RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
T2000 v2 Infantry Weapons
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2016 03:22:53

First, a confession: I'm a real-world gun buff. So I was surprised to spot a large number of errors in this supposedly well researched work. No mistake, 80% - 90% is good and useful, covering a wide range of weapons used throughout the twentieth century, not just 1999. It includes the basic math used to calculate the game values of any weapon not in the book. And yet... For example, why are there two different listings of the mauser C96, with different values for the same weapon? (It's available in several calibers, that's why, although this is not stated.) If you are unfamiliar with the finer details of twentieth century weaponry this is a good buy. If you or your players have a tendency to nit-pick, it might cause arguments. If you are keen on accurate detail, you might prefer to work out the weapon stats yourself. Overall rating 8 out of 10



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v2 Infantry Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DC Gear-Up!
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2016 06:57:15

Great book with tons of information. I can't wait for the next book to come out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DC Gear-Up!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

2300 AD Star Cruiser
by william b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2016 23:45:05

Game mechanics have some similarites to the Honor Harrington universe of David Weber. The main difference being the type of faster than light drive. As noted in another review the combat charts are missing, but can be obtained from Far Future Enterprises by contacting them. I received a copy of the combat charts via email the same day I contacted them. The ability to design your own ships is a good feature. The combat mechanics do require several die rolls to resolve hits. 1. roll to hit, 2. roll to penetrate/reduce screens, 3. roll for hit location, 4. for non-surface hits roll to penetrate armor.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
2300 AD Star Cruiser
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 22:40:11

Rats! Accidentally deleted my original review, which went back to a week or three after publication. Let's just say that T5 does Traveller proud and it's once again what it was best: a toolbox filled with tools to create MY favorite sf rolegame.

I still bet Marc wishes he had the support group he had in 1977. It's hard to believe almost all of this came from one mind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T5 Imperiallines 06
by Mark F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 12:47:14

Wow! Good to be back in the saddle. You can almost see it. Excellent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T5 Imperiallines 06
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guide To Classic Traveller
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2016 03:13:59

Fundamental guide to what is in the complete set of Classic Traveller books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guide To Classic Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ebook: The Science Fiction In Traveller
by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2016 03:23:20

A very interesting read. The discussion covers many works from those that pre-date Traveller, and were influential in it's conception as a SF RGP, though various works of fan fiction. It ends up discussing the most recent works.

I really enjoyed this ebook. There are a lot of works discussed that I did not know about.   It was very informative. Although the writer covered a lot, I feel that there are a lot of other SF works out there that, although not Traveller specific, is still of benifit to anyone designing a scenario.   The subject is however very large and it is not possible to cover everything.

Overall, a very good ebook.   Strongly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebook: The Science Fiction In Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ebook: The Science Fiction In Traveller
by Peter R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2016 00:19:46

Traveller is a game set in a universe that looks somewhat Star-Warsy, if you aren't aware of or haven't read the decades of science fiction that came before 1977, on which the game is actually based. There is no one source; the game has many fathers, from Jefferson P. Swycaffer to Gordon Dickson to H. Beam Piper. Heretofore there hasn't been a compendium of sources, or discussion of influences, or reviews of how these books and authors came to be part of the Traveller background. That's where Shannon Appelcline and "The Science Fiction in Traveller" comes in.

The title refers not so much to the technologies and SFnal elements that go into Traveller than the way these technologies shaped the galactic societies in which they are placed, and how those elements appear in Traveller. For instance, Dickson's "The Genetic General" (known better today as "Dorsai!") does not much resemble Traveller in terms of tech. But it does have a Mercenary's Code, a feature that could be useful for Game Masters looking to provide more detail and substance to their own Traveller merc campaign. H. Beam Piper's "Space Viking" doesn't seem very Traveller, with its half-primitive space raiders devastating planets for the tech and raw materials to sustain their own civilization... but the home worlds of the Space Vikings have the same names as the Sword Worlds in Traveller, and the use of hyperdrive jump starships and their effect on commerce and warfare is very close to what you find in Traveller. Here too a GM can find inspiration for a campaign, raiding worlds for supplies or defending against them. In each case you find a little more of the Traveller universe and a good deal more in terms of usable background, story organization, campaign goals and structure to enhance your Traveler campaign.

My own long-time Traveller GM made much use of Keith Laumer's books on Retief, the diplomat to the stars, which greatly informed his campaigns with political and diplomatic subtlety -- even as we poor schlubs were using air/rafts to break into secret prisons for hostages in an enemy capital, hoping to get away clean. It's this sort of backgrounding that makes a campaign feel more real, and greatly enhances the player's enjoyment of the setting as well as the adventure. Bigger Things Are Moving In the Shadows, and if you are lucky, you might get to find out how to profit for them.

If that's the sort of thing you're looking to do for your players, I heartily recommend "The Science Fiction In Traveller" as a way to discover the roots of the game and the stories that can inspire world-spanning adventures for your players. Do look into it; you'll be very glad you did.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebook: The Science Fiction In Traveller
by James F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2016 14:35:43

While I did enjoy this and found it very interesting. I think this book will mainly be of interest to die-hard Traveller fans.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ebook: The Science Fiction In Traveller
by scott w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2016 22:19:03

A great view of the Traveller Universe from the perspective it's books and other novels in an effort to capitalize on these to conceptualize the universe.

Good job.

This could go "on and on" with comparisons to other novels/series. I look forward to a 2nd novel. I would've liked to have seen Ender's Game, Foundation, and numerous other books mentioned. For that matter sci-fi franchises like Firefly, Farscape, Star Wars, and StarGate have all see a bit of Traveller in them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DC1 Minion Hunter (Boardgame)
by Will D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2016 16:00:47

The quality of the PDF is terrible! The map does not fit when printed. Major redesign is needed to make this work. Everything, even the rules, are very poor scans of the physical game.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DC1 Minion Hunter (Boardgame)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T5 Traveller5 Wallpapers
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2016 12:42:37

Great set of wallpapers! The only drawback is that there are none sized for a smartphone. Not having a tablet or PC to resize the pics, I had to crop. Otherwise, a great deal!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T5 Traveller5 Wallpapers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GDW Game System Guides [BUNDLE]
by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 16:55:05

Game guides have their uses as they can help establish what serious collectors of gaming products need to get to fill out their collections.

I got the bundled package during the Christmas period when it was free. As a minor point, this is really a form of advertising and should always be free as it is essentially helping the vendor to sell more products.

Overall, was worth getting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GDW Game System Guides [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2015 08:00:04

Like others have already mentioned - most fun character creation system ever. I have played both editions and First Edition is the only way to go. Second edition replaces many of the % rolls with d10 and the game lost detail and the "right feel". Trust me on this. The rating - well, I would give it 5 stars easily because of the value of the bundled deal. Its great to get all the books at once so heavily discounted. I wish other "big" publishers would do this. However, the scanning is some of the worst I've encountered on this website. And I've purchased alot of PDFs. Not only do the scans bleed through from the backside, the text clarity and sharpness is also poor. I recommend a complete rescan of this series ASAP and post the updates so we can re-download. thanks guys



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1  Twilight: 2000
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Classic Traveller Orientation Pack
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2015 09:32:24

Truth be told, I purchased this to get the 134-page Traveller Timeline which pulls together all significant events from the time of the ancients to the end of the Fifth Frontier War/Golden Age (1115). This is a good treatment of the timeline because Classic Traveller focuses on the "Golden Age" setting. McKinney pulls together data from a wide variety of sources (from the original Library Data to Dragon Magazine and finally to supplements from publishers like SJ Games).

The timeline is a fascinating resource and is well worth the price. All events are listed by date (day-XXXX Imperial Year), description and source in a kind of modified MLA format (Source Publication, Publisher, Date, Page.)

This collection has all the great Classic Traveller materials together in one place. Unfortunately, it does not have a Guide to the Judges Guild and GameLords Traveller Resources.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Traveller Orientation Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 435 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG