RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Cursed Necropolis: D.C.
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2015 07:24:28
A mix of cool ideas for DC. The SAS adventure is mediocre and probably not a great way to introduce Mummy as a game (i.e. monster hunting for someone else does really fit the themes).

However, this book still doesn't help me decide what a Mummy game looks like. I was hoping that a setting book would give me more inspiration for what to do with a chronicle and how to bring a group of mummies together.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cursed Necropolis: D.C.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ready-Made Characters (Mummy: The Curse)
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2015 07:17:54
Interesting characters and a good way to introduce the players to a game of Mummy, but it didn't suite what I was looking for thematically after reading the core book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ready-Made Characters (Mummy: The Curse)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Strix Chronicle Anthology
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2015 14:03:13
I'm glad to see Onyx Path getting back into fiction, and these anthologies are the perfect way to get a taste for the game world and themes of the line. After reading, I'm inspired to revisit Vampire for the first time in many years.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Strix Chronicle Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Idigam Chronicle Anthology
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2015 13:59:49
A great set of stories that gives the feeling of Werewolf: the Forsaken.

The Wolf Must Hunt, the final story of the book, was my personal favorite but a number of the stories reflected the way I imagine Werewolf.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Idigam Chronicle Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/20/2015 19:07:58
You can listen to my review of this book on Darker Days Radio http://podcast.darker-days.org/e/darker-days-radio-episode-5-
6/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
by manuel h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2015 12:13:44
Great book! I have been playing V:tM and 1st edition V:tR for quite long times and now I really like the direction, where this new edition is heading. Many rules were completely rewritten, and in most cases, I prefer the new rules. Those few passages, where I liked the old rules more (like sun light) are very easy to fix. The new disciplines are awesome, and contribute much to a dense mood. I also like the clan descriptions and the many examples for touchstones, feeding grounds etc. Touchstones, by the way, are a great innovation, it's mostly persons remembering you of your humanity.
Both the style of writing in this book and the rules strongly support the mood a vampire game should have.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idigam Chronicle Anthology
by Javier M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2015 11:10:01
Quality terrible stories great for a first grasp on this wondrous world of hunters in darkness. Well combined to ensure an engaging reading, this anthology can leave you wanting more short stories or even a whole novel to break deeper through these shadows.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idigam Chronicle Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of the Deceived
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2015 20:30:39
I hated Mummy: the Curse.

That's not secret; from release onward, I complained about it incessantly. I abhorred the game. I thought it was an unplayable trainwreck of half-baked ideas that was more worldbuilding than roleplaying game.

Book of the Deceived changed my mind.

First things first, the book is /gorgeous/. The art is split between surreal photomanipulations and high-contrast ink character portraits, and both are a cut above what I've come to expect from art in roleplaying game books. Equally stellar is the writing quality; much of the book is just fiction. It reads less like game material and more like translated mythology, complex and arcane and beautiful.

I'll steer away from specifics, but the Deceived of the Lost Guild make compelling antagonists and strong protagonists. The rules within are fresh (if minimal), and the whole package made me want to dive into a Mummy chronicle as soon as I possibly could.

Book of the Deceived represents the new bar for Onyx Path Publishing's supplements, and I eagerly await future releases to see if they can match this work of art.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Deceived
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hunter: Mortal Remains
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2015 20:05:51
Hunter: the Vigil is one of my favorite nWoD lines, and after the stellar quality of Night Stalkers, Slasher, and Witch Finders, I had high hopes for this book.

Which is why Mortal Remains is such a letdown.

While previous monster books presented a canon-agnostic approach to their chosen monsters (i.e. vampires didn't have to be the Kindred of Vampire: the Masquerade), Mortal Remains' tackles Prometheans, Changelings, Sin-Eaters, Mummies, and Demons as strictly what those supernaturals are in the context of their own lines. It's a disappointment after how great prior books were in this regard, as this material is practically reprinted (individual Promethean lineages are discussed, for example, rather than covering a grab-bag of reanimated and artificial humans) from the parent games.

Where the book shines is in the actual game material. Guidelines for building any monster you could imagine are included (along with a host of new Dread Powers), along with four new organizations (two Compacts, two Conspiracies; one of each for Mummies and Demons) and a rough rules update for H:tV in the nWoD Second Edition.

The organizations really shine, and are the highlight of the book for me - Middle Eastern cult deprogrammers, a tech startup that wants to build a utopia with occult technology, a fanatical brotherhood of those who eat the flesh of monsters to gain their power, and a gang of truckers, bounty hunters, and roadies, all empowered by angelic tattoos. It's a fun bunch that really encapsulates the best of the original thinking that makes the rest of the Hunter line so great; the only shame is that we didn't get similar groups for the other monster types in the book.

Buy it if you're a die-hard Hunter fan like me, but don't get your hopes up. Take it as a toolkit of stuff you can use elsewhere and you'll come away satisfied.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter: Mortal Remains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2015 19:54:19
Vampire: the Requiem was a game with an identity problem.

As the first title in the New World of Darkness, Requiem had big shoes to fill; it failed to distinguish itself from its prestigious predecessor (Vampire: the Masquerade), and ended up rather bland. While later supplements bolstered the line, the core meat of it remained somewhat unsatisfying.

Requiem 2e goes a long way towards fixing that. This second edition (previous Blood & Smoke: The Strix Chronicle) is a game that oozes style; the fiction is evocative, the mechanics are a hell of a lot more elegant, and the sample settings within give new Storytellers a sound chance to step right into the game. The rules updates are welcome in a lot of places (updated experience point costs, revised Disciplines, an overhauled Humanity system that I'm just in love with) and slightly clunky in others (Conditions, Beats, and Touchstones all generally go ignored by my playgroup as unnecessary clutter), but the product as a whole is satisfying.

If you're willing to give Requiem a shot, this book might win you over. The Masquerade influence is definitely still there in places, but this is a game that can definitely stand on its own and start forging a legacy in future supplements.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
by Shannon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2015 11:27:18
I have utterly no concerns with the content - I'm a longtime Werewolf fan and this was exactly what was needed. However, the simple fact this is bigger than most Old World Bibles is a technical concern. The first time I used the book the front paper cover over the binding split right up the seam. It's just a massively thick book and the binding can't keep up. It's a concern in the long run for longevity of a book that cost me nearly $100 if it can't even hold up to gentle use Day 1.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hunter: Mortal Remains
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2015 05:00:01
Mortal Remains is useful, but far from brilliant.

The Appendix, updating Hunter the Vigil to conform with The God-Machine Chronicle rule update, is really the prime reason to buy this book. There's a chapter providing a variety of Dread Powers, which can also come in handy when depicting one of the monster types in the book, or when creating a new one. But the bulk of the book is a review of Promethen, Changeling, Geist, Mummy and Demon through the Hunter lens. And it is here where the book feels weak.

The Promethean feels the most fleshed out. The chapter spends sometime about the challenges of identifying a Promethean and curiously focuses on Demiurges as the catalyst of confrontation between Hunters and Prometheans. The rest of the material is informative but uninspired.
Changeling similarly feels very "by the numbers" with various compacts and conspiracies adopting "fey" terminology. I found this disappointing, since even the Changeling core book played out the similarities to modern "Alien Abduction" stories. And Hunters trying to identify Changelings along those lines could have been far more intriguing. the idea of Fetches almost invites dis-information about these creatures and their motives. Rather, the chapter presents little to no confusion and misidentification about what changelings are, with some Hunter organizations even recognizing the True Fae as the greater threat.
I feel a bit ill-equipped to comment about the Geist chapter, since this is the one core book I haven't read. The chapter seem to struggle to present Sin-Eaters as something inhuman.
Mummy was a relatively strong chapter. It focused mainly on Hunter interaction with cults in service of the mummies. The chapter focused on the theme of "the unknown" to great effect, depicting Mummies as a threat Hunters only encounter after tearing down a vast conspiracy, if all. The Aegis Kai Doru's response to Mummies is justifiably much more detailed then any of the other organisations.
The Demon Chapter suffers from obvious lack of space. It tries to tackle both the Vice driven demons depicted in Inferno and the Bio-mechanical quantum state Demons and Angels of Demon the Descent. Again, like changeling, Hunters seem to recognize Demons as Demons despite the fact that they differ significantly from popular myths. The book fails to address how difficult it is to identify and corner the Unchained and only pays lip-service to the idea that these entities can easily infiltrate or found any of the Hunter Conspiracies or Compacts. The two Demon specific conspiracies provide some interesting ideas.

In my opinion the problem is not the limited word count but the lack of focus. More could have been done with the same space. If each chapter would have chosen a singular theme to focus on (like the Mummy chapter) and chosen three to five Conspiracies to flesh out each chapter (rather then all of them every chapter), the book would have benefited from it. Beyond these technical issues, the writing is just not as inspiering as I would have liked. And the ideas presented are quite banal.

By no means a bad resource. But one that is much more useful then inspiring.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter: Mortal Remains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Firestorm Chronicle Anthology
by Joseph I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2015 16:51:26
Very good stories written by a variety of authors in different tones exploring related but not monotonous themes. Varied enough that the book does not seem samey, but definitely at their core all about the Promethean (and the human) condition.

A few more typos than should probably be in a finished work, but not too many that it's actively distracting. Definitely better proofreading than the God-Machine Fiction Anthology, but it suffers from the same phenomenon of the stories toward the end being less well edited, and in some cases less well written.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Firestorm Chronicle Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mage Translation Guide
by manuel h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2015 16:06:37
I never ran a chronicle in either Ascension or Awakening (but in many other WoD lines). Now I plan a Mage chronicle and used this translation guide for deciding, which variant (old or new Mage) I should choose. While some of the rules conversions seem rather strange, I think that's normal for conversions and actually for my aim, the book was very helpful, as it summed up the key differences between Ascension and Awakening. I would buy it again.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage Translation Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Firestorm Chronicle Anthology
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2015 01:26:15
This anthology is a mixed bag, but the good outweighs the bad; you'll enjoy it if you're a fan of the Promethean line, and be utterly lost if you aren't. As a whole, I'm beyond comfortable with what you get for what you pay, and I'd be more than happy to use a few stories within as a first step for someone new to the World of Darkness.

I'll start with the bad. La Familia de la Sicaria and My Body aren't literary trainwrecks by any stretch of the imagination, but they are the kind of soulless genre fiction I was afraid would make up the whole book; the former is about one of the Created forced into an unsavory life by her "family," while the latter is about a young Promethean rebelling against her creator and trying to find the story of her body before she was it. Neither are terribly imaginative and (along with "My Father's Habit, about a girl whose father becomes a demiurge") give the whole book a terribly unsatisfying start. These pieces are bad eggs in an otherwise solid collection, and their placement nearly soured me on the whole thing; skip them and enjoy the better stories later.

A few of the stories are middle-of-the-road; neither good nor bad, they take up space and are pleasant reads that won't stick with you for very long once you finish them. Dedication is about a Created who retreats from the world in order to understand herself, and it's a nice snapshot of the Promethean condition, but the bonds between characters that form the core of the story aren't strong enough to give the piece as a whole any emotional weight. Brothers almost feels like a gritty noir piece, with a jaded Frankenstein trying to discover who he used to be and learning a little something about the nature of humanity as a whole; the execution is solid, but the ending is abrupt and the central theme really could've used a little push that would've made this story great instead of just good. Love Is Action is written by Matthew McFarland, who is currently heading up Promethean: the Created's second edition, and is a story about a Created family learning to find their own separate paths; I liked it a lot, but there's a spark missing that makes all the characters feel somewhat flat.

And then there's the fantastic, a handful of stories that honestly surprised me with their quality and justified the purchase of the book to me. Beautiful Strange is about a man with a nuclear fire in his heart trying to keep a family safe, and that's all I'll say without spoiling it. The story feels like a dark little vignette in a wide world of darkness that I'd love to see more of, and would honestly make a good hook for someone trying to understand just what Promethean is all about. Some Running Night is a rare glimpse at life once the Pilgrimage is completed, and I'm not ashamed to admit that it made me cry. Special mention goes to brief queer representation that neither feels like pandering or a freakshow, and ultimately came across as completely natural; more of that would be much appreciated. Talk About The Weather finishes up the book with a glimpse of some old favorites (Israel Hands, Sister Stitch, and poor old Hendaid Bran) and is a beautiful piece about the stories that follow the Created through their existence, for better of worse. It's my favorite story in the whole anthology.

All in all, the book's not bad. If you're curious about Promethean: the Created, then you'll hopefully find enough inside this anthology to get a taste for the stories that game can tell and leave you hungry for more. And if you're already a fan, then this feels like a whole lot of love made just for you. I'm very pleased with the collection as a whole, and I hope future fiction from Onyx Path remains to this standard.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Firestorm Chronicle Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 430 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG