RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Dungeon Alphabet
by chris b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 00:16:10
The Dungeon Alphabet was exactly as advertised and just what I was looking for. There is an "old school" feel about it which could be a bad thing for newer players but for older ones like myself it was great. The artwork also
had that retro feel to it which was funny and reminiscent of early Dungeons and Dragons. Only minor complaint was there is a newer version with more tables but it's not available for download. Thanks to the creators of this whimsical product, I'm quite sure I'll use it a lot.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon Alphabet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Level Up #1
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2015 11:51:31
These are pretty good if you need extra information, nicely presented. Interesting new beasties.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Level Up #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
by Mike H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2015 10:02:33
A solid level 1 adventure. Very easy to plug into almost any campaign setting, and a works as a perfect jumping off point for a group of newly banded adventurers! The ending is very sudden, but I think by the time a experience GM gets to that point they'll have flesh out some additional bits to add to it.

P.S
Be aware of the giant mosquitoes!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DCC Lankhmar: Through Ningauble's Cave
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 13:33:35
Its a great starter resource, but they need to hurry up and produce more follow up products to fully flesh out the Lankhmar world and system modifications to the DCC system. It's a good book if you are already familiar with Lankhmar and you want your players to stop by for a visit.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DCC Lankhmar: Through Ningauble's Cave
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DCC RPG Free RPG Day Adventure Starter
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 13:28:21
Save your money and just buy the rulebook. its the adventure that comes with the rulebook and the tell you to go download the beta rules at the goodman games website. which I couldn't find the link to.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DCC RPG Free RPG Day Adventure Starter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero's Handbook: Eladrin
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2015 12:57:33
Excellent, this is really well thought out and presented. I would highly recommend it

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero's Handbook: Eladrin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #84: Peril on the Purple Planet
by Gavin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2015 05:09:37
This boxed set is the answer to many of my questions:

What if Arrakis was populated with beastmen cross-bred from Idiocracy and The Hills Have Eyes?

What if you based their culture/religion on various bibles and sports fanblogs run through multiple Google Translates which were then passed down orally for generations?

What if you fed your PC's mushrooms and gave them laser swords and thermal detonators without instruction manuals?

For the PC's, there are caverns to delve, pits to fall in, giant worms to tame, cities to burn, warbands to lead, rockets to crash, temples to destroy, and most importantly there are buttons to push or switches and levers to toggle.

It's a wonderful adventure accompanied by an incredible sandbox to keep your PC's entertained/trapped in a Mad Max Barsoom for as long as you want.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #84: Peril on the Purple Planet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
by Bill H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2015 09:54:16
With Wizards of the Coast only selling us campaigns at this time, we are left with companies like Goodman Games for modules and that is just fine because they have done an excellent job.

Glitterdoom has it all, an engaging backstory, a useful hook, new monsters, traps and magic items and more. This module could be run from hook to end boss in a long game night or better over two sessions.

The bulk of a module such as this are the area descriptions. They are well labeled and described. The italicized for-the-players section is right-sized and descriptive. The for-the-DM section is also right-sized and contains everything you need to know to run this module.

Black and white drawings are placed throughout the book to give you a good amount of flavor of this dungeon crawl and its denizens. A full page map of the dungeon is at the end.

I had bought this one just to read but already digested it for running and have pitched my players the hook. We are going to the Knuckle on our next game night.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Grimtooth's Ultimate Traps Collection
by Timothy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2015 13:12:12
I freaking love it. It's a great tool for an aspiring or long term gm who want to spice up their game. Due to the sheer volume of traps and cursed items, I think the hardest part will be find enough games to throw them all in. I can wait to try them all out on my u superintendent vict.....I mean players *grin*

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimtooth's Ultimate Traps Collection
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics: Saga of the Witch Queen
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/02/2015 11:25:49
A longer review is posted here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/

This is a meaty module. 84 pages, covers, maps and OGL still leave a lot of pages for material.
First off, if you are not familiar with Dungeon Crawl Classics modules they are meant to emulate a certain feel of early 80s play. They went on to create the game Dungeon Crawl Classics, but the adventures are still largely OSR compatible. Actually I didn't see a single thing in this adventure screamed is should be used for one system or the other.
This adventure is actually 3 adventures in one. Legacy of the Savage Kings, The Lost Passage of the Drow, and War of the Witch Queen. Each one is a different part of the Witch Queen's plan.

Reading through this adventure is one part excitement for the new and one part excitement for the nostalgia. For the new, I wanted to learn more about Kyleth (the eponymous Witch Queen) and the tome Ars Maleficus. The nostalgia comes from many little easter eggs through out the pages that call back to adventures of the TSR-days. I am convinced the Mad Hermit here is the same as the one in the Keep on the Borderland for example. There are also hints of influences from Vault of the Drow, Ravenloft, and even the rest of the GDQ series. In fact the second adventure, "The Lost Passage of the Drow" could be slotted into the D series and no one would be the wiser. Replace Baba Yazoth with the proper Baba Yaga and have one of the many adventures she features in as a side trek.

There are a number of named characters that would work well as witches, Maeve, Baba Yazoth and of course Kyleth herself. While using the title of "Witch Queen" Kyleth is only an 8th level Magic-user. Make her a 9th or 10th level witch and then you have something really scary.

Does it work with The Witch? Yes, absolutely. There are number of great items and story points in this adventure for any witch character. In fact I would say that any good witch would want to see Kyleth taken out on general principle. Plus there are a number of encounters and NPCs that would benefit from the rules in the Witch. Night Hags get more spell casting powers for example and the medusa can also have some levels of witch.

Of course there is the one issue of Kyleth being one of The Thirteen. The Thirteen most evil wizards, witches and necromancers in the world. She was the newest member, who are the other 12 and what are their plans? Anyone up for an adventure against the Legion of Doom? I might have to come back to this idea. I can see witches, vivamancers, blood mages, evil wizards, and necromancers part of this evil cabal. Each providing something different.
Seriously, there is so much fun stuff here I can't wait to try it out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics: Saga of the Witch Queen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2015 13:45:21
Probably my favourite classic Old School RPG, DCC delivers a great feel for fantastic adventures. You can easily adapt it to any (fantasy) setting you like but for me it works best in a low magic sword & sorcery setting. Magic is powerful and rather rare, at the same time weird and sometimes hard to control - but it's easy to change whatever aspect doesn't suite your style of play.

Still, I think it works great "as is" to capture the feel of classic RPG's (I started with D&D 1e), with a brutal beginning for 0-level characters who are forced through the "funnel" with most of them probably dying - but those who survive already have a story to tell and we felt that it is a lot due to this character funnel that we identified with our characters, even though they were not always the ones we originally wanted to survive. But despite some mediocre or bad stats, despite stupid names (we rolled them all) and despite or maybe because they started out as peasants and swine herders with a stick and the instinct to run rather than fight, our characters felt more real than in many other games.

I prefer the attributes over the "classic" D20 ones with Wisdom and Charisma merged into Personality, and Luck being added. I like the special abilities of each class, making them stand out without being overly complicated (unless you're a wizard, some of those rules still seem rather complicated to me, but I'm the dwarf, so what do I know?).

Now the cons: the special dice as they're expensive (especially if imported and you have to pay for shipping too) and rare. Of course you can substitute them with regular dice but it doesn't feel the same (for me).
A minor drawback in my opinion is the lack of a table chapter containing the most important tables in compact form. Having to flip through the book every time to check for fumbles and critical hits isn't that great. Then again it's easy to compile a cheat sheet or table booklet if you have the PDF or a scanner. Still, I'd have liked to find this prepared for quicker and easier play.

Despite these small drawbacks I can only recommend this if you are a fan of old school RPG's, as the pros clearly outweigh the cons.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DCC RPG Free RPG Day Adventure Starter
by Andrew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2015 12:24:49
Spend the extra for the full book, not worth it for such a small chunk. The full book and the system are a lot of fun though.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DCC RPG Free RPG Day Adventure Starter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:07:33
It was enjoyable. I really liked the fact that it felt like old school AD&D. The only real problem I had were the Elves being allergic to iron because it doesn't make sense. You can't carve out a civilization if you're allergic to the tools required.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2015 21:09:15
All in all this was a good piece. I didn't cross check the publisher date with the official release of 5e, but I did notice one rule discrepancy. The spells for the final NPC were set up like previous versions would have done.

Other than that, I would have liked to see a better accounting of time. Where Okkar's timeline fits in with the fall of the Knuckle and Steelhand Hall, exactly how many years has passed, etc. Because of that deficit, it makes it difficult to rationalize some things like how there are working crossbows still in one guardroom, how long ago all the ore was gone, and thereby what have the greed grubs been living on (unless they are actually undead), etc.

My players enjoyed the module, and picked up on the hook to continue helping Okkar by traveling to Steelhand Hall.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GM Gems
by Uzi W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2015 03:03:50
as it says on the cover "GM gems" is what this book has, it will not solve all your problems as a GM, but it WILL help you create more detailed and interesting game. the empty rooms worth describing part alone has helped me create more interesting, real, and detailed "dungeons" as well as ideas for what to do with these rooms if they aren't empty, so if you are looking for a solid book that will help in areas you don't even realize you need help in, like making campsites more extraordinary, go get this

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM Gems
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 432 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG