RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Treasury of the Machine
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/11/2016 06:46:36

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This pdf containing items intended for the use with the Iron Gods-AP clocks in at 28 pages, 1 page front cover, 2 pages editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page introduction, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 21 pages of content, so let's take a look!


We begin this book with a handy list of items by respective price, ranging from varies/50 GP to 180K gold/minor artifact-levels - quite a lot, so what can be found herein precisely? Well, we begin with the technological armor, the slipsuit, which enhances means to prevent being grappled or otherwise impeded. 3 forms of cybertech are provided thereafter - beginning with the amnesia tick and going on to provide discipline and rapture chips - whether to eliminate memories, create obedience or generate BTL (Better than life for non-Shadowrun-savvy readers...)-style bliss (yes, including potential for addiction), these items sport significant potential for story-telling and dystopian narratives...neat indeed, with a cool artwork as a bonus.


Temporarily sowing flesh together with nanite gauze - but where things become more interesting is with the three variants of adrenaline surges, which allow for stimpack-like rage-boosts...but each use puts a strain on the body...too many may even kill the user, providing a potentially hard decision for the PCs - one final boost and risk potential death/unconsciousness to defeat the dread foes...pretty cool! Biotech-wise, optic-enhancers granting low-light vision/darkvision and dermal grafts that provide nourishment via photosynthesis cover utility as well as narrative potential.


Chemosols are sprays that provide cones/can be inhaled and contain artificial pheromones and hormones, irritants or generate susceptibility to environmental conditions. Chemical stunners and a cloud that makes people stunned, but also has them twitch uncontrollably in random directions complement the material further - cool and unique!


Robotics-wise, we receive alternate design specs for androids designed akin to the non-human core-races and the pdf also sports a minor artifact that allows you to hijack robots in line of sight...nasty! Surprisingly, the pdf btw. sports a new robotic creature - the delightfully disturbing CR 1 walking eye, which has a neat little force field and a great full color artwork. Think of it as a disturbing flesh/metal-graft spy-drone. Damn cool!


Obviously, there also are quite a bunch of different technological items, including a capsule that hastens oxidization (think of these as rust-bombs...) and an orb that allows for the nigh-perfect duplication of scanned circuits. I also love the visuals of the detector globe: What basically is a rather conservative means of detecting poisons, magic, etc. is made awesome by the way it works: The glove rises in the air and sends scanning filaments out...pretty cool.


Also awesome - a unit that allows the wearer to pass through solid matter: The harder, the more charges are consumed...and yes, you don't want to get stuck inside the material. Gravity belts that allow for personal gravity in Zero-G-environments similarly are damn cool! Similarly, quick retraining via a helm (utilizing downtime-rules from Ultimate Campaign) is just awesomeness. Oh, and what about a Batman style grappling hook with concise rules, one that also explains how the device is operated? Yeah, pretty glorious!


Speaking of which: What about a probe that can transfer memories? In the field of combat-utility, a means of at-range dousing fires/ridding characters of acid sludge/etc. most definitely will become a favorite of my PCs! Retina-based locks and universal tools as wella s solar charging options breathe a spirit of true imaginative potential that combines utility with potential for adventure-crafting and thumb-sized, inflatable sleeping bags for sub-zero conditions make sense. Thermite-like salts and preservation-enhancing vacuum sealers also are brilliant!


Nanoweave material provides toughness at a low weight and weaponry-wise, beam sabers, lingering lightning guns, disciplinary rods, potentially addiction-inducing rapture-guns, better tangelfoot-grenades and guns that daze foes and can maintain hexes - there is some great material herein, in both fluff and crunch-departments. Oh, and the pdf provides gravity cannons, singularity grenades and telekinesis-duplicating guns...have I mentioned zero-g-grenades? Damn cool!


The pdf concludes with modern firearms, from heavy guns to automatic shotguns, as well as modifications like varying targeting computers, recoil compensators and scopes...though personally, I prefer other takes on the topic of recoil rules than those championed herein - average damage die as a modifier, reduced by Str-modifier, may be rather solid, but in the end is pretty complicated. Still, that's a personal preference.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' two-column full-color standard for Iron Gods plug-ins and the pdf sports numerous original, gorgeous pieces of full-color artwork. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Tim Hitchcock, Robert Brookes, Jeff Lee, Jonathan H. Keith - these gentlemen seem to have had a field day here, with development from Jason Nelson: Treasury of the Machine is the most inspired book among the treasuries so far. This book has everything you'd want from an item-centric book: Heck, even basic spell-duplicators herein feel unique and sport some sort of twist that renders them distinct in mechanics and feeling. There literally is no filler herein, making this an all awesome smörgåsbord of pure awesomeness: When an item-book sports items that, in the vast majority of cases, manages to inspire the reader regarding modules; when such a book provides means of telling new and exciting stories - then you know, you've got something great on your hands. This is such a case. My final verdict for this inspired book will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasury of the Machine
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Swashbucklers
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/25/2016 04:37:11

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The third of Legendary Games' class-centric Ultimate Plug-ins clocks in at 44 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 2 pages of editorial, 2 pages of introduction, 1 page SRD, 3 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 32 pages of content, so let's take a look!


Before we do, please let me ensure we're all on the same page: When the gunslinger was released, I was pretty much ecstatic at first: Firearms? Yeah! Beyond that, the idea of making deeds partially rule-of-cool regarding grit-regaining put some sorely needed option for table variance in the GM's hands - I like the ideas of the gunslinger. I absolutely learned to LOATHE the execution. You see, obviously, I had a gunslinger-PC almost immediately...only to note that the poor class suffers from two crucial flaws: 1) Lack of player agenda. The player has nothing to choose from - NOTHING. Vanilla gunslingers are ridiculously uniform and boring - also thanks to the deed-system. 2) The class does not account for table variation regarding the, particularly at low levels, significant upkeep cost of firearms and their explosion-prone design. (That's before the swift action-drought...) These two components and their importance only dawned upon me to their full extent then and they were pretty much what was inspired me to write the etherslinger-class for Interjection Games' Strange Magic.


It is no secret that I was tremendously disappointed by the Advanced Class Guide and probably would have sold it without my obligations as a reviewer to you, my readers. No other class in the ACG disappointed me quite to the extent the swashbuckler did. Taking a cue from the gunslinger with basically one signature deed, the swashbuckler as a default class lacks variance and becomes obsolete fast - I can't, for the life of me, find a good reason to take swashbuckler levels beyond 5th level, when Improved Critical early access makes them good crit-fishers. Worse, the swashbuckler's choices, limited to bonus feats, are simply not that relevant - heck, there are base classes with spellcasting progression that receive MORE feats than these poor guys. Beyond these issues, I think the swashbuckler is simply not doing a good job at making a swashbuckling character - skirmishing is still problematic and not too efficient and e.g. iconic banter and weapon binding have been done better (or done at all!) by various 3pps - running a vanilla swashbuckler for comparison purposes...was not something my players were keen on.


After the superb installment on Legendary Rogues, let's take a look whether the class's redesign championed herein does fix these issues or not. From the get-go, you'll note something: The Swashbuckler as presented herein is not presented as a big toolkit, but instead begins with the new base-class. The Legendary Swashbuckler receives d10, full BAB-progression, good Ref-saves, 4+Int skills per level, proficiency with simple and martial weapons and light armor as well as bucklers. At first level the LS (Legendary Swashbuckler) gets Charisma modifier panache, minimum 1, with critical hits and killing blows as means to regain panache - of course, non-kitten-able. Somewhat to my own disappointment (though I guess people liking the deed-system's execution as opposed to its intent), the deed-system is retained, which means that there's not more choice introduced in this component.


Regarding deeds, derring-do remains unchanged, and so is Opportune Parry and Riposte, but instead of Dodging Panache, the LS receives Precise Strike at 1st level, adding his class level to damage with weapons held in the primary hand, provided they belong to the category chosen via swashbuckler weapon training. Two-handed weapons receive only 1/2 this bonus damage and it may be applied to thrown weapons if the target is within 30 ft. This ability only works while the swashbuckler has at least 1 panache and spending one panache doubles the bonus damage for one attack, thankfully preventing AoO-abuse here.


At 3rd level, we notice Kip-Up and Swashbuckler's Initiative still around; however, in an interesting twist, charmed life has been turned into a deed - and it works much better. Where the original lacked an organic scaling mechanism (introducing its own instead of class resources), the deed-version utilized here requires at least 1 panache...but not its expenditure. Basically, the daily limitation is gone, representing a power-upgrade on the defensive side here. There is also a new deed here, the daring stride: Spend 1 panache for an immediate action 5-foot sidestep that grants Charisma-modifier as a dodge bonus; this does not count as a five-foot-step and provokes AoOs from foes other than the one triggering the activation in the first place. I like this one, because it actually emphasizes...oh, I don't know....movement in battle, pretty much what the original swashbuckler should have done?


At 7th level, the class unlocks targeted strike, but interestingly, not superior feint, while 11th level provides subtle blade and bleeding wound...but where is evasive? Well, it is taken out of the deed-system: At 2nd level, the LS receives uncanny dodge, 3rd nets nimble, 6th evasion, 8th improved uncanny dodge and 14th improved evasion - which feels more organic to me, so no complaints here. But back to the deeds: 15th level unlocks perfect thrust and swashbuckler's edge and 19th level retains cheat death and deadly stab, which btw. thankfully gets rid of the strange division into lethal and nonlethal, instead codifying the whole package in one concise ability.


Swashbuckler Weapon training is first granted at 1st level and 3rd nets Dexterity to damage instead of Strength, as per Finesse Training, tying the mechanic to weapon groups, a practice the auto-confirms of the capstone also utilize. Another diverging thing about the LS is that the class receives a so-called personage at 1st level - these are practically built-in mystery plus-level of complexity modifications of the base class, finally introducing much needed variability into the rigid chassis of the class - a total of 7 such personages are provided and each comes with a linear list of ability-progressions associated with the respective personage as well as exclusive deeds unlocked at certain levels. As a minor nitpick regarding organization, I think they should have been put right after the class, not after the class's archetypes, but that may ultimately just be me and a personal preference. Oh, before I forget - the class does not offer Cha-for-Int-prereq-qualification anymore.


The first personage would be the braggart - which brought a big, big smile to my face. Why? Well, if you've been following my reviews, you'll remember (and probably will be using) a glorious little pdf called Psychological Combat, later to be expanded into the absolutely superb Ultimate Charisma, both by Alexander Augunas' Everyman Gaming. In short, the pdf managed to codify properly antagonizing foes, while also streamlining feint and demoralize into a more concise whole, rendering the pdf not only a Top Ten file, but also one of the most used crunch books at my table. Even better yet - while the personage does provide beautiful synergy with this inspired little book, the whole personage also comes with an alternate version that lacks exactly these components for those of you who do not own these inspired rules. Suffice to say, I wholeheartedly enjoy this particular personage.


If my environment is any indication, were I a swashbuckler, I'd probably need to take the second personage - the dandy. Focused on social tricks, rogue talents (and, if you're using pathfinder Unchained, optionally signature skills), the dandy makes for a cool martial face for the group. The daredevil personage is all about the option to move around the battlefield, automatically succeeding Acrobatics DC 20 or below, swiftly moving through difficult terrain and similar options. While I think Spring Attack as a 10th level bonus feat sans prereqs may be a bit late in the overall build, the personage nevertheless lets you make a pretty neat skirmisher. The Madcap personage is also about high risks and high rewards, rewarding risky playstyles: Provoked AoOs regain panache and similarly, being hit with a critical hit nets even more panache, depending on critical multiplier. Unfortunately, the former AoO-regain is basically a kitten-debacle waiting to happen, meaning this will never get anywhere near my table - I get the intent of this one and consider it great, but the omission of an anti-abuse caveat wrecks this personage for me.


The phantom personage is the one that takes a cue (though a surprisingly good one) from Ultimate Intrigue, featuring the Batman/Zorro-like option to have dual personalities, including actually feasible quick change times between the two (no, not 1 minute...thankfully...) and options to separate the truths of his personas in his mind - whether for the aforementioned masked hero trickery or as a frame-work for multiple personality heroes, this is truly interesting. More fitting for pirates, post-apocalyptic contexts would probably be the raider with the rope-specializations and alcohol-fueled panache (which is erroneously called grit once)...and yes, thankfully, these grog points are abuse-safe. Finally, it is with the vagabond, master of dirty fighting, that we meet superior feint again.


Beyond these personages that are hard-coded into the legendary swashbuckler, there obviously are archetypes - 16 to be precise. The Daring Infiltrator, Flying Blade, Inspired Blade, Mouser, Musketeer, Mysterious Avenger, Picaroon and Whirling Dervish archetypes of the base class have been aligned with the legendary swashbuckler - with the corsair obviously now rather being covered by aforementioned personage. But there also are new ones here - the Dashing Commander is the adaption of the archetype from Everyman Gaming's Swashbuckler Archetype pdf and still remains primarily a Battle Cry-specialist and similarly, the rapscallion was also converted, still sporting dirty trick and sneak attack mastery. The two-weapon duelist's LS-version deserves special mention, as it at least slightly makes two weapon fighting more dynamic, while the vainglorious swashbuckler probably is the most deceptive of designs here - obviously made for guys like yours truly, these guys can get personal deeds, highly customizable regular ones as well as panache-powered feat-use for a truly customizable playing experience, something I always tend to enjoy - particularly since lists of feats with associated costs, as per my experience, rank among the most deceptively easy-looking, yet hard things to codify in PFRPG.


There are, however, also archetypes herein that are not based on other swashbuckling material recodified for the legendary swashbuckler - for example the gallivant, which would be a feasible mounted swashbuckler (combine with phantom for Zorro-the class...). There also would be the ronin, who has a personalized code, including limited resolve and favored weapon training as well as order abilities. In conjunction with the swashbuckler base abilities, that may be a bit much in comparison. Finally, the tumbler receives reflexive Acrobatics-based attack negation powered by panache and specific weapon training that includes options to skirmish sans AoOs and gain Vital Strike's benefits with the chosen weapon groups - per se an interesting one in that it actually makes the skirmishing playstyle more valid.


The pdf also includes a PrC, the Dervish Darter, which clocks in at full BAB-progression, d10, 4+Intelligence modifier skills, good Ref-save progression and relatively easy access at 6 ranks and only 3 feats prereqs. Beyond gaining 1/2 panache/deed progression at 2nd level (nice!) the PrC gets bonus damage that scales when skirmishing, further enhancing said playstyle - though, in a humorous glitch, the bonus damage at 1d5 is probably a typo - unless we're now using DCC-style special dice... ;) Kidding aside, apart from this minor glitch, the PrC receives a talent, a so-called dervish trick, at 2nd level and every 2 levels thereafter - though here, there are some minor ambiguities: Darter's Sprint, for example: This one adds "1/2 his speed" to the distance when running, charging or withdrawing - while not bad, does this extend to non-standard movement rates as flying, burrowing etc. when granted by spells and/or effects? I think it probably should not, but I ultimately am not 100% sure. While such minor hiccups are a tad bit annoying, the PrC does manage to make the agile combatant pretty awesome and usable, so yes, this does have my blessing - flexible charges and zig-zagging movement are some of my favorites - though, frankly, I wished the rules-language was a tad bit more precise: At 10th level, the dervish darter (here called "dervish dancer"...) can charge and has "no restrictions on his movement" - does this allow you to charge over lava? Through walls of force? When bound? When having movement rate reduced to 0 ft.? I'm ultimately not 100% sure what the capstone is supposed to do.


Beyond a brief list of weapon properties particularly suitable for swashbuckler characters, there are also three new ones, from balancing to weightless weapons...though the memory lapse-inducing blackout weapon is ultimately what makes this awesome. The pdf then concludes with a bunch of specific weapons and wondrous items, including an identity-shielding mask (thank you!) and literally tiny metallic bugs to track foes, ending on an imaginative, high note.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are good, though by far not as streamlined as usual for Legendary Games - there are a tad bit more avoidable glitches, some of which, unfortunately extend to the rules-language, which is particularly odd since both Jason nelson and Alexander Augunas' writing tends to be extremely concise in that regard. Now, don't get me wrong - this is still a tight book...but it's not perfect. Layout adheres to legendary Games two-column full-color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. the book also sports quite a few nice original full-color artworks.


Legendary Swashbuckler succeeds triumphantly in one simple regard: Making one of the choice-wise blandest, uninvolving classes in PFRPG actually provide variety, meaningful choices. The legendary swashbuckler herein is absolutely and without a single second of doubt superior in every way to the default swashbuckler by virtue of the significantly extended options available. The legendary swashbuckler is a nice class that makes skirmishing a valid option via the wealth of choices herein. The fact that a cover identity herein is not something that cripples you every time you're surprised is also a component that should be lauded.


How does this fare in comparison? Well, what we have here is a radical redesign, the only way in which the class could be salvaged...and I like that. While not sporting the brilliant streamlining or cherry-picking customization-potential of the superb book on rogues, this one is still superior by a long shot to the default swashbuckler. While personally, I am disappointed that the weapon-binding rules e.g. used in Razor Coast or similar options have not found their way herein, this is not something I as a reviewer hold against the pdf. What I do hold against it, though, would be that some options, as mentioned above, simply are slightly less polished than I am accustomed to, particularly compared with the downright legendary (get it?) installment on rogues that managed to fully reimagine the rogue. Then again - that may be the issue: I went in this book, expecting more than I should have - something that only became apparent to me after some distance to both books. (Btw., another reason why I wait a couple of days before publishing a completed review.)


Let me state, thus, loud and clear, that this still is THE swashbuckler-resource, the redesign of the class is desperately needed and a must-have for fans of the concept and frame of the swashbuckler - hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform, with a must-have buy-now-recommendation for everyone dissatisfied by the vanilla swashbuckler - this is the class you deserved and wanted.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Swashbucklers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Rogues
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/15/2016 06:29:17

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The second of Legendary Games class-centric Ultimate-plug-ins clocks in at 48 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 2 pages of editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introductions (with a comical CCP-glitch, reading "What you will find in Legendary Paladins..."), 1 page SRD, 4 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 34 pages of raw content, so let's take a look, shall we?


So, what is the first thing you think of when the term "rogue" is thrown around regarding the core competences of the class? If you've dealt with any amount of optimization, that will probably be "skills." Let's face it, as written, the rogue class is pretty much an underpowered mess that has been nerfed down from even its 3.X roots to the point where it almost hurts - me particularly. You know, I REALLY like rogues and so do my players...concept-wise, that is. But until the advent of Drop Dead Studios' Rogue Glory book, nary a player wanted to play the class...because, let's face it, it's one of the weakest classes for PFRPG in terms of combat utility. Now our rogues still were awesome characters, but I did feel that they lost their central competence along the way - being the suave agents, the acrobatic masters, the thieves and scoundrels, the brokers. This pdf acknowledges, thankfully, that the rogue chassis and some of its design-assumptions are in dire need of an overhaul to be competitive and allow the player to efficiently play the character they want to play.


The first selection of abilities, then, would be an assortment of skill specialties - basically alternatives to the trapfinding class feature that have comparable usefulness: Beyond a basic skill bonus, these allow e.g. expert acrobats to fall less when failing; Stealth specialists increase miss-chances. Specialization in information brokering can yield knowledge on whether an information is reliable as well as rerolls. Investigation specialists gain Perception and Sense Motive-bonuses and may see past illusions and Escape Artist-specialists may make creatures actually waste their AoOs. I wholeheartedly endorse the array of diverse options featured in this section - the additional benefits are plentiful and intriguing and I can see my characters taking any of them.


But what about the unchained rogue? Well, guess what? The book provides full synergy with the unchained rogue and codifies these skill specialties also according to the framework of said class, even going so far as to provide a skill unlock/signature skill-rework of the rogues in question when used in conjunction with this system. Kudos for going the extra mile!


The next customization option provided herein basically takes trap sense and makes it just as versatile and player-agenda-driven as you'd want it to be: Basically, you can e.g. get better AC when fighting defensively or against ranged attacks: The bonus stacks with itself and allows for a rogue to e.g. specialize in one such avoidance...or get multiple ones at lesser bonuses. Instead of Trap Sense+3, you can e.g. get a +1 bonus to ranged attacks and +2 to saves versus fear and mid-influencing effects. This takes a boring, static ability and makes players choose - which is awesome...and yes, the upgrade regarding danger sense in the Unchained version is covered as well.


The next type of ability codified herein would be instincts - these are the powerful, instinctual evasion effects that render the rogue powerful in a defensive manner. The pdf codifies evasion, uncanny dodge, improved uncanny dodge and 10th level improved evasion as instincts - thus, gaining these is codified as happening at 2nd level, 4th and every 4 levels thereafter - and yes, there are means to use immediate actions for 5-foot steps, proper acting in surprise rounds and multiple initiative-rolls, helping the general power-level of particularly high-level rogues.


Now obviously, rogue talents are an odd bunch: PFRPG began with the general assumption of a talent being equivalent to about 1/2 a feat, an assumption that didn't even work with all rogue talents back then. With classes like alchemists and ninjas out there, it should come as no surprise that something odd is happening here: Unlike other comparable class features, rogue talents only sport a general 2-step distinction between power-levels. Hence, this pdf provides almost 100 rogue talents, including a significant array of rather well-conceived level-prereqs that allow for a more synergistic scaling. The truly interesting component here, though, pertains the feasibility of quite a few talents: Both regarding rerolls and fast stealth, which pales even before the sucky Skill Focus (Stealth) at 10th level - the authors actually did the math here and recodified former trap options into a more powerful variant. The care that obviously went into these is truly interesting and extends to power-comparisons between e.g. rogue talents and alchemist discoveries, bridging the gap between the two. Obviously, I can't cover all of the talents...but know this: I consider them basically canon at this point.


There also is a new codification of talents that focus on last second saves for the rogues called desperation talents - from defensive roll to 1/day (+1/day at 15th and 20th level) negating attacks that would bring the rogue below 0 Hp with movement to gaining temporary hit points to avoid dying - and yes, all of these talents now can be found in a nice, big table. Once again, implementation for both core rogues and unchained rogues is covered rather well.


The fixing of the rogue goes even further - with saving throw-fixes (below that of specialists, but better than e.g. wizards) and the pdf also offers an ability to fix the BAB-discrepancy versus e.g. slayer...and also sports an optional alternate rule for attacks versus flanked targets, should you wish for a less distinct solution. Better yet: The damage-consistency and supreme array of sneak immune/negating creatures is also addressed via a plethora of different class features -and yes, this also includes a mechanically feasible take on streamlining the damage-output of APG and PFU's Powerful and Deadly Sneak - coincidentally a mathematical discrepancy I noted in my own designs...so kudos indeed! The issue of sneak attack and critical damage is also, just fyi, taken care of in a concise and mathematically relevant, yet conservative manner that should not unbalance any game...and yes, nonlethal sneak FINALLY is no longer restricted.


Know how high level rogues in fiction tend to favor singular, deadly attacks and hit and run tactics? Well, the mid-to-high-level attack option of focused sneak attacks actually makes agile movement and skirmishing tactics more relevant for the rogue, allowing the class to contribute without full-attack-blow-trading. What if a rogue can't sneak? Well, then telling blows, a 3rd level ability might offer what you want: Basically, they are short-range debuff attacks.


If all of that seemed too much for you - fret not: The Legendary Rogue class featured herein is just what you've been looking for. Nice to see the concise summary alongside the cherry-pick option...and yes, a significant plethora of short-mechanic centric archetypes that have been rebalanced or retooled are in here as well - from Acrobat to Poisoner to Trapsmith, this book delivers - and the same can be said about the two pages of new feats herein.


Finally, the pdf closes with the 10-level Master Thief PrC - at d8, 8+Int skills, 1/2 Fort-save progression (slightly odd) and 3/4 BAB-progression, we finally have a representation of Thief's Garrett here - casing a joint, combining steal with trip, fast withdraws, downtime-synergy (and kingdom building...) as well as true avoidance of magic, grapples and the like, this damn cool little PrC absolutely ROCKS - it's an iconic concept, well-implemented in a concise and feasible manner.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting, for the most part of this pdf, are top-notch, I noticed no rules-relevant glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games' two-column full-color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The original artworks provided herein are high-quality and nice.


Matt Goodall and Jason Nelson's Legendary Rogue, at first glance, looked like it was too good to be true; and since most books like this are just that, I went on to test the living hell out of this book. Okay, let me make this abundantly clear: No matter the power-level of your campaign, no matter how much you may like the Unchained Rogue, the Glory Rogue or the like - YOU NEED THIS. I didn't realize how much I needed this book until I actually read it. Beyond taking care and fixing several trap options and retaining their feasibility over the levels, beyond a power-upgrade that was sorely required, the legendary rogue as presented herein is still as rogue-y as it can be - and so much more!


The rogue-class' radical redesign herein puts player-agenda at the very highest priority slot and, at the same time, actually manages to retain a sense of cohesion that still allows for the implementation of other 3pp-material within its framework. Additionally, this book cleans up the design-aesthetic and power-level mess that unfortunately took hold of the rogue class and makes the class competitive without losing its soul.


Let me state this loudly and clearly: The Legendary Rogue is the class the Unchained Rogue should imho have been. It is now my default rogue class, particularly since it cleaned up those annoying trap options, ability discrepancies etc. - this is a labor of love, where, with a fine-toothed comb and deliberate care, mechanics were streamlined to actually play better with PFRPG's official other classes. Oh, and if you dislike any component of this book, its supreme versatility does allow you to cherry-pick your preferred option to customize the respective tricks. Now, and this is where the book goes the extra, second extra mile, it also does something only very few crunch books do: It explains its design-rationales in easy to grasp ways for the respective GMs and players perusing this book - so if a particular issue addressed is not one for you, you'll have the pros and cons weighed and listed so you can decide for yourself. Modularity-wise, this is up there with Spheres of Power or the Martial Arts Guidebook in the ways in which its respective options can be used or discarded - and it may even surpass them.


This book, in short, provides the player-driven, versatile rogue I've always been wanting since the inception of 3.0, the class I always longed for, but never got. Legendary Rogue is, without any hyperbole, a truly astonishing, downright brilliant piece of work and will be the standard by which I henceforth measure class-fix-style pdfs. It is simply ridiculously good and a shining example of what a crunch can do; it thus receives 5 stars + seal of approval, nomination for my Top Ten of 2015 and the EZG Essential tag - if it also covered trap-rules and a fix for the Stealth-skill, it would completely replace my previously favorite rogue fix, Rogue Glory, completely; as it stands, Legendary Rogues is a true must-own book for anyone who likes playing rogues and felt that the class fell flat of what it should be able to do, for everyone who wants more customization, options, flair - this is for you and worth every cent of its asking price a hundredfold.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Rogues
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Planet: The Assimilation Strain (Pathfinder)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/23/2015 07:59:19

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This was moved up on my queue at the request of my players.


The prologue-adventure for Legendary Games' Sword and Planet-AP clocks in at 42 pages, 1 page front cover, 2 pages editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, 1 page editorial introduction leaving us with 32 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?


While this module is designed to act as a prequel for the massive Legendary Planet AP, it also easily works on its own. The following being a review of an adventure, the following does contain SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.


...


..


.


All right, still here? Whether to reclaim family property, at the behest of a seer or due to some other hook, the PCs find that their first journey has brought them to the otherwise pretty unremarkable village of Holver's Ferry (fully mapped, btw.) - but even at the ferry leading into the town, across a swift river leading into lake Shimmermere - alas, the drunken ferryman has no good fate in store: While he tried to quarantine the village, he failed - and he is about to pay the price, as psychotic villagers hack him apart. Oh yes, enter the PCs. Unresponsive and clearly driven mad, the PCs have to defeat the bloodthirsty villagers in a thematic callback that made me remember Resident Evil 4 - in all the right ways. Crossing the river one way or another, the impression that Holver's Ferry has been hit by some tragedy pretty much becomes apparent.


A sense of apocalyptic dread, piece by piece, encounter by encounter, will slowly seep into the consciousness of PCs and players alike, as a depressed widow endeavors to commit suicide, as they explore abandoned houses that look like their inhabitants have simply evaporated - something is odd. Hanged people dangle from the town's sacred oak and child survivors hide from anyone out there. The local inn shows signs of struggle, of desperate defense - and a man who had locked himself in, now just as bloodthirsty and dangerous as the first farmers encounetred. Things have become so bad that even goblinoids have entered the village. The priest is insane and burning undead can be found among the village's houses - a sense of grim doom has come to Holver's Ferry, and as the PCs find the halfling berserker (berserker Zimm - boy did I laugh when reading that one!), the gnome apothecary who retained his wits or draw the conclusions due to the hints left in the sheriff's office - the dread mystery needs to be solved.


This sandboxy horror section is well-presented and offer multiple means to draw the PCs further into the topics, whereafter the trail leads towards the Orphanage of mother Oddle. You see, what has happened here is an unlikely and far-out scenario: An invader from another world has engineered a mind-reprogramming bio weapon, the eponymous assimilation strain. Alas, the targeted viral strain's first iteration proved to yield a temporary, highly infectious burn-out rate and chaotic, terrible symptoms - the ones the PCs have witnessed firsthand in the horror at the town. The dread invader, a vanguard of the planned invasion, has since perfected a better strain of the virus and infected one powerful lumberjack, Silam Oddle - controlled by a disgusting, black tumor-like lump at the back of his neck, the PCs can save him, yes - but perhaps they have to take the poor man down. Beyond that, have I mentioned that his mother's mummified remains still remain in her room? Yes, creepy.


Rexel, the gnome alchemist, in the meanwhile, has probably gone missing, abducted by an adherer made from the remains of the town's erstwhile, missing sheriff. The trail leads towards Arvarenhode Manor's ruins, where the catacombs await under the rubble - provided the PCs can best the deadly creatures inhabiting the upper part of the ruins. In the catacombs, the PCs may save Rexel, battle the adherer and navigate a complex inhabited by a cool, uncommon selection of adversaries, with thematically-awesome descriptions and rooms. Finally, defeating the xoraphond creature behind the dread conflict ends the jagladine empire's invasion plan, while also providing a first taste of the things to come. The pdf concludes with alien technology (Technology Guide-compatible) and the new creature and two templates provided.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch - the book has been further streamlined from its original inception. Layout adheres to a beautiful two-column standard that is still pretty printer-friendly, with copious amounts of full-color high-quality artworks for each major player in the storyline. It should also be noted that the layout does not try to generate more pages by wide margins - there is a lot of information on each page, making the module more detailed and longer than you'd expect from most modules of this page-count - in my playtest, it took my exceedingly fast group 2 sessions to clear this module. About 90% of 32-page modules tend to be finished in 1 session, so yeah - quite a bunch of content. Cartography is beautiful and plentiful - and a massive art and map folio constitutes a huge array of handouts and options to directly show your players the maps or cut them up and use them as handouts. I hate being a complaining whiner, but one thing does become obvious with this art and map folio, though: A tad bit higher resolutions would have been appreciated for the maps etc. - you can see some pixels. On the plus-side, the print version does not suffer from these minor hiccups. The adventure comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Tom Phillips has, slowly but surely, become one of my go-to authors regarding any scenario that provides horror, challenge and mystery - he knows his craft. Add Neil Spicer and the duo has created one awesome, damn cool low-level module that is challenging, potentially a bit disturbing and interesting. With a diverse, uncommon array of enemies that never falls into the bland 1st level routines, a mix of sandbox and dungeon-exploration, this module provides quite a bunch of cool ideas. The best component of this module, to me, is a more ephemeral one, though: The pacing of this module is impeccable. Horror and mystery, both as genres, hinge on timing and means of creating suspense, of build-ups and gradual escalation -and this module gets this component perfectly.


As a GM, you can obviously just spoon-feed the information to your PCs via various proxies, but not only are there multiple ways of unearthing the truth, there are several red herrings - and in my playtest, I kept as much information as possible opaque, making my players draw the conclusions themselves. Now if the players get stumped, you still have several means of putting them on track within the logic of the module. Furthermore, the module has ample instances wherein heroes can be heroes and actually save lives - an approach I always welcome in modules.


I honestly did not expect the prologue to Legendary Planet to be a mystery, much less one that is this good; whether played for weirdness or downright horror, this module makes clear from the get-go that it's not your standard fantasy fare. But only in hindsight. As a piece of advice: Don't tell your players necessarily that this will be a sword & planet module. There are several themes that make for delightful red herrings in the hands of a capable GM, making the realization of what is truly going on have even more of an impact.


The assimilation strain is an excellent module and a furious first in the series, one that makes me very happy I've been able to back the kickstarter. With great production values and content that must be considered awesome, this module is a great way to kick off the AP, one that has me stoked to see what's in store for us. My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Planet: The Assimilation Strain (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cyborgs
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/22/2015 03:19:04

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This pdf clocks in at 26 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page Toc, 2 pages explanation on how to use, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 19 pages of content, so let's take a look!


Okay, so the cyborg as envisioned here is a base class with d8, 6+Int skills, 3/4 BAB-progression, good Fort- and Ref-saves as well as proficiency with simple weapons and any weapons installed in modifications as well as light armors, but not shields. Obviously, they get Technologist as a 1st level bonus feat. The base class's modifications are more defined by two particular abilities, though, the first of which would be the Internal Nanite Matrix - this matrix nets the cyborg a scaling array of central nervous system powered nanite charges (abbreviated as NC), which can be used to power cybernetic modifications as well as tweaks. The array of these points would be equal to 5x class level + Int-modifier, with 8 hours of resting restoring the NC points expended; tweaks need to be prepared in advance.


1st level cyborgs begin play with a basic cybernetic modification and are part of the cyborg's body and thus not subject to disarm or sunder, with duration and power being determined by class levels attained. The cap for using NCs to power these enhancements is equal to the cyborg class level reached and unless otherwise noted, the modifications can be used at will, but have a cool-down period of 1 minute, during which they cannot be used again, preventing the spamming of individual choices. 4th level and every 4 levels thereafter net an additional such modification. The respective cybernetic modifications the cyborg can choose are interesting in that they tend to have more than one potential use - the basic spine-enhancer that provides an ability-score boost can e.g. provide either cerebral or spinal enhancements. On another interesting note, there are also some modifications that replace certain parts of the cyborg's body -arm modifications, for example, replace the cyborg's arm and hand - on a nitpicky note, I'd very much have appreciated this one precisely stating that the arm in question also eliminates the wrist slot, but that's just me being complaint-prone.


Arm-wise, you can get a weaponized mechabot arm for a circular saw blade arm that can be activated via NCs or get a medibot arm that not only improves healing capacities, it can also unlock certain spells as tweaks usually restricted for spinal implanted cybeorgs. powered arms and shielding arms complement this section and cyborgs may also elect to gain Propulsion Boosters, which may be used for water, underwater, etc. travel of 60 ft + 10 ft. per level in brutal bursts or use this booster to enhance his bull rush/overrun attempts: The jerky burst of speed feels very cyborg-y in its rules to me - kudos! Not all enhancements are this precise, though: Take Regenerative Nanites, one of the dermal implants: "The nanites require exposure to external power source to function. When created, the cyborg chooses a single type of energy (acid, cold, fire, electricity, negative energy, or sonic) to power the nanites. When activated the nanites grant fast healing, repairing a number of hit points each round equal to 1 + the cyborg’s Intelligence modifier, +1 additional point per 5 cyborg class levels. Once damage is fully repaired, the effect stops and the implants must be recharged." Does this mean they're only triggered by being subject to the energy? The wording seems to imply it, though usually, one such energy actually eliminates the nanites and, depending on the energy chosen and the free cantrip-availability of some of them, we might be looking at an easily cheesed infinite healing exploit - and sans the caveat, a similarly easy, but slow infinite healing exploit that is not suitable for every game. From sonar-powered blindsight to oxygen-storing gill-like enhancements and short-range bursts of sonic damage, the class per se features several intriguing and visually compelling enhancements - though aforementioned sonar projector either has a DC that's simply too high or a glitch - instead of 1/2 class level, the save DC is determined by adding full class level, which not only deviates from other abilities of other classes, but also from the majority of abilities of the class. Indeed, such minor imperfections can be found slightly more often herein than usual for a Legendary Games-supplement: The Force Pulse ranged stunning-option, for example, do not specify the damage type the pulse deals. Powerful, at-will NC-based eye-rays can also be found herein, though they do not remain the only component and tool at the cyborg's hands: Starting at 2nd level, the cyborg gains a nanite surge, which nets 1d4 temporary NC that can be assigned to a given modification, but not to a tweak. The cyborg gains another such surge at 5th level and every three levels thereafter, which can also be freely dispersed between a single surge or different, smaller surges.


Additionally, the humanity loss incurred by cyborgs is represented by Charisma-decreases at 5th level and every 5 levels thereafter. One the nitpicky side, the ability can't seem to decide whether "1 point" or "one point" increase of an attribute should be considered to be the standard. 7th level sees the cyborg determine a rapid recharge modification, which then decreases the recharge-interval. The cyborg may choose an additional such ability every 5 levels thereafter.


At 3rd level and every 3 levels thereafter, the cyborg also attains a modification mastery, which should be considered to be the talent-section of the class - these allow for e.g. skill-enhancers, gaining of feats, salvaging cybertech or integrating devices as cybernetic modifications. They can also siphon power from technological items into their nanite matrix, but only to a limit


Cyborgs also cast a type of "spells" called tweaks - these would be governed by Int and are somewhat different from regular spells in that, while they need to be prepared in advance, they are not expended upon being used - instead, they consume NC equal to their level - these "spells" are called tweaks and unlike spells, the cyborg is bound by his level regarding the amount of tweaks known Tweaks may only be replaced at 4th level and every even-numbered level thereafter. The interesting thing regarding these tweaks beyond their uncommon resource obviously lies in their restriction - basically, the modifications also determine the tweaks available - cyborgs with eye-enhancements get different tweaks than those with modified legs.


The pdf also sports 3 feats for cyborgs - while obvious what Anthroposophist means "You resist the effects of humanity loss to your Charisma by 1.", it is simply not too elegant in its wording: "resist" usually denotes resistance, which is the damage-reducing terminology usually employed for energy types and thus implies a flat-out reduction of the attribute decay. This, however, is contradicted by the ability to take the feat multiple times - the wording here could be more precise. The other feats allow for additional NC and the ability to use your body to boost tweaks: This is problematic, though: "You can bolster the effect of one of your tweaks increasing its power level for one use." All right, by how much? I get the Con-based duration, but the feat's actual effects, alas, remain somewhat opaque.


The pdf also sports archetypes for the cyborg (and other classes) - the cybermancer learns a limited amount of sorc/wizard spells as tweaks instead of modification mastery...and this one s pretty nasty: NC-based fireballs? OUCH, particularly since spell surge replaces the nanite surge and can be used to temporarily increase the CL. Hunter-Killers do not gain Technologist or Tweaks, but do gain a rogue's sneak attack progression and 8th level Death attack as well as quarry and an EX-based invisibility...which is very powerful and should, in spite of the flavor, probably be SP, if only for balance/invisibility-counter-measures - as written, this ability is extremely strong, borderline broken with Death Attack. Mechlancers get a cavalier-like mount that is subject to their class abilities and share NC between mount and cyborg - odd: The archetype does not pay for any of the better charges and the like, with the exception of a stunted tweak-progression, which is kind of nasty. Additionally, the archetype fails to specify how cybernetic modifications affect the mount - can the mechlancer modify the mount as a separate entity or is it treated as an extension of the cyborg? I'm not 100% sure and quite frankly believe that this archetype needs clarification.


Bloodragers may elect to become techragers, which get the artificer domain power, crafting, DR and minor bonuses versus poisons, death effects, etc. and at high levels, you may infect foes with a nano-virus than send them into unconsciousness, then kills them and adds a final insult to the injury by making the victim a cyber-zombie, as represented by the template featured herein.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting, on a formal level, are pretty precise; on a rules-level, though, there are more ambiguities in here than I'm comfortable with. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' beautiful two-column full-color standard for Iron Gods-plug-ins and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience and sports the good type of unobtrusive hyperlinks. The pdf sports gorgeous full-color artworks, some of which you'll know, while others are brand-new.


Tim Hitchcock and Jason Nelson deliver a class I really, really want to love - the cyborg has several thoroughly inspired pieces of content and the way it plays very much mirrors well the feeling of jerky bursts I wanted to see in cyborgs. I am a big fan of the cool-down/recharge mechanic and consider it to be not only awesome, but also rather inspired. At the same time, though, this pdf is haunted by instances of flawed rules-language, imprecise tidbits and, worse, some options that fall in the borderline broken category - I'm not sold on the balancing of archetypes, the wording of feats, infinite healing (not suitable for every table, even when slow - personally, I ban every class with this feature...)...you get the idea. While the cyborg as a whole works, there are a LOT of small glitches in the construction of this one that make it feel, ironically, like it was cobbled together from two systems with different power-levels/requirements - on the one hand, you have high-concept awesomeness and complex material done right, on the other, the class sputters and glitches...and the archetypes obviously should have seen a bit more playtesting...


As much as I love a significant section of this pdf, about 3/4 of it, the rest ties into it and is seriously flawed in some sections, dragging down the book. My final verdict, with a heavy heart, will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3 for the purpose of this platform.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyborgs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 80: Inherent Advancement
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/21/2015 04:20:45

An Endzeitgeist.com review


All right, the final mythic mini for now clocks in at 4 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page blank, 1 page content, let's go!


So, what is this about? Well, as anyone who has played the game, particularly in a low/rare-magic game knows, the engine's numbers are predicated on a certain array of items: Rings of protection and cloaks of resistance in particular alongside ability-enhancing items. What this pdf proposes is an interesting alternative, namely the awarding of mythic tiers instead of treasure, while also championing a concentration of treasure in key items - a practice I'm btw. preaching and using myself in my games, with scaling magical items being common in my games - so yes, this makes magic items feel less super-market-like...which is a damn good thing in my book.


But the system presented is pretty elegant beyond that: Basically, every time a character gains a level, he may choose one of the following benefits, with the abilities having caps, but stacking.


Inherent Bonuses and Magical Arms and Armor: Weapons are ONLY magical in the hands of a character that has taken the ability for either magical arms or armor and shield; To use a weapon +2 at its proper potency, a character would need to take the ability for weapons twice, for example.


Items like rings of protection do not exist in their usual form, instead being command-word items that duplicate spells, with several suggestions provided.


Finally, there are ability-enhancements, better casting, resistances, skills, toughness, feats, AC and the like -a relatively diverse selection of benefits


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.


Jason nelson's inherent advancement mythic mini ends the series with a massive bang; I absolutely love this little pdf; my only gripe with it being that I'd REALLY love a full book that codifies the magic items this eliminates in more detailed manner - a massive inherent advancement book, with class-specific inherent advancement paths and unique benefits. This has HUGE potential and on the one page allotted, the basics are covered for a system that almost begs to be expanded upon. Capturing me like few books in the series have, this gets full 5 stars + seal of approval...and my ardent hope that the rules will be significantly expanded upon in the future - so we may put boring items and Christmas-tree-characters studded with lame magic items to rest for once and for all.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 80: Inherent Advancement
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 79: Uncommon Racial Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/16/2015 03:47:25

An Endzeitgeist.com review


All right, you know the deal - 4 pages - 1 page front cover, 1.75 pages of SRD, 1.25 pages content, let's go!


-Agile Tongue: Pick up objects weighing up to 10 lbs and execute trips with your tongue; also numerical escalation for steal and disarm. Cool!


-Draconic Aspect: Gain resistance 10 according to your scale's color; use mythic power for temporary immunity; cool synergy with dragon-scaled racial trait with alternate benefits. Two thumbs up!


-Draconic Breath: +4 saves vs. sleep/paralysis; 1/day breath weapon, +1/day per mythic tier; breath weapon depends on color of scales, with only chromatics covered as per the base feat. Has special synergy for draconic/kobold-blooded kobold sorcerors.


-Draconic Glide: +4 saves vs. sleep/paralysis; extended glide speed, synergy with gliding wings trait, which also allows for mythic power-based true flight (sans maneuverability rating).


-Draconic Paragon: +4 saves vs. sleep/paralysis; Additional breath use, damage output upgrade and synergy with more draconic feats; cool!


-Kobold Ambusher: Decreased penalty when moving fast while Stealth-using; also, better ambush-damage.


-Kobold Sniper: Better chance to stay hidden while sniping; also increases damage and allows you to sow strife between allies, who erroneously believe their allies attacked them. Cool!


-Mother's Gift: Manifestation chosen intensifies in varied, cool ways. Awesome little feat!


There are three more feats on the SRD-page:


-Sea Hunter: Use feat versus creatures with a swim speed or freedom of movement; use mythic power to entangle targets sans requiring a second combat maneuver check.


-Stretched Wings: Increased flight speed plus Wingover via mythic power. Cool!


-Tail Terror: Tail is a primary natural weapon, apply Weapon Focus/Specialization for one kobold tail attachment to all of them; spend mythic power to upgrade the benefits to the Mythic versions of the feats temporarily.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.


Jeff Lee and Jason Nelson's final feat-based mythic mini does provide a diverse array of interesting feats, some of which can even be considered brilliant; that being said, in direct comparison, the pdf does not manage to reach the level of pure excellence, "only" remaining a pdf you can't complain about, a very good buy - hence, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 79: Uncommon Racial Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 78: Catfolk, Ratfolk, and Dhampir Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/15/2015 03:06:18

An Endzietgeist.com review


All right, you know the deal - 4 pages - 1 page front cover, 1.75 pages SRD, 1.25 pages content, let's go!


-Black Cat: Use as a free action instead of an immediate action; Non-mythic attackers receive severe penalties and spend mythic surges to enhance the penalty; use more often via mythic power. Cool upgrade!


-Blood Drinker: +tier temporary hit points; optionally forego benefits for a lesser restoration. Fits. Like it.


-Blood Feaster: Gain listed benefits when draining 2+ points of Con, duration + tier.


-Blood Salvage: Use Blood Drinker on recently deceased corpse.


-Burrowing teeth: Gain burrow speed equal to base speed; leave a tunnel behind when burrowing at half speed; use mythic power to burrow through stone.


-Catfolk Exemplar: Change exemplar ability via mythic power; the more mythic power, the faster. Awesome!


-Claw Pounce: Add secondary rake attack to charge; mythic power for two rakes as secondary or one as primary natural weapon.


-Diverse Palate: Choose additional subtypes that scale with tiers.


-Feline Grace: Numerical escalation to +4; use mythic power as an immediate action to force rerolls of CMB-checks in the relevant maneuvers against you.


-Natural Charmer: Use mythic power to use feat as a standard action; CL versus humanoids by +1 and expend mythic surge to increase save DCs by half surge die, min 1.


-Nimble Striker: +10 ft when charging, running or withdrawing and you're not denied Dex when running or using Acrobatics to balance on narrow/slippery etc. surfaces. You also get +2 to AC versus AoO provoked by your movement when charging/Cleave/Lunge.


Two more feats are on the SRD-page:


-Sharpclaw: Adds rend; For mythic power, you get bleed added to claws, stacking with itself. Neat!


-Tunnel Rat: Count as two sizes smaller for squeezing etc. and can use swarming to share the square of small creatures or allies, even if that ally is not a ratfolk. Allies don't take penalties when you're in their square. Awesome!


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.


Jeff Lee and Jason Nelson deliver a broad selection of mythic feats here that universally belong in the upper echelon; from conservative and none too awesome ones to truly unique benefits, the feats run the gamut from solid to awesome, with a few in either direction. Barring any serious complaints, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 78: Catfolk, Ratfolk, and Dhampir Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 77: Underdark Racial Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/11/2015 04:12:09

An Endzeitgeist.com review


All right, you know the deal - 3 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, let's go!


-Drow Nobility: Numerical escalation and additional uses via mythic power- standard.


-Giant Steps: Add tier times 5 ft to the increase in base speed...which may be a bit much.


-Improved Drow Nobility: Choose 1/2 tier racial SPs and use mythic versions of them via mythic power; also learn those as mythic spells, if you can cast them.


-Greater Drow Nobility: 3/day use mythic SP sans paying mythic power and sans augments.


-Lingering Invisibility: Longer concealment after invisibility; while it's maintained, use mythic power allowing for reactivation of previously unused invisibility.


-Nobel Spell Resistance: Numerical escalation of social bonuses and SR.


-Shadow Caster: Numerical escalation for shadow-subschool spells and DCs to dispel them; + full tier level for mythic power; higher CL for purposes of checking for darkness-suppression. "Darkness" should probably be italicized - it looks like it specifically refers to the spell.


-Spider Step: Freedom of movement through webs and climb on them at climb speed; power spider climb uses via mythic power.


-Spider Summoner: Spiders summoned are mythic and gain DR/epic equal to tier and icnrease poison saves. Spend mythic power to add the savage mythic template. Nice one!


-Stoic Pose: Use it sans spending 5 rounds finding a suitable location while in rocky/underground terrain; at higher tiers, you also gain mythic power based spell-duplications as supernatural effects. Nice one!


-Umbral Scion: Select SPs from a brief list; additional uses via mythic power.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.


Jeff Lee, Jonathan H. Keith and Jason Nelson's underdark racial feats are pretty nice, though they do not reach the creativity and diversity of e.g. the installment on orcs, probably also due to the base feats in question - hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4 stars for a good, in not exceptional, mythic mini.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 77: Underdark Racial Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Paladins
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/08/2015 04:55:38

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The first of Legendary Games' class-support-centric entries in the Ultimate Plug-ins series clocks in at 42 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 2 pages of editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction, 1 page SRD, 4 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 28 pages of raw content, so let's take a look!


We begin this pdf, surprisingly, not with feats or the like - instead, we get alternate class features for the paladin: Repel Evil, a replacement of smite evil, allows you to protect nearby allies by granting immediate action-activated Cha-mod to AC and saves to both pala and ally, decreasing damage taken from such foes by the pala's class level. +1/use per day every 3 levels beyond the first. Brilliant ability to represent a mechanically valid bodyguard/protector of the innocent knight - kudos!


For more offensively-minded paladins, there would also be a rather intriguing class feature: Scourges. Not merely a mirror like the antipaladin's cruelties, these constitute offensive replacements of the mercies the paladin usually receives, including providing temporary boosts to weapons, protecting allies in combat and the like. All in all, this option provides a more than well-crafted alternative to mercies that significantly enhances the appeal and versatility of the paladin class for me - and yes, the wording and balance of the abilities is sound enough for me not to waste any more breath beyond "Excellent!" on the option.


As, historically, the archetypical embodiment of Christianity's virtues it should also come as no surprise that the class options provided cover ecclesiastical vows: Basically, instead of tying monk vows to ki, we instead have an association, we have the abilities tied to lay on hands uses, with modified (thankfully) vows of poverty austerity and charity as samples. Again, this is a thematically-fitting addition to the subject matter at hand.


The pdf then goes on to introduce the 10-level Paraclete PrC, which gets d10, 2+Int skills per level, full BAB-progression, a limited array of paladin spells and 1/2 Fort-save progression. The Paraclete is intended to be open to non-paladins as well and can be best envisioned as a defensive martial character that gains some paladin-like abilities. The intriguing thing here, beyond the PrCs obvious feasibility, being that the class manages to properly depict a defensive fighter, something PFRPG is not particularly adept at - from significantly increased, scaling AoOs to better attack-interception (including retributive attacks) to delayed negative condition onset, a celestial familiar to the impressive capstone (which nets multiple immediate actions for purposes of In Harm's Way), the PrC is well-crafted and sports a code AND notes on paladin-interaction - kudos for this well-crafted PrC!


Now obviously, such a book in Pathfinder does need archetypes and indeed, there are more than a few within these pages, the first of which would be the Bloodrager Angel of Wrath. Yes, there are non-paladin archetypes herein, with the angel of wrath gaining Cha-mod to saves, but only versus evil creatures and spells/effects. Conversely, the archetype receives auras while raging that scale with your level. The class also gets smite evil at -4 levels, fueled by bloodrager rage rounds. All in all, a solid blend of paladin and bloodrager. The second non-pala-class herein that gets an archetype would be the Magus, who can now opt to become a Spell Saint, who retains the magus-spell-list, but adds healing and some stars from the paladin's (and cleric's) spell-list to the fray: While I am usually not a fan of other classes getting e.g. bless weapon or holy sword, but at least the latter is moved to 5th level. Still, the spells gained are VERY potent. The Spell Saint also receives lay on hands and mercies (at level -2) as arcana - and here, I'm a bit weary. You see, the two levels alone are nothing bad, neither are the spells and the presentation and interaction of lay on hands and the like is impressive; at the same time, the spell saint does not pay for any of these bonuses; there is no drawback to this archetype, nothing exchanged. Sure, the pala-tricks are predicated on the same resource as the regular magus tricks, but it is my firm conviction that the magus should pay for the potent pala-spells gained; particularly bless weapon and a high-crit magus build are nightmare-fuel. I consider this archetype relatively OP due to the lack of trade-off.


Obviously, most archetypes herein are about the paladin, the first of which would be the Auroran, who has light-based spells added to his spell-list, gets scaling SR instead of divine grace, may read the night sky for omen and portents as well as a scaling incorporeal form of light instead of aura of righteousness. Solid archetype. The Celestial Centurion is more interesting - instead of smite evil, he can grant allies scaling bonuses (based on level, capping at Cha-mod) and even change the bonuses granted on the fly and yes, granting teamwork feats is part of the deal, with higher levels allowing for either extended range or multiple mantles in effect. Sharing the (weaker version - nice balancing there) celestial bond, rallying troops and the banner ability complement a well-crafted archetype that may conjure forth the forces of heaven at high levels - a great commander archetype. On the more down-to-earth side of things, the Cottager would be the humble, unpretentious philanthropist. Not only can he create an aura of sanctuary/shield of faith, he also receives the option to making a healing stew that takes a bit, but heals more...and nourishes the targets. Reinforcing structures and mass lay on hands at high levels make these guys suitable for grittier games as well - kudos!


Balancing is also solid here, with channel energy being lost. One nitpick: The pdf does not specify whether the stew can be combined with mercies or not. I assume so, since it is an extension of the lay on hands ability, but clarification would still be appreciated.


The Dragon Knight is not something that particularly excites me personally - basically, you are only half as effective when smiting/lay on hands on non-dragons and replace divine health and mercies with scaling energy resistance. Beyond that, channel energy is given up for a kind of breath weapon powered by lay on hands. At mid to higher levels, the archetype gets a draconic companion and becomes exceedingly lethal while riding said beast. I'm not sold on the concept and am not too blown away by the abilities - mechanically solid, but by the numbers. Also: The archetype suffers from the nemesis-syndrome: Classes geared too much towards a creature type end up either very strong in a campaign or pretty weak, depending on the frequency of, this time, dragons.


The Heavenly Hunter once again is intriguing: The archetype can track teleports from the get-go and counter attempts to escape his wrath via magic: A very function-centric archetype, but one I enjoy - particularly in campaigns with a relatively high amount of magic, this one is awesome...oh and 11th level grants allies the ability to smite evil outsiders when the hunter expends a smite evil for this purpose...ouch!


The Holy Questioner replaces smite evil with judgments and can offensively channel energy against foes of her faith. Additionally, high levels allow for melee rerolls instead of aura of faith - nice inquisitor/paladin combo-archetype. The Verdant Knight receives modified mercy-lists/progressions, favored terrain (instead of divine health) and, at 5th level, a jungle-appropriate mount: Water buffalo, lion or styracosaurus and, as a capstone Fire resistance 20 and constant endure elements. Yes, this one is concept-wise awesome, though I wished it did slightly more with its cool premise - the abilities themselves are simply less compelling than the cool concept deserves. The final archetype would be the winter knight, who also gets favored terrain - but, more importantly, he gets blazing strike, which is a fire-themed smite-like enhancer that ignores all immunity and resistance, while also shielding against the cold. On the nipicky side, the mount-section has a problematic candidate: The winter wolf. Not only is it arguably better than the other mount options, winter wolves are intelligent...and EVIL. The capstone is a mirror of the verdant knight's one.


Beyond these archetypes, we are introduced to new spells next, with angelic steeds, teamwork feat sharing with divine bond granted companions (and a somewhat confused rules language here: "When you call your bonded creature with your divine class feature, you can cast this spell and select any one teamwork feat for which you qualify." - that should be "divine bond class feature", right?)and options to save allies at the cost of your own HP, the section is generally nice. Now personally, I dislike a spell that renders a weapon cold iron - I get the intent, but since the vulnerability towards iron stems from the anti-magic-superstition associated with it, I do cringe a bit there - though that's just me and will not feature in the final verdict. I do like the option to deal more damage at the cost of half damage to yourself. Flavor-wise, I think that causing foes to attack their allies via Sinful Suspicion should only be an inquisitor spell - while the chances are lower that non-evil characters become collateral damage to this spell's effects, it remains a possibility, which renders the spell, fluff-wise, better at home with only the inquisitor and not the paladin. Again, this is a personal opinion and will not influence the rating. Tireless Vigil, though, can be rather problematic - while tying the creature benefitting from it to a spot, its immunity to fatigue and sleep seems too much for a first level spell, even though the target becomes exhausted after the 8-hour duration. On the other side, this spell allows for some rather awesome visuals...so yeah...it gets a pass. Overall, a solid section.


The pdf closes with new paladin magic items, spanning the values 4,400 GP to 114,375 GP - and they generally are interesting: The armor of life e.g. can be infused via channel energy to offer retributive damage versus undead foolish enough to attack the wearer. The Shield of Intercession allows paladins to protect allies. I also particularly enjoyed the non-sword "holy X" items that range from warhammers to lances and adheres to enchantments similarly iconic as the holy avenger - kudos here for weapon diversification: E.g. the holy dragonslayer-lance and its exceedingly high resistance versus draconic attempts to destroy it can be considered a neat representation of the concept! Manalces that silence the wearers also should be considered interesting, particularly when escorting that nasty demonologist to his due judgment... The saddle of shared smiting, though, may be a bit too much: Beyond making natural weapons of the mount good, sharing smite with the mount can be exceedingly devastating, particularly with mounts that sport enough natural attacks.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, i noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a two-column full-color standard with some nice artworks, though fans of Legendary Games may be familiar with some of them. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Legendary Paladins is a good book. budoom-dish Yeah, I know, that one was bad. Sorry, I'll put on those muting manacles later. ;) Kidding aside, I was positively surprised by quite a few of the pieces of content in Jason Nelson adn Amber Scott's book - particularly most of the magic items and, surprisingly, the alternate class options and the PrC definitely are highlights for this book and justify its asking price. Now personally, I wasn't that blown away by most archetypes herein, but, again, the minor problems some have are offset by the e.g. the great Celestial Centurion archetype. Rules-language is generally VERY precise, as we've come to expect from legendary Games, and manages to convey complex concepts in a concise manner, though there are slightly more minor hiccups here than in most of LG's offerings. All in all, this book remains a good buy, with some brilliant pieces that shine, like the paladins that take them, brighter than some of its other components. As such, my final verdict will clock in at 4 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Paladins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Beasts of Legend: Coldwood Codex (5E)
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2015 17:21:40

Disclosure: I received a review copy of this product.


The Coldwood Codex for 5th edition is an excellent addition of monsters, not only for bringing up the number of available Fey and Undead, but also for being inventive, covering a spectrum of challenge ratings, and presenting everything through amazing illustrations.


The monsters in the codex are truly creative, either drawing from lore and myth that have not been explored before, or inventing new concepts that are similarly innovative.


From undead druids to dark fey lords, this book does a great job of presenting monsters that feel like monsters; evil and motivated to get in the way of your players. They also benefit from a well developed grasp of the 5th edition system, making full use of the intricate monster creation rules while also presenting unique and interesting abilities that help them stand out even more.


Ultimately, I would give this product 5 stars and my stamp of approval. You would be hard pressed not to want to include these monsters in your game, and even a slight reskinning could result in some memorable encounters over a wide range of challenge ratings. If this is the caliber of monster design for Legendary Games, I can only anticipate with eager wonder a more thorough bestiary down the line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts of Legend: Coldwood Codex (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 76: Far Eastern Racial Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/04/2015 03:45:11

An Endzeitgeist.com review


All right, you know the deal - 4 pages - 1 page front cover, 1.5 page SRD, 1.5 page content, let's go!


-Blood Beak: Numerical escalation,. bleed on crits and negative conditions on crits. Solid.


-Carrion Feeder: Numerical escalation + mythic power-based rerolls with tier-bonus.


-Life's Blood: Creature gains twice damage you take in hp; additionally, a creature subject to it can gain fast healing if you spend mythic power. The original feat is problematic and so is, by extension, this one.


-Long-Nose Form: Skill-bonuses in long-nose form and spend mythic power for temporary scent-based blindsense.


-Magical tail: Sp-use increase; also spend more uses PLUS mythic power for more powerful effects. Very cool, though the feats grants too early access to some very powerful SPs.


-Realistic Likeness: Numerical escalation and mythic power-based misdirection - pretty cool!


-Scavenger's Eye: Numerical escalation; move action to determine the most valuable item; mythic power-based reroll. Pretty weak.


-Shadowy Dash: Full-speed Stealth (even running) while in dim light or below, even while being observed. Also, use mythic power to trail shadows. Absolutely awesome!


-Sleep Venom: Numerical escalation and additional uses.


There is more on the first SRD-page:


-Spit Venom: Numerical escalation regarding uses per day and faster spitting of poison; if you spit as a full-round action, greatly extend reach based on tier; pay mythic power to AoE-spit - awesome!


-Tengu Raven Form: Better variety via the base feat; switching sizes fluently and additional uses per day via mythic power. Neat!


-Tengu Wings: Fly speed expands and duration as well; Extend this duration at the cost of 1/2 movement. Cool!


-Tree Hanger: Better climbing and no denied Dex-bonus; the bigger the action used, the better your bonus, with mythic power supplementing this.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.


Jeff Lee and Jason Nelson deliver an intriguing mythic mini, which, while not always perfect, does sport some truly inspired mythic feats. Furthermore, the issues I see here are predicated mostly on the base feats (apart from the kitsune's imho a tad bit too strong improved SPs) - but I can't blame the pdf for that. Hence, this one "only" gets a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded still up to 5, though - a great little pdf.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 76: Far Eastern Racial Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 75: Orc Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/03/2015 04:00:21

An Endzeitgeist.com review


All right, you know the deal - 3 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, let's go!


-Born Alone: Gain 2x Con-bonus temporary hit points for tier rounds when killing a foe. Anti-kitten caveat makes me a happy reviewer. :)


-Bullying Blow: +tier to Intimidate; add mythic power for worse fear-conditions and a kind of intimidate-cleave. Solid.


-Ferocious Action: Roll to stabilize when dealing damage in melee AND gain 1/2 tier hp when you hit, to a maximum of 1 hp. Nice one!


-Foment the Blood: Numerical escalation and AoE orc-heal via mythic power.


-Grudge Fighter: Numerical escalation.


-Orc Weapon Expertise: Benefits with orc weapons increase, depending on benefits chosen; cool one that feature both numerical escalation and new mythic power-based tactical options, for disruptor e.g. using mythic power to add to your AoOs versus spells/SPs. Really neat one!


-Resolute Rager: Use the feat versus any emotion-based effects, but gain bonuses and may expend mythic power to resist fear.


-Reverse-feint: Swift action activation and counterattack via free action, but you may use move/immediate actions for bonuses. Cool!


-Trap Wrecker: Use this feat instead of a melee attack; when used as a standard action, you get numerical escalation; for mythic power, you can wreck magical traps.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.


Jeff Lee, Jonathan H. Keith and Jason Nelson's Orc feats are inspired, diverse, sport unique benefits and can be considered an all-out well-crafted installment of the series - well worth 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 75: Orc Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 74: Half-Orc Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/03/2015 03:57:40

An Endzeitgeist.com review


All right, you know the deal - 3 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, let's go!


-Beats Rider: Monstrous animal companion gains mythic rank, +1 once you reach tier 10.


-Blood Vengeance: Increased crit range + bleed damage versus target of Blood Vengeance, including stacking bleed damage on crits; also allows for move action Intimidate, potentially supplemented by tier.


-Destroyer's Blessing: Regain only one round of rage per round, but heal damage when breaking objects or mitigate exhaustion/negate fatigue/heal ability damage.


-Ferocious Resolve: +tier to negative HP threshold; use mythic power to negate staggered condition while below 0 Hp and also gain Intimidate bonus.


-Ferocious Summons: Summoned creatures get the blood rage universal monster ability.


-Ferocious Tenacity: Use feat more than once per day, with rounds of rage expenditure decreasing damage. This one is pretty awesome!


-Gore Fiend: Increase moral benefits when criting in melee or being crited while in rage, stacking. up to a maximum of your normal morale bonus.


-Horde Charge: Numerical Escalation + Charge Through added and better AC when charging.


-Surprise Follow-Through: When hitting more than one creature via Cleave/Great Cleave, render one creature flat-footed.


-Improved Surprise Follow-Through: When using Great Cleave, all foes you hit are treated as flat-footed until hit/your next turn. This one is very powerful...but also damn cool.


-Resilient Brute: Use the feat whenever you take damage, not only in response to crits and use it additional times, powered via mythic power. Non-mythic creatures only deal 75% damage against you as nonlethal when using this feat.


-Sympathetic Rage: Maintain rage while close to an ally raging and use mythic power to retain rage while switching from eligible ally to eligible ally - situational, but very powerful.


There is more to be found on the SRD-page:


-Tenacious Survivor: Higher Threshold before dying and use mythic power to prevent gaining negative levels with a means to be saved even when killed. Awesome one!


-Thrill of the Kill: Regain rounds of rage and also gain free mythic surges, but both must be spend before one round has elapsed, avoiding balance-issues here. Additionally, mythic foes defeated allow for (very) limited mythic power regains.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.


Jason Nelson and Jeff Lee provide a nice array of half-orc feats herein that run the gamut from okay to being awesome - particularly the defensive feats contained herein are pretty much awesome and should prove useful indeed in mythic games. All in all, a nice pdf that deserves a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 74: Half-Orc Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 73: Gnome and Halfling Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/02/2015 04:30:47

An Endzeitgeist.com review


All right, you know the deal - 3 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, let's go!


-Adaptive Fortune: Numeric escalation in both uses per day and potency; additionally, use mythic power to treat a roll as a natural 20...not a big fan of the latter.


-Blundering Defense: +1/2 dodge bonus as luck bonus when fighting defensively; scaling affect on allies as well. The latter is at the same time nasty and cool.


-Casual Illusionist: +3/+6 (at 10th level) bonus to Bluff/disguise/Sleight of Hand and concentration for illusion spells while retaining racial SPs. Okay.


-Cautious Fighter: +4 when fighting defensively/using total defense (why no better total defense?) plus use mythic power to combine withdraw with an attack - interesting one, in spite of minor gripe on my side.


-Courageous Resolve: Decrease severity of common fear-based effects (not including cowering); expend mythic power to reroll saves versus spells and effects that do not result in the common fear-based conditions - neat potential life-saver.


-Desperate Swing: Adds a 5-foot-step to the feat and sans taking the move, allows you to vital strike, Deadly Stroke and similarly hassle the foe or ignore the -4 penalty. (Which sports a box instead of the minus in a minor formatting glitch); additional uses via mythic power render this a good, tactically versatile option that validates a couple of builds.


-Expanded Resistance: +2 schools and numerical escalation for racial bonus as well as twice surge die rolls with saves versus the schools - powerful and interesting.


-Fortunate One: +1/2 tier uses of adaptable luck; also expend a use of adaptable luck to maximize surge die; cool mechanic.


-Gnome Weapon Focus: +1 atk with "gnome" weapons; also gain +1/2 tier to atk for 1 mythic power, including Experimental Gunsmith weapons - which is damn cool.


-Great Hatred: Numerical escalation and apply bonus versus charm and fear effects; use mythic power to reroll save versus the like. Okay, I guess.


-Improved Low Blow: Better bonus on crit confirmation if the target's larger than you; use mythic power to reroll such rolls more than once per day. Okay one.


-Lucky Healer: Spend adaptive luck to roll twice when healing and take the better result for all healing effects for 1/2 tier rounds; additionally, use mythic power to reroll CL-checks required by some conjuration (healing)-spells. Brilliant feat for the healers and mechanically interesting - two thumbs up!


This is not where we stop, though - there is much more on the SRD-page:


-Lucky Strike: Adaptive luck spend to reroll damage twice and take the better result; use mythic power for maximized output. (And yes, weapon damage does not include skrimishing or sneak attack, just so you know...)


-Risky Striker: Numerical escalation and use mythic power to ignore the penalty for tier rounds.


-Sure and Fleet: +4 Acrobatics and Climb and full movement when using Acrobatics through narrow, slippery etc. terrain; use mythic power to prevent the loss of Dex when climbing or using Acrobatics for 1 minute. Per se cool, but I'd have loved to see the duration scale.


-Surprise Strike: Deny the target Dex-mod versus your attack. Use it additional times per day via mythic power. Personally, I would have loved a more complex interaction with uncanny dodge et al. here, but that may just be me.


-Uncanny Defense: Add dodge bonus for fighting defensively/total defense to CMD and Ref-saves - two thumbs up here: We need better defense options.


-Vast Hatred: Select 3 creature types and increase hatred bonuses by 1.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.


Jason Nelson, Jeff Lee, Jonathan H. Keith - gentlemen, you have crafted a surprisingly cool little supplement for the small races here. The emphasis on luck and defense in particular makes the two races feel much more hardy than what one would expect and while not all of the feats herein are winners, there are some pretty awesome options herein - hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4 by a margin.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 73: Gnome and Halfling Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 211 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG