RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Four: Ogres
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2014 21:56:43
I can't say enough good things about Okum Arts cardstock minis. I love the art, the prices are reasonable, and the layers really add value since it's like multiplying the number of figures you get. many sets have bonus figures hidden the layers too, which is really. cool.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Four: Ogres
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mini Playset - Assorted Supers
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2014 12:46:06
Nice mini set. Dave's art is great, as expected.
10 figures, 3 layers of color options.
I should also note, that he wisely didn't depict powers powers, so the figures are more universal in application.
I look forward to future mini sets, especially if they are Superhero related.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini Playset - Assorted Supers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Advanced Classes: Ducks
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2014 06:22:43
Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/04/11/tabletop-review-darkfas-
t-classic-fantasy-advanced-classes-ducks-labyrinth-lord/

When you’re a reviewer, sometime a piece so weird comes up that you have to review it. In this case it is Ducks, a supplement for Labyrinth Lord by Okumarts Games. Labyrinth Lord isn’t a system that is known for its sense of humour, but the cover and description of Ducks was so hilariously odd that I had to see if the piece was a nice piece of levity for the system or if it actually was taking itself seriously. Well, thankfully this is meant to be a comic piece. However, once it is on your table you or your players can treat it as seriously as you want. After all, is a race of duck people really that different from Dragonborn, Lizardmen or Wolfweres? I’d say no. Anything is possibly in YOUR fantasy world.

For $2.50, you get two nine page PDFs – one for PCs and one for Macs. Each format also gets two ads for other Okumarts products. Now $2.50 might seem a bit pricey for a mere nine pages of content, especially when one of those pages is actually just the OGL. The highlight of the piece is the comical duck-person art by David Okum. It’s no Carl Barks or Don Rosa in quality, but the art kept making me thinking of a Disney/D&D mash-up, which is wonderfully bizarre.

The duck race appears to be an ancient curse brought upon by a cranky wizard, but it’s never said why or to whom. The duck race as a whole seems to take its cues from Donald Duck as they are cranky and awkward. Being ducks they have a harder time on land than on water (although not if they are wearing full plate armor obviously) and they get penalties to hiding their tracks and disguising themselves for obvious reasons. It is interesting to see that Ducks are also grumpy and unlucky as a race, making me wonder if the author did indeed pattern this after the Carl Barks version of Donald Duck. It really seems like it, as the credits thank Disney’s greatest creator ever. However, what do you do with a Gladstone Gander type duck, a Gyro Gearloose or even an Uncle Scrooge? Why not a playable Ranger class considering the importance of the Junior Woodchucks? There are multiple lost opportunities with the piece, although perhaps due to the size of the PDF rather than the imagination of the creator.

After a history and overview of the Duck race, readers are treated to both NPC stats for common ducks and also player progression stats/charts for playable Ducks, as well as four class options: Fighter, Magic-User, thief and Cleric. Ducks get a lot of restrictions especially in the fact they can only have d6s for Hit Dice and their terrible saving throws vs magic, but they also get a wide range of bonuses including the ability to 100% read magic, even if they are a non-magic-using class. The challenge and comic potential of playing a Duck character will be intriguing to some.

After looking over all the options, a Duck Cleric and Magic-User seem to be the best options due to their bonuses and hindrances involving magic. A Duck Thief is going to have challenges due to its appearance, waddling speed drawback and lack of disguise options. A Duck Fighter will be held back by the armor and weapon restrictions the race faces. Now this doesn’t mean you shouldn’t play a Duck Warrior if that is what you really want – just a heads up about the potential challenges these characters would face. Duck Clerics and Magic-Users are pretty much the same as any other races that has access to those classes, so they’d be the best to try using this class with in my opinion.

Overall, Ducks is a very interesting product. The piece is definitely presenting with its tongue in its cheek and the artwork is fabulous, but the piece is also written in such a way that the race can be taken quite seriously if you and your players choose too. It’s a cute idea that I am really glad I picked up. My two complaints are actually parallel to each other in that the piece is a bit pricey for what you get and that there is a lot of missed potential because of the brevity in the PDF. Still, that means we might see further supplements down the road, right?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Advanced Classes: Ducks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
This excellent review brought up some great points and given me much to think about for future class books. I have added a set of eight paper minis to give more bang for the buck and link it with my other products. Thanks for the honest and insightful review Alexander! Make sure you download the file again for the minis.
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Zero: Basic Adventure
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2014 20:14:02
I agree with Phillip M. The only thing that would make this better would be more female types. Maybe Darkfast could do an all-female version. Love the artwork.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Zero: Basic Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review! That\'s a really great idea to do an all-female set. That is definitely an oversight on my part and many paper mini sets. I made male and female versions of the Dwarf set and the Dungeon Explorers set, but more would never hurt.
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Six: Crypt Crawl
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2014 06:30:37
What more can be said? It is an OKUM ARTS set of figures!! It has been far too long since he has released a set of figures, and I have to admit, the wait has been worth it!

Beautifully drawn figures with vivid, brilliant colors that really grab you. No matter what game you are playing, these horrible beasts can find their way into the deepest, darkest caverns of your dungeons, and give your heroes something to battle.

What I enjoy the most is there are common (4 figure pose) creatures, and uncommon (two figure pose) creatures. You can print as many pages as you want, and have swarms of maggoty creatures, or a dungeon filled with Owlbears.

What a great addition to my fantasy papercraft collection!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Six: Crypt Crawl
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Six: Crypt Crawl
by umberto p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2014 06:48:57
Customary great set from David Okum. Good art, smart use of layers and useful creatures. PS David, I want a jelly cube, sooner or later!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Six: Crypt Crawl
by Luca V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2014 02:02:17
First and foremost, let me come out of the closet: owlbears are my "fetish monster" in RPGs, along with Rust Eaters.
I greatly appreciate Okumart style (he stays just one step outside manga, which is exactly in my comfort zone. So, when Okumart makes a set with TWO (count'em: two!) owlbears, I *have* to jump in.
The undead sheet has 5 layers, which means you can have an enormous variety of zombies and ghouls.
This sheet alone, when used with the (free) set zero, is enough to populate any low to medium level dungeon and keep us all happy while waiting for the next set!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Six: Crypt Crawl
by Anne T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2014 01:43:03
I hate zombies.

And it's more than just because there's been an oversaturation of them in recent genre media, it's personal.

But even though a full third of the paper minis in this set are the creeping, cannibalistic, bloody undead, OkumArts figures are always so fantastic that it was an insta-buy for me. Even if this set had been all and only zombies, Okum's vivid artwork with wonderful line and colour, dynamic poses, evocative characters, and humourous easter eggs, illustrated in an old-school dungeon-crawling style are really the best paper miniatures you can get, anywhere. Don't believe just me - he's already been twice nominated for Ennies for his minis, and it's only the Pathfinder behemoth that's kept him off the podium, I'm sure.

This particular set includes 7 files, a product cover, an ad for his forum and other work, two sheets of instructions, and three sheets of figures. The first is a layered pdf with alternate colourways, which includes 3 zombie villagers, 4 old-school orcs (p'orks), and 5 grey gravelings. The second includes 8 giant rats, 6 giant maggots, 4 giant flies, (and a partridge in a pear tree - nope, sorry, wrong song). The bonus (non-crypt themed) sheet includes 4 giant ferrets, 2 giant weasels, and 2 _terrific_ owlbears. I'll be posting photos of the figures over the next week at my blog (dungeon-mama.blogspot.com).

I have each and every one of OkumArts Darkfast and other fantasy sets, and I'm looking for an excuse, a game, any way to justify picking up his Pulp Sci-Fi and Western figures too. The figures are easy to print, cut, glue, and have on the table in short order, and look better than 95% of home-painted 3D miniatures.

What are you still doing reading this review? Buy 'em, you won't regret 'em!*


*Unless, of course, they actually come to life, and go after your brain. They are lively-looking enough to do that. You can be mad at me then, but I'll be already been dead and eaten. ;)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Retro Space Set Six: Space Pirates
by umberto p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2013 03:43:20
A new fantastic set from Okum! These guys remind me a lot the old Captain Harlock anime and are excellent to enemies to throw in large packs against your party of space adventurers. On the technical side, David implemented a nice feature: you can combine two different color schemes in the same time, one for the jumpsuit and the other for the extras (belts, boots, cloaks and so on). They are 4 color scheme each, so... you can do the math, but there are a lot of combinations.
As always there is a bonus flat full of extra figures, suitable for enemies and player characters alike. If you are playing a space game, they are a must!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Retro Space Set Six: Space Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Retro Space Set Four: Space Hero Squad
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2013 19:08:24
Love it!
the color layers make it easy to make different squads or whatever.
can't wait for more!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Retro Space Set Four: Space Hero Squad
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Axes and Anvils Set One: Dwarf Adventurers
by Paula O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2013 18:01:15
Another great set. these dwarves will do great service for anything from an RPG NPC encounter to filling the ranks for a whole army. as usual the art is excellent and the poses are dynamic yet easy to cut.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Axes and Anvils Set One: Dwarf Adventurers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Five: Dungeon Explorers
by Paula O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2013 17:59:34
A well rounded and very useful set. So many options here it may take me years to use everything. The art is what you expect from the manufacturer-great!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Five: Dungeon Explorers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Five: Dungeon Explorers
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2013 12:44:37
Okumarts game miniatures are the de facto standard of miniatures. He obviously puts his heart into his models, and knows that there are many people like myself that cannot afford game miniatures that are cast in resin or pewter. Always start here for your miniature needs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Axes and Anvils Set One: Dwarf Adventurers
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2013 12:43:34
Okumarts game miniatures are the de facto standard of miniatures. He obviously puts his heart into his models, and knows that there are many people like myself that cannot afford game miniatures that are cast in resin or pewter. Always start here for your miniature needs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Axes and Anvils Set One: Dwarf Adventurers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Zero: Basic Adventure
by Rodney S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2013 08:16:16
Easy to assemble, look good on the table and perfect scale (when compared to D&D Miniatures and Reaper Miniatures).

I love the artwork, although I'm sure it won't be everyone's cup of tea.

I'd like the heroes and villains on separate pages so that I could print out hordes of monsters without all the extra heroes, but this isn't a major problem.

This is the perfect starter set and very convenient if you don't have much space or money.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Zero: Basic Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 135 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG