RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
by Stirling W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2015 15:02:11

I've never been a huge fan of Traveller. Any game in which you can die rolling up a character has serious design flaws as far as I'm concerned. However, I bought the book as I'm a fan of SF roleplaying in general, and was hoping for some interesting game design ideas in the new book. However, this book seriously needs some editing love. When rolling up a a test mercenary character I found myself hunting for definitions of terms that don't show up until hundreds of pages after they are first used. There are tables forty pages apart that I kept having to flip between and mysterious notations in tables that I literally took hours to decipher.

At least my first attempt to roll up a character didn't die. No, he was crippled for life during his second term in the Marines...



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2015 19:53:27

I really like this edition/revision. It is quite an improvement over the original CDROM and book. All errata (of which there were 10 pages) is now included in the text and made a part of the main text (no underlining, pasting or redlining necessary). In addition, the text is much easier to search and/or make searchable and editable. A new index has been added that is vastly more detailed than the one provided by R. Eaglestone on the official Traveller forums. There is also more artwork. Marc and the team did an excellent job with this. I look forward to the release of the revised CDROM and new hardcopy.

I don't like how the book has been renamed "Traveller5.09" ("The 5.09 version of Traveller"). It seems kind of clumsy and, anyway, as a point release it should be named 5.1. 5.09 suggests something that is still in alpha stage (still being tested and not ready for everyday use). That's all computer terminology but I feel much better about this book than I did about the original pre-release text and the eventual first finished edition (FFE-050 and FFE-300).

If you don't have a copy, here's a great opportunity to get it! Thanks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
by Philipp N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 00:57:16

I will not comment on the content of the book, because if you came here because of Traveller you know what you can expect and the book will deliver.

This comment is solely on the quality of the presentations as a PDF. The first page is white with black text and no red bar. - At least for me it is disturbing not to have the covers pages.

But my most important concern is: A 759 page book without PDF-bookmarks! The index might be okay and is surely helpful if I had an paper-book my hands.

But for PDF user this this is horrible, I would never be able to memorize all relevant pages for quickly looking up anything during the game. And eBook Reader are not known for quick browsing, especially on a PDF.

And yes I could print out the table of content and the index. Or I could make the bookmarks myself if the PDF was not edit-protected.

Also the table of content is wrong (Clones are at Page 96, Chimeras at 91, Basic Information has no page references at all and so on).

This is a sloppy PDF made without any love for the tree-saving reader.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
T2013- Rules Addendum
by Kalle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2015 02:17:27

I liked this product. It makes rules for certain gear more deep what I wanted. I actually miss rules for couple of scenarios when Apocalypse has not yet happened. We as players could play an era before The III World War as European and American Battle Group soldiers in Northern Africa. There's no rules for planes, helicopters and landing crafts what could use in that time.

That's not necessary I think. However I like possibility to play Intelligence operative in the World just before Cataclysm.

Thank You for asking and Thanks for Good Game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T2013- Rules Addendum
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 01:13:02

Ok, scan pretty crappy. Reading glasses helped.

Ok, why bother with something that that is that difficult to read? Because this is like the ultimate GDW game.

Not the rules. Not even exactly the setting.

I still have my first Traveller books from the boxed set. Almost 30 years ago exactly (it was a Christmas present), I started Traveller. The rules have never been its strongest point. Well and even the setting. To me what made Traveller "Traveler" was it was limitless worlds and cultures to explore. Each planet held such a vast realm of possibility. I have tried Mega, Advanced and T20.

Still I went back to basic. Overhauled the skill list. Modified the combat system. Tweeked the Power Plant fuel on starship design. Why no cell phones? Of course they have cell phones! But a Traveller communicator is Solid State, it works under all conditions. Same reason Marines use cutlasses and they use guns and not ray beams.

Twilight 2000, the original, was another love affair and I accepted her through all her awkwardness.

Finally, they have met.

Its been 16 years since Strephon's assassination and the whole Imperium gets nuked! Traveller made your character generation the end of gaining anything for the most part. Changing a number for the positive practically impossible. With this in mind, those characters make the perfect "survivors". Don't wait generations. What do you want mutations? Traveller TNE has done what Traveller did in the first place. Their are almost an infinite number of worlds to explore. just this time they are destroyed.

This may be the greatest version of Twilight ever made. Lose that APC in Poland. now that Tramp Free Trader may be the only one left in the ruins of a sector and the drives need an overhaul.

Traveller was never Star Wars or Star Trek. It was limited; but that to me made it limitless. The strange aliens were what Man could become if left alone for 500 years or simply chose to diverge that way. Star Wars was all flash and Star Trek was alien of the week and how really we are all the same deep down.

Traveller was about how everyone deep down was different and imperfect. Mankind finds a race that lives harmoniously by reading each other's thoughts. We declare war!

Do I recommend you buy it? Only if you love Traveller or the idea of Traveller. This rule system may work for you, if not, find one of Traveller's rule sets that do. This will sound messed up; but...

Marc Miller created a timeless game and setting. And the best thing that ever happened to it, is destroying it!

This will take Traveller my game for probably the rest of my life. 30 years of experiencing it and another 30 surviving it. I can't wait to figure out how to make a planet full of zombies! And every other way to destroy the Imperium!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T5 Imperiallines 06
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2015 14:57:10

This publication is an excellent example of how a game supplement should be made. The typesetting and layout are flawless. Facts and figures are correct and easy to read. Information regarding the "new" Aminidii race is very good and include charts for generating words and sentences The images are very plain but well done. Basically, this supplement brings Traveller5 to a level where it is accessible to everyone wanting to play the game. Additional material explains sophont species generation in an accessible way. The price is great if you consider that the format of the supplement is very similar to the old JTAS booklets from back in the 80's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T5 Imperiallines 06
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

20-Ton Launch
by Wayne Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2015 10:32:25

For the money, this is a handy guide for ready-made Traveller launch/gig/lifeboat variants. You won't get a lot of bells and whistles - no rendered external views, the fluff text is brief & utilitarian - but you do get nine deckplans of described variants, complete with game stats for CT/MT/GT.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
20-Ton Launch
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CT-M05-Alien Realms
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2015 00:52:45

This presents a collection of interesting, unconnected scenarios involving non-Imperial sentient groups (thus, aliens) with some visible references to the outcomes of previous games early in Traveller's development. An unusual structure, separating player and GM information, would be very well supported by adding bookmarks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CT-M05-Alien Realms
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

2300 AD Star Cruiser
by Mikko K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2014 07:04:57

The download is missing the combat charts, actually making this product unusable except as interesting background reading.

Some of the provided ships are somewhat suspect, e.g. the Piedrabuena frigates having many more hull hits than Kafer battleships and not carrying enough weapons to sink themselves...



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
2300 AD Star Cruiser
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CT-G03-Traveller- Azhanti High Lightning
by James T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2014 22:46:59

Rated medium for use in recreating the game.

The rules are very well done, scanned with OCR and clear and easy to read. This also applies to the accompanying supplement. However the deck plans in the supplement have been replaced by what appears to be recreated versions done in something similar to MSPaint. These are very harsh colour-wise and do not have the identifying numbers to match the text descriptions. This actually makes it impossible to play the included scenarios as working out the starting placement is a matter of guesswork.

There is an accompanying file of the deck plans, again missing the identification numbers.

The counters are generally fine for play, a little blurry but mostly usable. The main exception are the black on red Zhodani counters. The identification numbers are impossible to read and the icons are very blurry.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G03-Traveller- Azhanti High Lightning
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CT-G04-Traveller Fifth Frontier War
by James T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2014 18:06:28

A medium review, generally due to the suitability of the components in recreating the game.

No box art is included in the download.

The Rules are of excellent quality, and appear to be OCR scans. The charts however are image scans, but are fine to use in play.

There is a separate higher resolution map included in the download, this is of playable quality, but needs work if used to recreate an aesthetically pleasing version of the game.

Counters are fairly poor quality, they are playable and just readable, but are obviously low quality and not for use to recreate the game as it was. Of the most concern to playing the game, some of the Unit Identifying Numbers are so blurry they are unreadable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G04-Traveller Fifth Frontier War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CT-G00-Traveller- Imperium
by James T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2014 17:42:24

A medium review for this product, generally due to its suitability in recreating the game.

No images for the box are included. This is disappointing for those that want to recreate the set.

The rules are of excellent quality, they are OCR scans of the rules and include the later editions' 'History of the Imperium'.

There are two maps included with the rules that are for reference only, they are unreadable and not suitable for playing on. This is rectified by the inclusion of a second file that contains a higher quality scan of the 1990 map. This scan is playable and readable. Unfortunately, only this one map is included, the second map of 2005, that is included in unreadable form with the rules, is not available in a higher resolution scan.

The tokens are a mix of hit and miss, generally they are usable, however, the low resolution scans make them unsuitable to recreating the board game, and are more suited as a reference to an existing set.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G00-Traveller- Imperium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CT-G06- Dark Nebula
by James T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2014 17:16:36

I'll offer a medium review for this product, mostly due to the suitability of the download in recreating the original game.

It is disappointing that the cover image is only some 200x300 pixels and unsuitable for recreating a box for your recreated game. The rules are clear and appear to be without error, rather than image scans, the rules appear to be retyped or OCR scans. The maps themselves, while low resolution, are clear and easy to read. Even the hex numbers are clear enough to read. Only a low score on the quality of the scan of the chits in particular. Blurry and very low resolution, very disappointing for a paid product.

Overall, this version of the game can be used to recreate the game in a basic way, that at minimum is playable. However, the aesthetics of the game if recreated using the components included in this paid download will be disappointing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G06- Dark Nebula
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
by Toby D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2014 01:00:02

This is a scan of the earliest print run of this book. They should really be selling the mark 1 mod 1 version.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TNE-0307 Traveller Referee's Screen
by Toby D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2014 00:58:42

Very disappointing. I mostly purchased this for the included adventure, which was conspicuous by its absence.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
TNE-0307 Traveller Referee's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 492 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG