RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Panty Explosion Perfect
by Ilias L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2013 11:42:16
Great game! Any chance we could have access to the cover so I can print the book? Thank you in advance.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Panty Explosion Perfect
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ocean
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/06/2013 15:01:50
Ocean is an example of how simple an RPG can be and still be effective.

In Ocean, the players are all people who have woken up in an underwater Station with no memory of how they got there, who they are, or what the monsters are that are stalking and picking them off. They will try to solve three mysteries involving their situation, and survive to escape to safety.

The mechanics of the game are freeform with respect to everything except survival and mystery. Players develop the mystery through rolling dice to find clues to each of the mysteries (who are we? what are the monsters?) and to find supplies that will help them survive and escape. The supplies (weapons, keys, files, etc.) are described in detail.

As a LOST fan, I really like the "castaway" element of the game. The characters are isolated and must work together to succeed in a situation they don't understand. The deck is very much stacked against them mechanically - it's extremely unlikely that everyone will escape together. But with good planning and skillful play they may have a chance.

This competitive/challenge element is not something you normally see in narrative style games of this kind, and it works very well. It also sets up situations where one character might sacrifice themselves for the group, or might throw someone to the wolves (so to speak) for their own benefit, which are highly dramatic and interesting character actions not normally given mechanical weight.

This is a solid game that you will want to run more than once, to compare what was created across several groups. It's also an ideal convention scenario, with almost exactly enough content to learn and understand in a single session with a tight ending.

The presentation of the material with a comic book style to help people understand the tone and mechanics is also innovative and good (though the really constricted text gets a bit old at times.) Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ocean
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Panty Explosion Perfect
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2012 07:01:05
A good narrative game, with simple rules and good art. The art could be better in a few spots (sometimes the eyes look very very weird) and the rules look like rehashed FATE concepts, but it just fits very well, so it's not really a problem.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Panty Explosion Perfect
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
G x B (Girl x Boy)
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2012 06:55:59
I did not expect much from G x B. However, I was disappointed.
I expected a rules light game with rules for interaction with shoujo manga style art. However, the art is bad. The characters look misshapen. There are typos here and there. It looks like there was no proofreading. There is nothing new or creative to the game. It's Breaking The Ice, except less interesting and with more people.

I spent only 5 dollars in this game and I regret every cent of it.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
G x B (Girl x Boy)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Magical Land of Yeld: Mermaid Hunters
by Aaron W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2012 00:22:07
I could say a lot, but I will just say this - Mermaid Hunters represents everything that is great about The Magical Land of Yeld. If any part of you adores the adventure of childhood fantasy then buying this will render it a service.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magical Land of Yeld: Mermaid Hunters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Sea Dracula Wave 2
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2010 05:07:07
I love this. It's easy to learn. It's quick to play. And it's completely insane.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sea Dracula Wave 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ocean
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2009 09:29:23
This game is really cool. I really enjoy the concept of being survivors in an abandoned undersea lab and solving the mystery of how the characters got there, what the lab is for, and what the heck the "monsters" stalking them are. Has a nice, rules-lite system with no GM whose dice-pool betting mechnics really does a good job simulating how things happen in survival horror / thriller movies. While the mysteries you solve are set by the game you will solve them as a group, as there is no GM to create the story everyone gets a chance to narrate, describe scenes, and have their character discover clues. It's less structured and more interactive than some games and that may turn-off some people. I think this is a great little game to run as a break from your regular session and try something different.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ocean
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Magical land of Yeld [playtest edition 2.0]
by Miguel d. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2009 16:51:05
The Magical Land of Yeld

This game it is so new it is still in beta. The pdf ebook (which can be read by almost every computer on earth, I presume) costs just $2.00 -two bucks- and it will give you a lot of punch for that money. It is a game that would appeal to younger children and would not scare parents. Nobody can die, when the adventurer party is wiped out, they just appear back in home. It’s incredibly funny, with many subtle references to Japanese anime for kids. In other words, this game speaks your children language. Most of the game world is left to the players. They give you a blank map and tons of ideas to fill it up. And not just combat and persecutions and those boyish jolly stuff, there are holidays and parties too!

And you always have an adventure. That is, you have arrived to the Magical Land of Yeld but you want to return home… which is a wee tricky, you need to collect keys, badges and very cool equipment. Kids would love that.

Rules are super easy to catch and the character sheet is a sweet to understand. And in this game even the GM has to obey the rules, and plays a character too. (GM = the player who “tells” the story for you non-roleplayers )

Beta means it’s rough around the edges. No flashy pics, very simple format (your printer would love that) and there are few typos, but for $2.00 I’m more than willing to forgive those. (Plus you can email the authors and tell them how to improve the game). Seriously, I’m loving this one.

Excerpt from my blog eldietario.com

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magical land of Yeld [playtest edition 2.0]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Panty Explosion Classic
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/19/2007 00:00:00
Panty Explosion

Panty Explosion is a game that I am not the intended target for. The game is about Japanese Psychic Schoolgirls. I understand that this is a genre within the anime, manga, and live action movies Japan has. I am mostly unfamiliar with all of that. I read list of items the author used as inspiration and I had not heard of let alone seen any of them. So, while I am new to the genre the role playing game aspect is something that I am very familiar with and I can easily say I like what I read here. Panty Explosion is a game for a very tight audience. It is not a game that can do other things; all of its focus is on this genre and it works.

Panty Explosion is a relatively new RPG by Atarashi Games. It is written by Jake Richmond and Matt Schlotte. It comes in a small ninety six page book. The art is all very respectful and of realistic looking Japanese schoolgirls. I use the word respectful because the title can make people wonder otherwise. The book has a very cool lay out that makes it look like it was written in a school note book and there are the occasional little doodles and scribbles in there. The character sheet is provided in the back of the book and it is made to resemble a student?s Permanent School Record. They do a very good job with the art and look of everything to reinforce the school setting of the game.

Panty Explosion is at its core a horror game. But it is really hard to tell that from just a casual reading and understanding. The players are playing Japanese schoolgirls that are trying to just survive school. And to make it worse there are demons that want them dead. Not all the characters will be psychic. It is a blessing and a curse and the book does a very good job of demonstrating that. On the surface the game may deal with the characters getting read for school and dealing with bullies or being the bully, popularity, after school jobs and activities; there is always the fear of strangers and demons. I think if I understood the genre a little better I would have a better grasp of how it all fits together.

Panty Explosion has its own mechanics and character generation. This is a character driven game and everything really enforces that. One of the items with character creation is blood type. Apparently the Japanese place a lot more into blood type then I ever knew. Blood type does not dictate personality it does though help to define it. type is important as it defines personality and certain blood types are seen as better then others. And then each person has a trait based on their blood type. It is a bit more of a defining characteristic like people know they can rely on her, asks the right questions, devil?s advocate, or always thinks before she speaks. Then one selects the month the character was born in and this once again will help define the character?s personality. A trait based on the month will also be selected. I really like the defining of the character?s personality and focus on that during character generation. It really does a nice job of showing what the game sees as important.

The closest the game has to stats is with the five elements. Each character basically fifteen points among the five elements of Earth, Water, Fire, Air, and Void. Each point represents a die that will be rolled to accomplish tasks. Each element covers different types of actions. Each one is also strongly associated with certain personality traits. So someone with a strong Earth would possible be stubborn and confidant. They like to see things remain as they are. Each of the elements has traits with them as well and for one?s character the player picks the element they feel fits the character best and assigns one trait associated with the element. Each player will then also pick a trait associated with their family and one about their hobbies. Traits are important as they allow one to roll higher dice. If the character gets to roll d6?s, when they try to do something related to one of their traits they get to use d8?s.

Each character has a best friend and rival. These are other player characters. One player can claim another character is her rival and that character can have the first one be her best friend. This is important later as the game is played. When a character succeeds in an action the player playing the best friend describes how the success happens. When a character fails it is her rival?s player that describes the failure. It is a very interesting mechanic that makes the players much more involved in the game. It can also be a challenge for people not used to basically doing some of the Superintendent?s job. The Superintendent is the DM of the game.

At the beginning of each game each student selects an agenda that the character is trying to accomplish. These are important because the demon is reinforced by unresolved agendas. Once an agenda is succeeded the character acquires s a trait that reflects the completion of the agenda. There is a long list of sample agendas in the book and I think this will be really helpful for people not sure of what to do with their characters. It is a nice and simple way to give a focus of what the character will do and a goal for them to go towards. The last bit of importance for the characters is popularity. Before each game there is a secret vote to see which character is the most and least popular. Anyone with psychic powers can never be the most popular. This determines what dice one rolls to accomplish tasks. The most popular uses a d10, the least a d6, and every one else use d8?s.

In a given sequence of events each character has a poll of dice depending on their elements. Once a character uses all her fire dice for instance she can not take actions that are governed by fire. This should help players get a little more creative and it also helps scenes come to an end. There is a lot of conflict but rarely is it going to be deadly. It can be dealing with tests, and bullies and other things people encounter in schools. I would have liked to see a sample adventure or something more to get an even better understanding on what happens in the game. There is a section that explains it and a good portion of the book is dedicated to the setting and the feel of the game. As a novice to the genre though I felt I needed a little bit more.

The writing for the character generation is interesting and involves the reader. The setting writing reads a little too fact based. There is some colorful characters and the first half is fun to read. But then the tone changes as it goes into the Japanese culture and what their schools are like. At times it seemed like something one would hear on a news report. It is very informative but little else.

Panty Explosion is a game that covers an area that no other game I have seen does. It has a very interesting and well done character generation system. I really enjoy the use of traits, the simple mechanics, and the way the game involves different people at the table. How the game runs and what a session looks like though is a little harder for me to grasp.


QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Panty Explosion Classic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG