RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
1970s 2D6 RETRO RULES
by alistair l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2017 20:51:46

If you're a fan of the original 2d6 game this was based on, this provides a good return to the simplicity of those days of the 1970s. Nice to see a variant that bolts on to a current rule set rather than yet another different stand alone rules set that unnecessarily re-invents the wheel. I'll be using it, and the advantage is that if there is anything I think I need to add back in, thats pretty simple. But the baseline provided I think will allow for good quick simple game flow. Mostly. My only reservation is the simultaneous combat rules. My experience is that all the rules in various rpgs for simultaneous combat that I've used in the past require a moment or two in the combat where everyone writes down what they're doing, or at least commits to an action in their head. And that slows things down for me and my typical playgroups. I don't see any explanation in the text for implementing the simultaneous nature of combat, and I think an example and a bit more explanation here would add clarity. And especially, an explanation on how it'll speed things up. I personally find a simple initiative system to work fine for defining an order of declaration then reaction, and I think something similar could have been provided as an alternative option - even if only a suggestion to let people know that its ok to tweak things. Aside from that, I like it. And I think I'll like the twist that has melee going before fire combat. The explanation, and the things it allows that mimic your favourite TV/film combats, are nice. I can always change it if I don't like it. The elegance and straightforwardness of the rest of it certainly make it worth while in my opinion. The quibbles are why its 4/5 not 5/5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1970s 2D6 RETRO RULES
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Solo
by Jesus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2017 18:20:25

Great framework, will be using this for my campaign #Space1888, with Cepheus Engine. Worth every penny ! :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Far Horizon
by Omer J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2017 09:46:40

Space is awesome. Rocket science is awesome. Astronauts are awesome. As children, we dreamed of traveling the stars in a space capsule or rocket ship, wearing a space-suit, visiting all sorts of weird and wonderful alien planets. For me, the most important element of science-fiction is the Sense of Wonder, that sensation you feel when you encounter strange and wondrous scenes, objects, and ideas. Science fiction allowed me to escape the boring school life to far more intriguing places in our imagination. Far Horizon scratches this very itch.

Far Horizon is space exploration. Realistic space exploration - scientists in a spacecraft visiting a rogue planet passing through the outer edges of our solar system. It is 2100 AD and the characters' deep-space vehicle, the eponymous Far Horizon, undertook the first manned mission to Pluto. In 2095, astronomers detected a new planet passing through the Kuiper Belt. Strangely enough, they also found tiny shifts in the planet's trajectory - and have added a visit to that planet to Far Horizon's mission. This world - Tartarus - is a mystery for the players to crack.

This adventure is devoid of combat, yet action abounds. This is an adventure of interplanetary exploration, including all the challenges and threats of realistic spaceflight in a thermal rocket with limited fuel flying through the outer system. This is science fiction at its finest - the characters have to figure out a puzzle of science while exploring an alien planet, all while avoiding the deadly dangers of deep space travel. They have a limited time to explore Tartarus due to orbital mechanics and limited fuel; overstaying can spell slow death in the cold reaches interstellar space.

Far Horizon takes place in Zozer Games' Orbital 2100 hard-science setting, though the setting book itself is not necessary to run the adventure. It focuses on the deep space exploration aspect of the setting rather on its Expanse-style interplanetary politics. It should be very easy to set this adventure in any other hard-science, near-future solar system setting, or run it as a one-off.

The book also provides a detailed overview, including stats, description, deck plans, and excellent renders (by the wonderful Ian Stead) of the Far Horizon deep space vehicle itself; also, it has detailed stats and rules for realistic TL8 and TL9 space suits. These will be useful for a wide variety of hard-science near-future games and are second to none. The adventure also provides pre-generated characters (in Cepheus Engine stats) in case the players lack the setting book.

I heartily recommend this adventure, as it is a very unique and interesting hard-science space-exploration romp.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Horizon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Solo
by Morgan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2017 22:56:47

I've been playing a fair few solo games in the last few years - blame grad school and multiple moves for depriving me of my usual gaming fix. I've shopped around for solo systems for a long time too - Mythic, Scarlet Heroes, and more. None of them scratch my solo gaming itch quite the way Solo does.

The core "mechanic" - a scene-based resolution - opens up roleplaying opportunities and simplifies what often ends up being an exercise in tedium (see my habit of asking Mythic a dozen variations on "is the door locked?"). The mechanic in Solo is super simple - so simple that it would be downright insulting that it's going for $10 except that the other 140 or so pages in this product are chock full of excellent subsystems, random tables, and inspirational ideas. This is a Traveller GM simulator - built to run multiple campaigns and spit up something new and exciting every time. As much as I love things like Stars Without Number or Scarlet Heroes, the random tables in this product nail the flavor and feeling I want from a solo SF experience - something between the flavor of Firefly and The Expanse, with lots of room to wander in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Solo
by David S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2017 10:04:01

The beating heart of this product is the "Plan" mechanic, which replaces the mechanics of the host system you're using it with, whether Cepheus, Traveller, or pretty much anything else. The Plan mechanic is a one-roll scene resolution mechanic, meaning that you don't play things out blow-by-blow, but instead roll once to see whether you succeed or fail overall, then go back and write a story telling how that result came about. Or, as the text puts it, "These kinds of questions would not arise in a table top RPG because they would have emerged naturally through game-play. We dispensed with the game-play – but we still need the answers to these questions!"

If scene resolution is your thing, then the Plan mechanic will provide one, along with tips on using it in a solo gaming context. Unfortunately, scene resolution is really not my thing, so I can't say how it compares to other scene resolution systems.

If, on the other hand, you prefer to have things emerge naturally through game-play, you'll probably want to stay away from this one. While it does provide a number of decent random encounter/event tables, along with step-by-step procedures for using them in various types of campaigns, I don't feel that these tables and procedures alone are worth the purchase.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Solo
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2017 00:15:14

This book makes me mad. Mad that I didn't write it. It's a follow-up to Paul's now-classic Star Trader, adn pretty much replaces it. When Star Trader first came out I asked the author to make a version for scouts, and not only has he done that, he also includes solo campaign ideas for naval patrols and just vanilla Traveller. The only thing that I don't like is the Plan section. Something about it feels non-Traveller. I like that it simplifies things, but I really would like it better if there were a more granular option, where instead of rolling once for the whole adventure you roll for sections or something, or where you generate X number of challenges and then resolve them, even with a single roll. Overall very good book. Buy, play it, live it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Jacob! I distinctly remember you asking for a scouts version of Star Trader, and I remember telling you that it was a very difficult proposition. It took many months of play-testing to reach a viable exploration system - I'm glad you like it! I should say here, that the Plan is a great tool, but it doesn't replace the normal skill system. Skill rolls for characters can be made at any time to resolve problems or issues that are on a smaller scale. I'm reasonable sure I included an example or two of that in the Example of Play.
Orbital 2100
by Christopher D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2016 07:20:34

If like me your film libray includes such titles as "The Martian", "Star Cops", "Outland" and so on and your reading runs to Allen Steele's "Rude Astronauts" then this source book i definuitely for you. I wasn't tottally blown away by the polotics of the background but everything else was well worth it. There are things of use if you use a more standard Traveller background as the rules for TL9 space craft and working in space will be useful in any setting and it acts as a reminder of just how much adventure you can get in a system beyond the main world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orbital 2100
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Warlords of Alexander
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2016 09:31:11

A interesting D100 historical adventure setting in the world after Alerxander the Great. Will work with any system but created for D100



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warlords of Alexander
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Grunt - Roleplaying in the Vietnam War
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2016 15:10:43

Good introduction to VIETNAM ERA terms and keywords. GRUNT is a good resource for running encounters involving unseen ambushers. I use it as a resource for creating ambushes (lots of ambush inspiration and good introduction to how a weaker force engages a more powerful force) and running gaming-as-war style rpgs. Gritty, dark style of play that reflects some of the horror of the period. Simple and effective mechanic for handling the stress of combat and horror of war.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grunt - Roleplaying in the Vietnam War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
World Creator's Handbook
by paul h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2015 21:21:34

I couldn't justify a 4 star rating, but it's a good 3.5 stars. I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked this up, but the price point is low enough that there's very little risk even if it was a total disappointment.

For those that like more references and explanations regarding a planets UWP, this book does an adequate job of explaining them and providing real-world examples. None of the sections are bad, a few could really use more details, and there are some that they do a really good job with. There is some inconsistency with the explanations - in some sections they start at the beginning of the chart and work their way 'down'. But in others they do the opposite. It's not a huge issue, just a minor quibble. The art inside is fairly standard, with a spacey clip-art feel to it.

I thought the two sections that could have used a lot more content were the Bases and the travel zones sections. Both of these usually get the short of the stick in virtually every supplement I've ever seen published. Sure, what more do you need with "Naval Base Present"? A whole lot, that's what! It would have been easy to add pages on the various types of naval bases/scout bases that one can encounter. A naval base could be anywhere from a couple of shacks on the ground, to say the Traveller equivalent of a submarine tender with patrol cruisers, all the way up to depot-class bases. This is an area that has so much to explore, but rarely is. On the travel zones, these hardly ever have much detail. Amber or red zones are present in virtually ever sub-sector, but rarely are we ever given much background behind them. Previous books have talked up how the Navy is typically punitive in assigning zone classifications, while the Scouts tend to be protective of worlds with theirs. So there's all that area to be explored, not to mention the concepts behind how they are interdicted, how players might try to evade interdiction, and what the Imperials or others might do to catch them.

Still, I'm not disappointed with it. It's definitely worth passing on Starbucks one day to add to your Traveller toolbox.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World Creator's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Star Trader
by Glen P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2014 05:02:02

Found this recommended on the Traveller Facebook group. Excellent value for money. A campaign framework with real solo play! Provides an excellent system for generating encounters and even crew problems on trading missions as well as a really good framework for playing a merchant captain. Highly recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trader
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Star Trader
by Geoff O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2014 06:37:08

I had picked up Trader a while back, just because the system interested me. Unfortunately, it wasn't capturing the interest of those who I typically game with (my family and friends). So there I was, holding an a amazing system in my hand and nothing to do with it. I searched for a satisfactory way to solo this system, and it kept falling apart as being to bogged down or to fluffy. Then I saw a review of this book and was intrigued. I haven't been this happy with a purchase in a long time. The book reads like a guy wrote down his most successful attempt to achieve what I was looking for, and it works great! I've been happily running my crew around the Regina sub-sector for about a week now. Thanks for the effort, and for publishing what obviously could have stayed your own secret homebrew jewel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Star Trader
by Thad H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2013 14:44:34

This is a great addition to a great game! Get Star Trader if you've ever wanted to play a merchants based game of Traveller... by your self. Heck! I bet it will even work well to play with a small group! (I'll have to try that...)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Star Trader
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2013 10:52:17

This product delivers what it says. You get a good framework for running solo adventures with Traveller. There is one enormous error: the starship maintenance fee is way too high. According to the core rules, it should be multiplied by 0.001.

I want there to be expansions; I'd like to see naval and scout books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review Jacob, and for the errata ... I noticed it says 1/12 and also 0.1% in my rulebook, I've corrected the text. Thanks again. I am working on a Solo Explorer game in the same spirit, it's a tough proposition however, and there have to be certain assumptions straight off the bat.
Star Trader
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/25/2013 11:18:27

Traveller is a strange game. Its fans get as much pleasure from rolling up characters, creating equipment and designing planets as they do from actually playing... and this work is a touch of genius combining the solitary approach with actually PLAYING Traveller rather than merely messing about with the system (and yes, I have spent many an hour tinkering with characters and planets... never been that good on gear).

The basis, the core of this sub-game is trading. Now, the rules have - from the beginning of the game - accommodated the concept of interstellar trade and the mechanics of this have been developed to a high degree. Many a full-blown Traveller game revolves about a bunch of merchant spacers and the adventures they get up to... but for other folks the idea of being a merchant is not why they get their dice out, so if this is your pleasure you may not find a group with which to play. So, mess around with the trading system on your own, or go play Traveller but doing something else that suits the rest of the party?

Or pick up this book, which blends trading and all the other stuff that makes Traveller fun into a workable solo game. It is more than coping with the vissitudes of interstellar trade, more than a bookkeeping exercise in paying the running costs of your spaceship, although it incorporates these things at its heart. You can develop the crew with whom you travel, or even choose not to have a ship but book passage for yourself and your trade goods. You can even engage in space combat if you want to (or have it forced upon you).

You will need to take account of your route and the planets that lie along it... and you can have adventures on them too. Even selling your goods and stocking up with your next cargo can get exciting. Oh, and events can happen in space too.

To accommodate all this, there is a wealth of tables to roll on and advice to heed. Keep notes as you go and you will find out how exciting it can all be. It's also a good way of getting your head around the system preparatory to running it, and have fun whilst you're learning.

Um. I think this will be the last review today... I'm off Travelling!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 33 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG