RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
22 Talent Trees
by Kevin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2007 00:00:00
Not bad for the price. Look into adding this to your collection.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Another 22 Talent Trees
by Kevin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2007 00:00:00
Not quite what I was looking for but you might like it.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Another 22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

22 Talent Trees
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2007 00:00:00
A mixed bag, really. Some talents seem like sensible additions to the canon list of talent trees, like the Mighty tree for Strong Heroes and the Need for Speed tre for Fast Heroes. Others seem a little questionable to me, like the Fast Hero's Finesse talent tree and the Smart Hero's Tactical tree, which give you the Weapon Finesse and Improved Critical feats as talents, resepectively. Still others seem utterly out of line for a Modern setting, namely the Dedicated Hero's Animal Friendship tree, which is flat-out importing the animal companion and animal summoning abilities of D&D druids and rangers; or the Fast Hero's Quicker Than The Eye tree that basically allows superhuman speed. And I'm not sure what to make of the Charismatic Hero's Efficacious tree, which simply reprints the official Charm tree and monkeys with it, altering the wording to tweak some things up.

I don't know that I'd incorporate all these talents into any of my campaigns as standard options open to all player characters, but some might be useful for making a unique villain. Also, with its focus on melee combat for many classes, I get the feeling that if you want to run a D&D-style low-tech high-magic fantasy setting with the D20 Modern rules set, then this product would be of more use to you.



QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Another 22 Talent Trees
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2007 00:00:00
A mixed bag, really. Some talents seem like sensible additions to the canon list of talent trees, like the Survivalist tree for Tough Heroes and the Heroic Deeds tree for Charismatic Heroes. Others seem a little questionable to me, like the large number of trees that give you feats and advanced class abilities as talents. Still others seem a bit out of line for a Modern setting, namely the ones flat-out importing the class abilities of D&D barbarians, monks, and rangers. The short selection of Martial Arts feats at the end are definitely more Fantasy-oriented.

I don't know that I'd incorporate many these talents into any of my campaigns as standard options open to all player characters, but some might be useful for making a unique villain. Also, with its focus on melee combat, particulary an obsession with grappling and martial arts, for all classes, I get the feeling that if you want to run a D&D-style low-tech high-magic fantasy setting with the D20 Modern rules set, then this product would be of more use to you.


QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Another 22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I would definitely agree that this title has focus on unarmed combat.
1948: Organizations, Agencies and Secret Societies
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2007 00:00:00
Not bad. Useful for Pulp-era campaigns besides the titular 1948 setting, or perhaps even Present-Day campaigns dealing with conspiracies. I see little reason why many of the Occult groups and other secret societies could not be active today, and even Axis powers plots can have a long reach.


LIKED: Wide variety of conspiracy groups presented. Could be very useful for players as an Introductory Guide to conspriacy groups and secret societies.

DISLIKED: A bit thin. If you're avidly researching conspiracy organizations, there's likely little new information to you here. Some of the stock art seems more comic-book superhero or fantasy-oriented, undermining the Pulp period atmosphere from Bloodstone's other 1948 releases.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
1948: Organizations, Agencies and Secret Societies
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review. I appreciate your comments. I just want to point out that comic book and fantasy elements of 1948 are actually deliberate aspects of the 1948 atmosphere. They don't just appear in the artwork. Knights, dragons, monsters, suits of armor, and magical themes are mixed with super hero-like concepts throughout the setting. 1948 really isn't a pulp setting and I try to avoid characterizing it as such. Pulp elements are certainly a component of the 1948 theme, but so are other elements. You might say 1948 is a neo-pulp setting, but that sounds elitist. I don't really know what category to put it in other than alternate history. Thanks again for posting your thoughts.
1948: The HE-111-Z
by Charles C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2007 00:00:00
lovely :D any thing to add on to german warfair of WW II to make my rpg longer is great. how ever the germans were reserching other nifty stuff that is not in any book sadly


LIKED: a coold super large airplain

DISLIKED: i think it could have had something better

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1948: The HE-111-Z
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

22 Talent Trees
by Nicolas K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2007 00:00:00
The book gets better as you progress.
While some of the options for the Strong hero are either too simple or too focused on brutality (gaining strong saves because you have high strength), and I have some problems with the play balance of a couple of things in Fast and Tough hero, by this part of the book I realize I have already gathered a list of talents to use (the toxin resistance's first talent, for example, fits perfectly for inhabitants of slums etc).
And this is very important, as even a couple of more talents added to the basic classes affect all your d20 modern games in a significant way, something a couple PrCs (that would take all these pages to be described) would never achieve.
The smart hero shines with better play balance and inspiration. Almost every talent there is cool and useful (talents that add bonuses equal to a base save, though, scale badly at high levels). The dedicated then comes with support for animals, "hunches", virtuous characters and more, really giving to this class the talents it so much needed.
The options for the charismatic hero are a bit more average (I have trouble thinking why a talent would work only on people who dislike you or how you gain a stunning beauty on level 3 or 5, while this could be mostly something you're born with).


LIKED: Great value for money - it will affect all your d20 modern games. Just pick what you like.

DISLIKED: Not enough flavour and there are a couple of things that scream "I scale badly", like adding base saves to rolls or gaining SR 20+your level in a class.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
by sean t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2006 00:00:00
Excellent for supportng the world of world war 2 for the d20 system.


LIKED: Very good value for money.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Another 22 Talent Trees
by Paul K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2006 00:00:00
You can never have to many talent trees to choose from for your modern characters.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Another 22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bane Ledger
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/22/2006 00:00:00
Bane Ledger proves that if one wants creepy and interesting creatures one only needs to look into the mythology and legends of the world. Bane Ledger is a 32 page pdf filled with a bit more then two dozen creatures. All of them are inspired from legends and myths of our world. The pdf comes in a zip file of less then 700 KB and unzipped the file is just a bit over 700 KB.

The art in the book I found average. It is black and white and does the job of showing some of the odder creatures presented. The art in the product is a little on the light side. I?ve always felt that monster books need art to better show the creatures being described. The layout is in the normal two columns per page. It requires a little bit of scrolling to get the stats on the creatures if one uses this from a computer or laptop while one plays. The bookmarks are simple just listing the monsters.

The monsters fill a wide variety of types and challenges. There is the Asari, a very small fey creature that is rather non combative. There is also one of the most powerful creatures I?ve seen, the Ya-o-Gah. It is the sheer power of winter. The creature has a challenge rating of 32, over a thousand hit points, and some devastating abilities. One of my favorites though is the Djien. It?s a spider creature that actually buries its vital organs to protect itself. Many of the creatures have unique abilities like that.

Some of the creatures in here are not well balanced for their challenge ratings. The Abatwa is a challenge rating one fey. It has a 24 AC, +14 to hit with its poisoned arrows, and the poison has a fort save of sixteen. It is a slow creature being diminutive in size and has only a single hit point. There is also a creature, the Aswang, which has a feat that is not described. I think by the notation next to the feat that it is included in another book, the Hero?s Handbook. Reprinting that feat under the creature is a little detail that would have gone a long way.

While the creatures are from the legends and mythology of real world civilizations, there is no thing that says what creatures come from what myths. It does not even have a basic list saying if the creature is from an African or European source. So, while I salute the author for using creatures from mythology, I really feel that many people besides myself who like to have seen a listing of were these creatures are from. I also like to see tables listing the challenge ratings and terrain the creatures can be found in. While these last two are rarely seen in monsters books, some of the lesser known publishers can distinguish themselves by going the extra mile.

Over all, this is a nice collection of monsters. There is a good variety and there are many ways to use them. Not all the monsters are designed for killing and the book does explore other ways to use monsters to some degree. I think the product could have been a little more in depth and that a few extras could have been used to really make this shine.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bane Ledger
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Nature's Wrath
by Geoff H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2006 00:00:00
A good book with a lot of useful material on real-world poisons and diseases and how to use them in your game.


LIKED: The variant rules for diseases are good as are the many new conditions.

DISLIKED: The product is fine, it would have been nice to have some more info, like what would Knowledge checks tell you about these new poisons and diseases, but that is just icing and not a detraction from this product.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nature's Wrath
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

1948: Ray Guns
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2006 00:00:00
Not a bad little PDF. While I don't have many of the core 1948 setting material, I imagine these "Mad Science" weapons will be useful in any pulp or steampunk campaign, like Pinnacle's Deadlands or Weird War II D20 lines. The links to online wav files are a particularly nice touch, with a very classic black & white serial sound to them.


LIKED: The highly flavorful wav links

DISLIKED: The Death rays cause negative levels rather than hideous amounts of damage. Maybe it's just me, but I feel a Death Ray should cause, you know.. death, rather than just a tired feeling.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
1948: Ray Guns
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

1948: Spy Radios and Cipher Devices
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2006 00:00:00
A decent little PDF. While I don't have the core 1948 materials, this would be useful in just about any pulp campaign, and leans closer to historical realism than other 1948 releases I've purchased like Ray Guns and Top-Secret Serums. The Dick Tracy wrist radio and the video transceiver are a little more four-color "Mad Science" oriented, but even so the technology for visual transmission wasn't that far ahead in the mid 40's.


LIKED: Concise encryption/decryption system.

DISLIKED: There's an embarrassing printing error on page 7, where the rules for Range and Reception are printed twice.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
1948: Spy Radios and Cipher Devices
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

1948: Top Secret Serums
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2006 00:00:00
Very nice. While it is, as others have commented, essentially a modern version of Fantasy potions dressed up in Mad Science flavor text, it's still a very useful way to itroduce such effects into a low- or no-magic modern setting, or even a future one (quick yet short-lived genetic "boost" infusions are a refershing change from standard sci-combat drug tropes that turn the user into a blood-crazed berserker). This can come in handy in any pulp or steampunk campaign, as well as any comic-book superhero setting. Golden-Age supers always got their powers though serums or rays or such.


LIKED: Visual presentation keeps the flavor of a WWII secret intelligence briefing, even down to the "destroy this document if necessary" fine print at the bottom of the page.

DISLIKED: The two pieces of clip art didn't really capture the pulp flavor. While I'm sure thay were meant to represent Nazi Ubermenschen and Soviet beastmen under the effect of the serums, they looked more like 21st century World of Darkness characters.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1948: Top Secret Serums
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

1948:Clandestine Weapons
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2006 00:00:00
Another nice little PDF from Bloodstone Press. Useful in any pulp or espionage game, and grounded in some degree of historical realism as well. I distinctly recall seeing the Peskett multi-purpose bludgeon/dagger/garotte combo and the deadly Bulgarian poison-tipped umbrella featured on a History Channel special on real-life James Bond-style spy equipment. So, kudos for the authenticity. While most do less damage than a normal knife or pistol, they are still intriguing as nasty surprises for PCS who may think they've confiscated all of a foe's conventional weapons.


LIKED: Visual presentation enhances the feel of being a top-secret WWII Intelligence briefing, even down to the "Destroy this document if necessary" warning in fine printy at the bottom of each page.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1948:Clandestine Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 132 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG