RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hobsons Colony
by Alexandre D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2016 14:35:45

Found it extremely lacking in hooks or ideas. Although it does describe the Colony and colonits it doesnt offer any hooks as to what might come next. It doesnt describe the world in any details or offer alternatives to how the game could evolve, not even in general broad strokes. The author simply stated, this is the monster and the players should find a way to kill it. Very dissappointed in the lack of structure and lack of pointers as to how the author suggests or imagines this adventure to play through.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Hobsons Colony
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Alexandre, I'm sorry it didn't meet your expectations. The scenario fits into the one-shot series and I have a plan for how they are used, perhaps I need to include something more to explain that. The idea with the series is that I don't necessarily proscribe resolutions to problems that are presented to the players. As these are one-shot events there is not usually time to allow players to seek a particular path to solve a problem, and instead it's left to the players to come up with something cool that the referee can run with. I appreciate that is a particular play-style-thing. The aim in the series is create an environment and a problem to be resolved in a single session, and to give the referee enough background to make that environment come alive. Now having said all that, I'm going to keep your comments in mind going forwards. Thanks for your custom, and the feedback. Felbrigg
Game Planner
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2016 03:18:59

This is a nice little 8 page mini-book of idea charts for themes and scenarios for games using keywords, rolled off of a d6 chart and subcharts. Not a lot of detail, but the ideas are linked in ways that other random scenario generators... who what where why do not cover.

I have seen other space opera generators all over the net that do this with a d20, but none with this sort of mind map technique. so I like it, even for that way of thinking about a scenario.

I liked it more once I went to the page on internet in the included readme that shows how to cut on ashed lines, and fold the book. Took me all of a minute to get it together, and already using these suggested plots. A nice little idea generator, at a decent price for what you get.

It also allows for super layered plots, if you want to go that way.

It also clued me in to these little 8 page books, which I could use for other purposes.

In the readme doc, the last line should read: Sub Plot: Moved 42 (3) The Next Town 22 (3)- Invention, 36(5)- One million credits



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Game Planner
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Game Planner
by Todd Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2016 09:56:26

As a solo gamer, Game Planner is an excellent resource for my Travelling needs. The charts can be used straight up in a pinch for a quick answer or chained together for more detailed info and plot twists.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Target! Bearing 093 degrees!
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2016 11:32:31

Very basic but very cheap. Try this before spending big bucks on more sophisticated boxed Sub Games. Good value for money. Add your own rules so that subs take on convoys not just the single ship battles as it stands.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Target! Bearing 093 degrees!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Station Three
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2016 17:14:02

From the product description this sounded like it would be a great horror adventure for Traveller, where the players are sent by a coporation to investigate one of their mining stations that they have lost contact with. When the players arrive, they discover that the crew of the station made contact with a hostile invisible aliens with some sort of mind control power. The problem with this is that there are no stats for the aliens or the NPC survivors that they encouter! This adventure is not immediately ready for play, which is why I am rating it with only 2 stars, which I think is being generous. Personally, I was disappointed with this product and would have preferred that the hostile threat to be something even more sinister such as a demonic force from another realm, Doom and Event Horizon comes to mind.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Station Three
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Greg, The stats for the survivors are there to the right of the characters name, along with the skills they possess. You\'re right about a lack of stats for the aliens, but as they\'re not tangible nor intelligent in the usual manner as expressed by a UPP it doesn\'t really make sense to provide one for them. With that in mind I hope you\'ll take another look over the scenario. Felbrigg
The Battle of Kaylen
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2016 05:48:57

At 8 pages, 7 are the content. The is a supplement for the Edge of Space RPG (an easy system to learn; even for beginners). It's a well thought out supplement, reminding me of Aliens & Starship Troopers theme (which is not a bad thing). It also has sample characters to use.

And considering it's free; you'd be daft not to pick it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Battle of Kaylen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Decopedia Volume 1
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2015 23:01:17

A collection of interesting ideas. Written mostly in reference to the 3rd Imperium setting but easily used for other Traveller setting or even other science fiction settings/rules. Plus a price of $2.99 for 50 pages of actual content a great value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Decopedia Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Decopedia Volume 1
by Andrew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2015 12:47:18

This is a handy product for the Traveller referee. Nothing fancy, no art or charts, but the writing is clear and typo-free. The document is well organized and the items are described with plenty of interesting detail. The introduction mentions Mongoose Traveller specifically, but there would be no problem porting any of the entries in this booklet into your Classic or Mega Traveller game. As an early listener of the Behind the Claw podcast, I have enjoyed listening to the author share his creations. It is nice to now have a document covering many of the worlds, creatures, and interesting people of the Tircesoe subsector.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lovecraftian Shorts
by Megan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2015 18:39:25

We played this game on my podcast (you can hear the episode at http://www.theredactedfiles.com/?p=455). We had a lot of fun, even though tit was the first time for all of us. It's a solid quick start game that's easy to pick up and flowed really well for us. It's super cheap and well worth the price!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lovecraftian Shorts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Target! Bearing 093 degrees!
by Shawn K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2014 00:47:45

This is an enjoyable game. I bought it with the intent of using it for resolving submarine battles in role-playing a submarine commander. The game is perfect for this. But this game is also great for just pulling off the shelf and running through a mission. Set up time is only a few minutes (shuffle the deck and lay out the two play sheets). My first mission did not go so well. I encountered 8 ships and choose to engage 5 of them. I only managed to sink one ship of only 7,000 tons. My submarine was sunk during the 8th encounter. Still it was fun. I actually was glad to see that it was not going to be too easy to score high.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Target! Bearing 093 degrees!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Obcy Na Dzielni
by Mariusz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2013 16:02:13

Moim zdaniem „Obcy na dzielni” pozostaną raczej jednorazowym eksperymentem, nie liczę bowiem, że doczekamy się na rpgnow osobnej językowej zakładki. Na pewno jednak jest to rzecz warta wzmianki i kroczek ku zmianom na polskim/polskojęzycznym ryneczku gier fabularnych.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Obcy Na Dzielni
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Battle of Kaylen
by Nate K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2013 11:13:44

This was the product that introduced me to the Edge of Space system. I've got to say, it's pretty solid. The designer has managed to squeeze multiple interesting action setpieces into one little PocketMod. The system is straightforward enough that even novice RPGers can learn it in an afternoon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Battle of Kaylen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lair of the Orc Shaman
by Callum S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2013 12:10:51

Well plotted, well drawn and entertaining my after school club. Just the right level for a beginning party.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lair of the Orc Shaman
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lair of the Orc Shaman
by Tim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2013 16:00:52

Lair of the Orc Shaman is written by Felbrigg Herriot and the maps are provided by the infamous Matt Jackson. This is a micro adventure in PocketMod format. That means its small. Wee even. One page that can be made into a tiny booklet. It will cost you .99 cents to take a peek. Let me tell you about it a little since this is a review.

First off, love the cover. It's what originally made me click on it on RPGNow. Simple and effective. In the preview, it says it's a 1st edition adventure for 5 to 7 first level characters. It has 17 rooms in an underground crawl. The room descriptions are tight. Considering the space limitations I was amazed Felbrigg squeezed in all the rooms. Plus, there are some nice descriptions. It is not a list of rooms with just monsters and loot. He manages to tell you what will happen if this happens and the contents of the room.

While I was reading this adventure I kept thinking this would me a great funnel module for the DCC crowd. Tweak the stats and you'd be good to go. No matter what system you have its a good straight forward adventure that will easily fill a night of gaming and that you can plug into your game at any time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shikishima Heroes
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2013 12:42:47

A fun little game! The background is clever, the compactness is innovative, and the game play is simple and fun. A good diversion at a con, or a quick game between games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shikishima Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG