RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
by Mark O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2013 18:19:32
I remembered playing Traveller in the early 80's with great affection and was so excited to get this and the several other TNE PDFs I bought at the same time, but now I very much regret the purchase.

This has to be one of the worst scans I have ever seen. There are no bookmarks, which is only a minor annoyance, and the text is so blurry it is hardly legible. I gave up trying to read it three pages in because my eyes were watering from the strain of making out the letters.

Unless you already own a physical copy are just looking for a PDF for quick reference do not waste your money on this.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CT-M01-Tarsus
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2013 11:32:00
An excellent planet-based scenario for Classic Traveller. Set in a neutral region of GDW's Spinward Marches during the Imperium's "Golden Age" it provides a detailed overview of the agricultural world of Tarsus. As such it represents a superb piece of world building - rarely excelled even in literary Si Fi.

Tarsus is fairly realistic and so could also be adapted for the current incarnation of "Mongoose" 2300 AD (as a "French arm" world maybe?); although the Imperium backdrop elements along with one significant plot element would have to be changed, the latter which will be immediately obvious to any 2300 AD referee(!). Technology (being TL10) would fit fine in most instance as well, although references to antigrav tech would have to be removed.

My only (slight) criticism is that I would have prefered more scenarios. But what you do have is excellent - as it has high reuse value. Tarsus represents a good place to base/centre many types of campaigns. It could be adapted with very little effort for Mongoose Traveller and so still represents a good purchase even for current editions of Traveller. It hasn't dated that much at all to be honest.

Scan quality is quite good and all the elements of the original GDW boxed set are included in the PDF. If you want a world setting for Traveller I would recommend this one!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-M01-Tarsus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CT-ST-Starter Traveller
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2013 12:21:44
Got my son started on Traveller with these - the same I played with when I was a kid! Sometime later we'll trade up to a more recent version.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

JG Traveller- Dra'k'ne Station Drakne Station
by Peter K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2013 23:00:21
I purchased this product looking for something like a megadungeon set in space to borrow for non-Traveller games. In this I had mixed success.

Drak'ne is technically a very thorough and well thought out depiction of a massive, isolated research facility designed to assist an alien war which ended thousands of years ago.

The scenario has elements of a megadungeon and is certainly sandboxy. But the relative uniformity of the environment and its hazards means that, unless the scenario is significantly modified by the GM, the players might be some degree of monotony to exploration. Success seems pretty much a matter of patiently and methodically going through the whole station and prying loose everything you can in order to sell or reuse it.

There are certain potential hazards, treasures of a sort, and mysteries and intrigues which might be discovered. But, I'd say the general tone of the scenario is more toward realistic resource exploitation, rather than adventurous discovery and treasure hunting. Thematically it is about as far from "gonzo" dungeoncrawling as I can imagine.

To detail further:

* There are a few suggested "traps" but these are intended to be rare, and usually the result of system malfunctions.
* Security androids are the main opponents, but all are similar (c.f. imagine a huge dungeon populated only by identically skilled and armed orcs with no distinguishable factions or differences in motive).
* One conscious alien opponent might show up, but will have significant work to get things up and running again.
* The crew are almost entirely dead or in cold sleep. As written, encountering any conscious aliens other than the one opponent, will take some work.
* Multiple factions of aliens do exist, but all are xenophobic to one extent or another and may not even be uncountered, unless someone manages to revive a number of sleepers and the right sleepers are awoken, and might not be differentiated unless the language is decoded and certain linguistic clues are interpreted correctly or spelled out.
* There are valuable things to be uncovered. But the most valuable are simply along the lines of bulk (alien) supplies or notes that a corporation might pay a lot for to speed up their long term research slightly.

Variant scenarios for the Dra'k'ne station suggested at the end of the text include having competing groups trying to exploit the place at the same time, having the facility's equipment pose a hazard to an inhabited planet, or having pirates base their operations from this locale. These might spice up the risks a bit and make time more of a factor. But none are given more than a cursory mention, and all details of these alternate scenarios are left to the GM to spell out.

For what it is, Dark'ne station is well written. But for my liking it could have used more variety and depth to the opponents, risks, and immediately usable "cool" rewards.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
JG Traveller- Dra'k'ne Station Drakne Station
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MT MegaTraveller Robots
by Яы B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2013 23:34:21
Great effort to create a robot builder using the MT ruleset. Better than book 8 if playing MT.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MT MegaTraveller Robots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guide Checklist to GDW RPG Titles
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2013 06:15:20
As a list of all GDW titles on RPGNow, it saves some clicking and scrolling. Hyperlinks didn't work for me.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Guide Checklist to GDW RPG Titles
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CT-ST-Starter Traveller
by Anthony H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2013 12:22:04
Wow way cool this brings me back to my early days of gaming. everything I hope for and more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CT-ST-Starter Traveller
by Roy L. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2013 22:15:50
star ship construction tonnage & cost classic5/5.see space opera7/10
.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
by Eric M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2013 12:17:26
This is an excellent publication, both now and when I first bought it back in the eighties. Fairly much everything from the first three LBBs and a bit more with the adventures. Worth the download to see what a great game this is from the efficient rule set to the understated yet elegant layout.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MT MegaTraveller Referee's Manual
by Michael L. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2013 13:39:14
Exactly what I was looking for. I could not find my copy and needed it for a game I was putting together. I enjoy the challenge to create a very detailed star system this manual affords.
Thank you
Michael L. Snowden
snowdenml@hotmail.com

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MT  MegaTraveller Referee's Manual
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CT-G04-Traveller Fifth Frontier War
by William H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2013 02:38:30
First, the two previous reviewers are obviously youngsters not familier with the state of the art of counter printing back in ye good olde days when this game was produced. The black printed on red is hardish to read, the red on white it perfectly clear. I suspect the scans are very good images of the originals. Haven't gotten into the game yet, but wanted to warn potential buyers that the scans are fine, of what they were scanning.

Also, note an original copy of this game is on eBay for $165! At $9.35, I'm very pleased with my purchase. Without scanned pdfs this game would gone.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G04-Traveller Fifth Frontier War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CT-G03-Traveller- Azhanti High Lightning
by Andrew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2013 13:29:19
OK - Overall, I think this product is very well done. The quality of the source materials is excellent, the color makes the deck plans for the most part clear, and the quality of the digitization is excellent with a notable oversight below. The ship is well thought out, the class history is interesting, the information overall is practically presented for GM and players alike

Buyers should beware however of two things which reduce the utility of this otherwise great product.

1. None of the files associated with this package actually contain a side view of the ship, an external view of the ship, or even the gorgeous box cover painting. This is not just a shame from an eye candy perspective. It makes interpreting the deck plans much harder as none of the otherwise excellent plans contain a profile view of the cruiser itself. The buyer should know that the AHL class is presented as having 80 plus decks, but the cruisers used a modular construction and the decks are presented on 14 pages of plans and heavily reused. Decks using the same plan are not all stacked together either: they may alternate with other modular deck types. A plan view or external views would have made it easier to associate the deck plans with the exterior of the ship: useful for visualizing out how they are arranged and how they fit together in boarding actions for instance.

2. The enclosed supplement describing the cruiser (in a fair amount of detail) includes numbered short descriptions of spaces and key features on each deck...but nowhere do the drawings have the numbers associated with the callouts on them. The original maps did include the numerical callouts on them and they are all imaged at various places on the internet (Boardgame Geek for one). For the most part this is not a difficulty and a GM will be able to define what they think each thing is supposed to be on the drawings. But it is very troublesome in some areas like the main bridge because the designer's intent isn't always clear without the callouts. There are 35 stations on the bridge which the designer has lovingingly annotated for us in the deck notes for the bridge. But there's no way that I can see in these data files to know which of the labels goes with each seat on the deck plan. This is a pretty serious oversight for a GM who wants to use the ship as a fixture in their campaign and a pretty serious oversight on the part of the people who scanned the product.

Overall, I heartily endorse the product (especially at this price point) but buyers looking to use the ship in detail should not be surprised (as I was) when they'll have to work out some pretty basic material for themselves.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G03-Traveller- Azhanti High Lightning
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Official 2013 Traveller Calendar
by Noah T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2013 21:07:21
I look forward to the Traveller Calendar every year. I have to say that the artwork has gotten better every year. I like this because it's like having a little piece of the Imperium to show to my players. It adds color and taste the universe and shows my gaming group that Traveller isn't just one campaign, but a whole continuum of people with interesting ideas. Each Traveller Calendar breaths a little more life into the Traveller Universe.

What's even better is that proceeds go to charity. What's not to like!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Official 2013 Traveller Calendar
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T2013- Twilight: 2013 Core Rules
by Brian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2013 07:50:24
I bought this so many years ago, it is a good rules system for sure, realistic enough, but still not overly so. The history is a bit contrived for sure, but here's thing sometimes reality is stranger than fiction. My biggest gripe is the system died way too fast, it had so much promise, so much I thought I bought the rulebook in dead tree format and pdf.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2013- Twilight: 2013 Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TNE Novel-3 The Backwards Mask GDW 382
by Christopher F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2013 17:47:54
I am an avid follower of the first two books. The stories, while TNE, are what I consider to be classic Traveller. I have read those books at least five times, so, when I found out that the final book in the trilogy was out, I picked it up immediately.

I feel that the new author has not been faithful to the characters, the existing story line or to the TNE canon.

Instead of a sector recovering from Virus, we suddenly have huge battle fleets reminiscent of David Weber's Honorverse. The tech bible is not only disregarded, it was not read and was probably used to start fires.

The characters are wooden, not true to their pre-existing nature and generally act only in stereotypes. Part of what made them worth following was that they grew in the first two books. After reading the third book, I felt like the cover art should be a huge graphic that says, "Incredibly loosely based on Traveller: the New Era and the works of...".

It saddens me immensely, but, I cannot in good conscience, recommend this book.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
TNE Novel-3 The Backwards Mask GDW 382
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 358 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG