RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Monster Movie Matinee
by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2014 12:19:05
There's a Monster Movie Matinee Loose In Your Campaign!

Despite playing RPGs for a good thirty years, I had no idea that the first two 3PP monster books that I would buy for the fantastic Pathfinder RPG would come courtesy of a Fat Goblin! I was still basking in the afterglow of Mindblast! Classic Monsters Augmented and the psionic creepy crawlies within when I stumbled across the listing for Monster Movie Matinee - also from Fat Goblin Games. Being a long time horror fan and believe it or not indie filmmaker, I decided to scoop up a copy sight unseen - and I'm glad I did.

I downloaded the PDF copy right away but I waited until my softcover arrived to flip through it. This is a fantastic 26 page supplement of horror movie monsters converted to the Pathfinder RPG. CR ranges from 3 to 11 and it won't take much to modify those up or down as needed. When I opened the book, I expected to find a couple cool varations of classic Universal monster movies like vampires, mummies and lagoon creatures and I couldn't have been more mistaken - and wonderfully surprised by the contents within!

What you get instead is a list of ten monsters adapted from horror films ranging from classic to modern B-movies! Instead of vampires and mummies we have killer clowns and grey invaders alongside red and green sweater wearing nightmare stalkers! Fat Goblin Games brings you monsters clearly adapted from the main baddies of a plethora of horror hits such as The Creature from the Black Lagoon, Mars Attacks, Stephen King's It, Predator, Pitch Black, A Nightmare On Elm Street, Friday the 13th, Tremors, Little Shop of Horrors and Sharknado! Yes, you read that correctly!

These monsters are perfect for adding to any campaign as each one has its own appropriate envirnment. Currently running a wilderness based campaign and you need a more engaging encounter than another orc hunting party, then unleash the Jungle Predator on your unsuspecting PCs! Is your party is trekking through a forbidden swamp, then summon up the Aquamonstrosity from its murky depths to intrigue them! Are your PCs waiting around bored in town until they can catch the next ship to adventure, then call down a mighty Shark Tornado to make them afraid to go in the water again - or the land for that matter!

This little monster book is equal parts fun and fury and I absolutely love it! The story and encounter ideas practically write themselves! The book is error free and features the glorious full color monster art that Fat Goblin Games is known for.

What are you waiting for? Buy it today!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Movie Matinee
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mindblast! - Classic Monsters Augmented (PFRPG-Psionics))
by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2014 11:27:33
Mindblast Your Campaign Right Where It Hurts!

I recently picked up a copy of Ultimate Psionics from Dreamscarred Press and found that I loved the mechanics so much that I considered the additions absolutely indispensible. Unfortunately, Paizo has yet to fully embrace these alternate psionic rules therefore there is a paucity of NPCs and monsters utilizing the psionic rules. Dreamscarred recently released both an NPC collection and their complete Psionic Bestiary containing many magnificent new psionic creatures - but there was very little info on using classic monsters with psionics.

Enter Fat Goblin Games and MINDBLAST! Classic Monsters Augmented! Now, I have a fine selection of psionic versions of several classic fantasy monsters and I absolutely love it. We get psionic versions of the bugbear, barghest, owlbear, goblin, rust monster and several more!

Mindblast! Classic Monsters Augmented perfectly supplements Dreamscarred's Psionic Bestiary and Psionics Embodied without rehashing the same material. They're designed to sit side by side and that's exactly what they do on my shelf. I love monster books and having this little supplement makes my shelf happy.

Now, when my players want to dable in psioinics, all I have to do is reach for Mindblast! Classic Monsters Augmented and flip through the pages until I find an encounter appropriate for the setting. The text and information seems error free and the art for the monsters is quite beautiful.

Highly reccomended. Buy it today!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mindblast! - Classic Monsters Augmented (PFRPG-Psionics))
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Movie Matinee
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2014 21:28:56
Monster Movie Matinee provides ten new monsters plucked from horror and other movies and able to be dropped into a Pathfinder campaign. While some are probably best suited to one-shot adventures, others could be woven into an ongoing campaign. Pretty much, this product does what it says on the tin, if you want some movie monsters to bedevil your players, this is for you.

Monster Movie Matinee by Fat Goblin Games is a monster sourcebook for Pathfinder featuring versions of famous movie monster for use in your campaign. The monsters range from CR 3 to 11, a good spread, and while most are lone threats several can operate in groups providing a wide range of encounter options.

Each monster gets a two-page spread complete with full color illustration and it is an interesting collection of famous movie creatures and part of the fun is matching the creature to the source (though there is a watching list in the back that spoils all that). The adaption of movie abilities to Pathfinder is quite well done and there is some very nice design work here.

While I would have liked some magic items and adventure seeds tied to the creatures, most GMs probably already have their own ideas how to use them so it is not as much of an issue. A well done and most amusing product.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Movie Matinee
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Quick Covers- Landscape Edition
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2014 11:49:50
I've used these covers with 6 different products now and I plan to keep using them. They deliver exactly what is promised and they look good.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Covers- Landscape Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher's Choice - Fantasy Design ( Interior Backgrounds #2)
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2014 11:38:29
I've already used one of these designs in a product and I'm going to be publishing one soon using another. These interiors are a simply, cost-effective way of giving your pages a real professional look. I highly recommend them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher's Choice - Fantasy Design ( Interior Backgrounds #2)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enhanced Racial Guide: Bhriota
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/04/2014 10:16:30
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This massive racial guide for the Bhriota clocks in at 42 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD and 1 page advertisement, leaving us with an impressive 36 pages of content, so let's take a look!



The Bhriota are a human ethnicity and as such, I feel I should mention one fact - I'm a huge fan of human "races" - chalk it up to my extensive reading of Sword & Sorcery literature, but I'd rather have different stats for different ethnicities than x pseudo-humanoid races with almost human cultures and outlooks. It's a matter of taste and thus, I am rather in favor of the base concept of the Bhriota. Now of course, one may suppose that such rules may not necessarily be perfectly politically correct, but then again, the same argument could be applied to all humanoid races, so I'm going to ignore this discussion for the matter of this review - as long as the fluff is great and the crunch lines up, I'm happy.



Now the semi-nomadic Bhriota are a people essentially sundered - chosen to be custodians of a seal holding the old ones in check, the majority of their race has succumbed inevitably to the seeping unearthly corruption imposed upon them by the dread things from beyond. Rules-wise, Bhriota receive +2 Str and Con, -2 Cha, +2 to intimidate, a bonus feat, weapon familiarity with axes and Bhriota weapons. Generally, the race is cool, but the dual statboost to physical attributes gear them slightly too strongly towards melee-roles for my tastes.



Extensive information on takes of the respective classes, outlooks on religion etc. are all provided and we also receive favored class options for all core and APG-classes - these generally are well-balanced. No issues here! As has become the tradition, Bhriota may choose from an array of alternate racial traits, which include exchanging the intimidate bonus for stealth or increased resistance against diseases and similar conditions, better CMD (or saves)for weapon familiarity. Once again, no complaints here.



We also receive 4 racial archetypes - the insane assailant can enter a reactive rage that also doubles as a confusion-effect on him in favor of better DR and scaling, powerful damage boosts. Over all, an archetype high in concept, if a bit on the weak side for my tastes. The Savage Huntsman ranger is a specialist of traps, being able to add negative conditions to their effects. Additionally, these guys may temporarily decrease their favored enemy bonus to attack a suiting creature and apply negative conditions upon targets - a damn cool mechanic: Finally, something interesting to be done with boring favored enemies! Over all, a cool one!. The esoteric binder summoners receive diminished eidolons in favor of expanded spell-lists and have his eidolon deliver touch spells. Thankfully with a caveat that prevents stacking of held charges. Spell-like abilities and an aura that cancels out morale bonuses and penalties make for an interesting archetype as well. Finally, there would be the Bhriota Witch Doctor - who uses con instead of int as governing attribute - highly uncommon! Patron-access is limited, though, and in order to learn hexes, these guys need to live through permanent disfigurements, which will see them ostracized in most civilized societies - the mark of agony clearly denounces them as adherents to unsavory practices and rites. In lieu of a familiar, these fellows receive a fetish mask to act as their channel to their patrons, which they later can enchant. Additionally, 1st and 10th level hex are fixed via the 2 new hexes: Rending hex duplicates a 1/creature/24-hours inflict light wounds, while another forces open wounds healed and deals damage + bleed - which can only be stopped by regular heal-skills, not magic. The first hex may be a bit much - every day, infinite inflict light wounds, provided you meet enough different targets feels a bit much, especially in combination with the con-based casting - con being the most useful stat for casters anyway and the lack of MAD of the witch class making this more grievous. While the implied social stigmata of this archetype, when properly evoked by the DM, may offset these balance concerns, unfettering this archetype from its fluff and the peculiarities of the setting may see this not work anymore. So, while not downright broken, one option that requires deliberation.



Next up are 10 new racial feats - Bloodlust being the first, allowing you to add base will-save (NOT the modified one) to atk and damage against uninjured foes. Wait...come again? While the bonus thankfully is not the modified will-save, the damage+atk bonus's scaling surpasses similar feats almost immediately and increases the mook-mowing capacities of charges and vital strikes further. With the rather low prereqs, especially for multi-class builds a nasty glass-cannon enhancer that needs some nerfing. +1AoO with unarmed strike is neat, as is better charging versus inanimate, unattended targets. rerolling fear-saves, resistance to saves versus disease and poison - per se cool. Odd, though - the Grudge Bearer-feat, which allows you to retaliate against racial hatred foes with +1/2 last received damage on the next weapon damage roll. Apart from the obvious means of exploitation, the race does not receive hatred - so it can't take the feat. Attacking unattended objects whenever you miss makes sense and applying wis-mod, if negative, as a bonus to will-saves while raging makes thematic sense for insane characters. Penalizing perception and concentration while in the presence of a non-instantaneous spell's area of effect at +1 spell level would be interesting. Making full-damage attacks against swarms as a standard action (somewhat akin to vital strike) also is within the boundaries of what I consider valid.



We also receive quite an array of different traits - from minor bonuses to small pseudo-rages and birthmarks that denote the chosen of the Old Ones, these traits generally are well-crafted and supplied with nice fluff.



Next up would be Bhriota Rune Magic - using the rules via Rune Catser and providing full synergy with e.g. how they are handled in Northlands and similar publications, we receive an array of various runes - including a total of 6 feats to dive into runic magic, should you not be familiar with the concept. The runes per se are rather awesome and well-balanced, though minor exceptions can be found - the Na'arlosham Rune for example, allows you to do the following: "Invoked upon a spear, the rune invokes divine favor from the Old Ones upon the first character who throws it over the head of an enemy force (nine or more opponents) in the next nine hours." -so what are the benefits? Another rune that nets you a bonus of +20 to the next bull rush attempt executed may feel a bit excessive. Why not opt for a scaling benefit depending on HD? On the cool-side - we receive a drawing for each rune - nice!



The Bhriota Shaman-PrC receives 1/2 BAB-progression, 1/2 ref and will-progression, full spell-casting progression, up to +5d6 sneak attack progression,d6 and 4+Int skills per level. The class receives a curse board with which to curse adversaries and special dances, which allow for the casting of particular spells (depending on the school) as spell-like abilities a limited amount of times per day. Alas, the class seems to have undergone some revision - the PrC's table sports various abilities like ranged legerdemain that are not listed in the class' write-up - while I *know* what these do, I'm happy they *seem* to have been cut - this PrC is rather strong even without them. That being said, the PrC is still feeling like it's missing half its content. Fun fact - Herbal Remedies, gained at 3rd level, is also missing from the table. So yeah, massive update glitch.



We also receive an array of cool, generally balanced and rather flavorful Bhriota-specific weaponry - sneak attack with specific darts reduces movement, special caltrops, a sacrificial kit - glorious pieces, even before the alchemical war draughts and war paints. A total of 4 different magical items, from aberration blood to insanely powerful, high-level bone rattles (almost 2K price!) and a cool two-bladed sword make for interesting options - the latter increases its enchantment by +1 upon scoring a crit, changing its bleed damage to cold damage for a limited time makes for an interesting mechanic. As a particularly nice service for guys like yours truly, we also receive a legendary weapon. These would be weapons that require specific wielder-characteristics and in turn, increase in potency with their wielder - the swords of legendary Vathak, Ataciber and Reratuv, scale in 10 steps over 20 levels and makes combatants truly fearsome indeed - a cool, almost artifact-level weapon-duo, though one I wished had some unique traits.



Now the next chapter would be among my favorite in this book - here, we receive tribal symbols and glyphs and complete write-ups of the corrupted, degenerate tribes. A total of 4 such tribal write-ups, full of great hooks, can be found herein and each write-up sports two exclusive alternate racial traits - no complaints there!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are better than in any Fat Goblin Games-pdf I've read in quite a while - very good, actually! Layout is beautiful in all the right ways - the 2-column full-color layout is easy to read, beautiful and still printer-friendly. The full color artworks, original pieces, are STUNNING. Seriously, these pieces are GORGEOUS and have their very own style and allure, rendering this pdf over all a true beauty to behold. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Rick Hershey always had potential as both designer and writer. The glitches lay in the detail and so, the presence of line developer John Bennett is felt indeed - this pdf is a joy to read. Its fluff is superb and of a high quality that makes reading this pdf inspiring. The quality of the crunch also has seen a significant step upwards - the majority of the content herein is rather cool and there indeed are some rather damn cool ideas in here. That being said, the few broken feats and glitched, unusable PrC somewhat neuter this pdf's otherwise stellar track-record. Were it for the fluff only, I'd rate this 5 stars +seal f approval, but with the glitches, I can't go any higher than a final rating of 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4. Still, consider me rather intrigued about Vathak - I now really want to see where the Fat Goblin Games crew takes the setting with this increased quality!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enhanced Racial Guide: Bhriota
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fat Goblin Games Presents: Carnival of Sinners
by Shannon J B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2014 12:34:56
Excellent creepy setting. Perfect for even my Savage Worlds Gothic settings Im running.
Easy to change stats. Its the great writing, ideas and flavor that Carnival of Sinners gives that can be used by anyone for any era or ruleset.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fat Goblin Games Presents: Carnival of Sinners
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fat Goblin Travel Guide To The Frozen Tomb of the Dwarf Lord
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/04/2014 04:22:04
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Fat Goblin Travel Guides clocks in at 12 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/ToC, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 9 pages of content, so what do we get herein?



Essentially, we get a fully mapped location (map in full color, btw.) to drop into other adventures, as sidetreks, etc. The location sports a total of 7 keyed locations and while the full color map is beautiful, a player-friendly version sans keys would have been appreciated.



The terrain of the module itself is pretty well documented and the new hazard, essentially the magical equivalent of liquid nitrogen and a neat new CR 2 trap make for fine hazards. The 4 sample treasures that can potentially be found herein are also neat - a yeti-cloak, a lance that uses the mount's str-score, a charm that protects against ice damage - until it no longer works and instead can conjure forth an ice elemental...the items are flavorful and actually interesting!



We also get 3 new sample creature at Cr 4, 5 and 6 - and they come with cool signature abilities, gorgeous artworks...and minor or major errors in each statblock. Not only brackets at the wrong place in the block, we're also talking about damage output being incorrect and the like *sigh*



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting, on a formal level, are very good. On a rules-level, they could be better. Layout adheres to Fat Goblin Games' gorgeous two-column full-color standard and the pdf comes with stellar full color artwork and cartography as well as bookmarks.



The Tomb of the Dwarven Lord is a nice go-play insert location with a cool hazard (haha), okay terrain, a neat map and nice treasure. Alas, it also wastes 3 pages of its precious page-count on unnecessary monsters that sport errors. If you own *a lot* of the more obscure 3pp-offerings, you might also want to consider whether to get this, since, some components have seen the light of day before. *cough* Zeitgeist AP, Ronin Arts */cough*



That being said, I still think Rick Hershey has delivered a solid little sidetrek that is inexpensive and inoffensive enough to be considered an ok product for the fair price-point. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 2.5 stars, rounded up to 3 for the purpose of this platform.


Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fat Goblin Travel Guide To The Frozen Tomb of the Dwarf Lord
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Feats of Abjuration
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/30/2014 06:30:28
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let#s take a look!

9 feats for abjuration are provided, so what do they do?

-Abjurant Flux: Prevent the decrease to perceive abjuration spells in close proximity to another, making masking energies easier. Nice, if very specific.
-Abjurer's Abnegation: +2 points of damage for damage-dealing abjurations.
-Arcane Ward: Sacrifice a prepared spell to get the effects of an improved, scaling shield as a supernatural (thus non-dispellable) ability.
-Circles of Resistance: Protection and Magic Circles also grant SR vs alignment-based spells.
-Guarded Spell (Metamagic): +1 spell level allows the spell to cast while taking the total defense option if casting duration is not too long. AWESOME idea.
-Overwhelming Dispel: Add spell focus and its greater cousin to dispel checks; Deal spell-level damage to target if you dispel his spell.
-Resistant Abjurer: Gain resistance 1 to cold, electricity and fire 1 when under the effects of abjurations with save: harmless. Too weak for my tastes.
-Warding Blast: Make arcane blast powered by your ward - expend shield for deadly blast.
-Warding Shield: Make arcane shield powered by your ward - expend the ward shield for better arcane shield.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Arts 2-column, landscape style and the pdf has neither bookmarks, nor artwork and needs neither at this length.
Daron Woodson has delivered quite an array of interesting feats here - while not all are eligible, some indeed can be considered awesome and uncommon regarding their mechanics. While not all rock, the vast majority is cool - hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feats of Abjuration
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Feats of Conjuration
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/30/2014 06:29:55
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the "More Feats"-series is 3 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, this time with 9-conjuration-themed feats!

-Arcane Armorer: Increase armor bonus granted by conjuration (creation) by +1.

-Barrier Spell (Metamagic): When casting spells with a casting duration of 1 round or longer, get 3x spell level SR and the same bonus to AC. +1 spell level.

-Bolstered Health: gain hit points equal to 3x the highest level conjuration (healing) spell you can cast.

-Channel Health: When casting conjuration (healing), roll one die twice and take the higher result. In exchange, become fatigued for 2x spell level rounds. When already fatigued, become exhausted and take non-lethal damage.

-Dimensional Striker: When using dimensional savant to flank yourself, deal +1d6 damage to each flanked opponent. Nice one!

-Dramatic Teleportation: Impose a -4 penalty on foes witnessing you teleport for 1 minute. That one's nasty when combined with teleporting items due to the lack of saves...not too keen on it, but still ok.

-Persistent Summons: Your summoned creatures can't be dispelled by caster levels lower than yours. Cool feat...but take into account the repercussions for your campaign world's logic. Can become problematic.

-Seething Summons: When conjuring creatures while under the effects of a rage, your summons enter the fray as affected by a rage spell. Obviously requires moment of clarity. An ok, if a bit weak feat.

-Wonderworker: When casting divine spells of 6th level or higher, you create a vast display tha can be perceived up to a MILE away and fills an area of 50 ft. times spell level centered on the target of the spell. Allies are inspired, foes demoralized for 1 round and adversaries of HD less than the spell level diametrically opposed to your deity's alignment instead become shaken for 1 round - all sans saves. Per se, a cool idea - but the wonder will turn old fast. the vast visibility range is problematic in my book and the lack of saves is not something I'd enjoy - a longer duration and instead a more limited application could have made this work better.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art's 2-column no-frills standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

Daron Woodson has created some unconventional feats herein and the approach to how the respective feats utilize spell-levels should be considered rather interesting. That being said, I also have the notion that the feats tend to be a tad bit off on the balance scale -not by much, mind you, but still - some feel a bit weak, whereas others (especially Persistent Summons) can alter the internal logic of your whole campaign. While not broken per se, I hence can't rate this the full 5 stars and instead will settle on a final verdict of 4 stars - a solid pdf, though one that should see close scrutiny by the prospective DM.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Feats of Conjuration
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fat Goblin Halloween Special [BUNDLE]
by tristan t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 14:40:17
The amazing amount of content that was given in this bundle was well worth the price. The books are neatly organized and are very easy to follow. They would make a horrific setting easy to set up and give plenty of creatures,races, classes, and ideas for both players and gms to mess with. The art is just ripe with scenery that matches this holiday season and just can't be beat when it comes to an all hallows eve adventure. 5 out of 5 very impressed especially with the presentation.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fat Goblin Halloween Special [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fat Goblin Games Presents: Carnival of Sinners
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2014 12:36:26
This wonderful collection of carnival themed characters is right in time for Halloween. The vibrant layout and art immediately conjures up the mood of the book, and one can almost hear the old organ music in the background as they read. The art by Rick Hershey captures the menace of the npc gallery superbly. The adventure hooks are interesting and grab you by the throat. The bright colors also helps its dark subject matter. This book delivers!

From the incredibly detailed slang chapter to its quite horrifying members of the carnival, this sourcebook is a must have for game masters wishing to run a terrifying carnival-themed adventure.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fat Goblin Games Presents: Carnival of Sinners
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Madam Mombi presents: Superstitions & Cottage Myths
by Kerry L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 12:16:18
Great little book, a lot of fun to read, a lot of stories I had not heard of

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Madam Mombi presents: Superstitions & Cottage Myths
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CLASSifieds: Battlefield Defiler (Magus Archetype)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/12/2014 03:51:32
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 6 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page about Fat Goblin Games, leaving us with 3 pages of content for the battlefield defiler, so let's take a look what this magus archetype does, shall we?



Battlefield Defilers must be of evil alignment and get an assortment of necromancy spells added to their spell-list - which includes quite a few powerful spells; Something to bear in mind when thinking about taking this archetype - magi can easily get access to them, so that's one power-upgrade there - or it would be if this archetype wouldn't lose Spell Recall and Knowledge Pool. No complaints. Now the archetype also modifies the arcane pool -whenever a battlefield defiler successfully performs a coup-de-grâce on a living target, he may expend a point to cast a prepared spell that creates (explicitly NOT summons!) undead as has a casting time of a standard action or less as a swift action. The spell only targets this one corpse, even if it otherwise would affect multiple target corpses. The weapon of the battlefield defiler can be enhanced with the arcane pool like that of the magus, but receives a different list of properties and may only do so at 5th level onwards. A nice balance with the enhanced casting list.



The battlefield defiler also gets to choose from 3 new arcana that allows them to expend points from their pool to add templates to the undead they create. As a nitpick - one arcana specifies that when using any iteration of undead anatomy, the battlefield defiler is treated as if his spells benefited from silent spell and is treated as having a higher cha-score. This is slightly problematic since the ability fails to specify whether the level-increase of silent spell does apply or not. High level magi may exert energy drains on targets.



In lieu of a knowledge pool, the battlefield defiler gets the option to channel negative energy, but before you scream OP, hear e out - he may only heal himself and undead, not deal damage. 11th level battlefield defilers may keep animate undead-spells in their weapon, not expending them until a killing blow is struck, following the rules for holding a charge. Nice take on a complex mechanic that replaces Spell Recall.



At high levels, a spell-like Undead Anatomy IV and a devastating capstone that creates beheaded make for nice end-game abilities for the archetype.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, if not perfect -I noticed a minor glitch here and there, but nothing that would have impeded my enjoyment of this pdf. The pdf's layout adheres to Fat Goblin Games' beautiful 2-column full-color layout and the pdf comes with the good type of hyperlink, even though e.g. the magus undead template has been forgotten among the otherwise great hyperlinks. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Tyler Beck's creations usually take a look at a complex concept and to this date, had mixed success at making them work perfectly. This pdf seems to represent him getting the stuff right - utilizing various complex abilities, the Battlefield Defiler offers a distinct, different playstyle for evil magi that allows them to be the creators of undead in the field of battle, something they quite frankly sucked at before. The nerfing of some of the base magus' most powerful abilities ensures that the archetype works and the lack of options to kitten-cheese this archetype is a further plus. While not (yet!) perfect, this proves Tyler Beck's potential and is well worth a final verdict of 4 stars. Good job!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CLASSifieds: Battlefield Defiler (Magus Archetype)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Amazing Races: Nagaji!
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/10/2014 08:21:58
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill by now - 4 pages of content, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 2 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?

We receive two new character traits for Nagaji herein, one netting +1 to diplomacy and sense motive and unlocking both as class skills, the other granting a +1 effective level for spell with the verbal component and the [poison]-descriptor.

3 alternate racial traits are provided: One grants Hypnotic Stare as a bonus feat in exchange for armored scales, one increases damage of readied strikes by +1d6 in exchange for "resistant" (nice!) and one nets the Nagaji scent 10 ft. via their tongues, but if their mouths are forced shut, they lose this and receive a -2 penalty to Perception-checks.

We also are introduced to 5 new racial feats: One that combines Adder Strike with Spit venom (awesome!), one that makes grappling slightly better, one that eliminates the HD-cap of hypnotic gaze, one feat that nest you more uses of the gaze (and the option to activate it slower at higher DC) and a feat that nets you charm and later dominate against serpentine targets 1/day.

The archetype for this installment would be the Naga Servitor Cleric, who receives a modified sell-list and limited domain selection - and only one domain, as he worships the Naga. While they receive no bonuses from e.g. resistant against their chosen masters, they double these bonuses against non-naga. As an iconic imagery, these guys grow their own divine foci with naga scales growing from their flesh. When in grapple, these clerics may bite foes for 1d3 points and deliver a poison that decreases the will of those affected. As a nitpick - why no secondary damage/further saves to stave off? At 8th level, 1/day, +1/day for every 4 levels thereafter, the servitor may use a fascination-inducing hypnotic gaze.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no obvious glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art's 2-column no-frills standard in color and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

Daron Woodson's supplemental crunch for the Nagaji runs the gamut from awesome and perhaps a bit strong to weak - the grapple-feat, for example, is not that impressive, whereas 2 of the alternate racial traits are just brilliant. the same goes for adding blinding venom to unarmed strikes. Nasty! Then, there would be the archetype, which utterly baffles me - the options the Naga Servitors gain aren't that unique or awesome - don't get me wrong, I like the master/servant-dichotomy and the options they receive may be thematically awesome, with great fluff, etc., but rules-wise, I found them kind of bland and slightly unfocused. What I'm trying to say is - this archetype is by no means bad, if perhaps a bit weak, but it didn't blow me away. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up - for the low price, still a good purchase, though the Vishkanya-pdf is imho superior.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Nagaji!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 348 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG