RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Punk [BUNDLE]
Punk [BUNDLE]
$30.00 $16.00









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Limitless Horizons
by Stirling W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2014 13:43:47
At first I found this product to be very confusing. From its description I had expected a post-singularity science-fiction setting for Fate. Instead it turned out to be a pulp SF add-on to Spirit of the Century, which made extensive reference to that particular set of rules. What's worse, it NEVER actually mentions Spirit of the Century at any point in the text, but refers to "SotC" as if it should be an obvious reference.

However, once I had figured out that it was an add-on product, and resigned myself to it being a different kind of SF setting, the contents were fairly useful. I am a fan of SF pulp stories, and have written some scenarios that I would love to play out in such a universe, and Limitless Horizons would be of some use there, but only some. I found the rules presented to be a bit of a grab-bag of ideas, and not as coherent or as well-explained as I would have liked. For example, the statement that armor causes stress boxes to not 'roll-up' would appear to make armor able to absorb infinite stress and I doubt that is what the author intented that rule to imply.

Frankly, I suspect I find far more useful rule ideas to steal for a pulp SF game in the 'Bulldogs' setting, than in this supplement.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Limitless Horizons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

YotZ:Survivors guide back issues 0-3 [BUNDLE]
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2012 16:01:25
I will quickly support what the above reviewer has said, with an update and short additional comments.

Firstly, I've come to love every piece of work UKG Publishing puts out. If you're a fan of zombies, their Year of the Zombie series is by far the best supplemental material I've found for the kind of games I like to run and play.

These issues, and all the future ones as well (which ARE available now), do three things incredibly well:
1) They always start off with a short narrative describing ongoing characters and a setting. It really gets you in the mood to play.
2) The environments, new classes, weapons and equipment, is all very appropriate and well-designed for adding to a zombie campaign.
3) There's always a nice map or two, plus a few great NPCs or baddies, for you to use.

Long story short, there's some great fluff here, but the most important part is that these ALWAYS have some REAL, USABLE materials for your game. Cleanly made, top-down, gridded maps, that are detailed and tell a story by themselves.

My only complaints - proofreading. I really do understand how easy it is to miss bad grammar and spellings, even after proofreading your work multiple times, but there's still glaring mistakes that pop out here and there. It's true, it may just be me, and it probably won't bother most people, but it's these little hiccups that prevent them from being truly polished writing.

But what are you doing here for good fiction? Buy this pack, and all the rest, because they have all the crunchy goodness you need to run some great zomb-apoc games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
YotZ:Survivors guide back issues 0-3 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book IX
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:40:08
Leather book covers in various colors for your projects or personal use.

A magical "page" is also included which I rather liked.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book IX
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Enduring: Witches and Shamans
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/07/2012 16:07:34
This book gives us a Faery Witch and Shaman class. There is some natural overlap between the two. In addition there are also 3 new prestige classes and 22 new feats. There are a fair number of new magic items and a lot of new spells. There are also quite a few new monsters that are likely to exist in the same worlds as witches and shamans. The classes seem a bit overpowered for straight d20 ones, but might make good Pathfinder classes. The feats and spells are mixed bag. I have seen similar sorts of feats and spells in other books, some better, some worse. But for the price, this is a good deal. I am not a huge fan of the art, but it is not bad.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Enduring: Witches and Shamans
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Art by Shinkei: Scifi Equipment
by Breandan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2012 12:11:49
While the art is very good, the title is misleading as the majority of the images in this bundle are weapons.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Art by Shinkei: Scifi Equipment
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Art by Shinkei: Aliens
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/24/2012 08:34:50
A good selection of CG alien creatures in a variety of poses and situations that would be great for a sci-fi/horror campaign. I particularly liked the thermo-imaged alien pics, and would have liked to have seen more of those for the other alien images.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Art by Shinkei: Aliens
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book VI
by Giulio T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 07:37:39
I've bought all these covers as boundle. Really sad.

The different coloration of the "leather bound" cover are really of the lowest quality.
The leatherbound background, if I'm not mistaken, is taken from something is found online.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book VI
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book V
by Giulio T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 07:37:16
I've bought all these covers as boundle. Really sad.

The different coloration of the "leather bound" cover are really of the lowest quality.
The leatherbound background, if I'm not mistaken, is taken from something is found online.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book V
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book IV
by Giulio T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 07:37:01
I've bought all these covers as boundle. Really sad.

The different coloration of the "leather bound" cover are really of the lowest quality.
The leatherbound background, if I'm not mistaken, is taken from something is found online.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book IV
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book III
by Giulio T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 07:36:42
I've bought all these covers as boundle. Really sad.

The different coloration of the "leather bound" cover are really of the lowest quality.
The leatherbound background, if I'm not mistaken, is taken from something is found online.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book III
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book II
by Giulio T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 07:36:25
I've bought all these covers as boundle. Really sad.

The different coloration of the "leather bound" cover are really of the lowest quality.
The leatherbound background, if I'm not mistaken, is taken from something is found online.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book I
by Giulio T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 07:35:22
This product is amateurish at best.

The different coloration of the "leather bound" cover are really of the lowest quality.
The leatherbound background, if I'm not mistaken, is taken from something is found online.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Art by Shinkei: Aliens
by Al S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2011 00:38:05
The style of the images here are similar to the Art by Shinkei SciFi 5 and 6, so you might want to consider buying all three art packs if you are doing a project with a gritty "Aliens" feel to it. There are several good pictures here of large, intimidating aliens beating up space marines. There are also a few pictures that show aliens in less aggressive poses.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art by Shinkei: Aliens
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Art by Shinkei: SciFi 6
by Al S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2011 00:28:02
The previous reviewer already described what you'll get with this package. My only complaint is some of the pictures are a little dark, so you might need to adjust the brightness and contrast.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Art by Shinkei: SciFi 6
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Art by Shinkei: SciFi 5
by Al S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2011 00:21:37
I was a little hesitant about buying this product because there was no preview. Since it was on sale I decided to take the chance. The general theme of this package seems to be a focus on space marines, so if that is what you're looking for then this product should be quite useful for you. So if you are thinking of buying this product here's what you will get:

Image 1: This picture shows a man in camouflage in what could be a spaceship or a warehouse.

Image 2: A pink haired woman in what looks like a work uniform with her arms crossed. The background is a metal interior similar to image 1.

Image 3: An armed and armored space marine. He faces the viewer head on with guns ready. Industrial interior background.

Image 4: Another armored space marine, though his pose is a little more dynamic than the previous image. The background is a solid light grey so if you want the picture to blend into a white background you'll need to do a little digital manipulation.

Image 5: Adequately titled "Marines on Patrol," this one shows two armored space marines cautiously moving down a hallway.

Image 6: Entitled "silent suit," this one shows a woman in a grey suit that covers most of her body. Background is industrial.

Image 7: Entitled "skin suit," shows a woman in a skin tight white and blue full body spandex suit. Industrial background.

Image 8: A female space pirate in a running pose. Background looks like it could be an engine room.

Image 9: A dirty brown building against a desolate background. I'm glad they included this image because I could see most of the other images in this package taking place within this building.

Image 10: A man in a full body suit. The window in the background appears to show an asteroid field.

All in all, a good deal for the money though some of the poses are a bit dull and don't invoke much of a sense of excitement. I also bought Art by Shinkei: SciFi 6 at the same time. Some of the images in that package could go well with some of the images here, so if you are thinking of doing a product with a "gritty" sci-fi feel and heavily armed space marines you might want to consider buying both SciFi 5 and 6.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Art by Shinkei: SciFi 5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 264 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG