RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Entropic Gaming System
by Jeff C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2017 13:51:33

I keep buying new “generic” rpg systems in the vague hope of finding ‘The One.’ Much like dating or finding the job, I’ve gone through a lot of different rpg’s that didn’t quite make it. I raised an eyebrow when I saw the Entropic Game System. It has a lot of things I like about a generic game and Mystical Throne Entertainment about a game company for the most part.

I bought the pdf +print copies of the EGS Core Rulebook, Science Fiction, and Fantasy. Generally speaking the art, layout and typesetting on all three were top-notch. I like the use of sidebars. The length of each book was appropriate to its price. The depth of information in the Core rulebook was very appropriate to a generic rulebook. In other words- not too much crunch, not too much fluff, and enough pertinent info to start a campaign in any given genre without having to fill in all the blanks yourself. Still, there was plenty of room after the Core Rulebook to fill in those blanks for any given genre, which is nice for a generic game. The system is very adaptable and useful for a wide variety of games. I love the variable dice and attribute + skill type rolls. The system, as others have commented, reminds me a lot of Cortex or Savage Worlds. I actually think of EGS as being a kind of “lite” version of these games. The mechanics are very easy to learn and work with. The Weird rules are well thought out and generally not too complicated. A lot of games fall apart rapidly when it comes to magic/psionics/ki and other similar mechanics, but EGS deals with them very elegantly. The only thing I felt was truly missing from the Core Rules was any kind of real treatise on vehicle rules, which I’m hoping are covered in the warfare book?

Character creation for this game is a breeze once you get the basics down and have a short chat with the GM. It goes a lot more smoothly if you have an exact character archetype in mind or want to emulate a character from your favorite tv show or anime. If you don’t really have any grasp on what kind of character you want to play or were looking to roll random, this game is not the way to go. I love it because my players who can’t or won’t write a background have to use their heads a little. I guess if all else fails, you can have your GM fill in the blanks. Like so many other games these days, players must have qualities to use for in-game heroic points and at least some in-character justification for some of their abilities.

I’m not a big fan of games with fixed damage. I mean, why have all these cool dice if you’re not going to use them, right? Luckily the designers included a way to convert the fixed damage values to random rolls. Otherwise, I’d say the combat works fine. I find myself again looking forward to purchasing the warfare rules to see if we get vehicle combat and a better assortment of heavy weapons…

The only real head-scratcher for me was the talk of the Open Game License v 1.0. You can publish? your own material for the game? Or maybe you need Mystical Throne Entertainment’s approval to indicate any sort of compatibility? Or maybe WotC’s since that’s what is on the OGL? I don’t understand where any of this jibes with D&D 3.0 core rules. Maybe there needs to be an EGS system resource document? My primary interest in getting into EGS was to have a flexible system to possibly publish my own material under. Right now, I’m still trying to figure out if I’m going to get the Pinnacle Entertainment (not open game) snub of “send us everything so we can tell you you’re not pro enough,” or the patented WotC “or we’ll sue,” if I try to sell something that says it’s EGS compatible. Or if I’m back on hunt for a new universal system? I'll gladly add a fourth and maybe a fifth star onto my rating if I can get some clarity on the whole OGL issue.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Entropic Gaming System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Iron Age Guide: Three Kingdoms China (Savage Worlds)
by George M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2017 10:14:01

I bought this supplement with the intention of running a Savage Worlds campaign set in the Romance of the Three Kingdoms period, since the game seems to match perfect for the setting. I just want to say that my opinions of it are framed more around the potential of the setting rather than the reality of the time period, with my main criticisms being that I wish more focus was placed on the former rather than the latter.

What I would have liked to see:

  • A new arcane background to represent the powers seemingly held by Taoist priests from the stories of the period.
  • More crunch for the interesting features that were described, like Chariots and duels between the officers mid-battle.
  • A guide to naming your characters, as well as more detail on social roleplaying (kowtowing, phrases etc).

What I liked:

  • The descriptions of strategy and historical events helps to draw you into the setting and think like a late-Han era officer.
  • The timeline is really useful for lining up your campaign with the historical context, especially for long-form campaigns.
  • The amount of detail into the military structure is really strong for people who want to play a Weird Wars-like campaign.
  • Interesting weapons and armours, such as paper armour that becomes stronger when wet, but has a chance of breaking.

For the price and for how rare finding RPG books for the Three Kingdoms actually is, I'd recommend Ultimate Iron Age Guide: Three Kingdoms China, it's got almost everything you need for running campaigns in the setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Iron Age Guide: Three Kingdoms China (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Little Heroes: Trapped in Human Town
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2017 22:20:07

nice start,but I was expecting some kind of core rules.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Little Heroes: Trapped in Human Town
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
This is a free Scenario. The core rules are found in the Little Heroes rulebook and The Lost Faery quick start guide.
Little Heroes: Trapped in Human Town
by petri g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2017 14:49:32

very simple storygame. Good for night tale. Rules are almost none.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Pirates, Privateers and Plunder Guide (Savage Worlds)
by Evan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2017 11:39:57

A nice book overall. I like the rules for ship construction, and the crew rules give your loyal band of cutthroats a bit more personality than just having them gain skills. Lots of good background info too about pirates, sailing, and more. There's enough here to give you a good handle on the pirate days even if you haven't read too much about them elsewhere. The information would also be useful, but less so, for someone running a game with piracy taking place outside of the 17th-18th century "golden age".

I do have one minor gripe, and that's with the treasure table included. The list is nice, but all it says about price is "The actual value of the cargo is highly dependant on your individual campaign." I was hoping for a table that gave me at least some suggested values so pirate PCs could sell their loot more easily.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Pirates, Privateers and Plunder Guide (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Game Mechanics Guide: Ground Warfare (Savage Worlds)
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:21:36

Unlike the Ultimate Characters Guide, the Ultimate Mass Battle Guide is pretty well balanced for the most part, with the systems it adds being nice and generally not overly favoring one side or the other without very good reasons. It IS very overcomplicated for Savage Worlds (I actually have played and run GURPS with little issue;And even enjoy occasionally creating GURPS characters in my spare time; and yet I had a lot of trouble understanding how the additions to mass battles in this book are used), which means that it may defeat the purpose of Mass Battles as a way to speed up play, and will be very difficult to explain to others or even understand how to use it.

Unfortunately, this and the Ultimate Characters Guide do not give me much confidence in how this publisher handles Savage Worlds, so I will be avoiding purchasing books by them in the future.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Game Mechanics Guide: Ground Warfare (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:16:09

I feel like while this book has a lot of really great ideas, the execution of those ideas is either sub-par or terrible. most of the edges are either very underpowered or very overpowered, often outperforming other edges with higher rank requirements or much more intensive prerequisites. The Complimentary Skills rule allows Self-Assists, which makes little sense in most cases (even those it's quoted as being used for), the way Knowledge Skills give a flat bonus to things is not only unbalanced, but guarenteed to remove any need to roll save to figure out if the player rolled snake eyes.

So why isn't this review for one star? Because the parts that refer to rules, edges, hindrances, racial abilities etcetera from the core book are by and large very well done, so long as they aren't used with the rules, edges, hindrances, or racial abilities from this book.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Characters Guide: Psionics (Savage Worlds)
by Terry H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2017 08:19:41

This is the book that I have been wanting. I love psionics. While i have only glanced over the book, I really like it. I like the history and explaining of sources and types of psionics. The microsetting is cool. I personally was wanting more powers, I love powers, but the are still many really cool looking powers here. Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Characters Guide: Psionics (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
You are very welcome and thanks for the review!
High Plains Samurai: The Rehearsal Edition
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2017 13:13:29

This is a great western samurai setting that goes with a great game system. If you're interested in a psuedo post apocalyptic setting with strong Japanese Western influences, this is the game for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Plains Samurai: The Rehearsal Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
by Thomas F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2016 15:20:53

I'm a n00b as regards to Savage Worlds. I disliked the starter templates of the fantasy races - especially Rahashan. Each Humans is uniquely different; why must the Non-humans be "cookie-cutter" copies. Using this book, I was able to take aspects of the each of the Felid (feline), Carnivore & Feral Templates to create a character different ferom any other Rakashan.

This book isn't limited to Fantasy. You can use the book to design unique characters (and monsters!) for ANY setting. I think it to be well worth the paltry $5 I paid.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Entropic Gaming System: Quick Start Guide
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2016 12:12:15

It did its job as a quick start, convincing me to get the Mythos (Greek, not Cthulhu) setting books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Entropic Gaming System: Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenPlay: The Rehearsal Edition
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2015 18:13:29

While I don't recall my mostly successful playwriting in the 90's to be quite like this description, this is a good one. You not only get to play your lead character, but extras characters. Can do multiple actions per turn. Two detailed scenarios included, of a cowboy-kung fu mix and a dark fantasy one. Plus if you have a google account, you can get rewards including free print copies when it comes out..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenPlay: The Rehearsal Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Entropic Gaming System: Character Sheet
by ray P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2015 10:13:38

i needed a set of rules for an idea i had for a game. the characters were ordinary people that extarodianary things happened to. so modern day but could go anywhere, needed scifi, magic,fanatsy. i was going to use lords of creation but this fit the bill much better. its not perfect but can be adapted. i bought the paper copy. it arrived in timely fashion and is a quality book



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Entropic Gaming System: Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ancient World: Bestiarum Vocabulum (Savage Worlds)
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/13/2015 11:59:27

BESTIARUM VOCABULUM is a monster manual for use in Mystic Throne Entertainment's Savage Setting 'Ancient World' – a dark fantasy setting. The creatures herein dwell within the world of Dhuran and an attached Chaos realm of the setting. However, these creatures could be used in any Savage Setting which includes Chaos spawn.

The work is laid out well with detailed graphics and descriptions of the 57 creatures contained in the world. Some of the entries include plague and corrupted versions of the beings so things are not always as they seem. The realm of Aelmere, central to the setting, is bounded by a land of volcanoes, ice, Pharisees, and Barbarians. This work contains entrants from each of those realms, adding the Chaos realm as well.

This is well worth adding to your stock of fantasy supplements for Savage Worlds. The art is first rate, the descriptions are voluminous, and the layout is easy on the eyes. Although the creatures are geared for a fantasy setting, they could also serve in a Pulp 30's or SciFi setting as creatures for beyond.

Seems to be well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient World: Bestiarum Vocabulum (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythos: Hero's Handbook (EGS)
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2015 22:59:36

Basically this game is a completely usable product, and very good for anyone even remotely familiar with Greek myth. Also fully usable with Savage Worlds. Really captures the Greek Mythos with the various gods messing around with each other by getting in the way of each other's heroes and cities/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythos: Hero's Handbook (EGS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 69 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG