RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fantasy Tome of Lists 2
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 22:39:06

Very usefull compedium of un-statted general use fantasy rpg lists. Fantastic idea generation fodder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Tome of Lists 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Tome of Lists
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 22:38:47

Very usefull compedium of un-statted general use fantasy rpg lists. Fantastic idea generation fodder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Tome of Lists
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists 2
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2016 22:33:06

Incredibly useful compilation of system neutral lists. Regardless of the genre, any one running a sci-fi campaign will find this pdf a very fertile idea generating tool. This PDF has been by my side the entire time I’ve been running my year-long bizarro star wars campaign and has proven to be invaluable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2016 22:31:34

Incredibly useful compilation of system neutral lists. Regardless of the genre, any one running a sci-fi campaign will find this pdf a very fertile idea generating tool. This PDF has been by my side the entire time I’ve been running my year-long bizarro star wars campaign and has proven to be invaluable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
by Kyrinn E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2016 21:19:40

Battle Strikers is a genius treatment of the '80s action figure genre of specialist team infiltration and shoot'em-up.

Very simple system, but detailed enough to seem custom tailored to the premise, and very well written for the 'Greatest American Hero' variety in particular. Serial numbers have been lightly filed off, and everyone you'd expect is there.

You cannot go wrong.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadows of the Ninja: Lite Ninja RPG
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2015 16:14:13

This game blends weaponry, stealth, and magic in this potentially great game. However, the lack of clarity in the rules for such things as levelling up jutsu, how summons work, and what theyre able to do, keep this game from being what it could be with a little polish here and there. it has an extremely well spread selection of villages to choose from, ranks to climb, and all sort of missions to take on. With that bit of polish, this could be the perfect game for short break missions for any ninja fan. With a slight bit of editing and agreement by players, this game is very playable now though, so stay in the shadows, strike without warning, and see your missions to the end players!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of the Ninja: Lite Ninja RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists
by timitjy f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 12:19:47

It was useful at helping getting the juices flowing with ideas



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Confrontations: Republic Army
by Quincy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2013 20:45:02

A nice free expansion, based off of star wars. The descriptions for the vehicles are off, though. They are clearly meant for the Star Elf army, as drones are mentioned.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations: Republic Army
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Imperial Crusade Missions
by Quincy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2013 20:20:23

A good set of missions, but one thing is needed. Every single mission is built for the same point costs. A lot of the fun in different missions is imbalanced fights where the objectives balance it out. It can get dull playing 1000 v 1000 over and over again. I would give 3.5 if possible, but I rounded down.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Imperial Crusade Missions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Paper Games Collections
by Marc G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2013 12:56:55

Disclosure: these comments are based on a read through of the rules immediately after purchase - I have not (yet) played any of these games.

First thing's first, you're getting eight board games for $3. Where I work (the City of London) that isn't even going to buy you a sandwich. This is a phenomenally good value package. Each game consists of (roughly) one page of rules and a sheet to be printed out for each player. There is no real limit on the number of players but I would imagine that two players would make for a dull game and more than six or eight might make a time consuming game, at least for the ones where the rules require each player to complete all possible actions before play passes to the next.

The games are largely abstract and there is no movement element. The theme is competitive resource allocation and building, with options to attack any of the other players. In fact, it plays somewhat like a cardless card game. Each game tries to play to its theme (the sci-fi games have power cells, the fantasy games have archers, etc). The mechanic is die rolling using d10s. You roll a number of d10 equal to your population and can then use those dice to manage your economy. It doesn't really matter whether you roll high or low as each action requires different dice for different reasons, e.g. use two dice with the same value to build resource type 'A', use any even die to acquire technology 'B', and so on. The skill lies in using the dice you have effectively (like backgammon).

As far as I can see, the only downside is a common theme of inconsistency between rules and player sheets. It really needed a read through by an independent person. For example, the rules may say "to get building type 'A' spend an even die and three ores'" but the player sheet will say "to get building type 'A' spend an even die and three crystals". Which is correct? Who knows? Some errors are obvious to resolve, for others there's no way to tell.

All in all an interesting package with a clever mechanic at a bargain price, but it is crying out for a proof read and with each game having only one page of rules there is no excuse for that really.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Paper Games Collections
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Science Fiction Stock Art: Mecha and Giant Robots
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2013 21:56:27

The reason I rate this product so low is not the artwork. The artist shows promise and most of the (considerable number) of mecha are well executed.

The problem is the production values. These are pencil sketches on paper that have been scanned in. You can see the grain of the paper, folds in the paper, occasional pencil smudges, and in one case an uneven top of the page. This makes them poor options for using as clip art.

I certainly wouldn't mind seeing more of the artist's work, but only after he gets a drawing tablet or better scanning solution. Inking of the images would be good too, making them easier to clean up if you did want to use them for clip art.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Stock Art: Mecha and Giant Robots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Confrontations
by Edwin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2012 17:33:29

I have to say that Star Confrontations is a refreshing change of pace from the many rules heavy miniatures combat games out there.

This product is a 23 page pdf with one page taken by the front cover. The basic rules of the game take up only 4 pages and give a good overview of combat and terrain effects. I will say that a cheat sheet would be usefull, as some of the rules are efectively hidden in the body of the text. I have made one for my own game and it is very useful in play.

8 pages of the pdf are the Federation and Ork army lists. The armies have a decent selection of troops available. You are not going to find main battle tanks that can chew through hundreds of troops in this game, but each side does have transports/armor vehicles. The federation has an APC, a tank, and a walker. The Orks have a truck. To be honest the Ork truck is not very good, but you can field a LOT of them.

The rest of the pages are the miniatures and templates for the game. 6 pages for the Federation troops and vehicles. 4 pages for the Orks 2 pages of weapon and terrain templates.

The game is great to play and moves quickly. As stated before, this is a simple game and being able to interpret things on the fly is a must. We have had somme situations come up that were not covered in the rules, but that was because we introduced elements of our own. Some people may think this is a detraction from the game, but my group consider it a plus as we are able to make the game our own.

If you want a simple, inexpensive game that won't break you bank on figures in the future you can not beat this one. And the additional Army packs are free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Strike Legion Mission Logs: Volume I
by RODERICK W D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2012 15:41:39

Thank you for this option to see scenarios for Strike Legion. Now that I see Vampires are targets, I see the system is Horror based and not Science Fiction. I just removed all the Strike Legion titles from my Wish List along with anything else JEN Games publishes. I honestly DO appreciate your display of not knowing the difference between Fantasy, Horror and Science Fiction genres. I've not purchased anything yet to see if you included Psionics or other Magic that belong in the Fantasy genre and NOT Science Fiction.

Halloween is over. I pray to the invisible man in the clouds that the undead have finally found rest for a while.

1) Being Horror based (NOT Science Fiction) I think the scenario is alright. 2) The Force Generator is more like magic than technology but today's jets would look like magic to earlier civilizations. Think of the armor's Force Generator like the Green Lantern's ring. Pretty simple solution to a problem IF you think of it. There appears to be ONE solution. If you don't think of THE only option the planet is doomed. 3+)The number of scenarios are 2 with spin-offs to number more.

If your looking for DnD skirmish in space these are alright. Quick combat adventures with a twist away from science. I didn't care for there being only ONE possible solution to combat a situation then repeat the same solution for each following problem. Still, the price makes up for other short comings. The reason I put JEN Games items in my Wish List were the prices of everything. I didn't buy everything to start is because if it offers shape-changers, any undead, psionics or any other form of magic then it's not science fiction and a waste on MY money. I stress, MY money, because I'm looking for pure science fiction with no fantasy or horror. That doesn't imply it's a waste of money to other players. It's quick and inexpensive.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Strike Legion Mission Logs: Volume I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Confrontations: Space Fleet Patrol
by Perry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2012 01:28:40

This is a great quickie game when you want to do a little space battle based on a certain trademarked property that shall remain nameless.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations: Space Fleet Patrol
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
by Jay D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2012 19:13:11

As a rules lite RPG it's pretty light. But as a resource book for 80's style military action games it is AWESOME!! Of the 30 pages 2 make up the cover and TOC, 2 and a third make up the RPG rules and the reaming 26 are jammed packed a shed load of detailed Skills, Weapons, Characters, and other stuff.

The thing I really like is that Battle Strikes what presents in 30 pages takes hundreds of pages in other modern combat RPG source books.

The weapon descriptions are short and clear but tell you exactly what it can do. For example: "Laser Pistol (Damage/Range/AP) ~ Laser pistols fire a burst of coherent light designed to melt through armor and bone."

There are a few skills that are redundant like Athlete, wouldn't everybody be an athlete since they are part of a Special Force/Black Ops team?

There are a few places where I see the crossover between the miniatures game Star Confrontations which I plan on using to build some custom SC Armies.

For $.99 cents this is a steal. I'm buying Supers Unleashed right now just to see what goodness it contains.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG