RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Twilight: 2000 v2.2 [BUNDLE]
by Charles B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2014 16:49:59
Pretty good price to pick up the full Version 2 of the Twilight 2000 RPG collection of books. However, this is missing one Version 2 book and that is the "Infantry Weapons of the World" which isn't carried anyplace else on this website. That is the only book that the DriveThru crew hasn't uploaded for the GDW game system. So you will be forced to use the V1 weapons guide or the guide in the rule book for Version 2 and go from there or you will have to look around on Ebay for an actual physical copy.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Twilight: 2000 v2.2 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Traveller5 Starships & Spacecraft-2 FIVE Deck Plan Set
by scott w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2014 21:07:45
This product looks nice and functional. I had the 2 Kickstarter plans and decided to buy the entire set.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller5 Starships & Spacecraft-2 FIVE Deck Plan Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Traveller5 Starships & Spacecraft-1 TWO Deck Plan Set For Kickstarter
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2014 12:04:20
Nice, clean deck plans of iconic Traveller starships. Having the files provided in large-format sizes is nice for those of us that have access to wide-format printers. The blank plans are great for those of us that want to give our players a not-quite-standard ship for the campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller5 Starships & Spacecraft-1 TWO Deck Plan Set For Kickstarter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CT- DT-Deluxe Traveller
by Herb S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2014 18:08:21
Excellent product for fans of the classic "Little Black Books" version of Traveller, first released in the late 1970's and updated circa 1980), containing all the rules and frameworks for the "OTU" (Original Traveller Universe) and the large body of supplements, adventures and extensions/modifications that came after. As to the product itself, by and large the scans are excellent. There are a few visual artifacts here and there but they are small and don't hinder readability or accessibility of the materials. Most importantly, the few small smudges or occasional skewed letter do not hinder text-searches through the body of the documents for quick-reference. Frankly, nothing can ever replace paper for the ease of flipping back and forth quickly between sections, but being able to search the PDF files for relevant text makes up for it. And of course, one is always free to print out the documents for personal use if that is your preference. Bear in mind that the documents are watermarked (unobtrusively), to prevent piracy. Given how inexpensive these products are, especially compared to trying to locate and buy vintage originals, there is no excuse not to simply buy these legally now that they are so readily available.

Tl; dr: very good/excellent scans of a GREAT classic space RPG. Highly recommended to old school tabletop gamers as well as newbies looking for something different to try!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT- DT-Deluxe Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
by Mark O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2013 18:19:32
I remembered playing Traveller in the early 80's with great affection and was so excited to get this and the several other TNE PDFs I bought at the same time, but now I very much regret the purchase.

This has to be one of the worst scans I have ever seen. There are no bookmarks, which is only a minor annoyance, and the text is so blurry it is hardly legible. I gave up trying to read it three pages in because my eyes were watering from the strain of making out the letters.

Unless you already own a physical copy are just looking for a PDF for quick reference do not waste your money on this.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CT-M01-Tarsus
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2013 11:32:00
An excellent planet-based scenario for Classic Traveller. Set in a neutral region of GDW's Spinward Marches during the Imperium's "Golden Age" it provides a detailed overview of the agricultural world of Tarsus. As such it represents a superb piece of world building - rarely excelled even in literary Si Fi.

Tarsus is fairly realistic and so could also be adapted for the current incarnation of "Mongoose" 2300 AD (as a "French arm" world maybe?); although the Imperium backdrop elements along with one significant plot element would have to be changed, the latter which will be immediately obvious to any 2300 AD referee(!). Technology (being TL10) would fit fine in most instance as well, although references to antigrav tech would have to be removed.

My only (slight) criticism is that I would have prefered more scenarios. But what you do have is excellent - as it has high reuse value. Tarsus represents a good place to base/centre many types of campaigns. It could be adapted with very little effort for Mongoose Traveller and so still represents a good purchase even for current editions of Traveller. It hasn't dated that much at all to be honest.

Scan quality is quite good and all the elements of the original GDW boxed set are included in the PDF. If you want a world setting for Traveller I would recommend this one!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-M01-Tarsus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2013 12:21:44
Got my son started on Traveller with these - the same I played with when I was a kid! Sometime later we'll trade up to a more recent version.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
JG Traveller- Dra'k'ne Station Drakne Station
by Peter K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2013 23:00:21
I purchased this product looking for something like a megadungeon set in space to borrow for non-Traveller games. In this I had mixed success.

Drak'ne is technically a very thorough and well thought out depiction of a massive, isolated research facility designed to assist an alien war which ended thousands of years ago.

The scenario has elements of a megadungeon and is certainly sandboxy. But the relative uniformity of the environment and its hazards means that, unless the scenario is significantly modified by the GM, the players might be some degree of monotony to exploration. Success seems pretty much a matter of patiently and methodically going through the whole station and prying loose everything you can in order to sell or reuse it.

There are certain potential hazards, treasures of a sort, and mysteries and intrigues which might be discovered. But, I'd say the general tone of the scenario is more toward realistic resource exploitation, rather than adventurous discovery and treasure hunting. Thematically it is about as far from "gonzo" dungeoncrawling as I can imagine.

To detail further:

* There are a few suggested "traps" but these are intended to be rare, and usually the result of system malfunctions.
* Security androids are the main opponents, but all are similar (c.f. imagine a huge dungeon populated only by identically skilled and armed orcs with no distinguishable factions or differences in motive).
* One conscious alien opponent might show up, but will have significant work to get things up and running again.
* The crew are almost entirely dead or in cold sleep. As written, encountering any conscious aliens other than the one opponent, will take some work.
* Multiple factions of aliens do exist, but all are xenophobic to one extent or another and may not even be uncountered, unless someone manages to revive a number of sleepers and the right sleepers are awoken, and might not be differentiated unless the language is decoded and certain linguistic clues are interpreted correctly or spelled out.
* There are valuable things to be uncovered. But the most valuable are simply along the lines of bulk (alien) supplies or notes that a corporation might pay a lot for to speed up their long term research slightly.

Variant scenarios for the Dra'k'ne station suggested at the end of the text include having competing groups trying to exploit the place at the same time, having the facility's equipment pose a hazard to an inhabited planet, or having pirates base their operations from this locale. These might spice up the risks a bit and make time more of a factor. But none are given more than a cursory mention, and all details of these alternate scenarios are left to the GM to spell out.

For what it is, Dark'ne station is well written. But for my liking it could have used more variety and depth to the opponents, risks, and immediately usable "cool" rewards.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
JG Traveller- Dra'k'ne Station Drakne Station
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MT MegaTraveller Robots
by Яы B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2013 23:34:21
Great effort to create a robot builder using the MT ruleset. Better than book 8 if playing MT.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MT MegaTraveller Robots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Guide Checklist to GDW RPG Titles
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2013 06:15:20
As a list of all GDW titles on RPGNow, it saves some clicking and scrolling. Hyperlinks didn't work for me.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Guide Checklist to GDW RPG Titles
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
by Anthony H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2013 12:22:04
Wow way cool this brings me back to my early days of gaming. everything I hope for and more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
by Roy L. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2013 22:15:50
star ship construction tonnage & cost classic5/5.see space opera7/10
.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
by Eric M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2013 12:17:26
This is an excellent publication, both now and when I first bought it back in the eighties. Fairly much everything from the first three LBBs and a bit more with the adventures. Worth the download to see what a great game this is from the efficient rule set to the understated yet elegant layout.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
MT MegaTraveller Referee's Manual
by Michael L. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2013 13:39:14
Exactly what I was looking for. I could not find my copy and needed it for a game I was putting together. I enjoy the challenge to create a very detailed star system this manual affords.
Thank you
Michael L. Snowden
snowdenml@hotmail.com

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MT  MegaTraveller Referee's Manual
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CT-G04-Traveller Fifth Frontier War
by William H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2013 02:38:30
First, the two previous reviewers are obviously youngsters not familier with the state of the art of counter printing back in ye good olde days when this game was produced. The black printed on red is hardish to read, the red on white it perfectly clear. I suspect the scans are very good images of the originals. Haven't gotten into the game yet, but wanted to warn potential buyers that the scans are fine, of what they were scanning.

Also, note an original copy of this game is on eBay for $165! At $9.35, I'm very pleased with my purchase. Without scanned pdfs this game would gone.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G04-Traveller Fifth Frontier War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 347 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG