RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
CT-G03-Traveller- Azhanti High Lightning
by Andrew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2013 13:29:19
OK - Overall, I think this product is very well done. The quality of the source materials is excellent, the color makes the deck plans for the most part clear, and the quality of the digitization is excellent with a notable oversight below. The ship is well thought out, the class history is interesting, the information overall is practically presented for GM and players alike

Buyers should beware however of two things which reduce the utility of this otherwise great product.

1. None of the files associated with this package actually contain a side view of the ship, an external view of the ship, or even the gorgeous box cover painting. This is not just a shame from an eye candy perspective. It makes interpreting the deck plans much harder as none of the otherwise excellent plans contain a profile view of the cruiser itself. The buyer should know that the AHL class is presented as having 80 plus decks, but the cruisers used a modular construction and the decks are presented on 14 pages of plans and heavily reused. Decks using the same plan are not all stacked together either: they may alternate with other modular deck types. A plan view or external views would have made it easier to associate the deck plans with the exterior of the ship: useful for visualizing out how they are arranged and how they fit together in boarding actions for instance.

2. The enclosed supplement describing the cruiser (in a fair amount of detail) includes numbered short descriptions of spaces and key features on each deck...but nowhere do the drawings have the numbers associated with the callouts on them. The original maps did include the numerical callouts on them and they are all imaged at various places on the internet (Boardgame Geek for one). For the most part this is not a difficulty and a GM will be able to define what they think each thing is supposed to be on the drawings. But it is very troublesome in some areas like the main bridge because the designer's intent isn't always clear without the callouts. There are 35 stations on the bridge which the designer has lovingingly annotated for us in the deck notes for the bridge. But there's no way that I can see in these data files to know which of the labels goes with each seat on the deck plan. This is a pretty serious oversight for a GM who wants to use the ship as a fixture in their campaign and a pretty serious oversight on the part of the people who scanned the product.

Overall, I heartily endorse the product (especially at this price point) but buyers looking to use the ship in detail should not be surprised (as I was) when they'll have to work out some pretty basic material for themselves.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G03-Traveller- Azhanti High Lightning
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Official 2013 Traveller Calendar
by Noah T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2013 21:07:21
I look forward to the Traveller Calendar every year. I have to say that the artwork has gotten better every year. I like this because it's like having a little piece of the Imperium to show to my players. It adds color and taste the universe and shows my gaming group that Traveller isn't just one campaign, but a whole continuum of people with interesting ideas. Each Traveller Calendar breaths a little more life into the Traveller Universe.

What's even better is that proceeds go to charity. What's not to like!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Official 2013 Traveller Calendar
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
T2013- Twilight: 2013 Core Rules
by Brian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2013 07:50:24
I bought this so many years ago, it is a good rules system for sure, realistic enough, but still not overly so. The history is a bit contrived for sure, but here's thing sometimes reality is stranger than fiction. My biggest gripe is the system died way too fast, it had so much promise, so much I thought I bought the rulebook in dead tree format and pdf.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2013- Twilight: 2013 Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
TNE Novel-3 The Backwards Mask GDW 382
by Christopher F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2013 17:47:54
I am an avid follower of the first two books. The stories, while TNE, are what I consider to be classic Traveller. I have read those books at least five times, so, when I found out that the final book in the trilogy was out, I picked it up immediately.

I feel that the new author has not been faithful to the characters, the existing story line or to the TNE canon.

Instead of a sector recovering from Virus, we suddenly have huge battle fleets reminiscent of David Weber's Honorverse. The tech bible is not only disregarded, it was not read and was probably used to start fires.

The characters are wooden, not true to their pre-existing nature and generally act only in stereotypes. Part of what made them worth following was that they grew in the first two books. After reading the third book, I felt like the cover art should be a huge graphic that says, "Incredibly loosely based on Traveller: the New Era and the works of...".

It saddens me immensely, but, I cannot in good conscience, recommend this book.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
TNE Novel-3 The Backwards Mask GDW 382
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Journal of the Travellers’ Aid Society. Issue No. 4
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2013 12:46:59
Classic 'Classic' Traveller JTAS issue. Sought after article on the 'Gazelle'-class close escort, containing information on that starship still to be found nowhere else. That alone is worth the PDF price. Many of the other features can be found elsewhere (Best of the 'Journal', etc.). Worth every penny.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journal of the Travellers’ Aid Society. Issue No. 4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CT-G03-Traveller- Azhanti High Lightning
by john k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2013 14:42:44
Great job, even of you don't play traveler, it a super setting for any hard scifi campaign

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G03-Traveller- Azhanti High Lightning
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MT MegaTraveller Robots
by Craig B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2013 02:49:23
I was so glad to see this product released. I enjoyed reading this and following the development of the product online. I think any referee of the game will appreciate the usefulness of this product and the thought that has gone into the samples included. Please hurry up and release a print edition!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MT MegaTraveller Robots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CHALLENGE Magazine No. 46.
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2012 00:07:38
The recent flurry of interest was well deserved - this issue has some great stuff along a supernatural and generally spooky theme, with haunted ships for "Traveller" and Space Eaters for "Call of Cthulhu" among others.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CHALLENGE Magazine No. 46.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Guide to the Traveller New Era Novels
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2012 18:36:51
These are the scanned, non-OCR'ed copies of Paul Brunette's excellent TNE trilogy. The quality of writing is fantastic and the characters very believable. Brunette has an intimate knowledge of the Traveller game and demonstrates this by writing a very action-packed saga that is educational and very satisfying. For the price, this bundle is more than a bargain. The Backwards Mask and The Errand are the real jewels because they provide alternate endings to the series.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guide to the Traveller New Era Novels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
TNE Novel Trilogy [BUNDLE]
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2012 21:24:58
The PDF files for "The Death of Wisdom" and "To Dream of Chaos" are scans of an old copy of the books. As a result, they cannot be converted to other file formats like Word, HTML or Epub. This too bad because the physical copies of the books are now collectors items and it would be nice to have these available for an e-reader like the nook or the amazon kindle. In spite of that, this is a great deal, the PDFs are well done (especially the ones for The Errand and The Backward Mask). These books represent a very good illustration of TNE rules and it is very fascinating to read a fiction book about the things that are fun to play in a game sessions. The effect is not clumsy either. The prose is very good and very easy to follow. There are a lot of use of "call signs" like Drop Kick, Bonzo and Coeur, but characterization is very good

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TNE Novel Trilogy [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CHALLENGE Magazine No. 46.
by P-O B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/27/2012 12:16:11
If you want to play a horror scenario for Traveller, then I would say that you should have a look at Challenge #46. It is a Special Horror Issue.

In this issue you can find a 6-page article about scary wizards and witches, with three interesting adventure hooks. There is a four page scenario with some nasty surprises about salvaging a haunted scout-ship. The final (and maybe most scary) scenario is about encountering a ghost ship in jump space. It is written by Mike Mikesh. This scenario also includes deckplans of a 600-ton subsidized liner. All of these articles for Traveller are very good and usable. But there is more…

There is a scenario for Twilight: 2000, one for Space: 1889, one for 2300 AD, one for Cyberpunk, two for Shadowrun, one for Torg, two for Call of Cthulhu, one for Star Wars and one other (for fun). The one for 2300 AD would be easy to adapt for Traveller if you need another scenario.

Review can also be read at the Zhodani Base: http://wp.me/p2o79h-Hr

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CHALLENGE Magazine No. 46.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Journal of the Travellers' Aid Society. Issue No.1-24
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2012 14:50:06
Classic Traveler in its heydey. Aliens, characters, ships and complete adventures. The JTAS went on to become Challenge Magazine starting with issue 25; but prior to that it was pure Traveler. Complete your collection or open a whole new wave of gaming material for the science fiction game that sets the standard that others are judged by.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journal of the Travellers' Aid Society. Issue No.1-24
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
T5 Traveller5 Wallpapers
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2012 12:09:57
Fabulous pictures! Not really suited for a mobile lock screen, but they work fabulously on an HD notebook.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T5 Traveller5 Wallpapers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
T5 Traveller5 Wallpapers
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2012 21:55:20
Jesse DeGraff continues the tradition of great Traveller starship art begun by W.H. Keith and Dave Deitrick over 35 years ago. His imaginative and highly detailed digital renders are becoming the gold standard for the Fifth Edition of Traveller (T5).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
CT-F DPM-1 FASA King Richard Deck Plan Module
by Jannah F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2012 02:41:39
I needed a detailed deck plan of a large passenger liner for a writing project, and this is the best one I've found. The accommodations are similar to a modern cruise ship; there's no steerage class, but there are a handful of larger suites for the wealthy. The cabins have zero gravity sleeping chambers, but they're about the size of a queen-size bed, so you can envision them as more traditional accommodations if your setting calls for that. The passenger amenities are nice: pool, fitness room, casino, theaters, atrium and a variety of dining areas and bars. And the plans are very detailed; there are even schematics of the air ducts so your characters can crawl around and be stealthy! The ship comes with 2 50 passenger shuttles, and with the nose dock no space is wasted on a huge hangar. The text gives a fair amount of detail on ship's procedures, crew (including job classifications) and emergency protocols.

The main drawback is that there seems to be far too little space devoted to the engines and other mechanical systems. The engine deck is described very briefly and is very small. I think we are supposed to assume that the engines are not shown, but it's not very clear. There's also very little space for cargo and consumables; this is explained in text, but it does limit the ship's adaptability to other scenarios. There's also no information given on the height of the ship or the height of individual decks. For most of the decks, one can assume the typical 10 feet, but I would expect the theater sections and the shuttle bays to be taller.

Again, despite these drawbacks, this was the best deck plan for a 300 passenger luxury liner I could find. Plus, it looks like it'd be pretty easy to adapt the plans to create an even bigger ship by duplicating a deck or extending one of the lower decks.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CT-F DPM-1 FASA King Richard Deck Plan Module
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 347 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG