All in all a very cohesive modern horror setting about mortals facing the supernatural or the paranormal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed
by David w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2015 09:12:47

Great purchase if below 13 dollars. I was glad when the price went down from stupidity to reasonable. The product is very well done and should see a larger fan base with the reduced price. If you market off of production cost your playing it safe but more likely to get kicked in the balls on any PDFs over 15 base and there's was 20. Do the math it's a no brainer.
"Bottom line only purchase when on sale or if money is not an issue."



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Thin Blue Line - A Detroit Police Story - Player's Guide
by Michel V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2015 16:17:27

An excellent urban fantasy/horror setting about psychic police officers in Detroit. The book details character creation, five different types of psychics (including nullifiers), information about the Corktown Precinct, different gear and a very detailed look at Detroit and all it's districts and neighbourhoods.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Thin Blue Line - A Detroit Police Story - Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Thin Blue Line - A Detroit Police Story - Player's Guide
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2015 14:16:28

Another excellent product from Melior Via (the company behind Accursed). The Thin Blue Line is a modern urban fantasy setting, which focuses on the paranormal investigations of the psychically gifted police officers of Corktown Precinct. The player's guide is packed with useful information about the history and key locations of Detroit, and covers character creation and the various setting rules, including a wide range of new psychic abilities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed
by Jose V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2015 14:47:58

I love the storyline, the world, the Witchbreeds, and especially the Witches. I dig the limited magical mechanics highly, since I'm generally not an epic-fantasy type GM.


However, I'm a little bummed that I spent $50.00 on the Premium hardcover to find a typo on the first page; but other than needing a more careful copy editor (occasionally clumsy grammar/ mistakes throughout), this book is solid. It hurts to see careless errors in a game of this quality, but hopefully the Revised version adds some of the DLC adventures into the main book (150 pages feels thin... there's so much more that could have been included) and fixes the mistakes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Accursed Player's Guide
by Scott F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2014 14:35:47

The premise of the game (the monsters that try not to be monsters) is a classic formula, but Accursed throws a real spin on it. An engaging background and history, and the potential rises to unseen heights. I thoroughly recommend this to anyone who enjoys playing the anti-hero once in a while. You definitely won't be disappointed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Accursed
by Luke G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2014 06:44:32

This setting is pretty much what "Van Helsing" and "Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" wanted to be.


I do not have much experience with playing in the Savage Worlds system, so that was not what attracted me to this product. Just the atmosphere and setting concept drew me toward an interest in it. Now, having read through the setting information, I can say it was worth the expenditure on that strength alone.


Anybody who has an interest in the old Universal Horror monster classics, or their Hammer Film dopplegangers will recognize the inspiration for a lot of this book, but the developers went quite a bit deeper than I expected and hooked into some rather interesting myths and legends, with a touch of some classic fantasy as well. The book describes eight of the thirteen witches that came over as part of the Grand Coven and each one is given a very unique style. This ranges from the Djinn, who seems to work her most powerful magic by perverting the wishes others ask of her, all the way to the Crone, a weather controlling witch who seems to have been the driving force behind the invasion.


The setting is dark, but not hopeless. There is every indication that your characters might be able to help turn the tide against the witches and their loyal servants. Oddly, for a setting like this, the morality is fairly clear cut. It is very clear that the witches are evil, and the vaguely Abrahamic "Enochian Faith" is rather pleasantly more tolerant and reasonable than I would expect of a religious establishment in other, similarly grim settings. In Accursed, the "good" generally behaves in a manner that can legitimately be termed good rather than simply being judgmental proselytizers. They aren't perfect, of course, but that just makes them more interesting. Likewise, there's very little grey about the witches. They are inhuman and evil, with motivations that cannot be easily understood.


One would think that the establishment of a clear good versus a clear evil would make this more like a fantasy than a dark fantasy. If the authors had chosen to set the story in the days of the Grand Coven Invasion, this might have been the case. At that time in the setting, most of the Accursed were still under the sway of the witches that created them and the heroes would have been the standard stalwart knight or the grim wilderness wanderer with a clear eye and good musket. What makes this setting dark fantasy, and what makes it so interesting is that there is a clear good and evil...and good lost the war.


The players have in front of them a lot of choices and there's always going to be the temptation of a compromise of their values. Perhaps working with one of the Gorgon's agents is a worthwhile endeavor...if it will insure that the Dark Queen's latest plot fails. Will the characters embrace their curse and become more and more inhuman themselves? Or will they turn aside from their witchmark and seek a return to their time as human. When you're defending a land from the invasion of a great, outer evil, then the "good" choice often tends to be easy. But now that the land is already conquered, being effective and being moral seem to march side by side less and less. It's hard to keep up the fight, at least not without sacrificing something else.


So while the morality isn't the muddled grey you'd expect from dark fantasy, the character choices between expediency and principals makes the situations that much more interesting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Accursed
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2014 12:27:50

Great world. Like a cross between Ravenloft and the old Hammer horror movies, yet still feeling fresh and original. Really enjoyed the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG