RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Into the Wilderness [BUNDLE]
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2013 14:30:26

high quality maps - I'm very pleased, especially for the price. I hope this designer makes more maps for me to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Wilderness [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Campaign Map 1 : The Northern Kingdom
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2013 12:45:37

I'm really enjoying browsing this large map -especially from the perspective of it's use as a "fits-all" map - the version, that is, without labels. This map looks as good as, if not better than, some of the colour Middle Earth maps from ICE. CSP have developed a style that is both computer-crisp whilst remaining respectful hand drawn styles in vintage maps. Very good value, considering it's usefulness even in part for encounters in the wilderness or larger campaign building. Exquisite!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Map 1 : The Northern Kingdom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tiles of the Dead : Set 1
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2013 07:27:56

This PDF is 8 pages (5 are the map pieces), 1 page is the guide/instructions.


It has different types of rooms, doors and corridors - some good map tiles.
The detail is rather good; great for room to room searching.
The map pieces have a variety of colour.


There seems to be quiet a lot of variety contained within the pages.


£3.96 isn't too bad a price for this map set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiles of the Dead : Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tiles of the Dead : Games Room
by SJ B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2013 16:13:09

Way over priced for what you get.
The tiles are very low resolution.


The artwork is decent though.
The hallways are completely plain though, almost useless.


What should have been included are top down windows and doors in PSD layered format.
As well as giving the tile options of grid and no grid.


All in all I have to say I feel a bit ripped-off :(



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Tiles of the Dead : Games Room
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Into the Wilderness [BUNDLE]
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2013 05:07:34

After seeing the Colony 19 map bundle deal, I was rather delighted to see the Wilderness map bundle as well.


There are 3 map types: hex grid, square grid or no grid.


The first page does inform the buyer that the maps 'are not intended to be comparable to high resolution dungeon tiles', which is true.
The maps (close up) have a 'water colour' type of look (to me, anyway).
But this doesn't distract from the terrain that is displayed.
You get one display showing the entire map, then that map is cut into 9 sections of a much closer view.


You get 4 wilderness maps (0, 1, 2, & 3), and the Halloween Special, all for £1.89.


£1.89 for this Wilderness map bundle, instead of £3.47: a very good deal indeed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Wilderness [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Colony 19 Tiles [BUNDLE]
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2013 04:51:26

It's good to see these maps as a bundle.
I was going to buy them maybe 1 or 2 at a time, but at £3.15 for ALL the Colony 19 maps, I just couldn't pass the opportunity to purchase the bundle.


Anyway, the maps are very good resolution (made for 28mm miniatures), with the flooring reminding me of Space Hulk/Aliens.
The Starter map (page 2), shows some printed sections with em4 miniatures to show you.


There are PLENTY of map sections for you to print off, including 2 automated gun turrets (I'll be printing plenty of those).
The turrets are in the Starter set (page 10).


The Room set you can mix with the Starter set and also the Infestation set.
There are plenty of extras in the map sets like canisters/pods, tables, chairs, etc.
I know I'll be buying plenty of ink to print all the map sections and extras off.


For the price (£3.15), you'd be daft not to go for this bundle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colony 19 Tiles [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Colony 19 - room 01 (28mm)
by Richard A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2012 13:13:28

Nice (and free!) but too bare for my taste. I like stuff for PCs to pick up and use. It's a 4 because I'm cutting it up as stateroom furnishings - the niche screens are nifty as foldaway desks!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Colony 19 - room 01 (28mm)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Into the Wilderness: Map 0
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/14/2012 11:35:44

More very professional art from CSP. The PDF is for printing whereas the jpg is for moving around in your chosen VTT software, hi-tech game table or tablet. It's always nice to have the option.

Download this, you have nothing to lose. If you like the style his other forest maps are modestly priced.


Billiam B.
bit.ly/rpgblog



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Wilderness: Map 0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Zone 10 - Basic Set (10mm terrain)
by Nathaniel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2012 12:37:56

I recently got into paper terrain so that I could quickly play with some new 15mm sci-fi miniatures. Of the numerous sets of paper terrain I've bought or found for free on the internet, Zone 10 is one of the best. There are plenty of interesting shapes (not just blocks) and the artwork on this set is quite nice. The pieces go together easily and don't have a learning curve as steep as some other paper terrain products out there. The pieces are stackable, mix easily, and there are enough little detail pieces to make each building unique, if you want to take the extra time.


The price is definitely right! I also like that this site allows you to preview the images so you know exactly what you're buying; this is not the case with several other paper terrain sellers online.


The only problem with this set is that it's scaled for 10mm. I thought that they're actually fine for 15mm (at least with the Khurasan Miniatures I have), but it seemed an odd scale to choose, especially since one of the beauties of paper terrain is that it's infinitely scalable. You can buy a "28mm scale" paper terrain set and then just print it at 50% for smaller scales. This, unfortunately, doesn't work in the other direction, at least not with this set, where each building has its own page and the walls aren't broken down across multiple pages.


Overall, though, an excellent set; I've already printed off one complete copy and will print more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zone 10 - Basic Set (10mm terrain)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Megadungeon Level 1 (map-pack)
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/03/2012 19:05:48

This product covers all bases. I adore the greyscale style of CSP's maps. In this pack the DM is treated to printable PDFs and jpg sections of a truly massive area. Note sheets and maps with numbered labels are provided for the DM's own notes. I haven't used any Virtual TableTop programs myself but I've experimented with using map jpgs on an iPad with figures (allbeit a tiny area) - so I now truly appreciate the power of zoomable jpgs. It's hard to see what Kristian has left out of 'Level 1. All a DM would have to do is "populate" the dungeon - or perhaps just play using random tables. Usuable for any fantasy roleplaying game and adaptable to a variety of technologies (beyond just printing the PDFs) the $5 price tag is a very reasonable price.


This is a truly wonderful product. Congratulations again to Crooked Staff Publishing.


-Billiam B
bit.ly/rpgblog



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Megadungeon Level 1 (map-pack)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Little Book of Dungeons New Year Special [BUNDLE]
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/18/2012 14:13:41

Great bundle. The maps are very inspirational and credible as straight forward dungeon levels. The geomorphs are lots of fun!


The quality of CSP's work in black/white map design always rivals any larger level maps I have seen in Dungeon magazine.


I really like these.


Billiam B.
bit.ly/rpgblog



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Little Book of Dungeons New Year Special [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Little Book of Dungeons: Geomorphs
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/13/2012 10:03:07

Originally Published at: http://diehardgamefan-
.com/2012/03/13/tabletop-review-the-little-book-of-dungeons--
geomorphs/


As a GM, anytime I can get some resources to help me save time when prepping for a game is good. I’ve had Crooked Staff Production’s website bookmarked for over a year now because they’ve had some great little GM aids available for download. On their site they have, free for download, a set of 30 dungeon geomorphs. Each geomorph has been gathered into a single PDF usable as a GM map. This PDF is not secured, allowing the GM to extract pages as needed, and is a 5.42 MB download. Each map page of the PDF is additionally available as an individual download. These individual downloads start with the same GM map as before, but subsequent pages break the GM map into smaller sections sized to print out for miniature use with the almost standard 1” = 5’.


All these maps are black & white, and not optimized for printing, but are absolutely free.


This $1 offering is similarly black & white and not optimized for printing, but the similarity to the superior free product ends there. Instead of one geomorph per page, this product has six per page at a small scale, and a few larger geomorphs. The last couple of pages have some examples of use and several dungeon entrances. The PDF is rather large at 20.2 MB, and contains some security. The only apparent use for this PDF is to print out the geomorphs and then cut them out to create small maps for GM use. With 63 individual geomorphs, including the 30 that were available for free online, it can easily be worth $1.


If the maps were optimized for black & printing and/or full color, along with being made available for use with miniatures, I’d pay a premium to be able to print up a random dungeon for my table. Being able to also use them in my Maptools game would make me ecstatic. In this current format, their usage is severely limited, and the $1 download seems more a donation or a thanks to Crooked Staff Productions for their freely available products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Little Book of Dungeons: Geomorphs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Colony 19 - starter set (28mm)
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2012 13:38:26

This is a nice set of simple tiles to use for sci-fi or near future games. The tiles are fairly standard shapes and should be easily adaptable for most games/settings. There are a several extras included like crates, consoles, medical tables, cryo-pods, and such. The fold-up doors are nicely done as well.


The only complaint I have is that all of the tiles are edged on all sides, making it necessary to trim the printed tiles to make long hallways without doors. This may cause some of the tiles to not quite line up when laid out in a larger map.


This is a great set, especially for this price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Colony 19 - starter set (28mm)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

East Eyrie Fortress map-pack
by Claus B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2012 15:11:39

What you get is a nicely done 46 page PDF showing the gates, keeps, halls and towers of a large elven castle (it doesn't have to be elven). You get a nice overview of the castle with the locations from A to H on page 5, and each of the remaining 41 pages show a different part of the castle.


The maps look good and are creatively done, while remaining believable. Note that this is not a map tile set and the maps are not meant to join up to create a continuous whole. See the example PDF for what I mean.


It would have been nice to have maps of the courtyards and outdoor areas. It would also have made the GMs job a lot easier if each section had an overview page with the all the levels in miniature and some sort of legend showing what function the different part might serve. Even just a general text describing the main functions and features of the castle would have been nice.


There is a also a two page optional background lore on the castle which has a Tolkienesque feel to it that might provide a bit of inspiration. It does mention the collapse of one of the towers, and that the castle was rebuilt, but less grand than it had been. I think Kristian Richard might have missed a trick by not having any of the map sections show older ruins, or blocked off sections (although there are a couple of secret doors), but if you're not planning to use the background lore anyway this is of no consequence.


I was thinking hard whether to give this product four or five stars, and in the end I had to give it five. I would have liked more information about the castle, but it advertises itself as a map pack and what you get is indeed a great looking map pack of an interesting castle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
East Eyrie Fortress map-pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Age of Shadow: Role-playing Game
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/14/2012 08:02:11

A fantasy RPG based on OpenQuest, an open source version of the rules that powered RPGs in the Basic Roleplaying series (Call of Cthulhu, Elfquest, RuneQuest, et al). Anyone familiar with those classic games will easily adapt to this system.


For those who aren't - in brief, the system is percentile based - a whole set of standard polyhedral dice are required for damage rolls and other results, but skill and combat rolls are made with percentile dice. The combat system is deadly (as it has always been with BRP games), and adventurers in an Age of Shadow campaign may find themselves avoiding combat more frequently, which could open some possibilities for creative tactics and great roleplaying.


This book has a great section on campaign structure, but very little background or lore - for that, see the Age of Shadow Campaign Guide, which fleshes out the world nicely.


A character sheet and a beautiful full-color map round out the book. All in all, a great start. I'm interested to see where it goes from here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Age of Shadow: Role-playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 71 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG