RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mythic Minis 86: Feats of Psychic Magic
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2016 09:04:18

An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the deal by now, right? 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD/editorial, 1 page content, so let's go!

-Fearsome Spell: Add + tier to the number of rounds affected creatures are shaken on a failed save. Non-mythic adversaries are shaken for 1 round on a successful save, frightened for one round and then shaken on a successful save. Question: Is the round of being frightened on a failed save part of the modified duration of the shaken condition? Clarification would be nice here.

-Furious Spell: Add +3 times the spell's level to the damage inflicted as well as +1/2 mythic tier to concentration to cast such a spell while raging. Creatures failing their save take a -2 penalty to saves versus [emotion] spells (excluding fear) for spell-level rounds. The penalty increases to -4 when the spell deals with anger, hatred or compelling creatures to attack others.

-Hidden Presence: + mythic tier to saves versus non-mythic spells this feat protects against. Here, we have a strange wording hiccup: "This penalty is reduced to one-half your mythic tier (min 1) against mythic spells of those types." That's supposed to be "bonus", I think. When using the surge die for such a save, you may also roll the surge die twice, taking the better result.

-Intrusive Presence: When using detect thoughts on the host, you become fluent in 1/2 mythic tier, up to Int-mod languages. You also add 1/2 mythic tier to the times you can use seek thoughts. You may expend two uses of seek thoughts to instead use dream scan, mind probe or sow thought, though these retain their saves. Very cool!

-Intuitive Spell: You may cast personal-range intuitive spells even while dazed, fascinated, stunned or subject to a mind-affecting effect, as a full-round action. You may use one mythic power to cast a spell as intuitive sans preparing it in advance, increasing casting time or spell slot/level.

-Logical Spell: Allows you to target a creature with a logical spell sans line of sight, provided you know the square it's in. Competence and insight bonuses to AC and saves are ignored by the logical spell. For one mythic power, you may prepare a logical spell sans preparing it in advance, increasing casting time or spell slot/level.

-Manipulative Presence: Alter or erase up to 10 minutes per tier of the target's memories; alternatively, 1 minute per tier, with the target being forced to save twice and take the worse result. This double roll only affects the memory alteration. If you possess a non-mythic creature with HD less than your tier, its memory of you possessing it is erased even on a successful save. This can let you weave very intricate plots indeed. Like it!

-Scarring Presence: Apply the feat to any mind-affecting spell; when used in conjunction with [fear] or [emotion]-spells, the penalties are doubled. If the [fear/emotion]-spell's mythic, the target takes a penalty to saves and thereafter suffers a penalty of -1 versus such spells for mythic tier minutes.

-Traumatic Spell: Apply the feat to any mind-affecting spell; when used in conjunction with [fear] or [emotion]-spells, the target must continue to save until it successfully saves on 2 consecutive nights and the save DC only decreases by 1 per night. If the feat is applied to a mythic emotion or fear spell, creatures failing the save are affected by mythic nightmare and non-mythic creatures must save on 3 consecutive nights to get rid of the effect.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, though not as good as in most installments of the series. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' two column full-color standard and it features the artwork on the cover; that's it - the one page content is solely devoted to crunch. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

Jason Nelson's Feats of Psychic Magic generally are well-crafted, evocative and offer some neat upgrades. At the same time, there are a couple of minor wording hiccups, one of which is rules-relevant. In spite of that, I still consider this a worthwhile purchase, if perhaps not as amazing as in some other mythic minis. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 86: Feats of Psychic Magic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 85: Medium, Psychic, and Spiritualist Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2016 09:01:20

An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the deal by now, right? 4 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD/editorial (contains one feat), 1page blank (slightly odd), 1 page content - so let's go!

-Disciplinary Devotee: Increase feat bonus to +2; expend mythic power to increase the bonus by 1/3 tier and "increase the save DC for spells you cast from your discipline for 1 minute." - By how much? The additional amount (i.e. 1/3rd mythic tier)? This one's wording could be slightly more precise.

-Distant Delivery: +5 ft. times mythic tier touch spell delivery for the phantom.

-Emotional Conduit: Spells gained by the feat take effect at +1 CL and increase their save DC by 1. Beneficial spells cast on the phantom are extended and the spells gained can be cast as mythic spells.

-Expanded Phrenic Pool: +2 pool points. You may also exchange mythic power for phrenic pool points on a 1:1-basis.

-Extra Amplification: +1 phrenic amplification every time you take the non-mythic version. Alternatively, exchange both amplifications for a major amplification for which you qualify.

-Focused Phantom: Increase concentration bonus granted by the phantom by +1/2 mythic tier. When adjacent to the phantom and failing a concentration check, you may reroll for the cost of expending mythic power, adding + surge die as a bonus. After such a reroll, the phantom merges with your consciousness, though.

-Phantom Fighter: Phantom gains its Cha-mod as deflection bonus to AC and as a bonus to atk versus incorporeal creatures. When the phantom is attacked by an incorporeal adversary, you may expend mythic power as an immediate action to grant it a dodge bonus to AC equal to surge die, lasting until the end of the next turn and applying only against incorporeal creatures. Touch spells delivered by the phantom versus incorporeal creatures take full effect and it also may score crits versus incorporeal and amorphous foes. Nice power-upgrade.

-Phantom Fortification: +5% per mythic tier chance of ignoring crits and precision damage in ectoplasmic form; if the phantom is adjacent to you, you may expend mythic power to decrease a critical hit versus the phantom down to a regular hit.

-Shared Soul: Bonus increases to +4 and you may shed mythic tier negative levels. before the stress suppresses your phantom. You also may expend one use of mythic power to shunt a death, possession or negative level effect to the phantom when it's within 30 feet. Absorbing a death/possession merges the phantom with the spiritualist's consciousness.

-Spiritualist's Call: Grant the phantom +2 t Str, Dex and Cha for 1 minute per tier when summoning it. Alternatively, only grant +2 to one of them, but have the benefit last 10 minutes per tier.

-Vigilant Phantom: Add +1/2 mythic tier to the Perception bonus granted; additionally, when you or the phantom are flanked, you may expend one use of mythic power as an immediate action to grant yourself and the phantom all-around vision for 1 minute, but you may only do this when adjacent to the phantom.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant hiccups. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' two column full-color standard and it features the artwork on the cover; that's it - the one page content is solely devoted to crunch. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

Jason Nelson's array of feats for the medium, psychic and spiritualist are well-crafted, no doubt, My favorite design decision herein, hands down, is that several of the feats reward the spiritualist keeping the phantom close, as opposed to sending it forth. The decision to do that can modify the actual playing experience in interesting ways and makes particularly the spiritualist more intriguing. At the same time, the mythic feats herein often provide pretty straight enhancements when compared to e.g. the installment covering occultist and kineticist, making it less complex in its ramifications. Hence, I will settle on a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4 for the purpose of this platform, with one caveat: Mythic spiritualist may assuredly need this little pdf!

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 85: Medium, Psychic, and Spiritualist Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 84: Kineticist and Occultist Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/08/2016 02:50:21

An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the deal by now, right? 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD/editorial, 1 page content ...though it should be noted that 2 feats can be found on the SRD-page. Got that? All right, let's go!

-Delay Blast: When delaying a blast from 1 to 5 rounds, you can trigger it as a swift action; if you instead trigger it as a standard action, you may instead alter previously made choices, like target positions, infusions and shaping the area; you may also select your current position as point of origin. You also add tier to the blast's dispel DC. For mythic power, you may delay the blast for up to tier hours. AMAZING one; very powerful, very flexible. Two thumbs up.

-Efficient Focus Shift: +1/2 mythic tier daily uses, +1 use per non-mythic iteration of the feat beyond the first. Also gain +1/2 tier as bonus to concentration after shifting focus. Nice one that rewards more flexible playstyle.

-Extend Resonant Power: You may extend the benefit of resonant power as though you had invested half as many points of mental focus in the implement to up to 1/2 tier allies. Alternatively, an ally within 30 ft. and you can gain the full benefits. You do not have to expend mental focus from the implement to pass the effect to a new target. Creative and cool.

-Extra Focus Power: Gain +1 focus power, even if it's not from your implement school, though you need to have the implement and you still have to qualify; alternatively, choose two from your implement school. Neat flexibility for a pretty vanilla base feat's upgrade!

-Extra Wild Talent: +1 wild talent whenever you take the non-mythic iteration; alternatively, you can elect to only gain a single wild talent that can be up to 1 level lower than the highest level one you have and the talent may be a simple blast or defense talent. Neat, though a lot of defense talents can be pretty strong in the hands of a proper player.

-Implement Focus: Choose two implement schools when taking the non-mythic version. Alternatively, choose one, but when wearing or wielding the implement, you gain +2 to CL and concentration when casting spells from the school whose spell level is lesser than the mental focus placed in the implement.

-Interweave Composite Blast: Immediate action option to interweave into the blast of an ally within 15 ft.; no readying required. Range may be increased to 30 ft. or allow the feat to work with an ally who only has the non-mythic version within 15 ft. The feat also lets you determine the point of origin of the blast at any point on a straight line between you and the ally. Pretty amazing one, whose rules-language I'll use to upgrade the base feat.

-Kinetic Counter: use mythic power to use the feat as an immediate action; when readying, you instead gain +mythic tier to CL to counter the energy effect. Neat!

-Kinetic Leap: Use at will whenever you run, charge or withdraw; you also gain + tier daily uses. Also, when you expend mythic power, increase the bonus by +10 times your tier. Very cool stunts possible with this one.

-Parting Blast: When using the feat, you don't gain burn and you may elect for your body to not be destroyed. If you accept 1 point of burn and expend mythic power, you may increase the radius to 5 times tier and ignore non-mythic creature's DR, resistances and immunities. For accepting 2 points of burn and an equal amount of mythic power, you may add one or more infusions to the Parting Blast, though total burn cost may not exceed your tier. The infusions added do not require paying burn cost. Blaze of Glory indeed! Devastating and cool.

-Rapid Focus Shift: +1/2 tier uses, +1 per non-mythic iteration of the feat. You gain +tier as a bonus to concentration when taking damage during the transfer. For the expenditure of one point of mental focus from an implement, you may use the feat as a swift or move action instead. Neat!

-Strong Implement Link: Affects all implements of an implement school; add + mythic tier to concentration checks to cast spells from the school, even if they are further than 30 ft. away. 1/day expend mythic power to treat an implement you handled within 24 hours for 1 minute as though had selected this feat for the implement.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant hiccups. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' two column full-color standard and it features the artwork on the cover; that's it - the one page content is solely devoted to crunch. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

Jason Nelson tackles two of the more complex and hard-to-design-for classes that came out of Occult Adventures with these mythic feat-upgrades and while certain design-paradigms are used in some feats that are similar to one another, he went the extra mile to actually modify them and make them stand out. This flexibility is what elevates a book that is, craftsmanship-wise, exceedingly precise, to the level that makes it excellent. 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 84: Kineticist and Occultist Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 83: Mesmerist Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/08/2016 02:46:50

An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the deal by now, right? 4 pages, 1 page front cover, ~1.5 page SRD/editorial, leaving us with 1.5 page content - so let's go!

-Bleeding Stare: Add +1/2 mythic tier to bleed inflicted; makes it harder to resist/cure the bleed. Solid.

-Compounded Pain: Lets you switch stares if a target resists one via save, immunity, etc. Cool!

-Demoralizing Stare: Suppresses morale bonuses of those affected; additionally imposes the shaken condition; via mythic use expenditure, you may bypass fear immunity or bonuses. Nice.

-Excoriating Stare: Sickens target; if it has less HD than you, it is sickened even on a successful save. Cool: When an ally crits a creature, you may use the stare upon the target, even if you have already used painful stare before. A creature can only be affected by this once per round, avoiding stunlocking via crit-fishing.

-Extended Stare: Range increases by 20 ft instead; for one use of mythic power, you can affect a target in line of sight; for 2 mythic power, you can even use it through scrying et al. Nice: The target must be able to see you, so no using of a spyglass or the like while invisible.

-Extra Mesmerist Trick: +1/2 tier mesmerist tricks to be implanted in a given day. Additionally, by expending one additional trick and mythic power, you do not end the effect of previous mesmerist tricks implanted, though you can't maintain more than 2 at once. If you add one in excess, both previously implanted tricks end unless you expend another use of mythic power, in which case only the oldest ends. This one is amazing regarding its options.

-Extra Touch treatment: +1/2 tier daily uses of touch treatment; also, as full-round action, expend two daily uses to touch two allies while delivering the same touch treatment to them. Nice action economy upgrade here.

-Fatiguing Stare: Fatigues target; if it has less HD than you, it is fatigued even on a successful save. For mythic power, you can exhaust the target, to be followed up be fatigue, and affect the creature with a lullaby effect. Kudos for going the extra mile and not just making this a copy of Excoriating Stare!

-Mesmerizing Feint: Decreases the penalty for fainting non-humanoids/animal intelligence creatures and nets a bonus for those with Bluff 10 ranks or more. Okay, I guess.

-Mesmerizing Feint, Greater: Decreases the penalty for feinting the mindless and decreases chance of the critter ignoring your feint. Also nets you a kind of bonus feint when successfulyl feinting a creature targeted by hypnotic stare. Okay one.

-Intense Pain: +mythic tier to determine bonus damage; damage die size increases to d8 when directly employing the stare.

-Intimidating Glance: When sued as a swift action, you add mythic tier to the Intimidate check; ma be used as a free action, but sans bonus and if you fail, the target becomes immune to it for 1 minute.

-Ready for Battle: Ini bonus is upgraded to +4; AC and Ref-bonus of +2 versus attacks made against the target while flat-footed.

-Ready for Pain: DR 2/- nonlethal, +2 per 5 levels; also provides +1 to saves versus exhaustion, fatigue nonlethal and pain effects. Okay one.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant hiccups. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' two column full-color standard and it features the artwork on the cover; that's it - the one page content is solely devoted to crunch. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

Jason Nelson's mythic mesmerist feat upgrades run the gamut from "basically required" to okay - the "Ready for..." feats imho could have used an upgrade and not all feats herein are totally amazing. The craftsmanship is excellent, as we've come to expect, though. In light of an absence of issues, I will settle on a rating of 4.5 stars, though I will round down for this one. There are some excellent upgrades herein, but, as a whole, this feels closer to being "good" than to being amazing.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 83: Mesmerist Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 82: Occult Feats II
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/07/2016 09:14:07

An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the deal by now, right? 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD/editorial, 1 page content - so let's go!

-Psychic Adept: Gain mythic tier knacks with limited uses; one, you may use at-will; this mastered knack can be upgraded to its mythic iteration. Solid.

-Psychic Disciple: Gain a single chosen psychic discipline's 1st level discipline spell as a 2/day SP in addition to the one gained from the base feat. Via mythic power, the chosen spells can be upgraded to their mythic versions and the discipline's spells are considered to e on your spell-list for spell-trigger and spell-completion item purposes.

-Psychic Maestro: +1 occult skill unlock per 2 mythic tiers gain the benefits of the base feat. You may also take 10 and 20 when performing an occult skill unlock learned with this feat. Additionally, 1/day you may expend mythic power to reroll a check made as part of the unlock.

-Psychic Sensitivity: Use occult skill unlocks, regardless of being trained in the skills. Also, roll surge die twice when used in conjunction with one and take the better result. Very cool!

-Psychic Virtuoso: Bonus to skill checks for occult skill unlocks increases by 2. Also allows you to expend mythic power to treat a roll made in conjunction with an occult skill unlock as a natural 20...but you have to decide beforehand. Not the biggest fan here, but the beforehand caveat keeps it in line.

-Shatter Mental Mask: When shattering a foe's mental mask, you receive additional information and may even attempt dispel defenses; if mythic, dispelling requires mythic power expenditure. Additionally, you may even suppress extraordinary or supernatural abilities granting resistance or immunity. Nice one.

-Spirit Sense: + mythic tier to notice haunts and incorporeal creatures as well as to checks made to identify them. Non-damaging corporeal spells also have an increased chance affecting them, based on tier. Neat!

-Spiritual Balance: Increases bonus granted by still mind and adds a tactical dimension by allowing for ki expenditure to either double the bonus granted or extend it to adjacent allies...which actually can be pretty evocative! (Don't let go off my hand! Don't venture off!)

-Third Eye: + mythic tier minutes of daily use; also roll twice, take the better result when the third eye's open. Also use mythic power to negate the fatigue incurred upon closing it.

-Xenoglossy: Communicate with mythic tier creatures at the same time, regardless of shared common language. If used with a single critter, instead increase the duration as well as the bonus to Linguistics by mythic tier.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant hiccups. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' two column full-color standard and it features the artwork on the cover; that's it - the one page content is solely devoted to crunch. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

Jason Nelson's second serving of occult feats, due to the nature of the base feats, had a bit less room to grow; that being said, you won't find bland numerical escalations herein; even in cases where the design goes the route of depth, it does so with the intention of adding options rather than just escalating the math. Craftsmanship-wise, there is nothing to complain about, which is why I will settle on a well-earned 5 star-rating.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 82: Occult Feats II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Minis 81: Occult Feats I
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/07/2016 09:12:47

An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the deal by now, right? 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD/editorial, 1 page content - so let's go!

-Alter Binary Mindscape: This increases the cost of manifestation points your enemies need to pay and also allows you to use manifestation points to get rid of a selection of incurred negative conditions. Nice added flexibility to mindscape combat!

-Chakra Adept: Add +1/2 tier to serpent-fire ki gained from this (or Chakra Master); this one also lets you roll both Fort and Will saves when maintaining chakras sans opening new ones as a swift action and choose the better result, also increasing the number of open chakras for the purpose of determining ability efficiency. Additionally, this improves the action economy of using open chakra abilities to a swift action and puts a chaotic timer on the closing of chakras. This is amazing, as it makes chakras more viable.

-Chakra Initiate: Add +1/2 tier for the purpose of determining which chakras you can open and to the Fort/Will-saves versus serpent-fire. Additionally, you may use mythic power interchangeably with ki for the purpose of opening and maintaining chakras. Also treat all chakra effect as myhic is you use at least one mythic power to open chakras. Nice!

-Chakra Master: You still have to spend one ki to open the root chakra...but thereafter, you can spend 2 ki for two open chakras or 4 ki for 3 in a single round. Oh, and if you fail a save versus serpent-fire, you may reroll it via mythic power. I love how this mythic tree makes the concept actually VIABLE.

-Elongated Cranium: Increase bonus granted to +3 and add 1/2 mythic tier to the number of times you can enhance psychic spells. You may also use this to enhance psychic spells generated by items.

-Empath: Use the read aura occult skill unlock as a swift action; if you instead use a full-round action, you may roll both Perception AND Sense Motive and take the better result. The penalty for multiple uses is also decreased.

-Lucid Dreamer: Add mythic tier to Charisma checks to determine initial condition in a dream and when attempting impossible feats in a dreamscape. Also nets +1/2 tier to CL to control magic in a wild magic area and gets rid of fatigue when dying in a dreamscape. Also cool: When targeted by a fool with a dream-related spell from a brief list, you may expend 2 mythic power to also affect the caster with it...or, if you can cast the spells, one of your choice...sans mythic power expenditure. i love this "drawing into dream"-option here!!

-Psychic Combatant: +1/2 tier to manifestation points per day; outside of psychic duels, the DC gained lasts longer and applies to all mind-affecting spells. While thus affected, you may also spend two manifestation points when failing a save versus a psychic spell to add your surge die as a bonus to the saving throw. Neat!

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant hiccups. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' two column full-color standard and it features the artwork on the cover; that's it - the one page content is solely devoted to crunch. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

Jason Nelson's mythic occult feats do their job exceedingly well - they not only make Chakras much more viable by increasing their potency, they also know when to go into breadth, rather than depth, adding completely new options to the respective feats. Pretty much an all killer, no filler array, well worth 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 81: Occult Feats I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Monsters #37: Robots
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/05/2016 10:11:42

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Legendary Games' critically acclaimed mythic monsters-series clocks in at 32 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages introduction/how to use, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 21 pages of raw content, so let's take a look!

All right, the Technology Guide introduced Cybertech to PFRPG and, fittingly, this installment's introductory bonus content deals with such options; namely, robotic implants, of which a total of 5 are provided. The first of these would be the cyberlink, which attaches to the frontal cortex (occupying the brain slot, implantation 4, if you want to know) and nets the user telepathy witha range of 120 feet, but only for the purpose of "speaking" with roboters, computers, etc. Cool: This also allows you to remotely access computers within the range without requiring input means like keyboards and the like. Additionally, you may 3/day overwrite a robot's programming, adding in a suggestion. Damn cool item that can carry a whole adventure, if need be. Magfeet occupy the leg slot and rank as implantation 2 and allow you to gain +2 to CMD when standing upright on a horizontal metal surface. Much cooler, though: They allow you to go all dead space and walk on walls and even ceilings, provided they're metallic. Yeah, I can see myself using that for some seriously cool encounters.

Also at implantation 2, but associated with the head slot would be the sensory transmitter and featrues basically an antenna, providing a livefeed of visuals and audio information for the wielder at up to 1 mile range. The signal can be picked up with commsets, obviously, and comes with information on how to block it. Cool: Beyond that, the item takes the existence of signal boosters into account - kudos! Subdermal explosives occupy the body slot, feature implantation 6, and makes properly hitting you a nasty proposition for your foe: Whenever you are subject to a non-reach, non-ranged critical hit caused by a piercing or slashing weapon, you inflict 3d6 fire damage to the unfortunate. Oh, and if you die, after 1d4 rounds, you erupt in a 20-ft. 6d6 blast. Yeah, pretty cool. The final implant would be the implantation 5 thought harvester, which occupies both arm and brain slots. The implant provides a needle in your palm that allows you to use it via an attack. On a hit, you inflict 1d3 piercing damage and the target must succeed a Fort save. On a failure, the nanites you injected directly transmit the memories of the subject into your brain, as though share memory was used; memory selection is also covered.

So yep, this time around, the supplemental material is pretty awesome...and they often note from which robots they can be "harvested" as a nice touch. But you're here for the critters, right? So let's take a look at those fellows! At CR 2/MR 1, the android would be the first and the mythic iteration comes equipped with a repulsor: 3/day, they can use these as a ranged touch with a 10 ft. reach. Creatures hit take force damage and must save or be knocked prone; expenditure of mythic power increases the potency slightly and adds minor pseudo-splash damage to the effect. Solid. At CR 1/MR 1, the arachnid robot (which comes with a nice artwork) gets a more powerful explosion when destroyed while still retaining mythic power. Additionally, as a unique new ability, they emit arcs of lightning if below 50% maximum hit points in a 15-ft.cone...which adds a fitting, concise theme and unique little surprise to the robot. The CR 4/MR 1 collector robot (first featured in Fires of Creation, if my memory doesn't betray me) has tracking chips that perform better and are harder to remove and as a standard action, these guys may expend mythic power fire a blast of nonlethal sonic energy at a target, also prompting a save to avoid being stunned...which significantly increases the efficiency of implanting chips, obviously...

At CR 5/MR 2, the gearsman gets more potent charges of his weapon - the unfortunate victim of a critical hit not only suffers from more shock, the electricity may actually bypasses resistances...and potentially thus even dispel non-mythic spell granted immunities to electricity. Additionally, these guys may expend mythic power to significantly increase their self-repair options, using it as a swift action and at no cost towards the daily limit...and it eliminates negative conditions! Finally, the adaptive angle is used in a new ability that makes the robot more effective versus targets that attack it, boosting atk and damage, AC versus ranged attacks as well as doubling the threat range. Awesome upgrade!

The CR 9/MR 4 terraformer robot gets a massive and pretty cool modification: Instead of the standard poison, they may tailor their poison to a single creature type (and subtype), increasing its DC and modifying the effects for the chosen species, but at the cost of decreased efficiency versus others. The damage output of the drill is increased to 2d6/x3 and the damn cool reprogram terrain can by improved as well: Expenditure of mythic power allows these guys to not have the ability uses count towards the total daily uses and further greatly increases the options at the robot's disposal. Oh, and absolutely amazing: By spending two weeks, they actually can permanently change an area in sensibly defined ways! Have I mentioned that, for 2 uses of mythic power, they can actually duplicate high-level natural disasters via their nanites? Yeah, absolutely glorious critter.

At 1 CR higher (CR 10/MR 4), torturer robots can boost their force fields via mythic power...of, and they may use mythic power to use their interrogate ability to affect non-helpless targets...oh, and they may inject truth serums in targets, which is an ability I was frankly missing from the original creature. Kudos! The CR 11/MR 5 version of the warden robot (from The Choking Tower) not only comes with a cool full-color artwork (one of multiple pieces herein!), he may also boost his intrasonic shields, use his sonic disruptors in conjunction with AoOs and gets scanners that duplicate arcane eye and may analyze metals. Via mythic power, these guys can stun creatures hit...or shift the mode of their armor, temporarily losing light fortification, but gaining a potentially lethal reflexive 15-ft. conical blast when hit. VERY cool!

The pdf also features two robots at CR 12/MR 5, the first of which would e the observer swarm from Lords of Rust; this one may use mythic power to enhance its camouflage. The transmit senses ability has been significantly streamlined and makes now more sense, which would be pretty neat. Oh, the swarm also has integrated laser torches that allow it to cut through obstacles (or enemies), potentially even the hardest ones via mythic power. Reflexive evasion versus AoE effects via mythic power and the option to coordinate for nonlethal blasts greatly increase the flexibility and flavor of these beings. The second robot at this CR/MR is the director, may move while maintaining a grapple and use mythic power to increase the range and potency of electromagnetic pulses emitted, while also retaining its daily use array. Oh, and his force field has fast healing...12. Until you break it down to 0 for the day, that is.

There also are two robots at CR 13/MR 5, the first of which would be the thought harvester. These guys may supercharge their shots to deafen targets and use mythic power to boost his force field and once these guys have your memories, they may access the information...again and again. Which makes sense from an internal cohesion point of view, as well as from the perspective of narrative options. Speaking of which: They actually may implant memories. Alternatively to the thoughts, they may also inject Dex-damage-causing numbing agents (that also act as an anti-pain-buff), with mythic power to create more doses. Oh, and for 2 mythic power, they can enter stealth-mode: Combined silence + invisibility. NICE! The myrmidon would be the second robot at this CR/MR and they are...painful: 3/day they may fire a combined dispel magic/disintegration, with mythic power as a flexible means of upgrading either spell effect. They may boost their force field. Speaking of which: They may willingly incur damage to the force field (or electricity damage, in absence of a force field) to further enhance their offensive capabilities...oh, and they may actually quantum shift teleport, potentially flat-footing foes. Oh, and they may see invisible creatures and can use mythic power to maximize their rockets. Yeah, these guys can SHRED even mythic characters...which is exactly what they're supposed to be capable of!

Speaking of shredding foes: The pdf also features the CR 20/MR 8 annihilator robot: These guys may, as a free action, use mythic power to increase all their save DCs by half tier (OUCH), boost the power of their force field, deafen, sicken and stagger foes in a huge area and they add half tier to saves. They may overload their plasma lances to continue to inflict damage (and increase it!), but at the cost of a cooldown, forego melee attacks for better ranged attacks...and use mythic power to automatically dispel non-mythic magical and technological affects...so yeah, an appropriately lethal engine of destruction.

The new critter herein is actually a kind of update - at CR 1/MR 1, we get the cyberphrenic tadpole, first featured in "The Mad Doctor's Formulary"; the mythic iteration grants the creator status and share senses as if it were a familiar. The telepathic relay may also be used more than once per day, with mythic upgrades possible. When it would be destroyed and still has a mythic power, the tadpole may insert a half-strength replicant in the host body...so yeah, amazing upgrade of an already very, very cool low-CR-critter that is truly useful.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant hiccups. Layout adheres to legendary Games' two-column full-color standard and the pdf sports several new, unique artworks for the robots; not all of them, but there are a couple of nice iterations. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.

Alex Riggs, Russ Taylor and Jason Nelson had an interesting task here: Robots are created and as such, their abilities must make sense to some extent and feel like they effectively supplement the function of the robot. At the same time, adhering too strictly to these aspects may make builds predictable...but you have to have some consistency regarding the options. The force field overload and variations of the overcharge-modes for several robots herein achieve exactly that; they establish a cohesion in design and at the same time do unique things with the options available. There is some serious consistency in the quality of the mythic upgrades, with only the android falling slightly short of the sheer amazing creativity oozing from these robots. In fact, e.g. the observer swarm, whose vanilla build imho failed at its intended raison d'être, is now excellent what it's supposed to do. Similarly, the sheer potency of these robots, their built-in phases/modes etc., all that helps making them excellent bosses to challenge veterans...or, obviously, mythic characters. Anyways, this certainly is one of the gems of the series and considering the exceedingly high quality of the Mythic Monsters-series, that's meaning something. I am often saying that this series really spoiled me regarding bestiaries...and pdfs like this are the reason. Excellence, from start to finish, well worth 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters #37: Robots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scorpions of Perdition
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/30/2016 09:23:34

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This module clocks in at 40 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 2 pages of introduction/how to use, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 31 pages of content, so let's take a look!

This module is intended for 8th and 9th level characters and can be easily inserted into Iron Gods, obviously...

...and that is pretty much as far as I can go without going into SPOILERS. Potential players should jump ahead to the conclusion.

...

..

.

All right, only GMs left? Great! The Drifter has wandered the ominously named region of "The Dust" for as long as anyone can remember, hunting a similarly long-lived outlaw named Shadrax. The drifter was once in charge of a prison ship that crashed on Golarion - and he is basically android Clint Eastwood with a laser gun. He has spent hundreds of years hunting down the escaped convicts, but Shadrax, the engineer of the riot that caused the ship to crash, has evaded him. Since then, his programming has changed and he considers himself the law in the region of "The Dust", hunting down evildoers and seeking his nemesis. Shadrax, meanwhile, is as nasty as it gets: Infused with nanites, the xill has time galore and as such, has tried breeding out the nanites that keep it confined to the material plane over generations, but to no avail; worse, her little slave empire has fallen, the dread xill buried in a stasis pod...and now, hundreds of years later, the Drifter's fuel starts running out. When the PCs, by one of the angles, come to the region and hopefully help him taking care of some harpies, he already shows signs of decreasing efficiency.

The dialog with the drifter does feature some read-aloud text (nice!) and the drifter tries to recruit the PCs to help him acquire a means of charging him - he knows where the object is, but needs help getting it. Oh, and if you're wondering: Shadrax' spawn do get modified abilities noted in a sidebar. Arriving at Perdition (fully statted, fyi), the overseer Perdy is facing down a mob of people who want to leave; as its name points out, Perdition has seen better days...and thus, the PCs are off into the mine to deal with the issues of the town...only that this is easier said than done. You see, there is a so-called mud-spawn of shadrax stalking the mine and it is a delightfully sadistic critter with paralysis and earth glide, a perfect adversary to generate paranoia, fear and an atmosphere of frickin' HORROR. Oh, and it is glorious - you see the mud-spawn pretty much is a puzzle boss that you can try fighting fairly, but a massive 1-page guideline of running the critter should make sure that that doesn't happen - instead, exploring the complex and paying attention as well as clever problem solutions will be required by the PCs to defeat this adversary. And yes, there are other critters in the dungeon as well...so yeah... in the best of ways, the module rewards smart actions here.

Making their way through the mine, the PCs find a location both wondrous and frightening, a massive necropolis with a palace and an irradiated river, all under the ground and lavishly illustrated with a one-page artwork that doubles as a cool handouts. The map provided here, just fyi, is player-friendly and in the place, Shadrax awaits with its priests - the progenitor is deadly indeed: A xill gunslinger (depicted with a cigar in one of the 4 hands!) makes for a truly deadly adversary.

The second part of the module deals with the so-called "Temple of the Burning God", aka the wreckage of the ship...part of which hangs over a cliff, vertically, only attached to the remainder by a catwalk. Yep, vertical dungeon exploration. Yes, the adversaries obviously make good use of this uncommon environment. Yep, the dungeon is amazing and one of the few places where paltry CR 2 adversaries will really make the PCs sweat. As a minor complaint, the maps of the ship and the aforementioned palace do not come with player-friendly, key-less versions, so if you're like me, that may be slightly annoying.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant hiccups. Layout adheres to legendary Games' neat 2-column full-color standard for Iron Gods-plug-ins and the pdf sports a mix of previously used full-color artworks and amazing new pieces. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience and the cartography in full color is nice, though the lack of player-friendly maps for some of the adventuring locales does constitute a downside in my book.

Alex Riggs and Nicholas Logue deliver a wonderful lovesong to Clint Eastwood's legendary "High Plains Drifter" - I adore the dirty, grimy Westerns and, seen through the lens of science-fantasy, with ample horror spliced in, Scorpions of Perdition can be considered to be one amazing module indeed, with the Drifter making for a potentially glorious ally for the PCs. The flavor of each and every location is unique and internally consistent; the locations themselves sport details galore and represent unconventional, intriguing challenges for the PCs. In short, this module does everything right apart from the lack of player-friendly maps. That being said, this should NOT keep you from getting this inspired, amazing module - it ranks as one of the best Legendary Games modules released so far. It should also be noted that, much like the excellent Starfall, this module very much works perfectly on its own - in fact, I'd encourage getting it for a taste of the unusual in just about any context.

My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scorpions of Perdition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Asian Archetypes: Martial
by Vladimir C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2016 19:01:24

I have been a fan of all things Asian since I started karate when I was a kid. Later, I discovered Kung Fu cinema by way of the free Dragon Fist RPG by TSR and the internet back in the day. Where I come from, Kung Fu movies beyond Bruce Lee’s are unheard of.

When I started playing Pathfinder, I was completely dazed by the monk. As a matter of fact, my first 3rd edition character was also a monk. However, it wasn’t until much later that class option like archetypes or even new classes started to come out. Among the best 3rd party content, I found The Way of Ki. This was the beginning of a long distance, one sided, platonic love for Legendary Games. Their products are amazing: the crunch is top-notch and balanced, the fluff is evocative and the art is amazing, but such quality comes with a fair price that I simply cannot follow. Even then I have bought all the Far East adventure path plug-ins and not once have I been disappointed.

Enough preamble, So what do we have here? As the name aptly implies, AAM is a collection of 12 archetypes with an Eastern feel, accompanied by other class options like feats and talents, some items and even an NPC. While the PDF is 28 pages, if we take off all the ads, covers, legal info and stuff we have 17 pages of content left. But we are talking about LG, so we don’t find filler content. Before we start with the content itself, it’s worth mentioning that there are no monk or brawler archetypes and I applaud this decision, since the monk has one of the biggest number of archetypes out there and the brawler, with its class features, can dabble in a lot of style feats, so new content for these classes is not really needed.

We start with the Blood Rider cavalier archetype, which is an order-less, banner-less warrior with a Mongol feel, but instead of mounted archery, these guys control the battlefield with a whip! They can make some combat maneuvers with it while mounted, and move opponents along the battlefield. I don’t know you but I would love to play one of these guys, being a martial controller without spells. Get a flying mount and oh boy! The class also includes two feats: Mounted Skirmish, which is similar to Ride-by Attack but without the need to charge, Mounted Sweep, which basically let you do any standard action while moving on your mount. Next in line we have the poor fighter archetype Hyakusho; no, the fighter is not a poor class, I mean, the archetype is poor, not in its design but in character. They start with half the gold and broken weapons and armor! Apart from this cool fluff, they can repair weapons and armor very efficiently, even able to use other discarded equipment instead of gold for repairs. In combat, they gravitate to light armor and have an expanded options for their bonus feats, including a couple of roguish ones, and can even ignore some of the requisites. This archetype is best used from level one, but all in all can be used as bruisers for a thieves’ guild or triad. A good option for dexterity-based fighters.

Iaijutsu Adepts are swashbucklers that focus on the art of drawing and hitting in the same motion. If you have ever seen Rurouni Kenshin or other samurai anime, you know what this is about. There is even a samurai archetype by Paizo with the same premise! Anyway, the archetypes have a very different feel since the swashbuckler class is more geared toward nimble, dexterous fighting. Any ability that depends on using light or one handed piercing weapons can only be used with a katana and only two-handed. Does this include when you draw? I mean, traditional iaijutsu uses two hands to draw, but since you use one hand to hold the scabbard and one to attack with the katana, is this treated as a one hand or two hand attack? And another nit-pick, there is no official way to get Dex to damage with a two-handed katana, and you don’t get free exotic weapon proficiency to wield it one-handed (and why would you when most abilities apply only when two-handing) so unless your GM lets you cheat with some of the requirements, maybe you don’t want to focus on Dex. I think the archetype should either give you the ability, or let you cheat the requirements. At the end of the day that feature is not needed but would come in handy, especially at low levels. The other abilities rock, you get better at reacting and gauging your opponents, dealing more damage with that first attack and become better with the katana. A cool, iconic eastern archetype that I think would benefit from a bit of polish.

The Imperial Unifier samurai is the shortest archetype, losing two physical class skills, being able to use one daily challenge to get an edge during a verbal duel, and losing their 6th level bonus feat for a weaker version of the Leadership feat that can be improved beyond the base feat by taking it. A nice little hack of the samurai class, perfect for those who like court intrigue but want to play a martial.

The Kaiju Hunter ranger is an archetype that really surprised me with its crazy concept. I mean, who hunts KAIJU!?!?!? But the name is a little deceiving, since they are tankier rangers (they get heavy armor proficiency and can use their class abilities in such) that battle large and bigger foes (the favored enemy bonus only work against big targets, as well as other abilities like evasion), perfect for any Adventure Path focused in fighting big things ;) They also dance with an inquisitor shoes, since they lose wild empathy for the Monster Lore ability of said class. They lose a lot of the nature-based abilities of the ranger to become better at fighting biggies. A crazy concept for an archetype but one that scales well with the foes one tends to encounter at every level.

The Kuma barbarians are Zangief’s students, being better at unarmed combat and grappling than their peers and they can even become bears. For a hefty cost of rage rounds, they can spend hours in bear form, and later get the scent ability. This archetype is perfect if your GM didn’t let you play a werebear or you want to changeshape but don’t like the druid.

The Kwa No are ninjas with a heavy Psylock (from the X-men) vibe. They get better unarmored defense similar to a monk’s but Charisma-based. They lose poison use but exchange it for the ability to cast psychic significance at-will and getting a small bonus to use psychic magical items. At third level they can make a powerful blade of thought by spending Ki, with later levels getting a more powerful blade. This blades takes the shape of a punch dagger, sai or wakisashi… why not one of those serrated Red antis Blades? I would call my character Psycho Mantis and Yell I CAN READ YOUR MIND! Ehem, this ability costs the Kwa No some sneak attack dice and the No Trace Ability. They can also learn special ninja tricks (called Ki slashes) that give them more options when attacking with their blade, and even more bigger and badder ones instead of master ninja tricks (called Ki thrusts). This archetype will rock your world if you are a Psylocke or Psycho Mantis fan, or want to play a soulknife but your GM doesn’t allow psionics.

The Mandarin investigator gives me a Judge Dee (see the movie of the same name) vibe, with alchemy replacing kung fu. The investigators are less adept at dungeoneering, losing all traps abilities and having less extracts per day, but instead of that they gain some useful social abilities for intrigue-heavy campaigns, specially the Favors ability. Since you are supposed to be a member of the bureaucracy, you gain favors among your peers by doing your job, which translates into some downtime activities. These guys rock if you like intriguing character concepts (sorry for the bad pun), but don’t use one in a dungeon-crawling game or you will regret it.

We continue with two archetypes for the vigilante, the first being the Mercurial Duelist. This beast of a class-hack replaces A LOT of the vigilante parts in exchange for A LOT of archetype-specific toys. They also focus on iaijutsu, but instead of Kenshin these guys are like Ukyo Tachibana from Samurai Shodown, drawing, striking and then sheathing their blade again, and some of their class abilities only work with a sheathed blade. They also get a Rokugani-inspired ancestral weapon, complete with the spending of money to enhance it without a wizard or feats. Also, since they lose vigilante specialization, they get a whole new category of Mercurial Talents which they can take along general vigilante’s. Three or so pages of such talents. These Duelist give me a feeling I would be playing with an armed One Punch Man since they can devastate with a single strike. I haven’t been able to playtest one but they feel very powerful. This section also includes some vigilante talents to dabble in the Mercurial arts and even in Swashbuckler’s panache and deeds!

The second vigilante archetype is a reprint from Legendary Vigilantes, but if you are like me and don’t have that book, the Sentai Soldier will leave you in awe. Yes, they are Power Rangers! (well, power vigilantes really). Basically, they are vigilantes that specialize in kinetic dabbling. But they are not a hybrid of vigilante and kineticist, they get their unique talents that have a crazy-loco sentai flavor with mechanics to match. Example? Your Powerful TransformationTM is so awesome that friend or foe who watches your transformation is fascinated for one minute! Don’t worry, it also comes with a way to maintain your secret identity, well, secret. This class is nuts and pushes the boundaries of what is OK in fantasy gaming, but if we have investigators and mesmerists why not a Sentai Soldier? You could even make a WHOLE PARTY if you convince your fellow players, there are enough kineticist toys out there for controlling, damaging, buffing and even healing!

The Silversword Samurai made me think of the similary-named X-men villain, but what we get is another social-focused samurai who instead of pledging loyalty to an order does it to his family, gaining free allies and enemies in the process. Like Imperial Unifiers, Silverswords can use thir challenge ability in non-combat situations, to the point where they can challenge themselves! Not gonna spoil how that works, though. On a minor nit-pick, they lose the Mount ability but in the text it mentions a cavalier, not a samurai, but oh well. The archetype then gives you the ability to again enchant your ancestral weapon in a way similar to the Mercurial Duelist, but later you also get to enchant an ancestral suit of armor. The Silversword also gains a Ki pool, which oddly enough mentions it replaces the mount ability, which was just mentioned as not gained a few paragraphs ago. You also gain the Unimpeachable Honor Feat, an ability to deflect arrows and later magical rays, and finally the ability to cut through dimensions, working as a ghost touch blade, dimension door or even a planeshift, all with different Ki costs. I have mixed feelings about this archetype, with the dimensional blade abilities now meshing well in my opinion with the rest of the archetype. I would have loved an Order of the Blood for the family aspects and then the ancestral sword, armor and dimensional cut as an archetype but well, that is my humble opinion.

To close the deal with fanfare, we end the archetype section with my favorite archetype, the Sky Dancer duelist. Not since playing a gestalt monk in 3rd edition have I had the opportunity to play a classic Wuxia swordsman! So instead of focusing on light piercing weapons, they focus on light monk weapons, not only gaining proficiency with all monk weapons but also able to use their swashbuckler features with them! They get some thematically-flavored deeds in exchange for others not appropriate to Wuxia swordsmen, and instead of charmed life they get leap of the clouds, which give them those crazy kung fu leaps and later they even can fly! The hack is not that big but even similar abilities get flavorful names. Have I mentioned they are my favorite archetype? No? Well, THEY ARE MY FAVORITE ARCHETYPE!

We finish this book with a Silver Blossom: a ninjaish 12th level Aasimar Mercurial Duelist vigilante with a detailed backstory and even a boon! With some changes to the backstory, you could even PLAY as her in the adventure path that deals with becoming the monarch. She is also the cover girl ;)

I was left exhausted after writing this review, but I’m happy I was able to do it. It was a worthwhile experience since each archetype gave me many ideas for both PCs and NPCs. I would recommend the book to anyone who wants some eastern and/or intrigue options for their campaign, since remember, some cosmetic changes and the samurai can be mamluks, ninja hashshashin etc., you won’t regret buying it! Even when I didn’t completely like all of the archetypes, this book offers enough variation to leave me without any complains. I will grade the book with a high 5 and would add ½ a star for the Sky Dancer alone, since it is my favorite archetype. I hope to play in my next campaign as, you guessed right, a SKY DANCER DUELIST!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Asian Archetypes: Martial
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crusader Codex
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/24/2016 10:23:41

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This collection of NPCs clocks in at 38 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC (with CR/MR-notes), 1 page introduction/how to use, 1 page SRD, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 30 pages of content, so let's take a look!

There never was an AP so in need of more challenges and expansions than Wrath of the Righteous. While I love the story, personally, I'd only run it with a gazillion of Legendary Games supplements to avoid the PCs curb-stomping everything. Anyways, this means you need stats and I don't know about you, but I don't always have the time to crunch x statblocks. Enter this book - where the excellent unrighteous Villains was about adding in NPCs and adversaries and their subplots, this one would be the collection of more "generic" statblocks for more rank and file beings.

That out of the way, this does not mean that the presentation lacks notes on tactics or the like - quite the contrary! It just means that you should expect something akin to the NPC Codex by Paizo on a smaller scale and tied directly to the respective parts of WotR. Demons invading town? There's a CR-appropriate statblock for that here. The statblocks come with automatic bonus progression notes for the respective builds, just fyi! One step beyond that: The pdf actually begins with a handy table of CEL+Tiers/party-level/book progression through the AP, providing a great guideline from the very get-go. Additionally, the supplemental pieces of advice provided here should be pretty helpful for not only reading the entries, but for GMs of the AP in general. It's only a little introduction, but it adds that little amount of extra care, feels like it's going the extra mile from the get-go.

Got that? Great! We begin this collection with a tiefling witch at CR 1 (and a disturbing artwork)...but adversaries are not everything: Two slayers at CR 2 and 6 as progressions can be found herein as well.

A half-orc paladin at CR 6, a broken soul unicorn (!!!) oracle, a fiendish troll inquisitor...notice something? Yep, Julian Neale went all out this time! I mean, who could say no to a fiendish redcap barbarian? An oracle/pala-combo is cool...but personally, I'm partial to evilly-grinning over shadow demons with rogue levels! There also would be a CR 11 dwarven vivisectionist to be found, a fated champion orc skald at CR 11, and I can't wait throwing a night hag mesmerist (oh yes!) at my players.

Sounds too freaky for you? There also would be a neat human cleric build, all vanilla...but personally...I get my grove on when looking at blight druid/medium (relic channeler) multiclasses (yep, with fighter/medium (relic channeler)/ranger cohort! What about lilith, an awakened devilbound cephalohore sorceress? OH YES! bebilith fighter? Yes! Stradaemon fighter creature? Yes, please! What about a CR 20 glabrezu antipaladin with unholy good saves and a beautiful damage output and enough defense to potentially actually survive to attack PCs? What about a massive mythic immense mandragora at CR 20/MR 8 (including a swarm?) or a tiefling investigator/guardian (who lacks her MR-rating in the header in a minor hiccup)? Pretty amazing!

And yes, the aforementioned immense mandragora and the swarm, which could come right out of the Berserk video game do get their own statblocks here as well. Now this would be my overview of the statblocks, but it certainly deserves mentioning that designer commentary and EXTENSIVE tactic notes actually help run these engines of destruction.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no grievous glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games' two-column full-color standard with a lot of fiery orange employed for the WotR-plugins. The pdf features several neat full-color artworks, though they will be familiar for fans of Legendary Games. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. As for statblock accuracy, I have reverse-engineered a couple and encountered no issues;

What happens what Julian Neale finally unleashes the daring creativity lurking? When he lets loose that rampant Id and makes critters and builds beyond the normal, that dare to kick your behind? Awesome, that's what! Don't get me wrong - this has plenty of options that will satisfy more conservative tastes, but oh boy do I love this book. It's bar none my favorite statblock-centric offering released by Legendary Games so far. The builds and NPCs are so creative and cool, I really want to use them...and the fact that there are some that dare to be a challenge for capable groups is a HUGE plus for me. Beyond that, the tactical notes provide an excessive level of support for the hassled GM and render actually using the book much simpler than it otherwise would. This reminded me of Rite Publishing's legendary Faces of the Tarnished Souk-series in that its builds go one step beyond what you'd see in the default monster codex in support, creativity, etc. In fact, this felt more like a proper NPC-book that a collection of anonymous stats to me, mainly because there is so much love oozing from them.

This is a great, fun collection of NPC-stats and should be considered to be a definite recommendation, not only within the context of WotR, but for any GM looking for some challenging, diverse builds. My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crusader Codex
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Villains: Vigilantes
by Russell Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2016 21:18:55

This book had a lot of options that my players and I have wanted to see, and you can see a lot of creativity in what's included. Favorite probably had to be Shadow Savant for a real fun shadowmancer style character. The new vigilante talents opened up a ton of options too, I really liked Rip and Tear for basically helping to use a chainsaw on a stick with the ripsaw glaive. Finally the sample character and flavor text were awesome, and really helped draw me into the book, making it a great purchase, especially if you picked up Legendary Vigilantes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Villains: Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Villains: Vigilantes
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2016 09:20:07

With several other reviews going into incredible depth about all of the options contained in this book, I am going to take a different approach and go into detail about why I gave this book a five star rating.

First off, Red Love is an amazing NPC and I look forward to using her in a campaign hopefully in the near future. She performs her role as Iconic flawlessly, tying the book together by leading you on through her descent into madness and violence and wrapping up the book with her terrifying stat block.

The art is succinct, stylish, and truly conveys the horror that she embodies. Her stat block is not so optimized that an unprepared party will be slaughtered, but she has some very defined combat niches and she uses them adeptly - beware her blinded condition!

Next, we have the Symbiotic Slayer - notable because of how versatile it is! I believe it is worth mentioning as other guides have misunderstood, you control your familiar - and thus you control your character when your Symbiote takes dominance. It is instead, a second character to explore. Of course, there are feats that make it so you can reduce the ego if you do not wish to have it be a bother. But the talents are so diverse!

You can make very respectable versions of many symbiotes such as Carnage or Venom. Something I want to bring up and remind people, is that Weapon Master’s Handbook brought with it weapon creation rules - so if you wanted ‘attached’ weapons more potent than the (spiked) gauntlet, it is only a single Design Point away.

The Protean Prowler has a special place in my heart, because they fulfill a niche I have long been waiting to utilize - an Eidolon style PC without the trappings of the flawed Summoner class. Mister N. Jolly has outdone himself here, as you can truly feel like a Protean with these effects underway - changing form and function as it suits you day by day with a generous number of ‘recustomizations’ per day.

Of course, those who adore Polymorphing can just as readily explore a true wealth of transmutation options or even use them to create a conjoined whole of Eidolon evolutions accenting a base template. Unless your DM is unusually strict, you should be able to describe your new form as you please - I hope to see some more reviews talking about what people have come up with!

Then we have the Shadow Savant, a unique subclass that can be strongly likened to Zed from League of Legends. However, with the greater freedom in designing abilities the kit is taken to its logical extreme and the result is amazing.

You have quite a few options to work with here, from being a faux shadow-evoker to using your shadows to distract, or even fighting alongside increasingly real shadow clones who gain improving action economy.

I won’t lie to anyone, I am a huge fan of N. Jolly’s work... But this book goes above and beyond anything I have expected! I feel this book has more than earned its five star rating, and invite anyone who is on the fence about it to pay the cost of admission - I will frankly guarantee that any fan of the Vigilante will find more than a few things to utilize here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Planetary Heroes
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/15/2016 10:58:10

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This collection of pregens for Legendary Games' Legendary Planet AP clocks in at 36 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction/how to use, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 25 pages of content, so let's take a look at these pregens!

Wait, before we do, let us make one thing clear: The characters presented herein are pretty much in line with the Player's Guide - this means that the awesome fish-out-of-water-style alternate introduction championed in the optional prequel "The Assimilation Strain" is not considered to be the default for these guys...just so you know. This also means that the characters herein will begin play at 2nd level. From a formal point of view, the characters herein would be 20 pt.-buy characters, though each of the entries does provide scaling information for those of us who, like yours truly, prefer the grit and increased challenge of 15 pt.-buy characters.

The characters themselves make, just so you know, use of the material presented in the Legendary Planet Player's Guide. This means that the new races presented are employed in the builds. The pdf also follows the format of Legendary Games' pregens in that it very much has the goal of presenting mechanically-relevant character options that still feature options, skills etc. that make them feel organic. Formatting-wise, each of the characters comes with a one-page full-color artwork supplemented by a quote pertaining the world-view of the respective character. Beyond the statblock, each of the pregens comes with a detailed background story, physical description and personality. Advancement notes are presented as well and considering the mythic nature of the AP, the advancement notes also cover the most likely mythic path to follow. The entries also come with helpful and flavorful roleplaying ideas - so that would be the structural set-up.

But what about the characters? Well, the first would be Spinser Zayne, an auttaine fighter/gunslinger, who has used his construct-y build points for a hidden storage, low-light vision, natural armor and sprinting. Born into a clan of vagabonding smugglers and turned into a powerful gladiator, he is defined by his need for survival, for maintaining his existence. His build is pretty open and the presence of Disable Device among his class skills (via a trait) adds some magic-using capabilities in the future of this guy. Zayne is powerful, but evocative and his disbelief pertaining an afterlife makes for an interesting angle to RP.

Floreisley Avergreen, a chlorvian sorceress with the verdant bloodline, would be next - and her attitude is a far cry from Spinser's pragmatism: Floreisley is an idealist who sees that the world is cruel and full of suffering, yes...but at the same time, she vehemently believes that helping the totality of beings, that supporting everyone and being helpful, will ultimate improve the fate of all. Her infinite optimism and charitable nature makes her a strong candidate for the face of the group, for a leader with a vision that is actually a joy to portray. And yes, I am inclined towards playing idealists with a vision, in spite of my cynicism - and I'd play her. Perhaps because her wide-eyed wonder regarding natural beauty and sights and her morals reflect pretty much what I aspire to be.

Kanor Delfina would be a tretharri cleric with the knowledge and healing domains; being tretharri, he has 4-arms and I welcome this series not focusing in the class-choice on making a shredder-type of character, instead focusing on a powerful build, yes, but one that does represent the fact that the race does not consist solely of melee monsters. In fact, he is guided by something I very much can relate to - the true wonder of seeing the stars for the first time; of truly grasping their significance and meaning, the infinite vastness, the infinite possibilities provide a clerical angle that is relatively novel and unconventional.

Girrun Snik would be a zvarr rogue - and is a mathematical prodigy, which also, with his get-rich-quick-schemes, account for his less than reputable past and class choice. As a unique angle, his conviction lies in the belief that the universe is ultimately a game of numbers, stochastic probabilities...and the meta-joke is that he's right. So the one player who likes breaking character, doing the numbers, making observations over the likelihood of the outcome? Yep, this guy is perfect for you...and the angle should actually make that type of behavior more acceptable for the other players! Very cool.

Rhydis Kolmainsus would be a human bloodrager with the draconic bloodline, jagladine experiment #1407, his number forever burned into his shoulder. Once a happy-go-lucky man, the pain and suffering inflicted upon him has changed his very nature, his outlook...but also granted him the means to triumph over the monstrous captors.

Omik "The Clever" Jetruk would be another multiclass option: We have a dwarven alchemist (chirurgeon)/gunslinger (musket master) here. Omik, a foundling of mysterious circumstances, slim and smart, is young for a dwarf - but he does already have some impressive (mis-)adventures under his belt. Equipped with an erratic curiosity, engineering knowledge, capable of driving vehicles and still holding his own in battle, Omik provides a cool option for players that enjoy the versatility that the class combo brings.

Tialua Re'duoth, an elven oracle of life, is somewhat different: As life-affirming as you'd expect someone of her occupation to be, she also makes for another good candidate for the party face/leader role. The theme of the stars and their impact upon our lives similarly establishes the leitmotif of wonder that is present in many of these pregens, though her intense dislike of liars makes for a solid angle to include some righteous anger in an otherwise very positive woman.

Finally, Kato Njalembe would be a human psychic with the rapport discipline. Coming from a quasi-African background, at least regarding the nomenclature, he and his brothers were inseparable...until the fateful day a strange elven client who has taken his brother...as a result, he remains with half-finished inside jokes and a lingering sense of sadness as well as a duality of quietude and rambunctious laughter. Well, perhaps he'll one day find his brother...and the reason for his ever expanding psychic powers...

The pdf concludes with a page containing the artworks of the characters as miniature cut-outs.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are excellent, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full-color standard for the Legendary Planet-books. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The artworks provided for the pregens are awesome and full-color, though some have been featured before in the Player's guide for the races.

Neil Spicer and Jeff Provine's pregens for Legendary Planet are significantly cooler than I expected them to be, to be quite frank. Their damage output and general strength is well on a line, with none outshining the others as better minmaxed or worse built than their compatriots - the characters, in short, provide a concise array of characters that work well as an adventuring party. More than that, the characters actually feel like...well, characters. Not just accumulations of stats, but actual, fully-rounded people that are more than the sum of their stats and tropes. Now, I've been pretty vocal in the fact that I prefer the fish-out-of-water approach that includes "The Assimilation Strain". In fact, I'm still honestly baffled a bit how the whole prologue-introduction into the AP is handled, with both this and the PG basically ignoring it. So yeah, I'm probably not going to use these, unless some PCs die in "To Worlds Unknown" and if you wish to run the prologue, this will probably not be too useful for you.

That being said, if you do want to dive right in, this is a perfect array of pregens for the AP: Read #1, hand these to your player's and voilà, Sword & Planet action from the get-go! As such, this does its job very well and my final verdict will hence clock in at 5 stars...and though I won't use these probably, I really enjoyed the characters...which is why this also gets my seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Planetary Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Villains: Vigilantes
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2016 02:10:21

N. Jolly's followup to Legendary Vigilante is much the same in terms of my excitement, and also my hesitation to wholeheartedly embrace it. Legendary Villains: Vigilantes offers some really, really cool stuff, but I have to acknowledge that a lot of it are things that I would not allow in my own campaigns for players, although I would use them for enemies in a heartbeat (funnily enough, given the dark theme of the book), and while the technical issues of the last book are no longer here there are still a few kinks in the wording of some options that give me pause.

The Alchemical Scoundrel has the typical setup of a casting archetype, although it gains alchemy instead of casting, preventing it from gaining the superior Extra Talent feat from the Legendary line. Its talents are twofold, gainining the ability to choose either an Alchemist discovery or one from a selection of talents. The AS also qualifies for Extra Discovery, and treats some of its unique talents as discoveries allowing it to parlay that into a pseudo-Extra Talent feat. And already we're off to a rocky start on balance. For instance, after grabbing Bombs for a talent the AS can take Extra Discovery to pick up the a discovery talent that is the Frost, Acid, Shock, Concussive and Force Bomb discoveries all at once (this suffers from the aforementioned wording issues, as if combined with one of those discoveries the talent deals both the talent and the discovery's damage type, without clarification as to whether the full damage is treated as both, or split 50/50 as is normal). The mutagen discoveries grant things such as free Enlarge Person, access to class features from the master chymist prestige class (normally not available until level 8) as early as level 2 by taking Extra Discovery at 1, and unlocking the Brute's insanely good talent list without any of its drawbacks. and NTD Supernova, while it is a level 20 talent, literally doubles the number of damage dice being rolled by increasing the damage dice by 2 steps (bringing each one from 1d6 to 1d8 to 2d6), though if that was the intention or a misunderstanding of damage steps, I don't know. In addition, there are a number of talents that are straight up core Alchemist discoveries made better, leading to the question, with this archetype legal, why would you ever play an Alchemist?

The Consumed Vigilante is much simple and much less broken. It trades away Dual Identity for The Nameless One and a free hit point per level, and its social talents for the ability to go without food, water or sleep, the effects of renown without having to actually spread it yourself, and a bonus on saves against mind-affecting. Very solid option if you don't care about your social identity, and what you replace talents with would be worth talents themselves (particularly healing from rest in a quarter of the time).

The Dread Champion is an antipaladin, plain and simple. It's very much equivalent to the Noble Soul from Legendary Vigilante, though without the option to heal, and gains the ability to inflict Cruelties on the targets of their smite, which I particularly like. However, while I've come under fire for my severe criticism of Magical Child trading half of its talents for what I consider a mediocre spell list, I severely protest the Dread Champion trading the same for the antipaladin's spells. No one, and I mean no one in history, past present or future, has ever cared about a 4 level caster's spells, to the point where Ranger and Paladin alike have archetypes that give them up entirely without a care in the world, and yet somehow the worse, NPC as hell antipaladin spell list is worth half of your talents? No. Nuh-uh.

The Fortune Thief is a really cool concept that takes an underused tool for vigilantes of taking another class's feature and changing it for a different end entirely. In this case, we gain a single witch hex. Any time an enemy fails their save against our hex (which, let's be real here, is probably Sleep, given that we can't take Cackle), you gain a point of luck, which can be consumed to reroll a skill check or gain a scaling luck bonus to attack and damage rolls (well hello there Fate's Favored). I think there may have been an error here, given that the bonuses last for rounds equal to your Charisma modifier, and a talent exists to make them last rounds equal to your Charisma modifier, which just seems like a weird overlap of wording where "twice the duration" would probably have sufficed, leading me to believe that it may have originally been one round for the bonus, which let's be honest, is probably a better idea anyway. Other talents offered give you bonuses for hoarding your luck points, the ability to add luck to your AC, and several hex improvements. Definitely on the strong side and ripe for abuse cases, but those are forgiveable for the fun involved in the flavor of this.

Plague Scions are... somehow not evil despite being literally all about spreading plague. You trade your 1st level social talent for the antipaladin's plague bringer, which makes you immune to the effects of disease while still letting you carry them, and in exchange for unshakeable you get to have diseases with increased potency. You can effectively make your disease injury based when you get a surprise Hidden Strike on an enemy, or just straight up prick someone with a concealed blade to disease them, and further class features further improve the diseases you pass on. This, ladies and gentlemen, is the epitome of an NPC class, but as an NPC class it makes for an interesting concept.

The Protean Prowler draws on those embodiments of pure chaos, the proteans, gaining evolution points as an eidolon and trading them for polymorphing spell like abilities. There's some wording strangeness, making it unclear if one is locked into the evolutions they already have when they polymorph, but overall an interesting archetype for sure.

The Shadow Savant combines what every GM hates about divination specialists with what every GM hates about illusion specialists. You gain the ability to create shadow clones of yourself, and send them running around, with your talents giving them incredible range and the ability to scry through them. It also offers a number of illusion spells as SLAs, trading uses of your shadow clones to utilize them. This archetype gets a bit of an extra bump for, in addition to being super cool, also having unique social talents, something that vigilante archetypes haven't really treaded into yet. However, I'm still getting used to the new LeBlanc ultimate in League of Legends, I don't need it in my Pathfinder too, so probably banned at my tables.

The Symbiotic Slayer is complex, but basically boils down to: congratulations, you're Venom. You gain a symbiote that can meld with your body to grant you fighting prowess, although it can totally take over your mind if you spend too much time in that form so try to avoid doing so. That being said, it serves as the second best part of Synthesis Summoner, effectively granting you a massive chunk of bonus HP as the symbiote takes damage before you do, and you can feed your hp to the symbiote to keep it from retreating back into your body. I won't go into the talents, as they're, again, complex, but while there's some overly strong stuff (like at will move action Invisibility that renders you immune to blindsense and blindsight at level 4), it's mostly balanced and unique enough to warrant a rating of Cool.

The Social Talents section isn't as robust or interesting as the last one, but there are a few cool choices, like Accomplished Duelist, which lets you use some vigilante talents in your social identity without arousing suspicion; Unbound Ethics, letting you get your identities' alignments farther apart from one another; and Identity Thief, which lets you take your enemies faces... off. And... well make a mask of them I guess, which isn't as cool as the movie but still a reference I approve of.

The Vigilante talents are much more interesting. Advanced Grip gives you two-handed strength bonus when you have a weapon in one-hand, and no penalty for Power Attacking while using TWF, leading to some frankly terrifying potential static damage between this, Double Slice and Lethal Grace. Beast Brethren gives you Animal Ally as a bonus feat, Brutal Bulwark lets you make the area around you difficult terrain, and Critical Violence gives you a bigger critical range that stacks with Improoved Critical at the cost of reducing it to a x2 weapon, likely to keep it out of the hands of falchion and tetsubo wielders. Somewhat terrifying is the Death Dealer talent, which gives a stalker the assassin's death attack feature and, at level 16, lets them get away with spending only one round studying the target. Combined with sniper talent, a stalker could be a force of deadly reckoning. Magical Limit Break, however, is my personal favorite, allowing a casting vigilante to push beyond their normal 6 level casting limit and get level 7 and 8 spells. On the more useless side is Lone Survivor, which depends on your allies going down, Panache Pool, which gives you exactly what it says but nothing to spend it on, and Stylish Combatant, because Performance Combat is terrible. There's also another writing snafu here, in the Superb Blade talent, which grants the Weapon of the Chosen line with no regard for your character's deity, but doesn't actually elaborate on how you determine your "deity's" alignment for Improved Weapon of the Chosen.

The feats here that are worth talking about give a lot of love to the casting archetypes and go a long way to fix problems with both the Warlock and the Zealot archetypes. The Charismatic Caster feat changes your class's spells to be spontaneously cast with the bard table and based on Charisma, and changes the Zealot's inquisition abilities to scale off of Charisma instead of Wisdom, solving its MADness problems. I'm insanely biased against prepped casters, so I approve of this change. Likewise, the Genius and Wise Vigilante feats change all of the vigilante's class features, spells included, to scale off of Int and Wis, respectively, instead of Cha. Helpfully, these can also be taken as level 1 social talents. There are also several feats dedicated specifically to improving the Warlock, most importantly Mystic Accuracy, which add half your Int as a static damage to Mystic Bolt, allow Deadly Aim, Power Attack or Piranha Strike to apply to their touch attacks, and allow Clustered Shots to overcome energy resistance, a number of quality of life improvements that are sorely needed.

Next up is a 5 level PrC called the Crimson Dreadnought. It reminds me a lot of the Faceless Enforcer, being tied to a set of armor, but unlike the Enforcer, Crimson Dreadnoughts are bound to their armor completely, granting them bonuses in exchange for being incapable of getting out, free Iron Will and Improved Iron Will, and the ability to say screw the hell out of death. It's not a particularly strong or compelling PrC, to be sure, but it's not terrible, and I could easily see a number of enemies making use of it; I myself will probably include some in my upcoming Curse of the Crimson Throne campaign as Gray Maidens, since what's described is literally how the Gray Maidens are made.

I won't comment much on the Vigilante variant multiclass. VMCs, by and large, suck, and this isn't much of an exception at early levels, though if I'm being perfectly honest access to a vigilante talent at 11 might just be worth wasting your 3rd and getting a mediocre 7th level feat.

There are only three items included here, probably to make room for all of the talents and feats. First are the Bracers of Mystic Power, which oh my god yes. They're wrist slot items that serve as an Amulet of Mighty Fists for mystic bolts, also allowing you to ignore a pretty high amount of energy resistance when using them. I have exactly one problem, though, and it's the same as my problem with the handwraps from Legendary Vigilante, and that's the N. Jolly, for all his positive qualities as a designer, doesn't seem to understand the value of freely given enhancement bonuses. The Bracers cost less than a +1 weapon, factoring in weapon and masterwork cost, but between Rapid Shot and Two-Weapon Fighting can attack at a much higher clip, plus while they're very welcome, the fact that mystic bolts are by their very nature magical means you don't need to worry about piercing DR, only energy resistance, which it's already very helpfully doing. Definitely underpriced.

The Dastard's Smoke Pellets are a fairly cheap 250 item that can be thrown on the ground to make people forget the last minute ever happened. It's a cool item, with one particularly amusing side effect that you yourself are not immune to the effects of the smoke, meaning if you aim it wrong, you could fall prey to it. The smoke pellets, and the False Friend Gloves below it that let you Charm someone with a touch, can also be attuned to by vigilantes, increasing their DC, which is a really cool incentive to use an item as the class that it was intended for without preventing others from using it that I particularly like.

The villainous sample NPC on offer here is the terrifying Red Love, the villain teased in Legendary Vigilante as its NPC's great rival, and I'm going to break my neutral reviewer voice completely here to say, holy crap, I love her. I love everything about her. She's arguably the coolest archetype in the book, the Symbiotic Slayer, she makes good use of the Symbiotic talents, her backstory is compelling, her stat block quote gives me proper chills, and don't even get me started on the art. Her art is god damn gorgeous. Seriously, if nothing else go look at her on the cover art, it's amazing. Okay, back to neutral reviewer voice.

Ultimately, what I've taken away from LV:V is a lot of feats that I'm officially making legal to all vigilantes in all campaigns I run, a lot of talents I'd allow on a case by case basis, and a lot of archetypes that are just too overpowered, headachey, or abusable to let through without serious assurances from the player. Ultimately, I rate a very solid 4/5: worth picking up, but still flawed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Villains: Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Villains: Vigilantes
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2016 19:47:39

Well, I have to say, I've been looking forward to this product for quite a while! Ever since the open playtest, at least.

Each of the arhcetypes here are extremely intruiging for villians (I know, crazy) and just general 'sketchy' characters, but even a goody-goody can get in on the action. A curse turned blessing, perhaps? Regardless, there's lots of fun options, and the myraid of talents and feats added in are even better for creating one's perfect vigilante. Plus, options to make Mystic Bolts (warlock archtype) not suck. What more coud you want?

Well, a little. Despite all the nice things, I do have to admit I'm dissapointed in not seeing quite a few of the other archetypes in the playtest (the tactician, the two dragon related ones, and others). Hopefully they will be officially released at some later date. But that doesn't detrack from my rating, as the content in here is more then enough to satisfy any Vigilante lover.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 292 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG