RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Faerie Mysteries
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/07/2014 08:37:27
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 29 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside the front cover, 2 pages of introduction/editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 22 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



One problem fey-based modules have when faced with my standards regarding fey is that the creatures ought to be familiar, yet weird, strange, yet familiar - and that a sense of otherworldly timelessness ought to pervade an encounter with fey - something rather difficult (at least from what I've seen...) to accomplish. The introduction and the respective concerns shows a concern for that otherworldly intrusion into reality we consider weird, of what makes fey strange and dangerous -and the rules follow up:



A new type of hazard is introduced to represent this weirdness, so-called fey impulses, which are categorized into 3 types, from rumors, to ripples and ruptures, each adheres to a different severity, with rumors being similar to figments and glamers and the more powerful fey impulses also influencing the mind of those subjected to them. Akin to traps or haunts, fey impulses may be quenched before they manifest, only they do require a different resource - enchantments and illusions, as the types of magic mostly associated with fey, are instead used to represent the forces to quell the fey impulse and, much like a haunt, it may re-manifest unless it is defeated for good.



Now such a system of course needs comprehensive guidelines for the DM to implement and this delivers in spades in that regard, without expecting the DM to do all the work - from CR 1/2 to CR 10, quite an array of options is provided - from a bridge automatically extolling its tithe to a dread hangman's tree emitting waves of all-encompassing despair to a maze in a maze (be sure to read Shirley Jackson's modern classic "The Sundial" for a great idea on how to narrate this one's effect...), the respective impulses are awesome, but by no means everything contained within these pages.



A total of 22 events with codified rules are contained herein - think of these as either bullet-point encounters or even adventures -from nods to "The Great God Pan" to essentially a Rybalka's narrative in a box to a mansion inhabited by a possible bride to the fey to a fey's version of Neddful Things - the ideas contained in these pages are massive and extensive and all but the most burnt-out DMs ought to be inspired by one or more of these - and my skirting around the peculiars of these (and the impulses) is intentional: I do not want to spoil these.



Faeire Creatures ought to be unpredictable, and thus we also are introduced to some variants - take the blackthorn dryad, who is essentially a dryad/kyton mix (including cool, unique signature abilities), the beautiful Green Hag variant Harionna who may fight with dread hooks embedded in her hair (!!!) or the Stormkarl Nixie, bound to a waterfall and emitting those that hear his laments - and yes, fellow aficionados of Scandinavian myths might be grinning right now.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' elegant 2-column full-color standard for Kingmaker plug-ins, though it should be noted that this supplement, more than others, can enrich just about every campaign. The copious amounts of awesome full color artworks are nice. The pdf comes fully bookmarked and hyperlinked, here and there even to inspiring reading material.



I did not expect to like this. After the somewhat mediocre Faerie Passions, I postponed reviewing this to kingdom come and when one patron made a generous donation on my site and asked me to review a couple of Mythic Minis and Mythic Monsters, I made these my priority for LG-files. Well, here I am now and Todd Stewart, Jason Nelson and Alistair Rigg have actually done it - this is one exceedingly glorious, awesome supplement, a hazard toolbox par excellence that is intelligent, cool and iconic - a supplement that can enrich ANY module featuring fey. Breathing the proper sense of weirdness, fey impulses are a simple idea that is easy to grasp and brilliant at the same time, with both toolkit and samples given being just awesome. The variant creatures make for nice icings on this awesome cake and while personally, I would have loved to see even more impulses, I won't hold this against the pdf. Any DM running e.g. "Courts of the Shadow Fey" or similar glorious fey-themed modules should consider this a must-have purchase - 5 stars + seal of approval, given without even a the slightest hesitation.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faerie Mysteries
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 25: Feats of Nature
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/02/2014 04:27:06
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill - 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look!



This Mythic Mini provides 10 new mythic feats, roghly grouped around the theme of nature, so what do we get?



-Eldritch Claws: Bypass mythic tier DR with natural weapons; Expend mythic power to attune your natural weapons to a type of DR and ignore it for a short duration. Nice one!



-Feral Combat Training: Apply improved unarmed strike-based feats et al to natural attacks. if the character is a monk, also have flurry enhanced. Two thumbs up!



-Greater Wild Empathy: Use Wild Empathy with bonus in lieu of Diplomacy and Intimidate when interacting with appropriate creatures; Can be enhanced by mythic power. Kind of...boring.



-Improved Share Spells: Target bonded creature with shared spells at range with touch spells and increase range of the sharing. Also share spell-trigger/spell-completion effects via mythic power.



-Moonlight Summons: Creatures summoned gain DR/silver and may confuse targets on critical hits. Higher DR for mythic power - cool!



-Mystic Stride: Autofail for plants to grapple you/entangle you. Use mythic power to teleport through plants. Not a fan of autosucceeds. Why not deliver a massive bonus instead? Mythic Tier or Mythic Tier x 2 to CMD?



-Quick Wild Shape: Faster wildshape, via mythic power even as an immediate action.



-Shaping Focus: + mythic tier effective druid level for shaping purposes, increase that further by spending mythic power.



-Vermin Heart: Vermin have a starting attitude of friendly, be unarmed (or even take highjack via mythic power) controlled or summoned vermin via wild empathy. Neat.



-Wild Speech: Use mythic power to eschew somatic or material components when casting in wildshaped form and also increase DC for language-dependant spells on creatures of the same form; Also gain speak with animals of your shaped form at will. Okay, if a bit unfocused - the mythic power effect looks more like a poor man's natural spell - and as a casting shifter, that one is still probably a must have...



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice significant glitches, only e.g. "Speec" instead of "Speech" once. Layout adheres to legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the cover-art is neat. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson and Tork Shaw deliver a nice array of mythic feats in here - Feral Combat Training (mythic) is a godsend indeed for many a build, and overall, the content is solid. that being said, the rest of the feats didn't exactly blow me away and while the utilize some nice mechanics and ideas, they do feel slightly less polished here and there. Auto-succeeds? Really? This is by no means a bad installment, but I didn't blow my socks of and is slightly rougher round the edges than other mythic minis. My final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3 - a solid pdf, but one whose feats mostly failed to feel mythic to me.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 25: Feats of Nature
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Monsters: Devils
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/24/2014 08:41:26
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 34 pages of content, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of the front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages on how to use, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 23 pages of content, so let's take a look!



In the tradition of Legendary Games' Mythic Monster series, we kick off with an uncommon piece of introduction - multiple pages of glorious, actually awesome to read in-character prose in vernacular - rather awesome and sets well the mood for the dreadfully efficient and lethal Devils to follow! The section also provides a cool template-expansion for Bestiary 4's Devilbound creature template, including types of devil the basic template failed to cover - glorious.



Now I know, you're here for the creatures, so let's take a look at the CR 4/MR 1 Accuser Devil may replay information witnessed and influence targets with dread visions of the torments of hell - interesting variation of the base creature that opens some new storytelling potential in spite of its low MR - neat.



At CR 13/MR 5, Mythic Hamata (or barbed devils - both monikers are provided for each creature herein), these guys can use mythic power to add caltrop-like barbs to their casts, fling barbas and their defenses and reflexive damage make these creatures appropriately lethal. At CR 6/MR 2, the Bearded Devil can easily be made into a truly frightening foe - not that these glaive-wielding guys with their lunging sweeps and battle frenzies weren't deadly - but add a nasty polearm build on top and you get something truly frightening.



CR 12/MR 5 Contract Devils may utterly negate attacks with mythic power, gaining essentially an immediate action lesser time stop! Even before the improved contract abilities, this one is EVIL. The Erinyes, one of my favorite devils, clocks in at CR 10/MR 4 and not only is an even better hunter than her mundane brethren, she also receives deadly animated ropes to hassle and catch her quarry while she pelts them with her deadly arrows.



The CR 17/MR 7 Handmaiden Devil may contain foes in her writhing tentacled, lower body and truly prevent the escape of adversaries with superb grappling powers. CR 15/MR 6 Heresy Devils may belch forth deadly, unholy and acidic, clinging bile and assault foes va flying, infernal glyphs. As a nice supplemental information, we also receive the new Robe of Lead item. Mythic Imps a CR 3/MR 1 are okay, and the necessary Mythic Improved Familiar options are provided, including a proper codification for trying to soul bind the master upon death. Still, I would have enjoyed a unique, new offensive trick.



The CR 20/MR 5 Cornugon deals deadly types of bleed damage with all attacks and a look at the potential damage output of these guys is nasty indeed -these engines of destruction will plow through lesser foes like a knife through butter. Now we all know that there will be this one star here - the CR 25/MR 10 Pit Fiend. OMG, cremating foes slain, blasting resistances and immunities to smithereens, making lemures into other devils, consuming souls to heal and regain mythic power - these titans of infernal might are damn impressive brutes that will provide ample challenge even for the most mighty of mythic heroes.



At CR 9/MR 3, the Vengeance Devils (aka Salikotal) are the true assassins of hell - with Death Attack, additional effects for those slain via Murder Curses, the ability to mark targets for death and even an ugly death throe, these guys are imho very strong for their CR - and that's a good thing in my book. The CR 9/MR 3 Levaloch Warmonger Devils can call forth areas of razor-sharp, entangling chains, masters of their nets and glorious tacticians in the well-oiled war-machine of hell.



The new creature herein, the serpentine fallen angels called Lisslefer, or Temptation Devils, clock in at CR 7/MR 3 and are about seduction - bartering mortals of their souls for wishes, changing shape, infusing wis-damage dealing poison into targets (which also impedes spellcasting) and the array of spell-like abilities (focused on illusions and enchantments) and the option to swallow corpses to heal (and get rid of evidence) make fpr a well-crafted adversary with a cool artwork to boot. If this creature had one problem, it would be that the last mythic Monster-original beast set the bar exceedingly high.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games' two-column full-color standard and the book comes with two neat full color artworks of top quality. While the pdf is studded with the good type of hyperlinks, annoyingly, no bookmarks are provided.



Jason Nelson, Alistair Rigg, Tom Philips and Jonathan H. Keith have crafted an array of damn cool devils - that require a second glance to get why the builds are good. Much like the Devils herein, the builds are more subtle than those of Demons - less in your face, with many small pieces interacting. Unlike in some Mythic Monster-books, we are not squashed by an awesome array of new and unique signature abilities (though each creature still at least gets one!) - instead, the abilities, new magic capabilities and feats combine into making some downright brutal adversaries. The devils herein intended for combat - you can see hell's efficiency in them. The seducers - they're subtle and codify all those bargaining abilities usually left for the DM to handwave, which is neat as well.



I won't lie - at first, I was somewhat underwhelmed at a high level - I expected more flashy abilities here and there. Then I started analyzing these builds and realized how deadly they actually are. So take a deep breath and read the fine print of these statblocks - they are actually very awesome. Still, while there is nothing per se wrong with this installment, I would have enjoyed something a tad more flashy here and there, especially in the new creature, which, while still far above average, didn't blow me as far away as the best of the original beasts.



Hence, my final verdict will "only" clock in at 4.5 stars, still rounded up to for the purpose of this platform, for the builds in the end are too deadly, too lethal not to like. So show your PCs how deadly the forces of hell truly are! They'll be begging for incursions into the Worldwound and fighting Demons instead...


Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Devils
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 23: Feats of the Holy Warrior
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/23/2014 07:06:35
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill - 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look!



This Mythic Mini about tricks for divine champions provides 11 new mythic feats, so what do we get?



-Adept Champion: Activate as a free action instead of as a swift action, enhances CMB against targets of your smite. Okay.



-Dragonbane Aura: As a move action, grant allies within your aura 5 times mythic tier energy resistance for 1 round, but halved versus non-draconic (ex) and (su) abilities. Double resistance and increase duration to 1 minute by expending mythic power.



-Enforcer: Treat all attacks versus non-mythic foes as crits for the purpose of demoralize, confirmed crits increase the duration by mythic tier rounds and upgrade the effect to frightened, while following with damage dealt rounds as shaken. Not a fan here - this makes quite an array of high-CR non-mythic foes very susceptible to fear, with intimidate being pushable higher than the DC. It's a problem of intimidate further enhanced by mythic rules. Might work for you, doesn't for me.



-Greater Channel Smite: Activate as a free action, retain unused dice until they are expended. Usable only 1/round, but dice are stackable, though thankfully, carry-over dice are limited to a maximum of twice your mythic tier. Nice!



-Greater Shield Specialization:+ mythic tier to AC versus critical confirmations and use mythic power to negate criticals beyond the limit. Powerful, but cool since it makes shields more valid.



-Pure Faith: +1/2 mythic tier to save versus poisons, expend mythic power to neutralize poison on yourself.



-Quick Channel: Channel as an immediate action by expending 3 channel uses. Nasty, but damn cool. You may also expend mythic power in lieu of the ADDITIONAL uses of channel energy; I *assume* here it's just one use of mythic power, not one per additional channel energy/day cost, but I'm not sure. While expending more than one use of mythic power would be highly uncommon, I could still envision it. So here a very nitpicky minor glitch.



-Shield Specialization: Gain a fortification-style ability equal to 5% x mythic tier. Solid and stacks. Like it!



-Swift Aid: Aid another for +3 as a swift action; Also: Freely distribute the +3 bonus and enhance the aid with mythic power for added oomph. I *really* like this one.



-Trick Riding: No more penalties in medium armor when riding, auto-succeed at checks of DC 20 or below and grant mount temporary hp via mythic power. Nice!



-Word of Healing: +10 ft times mythic tier range for lay on hands, no more halving AND may harm undead as well as heal the living. Okay, this one is a tad bit too strong in my book - it greatly enhances lay on hands, which isn't something to take lightly in the first place and does a lot sans requiring mythic power.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the cover-art is neat. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Authors Tork Shaw and Jason Nelson deliver a neat array of mythic takes on feats that will not only benefit paladins and clerics - quite a few of these feats will have general applications as well. That being said, the feats themselves range from awesome to okay and while there is no true glitch to be found, the balance (and yes, even in mythic games, this exists) in some of these seems to me a bit off. In the end, I will thus settle on a final verdict of 4 stars - some gold, some slightly less awesome feats - a good installment.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 23: Feats of the Holy Warrior
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 21: Feats of Dirty Fighting
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/19/2014 08:28:46
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill - 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look!



This Mythic Mini about dirty fighting provides 7 new mythic feats, so what do we get?



-Adder Strike: Penalize saves versus Adder Strike-delivered poisons, use mythic power to make the poison last for multiple rounds.



-Broken Wing Gambit: You need only hit touch AC, but only deal damage when hitting regular AC. Use one mythic power to allow one ally per 2 mythic tiers to allow allies to make AoOs by expending your immediate action as if they had Broken Wing Gambit.



-Drag Down: Deal unarmed damage in addition when tripping foes. Also, keep foes prone while prone yourself. Neat!



-Felling Smash: Felling Smash as a free action, or sans Power Attack penalty as a swift action. If you already may mitigate said penalty in favor of better tripping. This one's wording is slightly ambiguous and could have potentially been phrased slightly more concise.



-Pinpoint Poisoner: Add unarmed damage to blowgun dart damage(+poison) and resolve close range shuriken-style throwing of darts as touch attacks; Can be enhanced via mythic power. AWESOME.



-Punishing Kick: Increase DC by 1/2 tier, target may end up in unsafe squares and you may bull rush multiple foes. Mythic power can be used as a resource for daily punishing kicks. Neat!



-Vicious Stomp: Use mythic power as swift action to make unarmed attacks against prone targets. Also makes standing up harder from being stomped.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the cover-art is neat. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.





Alistair Rigg's mythic takes of dirty fighting rock - they are deadly, cool and do not follow formulaic mythic structures, instead coming with cool, unique effects that, more often than not, are inspired. Thus, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 21: Feats of Dirty Fighting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unrighteous Villains
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/18/2014 05:27:31
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 32 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page how-to-use, 1 page ToC (including CR/MR), 1 page SRD, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 24 pages of raw content, so let's take a look, shall we?



Now while this book is intended to provide additional adversaries to the Wrath of the Righteous AP, it should be noted that more so than many other Adventure-path-plug-ins, this book and the villains herein do in no way need this connection and can easily be introduced into non-AP contexts - especially due to not making that heavy use of the Mythic Adventures-rules, meaning that even non-mythic campaigns get their due with this pdf.



So what kind of adversaries do we get herein? Well, the first would be the Unique Quasit-bound demon sorceror Terracg p nmvczy. No. Not a Typo. I didn't fall asleep at the keyboard. In a cool twist, this creature's name is also written in a strange , glyph-like font that makes identifying its proper name hard. Now the catch is - this creature is the fragment of a greater demon and is usually encountered as something saved from demons - becoming a kind of foul-mouthed sidekick for its mortal masters, one with a keen intellect...and one that is nigh impossible to get rid of. BRILLIANT. The additional hooks provided further cement this creature as something I will gift my PCs with...



Koyo-Shojaxus is a more straightforward adversary - at CR 13, the babau martial artist 7 makes for a deadly adversary and a vile variant of the wandering martial artist-trope. Neat! The CR 13 succubus gunslinger (mysterious stranger) Lilevyrrin gives new meaning to the moniker of femme fatale by pairing both deadly prowess and her succubus heritage's "needful things"-style manipulation-capabilities into a glorious package of mayhem. And that's before her Glabrezu lover/mortal enemy enters the fray...



Malcaedix, the shadow demon rogue, takes one of the most powerful creatures for its CR and amps it up to CR 10, adds a new feat for better possession and makes for a strange creature - unlike many demons, she is subtle. She actually cares for her hosts and does her best to eliminate threats to her host...which may include any and all people said person cared about or even those that mildly offended the creature. As a kind of dark guardian angel, she also doesn't deal well with rejection, meaning you'll better be able to fend her off if you question all the good things that happen to you... Awesome and the potential for actual deep, psychological conflict and moral questions as well as roleplaying is vast here.



Ser Meridrand Palisard, the disgustingly fat human antipaladin/low templar with an implanted demonic graft for a stomach makes for a truly vile and disgusting cannibalistic foe, who further adds to this imagery with his equipment -a disgusting, bloated individual, a fallen champion and deadly to boot at CR 15, this erstwhile paragon is a great adversary for a "Through a mirror, darkly"-type situation, when the PCs realize how fragile the sanctity of their alignment truly is and how easily they, too, can fall into the clutches of the Abyss and its servants.



Mons' Verix, the CR 16 Glabrezu-summoner also has a very cool twist - his eidolon looks like an angel. With this tool of deceit, the creature may fool even the most stalwart of heroes and lead them on the first steps of the downward spiral of temptation if played properly - a cool idea indeed and with all the magic capabilities of the creature, one supplemented by the proper magical oomph! As a minor complaint, the final page of his entry is half empty - more story could have easily fitted in there.



Now so far, we've had next to no possession - so what about a demon-possessed inquisitor/assassin build with the erstwhile witch hunter Count Ulus VonKaval? It should be noted that the count is the one character herein who does not get an awesome, original piece of full color artwork, but that does not detract from this example how pride vo make even the mightiest fall.



Finally, at CR 15/MR 6, Dasnikynlin, the mythic coluxus demon with the awesome artwork, its mesmerizing drone, charisma damage AND bleed-damage causing bite, death attack and vicious mythic spell-like abilities makes for a powerful final entry, though one that could have used a unique story-expansion herein. EDIT: I've been made aware that this is the demon that is supposed to be the possessor of Ulus VonKaval and yeah, that works. However, I still would have loved a full-blown ecology-level detailed write-up like the ones in the Mythis Monster-series. Oh well!



Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches herein. Layout adheres to Legendary Games fiery, slightly orange-tinted standard for Wrath of the Righteous-plug-ins and the pdf comes with bookmarks for your convenience. The artworks deserve special mentioning here, for almost all adversaries receive their own, glorious full-color pieces, sometimes even on a full-page spread.



Alistair Rigg, Todd Stewart, Clinton J. Boomer and Nicholas Logue - notice something - yeah, these guys have in common that they know how to WRITE. I don't mean "write a supplement", but really WRITE. Evoke moods, atmospheres and multi-layered characters. It's easy to delve into the "wants to destroy everything due to being EVUUUL"-trope with demons and the adversaries herein almost universally manage to avoid this, instead being round, nasty individuals that make sense in a twisted way, providing roleplaying opportunities aplenty, not just within the context of Wrath of the Righteous.



In fact, the writing is so good that you really, really want to use these villains - almost immediately. This miniature rogue's gallery definitely provides some of the most depraved adversaries I've seen in a while - and that is meant as a compliment. But that wouldn't be enough if their statblocks were bland or boring. They aren't. While not all statblocks reach the level of complexity I tend to enjoy in NPC-builds, a couple of them do and that, coupled with the awesome writing, is enough for me. Add to that the slight touches - like aforementioned glyphs, like demonic trysts gone wrong, the evocative adventure hooks - and we have a grand collection of villains, well worth 5 stars + seal of approval - legendary indeed!


Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unrighteous Villains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Splintered Godhood
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2014 08:18:53
I'm looking forward to playing this game, but it's not at the front of the queue.

I tried to research Splintered Godhood (SG hereafter) before purchase but found nothing at all. A call for playtesters as little as a month ago showed that this game was brand new, so I took a punt and for the price I paid I don't regret it.

It's a short rulebook at 31 pages all told. The artwork is of a professional standard and helps to impart the intended style and tone, but nothing to shout about. The contents are well-written and explanations are mostly clear.

The game itself is appetite-whetting to say the least. SG is designed to be truly limitless in scope – indeed, exploring the limitless is very much the main theme – and there are lots of examples to get excited about. What gamer wouldn't lick their lips at the promise of such power as "Killing an entire country with your bare hands" and "Convincing a hostile crowd to commit seppuku in your name"?

The theme of the game is presented very vaguely, as though it's been done a million times before which is frustrating because it does feel new and ambitious. The players begin as normal people in separate alternate realities (ranging from Germany won WWII to zombie apocalypse on the moon, with ancient Romans, governed by Victorian mime artists) and grow steadily to the level of world-eating gods. Exactly how they grow and what they are if not human is completely absent from the book, including any hints or suggestions. This is very much a game for the story-tellers who find both standard RPG mechanics and the universal laws of physics unacceptably restrictive.

Even with a few world-building and gameplay examples there is a distinct lack of framework and advice in this book. A fundamentalist dedication to limitlessness comes at the cost of any grounding on which to base your game. If your group is composed entirely of expert story-tellers who know how to build something out of nothing on the fly and how to inject structure in the process then great, but I foresee a lot of stalling and directionless meandering otherwise. The process for each player in starting the game is to vaguely describe their character, create the universe in which they live, flesh out their character and go – there is no advice or instruction beyond that and I would expect this to frustrate many a player.

There is an element of game to SG – a trans-dimensional nemesis that would see the players fail and rule in their wake is the ultimate challenge, but sadly it seems a lot of value will be lost from this in games beyond the first as the players can't go back to not expecting it. However, the players may also find themselves at odds with each other and compete for survival and supremacy as the bonfire of the universes begins. It is clear from the book that if the start and middle of the game have gone well, the end will be a thrilling cataclysm of beyond-epic proportions. In SG you don't get eaten by daemons; you enslave all the daemons from beyond the stars and feed them Lovecraftian gods.

SG attempts to defy the need for any boundaries at all and makes it seem possible, but unlikely. It is not so much a game for roleplayers wanting fewer mechanics, more a game for free-form storytellers wanting more mechanics. This should absolutely not be anybody's first narrative-based RPG, but if your group has proved itself in several others and wants to plumb the depths of epic like never before then SG could be just the thing.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Splintered Godhood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 24: Mythic Martial Arts III
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/11/2014 03:03:34
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill - 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look!



This Mythic Mini about martial arts provides 9 new mythic martial arts, so what do we get?



-Dragon Style: Immunity to sleep, +1/2 tier bonus versus stun/paralyze etc., +5 foot reach for one attack per round, Gain/Improve darkvision and blindsense for mythic power. Solid!



-Dragon Roar: Use Mythic Power instead of stunning fist to deal damage with your roar and impose negative conditions. So friggin' awesome!!!



-Dragon Ferocity: Frighten hit foes, panic them with mythic power. Solid.



-Mantis Style:Target must roll twice, take the lower result and you may add effects via mythic power- lethal!



-Mantis Torment: Use mythic power instead of Stunning Fist for increased DC, duration and fatigue/exhaustion on failed saves. OUCH!



-Mantis Wisdom: Add +1/2 mythic tier to monk level to determine effects of stunning fist. Reroll stunning fists in mantis Style for mythic power.



-Snake Style: I hate the base style witha fiery passion. It's an example of bad design. That being said, +1/2 mythic tier and quicker activation is okay and my loathing of the base feat is nothing to hold against the mythic version.



-Snake Fang: 1/round Sense Motive versus attackers Bluff if the target misses you. On a success, use Sense Motive for an attack roll. If it misses, expend mythic power for an additional attack roll. Urgh. I *loathe* skill-attacks. It's not the fault of this pdf, but....urgh.



-Snake Sidewind:+ 4 CMD versus many maneuvers while in snake style. Use Mythic Power to use sense motive in lieu of a save. Also: When criting, you may 5-foot-step as a free action for a mythic power, even if you already have moved this round.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the cover-art is neat. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Alistair Rigg delivers some glorious takes on 3 traditional styles here and gaining more content than in part 2 is awesome...but not for me. I consider Snake Style and its whole mechanics a broken, broken mess and think that Paizo botched big time there. I don't even have to try to break this. Now Alistair Rigg worked with what he got - so I can't fault him for what he did with the feats, but still, every time I read these, something in me cringes. Hard. That being said, the other styles are awesome enough to still make this a good purchase, even if you loathe Snake Style. My final verdict will hence clock in at 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 24: Mythic Martial Arts III
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 22: Mythic Martial Arts II
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/05/2014 05:31:30
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill - 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look!



This Mythic Mini about martial arts provides 6 new mythic martial arts, so what do we get?



-Boar Style: Tear flesh more than once per round, also versus multiple adversaries, provided you hit the target twice. Expend mythic power to deal con damage. Ouch! Awesome!



-Boar Ferocity: Add 1/2 tier to Boar ferocity's demoralize duration. Additionally, if the target would be shaken for 4 rounds or more, you may exchange 4 of these for 1 round of the nauseated condition. Use mythic power to make the target frightened instead. AWESOME! That's what I'm talking about!



-Boar Shred: +1/2 mythic tier bleed, use mythic power for con-bleed. Nasty!



-Crane Style: Better defense, enter crane style as if fighting defensively as an immediate action. Keep threatening AoOs, but at -2 to atk. Neat.



-Crane Riposte: +1/2 mythic tier on AoOs with Crane Riposte. Additionally, when hit while fighting defensively in crane wing, make a retaliation attack either via AoO or as an immediate action. This is very iconic.



-Crane Wing: Expend mythic power to extend Crane Wing to more attacks on a 1 for 1 basis. Also potentially force attacks directed on you on other creatures. Cool!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the cover-art is neat. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Alistair Rigg, after the first pdf on martial arts, may deliver slightly less content here, but each and every mythic feat of these styles ROCKS. They take the base concept of the styles and make them work in much more awesome ways for a glorious pdf for martial artists - well worth a full-blown recommendation of 5 stars + seal of approval!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 22: Mythic Martial Arts II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 20: Mythic Martial Arts I
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/04/2014 03:43:02
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill - 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look!



This Mythic Mini about martial arts provides 8 new mythic martial arts, so what do we get?



-Binding Throw: This feat's mythic version lets you grapple with binding throw 1/round as a free action and do not count as grappled, while your target still counts as grappled.



-Crushing Blow: Adds short duration stun, expend mythic power to increase AC-penalty.



-Elusive Redirection: When Using Elusive Target, you may substitute mythic power for ki and add 1/2 mythic tier to atk and damage. Solid.



-Enhanced Ki Throw: You need not expend ki to damage the target. You also may expend ki to improve your bull rushes thus executed and use mythic power to potentially daze victims. Nice.



-Improved Ki Throw:No penalty against secondary targets of Improved Ki Throw's regular application and negate penalties of targets of big thrown creatures via mythic power or affect creatures beyond your size.



-Ki Throw: Switch places with targets of ki throw, moving into just vacated square. No AoO, does not count as a five-foot-step. Affect creatures beyond your size for mythic power. Cool!



-Spinning Throw: Bull rush via the base feat as a free action, but only once per creature per round. Also receive bonus movement when successfully executing spinning throws and affect larger creatures via ki or mythic power. Smaller targets may be pummeled further via mythic power.



-Stunning Pin: Free stunning fist while using stunning pin, but only 1/round. Additionally, use mythic power to counter spellcasting/escape artist or CMB-checks to escape with stunning fist unarmed attacks. Neat - somehow reminds me of the Arkham Batman knocking out foes he's knocked down!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the cover-art is neat. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Alistair Rigg has chosen perhaps the very worst (or rather: most difficult) martial arts-feats to tackle. Throwing feats. Urgh. Grapple + Bull Rush was complicated before mythic enters the game. So yes, I was not looking forward to reviewing this one - it's quite a beast, especially since each of the throws has somewhat modified, yet logical additional options. Still, combining these feats will require a truly adept player to avoid confusion. That being said, the content per se is solid and throwing ogres etc. around is awesome. We thus remain with a solidly crafted pdf that provides exactly what's on the tin, but without the one OMG-How-Awesome-Is-That-moment. My final verdict will hence clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 20: Mythic Martial Arts I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Monsters: Sea Monsters
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/27/2014 03:01:29
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 34 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 3 pages of how-to-use/introduction, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 24 pages of content, so let's take a look!



As has become the tradition with this series, we kick off with a kind of supplemental content appropriate for the theme of the issue, this time in the guise of 8 feats to expand your aquatic combat options for mythic creatures (and if you need further oomph for non-mythic aquatic foes, check Alluria Publishing's Cerulean Seas-books - they're awesome!) -sporting the very much required swim-by-attack (both regular and mythic), faster swim speed (potentially powered by mythic power for impressive bursts), the ability to share breath with land-dwellers (now that one's iconic!) and feats that make you count as having a running start from water to e.g. smash on foes and superior flanking options in the water make sure that these feats are actually awesome and should be considered non-optional for DMs looking for more tools for mythic aquatic foes (or players!).



But you're here for the monsters, aren't you? At CR 4/MR 1 Bunyips essentially get an amped up version - their roar for example can deafen foes. AT CR 15/MR 6, the Clockwork Leviathan gets a reflexive ability to temporary counter the electricity vulnerability it has via mythic power - damn cool! But that's not all - the Legendary Games masterminds went all-out on this beauty - what about a kind of ionic reactor, including meltdown upon its destruction? Deadly grinding? Immunities conveyed by orichalcum alloys? A breathw eapon? This one is so glorious! Two thumbs up!



At CR 5/MR 2 Devilfish may emit clouds of deadly fiendishly infused blood...cool upgrade, especally considering how low level critetrs don't have as much room to maneuver in. The CR 11/MR 4 Dragon turtle may execute AoE-bull-rushes (YEAH!!!) and a shell that may deflect rays et al - AWESOME! The CR 12/MR 5 Draugr Crew is awesome - a type of troop, these guys get ship-based spawn-making, press gang mortals and generally makes for one of the most awesome creatures I've seen so far in the Mythic Monsters series - not even the relic "XX Melee damage is unusually low" that was forgotten in the melee line does not in any way impede my enjoyment f this beast of a creature. This is on par in creativity with what one usually sees from Rite Publishing - and yes, I think that is a compliment.



At the lowest end of the spectrum, CR 3/MR 1 Incutilis may not just puppeteer the dead - they paralyze and animate foes as lacedon-like creatures that nonetheless aren't undead. Now *THAT*, ladies and gentlemen, is how to make a low CR-creature feel mythic and awesome. Two thumbs up! The CR 22/MR 9 Kraken is a beast I was looking forward to - and what can I say, the beast can throw creatures from ships and even make the friggin' sea TURN TO BLOOD. That inflicts bleed damage. Fans of the Scarred Lands - you need this! NOW!



The CR 4/MR 1 Seaweed Leshy is adept at strangling foes by turning into a kind of Sargasso-variant of assassin vines - and comes with bonus information on how to grow these guys yourself. Awesome! CR 5/MR 2 Mythic Sea Hags not only gain great hexes (by taking the Salt Wife trope -do some research on the term and e.g. the Farese Islands for great alternate origins for these beasts...) and a cursed gaze, they also are masters of their own hexed harpoons. The CR 15/MR 6 Sea Serpents get superb bursts of speed AND optional nondetection, making tehm superb hit-and-run predators and they also learn to generate deadly vortexes. Two thumbs up! (Also: Nice 1-page artwork depicting it!)



At CR 6/MR 2, the Selkie is an incredibly persuasive creature, but when compared to the other creatures herein, falls slightly short of its potential. The CR 17/MR 7 Great White Whale is intelligent and superb at smashing vessels...and call me a nerd, I don't care - I would have loved a proper nod, ability-wise, to Moby Dick here - a curse of obsessions, a comment on the nature of wrath, something like that in the guise of an ability. And no, I won't hold it against the pdf that it did not indulge in my need for literary allusions.



At CR 8/MR 3, the new creature herein is the Jorganth. Oh boy - first of all - the one-page artwork of this beast is one of the finest artworks I've seen in ages - a vast, eel-like, tentacle studded deep-sea predator aberration from the oceans of the lands of the fey. Electrical fields, capability to emit deadly beams, reflexive attacks and the ability to create will-o'-the-deep servants and feed on fear - this creature is glorious in its statblocks and the superb full-blown write-up superbly supplements one of the best creatures I've seen in quite a while, even within the exalted ranks of the new creatures Legendary Games provides for the Mythic Monster series. The full-blown fluff that accompanies it makes it oh so much more awesome and I stand by the claim that Paizo's bestiaries would be so much more awesome if they all featured proper full-blown write-ups like this one does. This beast made me come up with 3 adventures while reading its entry - without trying in any way. That good.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good - while I noticed one relic, that's not enough to rate this down. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes with 2 original full-page artworks, both of high quality. The pdf is hyperlinked for your convenience, but has no bookmarks, which is an unnecessary comfort-detriment in my book.



Jason Nelson and Alistair Rigg have surpassed themselves herein - the creatures are so cool, so iconic, I don't ever want to use their non-mythic equivalents ever again. Ever since the advent of Mythic Adventures, I've used the rules to make bosses more challenging in my game (they tend to get killed in 2 rounds or less otherwise...) and these beings just blow my mind. The unique, cool abilities this pdf offers for so many creatures just can be considered glorious, even before the new creature, which is just the icing on the awesome cake. This installment, in spite of the lack of bookmarks, is so far the apex of the series for me and is well-worth 5 stars + seal of approval and should be considered a must-buy for anyone running aquatic adventures - this pdf is worth the asking price for ability-scavenging alone. That good. Get it.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Sea Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Monsters: Inner Planes
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/20/2014 03:08:15
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Legendary Games' Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 34 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 3 pages of introduction/how to use, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 24 pages of content, so let's take a look!



Now sometimes, a mythic monster installment features some cool, unique supplemental idea - this one provides a code of symbols (similar to what e.g. gypsies used back n the day, though much more obvious) for planar gates to help the wary planeshopper decide on whether to jump through the portal. Quite an array of solid, full-color glyphs with obvious meanings are provided here, covering e.g. the inner planes and negative/astral/ethereal planes, but also providing some symbols for portals that are one-way, lead to djinn, sahuagin etc. Nice.



Now fans of cheesy horror classics may get a chuckle out of the nomenclature of the wishmaster ability for mythic djinn - those beings are the keepers of their races and essentially the wishing police - these beings may even undo the wishes of other djinn. Yeah! Now let's take a look at the respective mythic creatures and what sets them apart!



At CR 10/MR 4, the Noble Djinni Vizier comes with a mastery of gravity and its manipulation, cannot be easily contained and gets some neat SPs. AT CR 12/Mr 5, the mythic Malik (i.e. noble efreeti) may cause non-mythic fire resistance ignoring conflagrations, shroud themselves in clouds of embers and are never blinded by smoke etc. - nasty for line of sight/effect tricks. Spell-like abilities powered by mythic power and the iconic arrogance also get neat signature abilities here.



At CR 5/MR 2, mythic Janni actually are rather neat - they can change the elemental properties of magic items and spells they use via swift actions and summon forth powerful elemental support. The CR 14/MR 5 Noble Marid Shahzada may desiccate targets via water's fury and craft deadly prisons of ice. Their liquefying touch, insanely accurate senses under water as well as their utter superiority in the realms of underwater creatures ensure that these guys are awesome terrors to behold.



The CR 16/MR 6 Noble Shaitan Pasha can force creatures to land, calling to swimmers and flyers - but what about those with a burrow speed? Apart from that oversight, the collective of cool legalistic wordsmithing, superior metalworking etc., a grand beast of a foe. Have I mentioned the ability to push targets into stone, melding them with the surroundings? Now that is creepy imagery.



Mythic Ghuls at CR 6/MR 2 gets a cursed, special, selective cloud of obscuring mists as well as superiority over hyenas and hyena-like creatures and temporarily grant these subordinate pack creatures teamwork feats. At CR 9/ MR 3, the iconic invisible stalker gets the exceedingly cool ability to activate an electrical shield that damages targets depending on the amount of metal they wear and also use this field to see targets. Its nigh unstoppable tracking also helps make this one a full-blown success.

The CR 6/MR 2 Mercanes come with a second extraplanar decoy chest and constant mind shielding, making them appropriate hagglers. Now mythic salamanders, at CR 8/MR 3 get imho one of the most iconic abilities - regeneration that can only be suppressed by mythic cold effects or weapons forged by their own mythic brethren - so simple, so elegant, so awesome. Of course, that are not all of their tricks, but it's the coolest in my book and rife with storytelling potential.



At CR 6/MR 2, the Mythic Tojanida get toxic ink, which is a rather cool idea, especially considering the option to power to enhance the damage with mythic power. The dreaded mythic Xill at CR 8/MR 3 can abduct non-helpless targets, may implant eggs on targets grappled and may switch teamwork feats in a limited manner, adding a strange component to the creature appropriate for the dreaded creatures. Compared to that, making earth waves and bludgeoning earth-eruptions for mythic Xorns (at CR 8/ MR 3) feel a tad bit more conservative.



Now my personal highlights in the mythic monster series tend to be Legendary Games' unique, new creatures and this time around, we get the CR 10/MR 4 Liminal Hound, a superb hunting dog of silverish hexagonally-scaled skin that not only is a glorious tracker, but which may also highjack grappled creatures trying to teleport away, interrupt those trying to get away, function perfectly in even zero gravity. As a nice bonus, we get a new armor made from their skin as well as a full-blown 1-page artwork of the most glorious quality. While not the best of Legendary Games' unique creations, I do like this critter's tight planeshopper-hunter-focus.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, I did not notice truly annoying glitches, though e.g. the Tojanida, Ghul, Malik and Genie-statblocks lack their respective ecology entries. Layout adheres to legendary Games' 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes with two great full-color artworks and some cool symbols. The pdf has no bookmarks - a comfort detriment.



Jonathan Keith delivers a fine array of elemental-themed adversaries, with a tight focus on all those non-elemental denizens of the often neglected Inner Planes. Indeed, the overall takes on the respective mythic creatures, often drawn from folklore and pop culture, can be considered iconic and the new mythic toys to play with are neat. On the other hand, even though the adversaries herein often have a rather unique additional tool (or even a whole array of them), not all blew me away. Add to that the minor glitches and we arrive at a good installment of the series, if not a perfect one - well worth a final verdict of 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Inner Planes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Righteous Heroes: Pregenerated Characters
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/09/2014 05:35:43
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This collection of pregens intended for the "Wrath of the Righteous"-AP clocks in at 31 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page introduction to the matter at hand, 1 page advertisement, 1 page SRD and 1 page back cover, leaving us with 25 pages of content, so let's take a look!



The characters herein are made via 20-point-buy and feature advice for scaling them down for 15-point buy, if you prefer a more challenging game. Additionally, each character comes with advancement suggestions and roleplaying advice to get into the respective character from the get-go. Now presentation-wise, something becomes immediately available - even beyond previous pregen-supplements by Legendary Games, the characters herein are presented in a gorgeous way - on one page, the full-character artwork of the respective pregen, including a cool in-character quote, are provided. On the page following that, we get massive background information, physical description and the respective personality, meaning you'll usually have 3 pages per character - the artworks being btw. mostly in the league of Paizo themselves - yes, that beautiful.



All right, got that? Now, the previews I saw did make the book looked slightly like everyone would be a full-armored knight, the diversity of this book actually goes farther - tale Briathos Tassiel, first character and a purifier oracle of celestial blood may be groomed to be a hero by the Inheritor's servants, but the incorruptible aasimar also makes for an interesting character in both his young age (at only 74 years) and his desire to reconnect with his celestial heritage. Caric Solnebren, the oathbound human paladin is a dual-talented man from a rich background - and his brother, the Aroden worshiping Loric Solnebren, a disillusioned sanctified rogue, makes for a great sibling rivalry fanned further by the opposition between his doctrines of Aroden and the Inheritor's code.



And indeed, synergies like this are not a rarity - in the roleplaying tips and background information, a vast array of ideas is provided to make the dynamics of the group work from the get-go and provide further story hooks down the road - take Tessara Arthinest, the elven synthesist summoner with her fused celestial spirit of valor. Beyond being shielded from traumatic experiences by her eidolon (one can never be sure to whom one is talking to when addressing her!) without her knowledge (which makes for good roleplaying regarding the nature of free will), her eidolon also originates from the same celestial source that fathered Briathos Tassiel. It's small secrets like that and their suggestions that make these characters be more than pregens - they can be considered a party from the very get-go!



Emerina Vestelle, the tiefling infiltrator inquisitor of Desna makes for an unconventional hero - born among evil cults, she was rescued and properly raised and now is a sensual and flirtatious lady, an uncommon contender to bringing an end to the worldwound's evil. Illemandir Ziruul, the menhir savant druid is a half-elf whose very birth was the result of the horrors bringing together two people that otherwise wouldn't have met, making him a living proof that even the bleakest of happenstances can result in positive outcomes. His connection with the land, explained as owing his life to the mastery of ley lines also makes for a superb motivation to stem the tide of corruptions.



Jilani Safiro, the wild-blooded empyreal sorceror is a long way from her desert-land home - and due to her ethnicity, some racial tensions, whether justified or imagined, may be seen as a further means of providing ample roleplaiyng opportunity and ground her and the party in the lore of Golarion. Now if you're more in the mood for a battle-cleric, what about Norgrym Hammerfell, the dwarven cleric of Torag? Once abducted by evil cultists, the ordeal has made him very conscious of security and safety as well as proper strategy - that and the strange ritual they subjected him to make once again for roleplaying opportunities aplenty!



The final page contains paper stand cut-outs of the glorious character artworks.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are excellent, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout is drop-dead-gorgeous and in 2-column full-color - the book ranks among the most beautiful I've seen, even among Legendary Games oeuvre. Weirdly, the pdf comes sans bookmarks, which makes navigation less comfortable than it ought to be. The artworks by Lance Red, Tanyaporn Sangsnit and Colby Stevenson deserve accolades - these characters jump to life straight from the page.



Neil Spicer knows how to write compelling CHARACTERS. Not just some pregens, CHARACTERS - people that are compelling enough to use as NPCs even if you're not looking for pregens, characters that do not follow each stereotype. Indeed, the pregens herein, in whatever constellation used, brim with roleplaying potential, feature so many cool angles, so many story-seeds, that even if used in a context that is not the Wrath of the Righteous AP, that any DM worth his/her salt can craft a whole campaign around them alone. Yes. That awesome. Their connections make them a party from the get-go, with all dynamics that entails and in the end, the characters also are superb reading. It should also be noted that the advice on character advancement also provides mythic path-selection advice. Apart from the missing bookmarks, I have exactly zilch to complain about here - these are, even by Legendary Games high standards, probably the best Pregens released so far and deserve no less than 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Righteous Heroes: Pregenerated Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 19: Feats of Sneaking
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/06/2014 11:04:51
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about feats associated with sneaking after the first, awesome installment, so let's check this out!



We open this mythic mini relatively conservative, with a mythic blinding sneak attack that can be powered by mythic power to keep the blindness (upgraded to the end of your next turn per default) last up to mythic tier rounds. Solid. Now "Dampen Presence" is interesting, allowing you to avoid lfesense, tremorsense (but not blindsight/sense as written...) and also allows you to use mythic power to treat stealth as a natural 20 - but only before the roll. The latter feels a bit too generic - not sure if that is supposed to work only for the senses mentioned by the feat - I *assume* so, but as written, this can be done in any context. If you have the mythic version of "go unnoticed", you can be treated as invisible by those who fail to see you, whereas "shadow strike's" mythic pendant allows you to inflict precision damage as if your target had no total concealment.

Now "Sneaking Precision" is very interesting - first it does not require an expenditure of a swift action to add critical effects from feats to your attacks. Secondly, it allows you to add these effects to regular hits via mythic power - a godsend for high-crit builds in that vein and rather strong, but an imho warranted power-upgrade for the respective builds in Mythic Adventures. "Stealth Synergy" (one of my group's favorite teamwork feats, also gets a mythic version - though treating adjacent creatures as an aid another may be nice, it underwhelmed me hard in the context of Mythic Adventures.



The mythic version of "Strangler" upgrades damage dice to d8 AND allows you to forego extra damage to render the target unconscious on a failed save - nice one.



Finally, there is the 3-feat spanning "Moonlight Stalker" tree, which increases damage output (and crit multiplier up to potentially x6!), increases your feinting chances (with the option to use mythic power to get a natural 20...) and further increased miss-chance, with the addition of foes missing you counting as flat-footed.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Alistair Rigg is in charge of this Mythic Mini, and he does a fine job - while not all of the feats wowed me and most fall into the formula of faster, better, etc., they generally can't be considered bad and here and there have small components that deviate in a positive manner from simple numerical progressions/mythic power enhancements. As such, this pdf can be considered a good purchase and receives a solid final verdict of 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 19: Feats of Sneaking
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 18: Hierophant Path Abilities II
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2014 04:57:59
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about more hierophant path abilities, after the great first installment for the path so let's check this out!



So what do these do? First, there are 2 1st tier abilities, the first of which allows you to use mythic power to change your energy resistance temporarily, but on the fly. That one works. The "Treesinger" ability nets you plant-themed bonus spells known, heal and bolster (and even enthrall) plants, undo effects on organic material made from plants/plants. Mythic power can be used to make the abilities etc. easier to use. Complex and very in line with the concept of the plant-whisperer.



We also get 2 new 3rd tier abilities, with the first adding a bunch of spells to your spell-list (and, much like any of the spell-granting mythic abilities here, providing further bonuses) and the second being the improved version of the former plan-based ability, with options to enlarge/reduce creatures and literally, create vast swaths of plants instantly and create feather token-like trees on the fly. And yes, this ability has VAST potential for creative players...If I had a dime for every smart use of growing plants and feather tokens my players sprung on me...Oh yeah, have I mentioned the increase in power due to tier-increase or the repair of objects? Damn useful.



There is also a new 6th tier ability, the Saintly Shroud, cloaks you in saintly or profane power, making even contact to you painful for foes opposing your beliefs. Add DR for mythic power and we get a cool ability here as well.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson's second take on Hierophant Path abilities offers even more interesting abilities to choose from, with all interested in druidic/ranger-style abilities getting more than their share due, while those of a more traditional, clerical bent falling a bit short. Like some other Mythic Minis, this one has a bit of spare space that could have been filled with more content, though the blank space is less pronounced than in other installments. Whether this one does it for you depends very much on whether you enjoy the druidic-themed, complex and versatile, very mythic-feeling abilities - the other, with the exception of the shroud, fall a bit flat and feel a tad too mundane, common for my tastes. That being said, I will rate what's here and the great pieces outweigh the somewhat bland ones, resulting in a pdf that can be considered good, though not superb - resulting in a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded down by a slight margin to 4.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 18: Hierophant Path Abilities II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 88 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG