RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ultimate Pirates, Privateers and Plunder Guide (Savage Worlds)
by Evan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2017 11:39:57

A nice book overall. I like the rules for ship construction, and the crew rules give your loyal band of cutthroats a bit more personality than just having them gain skills. Lots of good background info too about pirates, sailing, and more. There's enough here to give you a good handle on the pirate days even if you haven't read too much about them elsewhere. The information would also be useful, but less so, for someone running a game with piracy taking place outside of the 17th-18th century "golden age".

I do have one minor gripe, and that's with the treasure table included. The list is nice, but all it says about price is "The actual value of the cargo is highly dependant on your individual campaign." I was hoping for a table that gave me at least some suggested values so pirate PCs could sell their loot more easily.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Pirates, Privateers and Plunder Guide (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Mass Battle Guide (Savage Worlds)
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:21:36

Unlike the Ultimate Characters Guide, the Ultimate Mass Battle Guide is pretty well balanced for the most part, with the systems it adds being nice and generally not overly favoring one side or the other without very good reasons. It IS very overcomplicated for Savage Worlds (I actually have played and run GURPS with little issue;And even enjoy occasionally creating GURPS characters in my spare time; and yet I had a lot of trouble understanding how the additions to mass battles in this book are used), which means that it may defeat the purpose of Mass Battles as a way to speed up play, and will be very difficult to explain to others or even understand how to use it.

Unfortunately, this and the Ultimate Characters Guide do not give me much confidence in how this publisher handles Savage Worlds, so I will be avoiding purchasing books by them in the future.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Mass Battle Guide (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:16:09

I feel like while this book has a lot of really great ideas, the execution of those ideas is either sub-par or terrible. most of the edges are either very underpowered or very overpowered, often outperforming other edges with higher rank requirements or much more intensive prerequisites. The Complimentary Skills rule allows Self-Assists, which makes little sense in most cases (even those it's quoted as being used for), the way Knowledge Skills give a flat bonus to things is not only unbalanced, but guarenteed to remove any need to roll save to figure out if the player rolled snake eyes.

So why isn't this review for one star? Because the parts that refer to rules, edges, hindrances, racial abilities etcetera from the core book are by and large very well done, so long as they aren't used with the rules, edges, hindrances, or racial abilities from this book.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Characters Guide: Psionics (Savage Worlds)
by Terry H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2017 08:19:41

This is the book that I have been wanting. I love psionics. While i have only glanced over the book, I really like it. I like the history and explaining of sources and types of psionics. The microsetting is cool. I personally was wanting more powers, I love powers, but the are still many really cool looking powers here. Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Characters Guide: Psionics (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
You are very welcome and thanks for the review!
High Plains Samurai: The Rehearsal Edition
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2017 13:13:29

This is a great western samurai setting that goes with a great game system. If you're interested in a psuedo post apocalyptic setting with strong Japanese Western influences, this is the game for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Plains Samurai: The Rehearsal Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenPlay Presents: Ironbound
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2016 14:24:10

The first half of the item is an almost complete copy pf the rules for Screenplay. I will ignore the rules since I a going to review them seperately. (Psst. I generally like thm.) The second half gets to the Ironbound adventure. Which they suggest is the whole of their fantasy, uh, mini-campaign. In other words a single movie with no sequals. But then suggests your writing sequals. It is an anti-magic crusade lead by a guy who is secretly a magician. Magic is defined as sort of the Cthulhu Mythos type. I.E. it drives both the practitioner and the one putting it down nuts. So everyone has some nuroses and phobias, if not flat out demon possesed or needing a few trips to the rubber room. Even if you don't plan on sequals, you will have a lot of writting a head of you as this is more of an outline than most scenarios. Which can be a good thing, as you and the players flesh it out, or a bad thing if your players aren't very inventive.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenPlay Presents: Ironbound
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
by Thomas F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2016 15:20:53

I'm a n00b as regards to Savage Worlds. I disliked the starter templates of the fantasy races - especially Rahashan. Each Humans is uniquely different; why must the Non-humans be "cookie-cutter" copies. Using this book, I was able to take aspects of the each of the Felid (feline), Carnivore & Feral Templates to create a character different ferom any other Rakashan.

This book isn't limited to Fantasy. You can use the book to design unique characters (and monsters!) for ANY setting. I think it to be well worth the paltry $5 I paid.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Entropic Gaming System: Quick Start Guide
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2016 12:12:15

It did its job as a quick start, convincing me to get the Mythos (Greek, not Cthulhu) setting books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Entropic Gaming System: Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenPlay: The Rehearsal Edition
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2015 18:13:29

While I don't recall my mostly successful playwriting in the 90's to be quite like this description, this is a good one. You not only get to play your lead character, but extras characters. Can do multiple actions per turn. Two detailed scenarios included, of a cowboy-kung fu mix and a dark fantasy one. Plus if you have a google account, you can get rewards including free print copies when it comes out..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenPlay: The Rehearsal Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Entropic Gaming System: Character Sheet
by ray P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2015 10:13:38

i needed a set of rules for an idea i had for a game. the characters were ordinary people that extarodianary things happened to. so modern day but could go anywhere, needed scifi, magic,fanatsy. i was going to use lords of creation but this fit the bill much better. its not perfect but can be adapted. i bought the paper copy. it arrived in timely fashion and is a quality book



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Entropic Gaming System: Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ancient World: Bestiarum Vocabulum (Savage Worlds)
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/13/2015 11:59:27

BESTIARUM VOCABULUM is a monster manual for use in Mystic Throne Entertainment's Savage Setting 'Ancient World' – a dark fantasy setting. The creatures herein dwell within the world of Dhuran and an attached Chaos realm of the setting. However, these creatures could be used in any Savage Setting which includes Chaos spawn.

The work is laid out well with detailed graphics and descriptions of the 57 creatures contained in the world. Some of the entries include plague and corrupted versions of the beings so things are not always as they seem. The realm of Aelmere, central to the setting, is bounded by a land of volcanoes, ice, Pharisees, and Barbarians. This work contains entrants from each of those realms, adding the Chaos realm as well.

This is well worth adding to your stock of fantasy supplements for Savage Worlds. The art is first rate, the descriptions are voluminous, and the layout is easy on the eyes. Although the creatures are geared for a fantasy setting, they could also serve in a Pulp 30's or SciFi setting as creatures for beyond.

Seems to be well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient World: Bestiarum Vocabulum (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythos: Hero's Handbook (EGS)
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2015 22:59:36

Basically this game is a completely usable product, and very good for anyone even remotely familiar with Greek myth. Also fully usable with Savage Worlds. Really captures the Greek Mythos with the various gods messing around with each other by getting in the way of each other's heroes and cities/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythos: Hero's Handbook (EGS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowed Earth (Core Setting Guide)
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2015 23:53:30

I finally got around to read through this setting book - 110 pages of pure setting information takes a while to get through.

The book starts with a small introductory story that continuous along through each chapter. In fact the setting information IS the story as the character in the Preface narrates the history of planet Earth, starting at the Bronze Age and continuing all the way to the New Age (2053).

It is an interesting setting, interweaving mythology and horror with our real world, changing the source of talents during the different ages. As an example, most of the time the gods provide the powers, the occult has its own source of power, modern times develop psionic abilities and the New Age uses cyber implants to harness/enhance powers. Clockwork technology is available during the early modern age, too.

So, what do you get? Everything you want to play, really. During the Dark Ages you could create a Fantasy like feeling, including dwarfs, Elves and such if the campaign is set in northern Europe. The Iron Age sets the stage for nice adventures within the Roman Empire, hunting monsters (aka aliens) - or fighting Germanic Nations. Or use the Egypt background to fight the undead hoards of Anubis during the Bronze Age. Fight the occult during the Dark Ages, be a Crusader and free the Angels of Heaven, subjugate the Baltic area during the Middle Ages, support the settlers in the new world of the Americas during the Early Modern Age or fight occult Pirates, use Clockwork devices to win the battle against evil in London, be part of WWII and stop occult Germans from exploiting secret powers, use your cybernetic enhancements to infiltrate corporations in the New Age.

These are just examples, drawn from inspiration while reading the book. I think I could fit a good part of my adventure collection from different settings, rule books and game systems into the Shadowed Earth. Maybe not as vast as some settings are described, but a city like Freeport I could fit in somewhere and have fun with. Maybe I stretch the canon of Shadowed Earth a bit, but hey: the author encourages this! It is a 'alternate earth' after all, so the GM can do what is necessary. Call of Cthulhu? A very easy fit for this ... maybe an interesting twist to the Shadowed Earth canon, too. Steampunk Victoriana? Sure, somewhere in London - evil is all around to fight. Alien Hunting? Yep, the world is full of aliens and they are hiding behind myths and sometimes in plain sight. There was a time where aliens could enter Earth very easily. Find them, kill them, save humanity.

Although I read the book cover to cover, I think it is not really necessary as each Age is more or less self contained. You could skip some pages if you find them uninteresting at that time, just read the side bars as they give a quick overview about what happened or is presented on the pages you skip. This helps getting through the book much easier without missing a necessary part.

The only thing that is missing are some good descriptions of possible societies and groups. Something that puts a face to the evil, to the occult, to the hunters and eventually to the players. I think this is where additional books come into place, but I really would have wanted a handful of names, characters and hints how to place the players into the setting. As it is, Shadowed Earth is a very well done setting that provides a lot of possibilities and gets your imagination going. But to place the players into it, the GM has to do a bit of work creating groups, societies, characters, allies and adversaries.

As stated before, it is easy to take my "Savage Worlds Rome" setting book and get going with the Shadowed Earth. Or my "Crusaders of the Amber Coast" to cleanse the Baltic area from all evil. Or "Call of Cthulhu" to make sure the time is not right for certain beings. Be a hero and fight chaos beings with the "Solomon Kane" setting book. Sail the North Sea with the help of "Mythic Iceland" and bring christianity there. Revive your old "Cyberpunk: 2020" stuff and sneak into corporate buildings.

This is extremely easy to do and I like the idea to be able to do so. Finally a setting that is smart enough to incorporate all my favorite setting books while providing a solid ongoing background story that is always good for a twist. I'm curious when the author writes some kind of time-travel add-on for the Shadowed Earth so you can walk the Ages of time with one group of characters for a long lasting campaign ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowed Earth (Core Setting Guide)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Entropic Gaming System: Quick Start Guide
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2015 06:20:08

A very nice layout with a trimmed down content of the full rule book. Enough rules to get the included (new) adventure in it going and it provides most of the stuff a GM needs for a fantasy setting (and the first handful of adventures).

Try it out, it is a wonderful set of rules!

I would give it 5 stars for content, 5 stars for layout (color version) and 4 stars for the b/w version (because of the black border, see Discussions). The text is also a bit smaller when printed on A5 paper with this new layout and printing on correct size paper is nearly impossible as it is not available in shops (17,78 x 25,4 cm). On A5 the text is still readable, but in dim light conditions it could be a bit harder for some people.

So, 4 stars for now as it is, due to the black border and smaller text when printed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Entropic Gaming System: Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
The trick there would be to print it on A4 paper and zoom to fit instead of A5. That way the text would get larger instead of smaller. The 7x10 size should make it easy to zoom to fit on larger size paper, but you really wouldn\'t want to shrink it down for, as you say, the text becomes difficult to read. Thanks for the review!
Shadowed Earth Veiled Supplements #01: The Burning Crow (EGS)
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2015 19:59:10

A nice group of characters to be placed into a modern horror setting. Good ideas, some nice starting points (adventure hooks), many information about why, where, when ... all the bits and pieces you need to have some recurring NPCs that are not necessarily evil and an enemy to the players. Would not dare to say 'neutral', but in a shady-grey zone.

layout, text, artwork is as all the other EGS products: good, light on ink and well printed on A5 paper.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowed Earth Veiled Supplements #01: The Burning Crow (EGS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 70 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG