RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Tales of the Dark Eras
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 14:28:43

Pretty good work. Some of the tales were a bit difficult to follow if you didnt already know what the subject matter was supposed to be, but overall i would recommend this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Dark Eras
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
by Chris L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2016 21:10:02

I read Apocalypse and Forsaken 1E, but didn't play either. This game, though, deserved to come down off the shelf and stay off, dammit.


In Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition, you play the ultimate predator. You don't have a sacred mission as in Apocalypse--not really. You're just a killer with a sense of community. That sense of community is omnipresent in both the core book and the first supplement, The Pack, and it comes up organically when roleplaying, which is nice.


Although I didn't have a lot of Werewolf experience, some of my players have, and they've noted with no small amount of pleasure a few differences here. In particular, they've hailed the changes to the Oath of the Moon over previous werewolf codes of honor. The meaning of respect your prey and the low honor the high; the high respect the low can be interpreted in enough ways to effectively be tailored to every group. For example, our ithaeur (shaman, effectively) is a smart-assed Brit that threatens spirits with inconveniences or worse; some groups might call that disrespecting prey, but we think it's fun.


My personal favorite part of the setting is the sheer variety of spiritual resonances. You don't just deal with the spirits of animals, or of objects, or even of emotions. Spirits of cybersecurity usher bit-motes on luminal pilgrimages. Spirits of HIV crowd out and suffocate spirits of excitement at a South African cultural celebration. A spirit of the local college's biology department, bloated with funding, trades essence with spirits of scientific observation to taste their secrets. The spirits of a company's shares swarm over the corporate spirit itself, commanding it in a terrible cacophony. And these ideas are just from the first few sessions!


If you're new to Werewolf, buy this. According to my players, if you're 20-year Werewolf veterans, you should buy it too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chronicles of Darkness
by Chris L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2016 20:53:22

A much-needed update to the previous iteration of the World of Darkness. This review is targeted at people with some knowledge of nWoD 1E.


Highlights:
-Much better experience system that rewards participation and roleplay, while also simplifying trait purchase costs.
-Social Maneuvering system that, while not perfect, provides a mechanical framework to schmoozing. GMing this aspect for social characters always felt a little like pulling stuff out of your ass before, but no longer!
-New combat mechanics make firearms much better, which makes sense, while simultaneously widening the gap between humans and the supernatural templates.
-The chapter on "Horrors" provides a great framework for creating antagonists that don't fit into one of the other supernatural settings. This is completely underappreciated, IMO, because it's a perfectly streamlined system that could be integrated into any Chronicles game, human PCs or otherwise.


Biggest complaint:
The Clue systems make for lazy roleplay and GMing. It's always better to let the players decide what's a relevant clue, and then to direct their investigation as they see fit. "You look in the cabinet and find X," is less compelling than describing the cabinets, letting the players decide to look in them (or in the other room that you didn't expect them to investigate!) and then describing what they found "through their own intuition." I dunno, there's probably a way to use the Clue system without ruining scenes, but I can't figure it out. And that makes it a bad, or at least poorly communicated, system.


Net opinion:
The new experience system alone would make the new ruleset worth using. Adding in Social Maneuvering and the Horrors chapter are just delicious icing on the cake.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Pasi L. 7. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2016 18:47:16

So far the only issues with this book that I have spotted thus far, are fourfold. First and formost are the combat mechanics, I find that there is truthfully no reason for there to be both withering and decisive attacks, that just makes things more confusing than they need to be, and players will often forget to mention they'll be using one or the other, in my opinion it needs to go, easy enough to house rule I suppose, it just means that the combat charms will have to be taken from the earlier additions. Don't get me wrong it's an interesting thought, but having played dissidia, I feel like that game has influenced the combat of the 3rd edition way too much.


Secondly is the crafting, crafting has become the second most complicated thing to play with aside from the combat mechanics, these "white, gold, silver, etc" points are well fluff if nothing else. They need not exist, and in my opinion are way too complicated for players to get around, as they will, if they wish to play a crafter, have to keep tabs one every single point they gain... on a seperate page, this is one of perhaps the biggest mistakes the writers for the combat and crafting system have made, which means in order to make it playable, as a ST you're going to have to rewrite or transfer over the charms from 2nd edition just for combat and crafting purposes. From my understanding, this was something that was supposed to be avoided.


Onto the third issue... languages, this does not need to be a merit, I know it's a small blip in the system, but in the previous 2 editions the number of languages you knew, depended on how many points you put into language ability, so if you had one dot, you knew 2 languages, and by 5 you knew 6 with ways of learning more as it was a stat that was allowed to be increased beyond 5 just so that you could know more if not all the languages, so once again pointless when it comes to it being a "merit" now, as it would be frankly... a waste.


And finally the Martial Arts merit... why? Why is this a thing? Why does Martial arts need to have it's own merit in order to use a martial art style? Most of the time that came from the mentor ability with what you could learn, but no, now you have to extensively pay merit points just to play a martial artist, this is dumb, but once again house rules I suppose, which I recall were supposed to allow for less of them.


As for the good, I love the social mechanics of this, it is absolutely brilliant, as Social combat was a silly thing in the previous two itterations of Exalted, so the fact that they changed it to what they did makes me happy, which brings me to my final point, no more combo charms! huzzah! Oh this was one of the most aggrivating things players had to go through, and pay xp in order to combine the right amount of charms just so they could get something going, but no more! Poof it's gone, and this thrills me to no ends.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Festival of Blades: A Cavaliers of Mars Jumpstart
by umberto p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2016 15:22:30

I'm a sucker for Mars settings and this one looks very evocative. Interesting ruleset too and nice, clean layout. Hope to see the final game soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Festival of Blades: A Cavaliers of Mars Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2016 14:01:03

I feel kind of bad,for giving this book a bad review and i do not want to sound like ranting,but i also want to be honest about what bothered me with this product.First of all,the rules are nice and do some necessary revision (Vampire have lowlight vision and sharper senses on default,Disciplines are now useful on lower Level,humanity loss does not make you insane but gives you vampiric banes ......and much more good stuff).
So why do I not like it?Because of the Style and the quality of the Fiction.
The Fiction in this book is just dull and uninspired.Compare it with (for example) the excellent Clanbooks or requiem for rome.Those books where dark and interesting with lots of immersive Background.Sure....it is kind of unfair to compare splatbooks to Corerules,but even the WoD2 corebook,was superior in this department.
The other thing which bothers me,is the constant switching between He/she when reffering to the player/a vampire.Is this supposed to be progressive? (honest question),because it would fit in the picture.The World of darkness was always very diverse and its bloodsucking ,murderous Vampires came from all kind of Backgrounds,had all kinds of sexual prefferences,Belives ,etnicitys....(you see what i mean).This book,is the first Requiem book i read ,which seems to make a fuss about it and beeing overly PC.When you look at the artwork (which is nit pretty imho) you see basicly a mixture of vaguely erotic Art and fight scenes.While the vaguely erotic scenes only in 1 (or maybe 2 scenes.....not sure about the bathroom picture) featuring people of opposite sex,the fightscenes are mostly exclusevly women beating up man.
This is neither progressive nor empowering ,but just catering to a special Audience.
The generel writing is cheesy & pretentios and does not create any mood or makes me want to play in this world.
one Star fore the crunch,another for the ammount of material ,no star for the Fluff.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Splintered City: Seattle
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/24/2016 02:54:48

Seattle ist eine Stadt der Zukunft. Softwarefirmen beschäftigen übernächtigte Arbeiterdrohnen auf zu viel Koffein, während in der lebendigen Independent-Szene neue Gesellschaftskonzepte ausprobiert werden. In den Chronicles of Darkness herrscht hier die Gottmaschine. Doch ein Programm, das eine Sicherungskopie der Stadt erstellen sollte, machte sich selbstständig. Seitdem entstehen Splitter-Wirklichkeiten, die die Stadt überlagern. In ihnen hat die Maschine kaum Zugriff. Dämonen lieben diese Splitter, verbergen sich dort und versuchen sie zu ihrer persönlichen Hölle zu verwandeln. Da wäre 1887 mit Seattle als Boomtown am Ende des Cowboy-Zeitalters, 1932 auf der Höhe der Wirtschaftskrise, 1969 zur Weltausstellung und 1999 in Panik vor dem Y2K-Virus und dem Ende der Welt. Die Splitter resetten sich nach einer bestimmten Laufzeit, nur die Dämonen in ihnen behalten ihre Erinnerungen.


Seattle ist die Signatur-Stadt von Demon: the Descent. Dadurch ist sie eng an die Ideen und Themen der God-Machine Chronicle gebunden und deutlich futuristischer und abgedrehter als andere Städte der Chronicles of Darkness. Das Konzept der Splitter ist Daumen4maennlichNeureizvoll und zahlreiche kreative Plothooks des Städtebandes drehen sich um sie. Der regelmäßige Szenenwechsel macht den Ort sehr abwechslungsreich, wobei der Hintergrund der Anomalien Zeitparadoxa vorbeugt. Hier kann man gefahrlos Elvis umbringen und Marylin Monroe verführen! Doch ohne Splitter hat Seattle nicht so viel zu bieten und es mangelt an coolen Locations und Gruppierungen, abseits der Dämonen. Die Kapitel zu anderen Kreaturen der Nacht (Vampiren, Prometheanern, Magiern etc.) sind kaum mehr als grobe Skizzen mit ein paar Ideen und Namen. Hier muss ein Spielleiter etwas Arbeit investieren.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Splintered City: Seattle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2016 23:00:22

Great book! Lots of fun charms. If you've been looking to get just a little more "oomph" out of your Solars, this should greatly help!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Alexandre C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2016 19:00:27

It's basically excellent, just like about anything Onyx Path has been publishing those last years.


Here are the things I prefer :



  1. The combat system is fantastic. It works, it is balanced, and it is totally suited to the sort of cinematic gameplay Exalted should be. The first edition tried to adapt the WoD combat system into a cinematic system, it partly worked because overall it is a really neat and versatile system, but still it generated a lot of issues because it was designed with different goals and constraints. The second edition tried to fix those issues through more rules; the result was more balanced but quite bloated and not very usable. This third edition has a completely different system. The weathering/decisive attack distinction is really great and appeals to anyone who ever saw an action movie or anime, while preserving the general structure of the simple and efficient WoD game system. It's just brilliant.

  2. The moral/ethics part of the game has been reworked to make them more usable. The motivation/virtues/intimacies system of the first and second edition looked good on paper, but were very difficult to use in game. Reworking everything into one well-defined framework (intimacies, which can now be minor, major or defining) make it maybe a bit more simplistic but also a lot more usable. I prefer a simpler system I and my players can actually use to a more elaborate system nobody really grasps because it is too complicated.

  3. Histories have been made part of the merit/flaw system, and again it seems to just work and have no drawback whatsover. The merit/flaw system is now a tiny bit more complex, but IMO it is completely overbalanced by getting rid of histories themselves/

  4. The new rules for sorcery make sorcerers more efficient and funnier to play. You don't need enormous essence reserves any more, and countering sorcery is now extremely difficult, which means spells are easier (if longer) to cast and have less potential to be annihilated. (Instead they can often be subverted, but not always and it usually offers interesting roleplaying options, rather than just saying "your spell was broken"). Sorcerous workings also provide a nice framework for things you felt your sorcerer character should be able to do, but don't fit any specific rule.

  5. The concept of a "supernal ability" for which your characrer is considered to have Essence 5 for charm requirement purposes. It allows you to really go overkill in your chosen ability, while maintaing some balance.


Things I am a bit mitigated about :



  1. The new martial arts system. It's now the same styles for everybody, but the effects of some charms differs based on whether you are a dragon-blooded, a celestial exalted, or a Solar (or, presumably, sidereal). The martial arts styles in the core book are really cool and they are certainly balanced and useable in a solar campaign, which is the most important thing, but I am still waiting to see how they manage things like SMA or celestial initiation for DB martial artists.

  2. The crafting system. I hadn't the opportunity to test it yet (nobody wanted to be a craftsman in my current game), but the crafting experience system seems very unnatural to me, and quite against the way the game is supposed to work. I understand the general principle that you should build a lot of basic swords before understanding how to make an exceptionally good sword, but in a game it is my impression that not being able to craft artifact X because you should have made one more cheap sword on your free time is quite unrealistic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Onyx Path 2016-2017 Publishing Brochure
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2016 12:43:34

Interesting times ahead for Onyx Path/WW. Very much looking forward to the revised second editions outside of the core 3 games for New world of darkness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Path 2016-2017 Publishing Brochure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 16:04:18

Excellent work and very clever charms from the backers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 11:47:46

Well-worth the money. You may have thought that the high number of Solar Charms in the corebook would have covered everything you wanted to do, but reading this book will change your mind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Storypath System Preview
by Jose A. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 10:31:44

nice suplement, just for fans. I'll have more coments when definitive version is published



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Storypath System Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Santino C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 08:03:49

This product is beautifully illustrated and contains dozens of extra charms for a variety of abilities for solars. The best part in my eyes however also contains the explanations of either what backers asked for, or why these charms were thematic or how they were inspired. Keep up the good work. Support Exalted and Onyx Path, its worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Onyx Path 2016-2017 Publishing Brochure
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 16:25:11

If you've been wondering what was going on with the World of Darkness, this will answer all your questions. It makes me excited about the future of a gaming World I had thought all worn out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Path 2016-2017 Publishing Brochure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 674 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG