RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Star Confrontations
by Christopher J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2017 19:54:42

This game seems to be a slimmed down take on the combination of WH40K and a few "what if..." ideas. The mechanics are fairly simple and the rules are only 3 pages long. The game also comes with all of the pieces you need to print-cut-glue-play in probably less than an hour. The one main thing that I didn't care much for about the game was that the figures are not fold flats, but I am not sure if they were made to be A-frame models, or fold-flats. But for the small amount of money that you pay for this title, the figs are decent enough to use as is.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2017 16:03:51

If you're the sort of GM who likes and uses random lists and tables in your games, and if you're running SciFi, then this product is a treasure trove. Holy crap, you get a ton of stuff for your money! Nearly 90 different list/tables of various sizes covering a wide array of subjects. When you consider that your typical random table PDF product sells for between 50c and $1 for a typical d66 table, that represents tremendous value. Some are going to be more useful than others depending on the specifics of the game you're running, but I think there's enough in here for most GM's to get their money's worth. Personally I would have liked to see the lists laid out more like traditional tables, with the dice roll numbers first. but since I'm likely to be importing these and using them in Inspiration Pad Pro, it's not a dealbreaker for me. Of particular note are the planetary generation tables, which cover all the usual details, including a D100 list of Planetary Options that looks like an excellent supplement to the World Tags in Stars Without Number. If you're the sort of GM who prefers to carefully plan out every detail of the worlds your PCs visit, you might still find looking over these lists useful as inspiration, but if you're a seat-of-the-pants improvising GM running a sandbox like SWN or running a solo game, then adding this to your toolbox is a no-brainer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Imperial Crusade Armada
by Matteo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2017 19:09:03

One of the two factions uses a lot of fighters, and the tokens for the fighters are missing, they are present in the demo version, but not in the final product. So, if you want to play this, download the demo version too.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Imperial Crusade Armada
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Tome of Lists 2
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 22:39:06

Very usefull compedium of un-statted general use fantasy rpg lists. Fantastic idea generation fodder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Tome of Lists 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Tome of Lists
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 22:38:47

Very usefull compedium of un-statted general use fantasy rpg lists. Fantastic idea generation fodder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Tome of Lists
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists 2
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2016 22:33:06

Incredibly useful compilation of system neutral lists. Regardless of the genre, any one running a sci-fi campaign will find this pdf a very fertile idea generating tool. This PDF has been by my side the entire time I’ve been running my year-long bizarro star wars campaign and has proven to be invaluable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2016 22:31:34

Incredibly useful compilation of system neutral lists. Regardless of the genre, any one running a sci-fi campaign will find this pdf a very fertile idea generating tool. This PDF has been by my side the entire time I’ve been running my year-long bizarro star wars campaign and has proven to be invaluable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
by Kyrinn E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2016 21:19:40

Battle Strikers is a genius treatment of the '80s action figure genre of specialist team infiltration and shoot'em-up.

Very simple system, but detailed enough to seem custom tailored to the premise, and very well written for the 'Greatest American Hero' variety in particular. Serial numbers have been lightly filed off, and everyone you'd expect is there.

You cannot go wrong.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadows of the Ninja: Lite Ninja RPG
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2015 16:14:13

This game blends weaponry, stealth, and magic in this potentially great game. However, the lack of clarity in the rules for such things as levelling up jutsu, how summons work, and what theyre able to do, keep this game from being what it could be with a little polish here and there. it has an extremely well spread selection of villages to choose from, ranks to climb, and all sort of missions to take on. With that bit of polish, this could be the perfect game for short break missions for any ninja fan. With a slight bit of editing and agreement by players, this game is very playable now though, so stay in the shadows, strike without warning, and see your missions to the end players!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of the Ninja: Lite Ninja RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists
by timitjy f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 12:19:47

It was useful at helping getting the juices flowing with ideas



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Confrontations: Republic Army
by Quincy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2013 20:45:02

A nice free expansion, based off of star wars. The descriptions for the vehicles are off, though. They are clearly meant for the Star Elf army, as drones are mentioned.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations: Republic Army
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Imperial Crusade Missions
by Quincy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2013 20:20:23

A good set of missions, but one thing is needed. Every single mission is built for the same point costs. A lot of the fun in different missions is imbalanced fights where the objectives balance it out. It can get dull playing 1000 v 1000 over and over again. I would give 3.5 if possible, but I rounded down.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Imperial Crusade Missions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Paper Games Collections
by Marc G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2013 12:56:55

Disclosure: these comments are based on a read through of the rules immediately after purchase - I have not (yet) played any of these games.

First thing's first, you're getting eight board games for $3. Where I work (the City of London) that isn't even going to buy you a sandwich. This is a phenomenally good value package. Each game consists of (roughly) one page of rules and a sheet to be printed out for each player. There is no real limit on the number of players but I would imagine that two players would make for a dull game and more than six or eight might make a time consuming game, at least for the ones where the rules require each player to complete all possible actions before play passes to the next.

The games are largely abstract and there is no movement element. The theme is competitive resource allocation and building, with options to attack any of the other players. In fact, it plays somewhat like a cardless card game. Each game tries to play to its theme (the sci-fi games have power cells, the fantasy games have archers, etc). The mechanic is die rolling using d10s. You roll a number of d10 equal to your population and can then use those dice to manage your economy. It doesn't really matter whether you roll high or low as each action requires different dice for different reasons, e.g. use two dice with the same value to build resource type 'A', use any even die to acquire technology 'B', and so on. The skill lies in using the dice you have effectively (like backgammon).

As far as I can see, the only downside is a common theme of inconsistency between rules and player sheets. It really needed a read through by an independent person. For example, the rules may say "to get building type 'A' spend an even die and three ores'" but the player sheet will say "to get building type 'A' spend an even die and three crystals". Which is correct? Who knows? Some errors are obvious to resolve, for others there's no way to tell.

All in all an interesting package with a clever mechanic at a bargain price, but it is crying out for a proof read and with each game having only one page of rules there is no excuse for that really.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Paper Games Collections
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Science Fiction Stock Art: Mecha and Giant Robots
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2013 21:56:27

The reason I rate this product so low is not the artwork. The artist shows promise and most of the (considerable number) of mecha are well executed.

The problem is the production values. These are pencil sketches on paper that have been scanned in. You can see the grain of the paper, folds in the paper, occasional pencil smudges, and in one case an uneven top of the page. This makes them poor options for using as clip art.

I certainly wouldn't mind seeing more of the artist's work, but only after he gets a drawing tablet or better scanning solution. Inking of the images would be good too, making them easier to clean up if you did want to use them for clip art.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Stock Art: Mecha and Giant Robots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Confrontations
by Edwin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2012 17:33:29

I have to say that Star Confrontations is a refreshing change of pace from the many rules heavy miniatures combat games out there.

This product is a 23 page pdf with one page taken by the front cover. The basic rules of the game take up only 4 pages and give a good overview of combat and terrain effects. I will say that a cheat sheet would be usefull, as some of the rules are efectively hidden in the body of the text. I have made one for my own game and it is very useful in play.

8 pages of the pdf are the Federation and Ork army lists. The armies have a decent selection of troops available. You are not going to find main battle tanks that can chew through hundreds of troops in this game, but each side does have transports/armor vehicles. The federation has an APC, a tank, and a walker. The Orks have a truck. To be honest the Ork truck is not very good, but you can field a LOT of them.

The rest of the pages are the miniatures and templates for the game. 6 pages for the Federation troops and vehicles. 4 pages for the Orks 2 pages of weapon and terrain templates.

The game is great to play and moves quickly. As stated before, this is a simple game and being able to interpret things on the fly is a must. We have had somme situations come up that were not covered in the rules, but that was because we introduced elements of our own. Some people may think this is a detraction from the game, but my group consider it a plus as we are able to make the game our own.

If you want a simple, inexpensive game that won't break you bank on figures in the future you can not beat this one. And the additional Army packs are free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG