RPGNow.com
Find Category













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
D20 Girls Magazine - Special Free Comic Book Day Edition
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2017 13:21:54

I picked this up because it was free. I wasn't expecting much but was very pleasantly surprised at the wealth of information about female historical characters. Both an eye opener and an informative source, it's definitely worth reading.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D20 Girls Magazine - Special Free Comic Book Day Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Division 20 Issue #0 - Collectors Edition
by Warren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2014 14:21:36

I would like to see more like this a group of Feds from the 1950's are de funded and put into suspended animation. Reanimated 50 years later she is sent on a new mission. By the look of the last panel this could be an interesting comic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Division 20 Issue #0 - Collectors Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Theres a good chance our next issue will be finally coming out May 2015. We will be posting the PDF version here, but you can also keep an eye out on our website http://division20.com
Division 20 Issue #0 - Collectors Edition
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/11/2014 12:35:25

Interesting start to what should be an enjoyable comic.

The premise is simple. Some secret agents were deep-frozen about 50 years ago and one has just been revived (with a remarkably contemporary view of political correctness for someone from 50 years ago) and is just finding out that the cover is that of a talent/modelling agency - but no indications as yet as to what the mission might be. Guess we'll have to wait for issue #1 to find out.

It's well-drawn and laid out, with a few photos mixed in to good effect, definitely showing promise.

For gamers: it could make a plausible start to a contemporary thriller/action game, and the cover of a talent & modelling agency is certainly a concept worth noting (and capable of being used for a mixed team of agents, not just a female one, depending on your players).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D20 Girls Magazine - January 2013
by Albert Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2013 14:34:08

This magazine was put together well and looked good. It just didn't have the topics I was looking for in a gaming magazine.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D20 Girls Magazine - January 2013
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D20 Girls Magazine - January 2013
by Anthony G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2013 12:47:43

No gameplay-related content, including the advertising. Cover and title seem built to attract the opposite demo of the content's target audience.

This 75-page mag (PDF is 36 two-page spreads, a cover, and a back ad) is built in the general format of a supermarket lifestyle/fashion magazine but with a nerd-culture tilt.

  • 19 full-page cosplay/pinup photos, plus 7 pages of either cosplayer interviews, or cosplayer blurbs with photos
  • 14 pages of relationship-related content (8 pages of wedding content, 3 pages on dating, 2 pages on relationship-related music playlists, 1-page relationship advice column)
  • 7 pages on corsets (2 pages of corset-related cosplay)
  • 3-page essay on cosplay/Fake Geek Girl bullying
  • 3 page interview with a voice actor
  • 2 pages of random photos
  • 2 pages of movie-review capsules
  • 2 pages on non-cosplay crafts
  • 2 page review/article of a children's building toy set
  • 2 pages on new year's resolutions
  • 1 non-advertising page on things to buy

Rather than a broad and fairly shallow focus on nerd subcultures, I expected to see at least some content related to actually playing games (reviews, ads, essays, game content; the closest it comes is in the "Nerdy Dates" article, recommending rolling characters as a date night) or more content on women in games or the games industry. (There's only the essay on cosplay culture, the Fake Geek Girl phenomenon, and related bullying; even the interviewed voice actor is male.) Instead, it looks and reads like a Cosmo built for FLGSs.

Layout is rough in places (fonts seems to swap back and forth within a couple articles) and cluttered in general. The PDF is a beast to use: two-page spreads, unaligned page numbers, no bookmarks, and a two-page ad rotated 90 degrees at the end.

A different title and better product description would set more appropriate expectations. People looking for tabletop-related content geared toward women--or any tabletop content at all--should look elsewhere; this is for cosplayers at best, and cosplay stalkers at worst.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D20 Girls Magazine - January 2013
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2013 12:15:05

A quality magazine that details many aspects of the geek culture from dating ideas to cosplay. The article on staying true to your interests instead of being "bullied into what is considered "normal" is an amazing read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D20 Girls Magazine - Fall 2012
by Nearly e. D. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/24/2012 08:59:49

I must admit, I have had, until this point, an avid dislike of PDF magazines. I dunno why, or how, but the idea of them always threw me off. However an article about tattoos and the magazine called D20 Girls? I had to at least give this a try.

I found it, actually, really quite good! The articles were interesting but not heavy or particularly soul-searching. The pictures were far better quality than I was expecting and it wasn't completely littered with adverts every step of the way! These were the things I was really worried about and D20 Girls has completely put my fears to bed!

I read it in one sitting and wouldn't say it would take anyone longer than an hour or so to read. It is aimed more at an american audience than myself, a brit so some things I wasn't quite up to speed on (Like the show "the tester" which is currently airing in the US, so the article didn't particularly interest me). I would say though nearly every single article in the magazine was generic enough for anybody to enjoy.

Although you would think the name suggests it is heavily about roleplaying, it is actually just like our podcast and instead covers everything. Anything that we geeks enjoy is in there - and I certainly would recommend having a look!

There were a couple of flaws, I didn't think the layout was particularly brilliant (and there were some interviews I found hard to follow because of this) nor do I think the choice of colours at some point is particularly overwhelming. However overall I did really enjoy reading this magazine and will make a point in future to pick up future releases!

I heartily recommend for the reasonable price of this magazine you do the same!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D20 Girls Magazine - Fall 2012
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG