RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mythic Monsters #36: Mesoamerica
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/24/2016 11:39:35

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 34 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction, 3 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 22 pages of content, so let's take a look!


We begin this installment of the Mythic Monsters-series with an unconventional offering - while the couatl has already been covered in Guardians of Good, this installment features the 10-level Plumed Servant-PrC that gets 1/2 BAB-progression and Will-save progression, 2+Int skills per level, 6/10 levels arcane spellcasting progression. Requiring 5 ranks in various skills and 2nd level arcane spells as well as a roleplaying prereq and 2 languages, these casters get an aura of good and a domain at 1st level and every 3 levels thereafter, though these only grant the domain powers. The spells associated with the domains can be learned as arcane spells when leveling up - and yes, this takes level-discrepancies between spell-lists into account. They gain a feather focus as an arcane bonded item in lieu of a divine focus and may use fly for class level minutes as an extraordinary ability. The higher levels provide detect alignment, stern gaze, scaling bonuses versus grapples and poison, elemental speech and may use plumes instead of potions for several items and they may make celestial armors from couatl feathers and skin instead of from gold. The fly-duration of the wings can btw. also be used as a resource to add metamagic to an array of spells. Detect thoughts, ethereal jaunt, timeless body and unlimited flight (coupled with freedom of movement) complement the PrC. Of course, this is MYTHIC monsters, so it should come as no surprise that full-blown mythic variants of the PrC's tricks have been included...which is nice - overall an okay option with cool flavor, but not a PrC that blew me away.


We are here for something different, right? Yep, the creatures! We begin with a classic: The CR 7/MR 3 Ahuizotl, whose voice mimicry is now supplemented by a fascination-causing illusion that drowns those unhappy enough to subject to it - and also extend its tail to a whopping 30 ft. A solid upgrade. The Cherufe,a t CR 16/MR 6 gets a retributive detonate, may generate ash storms, can throw exploding rocks, cause lava to burst forth by stomping and gets both fiery blood and aura - a great upgrade from the rather uninspired iteration in Bestiary 5 that makes the creature really come into its own!


At low levels, the CR 4/MR 1 chupacabra causes bleed damage and is a superb master of camouflage - and its chupar now causes mythic haste. Nice! The CR 10/MR 4 Guecubu can drag foes hit with it under the earth, burying them - awesome! Oh, and charges from burrowing and an aura of unluck complement another creature that now is a much better representation of the myths associated with it.


CR 21/ MR 8 and thus utterly deadly - the Lusca.Drawing power (and regeneration) from the carnage they inflict, decapitating bites, a mastery of sharks and a mythic-power-upgradeable bleed complement a lethal build. Peuchen get CR 12/MR 5 and may possess animals...and staggers foes that are constricted. With surprising coils, swift action vampiric touch and hypnotic scales, these can be considered, once again, a great upgrade for the base creature. At CR 6/MR 2, the saguaroi can grow additional limbs via mythic power for more slams or find even hidden sources of water - interesting potential ally....but not as cool as the mythic iteration of one of the coolest animals EVER: MYTHIC GIANT MANTIS-SHRIMP. Superb sight, great carapace, iterative pincer attacks (with the option to use mythic power to remove the penalties...) and sonic bursts that accompany their superbly fast strikes (including staggering foes) make this creature...GLORIOUS. And yes, their sight is incredible. Oh, and they get a superb full-color artwork and 3 variants.


The mythic tunche, at CR 21/MR 8 can absorb animals, plants and vermin, instantly killing them and incorporating them into their dread gestalt entity...which also allows them to split into multiple creatures. Oh, and they have a concentration-crippling aura and may use Rise of teh Jungle more than once...OUCH! The option to decrease their required actions for teleports also make them far more deadly than their already cool non-mythic brethren. Even more powerful, the mythic Tzitzimitl clocks in at CR 23/MR 9 and gets a lavish full-page artwork. Great: Eyebeams that combine dispelling, energy drain and damage...brutal. Their deeper darkness causes brutal cold damage, they can convert positive to negative energy and have an ability called apocalyptic harbinger that grants them some serious immunities. I really want to use this beast right now! (And yes, these guys have Sun Eater and Nailed to the Sky...'nuff said.


At the other end of the spectrum, namely at CR 1/MR 1, the xtabay is one of the most disturbing plot creatures I know - and that's all I'm going to say about them. The base creature is great; the mythic upgrade is also great, also thanks to one of several feats provided in this book to supplement the builds, here Mythic Feel Footfall. The CR 5/MR 2 Zuvembie can force the living to heed their call and can use nature's exile and power the undead they can animate as with mythic animate dead. Solid, if comparably less remarkable.


We end this pdf with a true legend - Xipe Totec, golden-skinned and clad in flayed skins. In case you didn't know - this is actually a deity in Aztec mythology, more popularly known as Tezcatlipoca and was the deity of life, death and rebirth. Either a former deity or on the verge of deific ascendancy, this CR 30/MR 10 killer with his flaying criticals, heart eating and the option to infuse creatures with spellcasting capacity, he ranks among the coolest builds in the series AND makes for a superb boss/plot-device...oh, and he's basically impossible to destroy. His artwork, btw., is absolutely awesome.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no grievous glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games two-column full color standard. The original pieces of full color art provided are high-quality and awesome. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Mike Welham and Jason Nelson have crafted a great array of monsters here - while personally, I'm not too blown away by the PrC in the beginning and while a precious few creatures could have used a bit more, as a whole, this is a truly evocative, unique array of adversaries. More important, at least to me as a professed aficionado of Aztec mythology and Mesoamerican folklore, the creatures herein just are infinitely closer to what they ought to be doing. Increasingly, I can observe this series spoiling me horribly regarding monsters - I expect by now that a creature has a couple of unique, flavorful tricks up its sleeve - so much so that the last two bestiaries, from a mechanic point of view, often disappointed me. This pdf's achievement, then, would lie in actually making these evocative, classic and oh so awesome beings finally live up to their myths. Mythic indeed. 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters #36: Mesoamerica
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Kineticists
by Jesse S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2016 15:27:28

I received a review copy of this book, but no other compensation.


This book comes with a lot of content, and new archetypes for non kineticist, but the really cool part was the new mind element. It's more than twice the size of any first party elements and has a huge amount of customization. The wild talents alone left me with a ton of character ideas to play around with, and it has a way more occult feel than the base class, which is nice. Overall, I'd say the Mind element was the really big draw here even if everything else was great, just for the variety of abilities it opened up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Kineticists
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Kineticists
by Andras Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2016 22:45:26

I received a free copy of this product, but it certainly hasn't affected my view of it. N. Jolly, lead author of this product, brings us yet another stunning addition to the Kineticist base class introduced in Occult Adventures, this time published by Legendary Games, who, in my opinion, make excellent quality products with formatting, art, and editing on par with first party publishers.


The seven archetypes are each great in their own way. Two of them, the Awakened Bloodrager and Surge Fist Monk, are pretty run of the mill "base class but altered to have mechanics from another class" archetypes. Which is by no means a bad thing. Kineticist mechanics fit very well into the kits of Bloodragers and Monks, crunch-wise and fluff-wise, creating an interesting new take on ways to play them. The remaining archetypes include the True Psychic, a Kineticist archetype based on using the character's mind to control the world around them AND the minds of others, two bardic archetypes, one for the bard and one for the kineticist, the War Kineticist, and lastly, the Artistic Summoner.


I want to comment on Artistic Summoner in particular, because while at its core it is a "Kineticist with Summoner mechanics" archetype, it makes itself stand out with the path it takes. At its core, it uses CON instead of CHA (somewhat out of necessity), and the summoned creatures are treated as constructs, and doesn't change too much else. However, the direction its flavor took gave birth to the Sculpture Blast, which I think is great and practically iconic of the archetype. Basically, this composite blast creates a temporary lesser simulacrum of the target hit, loyal only to you and with special properties based on your choice of form. Certain talents provide additional options for this blast, and I'm surprised it's optional!


But the juiciest section of this book is the new element, Mind. Don't confuse it for the telekinetic powers of Aether, either. Aether interacts with the environment, while Mind takes the fight straight to your enemy's brain. In a way, it's kind of like certain psionic mechanics.


The book features a hefty selection of new talents and infusions for elements both new and old. While Mind is the clear focus of the product, new Void and Wood content really shines as well. The excellent diversity of options really makes you wish you could take more infusions and talents on kineticists so that you can go full aboleth on the world around you.


Lastly, Legendary Kineticists also features new kineticist-related feats, a few items, and a sample 12th level Neurokineticist character build complete with character background and ways to incorporate it into your game.


All-in-all, an excellent product that I think is well worth adding to your collection. The content provided in this book will open up quite a wealth of options for using kineticists in your games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Kineticists
by Trent H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2016 17:56:38

The amount of new talents here was really awesome, and the mind element has a TON of new talents to help it be bigger than other elements from the start. Loved the archetypes here, war kineticist is gona be something I use a lot. The other archetypes were pretty cool too, surge monk seems really fun, and I actually kind of want to play a gravity based void character with all hte cool stuff for them here. It's definitely a big step up from the wild talents in occult adventures and stuff, and i really hope we see another one of these. aslo the art was just great, loved the samel character too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starfall
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/10/2016 11:08:12

An Endzeitgeist.com review


Okay, this plug-in for Iron Gods...wait. Scratch that. This is basically no plug-in, it's a damn huge expansion. Starfall clocks in at 76 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 2 pages of introduction, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 69 pages of content, so let's take a look!


This module is intended for 13th level characters, who should, in the process of this module, gain about 1.5 levels worth of XP. The pdf provides two technological items, the photon pistol (with stun and kill-settings) and the radiation suit and sports, creature-wise, the toadhemoth, which would be a CR 14 variant of the froghemoth. A mythic creature, the Qomok, first featured in Mythic Monsters: Aliens is also featured in this module with its full and deadly stats. The numerous maps in full color are also featured in player-friendly versions that lack tell-tale keys and legends, which is great indeed to so.


So, that's basically the gist of the basics - in order to go into more detail, I will have to, obviously, go into SPOILER-territory. Potential players should jump to the conclusion to avoid having their experience soured.


...


..


.


All right, only GMs still around? Excellent! The adventure begins inconspicuous enough when the PCs happen upon Kreth, who hails them in order to ask for their assistance: His tribe, the Shadow Crow nomads, have fallen victim to raiding giants that came upon them with a strange, crab-like entity. The expedition to reclaim the kidnapped individuals has, alas, been a total failure and resulted in the deaths of many capable members of the tribe - and this is where the PCs come in, as they track the brutes, deal with a behir in the wings and stumble upon a lethal ambush-site, where the crab-thing has prepared an ambush most lethal, for it is no mind-less brute, but actually one of the dreaded neh-thalggu. The fight is on...and then, something unprecedented happens - a strange silvery egg appears...and the brain collector seems to actually be terrified of it!


The weird apparatus emits a massive blast that paralyzes those hit and then proceeds to accelerate the PCs and the neh-thalggu into orbit, protecting them from the deadly journey...and then the fight ostensibly resumes encased by strange glass walls, as the residents of Ardent Hope observe the strange savages (the PCs) fighting. The Dzjaeri, pale, live-skinned humanoids observe this curious result of the malfunctioning AI within the strange silvery egg. After hostilities are resolved, the strange observes open communications, informing the PCs of the need to sterilize them before flooding the chamber with a strange, sickening hazard before opening the secured arrival rooms...and beginning negotiations. One of the Dzjaeri apologies for the inconvenience imposed upon the PCs (though they are held at gun-point for now) and explains their situation: It seems like the probe that brought the PCs to the Ardent Hope has been destroyed...which sees them stranded in orbit. Yay.


Things are even better - you see, the Ardent Hope is basically toast at this point: The Dzjaeri can't colonize and move down to Golarion since a bacterium that exists there triggers lethal brain aneurysms in their kind - and the neh-thalggu's collected brains seem to offer a means or at least a lead on how to fix this issue...for it's only a matter of time before the ship ceases to function. A previous malfunction has already compromised the Terrestial Enclosure and tainted it with the bacterium and, what's worse, neh-thalggus have actually escaped. 8 of them. The reactor has went offline as well and the air and nutrient processors went offline with it. Thousands of their people, still in cryogenic sleep, await a grim end indeed.


The deal offered by the Dzjaeri Jathis is simple: Eliminate the escaped neh-thalggus, secure the brains and reactivate the failed systems and he'll awaken an engineer and have him prepare an escape pod for the PCs. Sounds like a cake-walk, right? Well...no. The Ardent Hope, depicted in lavish detail, has visited quite a few worlds before it started to fall apart to this extent and thus, the terrestal enclave now houses some rather interesting creatures, like aforementioned toadhemoth, lethal flora or plant-elk herds. Aurumvoraxes and lukwatas complement the trip through jungles most alien and the hidden control room now sports an assortment of the dreaded brain-collectors.


Interesting, btw. - repairing the service lift etc. - all of that is not the finale. Not even close to it. A) The PCs won't find the neh-thalggu...at least not all of them. B) the qomok I mentioned before? Well. Now awake. And suddenly the timer starts ticking, mercilessly towards extinction, as the stardrive's self-destruct sequence has been initiated. You know, the drive that keep the huge asteroid-space-station afloat in orbit? Yes, this is a problem - a huge one. Worse yet, the countdown means that the PCs, from now on, must hurry - and the cat-and-mouse game has now been extended to also including a transdimensonal entity that basically is a take on Carpenter's "Thing" or dead Space's dread Necromorphs - the entity tries to assimilate basically anything it can get in its dread clutches. It is powerful (mythic even). It's smart and deadly - but for now, the PCs will have to brave hull breaches and tackle varied technologies in order to prevent the Ardent Hope from plunging drive-less into Golarion.


Whether you integrate the qomok hunt (and their gambit to make landfall and spread on Golarion...) into this frantic series of events or restructure it to do the action first and then the bug hunt, the module does accommodate for that. Speaking of which: Realize how my own review so far assumes, at least to some extent, cooperation with the Dzjaeri? Well, while this may be the default assumption of the module, it is by far not the only playstyle covered. My own players are far too mistrusting (and have, imho correctly, deduced that the Dzjaeri may well pose a threat to Golarion in the long run...brains and stuff...) and promptly turned upon them. The interesting component here may well be that a couple of unique robots and stats for the NPCs, security nodes etc. can also make this module work as a free for all, though this playstyle requires a slightly more experienced GM. Why does this work? Well, because the Ardent Hope actually sports A LOT of material regarding its environments, unique challenges and hazards and entities . you are not reduced to following the proposed script here, though this still feels very much like a story-driven module.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no grating accumulations of glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games' beautiful two-column full-color standard and the pdf sports numerous artworks in full color, all of which are excellent, though fans of LG may know some of them from previous publications. The cartography is extensive and neat in its attention to detail, though not as impressive as the artwork. Still - the player-friendly maps are a huge boon and make for neat handouts!


What happens when Tom Philips and Mike Welham join forces? Awesome, that's what. Starfall is a massive module with potentially apocalyptic consequences, should the PCs fail. While the beginning is a classic, lackluster-looking bait-and-switch, that is by design and interesting. The new race/culture depicted herein is equal parts interesting and disturbing and would make for a great cast of allies...or villains. The use of the powerful entities, the switching of tempos from exploration to frantic hustling for one's life and the different themes evoked throughout the module nonetheless coalesce into a concise whole that makes for a long, fun module that not only works within Iron Gods, but makes for a pretty seamless insertion into most campaigns - though, obviously, characters even halfway capable regarding technology should be assumed. Then again, PCs that do not try to eradicate the Dzjaeri always have these guys to fall back on, which means that not even this is a requirement.


All in all, this module is fun, diverse, has some unique challenges and plenty of potential to be customized for various vastly diverging playstyles. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starfall
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Monsters #35: Demons Too
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/09/2016 05:53:43

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 32 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 21 pages of content, so let's take a look!


This time around, we begin this installment with a nice piece of introductory prose before diving right into the creatures, the first of which would be the CR 4/MR 1 Abrikandilu, whose theme of vanity/destruction has been amplified to being able to twist reflections of targets and mutilate those hapless creatures seeking to do battle with this spawn of the abyss - great low CR/MR-demon!


The CR 6/MR 2 Brimorak's smoke breath can now choke its victims and its general modifications are solid as well - particularly since its smoke vision means that it is not hampered by its own tricks. At CR 3/MR 1, the mythic iteration of the cambion gets sinfrenzy - with each deadly sin aligned with a class, granting appropriate bonuses. Similarly, the sin-theme extends to a trick that lets the cambion destabilize persons and make their ID run rampant. This take on the cambion is absolutely superb and fun - two thumbs up!! Similarly cool at the same CR/MR: dretches now can instill sloth in creatures and may use miserable pity/unadulterated loathing - once again, great way to upgrade classics!


The mythic coloxus at CR 15/MR 6 gets a death attack, a Cha-drain-causing bite, can mesmerize targets with his drone and perform a particularly powerful possession -and yes, this is a great, flavorful upgrade. The CR 12/MR 5 Derakni may only get one new ability, but that one is awesome - a detachable vescavor swarm aura! Yes, damn cool! The CR 23/MR 9 Gallu increase teamwork feat efficiency for demons and provide bonuses...and their total statblock + abilities cover 2 pages. With [good] and[lawful]-inhibiting aura, mythic power-based resurrection of demonic allies and storms of blood and eruptions of wounds, these commanders of the abyss are fearsome beasts to behold!


The disgusting Gibrileth can enhance SPs to become mythic and generate tumor familiars and make them die for himself...and use them as clones. Oh, and acidic flesh-eating tumors. EW. (And I mean that as a true compliment!) The Kithangian clocks in at CR 11/MR 4 and is glorious - with adamantine chitin and touch-based tongue-attacks that draw forth the target's bestial impulses, this is, once again, a great upgrade for the base creature. (FYI: Combat-capabilities are enhanced as well, thanks to two mythic feats reprinted here - Crippling Grip and Savage Grip.)


The CR 5/MR 2 Schir can steal style or teamwork feats, causes healing-resistant wound and moves unimpeded through difficult terrain, upgrading the pretty soulless base creature into a cool and valid threat. At CR 18/MR 7, the Seraptis draws healing from bleeding damage, has a powerful means of controlling foes and a gaze attack that instills suicidal urges...and yes, while here we have more of an upgrade instead of a reinvention, it is a feasible and cool upgrade. The CR 20/MR 8 iteration of the mythic shemhazian, on the other hand, is finally more than just a shredder - with an apex predator's power, retribution for critical hits (take that, crit-fisher builds!) and the option to mirror rages and similar effects, this demon now finally has a proper, unique identity. And yes, the brutal melee capacity of the beast has been enhanced as well Two thumbs up!


The pdf, of course, also features a new demon: The CR 9/MR 3 Skrekalga, which looks a bit like a mutated aardvark-humanoid/osyluth hybrid with a stinger-like protusion instead of a mouth -I'm not sure whether I consider these demons goofy or disturbing - but focus and puckered fingers probably will make the latter - for these creature fuel the darkest of obsessions with their auras, contagious compulsions and the option to telepathically instill seeds of darkest desires. These demons can conceivably turn nations against one another and are, ultimately, disturbing and dangerous foes and a welcome addition to the roster of the abyssal hordes.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no grievous glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games two-column full color standard. The original of full color art provided are high-quality and awesome, though fans of Legendary Games will know quite a few of them from previous publications. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Jason Nelson, Alistair Rigg, Steven T. Helt, Todd Stewart, Jim Groves, Nicolas Logue - these gentlemen have crafted a selection of demons that mops the floor with its predecessor - which, back what seems like ages ago, was the first Mythic Monsters-selection. Particularly in the instances where bland, identity-less cannon-fodder or simple "I kill you"-creatures have been taken and made into something unique and evocative, this pdf shines. A lot of the mythic demons herein lend sorely needed identities and unique tricks to the creatures, making them worthy of scorn and hatred...and making them feel more demonic. These are not kind "I kill you"-demons - these guys feel more like the darkness of the Warhammer universe, like things you should FEAR. I LOVE this pdf for that!


There is another reason I love this pdf: The collective theme and style of the demons herein - it may be coincidence or intention...but know what this pdf is? It's the "Make WotR not suck anymore"-toolkit. Take this and Path of Villains and bolster the sorely outclassed demonic hordes of the worldwound and actually make the PCs struggle. Seriously...any WotR-GM should consider this a must-buy book.


How to rate this? Well, while I wasn't too impressed by the introductory fiction this time around, that is more than made up for by the sheer awesomeness of practically all builds in this book. 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters #35: Demons Too
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Monsters #34: Egypt
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/07/2016 03:37:28

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 34 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction, 3 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 22 pages of content, so let's take a look!


We begin this pdf, as has become the tradition, with supplemental material - which, this time around, would actually be mythic upgrades for two class options: The first would a mythic modification of the archaeologist bard archetype - though, to nitpick, the wording of some class feature could be a bit of streamlining - one ability, for example, notes that the bonus granted caps at +5 at 22nd and +6 at 27th level - since the latter obviously is the intended maximum, the previous assertion that the 22nd level is the maximum makes less sense. A relic regarding precise pages can also be found, with "XXX" denoting a placeholder that awaits the reference in the mythic hero's handbook. Other than these gripes, the mythic adaptation of the archetype is solid. Secondly, there would be a take on the living monolith that significantly expands its flavor - not only are the SPs codified in a tight, mythic upgraded manner, even classics like stability and the Ka/ib-stone abilities gain upgrades and calling forth mythic sphinxes is pretty cool as well. No complaints about this one!


But, ultimately, we're here for the creatures, right? Well, we begin this book with the Ahkhat at CR 5/MR 2 - these beings have no true body, instead deriving its form from the structure inhabited, which also provides them with a means to perform devastating hit and run attacks. Their slams can turn victims into bas-reliefs through which the entity can observe its victims. Sheer brilliance - they can assume trap-forms and also sport cool prose via their keystones - a superb boss/puzzle creature to face in the best old-school tradition.


At CR 12/MR 5, the crocodile skull-headed cursed king, lavishly rendered in a gorgeous full-page artwork is no less awesome - with a nasty dying curse, an aura that can dominate the weak-willed and means of crippling the healing options of a party via channel energy, they are glorious - particularly since worshipping these false prophets can increase their power.


The Werecrocodile comes in two iterations - a CR 4/MR 1 base form and the CR 11/MR 4 brawler 9 that further increases the potency of these dread adversaries. While mythic lycanthropy has been covered in its own mythic mini and the mythic monster manual, the required rules for MR 4 lycanthropes are duplicated herein for your convenience. These rules are great, though personally, I still maintain that separate bloodlines/ability-arrays for lycanthropes of different breeds would have been a cooler way than Paizo's relatively bland streamlining of lycanthropy. Then again, I can't fault this pdf for this conviction, but still am left with the feeling that mythic upgrades would have been a cool way to further customize werecrocodile and set them even further apart.


The CR 7/MR 3 mythic maftet gets the proper, full-blown upgrade we've come to love from this series - beyond upgrades of signature tricks, storing spells in its tattoos, mythic power-based additional options for the raptor dive and the option to steal hearts (!!!) from creatures render these guys as awesome as their mythological contemporaries and make this the definite incarnation of the creature for me.


At CR 14/MR 5, the pharaonic guardian can be bound to structures exceeding its limit, gains an immediate action curse, proper magical equipment and it can intrude upon thoughts of trespassers. Better, they can animate the objects they were supposed to guard and fire lines of negative levels-bestowing blasts.


The scarab beetle swarm at CR 4/MR 1 is a great example of good mythic vermin/animal design - function-oriented, yet deadly: attuned to the taint of the tomb, these scarabs are particularly deadly. The CR 5/MR 2 mythic version of the Sha not only gains a gefuddling gaze, its sandstorm also is more deadly and suffused with electricity...and yes, the disease gets an upgrade. Nice, if a bit conservative upgrade of the base creature. Then again, at +2 CR/+1 MR a sacred variant is provided that can smite unbelievers - including a mythic variant of the Step Up feat.


Obviously, no Egyptian-themed monster-collection would be complete without sphinxes - at CR 11/MR 4, the androsphinx gets no less than three unique riddle-based abilities that allow for control over fate, pose a riddle pertaining spells, which unanswered, allows them to duplicate them (AWESOME blending of metagame and game) or basically use a rock-paper-scissors-like ability - really a huge fan of this one - it's unique and the blending of riddles with game-mechanics makes the sphinx stand out as simply awesome. And yes, the unique roar of the androsphinx receives a mythic upgrade as well.


At CR 9/MR 4, the criosphinx gets a similarly superb upgrade - playing bowling with the victims of its gore, consuming wealth - very cool. The old flavor of them being susceptible to the wiles of leonine creatures also receives the much overdue mechanical representation here, returning the creature to the unique identity it once had. The CR 6/MR 2 Hieracosphinx fall a bit by the wayside in comparison to these two brilliant sphinxes, though the mythic power based shriek-enhancer and the option to make its shadow a tool for rendering foes shaken is cool. At the same CR/MR, the uraeus is always an oracle and gains all-around vision and is practically impossible to pin down.


The final creature herein would be the CR 17/MR 7 Ammut - an unsettling, powerful magical beast blended between lion, crocodile and hippopotamus that not only has a conical cone of fear, it can tear out the hearts of the living, shed its fluid skin and generate a blend of a powerful heartbeat and roar that causes devastating damage. Instruments of divine judgment, these creatures are immune to abilities based on alignment or creature type, can send curses back to their originators and blend quarry with the inflicting of negative levels - a true beauty of a deadly adversary!


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no grievous glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games two-column full color standard. The original pieces of full color art provided are high-quality and awesome. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Jason Nelson, Mike Welham, Alex Riggs and Jen Page have crafted an overall awesome collection of mythic adversaries. While the supplemental material this time is not as awesome as in some installments and while I wasn't blown away by all critters, there are ample herein that truly rank among the best in the whole series - the androsphinxes and their riddle mechanics, for one, are absolutely brilliant and creatures like the cursed king and the ahkhat or ammut alone justify getting this one. When it shines, it shines very, very brightly - hence, in spite of some minor flaws, I still feel justified in rating this 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5, with the genius of some creatures herein being responsible for the seal of approval the book would have otherwise lost.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters #34: Egypt
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Monsters #33: Norse
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/03/2016 07:49:17

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 34 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 23 pages of content, so let's take a look!


Okay, we begin this installment of mythic monsters not with feats or the like - no, we begin this with a pretty glorious array of monster options - namely 3 templates. It should be noted that both this series' installment on giants and colossal threats work exceedingly well with these: Two are relatively simple: The MR 1 CR +1 Runecaster and Tricksome Traveler templates are neat - beyond codifying teh tropes of the runecaster like absorbing magic and that of the trickster traveler with many faces that can't be tied down, they are cool. More interesting than those two (which are already pretty damn cool), at least to me, would be the MR 3 CR +3 Jotun Thane template, which requires the base creature already have the giant and jotunblood giant templates - generating a mass of difficult terrain, unshakeable and suffused with mythic might conspire to make this template one of my go-to-upgrades for the often rather weak builds of giants in published modules. The pdf also sports some advice for building not yet fully grown linnorms, including an array of abilities associated with them -once again providing a helpful, cool selection of options for the GM.


But we're all here for the monsters, right? So let's see what this has to offer: We begin with the Cr 12/MR 5 Einherji: Beyond making the Challenge of Single Combat, the base creature's signature ability more potent, these beings gain a complex, evocative form of ecstatic rage - including mythic power-based option to insert intervals of calm. Oh, and they are potent versus giants and emit an appropriately unearthly golden aura. All in all, a thoroughly well-crafted upgrade for a cool base creature. One of the most popular and well-known legends in the North pertains to the waterfall-inhabiting Fossegrim, which is represented here in a CR 5/MR 2-iteration that features a powerful means of inciting unnatural lust as well as powerful, water-based abilities, the option to assume treasure forms and gain strange gifts from these watery tempters. The additional abilities here deserve special mention, for they allow the crature to function as our own mythology dictates instead of as a slimmed down version. The creature also comes with a neat full-color artwork, just fyi.


At the same CR and MR, the mythic Huldra is upgraded by getting increases of the base creature's abilities as well as access to a captivating song ability, once again coming closer to the real world mythological approximations. And then, there are the linnorms - and boyo, are they impressive: The cairn linnorm clocks in at CR 22/MR 9 and wrecks terrain as easily as the walking dead - it can even consume ghosts and become incorporeal! And you thought corporeal dragons were bad news... The CR 17/MR 7 crag linnorm may ignite creatures with his breath or poison and turn even exceedingly potent metal items into useless slag. This would btw. as good a place as any to comment on the options to enhance linnorm death curses with mythic power to really make the slayers rue the day they buried their weapons in the body of these fearsome predators.


The fjord linnorm clocks in at CR 20/MR 8 may forego tail attacks in favor of lethal blasts of water and devastate whole coastlines with their mythic power-enhanced tidal waves. They btw. also get a 1-page artwork. The ice linnorm at CR 21/ MR 8 can encapsulate itself in a powerful ice shell, greatly increasing the staying power of these adversaries...oh, and said shell can be detonated in an eruption of devastating shards. The CR 23/MR 9 Taiga linnorm can extend its spikes and awaken the forests to annihilate the foolish mortals that dared to intrude upon their territory. The CR 25/MR 10 tarn linnorm can not only use multiple breath weapon forms, it can modify the cooldown of them via the surge die - which is an awesome idea!. Oh, and assuming a fluid form makes them more durable and dangerous...not that their lethal build would have required that, mind you!


The legendary norns, at CR 22/MR 9, lavishly depicted with a great piece of full color artwork, receives all the powerful abilities associated with the threads of fate - these can be manipulated to exert control over mortals...and manipulated to destroy them. Their shears are brutal and...snipping the threads is actually represented via a powerful save-or-die ability with a cooldown...nasty! At CR 10/MR 4 the svartalfar all get death attacks and may deliver a select array of SPs via a quickened variant of spellstrike...and their shadow dodge can be used more often via mythic power. The absolutely lavishly-rendered CR 15/MR 6 mythic valkyrie can negate death effects, fight on when mortals would have been eviscerated and they have a cool blessing that renders them nigh-unstoppable through metal...oh, and they can properly evoke the memories of battles once fought, both with magic and their powerful skald abilities...and constitute the very best take on the concept I have ever seen for any d20-iteration. Pure awesomeness that is only enhanced by the glorious artwork. While no Sleipnir is in here, an artwork of the creature can btw. be found.


And then there would be a single creature, which, on its own, is already more than ample reason to get this pdf - the most majestic build for the Fenris Wolf I have ever seen -at CR 30/MR 10, this beast can bite of hands (Hej Baldr!), emit a dread howl, grow to Huge size, create friggin' rivers with his saliva, burst forth with ridiculous speed, control all kinds of wolves - glorious. The one-page artwork of the chained wolf, standing in a sea of blood and armors of the slain is probably one of the coolest renditions of the creature I have ever seen. On a minor nitpick - two paragraphs of its fluff are bolded when they shouldn't be - but that's cosmetic.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no grievous glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games two-column full color standard. The original pieces of full color art provided are high-quality and awesome - particularly the one-page full-color picture of the Fenris Wolf is simply awesome -if I had the financial means, I'd hang that as an original in print in my home...yeah, that awesome. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Mike Welham, Jason Nelson, Alistair Rigg - gentlemen, you did it. Whenever I think I have seen the best this series has to offer, you one-up yourselves. The linnorms herein are consistent and sport similar abilities, but also feature very distinct and unique modifications. The supplemental templates are great. The artworks are simply superb (Kudos to Michael Jaecks, Matt Lewis, Chris McFann, Andrea Saavedra and Tanyaporn Sangsnit!) and the builds are as brutal as northern mythology. When I return to the savage north with my campaigns, be it via the Northlands Saga or AAW games' frontier-modules in Rybalka, I'll take this book and cackle with glee - what is in here simply makes you gush, grin and dream about the evocative, legendary confrontations awaiting -a true beauty, well worth a final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters #33: Norse
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Occult Archetypes
by N. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2016 07:21:08

Note: I received a review copy of this book, but no other compensation. I did provide feedback on the Focus Kineticist, and this review will only be focusing on Kineticist content.


What I liked


-Glad to see the notes I gave on the Focus Kineticist helped. While the damage of this archetype will probably be lower than that of others, the utility given to it is certainly going to help, and the flavor of it certainly helps make for a more memorable character. With the enhanced internal buffer, you'll also have more chances to use your utility wild talents, giving you more chances to cut loose with game changing effects.


-With the God-Touched Kineticist, a small change helps make for an interesting archetype, feeling flavorful without overpowering the player. It's a rather large archetype, but takes up little space to explain, which is nice. Revelations don't even feel out of place with the kineticist, instead feeling like a welcome change.


-The Primal Kineticist is really a much better healer than the kinetic chirurgeon archetype, although much like normal, going negative is going to be bad for you. I think the flavor here is a little off, and that the name doesn't exactly fit what it's going for, but that doesn't stop it from being mechanically sound.


-Infuse Weapon is an interesting way of boosting damage, and one I think the class needed. Antilife shell was a nice inclusion, although I personally think antiundeath shell should have been lower level due to its lesser utility. Deathsight is nice and thematic here, as is dimensional anchor and aura, although I feel like anchor would have been better as an infusion. Hide from undead is another that isn't super clear about the connection, but I don't care because it's sweet. And I love me some wall walker.


What I was indifferent towards


-I want to like Poisoned Earth, but at the same time it's a situational archetype with some exclusive wild talents that I think should have been in the archetype rather than listed at the end, making them feel like general infusions. For the games that it works in, it'll be nice, but that number isn't exactly huge.


-We all saw acid blast coming, but taking it doesn't put any new infusions on earth's talent list, meaning RAW you can only get some of these by going water and taking them for that blast. A simple house rule to add them to your list when you select acid blast, but it's still an issue.


-Things like corruption resistance and detect radiation are standard, nice filler talents here. Gravitic leaper makes sense, although I'd have liked to have seen aether be able to share with gravitic pack horse. Amusing that irradiate specifically says 'please don't use this!' The rest of the radiation themed things are okay, but it's nothing game changing, and the water talents do well for a game specializing in it.


-While I like the amount of art, so much of it is just dark and hard to see.


What I didn't like


-Just a minor gripe, but the text felt a tad small.


-The Mystical Kineticist is just a straight upgrade, and lacks any real flavor to it. It feels like there's too much design space left untapped here, playing around with other features that could help to flesh out this archetype in my opinion.


-The Psychic Kineticist seems promising, but the mechanics for its spell list are just too daunting for me to want to try and make my way through. While thematic, the difference in power between getting wizard conjuration (creation) spells and earth elemental specialist spells is a rather large gap, and the M.(ulti) A.(ttribute) D.(ependency) issues that the class has due to needing both intelligence and constitution make for a difficult archetype to suggest.


-I'm just not a fan of acidic boost. I know that it was done as a space saver, I can recognize that, but I would have really liked to have seen some more composites in its place, as acid doesn't have the same feel as aether or negative energy in the sense of boosting. Add to that there's not even an acid/earth composite, and this feels like too much of a throw in to be worth considering.


-Eveneration feels so off to give when we already have an infusion that does the same thing, and the 1/day targeting limit just kills this for me. I don't really understand hide from animals as a wood talent either, although wood's hard to work with, so I can't be too harsh. Plane Shift also feels a little wonky to me.


Final Thoughts


From the perspective of just a kineticist player, you will easily get your money's worth from this product. The bad part aren't enough to ruin the book, the average parts are nice for less conventional players, and the good parts of it help expand the class in a way that it hasn't seen before while still keeping to the theme of the book. Nothing in here is a huge departure from what you're used to, making it a solid product all around for something not dedicated to only one class.


As a whole, I'd give this book a solid 4 out of 5, as there were some ideas I would have liked to have expanded on (acid blast), but there's also a lot of nice content in here that can really help you shape a better kineticist.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Occult Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Hybrids: Deadeye Hexer
by N. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2016 07:19:30

So what we have here is a hybrid mixing gunslinger and witch, which isn't the most intuitive combination around. But to be fair, I consider that a strength, as it's overall an interesting combination of two wildly different styles done in an intriguing fashion.


What I liked


-The art for the book is just aces, definitely a big plus while looking through it, and something I can appreciate.


-The bullet hexes are just cool, they are. I absolutely love the visual image given for the speak with dead one.


"Well Slinger, they ain't gonna talk now. They're dead."


Pistol whips corpse


"Yes they will."


-While I would chide Paizo for not creating a unique spell list, this product gets a pass on that, as the witch list is very interesting for a character like this.


-Firearm familiar is just sick. Like it just is. Mechanically it's not too different, but flavor wise, it feels like playing a black blade with a far more gritty companion. The mechanics for it are just fun in such a flavorful and useful way that it's hard for me to praise this enough.


-Desperation spell is probably going to be what you use 90% of your mana using (mana=grit), which isn't a bad thing, it's a fun ability, but just warning you now.


-While less than practical, Eldritch Aim is just another thing I love thematically, as it helps you 'feel' the part. I feel like the first version shouldn't have a mana cost, but the second easily should.


-The rest of the new deads are flavorful and fun, although not as much as the previously mentioned ones.


-Okay, the fact that there are custom patrons for the class is a huge boost in my opinion. Something like that really helps draw me into the 'lore' of the class, making it feel more unique even if they're using a previously implemented mechanic. Also the art on that page helps sell the mood even better.


-The hexslinger archetype is hype to the point where I could see it being the base class, but I understand why it's not. It's more magus in feel, but it again helps provide such a cool visual that it's hard not to enjoy.


What I didn't like


-Some of the type setting just seems slightly off. Not enough to ruin the book, just a minor annoyance.


-Bullet Hex's description is a bit vague. I'm assuming it goes off of the witch rule about not being able to target a creature with hexes multiple times per day, but for some of these bullet hexes, that seems needlessly limiting, such as with hard rain or blowback bullet.


-Just me being greedy, but I'd have liked more bullet hexes, since they're a fun idea.


Final Thoughts
There's a lot to like about this class, but to be fair, I love guns and would put hexes on everything as an archetype if I could. There's a few typos and such in there, but nothing that really detracts from the product. Also I think the right call was made making this a 3/4ths BAB class, as it really takes advantage of firearms being touch attacks. Little sad there wasn't a crossbow archetype, but I can completely understand why there wasn't. A few more feats/archetypes/bullet hexes would have been nice, but maybe we'll see them as an expansion down the road.


Finding a place for a class like this might be an issue if you have a "LOTR ONLY!" style GM, but for those who are willing to bend on the rules a bit, this is a solid class that have a lot of fun content to explore.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Hybrids: Deadeye Hexer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Beasts of Legend: Beasts of the East
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/11/2016 02:41:29

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This bestiary by Legendary Games/Jade Regent-plug-in clocks in at 28 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page introduction, 1 page SRD, 3 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 17 pages of raw content, so let's take a look!


So, what do we get herein? The oomphteenth version of the Yuki-no-onna? Nope, this is a bestiary of Legendary Games, after all. In an interesting take on the concept of monsters, this supplement begins by talking a bit about the real-world inspirations of some of these creatures...and guess what? They are more often than not new to me.


Take the naga on the cover - inspired by snakes in the Mekong river, these CR 5 nagas get fire resistance, fast swimming and an array of spells - which, strangely, feature several "3/4"s before spell names in an uncommon formatting glitch that extends to other creatures. The naga's poison causes fire damage, which is an interesting twist, but overall, I wasn't too blown away by this one. Next up is the CR 8 Neak Ta Kami - an innocuous piece of wood with a painted face on some bricks with twigs. Cute, small...and will mess you up if you: With superb telekinetic abilities and a devastating 3/day cyclone while within reach of its ward, these kami are benevolent and sweet...but if you try to destroy them...well. Don't.


The Kmoch Pray (CR 11) is creepy. Really creepy. Think of a tree covered in caustic, yellow sap that can fling it in globs...oh, and it has deadly, scythe-like claws...as well as a weakness to positive energy. Absolutely unique, creative and awesome - glorious critter! Speaking of "never saw that one before" - the Kting Voar (CR 4), a bovine beast whose horns erupt from bones is a great example of good animal design: Powerful and all about sensible abilities, using reinforced horns, tough skin and trampling to defeat its foes.


This one, I've seen before, though: The Bakeneko Oni (CR 3) is pretty much a staple of Japanese mythology and one that ultimately has me surprised it has not been done by Paizo at this point. Anyways, think of them as maleficent halfling-sized cats that can stand upright with a scoiopathic rictus-grin. With some nasty, stealth-enhancing SPs as well as the option to denote creatures as marked by their envy, they are a nice take on the evil trickster. At CR 6, the Yeren Oni would be the embodiment of the excessive need to withdraw from society to live in the woods...and while that's a black metal cliché, it's one I can empathize with. Basically, think of these fellows as a cross between the sasquatch and an oni, with appropriate nature-themed SPs and the option to create scrawlings that confuse the happless traveler AND then erases their memory. This one ability makes this creature stand out for me - you can make a really nasty investigation out of this premise.


Okay, so what about a turtle with a crystalline shell that has a powerful weapon embedded in its back? (Sword in the stone? Who needs a sword in the stone when you can have a sword from a turtle!) These creatures are the Quyrua (CR 6) and they are the caretakers of the magical weapons embedded in them - they are sentient and honorable stewards and may allow creatures to draw their weapon - but are slain in the process. Very cool idea here!


The final creature in this book would be the Sirin-Po (CR 7) - ghoul aristocrats that rose from the dead as a result of being slain in what they perceive as a "dishonorable death", these gangly-limbed monsters now prey on fear, causing panic with attacks from their grotesquely elongated limbs and gaining bonuses versus creatures suffering from fear-based conditions.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, though not as exceedingly tight as usual for Legendary Games. Layout adheres to a two-column full-color standard and the pdf's artists William Hendershot, Michael Jaecks, Jason Juta, Stephen Najarian and Rian Trost deserve a special shout-out: Each of these creatures gets a great one page artwork in gorgeous full color. And boy, these artworks make for great hand-outs. This pdf may be worth it for the artworks alone. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Additionally, it should be noted that we get an additional pdf containing paper pawns for the creatures herein - kudos for going the extra mile here. Thuston Hillman's beasts from the east constitute a cool little bestiary: When he gets creatures right, they are absolutely awesome; in particular the more unique ones make sense and a sufficient elaboration on their respective modus operandi provides ideas for enterprising GMs to use them. At the same time, though, I do feel that this pdf does not reach the lofty heights of some other bestiaries from Legendary Games - the naga, bakeneko and the sirin-po feel like they fall a bit short of being as unique as their concepts warrant. Make no mistake, though - at the low price-point, this book is most certainly a steal and a great addition to your bestiary-arsenal. My final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up due to in dubio pro reo...and the fact that this provides some cool critters I haven't seen before.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts of Legend: Beasts of the East
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hypercorps 2099
by Jay N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2016 18:28:40

I'll skip the stats that Endzeitgeist typically gives on the assumption that Thilo G. will handle that and instead give my thoughts on each chapter of the book


Chapter 1: Hyper Gaming:
First page we get a general sales pitch of the setting and some notes involving the expectations of the players/gm when they play/run a story with this book. Some warnings about power levels, general theme and risks that may differ from a typical Pathfinder play experience.
From there you get this timeline of earth with the assumption that any point in time before the first entry lines up with what we have in the real world. It is colorful, a fun read and draws me in with the basic information on a global scale to make this world feel real without becoming a history textbook. You get mutants, super powers, spells, mega-corps, virtual reality, time travel.
Finally in this chapter we get a couple brief boxes involving exchange rates of Dollars and Gp and a small list of lingo for this world.
Right from the get go I am getting this vibe in flavor of the general feel of Champions (from HERO System) or Mutants and Masterminds meets Shadowrun.


Chapter 2: A Hyper World:
First Page goes back to manging expectations on the universe and how it differs from your typical Pathfinder experience involving things we might take for granted (Travel) as well as how to reflavor prexisting classes to fit.
The Hypernet: For those who play Shadowrun this is their The Matrix. The time difference is less out of wack between time flow on the net and on the prime and each of the servers use Planar Traits already existing in Pathfinder and a few new ones to handle the unique traits on each server, going as far as to create a unique server for Mike Meyler's other product using the Veranthea Codex.
Murder-Ball: A sport that has the flavor of GW's Bloodbowl if cranked up to 11. A full list of simple rules are given with a chart to represent regional/league differences around the world.
We're given a tour key points around the globe ranging from the sample City of Cleaveland 2099 to the Hypercorperate Megametropolis of Lucrum. Most of this is only useful if you use this as your gaming universe but there are bits and pieces in these sections to part out into your own world quite easily.


Chapter 3: Organizations
This comes in mostly two parts: Organizations and Hypercorporations
For those familiar with Shadowrun Hypercorps are the AAA Megacorps of this universe. Globally reaching and are above the concepts of the laws of sovereign nations. Organizations are very much like Pathfinder's factions, just on a larger scale ranging from Anonymous (yes, that one) to the Church of Cthulhu to The Triad. In concept reading these seems very silly, but taking the setting as a whole it fits the very Over The Top feeling that's being built up here.


Chapter 4: Operating Cast
A sort of NPC Codex built into this book for all the mentioned NPCs throughout the book, with CRs ranging from CR 7 to CR 33 (with one at CR 20/ Mythic Rank 10). A nice touch giving you a series of tools from the get go, a few very humorous like the a certain CR 15 member of Zodiac Defenders to the serious business Hyper Vampire listed.


Chapter 5: Hyper Bestiary
Front loaded with a collection of templates to augment monsters from other Bestiaries/NPCs to fit in this setting both in sense of power and theme. Afterwards it's a mixture of humanoid generic NPCs and quite a few Constructs/Robots.
As a huge fan of the Netjacker (a class appearing later in this book) free PDF when I first saw it the one minor gripe I have here might be when they give sample Proxy and Drone monstersmaybe a step by step on how to reassemble these or even at various breakpoints. Maybe a feature to be added in a future product?


Chapter 6: Gamemastering:
Ah, hard crunch for all the fluff we receive in chapters 1-3.
Rules for Bullet Armor Class, rules I think I will be adopting in normal Pathfinder games to help balance a personal issue I had with them in the base Pathfinder game
New/Adjusted Skills: Perception is removed, replaced by Awareness (Wis) and Search (Int) while Climb and Swim are squished into Athletics (Str) with Knoweldge Technology, Use Technology and Vehicular Control rounding up the cast of skills.
Luck and Reputation: 2 new ability scores added to our base 6 (Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, Intelligence, Wisdom and Charisma) that are derived from a different formula than through typical ability score generation methods. They kind of round out the more out there requests people can make in a t ypical table and give resources in the form of "Chance" and "Sway" points for Luck and Reputation respectively that can be spent, regenerating back each day/week.
Within this GM section it mentions rules for powered teamwork allowing your party to develop neat tricks very much like in DC Comics with Superboy and Robin doing the 'Fastball Special', reminds the reader that the the intent is for a high paced action oriented game.
Afterwards we get some sample traps and rules how to make hyper traps, suggestions for eras of play ranging from the late 1800's to Current day 2099+


Chapter 7: Hyper Classes:
An Archetype for the Monk, Ninja, Cavalier (complete with new Order), and Netjacker each with their own unique feeling that fits quite well.
Two New Classes in the shape of the Netjacker and the Veloces.


The Netjacker: The master hacker/robot controller, coming in with his own full suite of drones and proxy.
3/4 BaB, Good Ref, Good Will. D6 HD. 2 + Int Mod skill points and a solid Skill List.
As you progress your Drones/Proxy improve as well does your prowess in operating on the Hypernet/Dealing with other robots. For a Shadowrun Player this will feel like playing a Decker/Rigger without potentially spending an entire night doing your thing while the party waits.


Veloces: 3/4 BaB, Good Fort, Good Ref, d8 HD, 4+Int Mod, another solid skill list.
The quintessential speedster. If you ever wanted to play as The Flash/Quicksilver, this alone can give you the tools that you need. However to keep up in a world where wizards can rewrite campaigns at a whim at higher levels you get the ability to apply your speed to operating magic items from potions to wondrous items to staves/wands, firing off multiple per round.


Chapter 8: Hyper Equipment
Here we get a new material (arcanosteel), advanced craftsmanship rules that work like (and stack with) enchanting magic weapons/armor rules.
We get another version of Armor giving Damage Reduction compared to what Pathfinder has as an option, allowing you to pay a little extra to reduce the item's armor bonus to instead give DR.
Cybernetics: Should feel familiar if you've looked through Pathfinder's Technology guide however there appear to be no Implement costs associated with these items in the form of Implementation Points, only a limitation of body slots and some requiring an Install DC.
Gear: A nice wide array of technological toys, complete with craft DCs and feats/labs needed ranging from VR rigs to Translators, to Rebreathers, to magical potions that restore spell slots (Whoo mana potions!)
Weapons: Firearms are now simple weapons and we have a new table of firearms. Quite a few of these are slick with the Razor Shotgun holding a special place in my heart. Misfire is still a thing even in the 22nd centur unless you pick up one of the three new exotic firearms.
For those not interested in guns you only snag two new toys, the Molecular Whip and Sword-chucks. Now while I only say 'only' these two weapons are really neat and have some very fun rules.
Vehicles: So these feel a little better than Pathfinder vehicles (and thus feel dramtically better than say, 3.5's Stormwrack) and it makes me feel really excited to have quasi Mad-Max type stories to be able to play now


Chapter 9: Hypercore
Mythic Adventures has Mythic Rules. Hypercorps 2099 has Hyper Rules, those familiar will see a vaguely familiar trend but it is different enough that they distinctly different.
This is where the players get their raw power boost to keep up with some of the expectations of what is an appropriate challenge rating for this universe.
I can take or leave this part of the section depending on any given type of game I'd run with this book, using the system for a high powered M&M feeling game while not using them to give a grittier Shadowrun-esque feel.
I will say however, this system feels better in balance/application than Mythic Rules, probably as you are given guidelines for what is an appropriate CR to throw at people based on their level/hyper score.


All in all if you're looking for Shadowrun or Champions style game but you/your playgroup do not want to learn those systems, Hypercorps 2099 is worth looking at



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hypercorps 2099
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Relationships
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2016 03:34:31

An Endzeitgeist.com review of the revised edition


This pdf clocks in at 14 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction, 1 page table-index, 1 page advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 4 pages of content, so let's take a look!


We've all been there - a key-NPC just is more interesting to the players than a given module anticipated - whether as for romantic interests or just for the purpose of being buddies, the social component of interaction between characters is pretty much a component often neglected in PFRPG. Now this pdf provides a concise, no-frills base system to track how players and NPCs interact with one another. Basically, relationships are codified in 10 ranks, with rank 4, 7 and 10 being milestones. the default rank is 0, with 1 representing a basic alliance. Much like what happens behind the scenes with videogames from Mass Effect to The Walking Dead, these relationships are codified via the tracking of camaraderie points.


When a PC acts in concordance with a specific NPC, the PC gets 1 - 2 camaraderie points, with contrary actions potentially decreasing relationships. Whenever a PC levels up, he can assign 2 camaraderie points to assign to an NPC to represent the PC spending extra time with that NPC. Camaraderie starts at 0 for each new rank, but ranks are NOT lost due to camaraderie-loss - instead, the PC suffers a penalty according to negative camaraderie points. The higher the rank, the more camaraderie points one requires to rank up. Once the PC has accumulated enough camaraderie points to rank up, a talk is required, potentially also requiring a skill check or more. Failing to rank up does provide bonuses to future checks, so, much like in the Persona games, your relationships will not stagnate. Finally, there would be the component of affinities - essentially a representation on how a character interacts with a PC depending on diverse circumstances: A xenophobic dwarf may, for example, be a tough nut to crack for your elven character, while other dwarves find establishing a connection easier.


There also are so-called milestones (on the nit-picky side - the first reference to them points towards page XX, instead of the correct page-number) - one can determine these via providing about 5 per AP-book, with each providing different qualities of the interactions and gifts via a solid table of DCs - craftsmanship and repetition of such acts determine the target DC of these interactions to get camaraderie points. Rivalries are also covered in these contexts. A PC with a campaign-specific trait begins with a chosen NPC at rank 2, with +2 points towards rank 3.


Ranks achieved also net the PC XP-rewards and additionally, NPCs and PCs may actually end up with tangible, rules-relevant benefits from better relationships. EDIT: The system, generally, remains untouched, though the revised edition does offer a couple of subtle changes - for one, the pdf now provides advice for using these rules beyond the frame of the 6-book-AP-structure, with the imho most important change now being that the pdf does provide an easy formula you can use with e.g. mega-adventures and similar, different set-ups - yes, including downtime. Additionally, advice on affinity, for example, has been provided. Finally, the pdf mentions the possibility of redemption paths of evil characters in the future...interesting!


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, though not perfect. Layout adheres to legendary Games' beautiful full-color two-column standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The pdf provides a solid array of nice full-color artworks.


Mark Seifter's relationship system per se is absolutely awesome and at 2 bucks, very affordable to boot. At this length, I did not expect fully fleshed out relationships herein, but I do believe that this pdf would have didactically benefited from one or two sample relationships to illustrate the system in game - if you want the examples, check out Imperial Relationships or the Ultimate Relationships-series. This is the nitpick-category of complaining, though.


Significantly more important, for my purposes at least, is the fact that this revised edition does offer rules for non-6-book-AP-relationships, which basically renders the revised edition universally useful as opposed to the self-imposed restrictions of the earlier formula. This instantly catapults this inexpensive, cool pdf to a new final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Relationships
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Relationships #3: The Cassisian Detective
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/20/2016 05:10:16

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the Ultimate Relationship-series clocks in at 8 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page how to use, 1 page SRD leaving us with 4 pages of content, so let's take a look!


All right, so this series provides romantic interests for the PCs as per the Ultimate Relationship-rules, so I'm assuming you're familiar with them. If not, check out that pdf first (and/or my review for it).


All right, so this time around...we romance a helmet with wings. No, I'm not kidding. Look up the artwork. The statblock is the most complex we've seen so far in the series, though, unlike another review I noticed, I saw no glitches pertaining class abilities - the archetype has been correctly added in the iteration of this pdf I read.


Affinity-wise, the cassian detective prefers introverted, silent characters, particularly investigators and the like and obviously has a fondness for riddles and puzzles and, obviously, as a good outsider, he loathes evildoers. A sense of requiring completion makes keeping him around rather easy and he is available for being a cohort as soon as 4th rank.


The detective, interestingly, is devoted to the empyreal lord of departed lovers and as such, entering a proper romantic relationship, abstract though it may be, ultimately would result in conflicting notions, particularly since the entity is currently in a chaste crush on Verity it/her/himself. (This gender-thing is getting confusing regarding helmet-shaped outsiders...apologies. And no, I'm not using "they" - it sounds wrong to me, like finger nails on chalkboard. Sorry.)


That being said, the ranking up procedure of the romance with the cassisian detective easily is the most intriguing so far: For one, the outsider loves riddles, so Int-checks (or out-game riddle-savvy players) are preferred. Secondly, the entity has a perfect memory, so if you're like me and have a better memory than your players, this can really be hilarious...otherwise, I'd suggest taking notes to properly roleplay him. Which is also, by far, the most awesome thing about this installment of Ultimate Relationships - you see, the cassisian does not know about a chaste crush on his mistress and is interested in the gaps and holes of actions and behavior - having a perfect, gapless memory, he feels intrigued by lack - the objectivity of nothing, the concept of presence heightened through absence, making this character truly well-rounded and unique.


Boon-wise, the relationship unlocks either Linguistics or Perform (Oratory) as class skills and +1 to saves versus visual and sonic effects, stacking with celestial obedience, if present. At 10th rank, the boon, you can 1/day expend 3 full-round actions to duplicate the detective's careful teamwork performance lasting 10 minutes and affecting only you and double campaign bonuses associated with the detective.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are good, though not perfect. Layout adheres to a nice two-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length. The pdf has a nice artwork of the outsider.


Mark Seifter's Cassisian Detective is by far the weirdest of the relationships so far - but it's also the most unique, intriguing and well-rounded - the character has depth, means for philosophical engagement and character beyond being a relationship-stereotype - in a nutshell, this feels organic and well-crafted. Personally, I consider this by far the most intriguing of the relationships provided so far and well worth a final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Relationships #3: The Cassisian Detective
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Occult Character Codex: Mediums
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/17/2016 07:32:44

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the Occult Character Codex-series clocks in at 28 pages, 1 page front cover, 2 pages editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page how-to-use, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 19 pages of content, so let's take a look!


Occult Adventures is a great book, but the rather complex classes in the book do provide a challenge regarding time-investment to create sample NPCs. This is where this series comes in for the time-starved GM - basically, we have a collection of characters herein, spanning the CRs from 1 - 20, all ready and set for your perusal.


So how were they made? Well, for one, the builds use Pathfinder Unchained's automatic bonus progression, which means that the characters have a better chance to stand against the PCs sans flooding the campaign with magic items. The builds are not made to be sheer exercises in powergaming superiority that exist in a vacuum, instead championing the approach of making viable characters that work concisely as though they were proper characters, complete with a brief personality sketch, but expect no lengthy elaboration of motivations etc.. Options and buffs are included in the statblocks, though handy pre-buff sections provide the information sans them, should your PCs be able to catch the character unaware. There are also some minor pieces of advice for GMs using the character


As far as diversity of the statblocks is concerned, there is, particularly concerning the racial variety, enough going on: Beyond the core-races, we actually get e.g. centaurs and berbalangs. Now, as in previous installments, e.g. the berbalang and centaur-builds look similar in archetypes used, but that similarity comes apart almost immediately once you take a look at feat-choice, spells etc. - so no, no boring straight progressions.


Archetype-wise, we slightly deviate from the formula established by the series - that is, this time around, three archetypes are used in builds: Here, that would be the relic channeler and the storyteller and we also get a reanimated medium - unfortunately, the others aren't covered. On the plus-side, the tactics-section for the respective builds is relatively detailed and the statblocks include buff-suites, where applicable as well as stats for the unbuffed iterations of the respective character. Now, class-specific things to consider would be the following: The mediums presented here are presented with the spirit they usually channel - different spirits obviously have different ramifications. The general selection of spirits featured in the builds is pretty diverse. Taboos have not been preselected - an array of suggested taboos would have been nice. The pdf also noted that archmage's spells do not suffer from arcane spell failure and tactics are based on mediums not gaining additional influence.


The builds themselves, as organic characters, sport barkeepers, con artists and master merchants as well as adventurers; quite a few flavors are covered and provide different foci for the respective characters. Skills and magic item selection is similarly diverse, offering a broad selection of foci for the respective builds.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful, two-column full-color standard and the pdf sports several beautiful pieces of full-color artwork, some old, some new. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience


Julian Neale's collection of mediums is diverse, concise and covers a significant array of different roles and builds. While I would have loved to see all archetypes covered, I get why not all of them are part of this pdf's cadre of NPCs. All in all, this is a solid collection of NPCs that does what it says on the tin. My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Occult Character Codex: Mediums
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 241 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG