RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Valley of the Misery Machine - Dystopia Rising
by Val M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2017 17:30:12

A very useful addition to the Dystopia Rising world. The only real negative is that the book appears to have skipped a good final proof-reading before publication. The book is also missing a section but based on page numbering, it was likely cut from the book but its references never removed. A general map or two would have been helpful as well as those tend to give placement for an overall layout and scale of distances.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Valley of the Misery Machine - Dystopia Rising
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Valley of the Misery Machine - Dystopia Rising
by Ian A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2017 05:50:17

10/10, wish there was a little more on Retrogrades but it did cover exactly what I thought. Rock Salt was not at all what I thought it was but I loved it much more then I though I was going to. Also, Crop tending is really animal handling of the gravemind XD



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Diaries of the Rum Coast - Dystopia Rising
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2017 19:23:28

This one I've got in both paper and digital versions, and like the other area-specific sourcebooks, it suffers from a general lack of mechanical content, and heavy re-use of text and images from the larp. The primary market here appears to be getting cash for bits of additional IC information for the larp, as I've been unable to get anyone to actually play the tabletop version, and others seem to have similar luck, even online. Honestly, there's a lot of product out there that covers the whole "undead apocalypse" genre much better. These have about six pages of rules per $20 book, and that's a bit much by my standards.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Diaries of the Rum Coast - Dystopia Rising
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dystopia Rising LARP Survivors Guide 2.0
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2017 18:56:56

There's a large number of errors in the product, including basic typos. It badly needs a good proofreading, and some editing wouldn't hurt. The ruleset is unfortunately not actually accurate for the larp, with some sections, such as farming, working entirely differently than as described here, so the rulebook actually leads you wrong, and a few bits of the rulebook actually contradict themselves(such as being required both to, post theft, both hold a players item for hours, and also to turn it in immediately at ops). However you feel about the larp system as a whole, the rulebook is badly in need of a round of updates at present.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dystopia Rising LARP Survivors Guide 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Echoes of Celluloid Dreams - Dystopia Rising
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2017 18:48:02

Art is generally simply reused from the core book, and the book contains almost no rules for actual play. Very little space is given to interesting concepts such as Arcadians(about a paragraph), and instead, it's mostly a rehash of things already available elsewhere. Ultimately, this book offers very little new content to enhance play, and end of the day, you're getting six advantages/disadvantages in total, six monster entries for...pretty mundane creatures, and a single table of alchohol names. That's pretty meager for $15-20.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Echoes of Celluloid Dreams - Dystopia Rising
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dystopia Rising LARP Survivors Guide 2.0
by Alexis G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2016 01:12:10

Just got Edition 2.01, and its kind of full of print erros. The first letter of every Profession and almost every chapter is missing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dystopia Rising LARP Survivors Guide 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dystopia Rising Tabletop Corebook
by Fox W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2016 02:33:43

Check out our review here!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fddKBwB7If8



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dystopia Rising Tabletop Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CHRONOS: ExArcana Skein Book
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 19:04:11

product came in good quality, I am happy with it. Was clearly scanned. I had not technical problems wit it. I look forward to using it in the future. Thanks. Mike



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CHRONOS: ExArcana Skein Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CHRONOS: ExArcana Skein Book
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2015 05:17:58

I really enjoyed the Ex Arcana Corebook. The secret history of the world it presents has a lot of good ideas a DM can mine for adventures and factions are different enough from those in other games to provide a good alternative.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CHRONOS: Universal LARP System Storyteller Guide
by Barry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2014 09:00:02

The cards and hard cover don't seem to be available yet, but after reading the PDF of the game system this book filled in all the blanks I had for how to run a Chronos game. The information was more instructional than I expected (used to just graphs and hard numbers) and while as an experienced ST many of the sections didn't tell me anything I didn't already know, I wish I had these instructions back when I started STing a decade ago. Sliding XP scales and creation scales for different styles of game is alone worth the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CHRONOS: Universal LARP System Storyteller Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CHRONOS: Universal LARP System Core Rulesbook
by Bryan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2014 11:57:54

The writing and art style of this game coupled with the refreshing and fast paced take on theatrical LARP made this an excellent purchase. Very excited to see all the new Skiens and continue playing with my friends.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CHRONOS: Universal LARP System Core Rulesbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CHRONOS: Universal LARP System Core Deck
by Bryan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2014 11:55:59

The writing and art style of this game coupled with the refreshing and fast paced take on theatrical LARP made this an excellent purchase. Very excited to see all the new Skiens and continue playing with my friends.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CHRONOS: Universal LARP System Core Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CHRONOS: Universal LARP System Core Deck
by Helder D. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2014 06:19:40

Awesome art! It truly delivers it's intended purpose!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CHRONOS: Universal LARP System Core Rulesbook
by Barry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2014 16:06:54

System is super easy, and, looking it over the depth of what can be done is elegant. I felt like I was reading GURPs for LARP. Looking at the Chronos FB group I saw that this is just one of two books for the system, with the second focusing on the ST side of things. I'm looking forward to seeing what materials are provided for organizing and running games. I used to play MET and remember how horrible the old combat system was. This looks so much faster and easier for conflict resolution. I ran a quick sit down game in a more table top style using the cards, and found it worked great for that.

Only downfall: This is a system, not a game itself. Don't expect to pick this up and be given the a world to run. You need to add the genre and game world to the mechanics for play. This is cool, because we ran a Cthulhu game using the cards, but it needs to be treated like a tool instead of a game world. I didn;t buy 'Cthulhu the LARP' with this, I bought the system and was able to run Cthulhu on it. But, as an ST, it was super easy for me to run a game and super fast. I was able to put together player decks (we used 2 decks for 4 players and probably could have done it with 1) and was playing within half an hour.

All in all, baller product. If is supported with additional stuff, like game worlds or even just like power packs or the like, I will definitely pick those up too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CHRONOS: Universal LARP System Core Rulesbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CHRONOS: Universal LARP System Core Rulesbook
by L P N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2014 13:40:49

The customization options are almost endless. You can make any type of character you can think of and this system allows you to play it. A very easy to pick up and learn system that will help people who have a hard time going through rule books understand quickly and play. I look forward to running Chronos based games in the near future!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG