RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
von Carl A. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/22/2015 23:37:58
Where to start? AS someone who has played various incarnations of Traveller, starting with Megatraveller when I was a kid, there are some interesting choices in this system that make me really want to like it. But I'm having a very hard time.

The Bad:
The editing isn't very good. I expected problems when I started reading the table of contents and found errors in that. The page numbers haven't been updated since changes were made. For example, it says: Androids and Synthetics 124, but they are actually on page 92. The index might be better as it lists the correct page numbers, but there's no excuse for one of the first pages a new player sees to be wrong.

Another example is page 93, there is a section that has a line that looks like this (the entire line):

as The nest contains ach and as a sourc

That's clearly some sort of editing goof. Maybe multiple sentences blended together, but it is hard to tell what it should have been. For a PDF that costs this much, the editing needs to be top notch, and this certainly isn't.

The systems are overly complicated compared to previous versions. As an example of that there are 6 stats listed for humans, but sometimes they are Referenced as their abbreviation (Str for Strength), and sometimes as the order they appear in (C1 for Strength). Presumably this is because some of the stats can be replaced for different races. The inconsistency is annoying and needlessly complicates things. Some of the examples seem to have issues as well as after reading more I think they may have incorrectly applied their own modifiers, but I'd have to find the section again to verify this.

Maker systems. You want a gun? Build it using GunMaker. Want Armor? Build it through ArmorMaker. This sounds interesting, until you start going through them and realize this doesn't really help you as a Player to actually do anything useful. Just give a list of items with stats. A system like this should have just been an add-on optional thing rather than part of the core rules. Having a system to build start ships in a science fiction game make sense, but a nearly 20 page system just for building a gun? That's massive overkill.

The Good
There is a thought toward legacies that I think is interesting. You roll 2d6 for each stat, and there are genetic stats, like Strength and Intelligence (but not Education or Social Standing). The first die rolled for genetic stats is your 'gene' and the second is how well you developed it. With this you can take any two characters and figure out an offspring's genetic predisposition. That's an interesting idea for a game to include.

Final Verdict: Skip this and keep with previous editions. They took the parts of previous editions that weren't great and expanded them to make them even more complicated and there is 0 payoff to this for both Players and Game Masters. I'm not sure how they thought that was a good idea.

Wertung:
[1 von 5 Sternen!]
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
von Rory H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/10/2015 05:12:07
Certainly an improvement from the unedited and flatly impenetrable version originally published from the kickstarter. The index is welcome, while the additional 50 pages or so are mainly used to provide clarification, a slightly tidier layout and a more logical organisation of the book. There is no linkable contents menu, however, which is also pretty vital for a pdf and the cover on my copy was missing still.

Certain rules clarifications that are now included make the accusation of it being ‘unplayable’ an overstatement, but it is still most likely to be an overwhelmingly complex book for casual gamers or those with any sort of aversion to maths. That said, I’m not sure that was ever the market for this game. For existing Traveller fans, there is a lot of material that will undoubtedly be useful for their games.

EDIT: Further to my original comments after reading through more fully (and it does take some reading!), there are some genuine gems within this book. I can see the logic - finally - of using a variable dice pool, roll-under system as opposed to the fixed 2D6 system used in Classic and Mongoose Traveller. Firstly, it meshes more tightly with the Characteristic scores used and secondly, it’s simply more open ended in terms of operating on a universal scale. The probability charts at the end of the book give a clear indication of your chances and, fully developed it looks pretty smooth.

Character generation is more involved than before with the role of education fully integrated and with differing paths for each career. You can also create a genetic legacy, while options for sophonts, clones and robots are fully detailed. The various ‘Maker’ sections have fuller explanations, along with starship and world designs. There are some interesting scientific asides as well as advice for running games throughout the text.

This is not a game for novices, and there are still lots of issues about editing throughout. But for Traveller fans, there is something of real worth and investment at the core. Recommended.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
CT-A05-Trillion Credit Squadron
von David T. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/07/2015 17:41:43
I purchased this as I lost my old book and needed to check up on the rules for fleet creation.

Whilst not perfect, it does cover the subject in the traditional format.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
CT-A05-Trillion Credit Squadron
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
von joel R. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/24/2015 01:15:52
Amazingly deep system. Better layout and thought than the first effort. Worth the time and the money. Traveller 5 is what mongooses wishes it could be

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

CT-TTB-The Traveller Book
von Andrew C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/12/2015 01:11:39
This is a review for the PDF, the scan is of high quality as good as you could hope for really. However the PDF has no watermarks which make it difficult to quickly navigate. There is really no excuse for not bookmarking digital products. I hope that this is fixed in a future update.

Wertung:
[3 von 5 Sternen!]
CT-TTB-The Traveller Book
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

CT-A01-The Kinunir
von anthony r. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/07/2015 12:05:46
An excellent set of adventures for any group. Gives you the necessary info to get your scenarios started, it still requires a little work on the GM's part as it is not a read and play module. It is a lot of fun to play.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
CT-A01-The Kinunir
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

CT-A10-Safari Ship
von Scott B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/03/2015 15:14:58
Long before the advent of our favorite dinosaur theme park, the clasic traveller series tapped my imagination with a genre that made a lasting impression on me.
I love this module and all that came with it. The Galactic Big Game hunter and his Safari Ship. Weather corporate, noble or Scientific it did not matter. He didn't even need a big hairy co-pilot, (I was thinking bigfoot ,where were you going?... Ok, punch it Sasquach!)
Anyway if you are looking for a classic adventure in the traveller universe, or you want to adapt a different take to your own Star Campaign, look this one through.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
CT-A10-Safari Ship
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
von Stirling W. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/26/2015 15:02:11
I've never been a huge fan of Traveller. Any game in which you can die rolling up a character has serious design flaws as far as I'm concerned. However, I bought the book as I'm a fan of SF roleplaying in general, and was hoping for some interesting game design ideas in the new book. However, this book *seriously* needs some editing love. When rolling up a a test mercenary character I found myself hunting for definitions of terms that don't show up until hundreds of pages after they are first used. There are tables forty pages apart that I kept having to flip between and mysterious notations in tables that I literally took hours to decipher.

At least my first attempt to roll up a character didn't die. No, he was crippled for life during his second term in the Marines...

Wertung:
[3 von 5 Sternen!]
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
von Richard C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/20/2015 19:53:27
I really like this edition/revision. It is quite an improvement over the original CDROM and book. All errata (of which there were 10 pages) is now included in the text and made a part of the main text (no underlining, pasting or redlining necessary). In addition, the text is much easier to search and/or make searchable and editable. A new index has been added that is vastly more detailed than the one provided by R. Eaglestone on the official Traveller forums. There is also more artwork. Marc and the team did an excellent job with this. I look forward to the release of the revised CDROM and new hardcopy.

I don't like how the book has been renamed "Traveller5.09" ("The 5.09 version of Traveller"). It seems kind of clumsy and, anyway, as a point release it should be named 5.1. 5.09 suggests something that is still in alpha stage (still being tested and not ready for everyday use). That's all computer terminology but I feel much better about this book than I did about the original pre-release text and the eventual first finished edition (FFE-050 and FFE-300).

If you don't have a copy, here's a great opportunity to get it! Thanks.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
von Philipp N. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/12/2015 00:57:16
I will not comment on the content of the book, because if you came here because of Traveller you know what you can expect and the book will deliver.

This comment is solely on the quality of the presentations as a PDF.
The first page is white with black text and no red bar. - At least for me it is disturbing not to have the covers pages.

But my most important concern is:
A 759 page book without PDF-bookmarks!
The index might be okay and is surely helpful if I had an paper-book my hands.

But for PDF user this this is horrible, I would never be able to memorize all relevant pages for quickly looking up anything during the game. And eBook Reader are not known for quick browsing, especially on a PDF.

And yes I could print out the table of content and the index.
Or I could make the bookmarks myself if the PDF was not edit-protected.

Also the table of content is wrong (Clones are at Page 96, Chimeras at 91, Basic Information has no page references at all and so on).

This is a sloppy PDF made without any love for the tree-saving reader.

Wertung:
[1 von 5 Sternen!]
T2013- Rules Addendum
von Kalle M. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 03/01/2015 02:17:27
I liked this product. It makes rules for certain gear more deep what I wanted. I actually miss rules for couple of scenarios when Apocalypse has not yet happened. We as players could play an era before The III World War as European and American Battle Group soldiers in Northern Africa. There's no rules for planes, helicopters and landing crafts what could use in that time.

That's not necessary I think. However I like possibility to play Intelligence operative in the World just before Cataclysm.

Thank You for asking and Thanks for Good Game!

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
T2013- Rules Addendum
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

CT-ST-Starter Traveller
von Pierre S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 02/13/2015 11:23:55
A great game, and no game has yet touched its fame for science fiction tabletop RPGs. Traveller covered all the "space" things in a detailed setting called the Third Imperium, a unified star community ruled by an Emperor. Traveller spawned an extensive series of supplements, which you can take or leave as needed for the emphasis of your particular game, whether star merchants or space mercenaries or explorer scouts.

Star sector maps are laid down in hexagons, each is a parsec (3.26 light-years), and starships have Jump Drives which can Jump anywhere from 1 to 6 of those parsecs but each Jump takes a week. There is no faster way to get news or goods across the stars, so the political feel resembles 18th-century sailing. The Imperium is held together but its size is causing strain. The Imperium also borders on alien empires which range from coldly neutral to hostile.

The Traveller Starter edition (1982) did some reorganization of the original LBBs (Little Black Books) of 1977 and presents all the tables of the game in a separate booklet, cross-referenced to the pages of the rulebook.

Traveller is "old school" and the best way to learn it is to take its systems one at a time. Randomly generating star-maps is particularly fun, with the main world in each system defined as to size, atmosphere, population, and government with rolls of six-sided dice (only). Nowadays the fans offer web-based computer utilities to instantly generate vast tracts of space, or use the defined Imperium maps already available online. The personal combat system, in basic Traveller, is NOT on a grid-map but more abstractly defined with "bands" similar to a football field! There are also rules for trade (buy low, sell high of course), which is easy to do as you note the characteristics of the world you're going to (Trade Codes like INdustrial or Non-Industrial, Agricultural, etc.) which give bonuses or penalties to the negotiated price of cargo. Nothing is a sure thing, however! The starship combat, in the original version, is not gridded either, but takes note of what you have for weapon turrets and rolls the damage to the other ship and what sub-system was damaged.

Definitely a solid science fiction experience.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
von Paxton K. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/30/2015 01:13:02
Ok, scan pretty crappy. Reading glasses helped.

Ok, why bother with something that that is that difficult to read? Because this is like the ultimate GDW game.

Not the rules. Not even exactly the setting.

I still have my first Traveller books from the boxed set. Almost 30 years ago exactly (it was a Christmas present), I started Traveller. The rules have never been its strongest point. Well and even the setting. To me what made Traveller "Traveler" was it was limitless worlds and cultures to explore. Each planet held such a vast realm of possibility. I have tried Mega, Advanced and T20.

Still I went back to basic. Overhauled the skill list. Modified the combat system. Tweeked the Power Plant fuel on starship design. Why no cell phones? Of course they have cell phones! But a Traveller communicator is Solid State, it works under all conditions. Same reason Marines use cutlasses and they use guns and not ray beams.

Twilight 2000, the original, was another love affair and I accepted her through all her awkwardness.

Finally, they have met.

Its been 16 years since Strephon's assassination and the whole Imperium gets nuked! Traveller made your character generation the end of gaining anything for the most part. Changing a number for the positive practically impossible. With this in mind, those characters make the perfect "survivors". Don't wait generations. What do you want mutations? Traveller TNE has done what Traveller did in the first place. Their are almost an infinite number of worlds to explore. just this time they are destroyed.

This may be the greatest version of Twilight ever made. Lose that APC in Poland.
now that Tramp Free Trader may be the only one left in the ruins of a sector and the drives need an overhaul.

Traveller was never Star Wars or Star Trek. It was limited; but that to me made it limitless. The strange aliens were what Man could become if left alone for 500 years or simply chose to diverge that way. Star Wars was all flash and Star Trek was alien of the week and how really we are all the same deep down.

Traveller was about how everyone deep down was different and imperfect. Mankind finds a race that lives harmoniously by reading each other's thoughts. We declare war!

Do I recommend you buy it? Only if you love Traveller or the idea of Traveller. This rule system may work for you, if not, find one of Traveller's rule sets that do. This will sound messed up; but...

Marc Miller created a timeless game and setting. And the best thing that ever happened to it, is destroying it!

This will take Traveller my game for probably the rest of my life. 30 years of experiencing it and another 30 surviving it. I can't wait to figure out how to make a planet full of zombies! And every other way to destroy the Imperium!

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

T5 Imperiallines 06
von Richard C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/20/2015 14:57:10
This publication is an excellent example of how a game supplement should be made. The typesetting and layout are flawless. Facts and figures are correct and easy to read. Information regarding the "new" Aminidii race is very good and include charts for generating words and sentences The images are very plain but well done. Basically, this supplement brings Traveller5 to a level where it is accessible to everyone wanting to play the game. Additional material explains sophont species generation in an accessible way. The price is great if you consider that the format of the supplement is very similar to the old JTAS booklets from back in the 80's.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
T5 Imperiallines 06
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

CT-M05-Alien Realms
von Jim C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/01/2015 00:52:45
This presents a collection of interesting, unconnected scenarios involving non-Imperial sentient groups (thus, aliens) with some visible references to the outcomes of previous games early in Traveller's development. An unusual structure, separating player and GM information, would be very well supported by adding bookmarks.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
CT-M05-Alien Realms
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur RPGNow.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 374 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG