RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Steampunk powered by Fate
by Pascal L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2014 09:39:10
Not worth your money. Bad artwork uninteresting setting absent rules. If your look at using FATE in a steampunk setting you can go without this. Just surfing on the steampunk wave.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Steampunk powered by Fate
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Future Heroes powered by Fate Core
by Joe D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2014 18:30:24
Bad layout and no real content, just rehashed fate core. The power system is basically pick a few powers and use then and descriptors for skills, not a single new sample stunt is in the book. Save your money do not buy this.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Future Heroes powered by Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Extreme Future Fate Edition
by RJ S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2013 19:23:31
Just not a fan. The book looks like it was put together by someone who is untrained, clearly. But for $15, not the production value you'd expect. Especially for someone who has now 5 versions of this book up for sale under other systems. It really looks like someone just converted their msword file to pdf and uploaded it.

Mechanics wise, it's Fate, which of course is good.

The setting section is mostly one to four paragraphs on each pre-generated planet, write ups for npcs, monsters, vehicles/ships and equipment.... and tables to generate random planets, and that's it. Nothing really 'endearing' for the setting really. If you're into world building, or in this case, universe building, for the long haul, then it'd be fine. But newer GM's have nothing to really work with to add more 'meat' to the setting for their campaigns.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Extreme Future Fate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Spaceship Owner's Manual 7 Ironclad
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/30/2013 11:10:25
Fancy policing the spacelanes? Or do you want to know where your more 'ethically challenged' characters are likely to end up when the long arm of the law catches up with them?

This quite amazing vessel is basically a spacefaring police station (precinct house), capable of mounting assaults on other ships and conducting boarding actions in the quest to bring villains to justice. It comes with well-equipped crime labs for the CSI team and secure interrogation and holding facilities for those accused of wrong-doing.

There are several exterior views of the ship, a bit crude in execution but they give the idea well. All three decks are shown in deck plans, which come complete with descriptive text so that you know what everything is for...

In addition, there are copious notes on the combat capabilities of the vessel sufficient that it should be possible to tweak it for use of the ruleset of your choice (for example, my Traveller referee was grumbling this morning about the lack of variety of ships available to him...).

For those who use virtual tabletop systems there are notes and icons that can be used - the ship itself if engaged in space manoeuvres or combat and deckplan images if your action is taking place aboard.

I can see plenty of use for this... and indeed scope for writing adventures revolving around it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spaceship Owner's Manual 7 Ironclad
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Spaceship Owner's Manual 3 Galsheen
by Leonard L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2013 18:01:36
I was looking for deckplans for a mid sized ship for use in a campaign. This product provides some info in terms of what rooms are on what deck and how they are arranged, but there is no interior art or even a grid to make use of the rough outlines for each deck. While the fluff is reasonable, I would assume for the price that there would be quite a bit more included.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Spaceship Owner's Manual 3 Galsheen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Harasser
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/11/2013 05:38:25
Whilst being designed for use with Starbright's Mecha Clash game, the Harasser mecha is worth a look if you are playing any game that includes mecha.

The real delight here is the copious background provided about the Harasser's development and operation. This will be of particular use if your game centres around mecha pilots rather than the actual brawling that takes place when they are operating their mecha, although that too is supported by this product (you might have to do some stats-wrangling if you are not playing Mecha Clash, though!).

The illustrations are good, too, with several views from different angles of the Harasser, including labelled ones showing the important parts. If you want to introduce this mecha into a skirmish with other forces, there are two rather useful battle-maps - one showing a fallen Harasser and one with a top-down view that could be used if someone tries to climb on the mecha's shoulders. This could be during an attack in an attempt to get at the pilot or troops being carried into battle (or away to safety) on its shoulders... even if this is not recommended due to the lack of hand-holds!

You also get some star maps and notes on the setting of Mecha Clash, adequate but not very clear.

But it is the contextual notes that make this a real gem.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Harasser
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Tigress Exploration Vehicle
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/24/2013 09:53:41
Forget fancy spaceships, the real exploration is done once boots hit the planetary surface. Well, those boots don't want to cover the entire surface on their own, so that's when something like the Tigress Exploration Vehicle comes into its own.

Basically, it's a well-designed personnel carrier. It's not really for combat (beyond perhaps delivering troops to battle) but there are a few optional extras if you really, really want to fight using it. Primarily designed for use in atmosphere, although there are various filtering options available when that atmosphere is not breathable, it can be fitted with an airlock but is not really designed for hard vacuum.

There are good descriptions of the interior and exterior, a nice write-up of the history of the design of the vehicle and some commonly-found variants, and some nice illustrations including variant interior configurations. The whole is marred by a lack of proof-reading which makes a lot of it quite jerky and difficult to follow, sentences that just

Like that, don't actually reach their conclusion. Clean it up, and this would be an excellent product: put up with it and you'll still find it useful when your characters wish to explore pastures new.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tigress Exploration Vehicle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Extreme Future Galaxy Politics Map
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2012 12:33:25
The map lacks detail and does not define borders very clearly. At times I could not decide what a given line represented.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Extreme Future Galaxy Politics Map
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Extreme Future Galaxy Politics Map
by David E S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2012 20:32:03
This is a one page (letter-size) PDF map of a space setting.

On the good side, I'm sure that this would be of some use to a GM running a game in the Extreme Future setting. It's clearly labeled for the most part.

On the bad side, let's start with a technical issue. We're downloading this as a one-page letter-size PDF with generous margins. Using PDF disassembly tools on it, it turns out it's a 3000x3000 JPG stuck in a PDF. It's a lot easier to do things with a JPEG then a PDF; I can print it with my margins, I can easily print it on European-sized paper, I can print it poster-size, etc. The only advantage I can see of turning this into a PDF is that DriveThruRPG can watermark it, which isn't a huge advantage with a free product.

Next, the background of the image is probably a NASA photo. It's sort of pretty, until you realize this is supposed to be our galaxy, but this is not a picture of our galaxy, nor of any barred spiral galaxy; I believe it's a picture of a nebula, not a galaxy of any type.

On top of that are straight lines breaking this up into sectors of some sort. It's interesting that there's nine radial sections. So why are the Core Worlds bounded by circles divided eight-fold? By itself this section is intriguing, though I would hope that some of the irregularities were explained in game.

The top level shows various sections where various polities are. With one exception, the grid discussed above is ignored completely. With no exceptions, the underlying photo is ignored. Every section is a neat rectangle, and The Wall is a perfect semi-circle. The concept that polities in the real world tend not to be neat and even seems to have escaped our cartographers. (And again, the galaxy? If this is supposed to be our galaxy, humanity's homeworld is nowhere near the center.) This whole section looks slapdash; someone loaded up the background in a graphic editor and tossed some rectangles on there and called it done.

It feels like someone whipped it up in a week for a game. Even as such I would still have quibbles. If it were in a RPG book, I would feel it was pretty bad, but still usable. As an advertisement for a system, it's appalling. Surely--hopefully--this is not the best the publishers can show for their setting.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Extreme Future Galaxy Politics Map
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2012 07:42:53
I like it. It's colorful and you can tell where things are in relation to one another. I can see how you can get an idea of how far away your friends and enemies are.

Dislikes: it's only one page. I hope the author details one or two areas of the map in the future.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heroes in Time
by Nearly e. D. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/01/2011 13:54:50
Heroes in Time opens with a picture of what looks like a human in some sort of clear space suit, energy sword in one hand and claws on the end on the other with a strange metallic winged creature in the background, a barren landscape and empty space and stars in the background. Beside that is the beginning of an extensive contents that includes the wide variety of settings for adventures – Primeval, Fantasy, Swashbuckling, Steampunk, Modern, Cyberpunk and Space Opera. While many would consider it ambitious to try and create a system that can deal with so many different genres, as the name suggests, it also intends to make it possible to have the same character be playable in all of them as the default setting has all the genres linked in a common timeline.

After the standard “What is a roleplaying game?” and overview of the basic mechanics, each setting gets a brief timeline of the main events of the era as well as a history, adventure ideas, information about the prevalence of Gods, the types of monsters as well as how special powers are viewed and how societies of the era tend to function. At least, that's the case up until the Modern era and beyond where details of Gods disappear entirely.

Following the genres of play we reach details of the Temporal Lords, inspired by Dr Who and Sapphire and Steel, the far future human race with the ability to move backwards and forwards through time and the first mention of their adversaries, The Entropic Alliance. However, even after reading the book I'm not sure if the time travel is at Gms whim or if the players are meant to have access to something to travel with deliberately. We quickly move on to character creation – names, alignment (not just good vs evil, law vs chaos but also has suggestions such as logical vs emotional or detached vs engaged), suggestions for back-stories and the type of personality the protagonist will have (all nicely free of mechanics so far so any suggestions could easily be used for any other game or as a simple guide for new roleplayers) and how they're funded. We start to reach the parts with mechanical effects – races (human, elves, halflings and dwarves though halflings don't seem to have any drawbacks for their bonuses and dwarves get barely a sentence of flavourful text with no mechanical effects) and development points to determine a character's areas of expertise, abilities and powers. There's a wide variety of examples for skills, but they all come under broad headings that may make it easy to skip over and make it seem like far too many development points on a quick read through.

With the powers, it offers two default methods of obtaining them; innate and through items though other than making the choice it has no real effect before going on to say items should have limitations and offering some but curiously not listing the idea of the power being gained from an item being a limitation – If I have a ring of intangibility and it gets stolen, I no longer have the ability until I can get that back and it provides a good way for enemies to try and reduce my power before attacking (or because the GM has realised an ability is too powerful and needs to redress this!) but as it is, there's no reason for me not to make all my powers innate unless being tied to an item was meant to be a limitation but not listed. However, the power list is extensive and covers so much it would be difficult to think of anything quickly that isn't covered by the powers available. As I've been writing this review I cast my mind towards the X-Men but I reckon most or all of them could be made fairly quickly with the rules provided.

The equipment list is similarly extensive without feeling bloated – the main classes of weapon, armour and shield are all provided and extend through the genres and there is also a decent list of general equipment and magic items. My only critique here is the lack of costs or anything to make it a bit more independent and quick if you have several players trying to make characters at the same time. The default is to discuss it with the GM to decide what's appropriate but if there's four or five players doing this at once it may become an issue.

There are also pages devoted to robots, space ships (though with careful use of limitations and adjusting the speed chart appropriately, regular ships could easily be made using this for Swashbuckling/Fantasy periods as well as things like airships), poisons, diseases and environmental hazards as well as a small bestiary that sometimes lacks information on the capabilities or weaknesses of certain creatures (undead are typically just a desciption).

The main rules for skill resolution and combat are right at the start of the book and shows that defences will be important to avoid quickly being disabled (it appears a typical character will have about +60 to 70 on a percentile roll, subtract their opponents dodge roll and armour modifiers and if the score is above 100 after this it will usually incapacitate an opponent.) However, an opponent skilled in dodging and with decent armour should make it a difficult or impossible task to score above 100 but there is the potential for very quick combats. However, I'd need to play or run a game to get a good idea of how likely this is in actual play.

Aside from a few typos that will inevitably slip through the net and taking a few reads to ensure I knew where the relevant rules for combat, etc, could be found there is a simple system with a plethora of information and options to cover most genres and technology levels and manages to condense it all into a surprisingly small book for everything that's contained within. My main concerns would be how quickly a combat would finish and how long it might take to work out each attack (I know I can get slow with D&D modifiers sometimes, let alone trying to work out 143-58 quickly or similar each round). However, even if you never planned to play/run Heroes in Time, it might have enough to inspire you for ideas on certain genres or work well for a simple superhero game (the section on character death even mentions how death is rarely permanent in superhero stories/comics) as well as the default time hopping through genres.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes in Time
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Realms
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2011 08:15:11
Realms (for Fate 2.0 I think) by Brett Fitzpatrick really demonstrates the author (of Extreme Future) is one of the more creative talents in independent publishing. All the bizarre, gonzo creatures (Muscaliete, the extremely hot human-boar hybrid) you find in Extreme Future apply to his fantasy setting. Unlike his previous product, the organization is much clearer, there are page numbers, and he has several sample adventures. As for the setting, humans are not in control because... uh... Evil! Plague! Dogs! Okay, this history of the (colonized?) world got smacked silly. It's fun. Sort of Skyrealms of Jorune crossed with Gamma World. With more dogs. Complaints? Well, way too little description of sea adventures and the magic section could use another supplement.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Realms
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Space Wrecks
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2011 08:07:08
Space Wrecks for Extreme Future, like the first supplement and like Extreme Future itself suffers from some organization problems and technical details (like, no page numbers). But on the other hand it nicely describes new equipment, psionic skills, and some characters. Like Extreme Futures itself it has that wonderful Fortean bizarre... things... (like the sentry guns that look like dogs). The wrecks themselves are incredibly creative, even if some of them only come across as concepts without much detail. I liked the idea of the wrekced generation ship, the hospical horror wreck, the Ancient Precursor zoo and some of the "denziens" described (like the Quolash, a giant tape worm in the hall). Hmmm. It even inspired a wreck in my mind: P.T. Barnum's circus, the original building before the fire. I recommend this supplement.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Wrecks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Extreme Future 1st Edition
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2011 15:01:27
This is the old Tarazet setting/system (the name of both the planet and the floating city on it) from way back. It uses the FATE 2.0 mechanics (the simple dynamic check) except that you roll a d6 that is assigned to a level from Terrible to Heroic (such as 2d6 for Poor) and add the result before translating to FATE. So 2d6 is Poor, you add them up, and compare to a difficulty number. I much prefer the easier Fudge dice rather than this mechanic. I'm not sure how easy it is to convert.

As for the Tarazet, I mean Extreme Future, it has that same bizarre combination of space opera/Fortean strangeness that makes it so charming. It still has some of the problems of the older system, such as some organization problems. But the problems are overwhelmed by the sheer goofiness (check out the Heavy Walker HW350 which looks like the Hulk without a head where the pilot sits, picking up a rock on an airless asteroid, or the wattle-faced aliens). It has a bit of a sketch adventure at the end that throws it all together (pirates, squeegee mop aliens and I don't now what). Three stars for some of the sketchiness of problems mentioned, but it could easily be four stars with some work.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Extreme Future 1st Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG