RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info
Skin Dancer Gifts
Skin Dancer Gifts
Pay What You Want













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Skinchangers: Open Beta Test
by Katrina B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2018 09:31:37

Full Review Here

You play as shapeshifters that have met powerful animals spirits (Bobcat, Crow, Fox, Owl, and Raccoon). They granted the PCs the power to transform into an animal, use supernatural abilities, and see the spiritual and supernatural world in exchange for the responsibility of hunting monsters, be they “vampires in suburbia, great beasts in the subways, or weekend getaways where the owners prey on their guests”. Additionally, being part of the supernatural world detaches you from the rest of humanity. Most normal folks forget supernatural events incredibly fast, including the PCs if they meddle too much into magic.

Rules: Similar to Fate Accelerated, each character has approaches (though Skinchangers uses 5 different approaches vs Fate’s 6): Brutal, Covert, Fleet, Showy, and Studious the array being (4, 3, 2, 2, 1). Every time a PC attempts an action they choose what approach seems to fit best and rolls dice based on their rating.

However, one twist is the concept of Stakes, Dangers, and Augments. Automatic stakes are something that happens as a result of the PC’s actions that can’t be removed. Dangers are bad things that happen on a roll unless the player spends a (-) Fate die to cancel it. These might include Delay, Injury, Mayhem, Expense, or Fatigue. Augments are something that won’t happen as a result of the action unless the player spends a (+) Fate die to make it happen. Possible Augments include Observation, Speed, Style, Subtlety, Advantage, or Duration.

Overall, I'm really into this and can't wait to play it!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Skinchangers: Open Beta Test
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Schema, Second Iteration
by Joseph D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2018 10:04:31

My group has been dabbling in some more narrative-focused games. Schema is the latest, and it's been great. Like most PbTA-style games, Schema does away with binary success/failure. It's a lot more nuanced than what I've seen in other games, though. Rather than just switching to a ternary (a bad outcome, a good outcome, a bit of both), each roll has a set of "stakes." The stakes are either good or bad things with eight flavors - so there are dangers like "delay" and "injury" and benefits like "efficacy" and "subtlety." The players get a pool of FUDGE dice, and use plusses to buy benefits and minuses to cancel dangers. It does several things that I really like:

  1. It gives a little bit of structure and inspiration for the GM. Thinking about what happens on a partial success is sometimes a challenge. While you still have all the flexibility in this system (you get to decide what the dangers mean), it does help a little to have a framework.
  2. Results get really complicated - the binary framework isn't just modified, it's done away with. There are whole arrays of outcomes and it creates interesting situations.
  3. Players have a little bit of strategy. They get to choose a "bold" or "cautious" stance which gives some re-rolls. It's a very well executed mechanic.
  4. There's virutally no math. No modifiers to add and subtract. It's super quick for resolution.

It's super lightweight in terms of rules and character creation, which is great for my group. It just took one quick example and the whole group easily understood all the rules they needed. Givien how easy it was to pick up and how narratively strong it is, it's a fantastic game for my group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Schema, Second Iteration
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infected: A Living Archive
by Sam O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2018 10:49:27

This is some really impressive stuff. I've enjoyed some of Levi's previous works (we had a great Hoard game going for a while) and was looking forward to this one. I unfortunately missed the kickstarter due to a lack of funds, but when it was released as pay-what-you-want I immediately picked it up. Now I am coming back to pay actual money for it. That is how much I enjoy this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infected: A Living Archive
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying
by Brandon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2017 13:49:52

Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying includes several simple presentations for subsystems that are abstract enough they could easily be slipped into any game you want to use them in. They could be used as is, or tailored more specifically to tie into the mechanics of the game if you so desired. A very robust set of mechanisms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying, Set 2
by Bob P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2017 07:30:54

Unlike the first in this series ,this product is not meta game(not knocking the first one ,loved that too) This adds a bit of complexity but has some really good ideas, my fav is the Auras that encourage group RPing, I not much for spoilers but I lill say it was very good. I could see me using any of the ideas contained, prob a bit more complexity than I'm happy with but I deff see myself adapting this and using some of it> Do your self a favor and read these two.( Aramax,tmao, Mao)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying, Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying
by Bob P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2016 16:39:48

HOLY CRAP THIS IS COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don't know that I will use it but I def am going to get some more stuff from this guy!!!!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Situations For Tabletop Roleplaying
by ar e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2016 13:59:50

This and every item like it I've gotten from this genius of a man is worth the tiny bit of invested time to read, and more money than is asked. I got all the "pay what you want" ones for free to try them out, as I'm low on funds right now, but I intend to go back and buy them proper when I have some bills paid off. If I had to value this and his similar books, I'd say $4-5 easy.

Not only is the content solid and extremely useful for any roleplaying system, but the way it's presented is cleverly minimalistic and very easy to reference. I absolutely hate reading, but these PDFs are a pleasure to read. Excellent publisher, this good fellow.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Situations For Tabletop Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Expeditions
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2015 16:19:15

This is an outline method of designing trips. It gives statements like he -- is going to --- and meets ---. However it gives no information at all of the sort of things you should fill the blanks with.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Expeditions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying
by Dan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2014 14:41:46

This is a good set of METAGAME mechanics, but the description didn't make it clear that these mechanisms are all METAGAME in nature. These mechanics require the players to act as players rather than as their characters. GMs who do not want to erode the suspension of disbelief by rewarding out of character actions will not find this product useful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tenocha: Setting Guide
by Simon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2014 06:16:07

This setting has a cool Tekumel-like vibe yet is far more accessible (no language courses required..). Its good to get play out of medieval Europe and into something that feels like a cross between the ancient Americas and Polynesia. Art is very appropriate to the subject matter, and suitably up for interpretation. If the setting and background were fleshed out just a little more it would be a 5 from me, as it stands it would take a lot of work from a GM to put meat on the bones presented here. However some folks may see that as a positive in customising the setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tenocha: Setting Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infected: A Living Archive
by Simon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2014 05:09:49

I cannot wait to try this- a compelling and different take on the zombie apocalypse with a unique rules set geared perfectly to the action, something a more generic rules system could never achieve. The game screams fast pacing and conflict driving the narrative, much like any good zombie film.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infected: A Living Archive
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fundamentals of Tabletop Roleplaying
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2014 05:13:26

This is a great resource and I love the art! It's a fine tool to demystify RPGs for new players (or their parents).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fundamentals of Tabletop Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Situations For Tabletop Roleplaying
by Alan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2014 16:11:42

You want to look like a freakin' Gamemastering Genius? You'll need to work on that, but this product will certainly help! Levi breaks down a variety of dramatic plot structures for RPGs in a way that makes it easy to insert your own world and personae. I originally downloaded free versions of some of these templates, but this product packages them nicely and provides some improved presentation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Situations For Tabletop Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying
by Damon D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 21:14:27

Mechanisms Ror Tabletop Roleplaying is a collection of well-polished and interesting house rule suggestions for any pen-and-paper roleplaying system, with further suggestions for tailoring the new mechanics to a preferred system. Though the rules herein do seem to be informed by a number of other games ("Action Scenery" especially, being very similar to Apocalypse World's task resolution), their execution is sufficiently unique and easy enough to follow to more than justify a purchase. Aside from the solid content, the presentation is far above and beyond what is par for the course for inexpensive, minimalist supplements sold exclusively through digital distribution. I've been very disappointed by similar products in the past, such is not the case with Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mechanisms For Tabletop Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infected: A Living Archive
by Adam C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2014 00:40:15

I have not gotten to the rules yet, but the fiction is very well written(barring a few typos.) I look forward to more of this. To the writers- please keep writing more of the story. It is just riveting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infected: A Living Archive
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG