RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Star Confrontations
by Mikolaj W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2014 15:08:39
I have not played this game yet but the rules are very simple and i cant wait to try it out.
i am making battlescribe data files for it so i can build armies easier.
just made the federation

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Confrontations: Republic Army
by Quincy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2013 20:45:02
A nice free expansion, based off of star wars. The descriptions for the vehicles are off, though. They are clearly meant for the Star Elf army, as drones are mentioned.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations: Republic Army
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Imperial Crusade Missions
by Quincy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2013 20:20:23
A good set of missions, but one thing is needed. Every single mission is built for the same point costs. A lot of the fun in different missions is imbalanced fights where the objectives balance it out. It can get dull playing 1000 v 1000 over and over again. I would give 3.5 if possible, but I rounded down.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Imperial Crusade Missions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Paper Games Collections
by Marc G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2013 12:56:55
Disclosure: these comments are based on a read through of the rules immediately after purchase - I have not (yet) played any of these games.

First thing's first, you're getting eight board games for $3. Where I work (the City of London) that isn't even going to buy you a sandwich. This is a phenomenally good value package. Each game consists of (roughly) one page of rules and a sheet to be printed out for each player. There is no real limit on the number of players but I would imagine that two players would make for a dull game and more than six or eight might make a time consuming game, at least for the ones where the rules require each player to complete all possible actions before play passes to the next.

The games are largely abstract and there is no movement element. The theme is competitive resource allocation and building, with options to attack any of the other players. In fact, it plays somewhat like a cardless card game. Each game tries to play to its theme (the sci-fi games have power cells, the fantasy games have archers, etc). The mechanic is die rolling using d10s. You roll a number of d10 equal to your population and can then use those dice to manage your economy. It doesn't really matter whether you roll high or low as each action requires different dice for different reasons, e.g. use two dice with the same value to build resource type 'A', use any even die to acquire technology 'B', and so on. The skill lies in using the dice you have effectively (like backgammon).

As far as I can see, the only downside is a common theme of inconsistency between rules and player sheets. It really needed a read through by an independent person. For example, the rules may say "to get building type 'A' spend an even die and three ores'" but the player sheet will say "to get building type 'A' spend an even die and three crystals". Which is correct? Who knows? Some errors are obvious to resolve, for others there's no way to tell.

All in all an interesting package with a clever mechanic at a bargain price, but it is crying out for a proof read and with each game having only one page of rules there is no excuse for that really.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Paper Games Collections
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Science Fiction Stock Art: Mecha and Giant Robots
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2013 21:56:27
The reason I rate this product so low is not the artwork. The artist shows promise and most of the (considerable number) of mecha are well executed.

The problem is the production values. These are pencil sketches on paper that have been scanned in. You can see the grain of the paper, folds in the paper, occasional pencil smudges, and in one case an uneven top of the page. This makes them poor options for using as clip art.

I certainly wouldn't mind seeing more of the artist's work, but only after he gets a drawing tablet or better scanning solution. Inking of the images would be good too, making them easier to clean up if you did want to use them for clip art.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Stock Art: Mecha and Giant Robots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Confrontations
by Edwin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2012 17:33:29
I have to say that Star Confrontations is a refreshing change of pace from the many rules heavy miniatures combat games out there.

This product is a 23 page pdf with one page taken by the front cover. The basic rules of the game take up only 4 pages and give a good overview of combat and terrain effects. I will say that a cheat sheet would be usefull, as some of the rules are efectively hidden in the body of the text. I have made one for my own game and it is very useful in play.

8 pages of the pdf are the Federation and Ork army lists. The armies have a decent selection of troops available. You are not going to find main battle tanks that can chew through hundreds of troops in this game, but each side does have transports/armor vehicles. The federation has an APC, a tank, and a walker. The Orks have a truck. To be honest the Ork truck is not very good, but you can field a LOT of them.

The rest of the pages are the miniatures and templates for the game.
6 pages for the Federation troops and vehicles.
4 pages for the Orks
2 pages of weapon and terrain templates.

The game is great to play and moves quickly. As stated before, this is a simple game and being able to interpret things on the fly is a must. We have had somme situations come up that were not covered in the rules, but that was because we introduced elements of our own. Some people may think this is a detraction from the game, but my group consider it a plus as we are able to make the game our own.

If you want a simple, inexpensive game that won't break you bank on figures in the future you can not beat this one. And the additional Army packs are free.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Strike Legion Mission Logs: Volume I
by RODERICK W D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2012 15:41:39
Thank you for this option to see scenarios for Strike Legion.
Now that I see Vampires are targets, I see the system is Horror based and not Science Fiction.
I just removed all the Strike Legion titles from my Wish List along with anything else JEN Games publishes. I honestly DO appreciate your display of not knowing the difference between Fantasy, Horror and Science Fiction genres. I've not purchased anything yet to see if you included Psionics or other Magic that belong in the Fantasy genre and NOT Science Fiction.

Halloween is over. I pray to the invisible man in the clouds that the undead have finally found rest for a while.

1) Being Horror based (NOT Science Fiction) I think the scenario is alright.
2) The Force Generator is more like magic than technology but today's jets would look like magic to earlier civilizations. Think of the armor's Force Generator like the Green Lantern's ring. Pretty simple solution to a problem IF you think of it. There appears to be ONE solution. If you don't think of THE only option the planet is doomed.
3+)The number of scenarios are 2 with spin-offs to number more.

If your looking for DnD skirmish in space these are alright. Quick combat adventures with a twist away from science. I didn't care for there being only ONE possible solution to combat a situation then repeat the same solution for each following problem. Still, the price makes up for other short comings.
The reason I put JEN Games items in my Wish List were the prices of everything. I didn't buy everything to start is because if it offers shape-changers, any undead, psionics or any other form of magic then it's not science fiction and a waste on MY money. I stress, MY money, because I'm looking for pure science fiction with no fantasy or horror. That doesn't imply it's a waste of money to other players. It's quick and inexpensive.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Strike Legion Mission Logs: Volume I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Confrontations: Space Fleet Patrol
by Perry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2012 01:28:40
This is a great quickie game when you want to do a little space battle based on a certain trademarked property that shall remain nameless.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations: Space Fleet Patrol
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
by Jay D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2012 19:13:11
As a rules lite RPG it's pretty light. But as a resource book for 80's style military action games it is AWESOME!! Of the 30 pages 2 make up the cover and TOC, 2 and a third make up the RPG rules and the reaming 26 are jammed packed a shed load of detailed Skills, Weapons, Characters, and other stuff.

The thing I really like is that Battle Strikes what presents in 30 pages takes hundreds of pages in other modern combat RPG source books.

The weapon descriptions are short and clear but tell you exactly what it can do. For example:
"Laser Pistol (Damage/Range/AP) ~ Laser pistols fire a burst of coherent light designed to melt through armor and bone."

There are a few skills that are redundant like Athlete, wouldn't everybody be an athlete since they are part of a Special Force/Black Ops team?

There are a few places where I see the crossover between the miniatures game Star Confrontations which I plan on using to build some custom SC Armies.

For $.99 cents this is a steal. I'm buying Supers Unleashed right now just to see what goodness it contains.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Adventures For Kids
by Andy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2012 16:13:19
The rules include character sheets and printed characters which are nicely presented.

Really nice images and descriptions that my kids (and wife) loved in their first attempt at role play.
Some of the rules/attributes were a little complicated for my 7 year old, but dumbing it down worked fine and I can use some of the more complex rules once he gets a little older. Rules are ok, but I had to read them through few times and ad-lib a bit to make it work for me, but thats part of the fun I guess.
Rules layout could be a little better with all the reference material in one place rather than spread out, but a minor quibble.

Gameplay took considerably longer than the 30-60 mins specified even on the simple sample dungeon supplied, as the kids attention span isn't the same as adults, but on the plus side it made for even more value for money and they wanted to play the next day.

I know its not the purists view of RPG, but I would love to see more ready made adventures/dungeons in the same series for busy parents. I would buy them.

I would reccommend this title. Well worth the money as a good introduction.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Adventures For Kids
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Supers Unleashed
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/05/2012 16:01:31
To say it is simple is an understatement. It has a lot of potential and extremely easy to learn and play.
The only art is what you see on the cover and there are no examples of play. But for the price you are getting a complete game for under a buck. Not too bad really.

I have a feeling though that eventually that players of this game will want more.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Supers Unleashed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Supers Unleashed
by Alessio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2012 01:35:00
Good superhero rpg: yes, short but it gives much space to storytelling game. The great complaint is the complete lack of tables and, ok, any rules about character advancement.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Supers Unleashed
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2012 23:57:41
Layout -- Ultimately, the visual layout is too simple to be interesting. It is functional and utilitarian but bland and boring for a game about four-color, computer-art-generated comic book super heroes. So much more could have been done with this product art-wise; it needs more of everything. More charts, more lists, more illustrations, etc. The cover is so-so: it's a very good illustration of a boring pose -- the super girl blowing something up could have been drawn with more OOMF, and the thing she is shooting at could have been illustrated as an explosion. Overall, the layout falls flat.

Text -- Written to-the-point, as though it were a technical manual. This is not a bad thing for this product, though. The text is factual and informative, but it lacks "pizazz". A little more descriptive language and colorful story-telling, along with a sample of playing the game, would have been nice but not necessary. It did unintentionally take one of my ideas* that I had about 7 years ago for super hero games, and it seems most games are going this route as they shoot more for the "story telling over mechanics" concept. // * If you don't know what that idea is, I can't tell you. I am designing my own game to present later. Sorry!

Game Play -- This is where SU will shine. It is deceptively simple, IF you are a creative and imaginative person. You can do a lot with this product as you play it, IF you have the time, talent, and treasure to put into it. SU is a skeletal framework to build the super-hero comic book story that YOU want to build YOURSELF. No preconceived notions here!

Money -- You can't beat the price with an ugly stick! One dollar is a good price point, even with all the things this game lacks.

Compared to others like it -- I don't own many games like this, but compared to the other "simple, to-the-point" games I do have (and adding my bias to super hero games anyway), I think if you take all of these things in consideration, you will like this game.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Supers Unleashed
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2012 15:05:03
This is a real basic game, purely descriptive. Die rolling is barely a thing, the modifiers are several times larger than the die rolls. All 100+ powers are on 12 pages, nearly half the book. Each power has a 2-3 line description. It's fairly exhaustive, but it's easy to make your own. The sample character write ups are similarly small, one line of stat(s), one line description. It's neat for a narrative one shot, but lacking in depth nothing in the game is described in more than two or three lines. It's too simple to be elegant, but then again, it's one dollar.

If you want to do a little something with superheros, but not much, perhaps a one-shot campaign, a bizarre flash forward or drug induced hallucination session in your normal game, then this is well worth the dollar. If you are looking for some new or exciting element, it's not here though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Supers Unleashed
by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2012 20:32:09
It's a very simple system. The rules portion of the book is about 3 pages long with the bulk of the book describing the different powers available. As it's drive thru entry suggests the total book length is 30 pages.

If you are looking for a skeletal framework for a superhero game (on the cheap), this could work for you. If you want something more substantial there are plenty of other options out there.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG