RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Eternal Rest
by Dustinian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 14:04:54
I just saw this on sale for "Halloween," and the concept was so intriguing that I had to buy. I literally purchased this about thirty minutes ago, and I've read all 16 pages of content... very inspiring! Very well done! The place feels alive enough that you could pitch a Cheers-style (albeit with more sinister elements) drama here. The employees and regulars are very well fleshed-out, and there are enough hooks to keep a campaign going here for many sessions! I highly recommend purchasing this, it was certainly worth the very low price. I will definitely be checking out other products by the same author!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Eternal Rest
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Eternal Rest
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2013 22:42:39
The Eternal Rest is a great resource, and well worth the price. I recently needed a tavern for my players to use as a temporary base of operations -- one where the party would have already established a contact. One of my players is a former necromancer, so going back to The Eternal Rest while he's in town was an awesome choice, given the character. The creepy vibe, the plot hooks, and the fairly fleshed-out characters all made it believable and one of the more memorable stops in the adventure.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Eternal Rest
by Slade C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2012 15:17:29
After the success I had with "Never Ask for Directions" and "The Blacksmith's Burden" (both from the same author) I felt compelled to explore this location based module. After reading it, I knew it would be a huge hit with my group. It has been the perfect launching point for NUMEROUS adventure hooks. In a way it has become the player's home base and they seem to be very attached to it and all the characters. What more could I ask for as their DM? This has been a wonderful addition to my game. I am eager for more modules from this publisher.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blacksmith's Burden (Pathfinder version)
by Slade C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2012 15:12:09
I ran this module for a small group of 2 players. They were level 5 and had no magic so it scaled perfectly. I was really impressed with the presentation and organization of the module. I was able to seamlessly adapt it to my current campaign. I ran it direct from my laptop and found it easy to hop from scene to scene with negligible downtime. I was particularly pleased with the flavor text because it wasn't verbose. In fact, it had the ideal amount of details to capture the players imaginations and get them excited for the next encounter. Overall, this is EXACTLY the type of adventure my players and I are looking for. Excellent blend of interesting encounters, back story, and RP.


It worked out that the adventure spread across two play sessions. To draw in the players and build the anticipation of what the next session had in store, I emailed them this short story about one of the NPC's in the module:

"Globgrum tilted his head back and poured the last of the stew down his gullet. He then flicked his long tongue out to lick the perimeter of the bowl and slurp up any bits of the various meat that remained. With a satisfied belch he let the primitive wooden bowl clang to the floor near his feet and leaned back in his shabby, tattered, throne. He contently patted his full gut through his armor and glanced around his chambers at the spoils of past victories lining the walls. Globgrum was particularly drawn to a dirty, beaten tapestry, filled with rotted holes and hanging crooked on the wall. His favorite tapestry depicted the symbol of a rival clan that he had eradicated some time ago. He lifted his filthy hand to the scarred hole where one of his ears used to be and grinned at how he had made his opponent suffer for that mistake.

His nostalgia running a natural course, Globgrum’s thoughts drifted to the present. He began to daydream about his “secret weapon” and whether he would turn it on the nearby human settlement or use it on the creatures who threatened his clan from the other side of the creek. Either way, Globgrum felt like he was in a position to turn his clan of well armed goblins into a full fledged tribe. His food settled, he rose from his throne and stretched. At the end of a drawn out, toothy yawn; he spotted one of the pale-blue beetles, that infest the lichen lining the walls, tumble to the ground. Globgrum reached down to pinch the little creature between his fingers. He held it up before his eyes to watch it helplessly kick at the air looking for traction. Grinning at this latest conquest, Globgrum put the beetle between his pointy teeth and cracked through the hard carapace.

Globgrum made his way down the natural corridors, yet again lost in his thoughts. He swirled his tongue back and forth between his teeth, searching for the irritating bits of beetle legs and shell as he made his way to check on “the secret weapon.”

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blacksmith's Burden (Pathfinder version)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Slade: Glad to hear this adventure, and your other purchases, were such a hit with your group. And thanks for taking the time to leave such a thorough review. I'm hoping to have a few more short pieces listed here before the end of the year, so watch this space for more. Thanks again. -Ross
Never Ask Directions (Pathfinder version)
by Slade C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2012 15:00:38
I ran this module for a small group of players. The players and I were so impressed by the organization, presentation, and overall fun, that I felt compelled to run games with John's other module: "The Blacksmith's Burden" upon completion of that I also implemented "The Eternal Rest" into my campaign. My players LOVE it! Thanks a bunch, I'm eager for more modules like this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Never Ask Directions (Pathfinder version)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Eternal Rest
by Robert Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2012 06:10:30
Exceptionally well written resource! An enormous amount of flavor coupled with an abundance of hooks, this could be home base for your party for years worth of game play to come, or it could be a particularly creepy and memorable one-off locale. The attention to detail, without ever becoming a tedious read, lent real verisimilitude to my read through alone - I look forward to the very real immersion it will bring at the gaming table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Eternal Rest
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Never Ask Directions (D&D 4th Edition)
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2011 22:44:48
I ran this game for my Black Company Game, which is using the 3.5 d20 srd. I just swapped out some of the NPCs for Humans of their equivalent level, and one or two gained another level. (The party that showed up tonight were 4 PCs of 4th level).

They blew through the adventure within an hour, although they don't know everything about Half-hand (yet).

Side note. I noticed in the bio for the author that he lives in PA. I wonder if he's in the NEPA D&D group I'm in...hmm..

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Never Ask Directions (D&D 4th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Blacksmith's Burden (D&D 4th Edition)
by Damian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2011 14:01:48
Bought this after checking out the free offering. Definitely worth it. Another clever little side trek with a humorous twist.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blacksmith's Burden (D&D 4th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Never Ask Directions (D&D 4th Edition)
by Damian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2011 13:51:13
Nice little side trek. Low level scenarios can be tougher to make interesting but this one has a pretty original theme to go along with the standard bandits and ruffians.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Never Ask Directions (D&D 4th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG