RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Dream
by Jukka V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 12:56:23

My favourite datapack from Nightfall. Content is great. It can be used to challenge high levels SLOPs, or to create great atmosphere. Only annoyance where occasional misspellings. Also, The Dream contains new definition of lower downtown, which is great. New Hunter sheet Red Alert contains a great way to introduce PCs to these horrors through hunter sheet. So, I'd recommend also buying it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dream
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hunter Sheets: Red Alert
by Jukka V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 12:51:21

It's a solid 4,5/5, and I'd like to give it a 5 star rating but there are few minor things why I drop it to 4. Content is 3-5 depending on your own taste. I personally don't like Moral Right division, so I didn't find virtual squads very usefull. But that is not big minus for product. Hunter sheets are spot on, and at least are is directly related to previous datapacks, easily giving the GM an entrance way to introduce new horrors to game. I felt that little better editing would have improved this product (this is mostly why 4, but not 5 stars), but I didn't find too much misspellings.

Generally text flows well, content is good and this product has earned its place on SLA continuum.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter Sheets: Red Alert
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hunter Sheets Issue 1 - SLA Industries
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/04/2016 20:07:47

SLA Industries is somewhat different. It posits, in the typically dour, rain-swept and pessimistic style it has achieved, a contest between the players and the monsters – er, a series of psychopathic serial killers – which may or may not be equal or fair in nature. The conceit is that the players take the role of quasi-official operatives who may accept contracts to eliminate undesirable presences on the mean city streets, returning if successful with evidence of the kill (ears, perhaps, in the Mongolian style or some other previously agreed token).

There are twenty such ‘Hunter Sheets’ provided in this supplement, which runs to a length of 77 pages in a PDF item. As well as initial and concluding fluff – sorry, intensely-wrought and crafted flavour pieces (there is a reason why publishers are so reluctant to pay for fluff) – the twenty serial killers are presented one at a time, first with information for players and then the same for the GM. The first would be presented to the player group, depending on how much choice the GM is prepared to offer them, while the second is reserved for subsequent use. Some clues are presented for working the individual killers into play but, inevitably, too many of these in a row will make game play feel a little repetitive. Perhaps they may be reserved for occasional interludes when a campaign reaches a natural break or when an impromptu game breaks out for one reason or another.

The different prey vary in deadliness but share the atmospheric qualities that SLA players will enjoy (since they presumably do not play if they do not enjoy it) and are consistent with that atmosphere. The style of the book is also consistent with the theme and the portraits of killers are sensibly located in the players’ part of the text. The text itself is divided up into sections artfully arranged across the pages in exciting post-modern style and, for some reason which escapes me, lengthy sections are written entirely in capital letters, which can make it feel like the reader is on the receiving end of an extensive character assessment by an ex-spouse. Still, no doubt it will appeal to some people.

For would-be entrants to the SLA GM clique, this is likely to be an invaluable resource in providing means of involving the players in urgent action and preventing them from having the leisure time to write poetry, open hardware stores and raise llamas and all the other stuff that players will get up to if they are not being continuously threatened by vile and violent sociopaths. The GM is unlikely to use all of the hunter sheets, at least not all at once, but some will be very helpful in getting things going. Above all, it helps ensure the continued power and existence of the GM clique.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter Sheets Issue 1 - SLA Industries
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hunter Sheets: Red Alert
by Otto T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2015 18:51:11

Honestly I'm only dropping it from 5 stars for the typical reason I'd put all SLA Products at a 4/5 and that's due to the fact they put products out without them being thoroughly edited.

The content is 5/5 but the grammatical errors and a few continuity errors kinda irk me, perhaps the problem is that I'm just looking at it too hard.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter Sheets: Red Alert
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hunter Sheets: Red Alert
by Ed A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2015 12:47:05

Well, where to start.

Hunter Sheets: Red Alert is billed as Truth Rating high and it is not kidding. For anyone who has an interest in the back story of SLA Industries this is a must have. It starts, innocuously enough, with some more info on the Moral Right, SLA Ops internal nemesis de jour. Inspired buy Mary Whitehouse's National Viewers' and Listeners' Association, MR are a relativly recent addition to the World of Progress. Essentially an arm of SLA's internal security aperatus they have supplanted Cloak Division and are rather more interesting as an antagonist. Here we have their latest effort to bring moral fibre to the streets of Downtown Mort, the Virtue Squads. A combination of Football Hooligans, Shin Heads, Neo-Nazis and other brutal thugs lead by the scions of the World of Progres' wealthiest and most powerful families, there is plenty of social commentary here as well as a distinctly Clockwork Orange vibe.

Following on from this are the Hunter Sheets themselves. Five distinctly different targets are presented here, all of whom will provide at least an evening's play and a decent challenge. All bar one also touch on a hidden element of the World of Progress. The detailed system info also provides plenty of material for a GM to work into his own adversaries.

Finally there is the closing story, featuring Intruder, Mr Slayer himself and one of the Huntersheet targets. It's a good read, referencing a number of old, somewhat obscure SLA short stories such as Love is a Stranger (check out the SLA forums at http://nightfall.me/index.php if you are interested) and it's the most Truth heavy section of the whole piece. While it's not the telling of the SLA backstory it does give you enough to see the shape of it and intrigue you as to what is to come.

All in all the Virtue Squads are the highlight of the piece for me. I run SLA as a very street level game and unlike SHIVERs they cannot just be pushed around or outright ignored. The other elements are things I would weave in infrequently to up the wiredness level and keep my players on edge. If you are interested in the secret world of SLA however you are likely to disagree with that assessment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SLA Industries Collection [BUNDLE]
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2015 00:28:35

The game itself is very good with a dark subversive undertone.

But this scan of a physical book is amateurish and crude to say the least. There are scan lines, warped pages, stitching errors and other graphical anomalies. I am sorry that I purchased it. I could have made a better scan and searchable PDF myself.

I bought the bundle. Only Cannibal Sector One and Hunter Sheets 1 were worth it. All the others suffer from the same problems.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
SLA Industries Collection [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Key of Delhyread
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2015 00:28:00

The game itself is very good with a dark subversive undertone.

But this scan of a physical book is amateurish and crude to say the least. There are scan lines, warped pages, stitching errors and other graphical anomalies. I am sorry that I purchased it. I could have made a better scan and searchable PDF myself.

I bought the bundle. Only Cannibal Sector One and Hunter Sheets 1 were worth it. All the others suffer from the same problems.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Key of Delhyread
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Contract Directory
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2015 00:27:26

The game itself is very good with a dark subversive undertone.

But this scan of a physical book is amateurish and crude to say the least. There are scan lines, warped pages, stitching errors and other graphical anomalies. I am sorry that I purchased it. I could have made a better scan and searchable PDF myself.

I bought the bundle. Only Cannibal Sector One and Hunter Sheets 1 were worth it. All the others suffer from the same problems.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Contract Directory
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mort sourcebook
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2015 00:26:37

The game itself is very good with a dark subversive undertone.

But this scan of a physical book is amateurish and crude to say the least. There are scan lines, warped pages, stitching errors and other graphical anomalies. I am sorry that I purchased it. I could have made a better scan and searchable PDF myself.

I bought the bundle. Only Cannibal Sector One and Hunter Sheets 1 were worth it. All the others suffer from the same problems.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mort sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Karma
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2015 00:26:07

The game itself is very good with a dark subversive undertone.

But this scan of a physical book is amateurish and crude to say the least. There are scan lines, warped pages, stitching errors and other graphical anomalies. I am sorry that I purchased it. I could have made a better scan and searchable PDF myself.

I bought the bundle. Only Cannibal Sector One and Hunter Sheets 1 were worth it. All the others suffer from the same problems.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Karma
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SLA Industries
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2015 00:24:34

The game itself is very good with a dark subversive undertone.

But this scan of a physical book is amateurish and crude to say the least. There are scan lines, warped pages, stitching errors and other graphical anomalies. I am sorry that I purchased it. I could have made a better scan and searchable PDF myself.

I bought the bundle. Only Cannibal Sector One and Hunter Sheets 1 were worth it. All the others suffer from the same problems.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
SLA Industries
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SLA Industries
by Morten P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 12:28:14

One of the darkest role playing settings I've played. But also one of the most fascinating. You can only be sure of one thing: SLA wins. It would be helpful if the pdf came with bookmarks, as the index is one of the least helpful I've encountered. And this is the problem with SLA. the book is not very good, but the setting is fantastic. There is a necessity for some house rules, but after implementing a few clarifications, it is a decent system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter Sheets Issue Two
by Dan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2014 22:26:10

The characters outlined in Issue Two each make for a memorable single-shot or for an equally memorable ongoing presence within your campaign. The top-notch writing really drives home the gruesomeness and bleakness of the SLA Industries setting, as well as its black humor. Production value is excellent; B&W interior is well designed, with each criminal profile extending two pages each, I believe, and with additional stats and details compiled for all characters at the end.

I would recommend Issue Two not just for those playing SLA Industries or sci-fi / cyberpunk games, but for other genres as well. You could easily reskin any of the characters in Issue Two for a fantasy adventure, for example. Dave Allsop's nightmarish artwork practically warrants purchase all on its own. The characters pictured on the cover would make for a terrifying story in any setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter Sheets Issue Two
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SLA Industries
by Jason T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2014 06:40:28

I've owned SLA Industries in hardback since the very first edition and it's taken a while to get the pdf as my hardcopies are rarely put away. With the recent "Pay What You Want" offer I had to take the opportunity to get the pdf along with the other pdf Data Packets.

The setting is excellent, different from the other games available, a dark mix of gritty urban hell, weirdness and horror. The number of options available to players right out the main book is great but even better when adding in the content of Karma etc.

Get this game. It never disappoints whether you're running a game for Operatives fresh from training or for more seasoned Ops taking on much larger prey and opportunities. This is a game you won't put down that has a wonderful history and richness in the setting; it's no wonder it's inspired such a creative and loyal fan-base many years since it first got released.

The system is relatively simple giving enough crunch without being bogged down by tables and numbers etc, but light enough that players who dislike managing numbers won't be put off. There's ample options, equipment and powers to create some truly unique PCs and games that'll keep your players entertained for a long time.

Visually the book is B&W, colour art possibly being something that is needed but it's lack doesn't detract from the quality of the writing and it's potential for game longevity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SLA Industries
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Threat Analysis: Hominid
by Jefferson D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2014 01:41:12

After all these years, SLA Industries is still my favorite setting for a roleplaying game. Ever. When Nightfall Games puts something I out, I get it. Sight unseen.Doesn't matter. It's cyberpunk/horror unlike anything else.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Threat Analysis: Hominid
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 48 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG