RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
SLA Industries
by Jason T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2014 06:40:28
I've owned SLA Industries in hardback since the very first edition and it's taken a while to get the pdf as my hardcopies are rarely put away. With the recent "Pay What You Want" offer I had to take the opportunity to get the pdf along with the other pdf Data Packets.

The setting is excellent, different from the other games available, a dark mix of gritty urban hell, weirdness and horror. The number of options available to players right out the main book is great but even better when adding in the content of Karma etc.

Get this game. It never disappoints whether you're running a game for Operatives fresh from training or for more seasoned Ops taking on much larger prey and opportunities. This is a game you won't put down that has a wonderful history and richness in the setting; it's no wonder it's inspired such a creative and loyal fan-base many years since it first got released.

The system is relatively simple giving enough crunch without being bogged down by tables and numbers etc, but light enough that players who dislike managing numbers won't be put off. There's ample options, equipment and powers to create some truly unique PCs and games that'll keep your players entertained for a long time.

Visually the book is B&W, colour art possibly being something that is needed but it's lack doesn't detract from the quality of the writing and it's potential for game longevity.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SLA Industries
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Threat Analysis: Hominid
by Jefferson D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2014 01:41:12
After all these years, SLA Industries is still my favorite setting for a roleplaying game. Ever. When Nightfall Games puts something I out, I get it. Sight unseen.Doesn't matter. It's cyberpunk/horror unlike anything else.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Threat Analysis: Hominid
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Threat Analysis: Hominid
by Jason T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2014 15:30:43
A White Earth threat that hints at further possibilities for the World of Progress and SLA Industries.

What's not to like? It's very well written, truly evocative and obviously well-thought. SLA is a busy game with so much going on and such a rich history and setting, but adding more well crafted and truly devious enemies (allies to some perhaps!) into the mix doesn't appear to dilute the amazing game that is SLA.

Again, as with all Nightfall and SLA products, the art is lush. The visual appeal of the setting has always captivated me with it's style and the writing, once you get chance to sit down and enjoy it with a nice cold beer, only enhances the desire to dig deeper into the material and it's impact on your own games.

Another winning product from Nightfall!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Threat Analysis: Hominid
by John N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2014 22:58:47
Sla Industries is a game known for coming back to life in strange bursts. Although it never lumbers itself into forward progression for long the game seems to never die. The latest is a pdf release titled 'Threat Analysis Hominid' presented in the data packet form the company has used for it's last few releases. At least in this format they have kept with a basic layout and a feeling of uniformity. One change they did was to release this one with the 'Pay What You Want' pricing which is probably getting the game a bit more attention than usual.

I can't go into to much detail on this review as the packet itself isn't very big and I don't want to ruin all of it's little secrets. But there is some mention of things from previous packets although they aren't necessary to use this one. It's also rather 'truthy', if you don't know what I'm talking about... well then you haven't been following Sla Industries over it's up and down lifetime.

In a nutshell we are introduced to a threat from White Earth itself. Creatures summoned to Mort by the Shi'An blood cult (which we get another few fragments of info about them as well) that have a brutality and anger streak matched by no others. We are given complete information on how they get here, their motivations and behavior. Four different Hominid types are stated out and introduce us to something called White Earth Abilities which we'll probably see more of in future material.

They make a nice, more savage, addition to the threats the PC's have to face on Mort. Also they are the harbingers of the winds of change that seem to be blowing across the World of Progress. I have to give this packet two thumbs up. However their very origins are Truth based and may not be a fit for all groups.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Threat Analysis: Hominid
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/26/2014 12:04:00
Fascinating and copious background to one of the latest threats to be found in Downtown, the strangely savage Hominids. Their ferocity has an otherworldly edge, there's something about them that stops experienced Operatives in their tracks - and that hesitation is sufficient for the Hominid to charge, biting, clawing and clubbing... and for those Operatives to survive, something has changed.

For the worse.

There is masses of detail here, yet most will never be discovered by the party. Much is not known to anyone in the World of Progress, and of that most is secret, or uniformed rumours. Hints are provided for the GM about how to use Hominids to best effect, and to engender the appropriate fear and foreboding in the Operatives.

Presentation is gorgeous, except... odd words are missing which makes it quite disjointed to read.

Hominids are an intriguing addition to the perils of Downtown, and one with potential to lead the characters into some dark places, especially if they get curious about them rather than merely blasting away.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Dream
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/28/2012 05:44:52
It's hard to sweep a problem under the carpet when it slides between the bristles of your brush.

This atmospheric supplement for SLA Industries provides yet another challenge to those who would keep the world safe for the ordinary consumers who dwell therein - monsters spawned from very dreams, and a plague that 'greys-out' people until they fade away like an old black and white photograph. Worse, these monsters do not die when you fire bullets at them, at best they fade away only to return a day or two later!

In a fascinating delve into the history and politics of SLA Industries itself (the company, not the game, I mean) we hear how they have long known about this problem and attempted to keep it away from public notice. If you and your group delight in the politics and intrigue underlying the World of Progress, this supplement is definitely for you. Even if your players are content picking up the next BPN and dealing with whatever problem it contains, here you will find fertile ground to develop new and ever more challenging things for them to do.

There's a lot to take aboard, but it repays careful study. Much is background and ideas, rather than actual threats, although there are quite a few new 'monsters' - the Shadow entities - to throw into your game. There's also new equipment and skills to aid in the fight against them. One interesting point is that most of the book is intended for in-character use, at least once the characters begin to dig into forbidden knowledge, with just a couple of pages as suggestions for the GM.

You'll have to put in a fair bit of work to incorporate this material into your game, but it will repay the effort, bringing a new and horrific edge to the next few BPNs...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dream
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Headshots 2
by John N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2012 21:49:43
I nice little set of images to use in your games, your website or fan resource. Really good for adding a little splash and giving a visual source for your writings. Personally I hope to see more image packs released in the future with the same 'non-commercial' use guidelines.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Headshots 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
SLA Industries
by jamie i. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2011 14:43:31
Shame the file isn't encoded properly to display the artwork properly on the iPad. The game is fantastic it's just the file that let's it down.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
SLA Industries
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mort sourcebook
by jamie i. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2011 14:42:33
Shame the file isn't encoded properly to display the artwork properly on the iPad. The game is fantastic it's just the file that let's it down.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mort sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Karma
by jamie i. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2011 14:41:41
Shame the file isn't encoded properly to display the artwork properly on the iPad. The game is fantastic it's just the file that let's it down.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Karma
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
SLA Industries
by Ben B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2011 18:39:26
A very gritty RPG, the black and white inked artwork ranging from line-art to photorealistic and the book being sprayed with 'excerpts' of 'in-world media-reports' and mini-stories help immerge in the 'Mort'-atmosphere. This does substract a little from the accessibility to the rules, as one has to skim trough a mass of background to find them. There is a "quick-start to the game" however, ironicly located on the very last page of the book (page 299), which is probably very easy to stumble upon in the physical version but less in digital format.
The rules are quite clear once you get them and the background is a can of opportunity to ugly fun, but the mention "for mature gamers" on the back-cover is not uncalled for; psychological investment and imagination required. If you want a game to distract you from a nine-to-five office job and push aside the paperwork to "roll some dice" this may not be your thing. If you're not unfond of a bit of micromanagement and love detailed character-backgrounds (first game I know that actually has stats for 'getting out of bed on time in the morning') however, this game is heartily recommended.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SLA Industries
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hunter Sheets Issue Two - Part Seven
by Gary F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2011 08:19:56
The Roots Dogs conflict aliens have been a spectre in the backstory of SLA industries since the late 1990s. Now they exist on paper to terrify your PCs with and they don't disappoint. The other threats are cool too, both of which seem to elude to future published material, all very exciting.

Simply put: get this, you can't fault the price for 16 pages of professionally written source material and the awesome and often chilling Dave Allsop artwork.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter Sheets Issue Two - Part Seven
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cannibal Sector 1
by Dave T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2011 07:27:54
Superb book. Well written, captures the atmosphere of the Cannibal Sector, good new rules for Shivers and gangs and a good bestiary.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cannibal Sector 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hunter Sheets Issue Two - Part One
by Tim D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2011 12:30:45
Wow. The usual suspects -- art, design, flavour, and so on -- are all great of course. But the stuff in here absolutely blew my socks off. Apart from one section I'll explain below, everything in here was written by Dave Allsop, and it really shows. The material is tight, broadly scoped, and shot through with rich veins of 'bloody disturbing'. I haven't seen this much Truth packed into something in decades. When you have Intruder warning Slayer that Cloak Division has effectively become obsolete, and Integration 20 is about to be found...

The first thing you'll encounted in this release is an eyes-only release from Intruder to Slayer. It made me shudder, and not just because of the rape bombs. If you have any interest at all in the secrets behind SLA Industries, it'll make your eyes bug out.

After that, there's a commentary on the reasoning behind the rise of Hunter Sheets, some information about SLA death squads -- as opposed to the Death Squad Op package -- and some other material which contextualises the state of Mort at the moment.

Next there are the Hunter Sheets. Each includes detailed info about the target and his (they're both male this time out) pertinent history, along with some intel on where to find the target and what their capabilities may be. Hunter Sheets take up exactly two sides, so they can be easily printed for handing out to players.

Now, a confession. I wrote one of the Hunter Sheets in this release. My chap, poor old Socko, is a Mort-based serial killer; Dave illustrated him beautifully. And before you ask, no, I'm not on any sort of royalty deal, so it doesn't make any financial difference to me if you buy it or not. I just hope he's entertaining.

The other target is a demented Wraithen general who's set himself up with a Banana Republic -- with the backing of White Earth. It's an interesting character, in a setting that's going to be very unfamiliar to most Ops. Play style will probably be more like Apocalypse Now than like standard SLA, and Sidi Gejkta himself is a tough opponent, so it'll make for a fun trip.

After the Sheets themselves, the GM section details the target's stats, special circumstances, relevant allies, and details on running the sheet as a full-on scenario. There are no new skills or rules in this release, but you will meet an NPC who is quite famous amongst people who've spoken to Dave Allsop in person -- a loathesome and deadly being with some fascinating new equipment that no PC should ever get their hands on. If you're hoping to play these Sheets, obviously don't read the GM section (headlined as "Subject Data"), the last four pages.

As I said earlier, this Data Burst really knocked my socks off. The varied content, the dark lights it shines into different crannies of the World of Progress, the revelations and hints of dark times round the corner all combine with Dave's gorgeous artwork to come up with something really quite special. You owe it to yourself to get this release.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter Sheets Issue Two - Part One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hunter Sheets Issue Two - Part One
by Ed A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2011 14:53:33
First things first, Intruder got a haircut. That alone is worth the price of admission...

The two enemy's provided are a nice contrast between serous hell and SLA's version of light-hearted fun. The production values are easily up to Nightfall's usual high standards and the size represents solid value for money. All in all, a must buy for SLA fans

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG