RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ley Lines
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/18/2013 13:03:40
If you have considered adding ley lines, or similar magical phenomenon, to your Pathfinder world this product should be a useful resource. Not perfect by any means, but a good starting point for thinking about such magics in a world.

Ley Lines is a Pathfinder source book from Scorched Urf’ studios detailing ley lines, that is the lines of magical force that can exist in a game world (and some say exist on Earth). It details various types of ley lines, divided by color, how they affect magic (and more) and what sort of patterns (“world lace”) they can form to enhance world building along with a meta-explanation for why multiple worlds have ley lines.

To further integrate ley lines into the existing rules there is: a goddess with a new clerical domain and nested sub-domains. A prestige class, Geomancer, whose skill list has not made the transition from 3.5 to Pathfinder. A magic weapon trait and new material (ley ash). With quite a few feats, some of which do not require ley lines including my favorite, Arcane Dancer, however I deeply fear that the Elemental Dominance chain of metamagic feats are overpowered and very abusable. Lastly there are traits linked to ley lines. This product provides a wealth of ley line related resources of various levels of usability.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ley Lines
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Nemesis Bestiary Volume One
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/13/2013 14:32:30
An interesting concept. 20 monsters complete with stat-blocks, art and description of their special abilities. There is almost no "fluff", just "crunch" to this book. The idea is you create the background yourself.
A lot of the monsters have origins that can be explained (undead, abberation) others just beg for their story to be told (whore eater and God Sperm for example).

Each monster was created in response to a piece of art. So somethings form can flow from function (Arm Stealer) or something else entirely.

If you want a book of ready use monsters, sans backgrounds, then this is a good choice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nemesis Bestiary Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ghosts and Promises: The Secrets of Kodiak Island
by Richard A S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2013 14:33:51
I can't believe i actually wasted my money on this... I'd have been better off going to the movie theater to watch JJ Abrams Star Trek (2009) at $40 for tickets and snacks.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts and Promises: The Secrets of Kodiak Island
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Otherverse America Campaign Setting
by Richard A S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2013 14:13:44
In a quick word on what's wrong with this product.... this setting is beyond ridiculous. The political strawmen that makes up the setting is so far out there that it's not even funny. But the premise that Pagans and Pro-Choicers are the good guys, while Christians and Pro-Lifers are the bad guys goes into a whole new shock fest that has basically made up 'Otherverse Games' stock setting.

With the fact that this product line makes heroes of men like Kermit Gosnell makes me wonder just how far our entire society and culture has gone in what can only be classified as a free-fall.

The setting is colored by the worse aspects of creating Strawmen to argue against... and that's saying a lot after having taken the time to read the blog of the creator of this setting and quickly learned just how thin-skinned the guy actually is... and how quickly he wants to get into other peoples faces when it comes to his own stances, and then takes an overblown amount of offense when they don't automatically agree with him and yet still wish him well.

Now I admit that I gave this product a chance because I've liked much of what Skortched Urf' Studios has put out, and have parted ways with my money so I can get them... and i was sorely disappointed with this product, and felt like someone had taken a 50lb. Sledge Hammer to my head with the incredibly one-sided view on what should be an open and honest debate between two points of view. My personal belief is pretty much that the procedure should be legal, but it should be rare and not used as a form of birth control... nor do i support those who want to give mothers the right to kill a child after it's been lucky enough to actually be born.

Now the Pro-Choicers like to say that they want Abortion to be a rare occurrence, but at the same time they remain silent when butchers like Kermit Gosnell and the many other abortion mils show just what is actually happening in many of these clinics. They completely gloss over how these organizations were founded as a method of Genocide against minority groups. They don't want to stand up against the way these abortion mills have made select few billions of dollars at the expense of broken lives and dreams. And yet when someone on the Pro-Life side of the debate does get violent and kills someone... the entire movement comes together to decry this as going against the vary basis of what the movement has been about since it's founding.

And to have this history of actions is completely ignored or derided kind of shows where this setting is all about. Creating a political strawmen to tilt at while making the author feel superior to all those whom they despise for no good reason. And for that reason, I won't be making anymore purchases of anything associated with this product or it's creators. It's their right to write this, produce this and market this. My broken body, along with the honored dead I have had the honor of serving beside defending those freedoms of the creators of this product to do what they wish with their lives and their careers. But i still retain the right to decide that I will not purchase their products in the future. And I will continue to exercise this right by ensuring that I will not be having anything to associate with them.

And I will remain willing to die so that others may express themselves in this manner... but I will not be a patron of their products.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Otherverse America Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space Monsters, Volume Three!
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/21/2013 11:17:23
Claiming inspiration from low-budget 1970s space epics, it's not just stock-art that has been used to illustrate - indeed spawn - each and every monster. Some ideas and concepts are clearly there... take for example the adorable little Breeder Poof, a tiny fluffy beast that reproduces like crazy, or at least exponentially, at the drop of a hat. The notes do not mention if they like triticale seeds, but any follower of the original Star Trek will recognise the inspiration for these little menaces!

There is a whole collection of other critters here, all with copious notes on appearance and behaviour along with stats and a picture, plus a section headed 'Role-Playing' that covers not just the creature in question but their role in society as well. Excellent material to help you embed your space monsters into the universe rather than just use them as a monster-of-the-week to provide a spot of combat exercise for the characters.

There are constructs and ancient dinosaur-like creatures, even humanoids, all ready to stride across worlds and do battle... or even be cute and cuddly. It's good to see the 'monster' concept firmly embedded into space gaming, it's not just a fantasy thing!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Monsters, Volume Three!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Nemesis Bestiary Volume One
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/09/2013 12:29:52
This is 'yet another monster collection' with a few outstanding and unusual features that makes it noteworthy over and above the general usefulness to any GM of having even more monsters to hand...

Conceptually, it's interesting because each beastie has been created in response to a piece of art rather than a load of monsters being dreamed up and then artists commissioned to provide the illustrations. It's an approach which resonates, I once invented a monster when looking at a patch of light on the side of the bath... and it was such a good monster that a whole 3-part adventure grew up around it!

Even better is the way in which they are presented. Along with that inspirational illustration and a standard stat block, the descriptive material - background, behaviour, ecology, etc. - is written up in the style of a 'field report' - not only does this work remarkably well as an in character resource giving verisimiltude to each monster, it suggests the existence in your world of people who go around collecting and describing just like real-world naturalists do. Many suggest adventure ideas even as you read through them. Or perhaps you'll be inspired to play a naturalist character, it's a good role for rangers and certain types of mage for a start, or perhaps a cleric of a nature deity.

The creatures themselves are fascinating, ranging from quite vile (the Arm-Taker) to something that's beautiful (the Diamond Owl) or just plain strange (nearly all of them!). Many will work well in games where barriers between planes or dimensions are weak, you can just imagine them having come from somewhere that is a twisted parody of your own world, having slipped through a crack and possibly being as baffled by this reality as your characters are by them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nemesis Bestiary Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Modern Spellcaster Basic Class
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/07/2013 11:18:37
This book is for the d20 Modern Game, Pathfinder and a few other d20 based games. It presents a generic form of a spellcaster that isn't a wizard, cleric, witch or druid. In a sense it is a throwback to the older "Magic User" class. The basic premise here is to provide full powered (up to spell level 9) spellcasters from D&D like games to your Modern Games. I am not sure how this works out in play, but the concept on it's own is interesting enough. There are new feats and a fun "arcane death" table. Frankly I would like to see that expanded into an "Arcane CSI" to be used in any modern game with magical elements.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Modern Spellcaster Basic Class
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Niishima Inn
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/04/2013 08:55:29
This is a delightfully atmospheric little piece, set in the Tatakama World but with a portal to a shabby backstreet in modern Tokyo. The people and places are well-described and come to life well, a real feeling of an alternate reality that's out there somewhere.

The setting is a township, Niishima, and much of the main street and surroundings are described as well as the Niishima Inn itself. There's a lot going on, many stories being told and waiting to be told. Several key NPCs are given full stat block treatment, and there are four pre-generated characters (all native to the Tatakama world) that you can use. Other useful things include a Samurai template.

Now, whilst there is a lot going on, a lot to explore and discover here, there is no real 'adventure' as one might define it. Perhaps - especially if using the pre-generated characters - the aim is to find the portal. Or you may choose to turn things on their head and have modern characters find (or fall through!) the portal from modern Tokyo and attempt to survive in this strange world in which they find themselves. The Inn has a couple of haunts which may provide a challenge to those interested in finding out why they are there and how they can be laid to rest.

It's also worth a look if you are running or considering a 'fantasy Japan' setting using Dungeons & Dragons 3.X or the Pathfinder RPG.

Illustrations are beautiful, evocative, traditional Japanese in the main, it's a feast for the eyes as well as a good read!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Niishima Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Nobility and Eros: The Noble Succubus
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/19/2013 09:53:58
Love is a disease.

At least that is how the succubi might feel if you use this supplement in your OGL games. The Noble Succubus (not 100% sold on that name, but it does work and I can't come up with anything better) is a succubus that has become infected. She is no longer a demon, but a creature with a soul that feels. In a sense a "good" (if chaotic) succubus. The role-playing options here abound.
There is plenty of background information that can be used and plenty of hooks into various game worlds including modern, sci-fi and the standard fantasy.
The real meat though is in the crunch on what the differences between the Noble and Demonic Succubi and how to use Noble Succubi as characters.

Myself I would make them much rarer, and still have it be a process that maybe one in 100 Billion succubi could go through. I also think it would be interesting to have a Noble Succubus and for whatever reason choose to remain evil. That would be an adversary worth having.

11 pages with cover and OGL page (13 total). At 2 bucks that's a good deal.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nobility and Eros: The Noble Succubus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D20 Decade: The 1980s
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/18/2013 11:43:45
It is difficult not to compare this to Damnation Decade or Solid! in terms of capturing the feel of a decade.
For starters this is for the d20 Modern RPG, which I am not even sure is still being supported by anyone. That all being said, there is a lot of great stuff in this book. There are some pages spent on modifying the d20M skills, in particular how Computers worked then. That and the new Perform (Break Dance) and Perform (Free Style Rap). No Perform (Gymkata!) though. Of particular use to any 80s-based game is the list of common items we take for granted today that just wasn't there then. Easy stuff like Smartphones, but other not so obvious things like Caller ID. Sure there were cellphones, but they were huge and the batter life was only a couple hours. Chapter 1 covers the 80s. At 20% of the book content is really worth the price of the book. It is a great overview of 80s tech, culture and pop psychology. Its not a history book, but it shouldn't be either. Even at 30+ pages somethings are going to be missing; but this is the 80s writ large, not Master's Thesis.
Chapter 2 covers the "Imaginary 80s", an 80s that never was. Among the new races there is also a list of other games you can look into to help you out. With the OGL they could have simply included what they wanted from many of those games, but I thought it was kind of neat to include them. Speaking of the new races, they are really new. Some are twists on familiar concepts, but others are new and all fit the 80s to a tee. My favorite might be the Arcadians (Video game fey) or the Spetsnazski, the Russian Super Soldiers. Cause the only thing more fun than Nazi Weird Science is Russian Weird Science. The Crow Folk and High Solstice Sidhe could work just as well in a Pathfinder game. There are also about 16 new occupations for your 80s character. There are also, surprisingly, 144 new feats! Going past those for a bit there are also 5 new Advanced classes. If you were wondering when the Miami Vice influences would appear then take heart with the Blue Equalizer, which let you play any sort of 80s "Super Cop". Perfect foil for the Drug Lord Advanced Class. These are followed by a few new spells.
The last part, Confetti, has a few bits for the GM for adding 80s flavor to their game. These are also useful for any 80s game.
There is fairly good list of resources both non-fiction and fiction, and a good list of movies, TV shows and graphic novels.
Final the OGL where everything is released as Open Gaming Content. Very nice.
Ok, so this is a really cool idea and a lot of work went into these 164 pages.
Otherverse Games did a great job with this, but I am not without some quibbles.

I am not going to mention anything missing from the 80s. Trying to squeeze an entire decade into a game book is hard and something is going to get left out. If it's not there and you remember it add it on your own. Though missing *something* about a Valley Girl seems a bit like a huge omission to me.
The art is all over the place. Most is fair, but none of it is great.
The layout has a number of issues. The background on the pages is not great. In most cases it is only just there, in others the "page number block" obscures some text. It's the 80s, where are the pastels?
I have mixed feelings about even mentioning it since I have seen newer products of theirs and they look great. This one is an early effort.

Going back to my totally unfair comparison to Damnation Decade, I think it would be interesting to see this updated to something like True 20 (which is at the time of this writing just as dead as d20 Modern) with better layout.

Despite all that I can't help but really like this product. At 6 bucks it is a great buy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D20 Decade: The 1980s
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Autorun -Generic Cyber-Hacking for D20 Modern
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/09/2013 05:12:03
Being a computer geek in real life, when playing contemporary/future games I often gravitate towards the 'hacker' character... when I can persuade the GM to accept one, that is! Now I did have one tolerant GM in a Spycraft game who actually spent time creating a system for my character to hack into - just the once, then he found out that my hacking was superior to my character's!

But here is a delightful abstraction that means you do not have to know beans about cyber-intrusion and yet have as much fun with it as our fantasy wizards can have chucking spells around, and face your own style of peril whilst the gunners-and-runners of the party are busy shooting their way into trouble in the meat part of your shared alternate reality.

It's a simple turn-based 'skirmish' on a hex board (supplied for you to print out) pitting Hackers against Programs. Mechanically, its based on your Computer Use skill plus the resources in terms of hardware and software that you are bringing to bear on the challenge defined by the nature of the system that you are hacking into, but instead of a mere die roll to decide the outcome, you game it out move by move as the attacked system attempts to keep you out.

You can describe it any way you like from full-blown Virtual Reality encounters to keyboard tapping realistic intrusions, the real joy is that the hacker gets to be actually doing something just as a combat is not determined by a single roll but involves combatants making choices about how they are going to brawl...

This is a real delight, well worth adding to your contemporary or cyberpunk/near future games. It wouldn't take much work to modify it to run alongside a different ruleset than D20, either, if that is what you need.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Autorun -Generic Cyber-Hacking for D20 Modern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dept. 7 Adv. Class Update: Perfect Archer
by Lord W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2013 08:06:15
Very awesome addition, but for the life of me I can not locate the Skill Points that the Perfect Archer gets at each level.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dept. 7 Adv. Class Update: Perfect Archer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Free20: Details of the Future
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2012 22:21:04
Cons: The description overstates the amount of actually convertible material here. Most of the ideas and tables in here are too heavily dependent on the Otherverse America fluff to be easily adapted to other settings. A couple of the topics and items stray into "you did not just go there" territory (such as the "accidentally shot your best friend" traumatic past option) or are handled in an almost insultingly trivial manner (such as the entire Serial Killer/Sexual Predator section.) Overall, about half the material is too political to make much sense outside of an Otherverse America game.

Pros: It's free. There are about a dozen entries in the Street Vendor section who can be easily divorced from their political allegiance and dropped into a Shadowrun or Cyberpunk game without too much effort. And about half of the tattoo ideas are apolitical enough that they would make sense in a cyberpunk verse that isn't as politically-focused as Otherverse. Did I mention it's free?

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Free20: Details of the Future
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Otherverse America Campaign Setting
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2012 21:50:40
It feels bad rating something free so lowly but honestly... I guess I should start from the beginning.

Otherverse America is a near-future cyberpunk campaign setting designed by Skortched Urf' Studios. It's the near-future and the Abortion Wars have finally ended yet neither the pro-life Lifers nor the pro-choice Choicers are ready to give up just yet. Honestly this summery should have set off alarm bells in my head. In my experience politics and entertainment are like cough syrup and ice cream, most of us can't live without them yet mixed together they form an awful mess that no one with any brains would want to eat. So naturally I was a little apprehensive, but for the price of free I'd take the risk of Otherverse America turning out to be a Pen and Paper soapbox for one side or the other.

Unfortunately, the free PDF is such a disorganized mess I can't even begin to tell you what I'm supposed to be reading let alone whether or not it manages to be entertaining or apolitical. First of all, the PDF lacks a table of contents. For a small PDF up to ten or twenty pages, that could be forgiven. But for 256 pages? I'm not familiar with composing PDFs but is a table of contents really much to ask for in a document that big? Unfortunately it only gets worse...

Someone at Skortched Urf', in their infinite wisdom, decided to toss the traditional format of separating fluff and mechanics into neat orderly chapters in favor of literally mixing the two elements together. The end result is something that reads like a history textbook, gameplay mechanics serve as breaks between pages of lore explaining the fictional series of events leading up to 2091 AD when the game takes place... There's obviously a game in here but it's buried under such a mess of largely irrelevant text I'd be pressed to tell you if it was any good or not.

Bottom Line: While you shouldn't expect much for free, you should definitely expect more then what you get here. Simply put, this is a train wreck.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Otherverse America Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psi-Watch: Zero Issue!
by Angelo C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2012 18:05:29
This is a pretty good supplement for anyone trying an Iron Age supers campaign regardless of setting.

The high points of this book are the Codename Generator and the new armor pieces for female characters, they are hilarious. I'd almost like to see the Codename Generator released on its own.

A good point of the book is that it really makes you want to play in the Psi-Watch setting which the Psi-Watch campaign books didn't really. The art is nicely done although those that have a dislike of Poser may find it a turn off as that makes up the large majority of the artwork. The campaign modifiers are also an interesting concept but they're kind of a mixed bag; some are really interesting, like Combat Simulation Opening which lets your players declare their terrible defeat was really a training hologram and others just don't come off well like Alpha Males, which lets male characters add their STR mod when making interaction checks against women if they're being sexist about it, which I don't think anyone would be okay with at their table.

Perhaps a problem with the book is that there is a lot of added material (talents, feats, classes, occupations, templates etc.) which, depending on the gm and players, can make things difficult. It also frequently references a number of other products in the Otherverse line (mostly the Fursona and Synthetic Heroes products) which if you are trying to be budget conscious can be a bit annoying.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Psi-Watch: Zero Issue!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 172 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG