RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Exalted: Tales From the Age of Sorrows
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2016 11:54:20

I am VERY excited that these fiction anthologies are being made for all the game lines, so I am going to rate this one or two stars higher than I ordinarily would for stories and writing of this caliber. I want more things like this to be done.

That being said, I sometimes feel like these authors just don't really 'get' the source material. Why are so many characters flinging around terms like, "He's a Dawn Caste Solar Exalted!"? That kind of thing is jarring, and it happens all the time here. 'Chosen of the Unconquered Sun' or 'Anathema' or something like that works a lot better. When I see "Dawn Caste Solar Exalted" it produces the same reaction in me as it would if R.A Salvatore were to introduce Drizzt by saying, "There he stood, a level 16 dark elf ranger". It's clunky, and game-term-y, and really shouldn't be used like that.

In the future, I would like to see more stories that are essentially the novelization of a short adventure that a real group of players might go on. I think that would probably be the most helpful thing for 'selling' the setting and its potential to people who haven't played it. And, as a Storyteller and player, that would probably be the most enjoyable kind of thing to read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted: Tales From the Age of Sorrows
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 2)
by Jürgen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:10:43

Although Charm Cards are a very good idea, the way these Charm Cards are done is kind of a missed opportunity. Currently I´m judging with having the pdf only, it may be not as drastic in the PoD version.

The cards are simply the Charms copied onto cards in a small font. If the Charm is especially lengthy this text is abbreviated and followed by the sentence "See the full text of this Charm on page ...". Also the depicted Cards with the Ability name on it are at least not part of the pdf. There you have only a full page sized cover with "Charm Cards Set One". Additionally every last page of an ability has blank card spaces, so that a new ability does start at the top of a page. Don´t know how that gets sorted out in the PoD deck, but I imagine a lot of cutting scrap. Also I´d advise against printing them yourself, because the design is going right to the edge, so you´d have to be very precise in your cutting in order to have good looking cards. Please note also that these cards do not encompass charms from Miracles of the Solar Exalted and not the Martial Arts Charms from the Corebook. They are in no way marked as Solar charms, so I guess if they would go the route of charm cards for other exalted they would need to distinguish them with a totally different design (at least I hope they would not simply dare to let just the page reference be the way to distinguish charm cards).

I´m disappointed with these cards, because the creators obvioulsy didn´t care to think through how to use them at the table. I would have preferred a design where I could use them as rule cheat sheets that help me quickly resolve the mechanics of a charm during play. On these cards I would not need the prerequisites of the charm (because they are in the book), I would need bigger font and a summary of the charm mechanics without a lot of fluff. I can visualize myself scanning through the text in order to get the mechnics the same way I would´ve to do it in the book. Also the card design would have allowed for a design where once per scene charms could´ve been tapped and the untap condition would be denoted. The card backs could have had the ability name on them.

I guess in order to get a real support at the table I´ll have to use the free form fillable Charm Card template and insert the charm summary myself.

For everyone, who wants instead of flipping through the book sort through a pile of cards and then take as long in reading the card as reading the book, I guess these cards are fine.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 2)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 3)
by Jürgen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:10:28

Although Charm Cards are a very good idea, the way these Charm Cards are done is kind of a missed opportunity. Currently I´m judging with having the pdf only, it may be not as drastic in the PoD version.

The cards are simply the Charms copied onto cards in a small font. If the Charm is especially lengthy this text is abbreviated and followed by the sentence "See the full text of this Charm on page ...". Also the depicted Cards with the Ability name on it are at least not part of the pdf. There you have only a full page sized cover with "Charm Cards Set One". Additionally every last page of an ability has blank card spaces, so that a new ability does start at the top of a page. Don´t know how that gets sorted out in the PoD deck, but I imagine a lot of cutting scrap. Also I´d advise against printing them yourself, because the design is going right to the edge, so you´d have to be very precise in your cutting in order to have good looking cards. Please note also that these cards do not encompass charms from Miracles of the Solar Exalted and not the Martial Arts Charms from the Corebook. They are in no way marked as Solar charms, so I guess if they would go the route of charm cards for other exalted they would need to distinguish them with a totally different design (at least I hope they would not simply dare to let just the page reference be the way to distinguish charm cards).

I´m disappointed with these cards, because the creators obvioulsy didn´t care to think through how to use them at the table. I would have preferred a design where I could use them as rule cheat sheets that help me quickly resolve the mechanics of a charm during play. On these cards I would not need the prerequisites of the charm (because they are in the book), I would need bigger font and a summary of the charm mechanics without a lot of fluff. I can visualize myself scanning through the text in order to get the mechnics the same way I would´ve to do it in the book. Also the card design would have allowed for a design where once per scene charms could´ve been tapped and the untap condition would be denoted. The card backs could have had the ability name on them.

I guess in order to get a real support at the table I´ll have to use the free form fillable Charm Card template and insert the charm summary myself.

For everyone, who wants instead of flipping through the book sort through a pile of cards and then take as long in reading the card as reading the book, I guess these cards are fine.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 3)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 1)
by Jürgen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:09:59

Although Charm Cards are a very good idea, the way these Charm Cards are done is kind of a missed opportunity. Currently I´m judging with having the pdf only, it may be not as drastic in the PoD version.

The cards are simply the Charms copied onto cards in a small font. If the Charm is especially lengthy this text is abbreviated and followed by the sentence "See the full text of this Charm on page ...". Also the depicted Cards with the Ability name on it are at least not part of the pdf. There you have only a full page sized cover with "Charm Cards Set One". Additionally every last page of an ability has blank card spaces, so that a new ability does start at the top of a page. Don´t know how that gets sorted out in the PoD deck, but I imagine a lot of cutting scrap. Also I´d advise against printing them yourself, because the design is going right to the edge, so you´d have to be very precise in your cutting in order to have good looking cards. Please note also that these cards do not encompass charms from Miracles of the Solar Exalted and not the Martial Arts Charms from the Corebook. They are in no way marked as Solar charms, so I guess if they would go the route of charm cards for other exalted they would need to distinguish them with a totally different design (at least I hope they would not simply dare to let just the page reference be the way to distinguish charm cards).

I´m disappointed with these cards, because the creators obvioulsy didn´t care to think through how to use them at the table. I would have preferred a design where I could use them as rule cheat sheets that help me quickly resolve the mechanics of a charm during play. On these cards I would not need the prerequisites of the charm (because they are in the book), I would need bigger font and a summary of the charm mechanics without a lot of fluff. I can visualize myself scanning through the text in order to get the mechnics the same way I would´ve to do it in the book. Also the card design would have allowed for a design where once per scene charms could´ve been tapped and the untap condition would be denoted. The card backs could have had the ability name on them.

I guess in order to get a real support at the table I´ll have to use the free form fillable Charm Card template and insert the charm summary myself.

For everyone, who wants instead of flipping through the book sort through a pile of cards and then take as long in reading the card as reading the book, I guess these cards are fine.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 1)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chronicles of Darkness
by Evan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2016 16:50:56

Very fun, streamlined system. Includes God Machine optional rules and lore.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Promethean the Created 2nd Edition
by Joseph I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2016 11:53:28

Very good book! I really liked 1st Edition of Promethean, definitely my favorite WoD line in terms of themes and potential for conflicts. Some people thought it was unplayable or at least hard to play with multiple people. I used to do great having 1-2 prometheans in a game with some werewolves or mages. Once this book came out, I got together 6 of my friends to start a campaign for, and it's been really good. There's more solid rules for what your pilgrimage is and while I'm a little iffy on them, they made it easier to explain to those who hadn't read the book.

The increased importance of the refinements and roles definitely gives the game a different feel. One of my players does feel that the roles are kind of constraining from a role playing standpoint, but once we talked about it all ooc, we found that the more constricting roles actually give great potential for personal conflicts in the game. Promethean 2nd edition is definitely the game to pick up if you're interested in personal development.

I feel it's important to note: everyone in my gaming group is in their early 20s. I'm a cis male, but multiple of my friends in the game are trans, one is genderqueer, and no one is straight. Honestly, we had been losing faith in White Wolf/OPP in terms of catering to our demographic, but the inclusion of the gender neutral pronouns in this book really made us feel like people gave a shit, which is good. Sure, we prefer the Ze/Zer pronouns to the Sie/Zir ones used in the book, but hey, it's something? We liked it. People complaining about the 4 or so pages the pronouns appear on really kind of rile me up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Promethean the Created 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Dominik W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2016 05:25:16

I really like the concept, background ans general ideas of this book. That said, I think the rules a way to complicated and cumbersome, to have a cineastic fight or action scene. Less would have been more rulewise. More information on the background would be helpful and by the way, for a 600+ pages rulebook I think it might have been possible to include the more common exalted like the dragon born.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2016 07:31:55

The quality of the layout (I have the pdf, so I can't comment on the physical product) and the cogency of the updated rules themselves is very high. This is a great product, and a fantastic game. It suffers from the same crippling problem as most other White Wolf/Onyx Path products, though: it is unnecessarily vulgar.

I get it that this is the World of Darkness, and that things aren't sunshine and rainbows. This is gritty, beotches! But to make the game book try to reflect that by peppering in f-bombs and stories of homosexual relationships just ends up being suicidal to the commercial viablility of products like this, and (most tragically) keeps it from being readily passed on to new generations.

I just took my two oldest daughters (12 and 10) to see Dr. Strange. They loved it! They also love roleplaying games like Pathfinder. I would love to get them into a game like Mage, but I sure as (insert unnecessary cussword here) can't hand them the book! If I want them to play, I will have to just try to explain all the rules. That severely limits this game's (and all of the others') relevancy to future generations. No wonder Pathfinder is eating your lunch.

As edgy and dark as you think you want to be, there's really nothing in the contents of the backstory to the World of Darkness or in the flavor and rules of any of the Paths or Orders that would be considered inherently 'adult'. You can do necromancy in Skyrim, Scooby Doo has similar levels of violence and fear. The only things keeping this book out of a larger number of hands are a liberal use of profane words and a subtle homosexual undertone in the narrative that runs throughout the book before each chapter.

If some group wants to tell a depraved story about a necrophiliac Moros that kills and putrefies his victims just so he can copulate with their juicy rotten corpses, then they can do that whether or not the core rulebook has f-words all through it. Their stories are not silenced by a more broadly palatable book. There's just no reason to have profane language, deviant sexual behavior, and cartoon nudity in books like these (Mage may not have any cartoon nudity, but plenty other White Wolf books do).

You may think me prudish and ignorant or some such, but that's just not the case. From a business standpoint, you are hobbling your ability to reach a broader audience, and that just doesn't make good business sense. And from the perspective of an uber RPG fan, this kind of thing may mean that we won't have new versions of these awesome games in the future, and I hate that eventuality. I lament what's happened to the White Wolf brand already - the extreme marginalization of the greatest tabletop RPGs in the world. What if the only thing holding it all back are a few f-words and pencil-sketched tits?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Demon: The Descent
by Zachary G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2016 02:00:08

I will make this short but simple. This is not a game about demons. Probably one of the only ways to make a game about demons and marketed as such uninteresting to play by the type of people that would want to play demons, is to make them short circuiting robots. The entire use of the "God-Machine" as a concept is a cop out.

One star may seem hars, as the rules are there and the game is playable. However, it's bland and not anything one would assume from the title. They call these demons, but they are far from demons and lack the background and trappings there of.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Demon: The Descent
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
by Domain C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2016 20:41:28

I have just received my own physical of Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition and I must say this book feels like a masterpiece. The layout of the Table of Contents is a beautiful addition that allows anyone to easily source what they are looking for without hunting through the glossary, the colour even in the Standard edition pops out and demands to be looked at. The hard cover itself is appealing to the eye and my copy seems to have arrived in perfect condition

Honestly if anyone had enjoyed playing Mage the Awakening 1e they will certainly LOVE picking up a copy of Mage the Awakening 2e and will never put it down thereafter



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blood Sorcery: Sacraments & Blasphemies
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2016 10:39:20

Great system to create your own rituals and other freeform magic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sorcery: Sacraments & Blasphemies
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2016 00:40:48

updates and brings the classic dark ages game into a new generation. with better rule structures and more options at your finger tips.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

V20 The Black Hand: A Guide to the Tal’Mahe’Ra
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2016 00:37:53

opens up many options for a vampire campaign from both a players point and a storyteller standpoint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 The Black Hand: A Guide to the Tal’Mahe’Ra
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Beast: The Primordial
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2016 09:01:26

The darkest of the CoD gamelines, Beasts are best played as unapologetic bastards.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beast: The Primordial
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2016 00:56:31

I was extremely disappointed in the binding and quality of this book. It feels like it might fall apart at any second, and I just opened it. I bought the Premium Heavyweight and the paper is pretty low quality, and I've bought new textbooks at the same price with better paper. The paper honestly feels like I printed it out of my printer on standard 8x11 paper, and threw it in a cheap hardback cover with terrible binding. :(



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 700 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG