RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ebook: The Backwards Mask
by Christopher F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2013 17:47:54

I am an avid follower of the first two books. The stories, while TNE, are what I consider to be classic Traveller. I have read those books at least five times, so, when I found out that the final book in the trilogy was out, I picked it up immediately.

I feel that the new author has not been faithful to the characters, the existing story line or to the TNE canon.

Instead of a sector recovering from Virus, we suddenly have huge battle fleets reminiscent of David Weber's Honorverse. The tech bible is not only disregarded, it was not read and was probably used to start fires.

The characters are wooden, not true to their pre-existing nature and generally act only in stereotypes. Part of what made them worth following was that they grew in the first two books. After reading the third book, I felt like the cover art should be a huge graphic that says, "Incredibly loosely based on Traveller: the New Era and the works of...".

It saddens me immensely, but, I cannot in good conscience, recommend this book.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ebook: The Backwards Mask
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Journal of the Travellers’ Aid Society. Issue No. 4
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2013 12:46:59

Classic 'Classic' Traveller JTAS issue. Sought after article on the 'Gazelle'-class close escort, containing information on that starship still to be found nowhere else. That alone is worth the PDF price. Many of the other features can be found elsewhere (Best of the 'Journal', etc.). Worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journal of the Travellers’ Aid Society. Issue No. 4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Conspiracy Rules!
by Tim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2013 04:50:24

It was in 1992 when I picked up a copy of a game of unearthly horror in modern times. The year I graduated from college, got a job in the newspaper industry and it also marks the year that I got married. Dark Conspiracy was just the game I was looking for, a near dark future riddled with horrors that only those brave enough to do something about it.

The setting offered up a helluva of lot of goods, rich in story, detailed events that happen and artwork to drool over (as you can tell I am a drooling fanboy). GDW was the culprit since I was already a long time fan of Traveller, Mega Traveller, Twilight 2000 and Space 1889 and it used a game mechanics I knew oh so well, so jumping in this game world was a snap. Many hours were played and minions dispatched served me well over the years that's for sure and I was sad to see the game disappear from the markets as time went by (and GDW went the way of the Dodo).

Imagine my surprise when I heard inkling of a third edition of the game I beloved. And lo and behold it finally materialize. The next chapter in DC history: Conspiracy Rules - A Dark Conspiracy III Book. Kinstaff Media not only brought back Dark Conspiracy but they also streamlined a few rules into a nice new package; new art, new look and a brand new feel updating the rules a tad. They didn't drastically alter the rules in this edition, keeping the flavor of the previous edition along with it's history and character concepts and making a new and improved edition that old modules of previous editions can adapt to well.

Conspiracy Rules is the first book that offers a detailed character generation, career options for your character, a whack of skills to better flesh out your persona. To me the bread and butter of the game is the combat system (this entails just about every combat situation possible). The critters, beasties and darkling's section is juicy as well; filled with nasty to throw at the minion hunters!

If you are a fan of the first edition than you're gonna love this edition!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conspiracy Rules!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Conspiracy Rules!
by Anthony B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2013 17:39:53

Updated file is now available. Everything looks great. Character advancement rules are now included.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G03-Traveller- Azhanti High Lightning
by john k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2013 14:42:44

Great job, even of you don't play traveler, it a super setting for any hard scifi campaign



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G03-Traveller- Azhanti High Lightning
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MT MegaTraveller Robots
by Craig B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2013 02:49:23

I was so glad to see this product released. I enjoyed reading this and following the development of the product online. I think any referee of the game will appreciate the usefulness of this product and the thought that has gone into the samples included. Please hurry up and release a print edition!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MT MegaTraveller Robots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CHALLENGE Magazine No. 46.
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2012 00:07:38

The recent flurry of interest was well deserved - this issue has some great stuff along a supernatural and generally spooky theme, with haunted ships for "Traveller" and Space Eaters for "Call of Cthulhu" among others.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CHALLENGE Magazine No. 46.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guide to the Traveller New Era Novels
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2012 18:36:51

These are the scanned, non-OCR'ed copies of Paul Brunette's excellent TNE trilogy. The quality of writing is fantastic and the characters very believable. Brunette has an intimate knowledge of the Traveller game and demonstrates this by writing a very action-packed saga that is educational and very satisfying. For the price, this bundle is more than a bargain. The Backwards Mask and The Errand are the real jewels because they provide alternate endings to the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guide to the Traveller New Era Novels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TNE Novel Trilogy [BUNDLE]
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2012 21:24:58

The PDF files for "The Death of Wisdom" and "To Dream of Chaos" are scans of an old copy of the books. As a result, they cannot be converted to other file formats like Word, HTML or Epub. This too bad because the physical copies of the books are now collectors items and it would be nice to have these available for an e-reader like the nook or the amazon kindle. In spite of that, this is a great deal, the PDFs are well done (especially the ones for The Errand and The Backward Mask). These books represent a very good illustration of TNE rules and it is very fascinating to read a fiction book about the things that are fun to play in a game sessions. The effect is not clumsy either. The prose is very good and very easy to follow. There are a lot of use of "call signs" like Drop Kick, Bonzo and Coeur, but characterization is very good



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TNE Novel Trilogy [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CHALLENGE Magazine No. 46.
by P-O B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/27/2012 12:16:11

If you want to play a horror scenario for Traveller, then I would say that you should have a look at Challenge #46. It is a Special Horror Issue.

In this issue you can find a 6-page article about scary wizards and witches, with three interesting adventure hooks. There is a four page scenario with some nasty surprises about salvaging a haunted scout-ship. The final (and maybe most scary) scenario is about encountering a ghost ship in jump space. It is written by Mike Mikesh. This scenario also includes deckplans of a 600-ton subsidized liner. All of these articles for Traveller are very good and usable. But there is more…

There is a scenario for Twilight: 2000, one for Space: 1889, one for 2300 AD, one for Cyberpunk, two for Shadowrun, one for Torg, two for Call of Cthulhu, one for Star Wars and one other (for fun). The one for 2300 AD would be easy to adapt for Traveller if you need another scenario.

Review can also be read at the Zhodani Base: http://wp.me/p2o79h-Hr



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CHALLENGE Magazine No. 46.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Journal of the Travellers' Aid Society. Issue No.1-24
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2012 14:50:06

Classic Traveler in its heydey. Aliens, characters, ships and complete adventures. The JTAS went on to become Challenge Magazine starting with issue 25; but prior to that it was pure Traveler. Complete your collection or open a whole new wave of gaming material for the science fiction game that sets the standard that others are judged by.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journal of the Travellers' Aid Society. Issue No.1-24
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T5 Traveller5 Wallpapers
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2012 12:09:57

Fabulous pictures! Not really suited for a mobile lock screen, but they work fabulously on an HD notebook.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T5 Traveller5 Wallpapers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T5 Traveller5 Wallpapers
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2012 21:55:20

Jesse DeGraff continues the tradition of great Traveller starship art begun by W.H. Keith and Dave Deitrick over 35 years ago. His imaginative and highly detailed digital renders are becoming the gold standard for the Fifth Edition of Traveller (T5).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-F DPM-1 FASA King Richard Deck Plan Module
by Jannah F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2012 02:41:39

I needed a detailed deck plan of a large passenger liner for a writing project, and this is the best one I've found. The accommodations are similar to a modern cruise ship; there's no steerage class, but there are a handful of larger suites for the wealthy. The cabins have zero gravity sleeping chambers, but they're about the size of a queen-size bed, so you can envision them as more traditional accommodations if your setting calls for that. The passenger amenities are nice: pool, fitness room, casino, theaters, atrium and a variety of dining areas and bars. And the plans are very detailed; there are even schematics of the air ducts so your characters can crawl around and be stealthy! The ship comes with 2 50 passenger shuttles, and with the nose dock no space is wasted on a huge hangar. The text gives a fair amount of detail on ship's procedures, crew (including job classifications) and emergency protocols.

The main drawback is that there seems to be far too little space devoted to the engines and other mechanical systems. The engine deck is described very briefly and is very small. I think we are supposed to assume that the engines are not shown, but it's not very clear. There's also very little space for cargo and consumables; this is explained in text, but it does limit the ship's adaptability to other scenarios. There's also no information given on the height of the ship or the height of individual decks. For most of the decks, one can assume the typical 10 feet, but I would expect the theater sections and the shuttle bays to be taller.

Again, despite these drawbacks, this was the best deck plan for a 300 passenger luxury liner I could find. Plus, it looks like it'd be pretty easy to adapt the plans to create an even bigger ship by duplicating a deck or extending one of the lower decks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CT-F DPM-1 FASA King Richard Deck Plan Module
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TNE-0000 Understanding Traveller: The New Era
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2012 12:22:45

This download is completely missing the "When Empires Fall" article from Challenge magazine - it includes a 4-page pdf of the TNE cover and three pages of overview of the TNE system - basically it is the old ad copy for the release.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
TNE-0000 Understanding Traveller: The New Era
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 484 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG