RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Giants
Giants
$3.95









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Heroes Forever Handbook (d12 edition)
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2013 18:31:54
Is it too much expectation to hope people use at least a spell checker ?

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Forever Handbook (d12 edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Europe 1483
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/29/2011 16:33:59
A Medieval European simulation board game.
I bought to use in conjunction with RPGs from the same era and it looks like a fun game in it's own right.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Europe 1483
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Chess (Greek vs Egyptian)
by R J C S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2010 03:27:09
I’d already bought a few games released by this publisher (the various "1483”, for example), and thought that, while undoubtedly amateurish in certain aspects, they were creative and entertaining. Some of them were even fairly accurate, historically.

So I was fairly optimistic regarding “Mythic Chess”. With such an interesting concept, how could one miss?

My opinion of this publisher has dramatically changed after purchasing this game.

Not only is it characteristically amateurish, it is poorly designed, inadequately explained, grossly unbalanced, unnecessarily complicated, and irritatingly pretentious. The author should really stay away from words that “reflex” a poor grasp of the language. (By the way, the author would also do well to learn how to run a simple spell-check, if nothing else: it would hardly improve the quality of the writing, but it just might eliminate the “diagnal/diagnally”, “seperate”, “unlinted” and other inanities that plague what text there is.)

It’s unfortunate, really. The concept, while not new (we’ve all seen a dozen or more different takes on traditional chess, including circular, cylindrical, spherical and cubic boards; pieces with new movements and abilities; added levels; etc.), certainly deserved better treatment than what it is afforded here.

Movement descriptions are deficient at best, and confusing at worst. The same goes for attacks (exactly how can Theseus destroy up to 3 units?), which are also disproportionate (a hero can destroy 3 units, but the very God of War can only destroy 2?).

I would like to see someone else take a hand at a more intelligent design, pitting the Mexica pantheon against its Incan counterpart, for example. But from this publisher? No thanks.

What I liked? The concept per se.

What I disliked? Everything else.

Would I recommend this? Let’s just leave it at “No”.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Chess (Greek vs Egyptian)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pantheons: War of the Mythos Board Game
by Martin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2010 07:47:45
The rules are badly written (e.g. 'I could find very little on the Mongol Pantheon being that they were shaman not
much of their religion has been pasted down that I could find.') and could do with a good proof read (e.g. The god Ares is spelt as the star sign Aries).

Even worse, the rules for combat are incomplete and therefore the game is unplayable. I am guessing that you roll a D10 less than or equal to a unit's attack value, and defend by rolling a D10 less than or equal to their defense value. This does not, however, explain if there are any limits of which units attack which.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Pantheons: War of the Mythos Board Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Button Wars: Quo-Ti Clans
by james w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2009 02:47:51
I have only gotten to bring this one out a few times with the group but it is one of our favorites if we feel like doin an all nighter. We have designed a huge campaign and run battles off and on when we bring this one out. Well worth the money. Printing this one out with all the small buttons is a bit of a chore though. I wish I would have gotten the actually metal buttons. Game play is a good intermediate level and we were able to hit the ground running after about an hour of probing. Alot to offer with this one if this is you genre. ...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Button Wars: Quo-Ti Clans
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Button Wars: Tactical Spaceship Combat Game
by james w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2009 02:46:49
I have only gotten to bring this one out a few times with the group but it is one of our favorites if we feel like doin an all nighter. We have designed a huge campaign and run battles off and on when we bring this one out.

Well worth the money. Printing this one out with all the small buttons is a bit of a chore though. I wish I would have gotten the actually metal buttons.

Game play is a good intermediate level and we were able to hit the ground running after
about an hour of probing.

Alot to offer with this one if this is you genre.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Button Wars: Tactical Spaceship Combat Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crack Wh-r- : Solitaire Adventure Dice Game
by William H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2008 07:24:19
Ok, it's a really sleazy theme. It is well done, but also potentially, neé, probably offensive. It's rather low on player input, too. All in all, it's about worth what it costs as a little bit of diversion.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Crack Wh-r- : Solitaire Adventure Dice Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

3rd Ed. Grunt Fantasy Battles: Cards Set #1
by Jens H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2007 00:00:00
A nice addon. I really recommend this set for any Grunt-enthusiast. It spices up the game a lot and the cards contain a lot of events to make some rounds or even the complete game a lot more funny.




LIKED: Everything

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
3rd Ed. Grunt Fantasy Battles: Cards Set #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dice Armies
by Les W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2007 00:00:00
Fun game! I've played this with friends and with my kids. Fun had by all.


LIKED: Easy to learn... loved the concept behind tracking the damage for each unit!

DISLIKED: Reading through the rules it was hard to follow... BUT it all makes sense as you play an actual game. So this isn't a "don't like" as much as it is a warning to those who get this one. Play through it as you read the instructions... then you'll 'get it!'

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dice Armies
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crack Wh-r- : Solitaire Adventure Dice Game
by Scott G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2007 00:00:00
Interesting take on a mini-game. Certainly not a game you'll play more than a few times, but something to do while your buddies keep you waiting somewhere.


LIKED: It's a one-note dirty joke,a nd the publishers knew it. The game doesn't take itself seriously, and that's cool.

DISLIKED: Typo in one of the "character" cards - corrected on their web site.
The guys doing this seem to have given up a couple years back - too bad.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Crack Wh-r- : Solitaire Adventure Dice Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crack Wh-r- : Solitaire Adventure Dice Game
by Alex T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2007 00:00:00
Not enough solitaire games out there. I found this one to be different and enjoyable. Fun stuff if you have an open mind.


LIKED: Different.

DISLIKED: A bit vulgar.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spanish Civil War board game
by Ian L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2007 00:00:00
Excellent game. Good rules, graphics and map. The game help brings to life everything I have read about the conflict.


LIKED: Ease of use, quick to download.

DISLIKED: N/A

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spanish Civil War board game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Realms: Nebula Adventures #1
by Jeno S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2007 00:00:00
In Nebula Adventures #1 the mission is to rescue a daughter of a family who was on a liner that found an ancient battleship, lost in a nebula for 2,000 years. The adventure, which takes place in the nebula, on landing bays, swarmed with lost ships, is suitable for novice players and rich in encounters, battles. It combines sci-fi with fantasy, horror, elements of Earth s past: characters face among others vampires, mummies, dinosaurs, goblins, defy death in ships of unheard-of shape.

The layout of the ebook is strange in a strange way. Of the 45 pages, about 30 are in fact lists with brief descriptions of creatures, ships and objects. Pages 2-7 and 10-20 for instance represent this odd layout. Moreover, the ebook doesnt contain maps, it includes rather unnecessary images of jewels and dice, but no map of the landing bay or the interior of the ships! On p. 22 we read <<See the map for this bay in the map section>> but there is no map section?Was it lost in the nebula? I hope the sequel Nebula Adventures #2 is better designed, more coherent.



LIKED: Ebook with a lot of images, adventure rich in action, encounters.

DISLIKED: No maps. The actions of the PCs are restricted
to exploring ships, defeating enemies and looting. The landing bay gives the impression of a deadly entertainment park, in which the PCs wander here and there.



QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Realms: Nebula Adventures #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

3rd Ed. Grunt Fantasy Battles: Cards Set #1
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2007 00:00:00
If you play Grunt, this is way neat stuff. Lots more options for building up and customizing your forces to your style of play. [NOTE: This has been fixed.] The layout sucks, but there's a way to fix it yourself (see below) if you know how.




LIKED: Loads of new stuff to build and control my force. Lots of this stuff is way neato! Really rapid response to minor quality control issue [Thanks, guys.]

DISLIKED: Nearly every flaw I found was rapidly fixed and I need to apologize to GoB for taking so long to update this review. Much, MUCH better than original release.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
3rd Ed. Grunt Fantasy Battles: Cards Set #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Charles, Sorry about that. That was not intentional. Seems we had an incorrect setting in our distiller that turned put our 8.5" x 11" layouts onto 11 x 17 pages. We just corrected that and uploaded the proper version. Ryan GOB
Dark Realms RPG 5 Book Bundle
by Jeno S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2006 00:00:00
Dark Realms is a d12 role-playing system in which the outcomes of all actions, be they actions of combat or magic or of any other nature, are resolved on a single table, called the results table. The bundle of this system is a very good purchase given the price and of course the 5 ebooks it contains. Despite Dark Realms being a generic system, its core book provides rules only for fantasy gaming and so is designed for fantasy campaigns. Add to this oddness the queer fact that, to my knowledge, Barony of Chaos excepted, all the other supplements are sci-fi! Their titles speak for themselves: Space Pirates, Technology, Space Knights, Nebula Adventures (not included in the bundle). The first three (especially Space Pirates) make up for the lack of sci-fi section in the core book, but where is the manual for gaming in the modern world? If the core book is truly one of a generic system, then it comes across as defective to those who have bought only this book.

If you are tired of games involving complicated rules like Rolemaster and seek a much simpler system, Dark Realms RPG was made for you. The simplicity of its rules turns out to be the system s major asset, because the fantasy section, despite exhibiting a couple of special aspects, isnt innovative, but the sci-fi setting will reward those who want to indulge in something more or less different.



LIKED: A nice simple system of rules. Original enough sci-fi setting involving unique character races, the Christian God and intergalactic (sic) wars!

DISLIKED: Ordinary fantasy creatures (gnomes, giants etc.). Ebooks without chapters, bookmarks, description of a fantasy land but with some confusing parts.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Realms RPG 5 Book Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG