RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Starlight Manifesto
by Neil L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2018 15:04:00

If you've never played a RPG, then this isn't for you. If you have, this might be useful for inspriration, but you'll have to do a lot of work to make a game happen. THere are some really nice ideas in here, particularly the game's approach to your skills and skills rolls. The usual "DM of -2 if standing on one leg" tables you find in other RPGs are not here. The focus of the game is on the characters and their interactions with their world. You'll find some ideas for cultures to play. The whole tone is very much in line with Star Trek's Federation's ethics. Whether playing morally good characters is your cup of tea, or whether you'd prefer to play characters more like The Klingons, is up to you and your group. (note, this is not a Star Trek game).

The game does not have any artwork. This makes it cheaper and it takes less space, the author says. I've bought some RPG games where I thought the quality of the artwork was so bad, it ought to have been left out as it made the product worse. However, good artwork can inspire both the players and referees (called The Guide in Starlight Manifesto). The artwork in Traveller helped give their universe a look and feel that was very distinctive. Showing someone a picture of a TIE Fighter or Traveller's TYpe S Scout Courier will inspire them, we are visual creatures.

Artwork can break up pages of text and make it look more inviting to read. I've bought several games because I liked the artwork and wanted to be inspired. I'll happily pay more to help support a decent artist if their artwork contributes a look and feel to a game. Preview Coriolis, Excellium, Polaris or Numenera for good examples of games you'd buy for their artwork. This game feels like they just didn't want to pay an artist.

Starlight Manifesto doesn't have any lists of guns, statistics for vehicles or spaceships, no detailed descriptions of the worlds, nothing about alien animals and plants or any space maps to show the setting. I got really sick of reading "What the (named species) looks like is entirely up to you.....It's more fun to make up something original, so your game isn't the same as someone else's". I personally don't care if my game is the same as someone 4000 miles away, because I'll never know!

I felt that the person writing it had copied and pasted the same text in a lot of places rather than do any creative work. The whole thing has so much repetition in it, you just skim past whole paragraphs. On the other hand, you do get a detailed description of arm-of-service shoulder board colours, complete with medieval heraldic names that add absolutely nothing of value to the game. If the rest was done to this standard, it would have been better, but as it is, it looks odd having a detailed description of something that doesn't matter. I also got sick of reading "Because Starlight Manifesto is space opera..." time and time again.

Personally, I like tables of options as they give you a basis to build your world (or your grav tank or spaceship) . I like star maps, because I don't have to think about what the next world looks like when the players decide to do something I hadn't planned for. A good game designer inspires you to use the game as a basis for your own universe. My version of Traveller is nothing like the original designers intended. Unless you really do like world building, this game doesn't help. If you do like world building, this game doesn't help, as you'll need another game to help you develop worlds to explore.

The text I bought has several typos. There's a huge amount of unecessary repetition that tells you to make it up yourself. Why they ddin't just put that text in once and told you it applies to everything is beyond me. It looks like padding to reach a word count. There's even a recommended play list of music to listen to at the back, but no introductory adventure to get you started.

The author should have got someone to proof read the text and critique the writing style before publishing. Some advice on text layout would also help. This looks like it was typeset in Office 95. On the other hand, it was cheap so good value.

I really can't recommend this as anything more than a cheap source of ideas to use in another game.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Starlight Manifesto
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Story Design [BUNDLE]
by Maria M. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2018 18:47:27

I LOVE the story design bundle...I found it so helpful! It breaks down the different types of stories in a clear manner which really opened my eyes and insipred me. A few typos here and there but nothing that made it a problem, so I wouldn't let that deter you from buying it. I really appreciate the hard work that must have gone into putting this together. Thank you Dancing Lights Press for making this available, I feel I learned a lot!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Story Design [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Story Structure
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2018 02:44:52

This is a useful book, much more the less you know about literary story structure. Although spelling and grammar problems are annoying, they still let you read the book. However, there are some particularities I think should have been addressed differently. Just in case, I published a more in-deph review here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Story Structure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Building Characters
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2018 12:16:40

Although the misspelled words are annoying, the advices and almost hand-guiding instructions on character design are useful. Other works' advices usually feel too vague when trying to put them in practice, and that is where these ones will come handy. I wrote a longer review here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Building Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fighter Theory
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 22:16:06

Before beginning, I should share that that I have quite a bit of familiarity with this author's past work (especially when it comes to revitalizing and redefining what it means to be "a fighter"). I have always considered this author to be something of an authority when it comes to exploring this concept and wanted to see what they would produce in a system-agnostic format.

This PDF is an extended essay on a common fantasy archetype that appears (in some form) in a wide array of compaign settings and rpgs: that of the common (or not so common) man-at-arms. After providing a (surprisingly flexible) definition of what it means to be "a fighter", the author explores two dozen common narrative threads that fighters occupy in both stories and campaign worlds, whether as protagonist, antagonist (or evil Player Character), or as NPCs. This material can be useful for players and DMs alike (especially when players need reminding that mechanically similar entities can be role-played in highly divergent ways) and the author pays attention to the way that fighters fit into the process of building campaigns. While much of the PDF may seem to assume the existence of a "typical" fantasy setting, The author spends time exploring how a "fighter" might fit into campaigns and rpgs with various genres, tones, and types of campaigns.

All of these nods to other settings and genres, however, reveal the one notable flaw I can see with the PDF. While this PDF claims to be system-agnostic, it still carries the fingerprints of games like D&D and Pathfinder. Without the knowledge that "the fighter" class coexists with "the monk", "the ranger", and "the rogue", for example, a reader may wonder why the book does not spare much thought on martial artists, bounty hunters, or assassins being fighters. Likewise, games that stray too far from the traditional fantasy world (such as Paranoia or Call of Cthulhu) may get a little bit less from this work.

On the whole, however, I enjoyed this work. It may be a bit of a niche product (espeically for its price) but if the underdog story of a common everyman with a weapon facing impossible odds holds a special allure for you, this may be up your alley.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fighter Theory
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Revelations in Cold Iron
by Bradley N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2017 14:40:01

This system strikes me as being very similar to Designer X's Violence system; it seems more manifesto than actual game. It's a 200 page meandering diatribe that reads like a thinly veiled ANTIFA recruitment pamphlet and I have no idea how serious it is.

Is it playable? Yeah, the actual mechanics are dead simple and could probably be explained on the back of a napkin. Effectively, you bet a dice showing how much you want to succeed and then roll d20 plus any bonuses you have to the action you are undertaking. Higher than 10 on the d20 is a success and equal or lower is a failure. How "big" you can win or lose depends on the die chosen for effort. Like most "Storytelling" games it feels utterly toothless mechanically, just one level above sitting around a table and telling a story, occasionally flipping a coin to see if something works. This style of game has never been my cup of tea - I've always believed that stories in role playing should evolve organically in response to a ruleset rather than a ruleset existing for the sole purpose of occasionally resolving conflicts in a story - but even among storytelling games this ruleset is pretty uninspired. Fiasco this is not.

However, the largest point of contention I have here is the actual "Story" behind this storytelling game. Like most storytelling games the majority of the book is taken up by the author telling you the kind of story they want you to tell. They give you examples of antagonists, of the setting, of the sort of things you should be doing, the standard setups. There's a big emphasis put on the difference between objective and Subjective reality, with the core concept being that you can use "magic" to manipulate subjective reality. The spell list is a list of logical fallacies. Its a somewhat interesting idea I suppose, framing the ability of logical fallacies to manipulate the way a person sees the world as magic. It goes on to say that a cult of plutocratic politicians are using this magic to create a subjective reality of their choosing. They stop short of saying "Fake News" but I think you can get the gist.

The problem is that the game seems to have a heavy political leaning and I'm not sure how much of it is intentionally done from a semi-satirical standing and how much is honest. Its Poe's Law. Because there are mentions here and there that hint at a deeper understanding, such as the fact that the Cold Iron's attempts to restore reality to its objective form inherently involve the creation of subjective realities focused around their own pet causes. Does the author understand that both sides are prone to use of this "Dark Magik" that is logical fallacy? Is all the raving about the privileged rich, the valiant struggles of the creative, and the mind washed sheep done with a degree of self awareness or not?

If it is satire, its not very interesting satire. It has that core interesting idea but I don't feel like it does anything fun with it. You get that "Oh,I get it" moment of what they're doing and that's really it. If its really as unaware as it seems sometimes, then I feel kind of like I bought some sort of misguided manifesto masquerading as a RPG game. And I don't want to finance this guy and his eventual car bomb.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Revelations in Cold Iron
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
"Does the author understand that both sides are prone to use of this \"Dark Magik\" that is logical fallacy? " Yup. "And I don't want to finance this guy and his eventual car bomb." Good call. ;)
Building Characters
by Esteban M. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2017 03:38:44

First of all, I see how this book can help some people. It's certainly not useless. However, this book, like Story Setting by the same publisher, has many typos, feels a bit laundrylisty, and tries to fill in more pages when things could be described in a more concise way (eg. the Low/Below Baseline/Baseline/Above Baseline/High descriptions is used way too much and takes way too much space, and in most cases it doesn't feel useful to me). My personal highlight is the Types and Roles chapter. It's very good and it's a good reference and inspiration source to write characters. The chapters Aptitudes, Experiences, and Resources feel like fillers and I think they could have been a couple of pages each, instead of ~10 pages each.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Building Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Story Structure
by Esteban M. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2017 03:16:07

First of all, I think this book can be useful for a number of people, especially if they are starting absolutely from scratch and they have never tried to write short stories or story-driven RPG scenarios. That said. It really feels a bit like a laundry list, and that some of the advice doesn't come so much from experience but from reading other books. Also, there are many typos which make it irritating to read. Finally, The Three-Tiered Series part (most of the book) feels like riffing on the first part, The Three-Act Structure. In short: not bad, but I expected much more.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Story Structure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starlight Manifesto Season 1 Campaign Book
by Alex G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2017 03:53:22

The first sourcebook for Starlight Manifesto, this book imagines a TV show, Starlight Manifesto. and offers an entire first season of 13 episodes, taking inspiration from a certain venerable US show with a cult following.

Reading this, I sensed that I was binge watching a show on Netflix which I could only describe as "What if Star Trek had been created by Berin Kinsman, Verity Lambert and J Michael Straczynski?" The adventures dance around some familiar landmarks of old Trek territory - one could see elements of one episode and think "I know where this one's going," only to be blindsided when the story suddenly veers off into something else. Imagine binge watching Trek on Netflix and getting as far as "Mudd's Women," with elements of "The Perfect Mate," and while you're at the front door getting the pizza delivery someone switches the episode to "Balance of Terror," and you'll get the general idea of what happens in this sourcebook (Note: actual gameplay differs from advertised footage).

The 13 adventures are designed as interlinked, although with a bit of tweaking they could be made more episodic, and episodes could be devised by the guide and inserted between these episodes, but it can be played with just these thirteen. The interconnectedness of these episodes, however, gives "Starlight Manifesto Season One" a modern feel, closer to Star Trek: Discovery than to the original series.

The titles of the episodes are inspired by Milton ("As Morning Shows The Day"), Shakespeare ("Naked Villainy," "What We May Be") and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle ("The Schemer Falls"). Each title hints at what the episode will be about. The episodes bring in new and recurring good guys and bad guys, feature new equipment, aliens, hazards and strangeness. There is a sense of introductions - just as Star Trek had to introduce the regulars and the signature aliens such as the Romulans and the Klingons for the first time, and just as it had to introduce Vulcan mind melds, the neck pinch, the Vulcan salute and "Live long and prosper" over several episodes, so too does this sourcebook feature episodes introducing some of the signatures of Starlight Manifesto for the first time such as the Zyrosh, the Brocour, the Fringe Worlds, the Tel'Keth and so on.

In the original Star Trek, all the best episodes were in the first and second seasons, with one or two gems emerging from the mire that was season 3, and ignoring "The Omega Glory," "The Empath" and that one with the space hippies. Please let's not have an episode in a future season where the player characters are required to play a bicycle wheel as a musical instrument.

I'm hoping that future series will appear, exploring other episodes from this much-loved series from a universe where Gene Roddenberry had landed a role writing Mission: Impossible and Bruce Geller ended up as showrunner for a Star Trek where Martin Landau played Spock, and Harlan Ellison wrote "The Naked Time."

And now I feel like I just binge watched an entire Netflix season of the show. Bring on Season 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starlight Manifesto Season 1 Campaign Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Roleplaying Emotion
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 12:57:14

'Roleplaying Emotion helps you to understand the character’s emotions within the context of the story goal, their personal goals, and their motivations. When this are going well, the character will express things like affection, contentment, happiness, hope, and respect. When things go poorly, they’ll express anger, disgust, fear, sadness, and shame.'

Having read the above blurb I expected a mechanic that took in game events and helped determine the character's emotional responce however there are no rules for this at all. It's a little tough to unravel and it took a while to realised all it is is a series of extra tracked stats that define the characters emotional state but no rules for what modifies the stat values.

The descriptions of emotions, their consequences, and how characters enact them are ok and the choice of stats seem to be broad enough to work.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Roleplaying Emotion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Story Design 2 [BUNDLE]
by Jeff J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2017 10:58:03

Warning, to enjoy this product you have to be willing to put up with spelling and grammar mistakes.

(Example: in Story Design- Decline and Fall; "The" instead of "They" near the top of page 10.)

That said, I am enjoying reading these PDFs. Every one that I read sparks ideas for possible stories. It makes for an interesting look at what is required for each type of story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Story Design 2 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Story Design [BUNDLE]
by Jeff J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2017 10:48:44

Warning, to enjoy this product you have to be willing to put up with grammar mistakes.

(Things like the word one instead of won in the Story Design-Duel book)

That said, I am enjoying reading these PDFs. Every one that I read sparks ideas for possible stories. It makes for an interesting look at what is required for each type of story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Story Design [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Play Hard: Action Movie Roleplaying
by Alex G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2017 18:20:36

A tribute game based on action movies.

Think of action heroes - Bruce Willis crawling through air ducts, Arnie chewing the scenery and putting people down with one liners, Sly Stallone fighting off the entire Soviet Army armed with nothing but a machete and a couple of trick arrows, Clint Eastwood sneering at a corrupt police force, Charles Bronson's silent vigilante bringing dirtbags to justice.

This is where you get to play the heroes of those kinds of movies.

What's your story? Are you a police detective chasing down bent cops a la Serpico? Are you a government Marshall protecting witnesses by "erasing" them with elaborate theatrical trickery? You can be a Special Forces soldier, part of a unit chasing invisible aliens in a steaming jungle, or a First Officer aboard a commercial ship plagued by a chestbursting xenomorph.

The game mechanics, a simplified version of the Lighthouse roleplaying system, are so simple and easy to learn that you'll all but master them in the first session, allowing you to enjoy the game without the rules getting in your way.

Whether you want your action movie to be grim and gritty, or light-hearted and packed with one-liners, this game is for you. Just remember - these aren't the kinds of stories where the problems can be solved by just talking. You're only here to do one thing, and also chew gum ... and they're all outta gum.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Play Hard: Action Movie Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lighthouse Roleplaying System™
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2017 22:42:04

I picked up Lighthouse because I have found that my tastes in roleplaying game systems have drifted more towards the simple and narrative, rather than the complex and rules-laden. Everything I read about Lighthouse told me it would be along the same conceptual lines as other games with those qualities I already liked, so I went for it.

I like a lot what Kinsman has done in Lighthouse, a lot. This is a narrative-focused system that highlights descriptive devices, using dice mechanics sparingly and meaningfully to drive the story forward with an eye towards drama.

In Lighthouse, characters are built using descriptions with varying levels of importance/complexity--Big, Medium, and Small Things--each with its own numeric bonus. Rather than get bogged down in extensive skill lists and abilities, what a character can do is derived organically from each Thing description in conversation between the player and the Guide (Game Master).

The resolution mechanic is simple, using a d20 + modifiers to achieve either a low (1-10) or high (11-20), odd or even result. You then put forth a die bid, a die which determines how much you're investing into that particular roll, ranging from d4 (barely invested) to d12 (you're all in). A low result is a failure, high is a success, odd means Guide narrates, even means rolling player narrates, with the bid die determining the level of success/failure.

Threats to the characters are handled using narrative devices called Consequences, which are tied to the bid die. Characters have five slots of increasing degree of seriousness with which to absorb "damage" received during conflicts, from d4 (a very light consequence) to d12 (a potentially-permanent consequence). Consequences are dictated by the narrative, and are meant to evoke drama, not bad luck with the dice, so that no one bites the dust unless everyone playing agrees it is the proper, dramatic consequence.

The Lighthouse book includes a number of character examples drawn from easily-identifiable pop-culture stories, showcasing the versatility of the system, while the example of play helps the reader see how the pieces all fit together when in use. To this add that the book is only $3.00, and you have an easy-to-use, new-player friendly, storytelling-driven, affordable game that can power pretty much any story you and your friends want to play through at the table.

Dancing Lights Press has already published a couple of games powered by Lighthouse, and I can't wait to see how the system moves for each of those settings, as well as in what ways it can be hacked at home.

If you like Fate Accelerated Edition, or value dramatic storytelling over task simulation in your roleplaying games, pick up Lighthouse and give it a spin. Personally, I can't wait to do so.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lighthouse Roleplaying System™
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Premise: Fantasy - 100 Plot Ideas
by Arto S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2017 07:50:04

This is really useful as the plots are written generic enough for both protagonist and antagonist point of view. Too many plot books are way too specific on races, locations and artifacts etc almost sounding like mini adventure-modules. It rhymes with my own approach on story design: http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/218412/Structured-Free-Association-Story-Plot-Method-20?src=dancing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Premise: Fantasy - 100 Plot Ideas
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 104 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG