RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 What's New?
Mythic Minis 19: Feats of Sneaking
Mythic Minis 19: Feats of Sneaking
$1.00









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
22 Talent Trees
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2004 00:00:00
This product adds a whole new level of flexiblity to d20 Modern. I really enjoy talent trees and always looking for new ones to add to my game.
Some of the talent trees I thought to be espically useful are: Strong Heroes - Like a Rock (adds a natural armour bonus).
Fast Heroes - Elusive (adds a dodge bonus and makes it harder to hold the character down) & Need for Speed (special tricks to make your character an amazing driver)
Smart - Fast Learner (additional skill points, higher max skill ratings)
Dedicated - Animal Friendship (bonuses to interact with animals and at higher levels the ability to summon animals)
Charismatic - Facetious (Talents that make the character espically good at humour)

Unfortunately the Tough Hero only has 2 talent trees, FX Resistance and Poison Resistance. Although the Like a Rock talent may be a good choice to add to the Tough's talent list.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
by aaaa a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2004 00:00:00
3 out of 5 -- very not bad.

Not sure that the shout-out in the OGL is adequate given how derivative some of the stuff is. That is basically irrelevant to the broader audience however.

It should be possible to run a WW2 campaign out of this book, and that is the text's primary purpose, so mission accomplished. It was good to see a suitably broad cross-section of military hardware without this book turning into yet another dull armchair expert gun book.

One gripe - the monster section. Very weak given the overall quality of the rest of the rulebook.

Still, worth its current discounted price just about.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2004 00:00:00
Well thought-out supplement that merges nicely with Modern D20 - just what I was looking for.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
22 Talent Trees
by DISABLED D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2003 00:00:00
Very useful for d20 modern, particularly in certain campaign models, such as Call of Cthulhu d20 or Cyberpunk d20, which doesn't use or limits the player's choice of advanced classes. Even if advanced classes are used freely, this book will give the basic classes much more versatility, and the players may find that still want to gain levels in their basic classes as well as their advanced classes.

These rules could be easily translated into D&D (as feats) or AD&D (as proficiencies)too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
by Ed W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2003 00:00:00
I've always loved historical role-playing, so Hell on Earth was very intriguing. This product is loaded with great information, covering the guns, tanks, etc of WWII. Lots of new material that any GM would appreciate. Good writing and editing make it fun to read. I really like this one! Good job.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
God Spells
by Steve S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2003 00:00:00
Wanna put the scare into your roleplayers? This is the book to do it! Magic like nothing you've ever seen!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
God Spells
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hero's Handbook
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2003 00:00:00
I never really took a look at the wealth of information contained within this PDF. The layout just distracted from the contents contained within

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
This review refers to the original version of the Hero's Handbook. The revised version features a much improved layout.
Book of Broken Dreams
by Devon A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/18/2003 00:00:00
A thoughtful insight into the place of psychology in the D&D world. Great resource.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Broken Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Book of Broken Dreams
by Christoph B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/30/2002 00:00:00
The feel of this book is quite dark, and will specially be suited for dark-themed worlds. A game of Call of Cthulhu could certainly benefit from it, although the spells would need a bit of changing.

Taking each chapter one by one:


Chapter 1: Stress

An interesting idea, but a bit wierd in its mechanics. It brings in a new secondary ability score, representing a character's resistance to stress, as well as rules to determine how great a stress an encounter induces, and what the effects of great stress can have on a character. Could have been better.

Chapter 2: Personality

This was by far my favorite, and I'd have bought the book for this one alone. It presents a way to create deranged character mentalities in a rather quick way (once you understand the rules of course). There are a variety of personnality aspects, each possibly being more or less severe in someone's personality, and each includes a series of traits that describe a specific quirk of the character.
There is also a section detailing a method to understand interactions between different characters, depending on their mentalities.
This section contains barely any d20 rule, because it is not really needed. This means you can easily use this section for any RPG!
One thing that nearly frightened me is that I found some traits that really fitted me very well. It was a kind of self-psychanalisys :)
It looks very coherent and scientific. I grant you that I'm no specialist in this field, but I seriously wonder if the author is a doctor in psychology!

Chapter 3: Insanity

This chapters details various insanities, along with their game effects, such as anxiety, pschotic or sleeping disorders.
The details are very interesting, but the game mechanics are really weird. They don't look very uniform, and I'm quite sure the DM will need to adjust some things.

Chapter 4: Spells

This section contains a spell list and then their description. There are nearly 50 of them and they are all more or less mental-related. There are spells for all levels, though unequally distributed.
First noteworthy aspect: most spells are from the enchantment school, quite a few are illusions, with just one from divination, one from transmutation and one from conjuration.
A lot modify the target's behaviour, or make it see things that aren't. Some also have physical effects, as a result of a mental disturbance.
A few spell names that are quite evocative: phobia, insomnia, creeping shadows, mind probe, mass hysteria, masquerade, etc.
Second astonishing aspect: all spells are for Wiz&Sor! Nothing for the others! Not even the bard?!
Obviously, some spells could be appropriate for other spellcasters, but again, the DM will need to assign those, thus some more work is needed.
The spells seem interesting though.

Chapter 5: Prestige classes

The dreamweaver, the lunatic and the mentalist are the three presented classes.
The dreamweaver gets to do all sorts with dreams and the dream world...
The lunatic draws power and abilities from his state (could have been a template in some regards, especially since this is more a condition than a training).
The mentalist is some kind of inquisitor getting to manipulate other's mentalities.
These are medium quality, nothing groundbreaking, balance looks okay on paper. There are quite a few abilities a character can get from spells anyways, so some of their levels look superflous to me.


Overall, the book is well organized and the text is on two colums.
The artwork is mediocre. There are a few spelling errors. But nothing really distracting.
One of the two main gripes I have, is the way game mechanics are treated. I sometimes wondered if it wasn't some 2nd edition stuff. Some rules just dont look coherent in regards to the other, or just plain weird. On the other hand, these could be left out in a lot of cases, since a lot of the material is here to give the DM additional tools to role (not roll) play characters, set the mood, and find inspiration for really disturbing encounters.
The other negative point is the frequent reference the document makes to another product published by the same company, the Primal Codex. I don't own that one, so it kind of frustrated me. But at the price these are, I can't really complain.

As a conclusion, I will say that I really liked this book, and hope to use a lot of chapter 2 and 3, as well as some of the spells. For $5, this is really good value, considering the good quality of the non-mechanic aspects of the rules.
I give it a little 4 out of 5 stars, mainly thanks to chapter 2.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Book of Broken Dreams
by Mike B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/29/2002 00:00:00
This is an excellent resource for a Ravenloft or Call of Cthulhu campaign. It introduces a Stress reaction table and a list of mental disabilities with in game descriptions. These can be applied to many existing spells and monsters, like Mind Flayers.

If you use Psionics in your game, many of the spells presented in this book would probably make better psionic powers than spells. Of the three prestige classes presented, two would work for psionic PCs; the Dream Weaver and the Mentalist. On the other hand, the Lunatic is one of the few prestige classes that a NPC Commoner can take and become a threat.

Overall another great resource book from J.C. Alger

Mike Briggs (Dark Psion)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Book of Broken Dreams
by John K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/24/2002 00:00:00
If you own Call of Cthulhu, you need to buy the Book of Broken Dreams from Netherland Games (who also did the excellent Primal Codex). This d20 supplement provides not only a real-world explanation of and usable game mechanisms for topics like personality types, stress, and insanity, but also includes a number of psychologically inspired spells, three similarly inspired prestige classes (the Dream Weaver, the Lunatic, and the Mentalist), as well as a template for Nightmare Creatures.

While the supplement is nominally written for D&D, almost everything is suited to CoC and could be used with little modification. Of course it will also add a darker and more realistic turn to a fantasy setting as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 121 to 131 (of 131 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Bloodstone Press
Bloodstone Press
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (88)
 Hottest Titles

22 Talent Trees

01.22 Talent Trees
02.Another 22 Talent Trees
03.Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
04.The Thaumaturgic Codex
05.Exceptional Items
06.The Thaumaturgic Codex II
07.1948: Organizations, Agencies and Secret Societies
08.Spell Cannons
09.Hero's Handbook
10.Wilderness Traps
11.Handguns of WWII
12.God Spells
13.Nature's Wrath
14.Ten Exotic Clubs
15.Spellbinder's Sourcebook
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate
Powered by DrivethruRPG