RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mythic Rome
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2016 06:14:32

Excellent, well-researched product! And unlike Mythic Britain, it focuses more on the Rome part, and less on the Mythic - though the mythic is clearly present, too. It just gives enough info that you could feel the athmosphere of the times. Great job, Design Mechanism!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Rome
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Luther Arkwright: Roleplaying Across the Parallels
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2016 10:34:43

This item was a supplement and expansion for the RuneQuest 6 and RuneQuest Essentials rules. For those you can now read Mythras and Mythras Imperative but you will need one or the other set to run a Luther Arkwright game. I haven’t played RuneQuest 6 itself but have been running games for my RPG group for some time using the Legend rules, and am now in the process of switching over to Mythras. All these rules are closely connected and if you enjoy one ruleset you will like the others. To my mind they represent some of the best rules out there, balancing ease of understanding with a wide ranging ability to cover most any situation gamers and game masters can come up with. Luther Arkwright continues with and builds upon that excellent tradition. I was ignorant of Luther Arkwright before reading these rules and bought them because, when I queried with the good people at the Design Mechanism that while Mythras Imperative contains some basics for a sci-fi game, the main Mythras rules don’t build on this as they are solidly in the sword and sorcery tradition, they suggested Luther Arkwright as one way of using the Mythras rules for a sci-fi RPG.

With Luther Arkwright you have on the one hand the main premise of that game setting itself, your player characters travel between parallel dimensions as Valhalla agents, all alternative versions of our Earth, battling the evil Disruptors, who seek to destroy the multiverse. The rules set out in a clear manner how to create such characters and how to create the various alternative versions of 1980s earth, with an excellent summary of the two Bryan Talbot graphic novels in which Luther appears. The alternate worlds may vary from primitive, through modern to futuristic, with a strong bias towards steampunk. This means that players can enjoy a variety of very different settings within a single campaign. As has been already noted by others this is a version of Dr Who without any of the worries about time paradoxes. But the real beauty of this supplement is that because it is a toolbox for creating many different worlds you could use it without the Luther Arkwright campaign setting itself at all. Use this supplement to develop a Mythras steampunk, contemporary or sci-fi campaign of your own. Almost any type of world is conceivable if you are willing to put the work into it. Currently I’m using the supplement to design a spacefaring campaign for my group but I may be tempted to try a Valhalla Project campaign in the future. Overall this supplement is excellent, extending the RuneQuest/Legend/Mythras rules into a wide range of new campaign settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Luther Arkwright: Roleplaying Across the Parallels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ships & Shield Walls
by Kaden S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2016 12:37:15

Once again DM has done it. They somehow peeped into my tastes and pulled out exactly what I wanted despite me not knowing the form of my dream. The ships section is fantastic, and useful for the Mythras rules, adding another layer to the gameplay. The Battlefield rules are, to me, the pinnacle of what can be done with an immersive battle between factions in your worlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ships & Shield Walls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythras Imperative
by Kyle B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 12:41:08

Mythras Imperative is a short, yet complete, compilation of the ruleset for Mythras (RuneQuest 6). While I have yet to play a session with it, the PDF appears fairly complete with rules for character creation, character advancement, skill checks/challenges, combat, equipment, and NPC enemies. Obviously a lot is missing, but that's the point of a sample document. It is an ambitious attempt to create a general rule set that can be played across a variety of settings, giving GMs and players the details necessary for fantasy/medieval, modern, and post modern settings. I enjoyed the crunch of the system that also allowed for a great deal of player fiat and flexibility. For example, the "classes" are simply general tropes that players and GMs can call whatever they'd like (i.e. your physician can be a doctor, herbalist, medicine man, etc. depending upon your setting or desired character backgrounds, yet all have the same skills).

The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that there were one or two missing tables that were referenced within the document. For example, the weapons section mentions a Force rating for certain weapons (no, not Star Wars style force), and yet the Force Table that is referenced is no where to be found. Also, while magic is mentioned, there is no specific section outlining some of how magic works. Obviously I'm not looking for an indepth section as this is a teaser document, but simply a few paragraphs giving guidance as to how many magic points certain spells may cost, their damage amounts, etc. Yes, there is the challenge of creating a broad system for GMs to make up any setting they want, but a small amount of guidance could go a long way here.

Over all, great document and good introduction to the Mythras system and d100 roleplaying in general.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythras Imperative
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Classic Fantasy - TDM500
by Steve P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2016 12:05:33

At first glance this work would seem to be just another addition to the growing number of games that seek to recapture the magic of the first wave of Table top RPGs while fixing the frustrating inconsistencies and rules that just didn’t feel right. The author is very clear about this in his blurb, and true to his word there is plenty to ring the bells of fond memory for those whose memories go back that far. However, there is more to this book than just another re-write of early D&D. This is a keenly honed, well-crafted, thoroughly considered work whose individual parts are as worthy of attention as the collected whole. The inspiration for this work is clearly D&D, in all of its iterations from the very start to second edition. It is not a slavish re-write, instead it cherry picks flavourful ideas and throws them liberally into the mix. Cavaliers and thief acrobats make their return from the obscurity of 1st Edition AD&D supplements, while Bards and specialist Magic Users (note Magic Users, not wizards) come from the more familiar 2nd Edition and Baldur’s Gate. Classic monsters and spells are also included, sometimes but not always renamed. Most of the old races and classes are there, ready for pre-loved characters from decades ago to breathe new life and seek out new glory. While the outward appearance is that of vintage D&D, this is a supplement for Mythras/RQ6. All the mechanics of play are drawn from the host rules except for a few tweaks and clarifications. And it works well. Mythras does what it does best; combat that is not too far removed from real experience, skills that are open to everyone to learn and master, internally consistent mechanics that can both universal in approach but specific in detail. Classic Fantasy provides the familiar simple to identify heroic architypes and tropes that let you have a bit of not to serious honest fun. There are also some useful ideas that can be cribbed for any 1d100/ BRP games. There are spot rules that can be lifted to replace or extend existing rules. There are rules for miniatures and/or playing on a square grid. There are new monsters, which are always welcome, and supporting wandering monster tables. There is a chapter on loot and magic items which is also welcome. There is a settings chapter with an interesting take on how to approach deities in a pantheon. It is fair to say that these are not the complete set of rules, the GM should really have a copy of Mythras/RQ6. Also the are places where it does feel a bit thin, for example more spells would be handy but it’s a very fair price for what you get. There is promise of another supplement and there is plenty there to get you going and give you enough of an idea of how you may go about adapting and incorporating anything you feel is badly missing. If it has piqued your interest enough to have read this far then it is certainly worth a look.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Fantasy - TDM500
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythras Imperative
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2016 14:30:02

This is an excellent introduction to Mythras, the Game Formerly Known as Runequest 6th Edition. But it’s more than just an introduction or quickstart, it’s a complete and playable game in its own right. It is streamlined compared to the full game, and lacks the many of its subsystems (magic, organizations, spirits, and most of the creature rules, for example), but it contains all the rules you need to play.

If you want to know what the core game is like, read the reviews for Runequest 6. In brief, it’s a very elegant game that fades into the background, encourages dramatic roleplaying, while also having the best combat ruleset of any RPG in my opinion. It was developed by a practitioner of medieval european martial arts, and you can tell. While playing you feel the crunch of every blow and the desperation of fighting against the odds, while also allowing for quick turnabout and moments of glory amid the gore. It has tremendous tactical depth, but because it’s throughly concrete and details what is physically happening, rather than abstracting it into numbers, it turns every combat encounter into an in-character roleplaying scene in its own right.

It’s a great game, and I highly recommend you check it out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythras Imperative
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythras Imperative
by James G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2016 12:13:42

Mythras Imperative is the new "RuneQuest 6 Essentials" this time a significantly abridged version of the full Mythras rules, which as of writing has not yet been published. Although Imperative is only 32 pages I noticed that with the new approach to layout the word count seems to have roughly doubled(!) on a typical page, it looks great. (Edit: it's actually about 1/3 more dense)

The implied setting for Mythras Imperative is wider than an ancient setting and includes things like firearms and high tech armour. Character creation takes up about half the book and is pretty close to the previous RuneQuest Essentials but this time abridged and condensed. Passions have been moved up into character creation and look like more like part of the core rules. The rules here do not cover the magic systems and the creature listing is much reduced, making me think of what kind of an adventure you could run ..."A Bear, a Lizardman and a Xenomorph walk into a bar...they had a lovely night out". The creature listing is clearly there to just give an idea of how different creatures work.

The overall impression is that Imperative has been designed as a taster that will get you started but is not going to give you enough to run more than a one shot or a a short run of adventures. It reminds me a little of the original introduction to 'basic roleplaying' booklet included with RuneQuest 2 although that was not much more than basic character generation, how skills work and the combat system. Imperative is a compressed but impressive sampler for the new Mythras system. It would be possible to use Imperative solely with TDM's Classic Fantasy which effectively replaces a lot of the Mythras core rules with its' own variant. If you want the full character gen and skills, the 5 magic systems, creatures, equipment, cults & brotherhoods you will have to get the full Mythras rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest 6th Edition
by Robert A. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 12:39:41

Great material to search details for game in. Amazing mechanic and overall ideal for both those who plan to make their own world and look only for mechanics or those who want to have world base as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest 6th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Classic Fantasy - TDM500
by Brian P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2016 10:20:46

I'm definitely an old-school gamer from the late 70s early 80s, and a nostalgic one at that. While I moved on from D&D a long time ago to explore different game systems, RuneQuest has always held a special place in my heart. Now called Mythras, this system is flexible yet crunchy, and allows for a wide variety of player and GM inventiveness and imagination.

Classic Fantasy satiates my nostalgia for the old days of fighting orcs and kobolds, whether in a dungeon or a town invasion, but updates it to the modern Mythras system. I've already pulled out some items for my current game, and will probably run a full Classic Fantasy game in the near future. This is a solid book, chock-full of goodies, and if you're not a D&D player, it makes access to that world very easy for you.

Another solid supplement from The Design Mechanism and highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Fantasy - TDM500
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Classic Fantasy Preview
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 12:31:10

This looks to be an exciting entry into the RuneQuest 6/Mythras supplement pool. It is a preview, but shows a lot of potential for old school gaming using the modern ruleset. I'll definitely be getting the full version when it comes out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Fantasy Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Classic Fantasy Preview
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2016 17:16:18

This preview gives pages from the coming book. No two pages together, so while you get the idea of the game - D&D played with the Runquest rules - it isn't enough to let you try them out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Britain
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 13:06:57

I loved Hawk of May by Gillian Bradshaw when I was a teenager. Her books brought Arthurian Britiain to life, and so does this. This is an excellent supplement using a brilliant set of rules. If you want something beautifully crafted and great to play get this and the RQ6 rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Britain
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RuneQuest 6th Edition
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 13:01:35

Runequest Vikings was one of my all time favourites growing up, I still have,my original set! Rq6 nails it. The rules are excellent. The combat is deadly and very realistic (believe me I know, I teach medieval combat). I ran a Viking session as an intended one off to test the new rules...I have now run 5 sessions on the trot at the request of the players, and am writing every evening. This is good stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest 6th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Britain
by Jeremy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2015 16:20:23

For the most part a really solid sourcebook for 5th-6th century Britain, though its treatment of Christianity is an eye roller that reads like it was written by an aging hippie Wiccan, and presents the least historical verisimilitude of any subject in the book (you can't make pretenses of being the "historical" Arthur RPG and then repeatedly describe first-millennium Christianity as "fundamentalist"—fundamentalism being a reaction to modernism, and completely anachronistic in the setting). I'll definitely be pulling tons of good stuff from it!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Britain
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RuneQuest Essentials
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2015 22:50:50

I bought the hardback full book and picked this up later for my players to put on their tablets during play (since it's PWYW). There's only one possible rating for RQ6 and that's at the very top. While the huge book is a kitchen sink full of stuff, much of it is the world building and non-essential things to getting in and playing, this has just what you need. In terms of a free product to get you playing, Essentials is an excellent start and you could probably play RQ for years without needing the main book and looking at the bestiary, a lot of the old Glorantha stuff as well.

System-wise there are lots of things I like, and two things I really like about RQ6. First is the detailed and fast combat which gives players the opportunity to make very interesting choices while still resolving quickly. There's a lot to it, but essentially you roll the dice and see what happens and (except for magic) there's not a ton of stuff on people's sheets to distract them from the story. Note that the combat has been described as 'deadly' but what that means is it can resolve quickly with someone defeated. The way the system works is that not all (or even any) fights need to end in death or dismemberment depending on your style of game. The second thing is that, except for the magic systems, the rest of the game is quite simple to run and adjudicate all sorts of different checks and tasks and all that other stuff. Character creation can take a bit longer than your OSR games or Numenera, but probably on par with 5E or 13th Age in terms of time spent creating characters.

The two magic systems, Folk Magic and Theism, are ones you will use the most as players. If there was one omission for me here as a GM it would be Sorcery because that's what the bad guys use!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest Essentials
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 54 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG