RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
by Thomas F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2016 15:20:53

I'm a n00b as regards to Savage Worlds. I disliked the starter templates of the fantasy races - especially Rahashan. Each Humans is uniquely different; why must the Non-humans be "cookie-cutter" copies. Using this book, I was able to take aspects of the each of the Felid (feline), Carnivore & Feral Templates to create a character different ferom any other Rakashan.

This book isn't limited to Fantasy. You can use the book to design unique characters (and monsters!) for ANY setting. I think it to be well worth the paltry $5 I paid.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Entropic Gaming System: Quick Start Guide
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2016 12:12:15

It did its job as a quick start, convincing me to get the Mythos (Greek, not Cthulhu) setting books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Entropic Gaming System: Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenPlay: The Rehearsal Edition
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2015 18:13:29

While I don't recall my mostly successful playwriting in the 90's to be quite like this description, this is a good one. You not only get to play your lead character, but extras characters. Can do multiple actions per turn. Two detailed scenarios included, of a cowboy-kung fu mix and a dark fantasy one. Plus if you have a google account, you can get rewards including free print copies when it comes out..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenPlay: The Rehearsal Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Entropic Gaming System: Character Sheet
by ray P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2015 10:13:38

i needed a set of rules for an idea i had for a game. the characters were ordinary people that extarodianary things happened to. so modern day but could go anywhere, needed scifi, magic,fanatsy. i was going to use lords of creation but this fit the bill much better. its not perfect but can be adapted. i bought the paper copy. it arrived in timely fashion and is a quality book



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Entropic Gaming System: Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ancient World: Bestiarum Vocabulum (Savage Worlds)
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/13/2015 11:59:27

BESTIARUM VOCABULUM is a monster manual for use in Mystic Throne Entertainment's Savage Setting 'Ancient World' – a dark fantasy setting. The creatures herein dwell within the world of Dhuran and an attached Chaos realm of the setting. However, these creatures could be used in any Savage Setting which includes Chaos spawn.

The work is laid out well with detailed graphics and descriptions of the 57 creatures contained in the world. Some of the entries include plague and corrupted versions of the beings so things are not always as they seem. The realm of Aelmere, central to the setting, is bounded by a land of volcanoes, ice, Pharisees, and Barbarians. This work contains entrants from each of those realms, adding the Chaos realm as well.

This is well worth adding to your stock of fantasy supplements for Savage Worlds. The art is first rate, the descriptions are voluminous, and the layout is easy on the eyes. Although the creatures are geared for a fantasy setting, they could also serve in a Pulp 30's or SciFi setting as creatures for beyond.

Seems to be well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient World: Bestiarum Vocabulum (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythos: Hero's Handbook (EGS)
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2015 22:59:36

Basically this game is a completely usable product, and very good for anyone even remotely familiar with Greek myth. Also fully usable with Savage Worlds. Really captures the Greek Mythos with the various gods messing around with each other by getting in the way of each other's heroes and cities/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythos: Hero's Handbook (EGS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowed Earth (Core Setting Guide)
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2015 23:53:30

I finally got around to read through this setting book - 110 pages of pure setting information takes a while to get through.

The book starts with a small introductory story that continuous along through each chapter. In fact the setting information IS the story as the character in the Preface narrates the history of planet Earth, starting at the Bronze Age and continuing all the way to the New Age (2053).

It is an interesting setting, interweaving mythology and horror with our real world, changing the source of talents during the different ages. As an example, most of the time the gods provide the powers, the occult has its own source of power, modern times develop psionic abilities and the New Age uses cyber implants to harness/enhance powers. Clockwork technology is available during the early modern age, too.

So, what do you get? Everything you want to play, really. During the Dark Ages you could create a Fantasy like feeling, including dwarfs, Elves and such if the campaign is set in northern Europe. The Iron Age sets the stage for nice adventures within the Roman Empire, hunting monsters (aka aliens) - or fighting Germanic Nations. Or use the Egypt background to fight the undead hoards of Anubis during the Bronze Age. Fight the occult during the Dark Ages, be a Crusader and free the Angels of Heaven, subjugate the Baltic area during the Middle Ages, support the settlers in the new world of the Americas during the Early Modern Age or fight occult Pirates, use Clockwork devices to win the battle against evil in London, be part of WWII and stop occult Germans from exploiting secret powers, use your cybernetic enhancements to infiltrate corporations in the New Age.

These are just examples, drawn from inspiration while reading the book. I think I could fit a good part of my adventure collection from different settings, rule books and game systems into the Shadowed Earth. Maybe not as vast as some settings are described, but a city like Freeport I could fit in somewhere and have fun with. Maybe I stretch the canon of Shadowed Earth a bit, but hey: the author encourages this! It is a 'alternate earth' after all, so the GM can do what is necessary. Call of Cthulhu? A very easy fit for this ... maybe an interesting twist to the Shadowed Earth canon, too. Steampunk Victoriana? Sure, somewhere in London - evil is all around to fight. Alien Hunting? Yep, the world is full of aliens and they are hiding behind myths and sometimes in plain sight. There was a time where aliens could enter Earth very easily. Find them, kill them, save humanity.

Although I read the book cover to cover, I think it is not really necessary as each Age is more or less self contained. You could skip some pages if you find them uninteresting at that time, just read the side bars as they give a quick overview about what happened or is presented on the pages you skip. This helps getting through the book much easier without missing a necessary part.

The only thing that is missing are some good descriptions of possible societies and groups. Something that puts a face to the evil, to the occult, to the hunters and eventually to the players. I think this is where additional books come into place, but I really would have wanted a handful of names, characters and hints how to place the players into the setting. As it is, Shadowed Earth is a very well done setting that provides a lot of possibilities and gets your imagination going. But to place the players into it, the GM has to do a bit of work creating groups, societies, characters, allies and adversaries.

As stated before, it is easy to take my "Savage Worlds Rome" setting book and get going with the Shadowed Earth. Or my "Crusaders of the Amber Coast" to cleanse the Baltic area from all evil. Or "Call of Cthulhu" to make sure the time is not right for certain beings. Be a hero and fight chaos beings with the "Solomon Kane" setting book. Sail the North Sea with the help of "Mythic Iceland" and bring christianity there. Revive your old "Cyberpunk: 2020" stuff and sneak into corporate buildings.

This is extremely easy to do and I like the idea to be able to do so. Finally a setting that is smart enough to incorporate all my favorite setting books while providing a solid ongoing background story that is always good for a twist. I'm curious when the author writes some kind of time-travel add-on for the Shadowed Earth so you can walk the Ages of time with one group of characters for a long lasting campaign ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowed Earth (Core Setting Guide)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Entropic Gaming System: Quick Start Guide
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2015 06:20:08

A very nice layout with a trimmed down content of the full rule book. Enough rules to get the included (new) adventure in it going and it provides most of the stuff a GM needs for a fantasy setting (and the first handful of adventures).

Try it out, it is a wonderful set of rules!

I would give it 5 stars for content, 5 stars for layout (color version) and 4 stars for the b/w version (because of the black border, see Discussions). The text is also a bit smaller when printed on A5 paper with this new layout and printing on correct size paper is nearly impossible as it is not available in shops (17,78 x 25,4 cm). On A5 the text is still readable, but in dim light conditions it could be a bit harder for some people.

So, 4 stars for now as it is, due to the black border and smaller text when printed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Entropic Gaming System: Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
The trick there would be to print it on A4 paper and zoom to fit instead of A5. That way the text would get larger instead of smaller. The 7x10 size should make it easy to zoom to fit on larger size paper, but you really wouldn\'t want to shrink it down for, as you say, the text becomes difficult to read. Thanks for the review!
Shadowed Earth Veiled Supplements #01: The Burning Crow (EGS)
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2015 19:59:10

A nice group of characters to be placed into a modern horror setting. Good ideas, some nice starting points (adventure hooks), many information about why, where, when ... all the bits and pieces you need to have some recurring NPCs that are not necessarily evil and an enemy to the players. Would not dare to say 'neutral', but in a shady-grey zone.

layout, text, artwork is as all the other EGS products: good, light on ink and well printed on A5 paper.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowed Earth Veiled Supplements #01: The Burning Crow (EGS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowed Earth Veiled Supplements #02: The Realm of Lord Bane (EGS)
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2015 19:54:01

A nice short adventure about a town with a castle and an unanswered love. A town maps is presented to give a quick overview of the town.

The adventure itself is more an open sandbox as there is no railroading how the characters reach the goal. A few options are available and presented in the book, I could come up with a few more easily. The writing is inspiring and the background story is easy to follow.

Just prep it up a bit more by drawing a connection between the NPCs if you want to play it, add a location map here and there if you are into that, and you are good to go. Prep time for the adventure is about 2h including reading it through. Just make sure while reading to write down how the NPCs are connected to each other and what their goals are. There aren't too many (about a hand full), but at least for me it helps to get the story running smoothly without re-reading text or flipping through the document.

Layout is good, printing on A5 paper works well, no wasted ink, stats for creatures all included (no flipping through the main rule book), nice artwork.

I think for 2$ it is worth the price as you get nice art and a nice reusable location (maybe as a base or starting point for a campaign).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowed Earth Veiled Supplements #02: The Realm of Lord Bane (EGS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowed Earth Veiled Adventures #02: The Temple of St. Benjamin (EGS)
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2015 19:42:59

A nice short adventure about a temple and a necromancer. Maps are presented to give a quick overview, although I found it hard in some places to follow the description given in the text on the maps provided. But it might just be me (or me reading late at night) and it does not matter a lot as these were just minor issues. Depending on if your players have access to the map or not it could bring a bit of irritation to the table, though.

Layout is good, printing on A5 paper works well, no wasted ink, stats for creatures all included (no flipping through the main rule book), nice artwork, story is easy to follow and straight forward.

A good adventure for a Friday evening after a busy week that should last about 4 to 5 hours. Don't expect great plot moves here - it's more in the spirit of the Savage Worlds One Sheets. Or Dungeon Crawls.

I think for 2$ it is worth the price as you get nice art and a nice reusable location with a few maps to get your imagination running - and an adventure you can easily extend as you like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowed Earth Veiled Adventures #02: The Temple of St. Benjamin (EGS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowed Earth Cryptozoology #01: Chaos Realm (EGS)
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2015 19:32:05

This book reminds me of the Xeno book MTE put out earlier.

In the beginning you get a list of Keywords divided in Classifications and Traits, each explained in detail.

After that you get straight to the 30 creatures listed here. I like that I do not get the same old demons here, but rather a list of -at least to me- unfamiliar creatures. Some I know (Djinni, Incubus, Succubus, Ifrit and Imp), but the rest is (I would say) at least unpopular. Nice to have something the players don't know / think of.

Each creature is given one page, including a description, picture and generic stat block and everything is well done. No wasted ink on backgrounds, pictures are b/w capturing the mood, layout is excellent, fonts are good to read even if you print the book on A5 paper.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowed Earth Cryptozoology #01: Chaos Realm (EGS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Entropic Gaming System: Xenopedia
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2015 19:21:34

I like what I see here: a lot of individual alien races, technology levels and interesting NPCs. A good addition for every Sci-Fi setting and it can even be used in a Fantasy setting (who says mythical creatures aren't aliens?!).

You'll get 34 alien races in this book, some are friendly, some hostile, some just don't care. Each alien is given a classification, including technology level (0 to 3), Military rating (0 to 3) and a Society Progress (0 to 3). These classifications follows a list of keywords (hostile, Nomadic, non-organic, beast, aquatic, etc) to give a first impression what the species is like. The classification ratings are explained at the beginning of the book, together with all other keywords, traits, etc.

A longer description follows the classification list, covering everything you need to place the alien into your game - Physiology, Environment, Origins and Motivation. Race specific Special Traits are listed and explained here, too.

After that you get at least one NPC with name, stats, short description and equipment - ready to use in your setting.

A generic stat block is placed somewhere within the description (easy to find as its background is light grey) as well as a picture picturing the alien.

The book concludes with a random creature generator using a deck of cards. I thought it is a remnant of the Savage Worlds edition, but the author convinced me (via email) a deck of cards is simply the easiest way to create aliens as you do not get bogged down in a lot of dice rolls & writing down the results.

Final thoughts: the art is good (no stock art AFAIK), the text is easy to follow, the races are fun to read, the descriptions give a lot of adventure hooks and ideas, printing works well (no waste of unnecessary ink/toner on fancy backgrounds and looks great on A5 paper), Fonts and Layout are well done and page breaks are not distracting.

I really appreciate the work. If I were to criticize something, it would be the lack of hypermarks in the Table of Contents - but that is not an issue in using the document as the PDF includes well done bookmarks (which are even better to use than a hyperlinked ToC).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Entropic Gaming System: Xenopedia
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Entropic Gaming System
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2015 21:52:28

I have been looking for a good universal system for some time now, and I heard some buzz about EGS and thought I would give it a look. At first glance, it reminded me strongly of Savage Worlds, classic Cortex, and the combat and power system evoked Legend/Runequest to me. There was a nice mix of simplicity in character creation and general rules, but with enough tactics and crunch in combat and magic to appeal to gamers who want more depth. The Qualities of characters seem especially interesting, as they can simulate all sorts of advantages and disadvantages by using pretty basic mechanics. The core mechanic is add an attribute due type with a skill die type, roll, and attempt to beat the difficulty number (7 being the standard). One minor issue for me is that I feel eight attributes are far too many and some of them seem either unnecessary or redundant, but its not a deal breaker and is an easy fix if you feel the same. Hero points, which are the game's resource for important characters, are very important to the system and figure strongly into the previously mentioned Qualities of characters. Like classic Cortex, these points seem pretty vital to success especially when the difficulty of the task is high. Combat feels tactical but fluid and quick, and while it has many of the options of Legend/Runequest, it does not feel as complex. As written damage is fixed and it not modified by anything except Hero Points and called shots, but there is an option to roll it randomly. Armor is treated as extra health points, and when those are depleted further damage is taken directly from health. This is a decision I feel is a bit odd, and is justified in the rules as pieces of armor being loosened or knocked off. After combat armor points are restored, but it doesn't feel like even heavy armor is terribly useful except for absorbing a few more points of damage. There is an option in the book for treating it more like ablative damage resistance, and I prefer that to the standard rule. Special powers feel like a mix of Savage Worlds and Legend/Runequest, with a general system covering everything from sorcerers to superheroes but powers can be manipulated and tweaked on the fly depending on the situation. There is a good range of powers and options in the core rules, so there is a lot of potential for different character types for different genres. There is also a good section on running the games for GMs, and a solid list of adversaries. The basic book seems more focused on fantasy and modern games, but a science fiction supplement is forthcoming. Basic rules for designing various racial and cultural backgrounds are also in the GM section and there are good examples of stock fantasy and sci fi species. Aside from a few minor quibbles, the Entropic Gaming System seems like a good option if you are looking for a universal system with a simple mechanic but potential for depth and complexity. And even the quibbles I have with it are easy fixes if you feel the same, and at $5 it is well worth a look.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Entropic Gaming System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Entropic Gaming System
by Joel G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2015 11:22:21

Very good system that can be applied to many different settings and game styles. In addition of being relatively simple to apply with limited computation, the system brings epic capacity to heroes and monsters by using clever dice pooling and hero points to modify dice rolls and avoid non-epic failures. I would say for me, the weakest point is the way armors are managed, but that's probably a matter of taste. Overall, a very powerful yet simple rule system with full potential for many entertaining gaming nights with friends! Good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 64 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG