RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Otherverse America Campaign Setting
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2014 02:25:42
First off does the author know what editing and formating are? Because the "book" seems to show a complete lack of both. Secondly I had no idea it was even humanly possible to be this laughably ham fisted about a political message, farms around the world are missing their scare crows because this book has so many straw men in it.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Otherverse America Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sentai Sequel!
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2014 10:50:40
Rarely do I print out the PDFs I buy on rpgnow. This series is an exception. It contains a lot more options and some nice advice for integrating Fursona. Even if you don't play d20 / Pathfinder, there's some good genre emulation here that could port well into other games. A great follow-up would be a Fursona-style rubber suit kaiju / giant robot builder.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sentai Sequel!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Keys of Magic
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2014 10:45:12
This book contains 10 Magic keys. Many of which are interesting and even has one key which is split into four pieces and can be used as a campaign hook. The reason for getting 3 stars is because unfortunately 3 of the ten keys are somewhat unoriginal. Two simply add bonuses the way an amulet would, one adds a lock picking bonus.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Keys of Magic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fursona -The Definitive Guide to Creating Anthropomorphic Characters
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2014 13:34:47
I purchased this looking for a TMNT/Yosag Jimbo type of rules. I was looking to create a homebrew "Justifiers" conversion to the D20 modern/future rules.

I was very disappointed in the furry fetish comments throughout. I really did not want to have obscure and sexualized material in the book.

I hope the author takes feedback and adjust future products accordingly.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fursona -The Definitive Guide to Creating Anthropomorphic Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Busty Extreme!
by Colin Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2013 15:12:39
In a nutshell: this 'book' is terrible.

The art is terrible. Even for poser work, they are horrifically bad, with poorly considered lighting and stiff poses with garish photoshoped in backgrounds. The main ability's flavor text is flawed and vaguely racist (FYI: non-asians can be absurdly buxom in hentai as well). I understand that the idea was to make a big tits hentai themed D20M book, but this is badly executed all the way around. The abilities are badly balanced, and everything is named out of a bad American hentai dub.

It might have actually been good if written in a tongue in cheek manner, or even treated seriously as a magic system. Instead it is neither funny, nor interesting.

It's single redeeming feature is that it's mercifully short at only 12 pages long, with several half page spreads of the aforementioned badly done poser art.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Busty Extreme!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Nobility and Eros: The Noble Succubus
by gerald h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2013 05:50:01
This is a fun, and quite original race. There is good flavor & background provided; the reproductive cycle is unique. Tantric pool is unlike anything I've seen on another Pathfinder race. Makes them a little hard to rank, but mechanically they're probably in the lower half of the Advanced race bracket.

There's a large assortment of traits provided for Noble Succubae, and they seem pretty fun also. Also provided are guidelines for using the race in Skortched Urf's Otherverse settings. They seem like they'd be an entertaining option there.

Unfortunately, the space dedicated to Otherverse probably caused the most aggravating thing about the product. There aren't any Favored Class options, Archetypes or Racial Feats. They probably need a Sorcerer bloodline also, since they're neither Abyssal nor in any way connected to Celestials.

The other Native Outsiders are almost worth playing just for their Racial Feats. Instead of a chance to further develop supernatural otherness, the Noble Succubus get one general feat as a virtual. There aren't any Alternate Racial Traits or Subtypes either, but I'm not convinced they're necessary for this particular race. Not sure if the intention was to put out another book later with all the options, but they are sorely missed in the product.

There are also some parts that are vague or confusingly worded. None worse than their language description.

"Noble Succubi speak a strange dialect of
Infernal and Common. Their dialect is almost
incomprehensible to other Infernal speakers; true
Succubi especially have been known to disembowel
anyone speaking this ‘vile and offensive tongue’."

So what does this actually mean: they speak neither Common nor Infernal--and can't learn them as bonus languages-- instead only speaking their unnamed creole/pidgin (which is what it says); they speak both Common and Infernal, but have an excruciating accent and code switch more than anyone else can follow; they speak Common, Infernal, and their own (possibly secret) Common influenced Creole Infernalis? For that matter, why Infernal and not Abyssal? We are talking about Succubae here. How well do Common speakers understand them?

Overall, I love the race and think they'd be a good addition to a campaign. A Noble Succubus as a Summoner would be a strong power-build (they can refill their Tantric pool by making their Eidolon's night), and they'd also make great Oracles and Magisters.

However, there may be more work required to initially integrate them as a PC race than some DMs would like. Still at $1.99, it's a good buy despite the issues I've mentioned, and homebrew friendly groups should find a nice opportunity for further development.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Nobility and Eros: The Noble Succubus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Razor Culture -An Otherverse America Sourcebook
by Benjamin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2013 15:57:22
I found this to have a nice punk/ cyberpunk feel to it, showing how the criminal males could be used to support the Lifers fight in the Otherverse World. It details a bit about how they live off the "grid" and are not easy to track for the "law enforcement".
The book also adds details of the life in the enclaves of the lifers, and how some of the things work within it, and how some of them work around the choicer that is not so clean and clear as the main book would like to be clear. It also has notes on some of the side services that are "covert" unless you are in the know.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Razor Culture -An Otherverse America Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D20 Decade: The 1980s
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2013 03:54:06
Some good to middling ideas in here, but mainly missing the point. My one major complaint is with his bibliography since there is a porn comic book. This illustrates something I have had a problem with this author in the majority of his offerings. Adult references are not appropriate to a product offered to the general audience. A waste of money.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D20 Decade: The 1980s
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Front Lines of Choice
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/27/2013 22:13:44
So here's a puzzle for an RPG supplement reviewer. How do you go about talking about a game supplement that's so far out there that there's nothing really to compare it to? Gonna do my best with this one, in part because it's such lunacy that it really does deserve a closer look.

Front Lines of Choice is by the same author who wrote Choice & Blood, which I gave 3 stars to, because it had the very basics of some really interesting "organization-scale" roleplaying opportunities in d20 Modern, but was a bit of a jumble mechanically and wasn't well-put-together.

Front Lines of Choice, by contrast, takes the same concept - an abortion clinic - and updates it for the Otherverse, a 22nd century science fiction world where the issue of abortion has literally torn the world in two. A religious war between "Lifers" and "Choicers" rages, and these citadels, which are far more than just abortion clinics, have become crucial parts of it. They also serve as pagan temples, defensive military outposts and cultural icons for local communities.

The psychedelic Otherverse at first struck me as a somewhat clumsy attempt to stir up controversy with its central conceit of sexual license versus conservative religosity, but as I went deeper into the highly detailed setting, I started to appreciate it more and more. Science fiction has often translated modern day conflicts into fantastic setting elements in order to expand and explicate them, and the detail and care that has gone into the Otherverse is exceptional. I was finally hooked for good when I got to the section of Front Lines of Choice in which various character archetypes were given a choice of 20 one-paragraph background story outlines to explain how they came to join this particular faction and have their particular role. This is a setting that treats its characters and their motivations as real, at least within the bizarre milieu they find themselves in. You may very well need to get some other Otherverse supplements to get all of the jargon (and I certainly will be looking back at those now that I have a better grasp of the setting), but even without a full understanding you'll find Front Lines of Choice intriguing if you want to see a social conflict unfold in the concrete way that only science fiction (well, and superheroes) can do.

Everything I said was a weakness in Choice & Blood has been expanded into a strength. There are rules for setting up the strength and health of an organization, and a random event table to provide hooks for characters who are invested in it. Characters also get benefits from the organization, in the form of wealth, equipment and skill bonuses. Mechanically, the feats and talent trees are a lot better thought out. Some, like the feat that makes you really good at spotting concealed weapons (important for clinic defenders) seem like a natural fit for any sort of setting, but it stood out to me as an example of something mechanical that brought the Otherverse to life.

If there was one way I would improve this, it would be to make a version that was friendlier for the printer - especially the feat, equipment and motivation sections that would be most useful for players to have copies of while making characters or discussing characters.

So yeah, if you are not interested at all in the subject material, or you think your group would consider it too exploitative, or ugly, or divisive, give it a pass. But for what it is - a supplement about a futuristic science fiction organization based around being an abortion clinic in a world where that's the battle that everyone's fighting...well, how can I even assess it? It's absolutely one of a kind.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Front Lines of Choice
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spells of the Animal Kingdom
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/22/2013 15:52:21
Spells of the Animal Kingdom by Otherverse Games is a collection of animal-themed spells, building from spells such as Bull’s Strength and the other animal-named enhancing spells. There are twenty-five new spells here (not counting the mass versions of the spells) divided up into minor (seven spells of 2nd level or below), average (twelve spells of 2nd level) and major (six spells of 3rd level or higher). Good things about these spells: quite a few of them are built around interesting non-combat applications and several of the combat oriented ones have interesting, if narrow, applications (Mongoose’s Alacrity will be prized by any dragon or snake hunter for instance, or Horse’s Swishing Tail which is an anti-swarm effect). Bad things: Several are missing the material component needed, others seem either too weak or too strong for their level, Bear’s Slumber is -inadvertently- a stunningly effective combat spell and Rabbit’s Fecundity just seems problematic. Still, there is a lot of inspiration here if you wish to play around with animal-themed magic just consider the effect of each spell carefully before allowing it into your campaign.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Spells of the Animal Kingdom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sentai Spectacular! The Ultimate Guide to Playing Sentai Superheroes!
by H. G. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2013 08:28:21
Pretty good product all told. Someone did their Sentai research. Only drawback is that it isn't too clear about being d20 Modern based instead of 3.x D&D based.

Also dropping it an additional star because of the excessively glitzy color interior.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sentai Spectacular! The Ultimate Guide to Playing Sentai Superheroes!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Otherverse America Catalog Spring 2013
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2013 12:36:40
Meh. The intro to the company's products... For an intro, it doesn't whet my appetite for more. In fact, it does the exact opposite.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Otherverse America Catalog Spring 2013
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Autorun -Generic Cyber-Hacking for D20 Modern
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/20/2013 06:50:05
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2013/05/20/tabletop-review-autorun-
-generic-cyber-hacking-for-d20-modern/

I have a confession to make: I don’t play enough cyberpunk games. Still, I am familiar with the whole issue of one player (the “decker” generally) entering the realm of cyberspace while the rest of the party does something else. Split the party, split the game master’s attention, make it easier to lose track of stuff. Got it, I see the problem. What Autorun is trying to do is to help solve or minimize the issues that this causes at the table, by essentially introducing a mini-game that the decker(s) can play while everyone else is doing their stuff they need to do.

Plug In

The introductory material for this sourcebook indicates that it can be used with systems like D20 Modern or Pathfinder (Pathfinder…?), but of course, it can be hacked to work with anything. The only real stats have to do with the various anti-hacker programs and decker equipment that use Difficulty Class (“DC”), the rest is just conceptual. The book also makes some presumptions, like that I would be playing a game where players wait for turns, that I would be using tactical maps or battle mats, and it generally assumes a sort of typical Pathfinder play experience.

Setting up a hacking event with Autorun is pretty easy, there’s a one-page 8.5×11 hex map to print out that represents the virtual space. After that gets put out, some sort of marker is physically thrown onto the map to represent “code walls”, spaces the hacker can’t pass through. Then, depending on how strong the computer security is, a number of programs are placed on the Goal space of the mat, and the hacker is placed on the Home space on the other end. Basically, the hacker has to get through the code walls and malicious programs to reach the Goal space.

Ride the Wave of Computer Use Checks

When a hacker is trying to gain entry to the virtual space, and when the hacker wants to do various things inside the space like kill, evade, or subvert programs, he or she is going to need to make lots of checks against Computer Use, or whatever skill is analogous to that in the game that is being played. Programs move automatically toward the hacker in the most direct possible way, so he or she will likely end up having to tangle with them. The book provides lots of possible programs to run against the hacker, from the lowly and weak Basic Gremlin to the Dracula program; each one takes up a certain amount of slots, which are the available space of the computer system to host programs. When the player has programs in a hex next to them, they are going to suffer damage. This sounds a bit arbitrary to me, but whatever. As mentioned, players can try to either kill, subvert (so that the program attacks other programs), or evade the programs around them. Each time, they will need to roll Computer Use.

Once a hacker reaches the Goal space, that’s it! Balloons fall from the ceiling, prizes are won and the hacker achieves whatever they were trying to do inside the system.

Autorun seems geared toward a certain play style, but I think it’s definitely a neat idea. It’s certainly a quick, tactical game within a game. It has shortcomings, like the fact that it’s very two-dimensional when a lot of the cyberpunk fiction we read talks about flying in virtual space or doing other crazy stunts (like things we see in The Matrix). The hacker is more like a running-back trying to score a touchdown than a traveler of the virtual world or a distinct presence and personality in the realm of cyberspace. Speaking of distinct presence, one of the cool aspects about it is that you can (and are encouraged to) use figurines to represent your avatar, so your virtual representation can be any awesome figure you have lying around. I like that.

My nigglings are a bit beside the point, since the book is meant to simulate a specific function: the decker hacking a computer system for a specific goal. It might also be fun to use the cyber-map when playing out encounters in virtual space, like the Black Sun club in Neal Stephenson’s Snow Crash. The author offers several twists and optional rules for the mini-game as well, such as additional obstacles, bigger maps, or Sys-Admins who take you on personally. There are also lists of gear, hacker abilities, and decks. All in all, a good supplement with lots of neat ideas and a nice full-color board you can print out for play.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Autorun -Generic Cyber-Hacking for D20 Modern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Free20: Forbiddance
by Janessa R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2013 02:23:27
Well, you certainly get what you pay for with this free download. In short - it's terrible.

It's a very short PDF that basically lists types of undead and then turning restrictions for them based on well, they basically plucked reasons out of thin air. If you ate radishes in the last week, you can't turn undead killer tomatoes. In short, it's not only nonsensical, it's *uninspired* nonsense. I would say save your money, but it's free, so save your time instead.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Free20: Forbiddance
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ley Lines
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/18/2013 13:03:40
If you have considered adding ley lines, or similar magical phenomenon, to your Pathfinder world this product should be a useful resource. Not perfect by any means, but a good starting point for thinking about such magics in a world.

Ley Lines is a Pathfinder source book from Scorched Urf’ studios detailing ley lines, that is the lines of magical force that can exist in a game world (and some say exist on Earth). It details various types of ley lines, divided by color, how they affect magic (and more) and what sort of patterns (“world lace”) they can form to enhance world building along with a meta-explanation for why multiple worlds have ley lines.

To further integrate ley lines into the existing rules there is: a goddess with a new clerical domain and nested sub-domains. A prestige class, Geomancer, whose skill list has not made the transition from 3.5 to Pathfinder. A magic weapon trait and new material (ley ash). With quite a few feats, some of which do not require ley lines including my favorite, Arcane Dancer, however I deeply fear that the Elemental Dominance chain of metamagic feats are overpowered and very abusable. Lastly there are traits linked to ley lines. This product provides a wealth of ley line related resources of various levels of usability.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ley Lines
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 172 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG